Indian Railways Thread (Dec 2015)

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
vsunder

Re: Indian Railways Thread (Dec 2015)

Post by vsunder »

Two seriously delayed projects update:

Daund-Gulbarga doubling delayed even more to 2018. This is part of Chennai-Mumbai doubling and a very important trunk route. Trains from Mumbai to Hyderabad, Shatabdi etc use it. It is unbelievable that this trunk route is single line and not electrified either. Line density is also extremely high. With super thermal plant getting ready at Kudachi in Karnataka, things will become even worse.

Delay in Doubling of Chennai-Mumbai trunk line

The other story is the 6 year ongoing saga of moving the Armoury of Tippu Sultan by 200m at Srirangapatna. The armoury blocks the Mysore-Bangalore doubling project. The armoury weighs 1000 tons and was used in recent times as a latrine by Srirangapatna residents, but is on the ASI protected list, go figure. Now a US company has dug around the armoury to a depth of 25 feet, will insert hydraulic jacks and lift the entire Armoury onto a doily and pull it away making way for the double line. This is supposed to be done by end Feb. Hopefully finally Mysore-Bangalore doubling and electrification will be done. This stupidity has gone on for far too long.

http://citytoday.news/tipus-armoury-a-m ... ft-on-way/

this armoury thing is just that ruined wall with some bunkers at the base of the wall right? it was overgrown unprotected and weedy even in 1984 and continues. it visible from highway as one drives past and is entered via a ruined narrow gate that is a public road into the old fort area?

his summer palace and his tomb (with hyder ali) are in good condition and well patronized by tourists. the tomb is still a active place of prayer and the summer palace and its surrounding garden looks rather good.
arvin

Post by arvin »

>>Daund-Gulbarga doubling delayed even more to 2018. This is part of Chennai-Mumbai doubling and a very important.

Owing to single line, local passenger trains cant be run. Local populace boards reserved sleeper coach of long distance trains esp in evenings in Gulbarga. Lot of fights break out.
vsunder

Post by vsunder »

The serious issue between Daund-Gulbarga and I do not know which damn fool did this, is the large number of scissors crossings. So for two trains to cross many stations do not have a loop line but a scissors. The second line in many cases is built on a grade. This leads to tremendous waste of time with trains having to go forward and back.
These scissors crossings should have been eliminated and loop lines put in for single lines with doubling left to the future, but rail mantris, netas, GM's of divisions scarcely care.
Tilati scissors crossing has been eliminated by moving the station 500m and doubling is complete between Solapur-Hotgi-Tilati-Akkalkot Road. But there is Pophlaj scissors between Mohol and Daund, Bablad between Gulbarga and Solapur and maybe one more. Here is a schematic and the 4 steps needed for two trains to pass at a scissors and also a video of the Mumbai-Hyderbad Shatabdi and some other train crossing each other
at a scissors at Pophlaj on this route. All of this must add time to trains going towards Delhi via Daund-Manmad, or Chennai-Mumbai etc etc.
In this schematic DD=Daund ,
http://irfca.org/~apub/pophlaj/Pophdiag.png

You see the first blade of the scissors at 0:21 and then the next one at 0:54

The train is reversing and waiting for the other train to cross which it does at 2:02

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w1fXTv_59GE

This is at Bablad between Gulbarga and Solapur. Doubling works are going on between AKOR(Akkalkot Rd.)
and Nagansur, but between Nagansur and Gulbarga some minor bridges are up, some earthwork, but otherwise not much. Between Bhigwan and Mohol I think the pace is brisker, the bridge over the Bhima has been ready for about a decade in preparation for doubling.

Tipu's armory is only visible from Railway Station.

Was this structure ever opened to public?

Rishi Verma

Post by Rishi Verma »

arvin wrote:>>Daund-Gulbarga doubling delayed even more to 2018. This is part of Chennai-Mumbai doubling and a very important.

