India-US relations: News and Discussions III

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions III

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... g-to-trump

America’s Biggest Creditors Dump Treasuries in Warning to Trump

Japanese investors cull U.S. government debt by most since ’13
Currency-hedged returns were worst on record last quarter
In the age of Trump, America’s biggest foreign creditors are suddenly having second thoughts about financing the U.S. government.

In Japan, the largest holder of Treasuries, investors culled their stakes in December by the most in almost four years, the Ministry of Finance’s most recent figures show. What’s striking is the selling has persisted at a time when going abroad has rarely been so attractive. And it’s not just the Japanese. Across the world, foreigners are pulling back from U.S. debt like never before.

From Tokyo to Beijing and London, the consensus is clear: few overseas investors want to step into the $13.9 trillion U.S. Treasury market right now. Whether it’s the prospect of bigger deficits and more inflation under President Donald Trump or higher interest rates from the Federal Reserve, the world’s safest debt market seems less of a sure thing -- particularly after the upswing in yields since November. And then there is Trump’s penchant for saber rattling, which has made staying home that much easier.

The US-Japan trade negotiations are just beginning:
https://www.bloomberg.com/politics/arti ... o-deputies
On trade, an issue that has caused prior tensions, Abe sought to distance the topic from his burgeoning friendship with Trump -- and assign it to Vice President Mike Pence. At Japan’s behest, the leaders put Pence and Deputy Prime Minister Taro Aso, who is also finance minister, in charge of a new economic dialogue that will focus on three themes: monetary policy, cooperative projects and trade.

“There’s a possibility he may be easier to work with,” Yoshimasa Maruyama, chief economist at SMBC Nikko Securities Inc. in Tokyo, said of Pence. “He will be under instructions from Trump, so we shouldn’t raise our expectations too high, but he’s probably more logical.”
In one of his first acts as president, Trump pulled out of the TPP and called for trade deals with individual countries. By contrast, Pence was at one point in favor of TPP, a pact strongly championed by Abe.

No date has been set for Pence to visit Japan and begin talks, though Aso has invited him to play golf during his stay. A Japanese Finance Ministry official said the process may eventually lead to a bilateral trade agreement.

Trump, clearly, has his own thoughts. Good or bad confusion reigns. I think it is good if Modi postpones , as much as possible, a trip to DC. The dust has to settle, if it ever will. Trump seems to enjoy confusion, even within his family, it seems to be the normal thing .
Last edited by NRao on 13 Feb 2017 20:59, edited 1 time in total.

https://www.bloomberg.com/politics/arti ... t-air-show
Showdown of America First Versus Make-in-India Looms at Air Show
Boeing Co. and Lockheed Martin Corp. promised to build plants in India if the world’s biggest arms importer chose their fighter jets and weapons. That was before President Donald Trump’s America First call.

This week will be a test for that promise as the biggest U.S. defense contractors, Russia’s MiG Corp., and Europe’s Airbus SE line up to display their wares at an air show in Bengaluru in southern India.

Even as they compete for deals, they could find themselves torn between Trump’s push for companies to keep jobs in the U.S. -- he has singled out a number of multinational firms on Twitter for public criticism -- and Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s own program that seeks to tie military contracts to some of the manufacturing being done in India.

India can still get such deals provided they make deals. It is how such deals are configured that matters.

@NRao ji

What good did/does it do India to go beyond and why should it. Do we not know the basics of negotiation??

Better to be pragmatic and practical. Supreme national interest and all that.

Th others kept pushing India to concede more and more and in the end it did. The pointsman was obama who was drafted to shaft India.

I don't see this as any great victory or gaining the high moral ground. We jjust keep making things more and more difficult for ourselves and the world sees us a pushover, just like the pakis do.

A_Gupta wrote:https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... g-to-trump

America’s Biggest Creditors Dump Treasuries in Warning to Trump

Japanese investors cull U.S. government debt by most since ’13
Currency-hedged returns were worst on record last quarter
In the age of Trump, America’s biggest foreign creditors are suddenly having second thoughts about financing the U.S. government.

In Japan, the largest holder of Treasuries, investors culled their stakes in December by the most in almost four years, the Ministry of Finance’s most recent figures show. What’s striking is the selling has persisted at a time when going abroad has rarely been so attractive. And it’s not just the Japanese. Across the world, foreigners are pulling back from U.S. debt like never before.

