Indian IT Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian IT Industry

Et telecom...

BENGALURU/NEW DELHI: Infosys has decided not to apply for H-1B visas for junior employees, three sources with knowledge of the matter told ET, as the IT company comes to terms with the prospect of a tougher regulations governing the work visas.

Indian IT firms have long been dependent on the work visa, but a rising tide of protectionism means they are beginning to adjust their business models to reduce their reliance on the visa.

“The company is not applying for visas for employees with under four years of experience. We are talking to clients about offshoring more work to India, and the work done by junior employees can be brought to India,” an executive at the company told ET.

A second executive confirmed that the company had not raised visa requests for systems engineers and senior systems engineers, among the lowest rungs in the Infosys corporate ladder.

Earlier this year, US Congressmen have proposed a bill raising the minimum wage on the H-1B visa to over $130,000, more than double of what is mandated today. The increased rhetoric around outsourcing has also made some Infosys clients wary of being serviced by more employees on the work visas. “There are job requirements in the US, but some customers have started asking that fewer H-1B employees be deployed onsite on their projects. We are trying to hire more onshore to deal with this issue,” a third Infosys executive said.

A cursory search for professional social networking site LinkedIn shows as many as 150 jobs advertised for locations in the US in the last month. Some of the jobs posted ask for as little as two years of experience.

Infosys, which has entered the silent period ahead of its fourth-quarter earnings results next month, declined to comment for this story. The company’s inability to apply for visas for junior employees is also creating another problem.

“One of the easiest ways to retain people when they expressed dissatisfaction was to say that we will begin their visa process. This can no longer be used. Managers are now trying to find different ways to keep people on board,” one of the executives quoted above said. He added that this was a problem that would be faced by the entire industry and not just Infosys.

Tata Consultancy Services said that it had operated in a self-imposed visa-constrained environment this year and had applied to get only about 15% of the visas for which it normally applies. The combination of far higher minimum wages and a tighter visa regime means that in the future, junior employees are unlikely to make the coveted trip onshore.
Tags : Enterprise, Enterprise IT, visa for Infosys staff, Infosys, US work visa, H-1B visas, H-1B visa, Donald Trump

asgkhan wrote:I am currently working on 2 projects, medium scale, a bit complicated. Following are the stakeholders.

Business, Developers (vendors/inhouse), testing team, environment management team, BA.

All of the above are in different countries. BA gets the product and requirement list with defects ready for implementation and fix. Dev and testing team are busy playing the blame game. Business is getting frustrated with the constant delays and changes in go-live date.

As a Proj Mgr,I have to step in to ensure that daily defect meeting goes well, vendors are brought in line else they provide a end of day update and disappear doing zilch.

Run the group chat so that focus and pressure is maintained.

I doubt if automation really will work in such complex, semi-complex scenarios.
They will cut down this globalization of work
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

How ??

https://www.theatlas.com/charts/rk-LjMk3x

Check the cost differential in the stats.

Singha wrote:“One of the easiest ways to retain people when they expressed dissatisfaction was to say that we will begin their visa process. This can no longer be used. Managers are now trying to find different ways to keep people on board,” one of the executives quoted above said. He added that this was a problem that would be faced by the entire industry and not just Infosys.
I think it would be easier to tell every one that "IT is not the old cash rich cow of 2000s, please look for better options". This VISA process gimmick, I have seen it being used else where as well. But from what I could figure out, that gimmick only could retain people from a few specific geographies in India.

the salary does not project true picture . the cost of renting offices, food, transport, generator backup , security & housekeeping (ever notice the number of guards & pantry boys in any itvity) raises the cost of blr substantially vs countries with better infra even eastern european some sites.

for a place like massa, except in premier areas of sv, renting office is cheap, power is cheap and assured (ups will do no need for massive diesel gensets), security is 1 guy for 10 buildings using the cctv and police on automatica alarm trigger for L2, food is nonexistent or very limited timings and basic, housekeeping is late at night cut rate hispanic underclass to exploit, there is no office transport, HR is very small as headcount and training needs are low. insurance is expensive but being steadily slashed all the time. all of this does add up. water is cheap, here you pay the tanker guys.

the onlee thing none can match is a army a kabila horde of some 500,000 along a 10km orr stretch.