Owing to single line, local passenger trains cant be run. Local populace boards reserved sleeper coach of long distance trains esp in evenings in Gulbarga. Lot of fights break out.
Daund used to be the stablery of maratha's... Now teeming with pissfuls staring at all newcomers/visitors/outsiders with blood-shot eyes.
Rishi Verma

Post by Rishi Verma »

Update: dropped relative off at a major rail station in UP. Some observations.

1) zero security
2) bright led display of train / platforms, but info was not updated (actual time was 3pm but departure was listed at 2:40pm!!!!)
3) "information counter" sign was hard to notice, nobody was on duty....
4) platform access overpass had a human begger with only a head and shoulders, can't believe how he could be alive (hardly 1-foot tall stump with adult head)... who put "him" there, he can't possibly move.
5) platforms stunk like urinals
6) each and every train was delayed and mindless robotic announcement would end with "...we regret the inconvenience" in English and "....asuvidha ke liye khed hai", who "regrets" the delay, prabhu?
7) saw a guy chopping onions on the platform and a crowd had gathered around him to watch!!
8.) saw a sign saying "rail aahar", went up close to find the guy was selling bananas
9) many injured and limping stray dogs mingling among people
10) trains came and went, none looked clean, most looked beat-up, british era overweight coaches.. can't we design and manufacture decent coaches even? shows the level of our "industries"
11) old people had great difficulty getting in and out of trains... without assistance they better stay home, and do, awaiting d-day.
12) the train finally came (two hours late), finally left.

very depressing experience, zero sign of change under NaMo or Suresh Prabhu.

I am a modi supporter but railways got the priorities wrong. Simply allowing clean platform and travel experience would make labourers and the lower wrung happy, easy pickings for election gains to bring reforms faster.

Very very depressing experience indeed. To call IR cattle class would be praising it.

I say it again, bullet trains, even if 100% financed by Japan, is not what we deserve as a nation for the next 50 years. The railways and the nation needs SWACHCHH first.

Rishi Verma wrote:I say it again, bullet trains, even if 100% financed by Japan, is not what we deserve as a nation for the next 50 years. The railways and the nation needs SWACHCHH first.
You can say some people deserve more, but you can't say some other people deserve less. Trying to make your point by any means.
It's been said many times before, all you mentioned is a reality, but we are talking about two different projects that are independent of each other. Both can and are being done in parallel.

on the contrary came back from bikaner...the platform was v clean..though some villagers did manage to dirty it..but overall v clean..a few stray dogs on the platform...all signages worked quite well.. funny thing was there was a X ray for baggage screening but another passage into the platform from the main streeet without any obstacle..honestly security is a big joke. they should remove x ray machines..total waster of manpower. the waiting room at Sarai Rohilla station ( Delhi) smelt badly. The train from Bikaner to Sarai Rohilla was clean.. on time.

though i agree with Rishi on the HSR issue. we dont need it. Why cant that JICA money be pumped into improving amenities, rail infra??

manjgu wrote:Why cant that JICA money be pumped into improving amenities, rail infra??

The idea is to do things simultaneously not consecutively. It is modeled on the Chinese railway reform. It reduces the time taken to achieve a modern rail system.

Supratik..the chinese rail reform went hand in glove with economic reforms ( of which we have had precious little). the citizen should be rich enough to pay for HSR..have u seen 2 AC or 1st AC..either empty or filled by freebooters from railways, GOI or ministers or MP's.

manjgu wrote:though i agree with Rishi on the HSR issue. we dont need it. Why cant that JICA money be pumped into improving amenities, rail infra??
Because it's their money. We don't have anything to do with it. We're not paying them back anything if the project goes south. So they decide how it's used, and their choice is to use it on building an HSR using their technology. We decide how to use our own money.