From Tokyo to Beijing and London, the consensus is clear: few overseas investors want to step into the $13.9 trillion U.S. Treasury market right now. Whether it’s the prospect of bigger deficits and more inflation under President Donald Trump or higher interest rates from the Federal Reserve, the world’s safest debt market seems less of a sure thing -- particularly after the upswing in yields since November. And then there is Trump’s penchant for saber rattling, which has made staying home that much easier.
Drop in the value of dollar is also one of the unstated cause of this.
Met a Wall St guy recently. Expect a 25% drop in the market in 6 months and 20% reduction in headcount in all major companies.
For 2 years there will be slow growth with global trade slowing down very much

Chetak ji,

I agree with your args, give and take some perhaps.

But, on the flip side, why has/is India still going and sitting at the table? What is that reason? If you can explain that I would appreciate it.

I have maintained that India does not need the UN (read: forget UNSC, etc, they are worthless). I have also maintained that India is perhaps one of two nations that can survive with minimal exports. My major complaints against India is terrible inefficiency - been complaining against for 40 years now. There a few others, but, let me know why India wants to be at any table where there is no respect. BRICS included.

Why all this silly H-1B? When Indians dominate IT in the US, why is there no Google from India? Why do Indians have to leave India to do well?

kiranA wrote:
TSJones wrote:
I have pondered greatly as to what it means to be a citizen of a country. does it mean no particular advantage in the country of one's citizenship? does it mean that being a citizen of xyz country gives no distinction globally? does it mean that in my country I have no more financial security rights in my country than your average bangladeshi on a global scale? serious question.....

if this is the case then does the country of my citizenship really expect my children and their children to fight its wars? why should they? or any other country for that matter. go get the bangladeshis to fight for the country. see how well that works out....
Did you ponder similarly about african americans ? for decades they slaved on the land, fought wars on behalf of usa, toiled in factories, nursed your children - and what do they have to show for it apart from being beaten and raped at will for decades ? They are at the bottom of every demographic indicator. And as late as 80s every republican presidential candidate mocked them as part of electoral debate ("Welfate queen")
That is a brilliant question.

If the idea is that a citizen is entitled to economic protection, then that should extend to all its citizens, no?

NRao wrote: Why all this silly H-1B? When Indians dominate IT in the US, why is there no Google from India? Why do Indians have to leave India to do well?
Well put, Sir!
There's a lot of begging and pleading for visa on this forum which is basically goras throwing a few khota sikkas at Indians. Why don't we have our own great and unique companies? Flipkart is not unique because all it does is copy Amazon. If we are truly smart as we claim to be, we should turn India into an innovation center like it was 3000 years ago.

^^^"NRao wrote:
Why all this silly H-1B? When Indians dominate IT in the US, why is there no Google from India? Why do Indians have to leave India to do well?"

Exactly. Sikka has has taken the H1B issue and used to call for more value added in India. FB's second largest user group: India. Nearly half of Accenture workforce is in India. Ditto IBM. Even with all the fuss over the Indian e-commerce scene, they are still derivatives. Not originals.

Where are the SAPs, Oracles? IS there even a new database coming from India? We supply bodies—and that will not last.

A great many of the people protesting the H1B program are brown—Indians in fact who lost their jobs to H1Bs whom they had to train.

The Lofgren Bill is fine raising the minimum wage from $60K (set in 1989) to $130K is what a 2.5% annual increase. What is wrong with it is that penalizes Indian firms while allowing loopholes for IBM and Accenture.

There are choices: dramatically change the global delivery model—base it on unique products and services rather than cost arbitrage body shopping. Pay for quality Indian workers in India vs. sending them off to SV after doing the IIT circuit.

The H1B issue is a blessing in disguise.

First and foremost we need to differentiate between refugees and immigrants. I do not now, but I recall even Canada allowed people to immigrate based on profession. But, today, Canada makes a lot of noise that they are allowing 140,000 refugees. What about immigration? Will Canada allow anyone to apply and walk in? I do not think so.

And, watch ALL those making noise about this visa issue - across the world - they all are upper level managers - VPs, MDs (in Accenture and the like) and of course CEOs. Heck they ALL stand to lose on big time commissions if they do not hit their numbers. Who the hell are they fooling?

