Ship and Sub Recognition

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Ship and Sub Recognition

Long ago I had started an aircraft recognition thread because that was a long established hobby and I used to be (and still am) fairly good in that dept.

But in this day of Google earth and images taken by everyone I think a ship and sub recognition thread would be useful. First there is a question of recognition and nationality. Then an identification of type of ship and role and finally systems on board.

Unfortunately I am not skilled enough to make ten informative posts to get the thread going - but I will start with one and hope fully others can add gyan or doubts

Re: Ship and Sub Recognition

What is the ship under construction in the background? The sub is probably the Kandheri
Nick_S wrote:Image

It should be Project 15B class destroyer INS Visakhapatnam (D66)

Identify this one....

When you have given up, go here for the answer...(hint: answer is in the url :mrgreen: )

https://www.yahoo.com/tech/drone-ships- ... 26552.html

Try and figure this one out....

When you have given up, go here for the answer...

http://militaryanalysis.blogspot.ca/2017/01/bs-64.html

One last one from me...before the good doctor does a Adi Kollu on me :)

Hint: That is the end of the boat. The propeller is NOT missing. Very easy to figure out.
Resit the urge to click on the answer link! Another hint...if you know your Virginia Class boats, you will know this.
Once you figure out the answer, DO click the link. An interesting set of pictures!

Answer: http://tinyurl.com/z4kzfo4

Rakesh - I am "all at sea" on these :eek:

I knew the kilo class one.
kurup

Post by kurup »

Rakesh wrote:Try and figure this one out....

When you have given up, go here for the answer...

http://militaryanalysis.blogspot.ca/2017/01/bs-64.html
Modified Delta 4 class SSBN .... Experimental vessel to act as a mother submarine for smaller subs .
kurup

Post by kurup »

Rakesh wrote:One last one from me...before the good doctor does a Adi Kollu on me :)

Hint: That is the end of the boat. The propeller is NOT missing. Very easy to figure out.
Resit the urge to click on the answer link! Another hint...if you know your Virginia Class boats, you will know this.
Once you figure out the answer, DO click the link. An interesting set of pictures!

Answer: http://tinyurl.com/z4kzfo4

Kilo Class SSK modified for Pumpjet Propulsion experiment .
tushar_m

Post by tushar_m »

Kilos are quite big subs , never realized that.

Kurup, Good Job!
shiv wrote:Rakesh - I am "all at sea" on these :eek:
I am in the same boat as you. This is all courtesy of Google Chacha. Not my own brains :)
Singha wrote:I knew the kilo class one.
Einsteins like urself should not be allowed to post in threads like these. You are like a freak of nature. You know everything :mrgreen:
tushar_m wrote:Kilos are quite big subs , never realized that.
If you think Kilos are big, you will be awed when you see Akulas or Virginias or Ohio or Borei boats. Kilos are CRAMPED inside. I have been inside one of the Sindhugosh (Kilo) Class boats in Mumbai. If you are claustrophobic, wrong place to be!

Those are some interesting vessels there, Rakesh ji!!!
The Kilo boat is larger that one imagines based on the part that one can see on the surface.

You are welcome Bala ji! Another one....belonged to the US Navy.

Answer: http://tinyurl.com/m5qzjxs

Hint: What is unique about this boat is what lies under the waterline....

Answer: http://tinyurl.com/zx3bdag

You guys will love this one! This ship is not sinking. Guess. Once figured (or NOT) click on the link below and read (and watch the youtube video at the bottom of the page). There is a second picture at the bottom of the first one below. So before you click on the answer, look at that picture. You will figure it out right away.

Answer: http://tinyurl.com/zbrvcnd

Gives new meaning to the term....SHIT DOES FLY :mrgreen:

Not necessarily a ship or sub recognition. But the sheer audacity of the Japanese crew to do this to the Chinese fishing trawler. WOW!

Link: http://www.strangevehicles.com/content/item/184926.html

Caption of the Picture States: These two Japanese coast guard vessels pinch the fishing vessel in the middle whcih belongs to Hong Kong, China, which had embarked on a trip to the DuaoYu Islands (Pinicle Islands) to claim sovereignty.