@manjgu

This discussed these things before.
If you believe that there has been no economic reform then I have nothing to say. China had a roughly 13 year lead in economic reform (1978 vs 1991). China was at roughly 2 trillion in early 2000, we reached in 2015. Same difference. Tomorrow we will say lets stop everything becoz 100s of millions of Indians are still shitting on railway tracks. First make them shit in toilets and then we will do other things. It is the responsibility of the govt and funding agencies to determine if HSR is feasible or not. Let them do their job and criticize only when they haven't done it well. Multiple things are happening in railway reform in parallel. You just have to keep track.
Rishi Verma

Post by Rishi Verma »

Anyone in support of bullet train (which I have used for over 10-years while living in, traveling in Japan) please just go to Nagpur train station at 2am, and look at the scene in front lobby in front of ticket windows, then stroll over to any platform where a late train in arriving departing, and report back if you still want bullet trains. And if the experience does not bring tears to your eyes then you are not qualified to report back, means you are blind. Yes it's THAT bad.
Rishi Verma

Post by Rishi Verma »

Today's incident at Unnao, UP. No comment

Rishi Verma: Please stop derailing this thread with logical fallacies. There's no relationship between HSR and the Nagpur station. You know why ? At one time there were no bullet train projects, until 2014. Nagpur station was crap. Today there's HSR projects being implemented, and Nagpur station is still crap. Therefore, the access to money or the bullet train has nothing to do with Nagpur station. It's a separate set of priorities.

This form of argument can be replicated to any number of things: Don't produce cars! We can barely manage our two wheeler population! In fact, shut down the airlines until we've proved we can do things properly on the ground! Neither of these makes any more sense than the state of Nagpur station. Please don't push this fallacy. There's no question Nagpur station should improve, but it's a separate argument on its own, that does not need opposition to something else to strengthen its case.

It has been only two years since serious reforms started - only after Modi-Prabhu. Given the vastness of IR you have to give it at least a decade for tangible change to be visible. The Chinese have taken 20-25 years.

The Chinese started rail reform in the early 1990s. In fact they spend billions trying to create HSR technology themselves (look up the original China Star project) before giving up and stealing Japanese and western technology instead. What they did instead was spend 15+ years double/triple/quad tracking all the trunk lines, upgrading infrastructure etc. Simultaneously, they started by letting foreigners invest in HSR production in China as JV.

We're doing essentially the same thing. >90% of IR's massive new 8 lakh crore investments focus on basic structural investments. <10% (64K crore) goes to HSR. We just happen to have started only in 2014-15 budget. I've said it once and I'll say it again - that Rail Budget will one day be remembered as pathbreaking. But right now, while work is just being implemented, it would seem like nothing is happening.

Rishi Verma wrote:I say it again, bullet trains, even if 100% financed by Japan, is not what we deserve as a nation for the next 50 years. The railways and the nation needs SWACHCHH first.
It is like saying since I married Ranna Ayyub., nobody else deserves to be married to Aishwarya Rai.
Rishi Verma

Post by Rishi Verma »

Suraj wrote:Rishi Verma: Please stop derailing this thread with logical fallacies. There's no relationship between HSR and the Nagpur station. You know why ? At one time there were no bullet train projects, until 2014. Nagpur station was crap. Today there's HSR projects being implemented, and Nagpur station is still crap. Therefore, the access to money or the bullet train has nothing to do with Nagpur station. It's a separate set of priorities.

This form of argument can be replicated to any number of things: Don't produce cars! We can barely manage our two wheeler population! In fact, shut down the airlines until we've proved we can do things properly on the ground.
Boss there is a trend on BRF to speak only comfy feel good stuff and anyone countering the need for bullet train before the society cleanses itself of more important ills means derailing the thread?

Besides you are extending my specific point on bullet train to cars and airlines, which has no relation to my point.

Why isn't IR embracing the Swachchh Bharat Abhiyan? Is it too embarrassing to discuss? Isn't it pertinent to IR thread?