It is ALL about the bottom line. Most of these guys are tied to that "stock" and rise and fall with it. Why would they care about a few H-1Bs?
raising the minimum wage from $60K (set in 1989) to $130K
Not going to happen. It will break their model. Stock prices will go down. They will make $5 million, instead of $15 million. Big loss.

What I would like to see is retain all the H-1Bs - as is - no moving, etc. Companies make the smae money, BUT, the profits are filtered downwards. Freeze the pay packs of anyone making more than $250,000 a year (in these companies who are yelling and screaming) for 5 years.

Navtej Sarna, Indian Amby, makes a strong case for retaining the H1-B (for Indians) on CNN.

http://www.cnn.com/videos/world/2017/02 ... sa-sot.cnn

Michael Flynn resigns.

KJo wrote:
NRao wrote: Why all this silly H-1B? When Indians dominate IT in the US, why is there no Google from India? Why do Indians have to leave India to do well?
Well put, Sir!
There's a lot of begging and pleading for visa on this forum which is basically goras throwing a few khota sikkas at Indians. Why don't we have our own great and unique companies? Flipkart is not unique because all it does is copy Amazon. If we are truly smart as we claim to be, we should turn India into an innovation center like it was 3000 years ago.

is it any surprise that infosys is primarily a body shopping firm, despite whatever param poojya narayana murthy might say to the contrary??

X-posting.

Anil Ambani firm to service over 100 U.S. Navy ships

Anil Ambani group’s Reliance Defence and Engineering inks major contract with the American Navy
Anil Ambani group’s Reliance Defence and Engineering has inked a major contract with the U.S. Navy to provide repair and alteration services for ships of the Seventh Fleet.

This would be the first instance of an Indian company, either public or private, providing logistical support to the U.S. military within Indian territory.

On Monday, the Anil Ambani group firm announced that Reliance Infrastructure (RInfra)-led Reliance Defence and Engineering (RDEL) had signed a Master Ship Repair Agreement (MSRA) with the U.S. Navy to maintain the vessels of its Seventh Fleet involving 100 vessels operating in the Indian Ocean.

Follow-up to LEMOA

The signing of a MSRA agreement is a follow-up to the Logistics Exchange Memorandum of Agreement (LEMOA) signed between New Delhi and Washington in August 2016.

“Reliance Shipyard has been selected after a detailed site survey by U.S. Government representatives in end October 2016,” a Rinfra statement said, adding: “This selection by the U.S. Navy is a true recognition of the world-class facility, processes and the high standard of the capability of Reliance Shipyard at Pipavav.”

The statement said that Reliance Shipyard is the first in India to have received MSRA Certification to undertake servicing and repairing work for the vessels of Seventh Fleet.

Currently, these vessels visit Singapore or Japan for such works.

The U.S. Seventh Fleet looks after the Western Pacific and Indian Ocean. The vessels will be serviced and repaired from the Reliance Defence owned shipyard in Pipavav in Gujarat.

The Pipavav shipyard was qualified and approved to perform complex repair and alteration services for the US Navy last month after a detailed site survey conducted by the US government representatives in October last year.

In 2015, the Anil Ambani-led Reliance Group took over Pipavav Defence, a private shipyard in Gujarat, after getting necessary approvals from various regulators and other government agencies.

Set up in 1997 by Nikhil Gandhi-promoted Sea King Infrastructure Ltd, Pipavav Shipyard was in 2010 allowed to build strategic and defence vessels. Its name was changed to Pipavav Defence and Offshore Engineering Co. Ltd to emphasize its focus on defence shipbuilding and offshore activities.

According to Reliance the deal is likely to generate ₹ 10,000 crore in revenues in the next five years.

NRao wrote:Chetak ji,

I agree with your args, give and take some perhaps.

But, on the flip side, why has/is India still going and sitting at the table? What is that reason? If you can explain that I would appreciate it.

I have maintained that India does not need the UN (read: forget UNSC, etc, they are worthless). I have also maintained that India is perhaps one of two nations that can survive with minimal exports. My major complaints against India is terrible inefficiency - been complaining against for 40 years now. There a few others, but, let me know why India wants to be at any table where there is no respect. BRICS included.