Hope they slapped the cheeni crew around good...

I hope they video taped it, so we could watch...

Can someone id this ship - frm an old photo I have had for decades
Pls click on thumbnail to enlarge

Post by Klaus »

Rakesh wrote:Hint: What is unique about this boat is what lies under the waterline....
oil drilling platform for ultra deepwater ops, got a riser and heavy pipe handling systems apart from fluid and cement systems, heaviest vessels around.

Klaus wrote:
Rakesh wrote:Hint: What is unique about this boat is what lies under the waterline....
oil drilling platform for ultra deepwater ops, got a riser and heavy pipe handling systems apart from fluid and cement systems, heaviest vessels around.
Not this particular one as per the link
Farooq

Post by Farooq »

Klaus wrote:
Not this particular one as per the link
If it was owned by Transocean it was definitely a Deep Water Dicovere class. Not drillers in the deep but discoverers of off shore Oil and Gas class ship.

Answer: http://tinyurl.com/zx3bdag

Glomar explorer.

Farooq wrote:
shiv wrote: Not this particular one as per the link
If it was owned by Transocean it was definitely a Deep Water Dicovere class. Not drillers in the deep but discoverers of off shore Oil and Gas class ship.
This particular ship was a one off built only to raise a sunken Soviet submarine - but disguised as a drilling ship.

C-60 INS Mysore(ex HMS Nigeria)
Last edited by Gagan on 14 Jan 2017 22:36, edited 1 time in total.

Gagan wrote:C-60 INS Mysore
Thanks. I suspected it was the Mysore but wasn't sure

Hint: You can isolate the region this naval ship is from, by the flag flying at left...

Answer: http://tinyurl.com/hukwrpw

kurup

Post by kurup »

Rakesh wrote:Hint: You can isolate the region this naval ship is from, by the flag flying at left...

Answer: http://tinyurl.com/hukwrpw

First guess was Indonesian Catamaran Patrol boat which caught fire recently .

But on second look the flag on top looks like Iranian one ..... So must be the new Iranian Catamaran which was unveiled recently .

This is not a quiz. This is for my education. Please identify the ships, their type and name the numbered systems (no 5 is a helo- which helo?)
Prithwiraj

Post by Prithwiraj »

From left to right - P25A corvette - Karmuk, INS Jalashwa, Fleet Tanker Jyoti and INS Virat.

1. Uran Launcher
2. MR 352 Pozitiv-E radar
3. Bharat 1245 navigation radar
4. don't know
5. Sea King
Jaeger

Post by Jaeger »

4: Life rafts, I think.

Gagan wrote:C-60 INS Mysore(ex HMS Nigeria)
How did you recognize this, Gaganji, without even a pennant number???

Jaeger wrote:4: Life rafts, I think.
Look like drums - would they be depth charges?

Jaeger wrote:4: Life rafts, I think.
Look like drums - would they be depth charges?
Don't reckon, Hakim saab.. The arrangement is more like that of those inflatable life boats seen in cruise ships..
Jaeger

Post by Jaeger »

Yes that's what I meant inflatable life boats. And shiv saar, learnt that the hard way - ages ago was invited with family onboard a CG OPV (forget which class, but had a manual 40mm bofors upfront) and there were these white drums near the stern. Commando Comics training kicked in and I asked the sailor who was baba-sitting me if these were depth charges and he chuckled and said nope, it was a life raft. Funny that stayed with me for all these years.

Bala Vignesh wrote:
Gagan wrote:C-60 INS Mysore(ex HMS Nigeria)
How did you recognize this, Gaganji, without even a pennant number???
Compared the general design of the bridge, snootstack, ship body with railings, position of the masts etc.
I thought it was INS Delhi, but it wasn't. Turned out to be the Mysore.

Compare this to HMS Nigeria's pic...

kurup: good guess on the Iranian catamaran....

Can someone identify this? I am lost myself...

Looks like the old Los Angeles class submarine with a modified exit for spec ops team..