Rishi Verma wrote:Anyone in support of bullet train (which I have used for over 10-years while living in, traveling in Japan) please just go to Nagpur train station at 2am, and look at the scene in front lobby in front of ticket windows, then stroll over to any platform where a late train in arriving departing, and report back if you still want bullet trains. And if the experience does not bring tears to your eyes then you are not qualified to report back, means you are blind. Yes it's THAT bad.
Instead of ranting here., why do not you tweet to Suresh Prabhu? He has created a service framework on twitter and the zonal and divisional heads are to monitor the service requests.

Attach photos and send it. Do something. Anything. Other than rant about your Rana Ayyubesque Railway station and asking others to not improve their lot. You know what, India is a big country. Chennai to Nagpur is just over 1000 Km. There is still big south (some 750 Km)., south of chennai and huge north (some 2000 Km), north of nagpur. The distances are huge and multiple stations in between. It will take some decades at current pace before any major change is visible.

But wait., you do not want change - since you think we are not ready for change! Extremely defeatist and circular logic ...
Rishi Verma wrote: Besides you are extending my specific point on bullet train to cars and airlines, which has no relation to my point.
Same way you extend your rant on Nagpur railway station to bullet train and thence to societal evils. If that is relevant., the above point is more than relevant and also extends to your personal space. Everything eventually collapses into a singularity - right?
Why isn't IR embracing the Swachchh Bharat Abhiyan? Is it too embarrassing to discuss? Isn't it pertinent to IR thread?
What have you done? Yes sir - you? Did you even go through this article http://www.mapsofindia.com/my-india/ind ... s-in-india and took to twitter with your photos and sent it to Suresh Prabhu and Dev Fadnavis and copying the GMs/DMs of the IRs? Did you make any effort?

No it is not at all embarrassing to discuss the dirtiest rail stations in India provided we also discuss the cleanest rail stations in India and understand why one set is clean and one set is dirty and take appropriate actions accordingly.

But ranting and extending the illogic to non-pertaining issues (since I am married to Rana Ayyub, nobody is ready to marry Aishwarya Rai) is derailing the thread.

Rishi Verma wrote:Boss there is a trend on BRF to speak only comfy feel good stuff and anyone countering the need for bullet train before the society cleanses itself of more important ills means derailing the thread?
Comfy feel good stuff ? Considering the number of warning and bannings we do, which parallel universe is this comfy feel good talk happening in ?? :) Everyone on this forum seems perennially in whine mode onlee saar...
Rishi Verma wrote:Besides you are extending my specific point on bullet train to cars and airlines, which has no relation to my point.
You don't have any specific point about bullet trains. You are utilizing a logical fallacy to make your case. The HSR project is as relevant to Nagpur station platform dirt as cars vs scooters. It's previous absence did nothing for Nagpur, and it still has nothing to do with Nagpur. That station has been around for decades and its state has nothing to do with the *very* recent proposal of another rail project somewhere else.
Rishi Verma wrote:Why isn't IR embracing the Swachchh Bharat Abhiyan? Is it too embarrassing to discuss? Isn't it pertinent to IR thread?
Actually that's a good question. disha asked if you'd use IR's twitter to actually pass your concerns to the right authorities. Would you at least do so ? It would be a lot more helpful to the cause of Nagpur station.
Rishi Verma

Post by Rishi Verma »

Rishi Verma wrote:Why isn't IR embracing the Swachchh Bharat Abhiyan? Is it too embarrassing to discuss? Isn't it pertinent to IR thread?
Actually that's a good question. disha asked if you'd use IR's twitter to actually pass your concerns to the right authorities. Would you at least do so ? It would be a lot more helpful to the cause of Nagpur station.
I do have and do tweet to PMO, SushmaJi's, and PrabhuJi.
vsunder

Post by vsunder »

Two major tenders floated for capacity augmentation on key trunk routes.

1. Mathura-Jhansi Third line. Mathura-AGC-JHS( AGC=Agra Cantt.) carries all the Delhi-Mumbai via Bhopal and Delhi-Chennai traffic, it is totally congested. Bina-Bhopal on this route the third line is installed and commissioned in some segments.

http://www.rvnl.org/tender/view_tender_ ... 85426ad335

The terrain is hard after Gwalior and those of you who have traveled on this section know that there are hills and even a tunnel between Gwalior-Jhansi. This is the famous Datia pass used by armies in the past to travel to the Deccan.