Why all this silly H-1B? When Indians dominate IT in the US, why is there no Google from India? Why do Indians have to leave India to do well?
Folks who leave India are basically economic migrants and nothing more. Nothing wrong with this but please don't fool oneself and get on a moral high horse and bad mouth India for infrastructure or corruption or whatever. We are like that onlee.

Expensively educated Indians whose expensive educations are by an overwhelmingly large majority subsidized by the Indian state promptly hightail it to the US embassy after graduation where they are welcomed by a grateful US state which essentially gets cheap labor at the cost of a third world country which can ill afford such largesse.

Those claiming to need a much more favorable climate for research etc are talking through their hats barring very very few who have made good on this front. If all these guys were to be taken at face value, then Indians should have swept all the nobel prizes in recent decades.

We are a confused civilization, beset by an inferiority complex and the overwhelming need for approval and so we continue to hob nob with our oppressors as though that trait alone distinguishes us from the rest of the world and attests to the sophistication of our civilization. An uninvestigated form of Stockholm syndrome perhaps, where an entire civilization sees nothing wrong with it??

It's a foolish notion and a dangerous thought process that allows us to be easily manipulated by any foreigner or ideology and such foreign or ideological charlatans find easy traction, all in the name of sickularism and democracy.

why are we compelled to follow such silly self-imposed rules when our oppressors have long ago thrown such garbage into the dustbin and are now demanding more freedom to harm us and we willingly acquiesce, nay actively collaborate with them in hastening our own doom??

we are inefficient because of special interest groups that have subverted the political and social firmament to ensure that each gets much more than it's fair share of the pie with the result that the grab and run technique that can be seen on a daily basis is any queue that forms anywhere in India. It's orderly just so long as the doors are not opened or the bus/train that hasn't arrived yet. The moment the door opens, train/bus arrives, order dissolves immediately as everyone fights to get in because they are fearful that they will not get their due.

In govt and private offices, bribes is a very common and mundane affair. One would be really be surprised as to how much cash changes hands in the dealings of private companies and their tinpot dictators who man the gateways to bill clearances, order placements and overtime payments.

When we have not got what we want in international fora, why then do we persist in kowtowing to the powers that be that actively conspire to deny us our rights?? we should withdraw and minimize our presence in such fora as our enthusiastic participation thus far has failed to bear fruit and bring us the recognition that we crave or think that we deserve??

we have no idea what our economic might is or how to use it to claim what is rightfully ours. Like IG returned the 93k paki prisoners without any gain to India, we are doomed to be lightweight pushovers and piddly countries like srilanka, bangladesh, pakiland and nepal not to mention shitholes like the maldives know this and continue to run rings around us, knowing full well that India will not cannot impose any costs on them while we fret and fume at our diplomatic impotence.

As an example, just look at the mindless, spineless way in which ICCR supported the karachi lit festival. What was the need or the necessity to such a foolish thing?? and who gained from such imbecilic behavior?? Did we even bother to a simple cost benefit analysis??

The ICCR sponsorship of the Karachi Lit festival seems to amount to paying the airfare of four Indian authors to attend. Maybe there is more. PRF can do a post Mortimer cost/benefit maybe?

A_Gupta wrote:The ICCR sponsorship of the Karachi Lit festival seems to amount to paying the airfare of four Indian authors to attend. Maybe there is more. PRF can do a post Mortimer cost/benefit maybe?
If some dopy authors wanted to attend, why should the GoI pay for it??

Urvashi Butalia, Preeti Shenoy, Dr Saif Mahmood and Mamang Dai were the Indian writers who attended the KLF, held between February 10-12.

is the ICCR being run by a bunch of dumbasses/baboo(n)s who are not au courant with the political scenario vis-à-vis the pakis??

get the buggers out, then. little pricks working in their little cardboard boxes, disconnected from reality.

Viv S wrote:X-posting.

Anil Ambani firm to service over 100 U.S. Navy ships

Anil Ambani group’s Reliance Defence and Engineering inks major contract with the American Navy
Step 1: Idiot Sheikh gives poor Camel some space to sleep overnight (Checked)
Step 2: After ensuring Sheikh is sleeping, Camel moves inside by few inches (Checked)
Step 3:
God know how many steps are there but at lease we know the outcome...