2. Also Gudur-BZA(Vijayawada) on Chennai-Delhi and Chennai-Howrah route, tender has been finally called by RVNL for third line. Earlier in maybe Dec 2015 maybe Gudur-Nellore tender was called, not sure? Anyhow now it is for the whole segment.

This will be major as a bridge will have to be built across River Krishna, outside BZA. OK found the Gudur-Bezwada third line tender:

http://www.rvnl.org/tender/view_tender_ ... 38713c7d5d

^^ Krishna river already has 3 bridges near BZA, will they build a fourth then? If so, very good.

The funny thing is, the station before the river is called "Krishna Canal Jn.", but the river at 1.2 km is anything but a "canal" :).

People's Daily,China ‏@PDChina 11h11 hours ago

Stunning photos of #China's high-speed trains, all ready to serve for the peak season during the upcoming Chinese new year.

vsunder

Post by vsunder »

Bangalore-Hassan new Railway line update.

This project was initiated in 1996 with Deve Gowda behind it. It suffered due to poor implementation by SWR and total incompetence by the State Govt. Mallya had his horse stables at Kunigal right on the path of this line. Tortuous negotiation followed and there was a land swap with Mallya. A tunnel had to be constructed. At the end when 90% of the work was done and 13km was left, there was a land row by farmers who demanded more money for a 11km section as they had been paid compensation by old LA laws. A further 2km section had LA problems. Now fortunately this 151km section will be opened soon, as papers have been filed with CRS for final inspection. It will provide a much faster and shorter by 50km route to Mangalore from Bangalore, reducing the journey time by train to Mangalore from Bangalore by 2 hours, and better connectivity with Mangalore port.

Here are some before and after pics, with the pics mainly in the last 13km section---one block section between Thippasandra and Solur that delayed matters. The before pics are construction in June 2016 and one sees massive earthworks in the deep cut near the tunnel and Dec 2016 with the tracks laid out and ready for final ballast tamping. Done!!

Before June 2016
http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showpost. ... ount=18722

After Dec 2016
http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showpost. ... ount=19108

Tamping of the ballast is done by Duomatic machines on IR and usually they cover 3km of track in
a single day. There are three rounds of tamping.
vsunder

Post by vsunder »

Here is a new Duomatic machine hard at work on IR on newly laid tracks between Pollachi and Palghat after gauge conversion. The tracks are new as the top surface of the rails is not shiny. Open the comments at the top, the poster has explained what is the role of tamping to provide stability and explained clearly what you are seeing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zdYzdmAuS8g

You can see why the machine is called a duomatic as opposed to a monomatic :rotfl: Any guesses?

Incidentally the Podanur-Pollachi gauge conversion project is still on. This involves a very, very deep cutting that has taken a lot of time. The cutting was part of re-alignment of the existing MG tracks and to provide a softer gradient for the BG tracks which no doubt will carry a heavy load. This project is scheduled to be completed in a few months, perhaps by May CRS inspection should take place.

Goops!! CRS inspection Pollachi-Podanur is scheduled for February 2017, 31 km section will finally connect
CBE to Pollachi and reduce burden of commuters on the highway traveling to Coimbatore.
Last edited by vsunder on 15 Jan 2017 07:37, edited 1 time in total.
vsunder

Post by vsunder »

arshyam wrote:^^ Krishna river already has 3 bridges near BZA, will they build a fourth then? If so, very good.