In the past week the United States Commission on International Religious Freedom (USCIRF) released a new report attacking India and Hinduism.

The report, Constitutional and Legal Challenges Faced by Religious Minorities in India, rather than being written by USCIRF staff, was outsourced exclusively to Dr. Iqtidar Karamat Cheema, raising serious questions about the Commission’s credibility and transparency. Dr Cheema is a British activist and writer who has been previously honored by several Pakistani government bodies, consistently advocated for Pakistan’s foreign policy objectives, and endorsed various organizations striving for a separate Sikh state of Khalistan—including supporting the Babbar Khalsa, a terrorist organization banned by the United Kingdom and India.

In response we have published two articles, which we urge members to read and share widely:

• US Religious Freedom Commission’s “Alternative Facts” Attack Hinduism and India by Samir Kalra, HAF Senior Director and Human Rights Fellow

• US Religious Freedom Commission Outsources Its Credibility with Attack on Hinduism and India by Suhag Shukla, HAF Executive Director
HAF takes issue with many facets of the report, including:

• Erroneous and misleading representation of government support for religious institutions in India;
• The practical effect of personal status laws on all communities;
• The false equivalency of comparing the scale of past and current predatory proselytization to the recent Ghar Wapsi movement;
• The nature and intent of cow protection laws;
• The assumption that Government of India’s Foreign Contribution Regulation Act discriminates against minority organizations and favors Hindu organizations, both in India and abroad; and
• The assertion that caste-based discrimination is a Hindu religious teaching, rather than a pernicious social problem blighting all Indian religious communities today.
sooraj

Post by sooraj »

Trump's hand shake is weird :lol:

Just imagine Trump shaking hands with Modi :roll:

Paging rudradev. so much happening where are u boss. Let us hear your opinion. I do fear some of what you were predicting may turn out to be true. Situation is evolving but it does not look good. Deep state in full glory.Did you hear the exact language of spicer "The previous administartion allowed Russia to take Crimea". Imaging turn around. Putin was right when he said "we will wait and see what the new administration does."

so US and NATO are going to war against Russia over Crimea?? Don't think so...
same over Ukraine... again, don't think so. The Russians have said for a long time that the Ukraine is the red line
Baltics? just maybe... perhaps hoping that the sabre rattling will be enough
there was never a serious question about saving Georgia or the Crimea... these are firmly in the Russian orbit

sooraj wrote:Trump's hand shake is weird :lol:

Trump doesn't let go and neither does Modi, except that Modi has an iron grip and he may hug Trump. Modi also has a few million more Twitter followers than Trump. It will be epic like Batman Vs. Superman.

A_Gupta wrote:The ICCR sponsorship of the Karachi Lit festival seems to amount to paying the airfare of four Indian authors to attend. Maybe there is more. PRF can do a post Mortimer cost/benefit maybe?
These paki pasand and well laid landmines which gain traction only because of a lack of supervision and coordination at the top echelon of the Indian government.

It's like we will never learn as the pakis successfully suborn more and more Indian baboo(n)s and "intellectuals" with their slick hospitality and freebies during the paki visits of these baboo(n) jokers and all in the name of aman ki tamasha.

for the meagre price of a plate of butter chicken, daru and a well filled bed, many baboo(n)s and "intellectuals" become willing accomplices, eager to under cut India in paki forums and forums in India too.

sooraj wrote:Trump's hand shake is weird :lol:

Trump doesn't let go and neither does Modi, except that Modi has an iron grip and he may hug Trump. Modi also has a few million more Twitter followers than Trump. It will be epic like Batman Vs. Superman.
l

what anti-bacterial gel will Trump use after this handshake. Will he remove his coat and hand it to the cleaners to disinfect as well.
Nick_S

Post by Nick_S »

Subramanian Swamy - Rajya Sabha MP, Fmr. Union Cabinet Minister, Harvard Ph.D in Economics; Professor, BJP National Exec. member,

Subramanian SwamyVerified account@Swamy39
"Time is ripe for India to tell US that we will send 20,000 troops to fight ISIS & same to Afghanistan if US opens its arms warehouse to us."
https://twitter.com/Swamy39/status/832063879274389504

What an a__hole. We are not Porkis, we don't sell our men for arms.
komal

Post by komal »

Nick_S wrote:Subramanian Swamy - Rajya Sabha MP, Fmr. Union Cabinet Minister, Harvard Ph.D in Economics; Professor, BJP National Exec. member,

"Time is ripe for India to tell US that we will send 20,000 troops to fight ISIS & same to Afghanistan if US opens its arms warehouse to us."