The funny thing is, the station before the river is called "Krishna Canal Jn.", but the river at 1.2 km is anything but a "canal" :).
Your message brought back a long forgotten memory. Yes of course you are right, there are 3 bridges. But next time you travel over the Krishna at Vijayawada, you will notice a fourth set of masonry piers, standing forlorn with no spans across it, perhaps crumbling a bit. This carried the original track, then single line to Chennai and over which I traveled as a young boy in the 1950's from the barbarian lands of the Doab. It is hard to imagine that Chennai-Delhi was single line. Also the "Krishna Canal Jn." you mention which was a substantial marshalling yard even in bygone days, was spelled "Kistna Canal Jn." and the old IR time tables and Newman's Bradshaw carried this quaint spelling. You might still see this spelling in derelict signal cabins there, which of course are slowly passing away into history with the advent of RRI and a centralized control system. The fourth bridge maybe will be useful for the oft touted Vijayawada bypass line to divert freight traffic away from the main station, at least that freight traffic that is going from Chennai towards Howrah or Chennai to Hyderabad/Delhi and towards Kazipet. These lines will see more action once Amravati the new capital of AP starts to take shape.

vsunder wrote:Bangalore-Hassan new Railway line update.

Before June 2016
http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showpost. ... ount=18722

After Dec 2016
http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showpost. ... ount=19108

Tamping of the ballast is done by Duomatic machines on IR and usually they cover 3km of track in
a single day. There are three rounds of tamping.
Single line only :( ? Or am I being too greedy given the torturous history of this line ?

This Bangalore hassan route was subject to truck and private bus Mafia too. The gas trucks from MRPL and Bangalore -Mangalore private buses will be hit with this route and everything was done to delay this project.

Indian Railways' New 'Luxury' Chair Cars With Aircraft-Like Features

viveks

Post by viveks »

I don't like the automatic doors concept. What about people who want to smoke? Or simply stand by the door and enjoy the views during the ghat, etc.
arvin

Post by arvin »

kvraghav wrote:This Bangalore hassan route was subject to truck and private bus Mafia too. The gas trucks from MRPL and Bangalore -Mangalore private buses will be hit with this route and everything was done to delay this project.
Dont know why but there is aversion to rail projects in KN state:

1.)Maximum stretch of single line of konkan railway is between Thokur and Byndooor(117 km).
Used that route last year and was frustrated with the stops to allow other trains to pass.
Kerala and Maharashtra are fully double except for 31km near sindhudurg, that can be excused
to hilly terrain. Kerala has plans to quadraple the tracks.

2.)Lukewarm response to subarban rail in BLR while supporting projects like steel flyover.
IT hotspots in BLR like ORR, Whitefield, Bagmane, EC, Hebbal, and now carmelaram have rail tracks
in their vicinity but cant be used for local trains as it is used in Mumbai or chennai.

3.)Most important link between Bangalore and Mumbai which is also single line after tumkur till belgaum??
things started moving only central gov applied danda last year as per link below.
http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp ... 475220.ece
The State Cabinet approval for the project came recently after the Union government warned that it might have to shelve it if there was a further delay in land acquisition. A message was reportedly conveyed to the State authorities at a meeting on May 25.
If I am not mistaken, double lining of banglore-mysuru (south) and banglore-penunkonda (north) are being pushed after NDA central govt came to power.
chilarai

Post by chilarai »

viveks wrote:I don't like the automatic doors concept. What about people who want to smoke? Or simply stand by the door and enjoy the views during the ghat, etc.
smoking I think is not allowed on Indian railways anymore. I have seen RPF catching smokers near the toilet .

KA has less people outside except coastal people in Mumbai. The general voting public do not need trains that much, like they need road infrastructure. It is only now that BLR is getting crowded, they feel the need for a suburban train. Generally, KA people travel less than 500 kms max.

chilarai wrote:
viveks wrote:I don't like the automatic doors concept. What about people who want to smoke? Or simply stand by the door and enjoy the views during the ghat, etc.
smoking I think is not allowed on Indian railways anymore. I have seen RPF catching smokers near the toilet .
Yeah, it's been banned for more than a decade now. It's banned to smoke even on platforms.

This is a quantum jump in railway coach manufacturing capability. Goes to show if you have the right vision and right persons leading what can be done even in India. Maintenance is a big issue in India. hope they maintain these.