He seems extremely volatile in his statements. Very hard to figure him out at times.

I think Subbu Swamy's account has been hacked. He has been very erratic and weird these past few weeks.

^ He would have said so if that were the case. But recall seeing few videos wherein he advocated US, Israel and India alliance against ISIS. This statement is in line with that.

KJo wrote:I think Subbu Swamy's account has been hacked. He has been very erratic and weird these past few weeks.
He in fact said almost the same in a public meeting I went. Context in which he was saying was what are all can be traded between the two countries and what it takes to put boots in other countries. He seems to behave or make statements like what we call in Telugu kanthri (street smart and cunning fellow)

----------------------

Nick_S wrote:Subramanian Swamy - Rajya Sabha MP, Fmr. Union Cabinet Minister, Harvard Ph.D in Economics; Professor, BJP National Exec. member,

This may not be such a bad idea (at least sending to Afghanistan). Not sure about sending troops to Asia Minor. I do not see it as "selling men for arms" if it is done on our terms. If this is considered seriously, then we should make it clear that Indian forces would not fight with one arm tied behind their back, i.e. it should allow full-scale field use and testing of tactics and equipment (artillery, tanks, missiles, air strikes, whatever is needed), i.e. live exercises.

Finally, the definition of "success" should be clearly defined at the outset: finding and finishing off as many Tallybonnies or other undesirables as possible within a given time-frame, achieving all our testing/exercise targets, and then leaving unless it is favorable to stay on.

There will be casualties, but the mission is a noble one and in our national interest.

IMO this would be far better than sending Indian forces on UN peace-keeping missions. We should simply stop contributing men to UN peace-keeping, and offer some funds instead. As far as I know, the permanent members very rarely (or never) send peace-keeping troops but they contribute funds, so let's start behaving like a permanent member.

Not a good idea to send Indian troops to Syria.

A'stan was the last options and perhaps there is a sliver still around.

Do not think this will happen, but ............

Boeing hopes to find middle path for F-18 fighter jet sales to India

“We are willing to work with both Indian Navy and the US government to find a solution that works for everybody–that’s compelling when it comes to technological cooperation and industrial cooperation but that meets the objectives of both the governments,” Thom Breckenridge, vice-president, global sales, Boeing (India) told Mint.

Is India ready to grasp the opportunity?
In an ominous introductory note, the conference’s chairman, Wolfgang Ischinger, a widely respected former German Ambassador to Washington, warns of the dangers to global order if the United States reneges on international commitments and pursues a more unilateralist and nationalistic agenda. He writes, “We may, then, be on the brink of a post-Western age, one in which non-Western actors are shaping international affairs, often in parallel or even to the detriment of precisely those multilateral frameworks that have formed the bedrock of the liberal international order since 1945. Are we entering a post-order world?”
http://www.newyorker.com/news/news-desk ... -the-world
Bheeshma

Post by Bheeshma »

Syria is a strict no-no. Too many armed groups, very little Indian interest or people. Afghanistan is another matter, but first lets get PoK back . I hope MD combo is seriously looking at the options. Wiping out 200 million pakistanis will not be easy, but then Sindhis and baluchis will not stand with pakjabis.

A_Gupta wrote:Is India ready to grasp the opportunity?
In an ominous introductory note, the conference’s chairman, Wolfgang Ischinger, a widely respected former German Ambassador to Washington, warns of the dangers to global order if the United States reneges on international commitments and pursues a more unilateralist and nationalistic agenda. He writes, “We may, then, be on the brink of a post-Western age, one in which non-Western actors are shaping international affairs, often in parallel or even to the detriment of precisely those multilateral frameworks that have formed the bedrock of the liberal international order since 1945. Are we entering a post-order world?”
http://www.newyorker.com/news/news-desk ... -the-world
In partnership with whom? Cannot do it independently.

I think Trump's sidekicks will come around and retain the status. Trump ....................... ? Bet even he does not know.