I would imagine blr is costlier than most parts of massa or europe per line of code delivered. but the kabila concept is hard to match - for now. higher degree of automation will however affect, esp BPO and KPO, already chatbots and FAQs are mounting a stout defence before you can reach a human.

other diff is the best in india are ok to work in blr, but the best in massa are far from ready to work in huntsville alabama or tampa fl or even lower cost locations....they want to work in sv, boston, denver, boulder, seatle, san diego and other cool high cost places.

Is that chart adjusted for PPP?

asgkhan wrote:How ??

https://www.theatlas.com/charts/rk-LjMk3x

Check the cost differential in the stats.
These stats do not give the whole picture.
SV salaries may be highest but cost of living is very high too. In the end, what is one saving? Is it worth it? The answer is not clear cut.
There is a saying "you get what you pay for". Cheap isn't always best.

So many variables and decision has to be made depending on the situation.
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

At 8.6k USD, that average annual figure is supposed to be ~ Rs 6,50,000. My educated guess is that the operating costs alone would be between 3-5,00,000 per employee. I doubt and dispute that average salary figure as well. If it were true, would happily hire twice the number of developers and testers!

I would assume that this number stands for 0-2 years of experience atleast for India.
Are then the numbers for other cities comparable ?
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

Basically the numbers are untrue. It's just another way of fear mongering.

Those numbers are BS. For that money, the only competent person you can hire is a trainee or 1-2 year experienced person. There are a lot of more experienced persons with that salary range but generally, they are non-productive and are just making up the numbers.

The average salary if you considered only competent and productive people would be more in the Shanghai/Beijing ballpark.

The numbers for Singapore too seem to be way off. It would be more in the 50-70K range.

Pakistan's IT industry.

Wipro sacks about 700 employees
Majority of the sacked employees are from the senior level and have served for over 10 years on the same technology area.

^^ chaiwalla says this is just those who did not put in papers voluntarily . many more left on own after warning. apparently another set of people are on PIP and will not get hikes or bonuses for next several quarters.

Severe risk of downturn and layoffs is gathering steam on the horizon. There are hardly any jobs to move and this sword of Damocles hanging on everyones head especially the ones who are in mid level management with no hard skills left in the resume.
The distant fear of this IT party getting over someday is now here and most of the IT companies are caught in it like deer in the headlight.

PS: I have been interviewing people for couple of positions in my Org and out of 13 candidates interviewed, Not one could even be considered as someone with decent exposure or knowledge or communication skills.

Vikas wrote:Severe risk of downturn and layoffs is gathering steam on the horizon. There are hardly any jobs to move and this sword of Damocles hanging on everyones head especially the ones who are in mid level management with no hard skills left in the resume.
The distant fear of this IT party getting over someday is now here and most of the IT companies are caught in it like deer in the headlight.

PS: I have been interviewing people for couple of positions in my Org and out of 13 candidates interviewed, Not one could even be considered as someone with decent exposure or knowledge or communication skills.
Isn't this self contradictory? You should find good people easily when there are no jobs.
Subdas

Post by Subdas »

What about folks with 25+ years of experience in enterprise software development - OLTP, EAI, Reporting etc. These folks should start their own business or take up a teaching job or move to quality group ?

Singha wrote:^^ chaiwalla says this is just those who did not put in papers voluntarily . many more left on own after warning. apparently another set of people are on PIP and will not get hikes or bonuses for next several quarters.
This whole PIP thing is another scam that you will see more of in India. Generally while laying off people, companies pay a severance of 'x' months salary. What these people will now do is put the person on PIP on false reasons (the employee has no recourse as everything is fixed) and then when the next round of layoffs arrive, these people will be cut and the companies will say it was on basis of performance. This way they look clean and company does not have to pay a severance.

Sab golmaal hai bhai.
All dirty tactics from US will now come to India.
This is a correction that has been a long time coming. Not everyone can get into IT just because it exists. Some have aptitude and some don't. The de-weeding will begin and it will be a painful few years and then it will be much better place because only the hardy ones will survive. This happened in the US also, it is happening here some 18 years later.
Last edited by KJo on 21 Apr 2017 20:45, edited 1 time in total.

if the IT bigs like TCS infy etc are drastically cutting down on visa applications , who are all these people applying for H1s..the numbers have come down from ~250K last year to ~200K this year. It is down, but still a lot

TCS stopped applying for H1s last year itself sir. We need to remember many STEM masters students whose petition wasn't picked first time, will reapply next year, as they have 3 years OPT. So their backlog itself will contribute much and add to the first time F1 students applying for H1.

Indian IT firms may face layoffs due to H-1B visa curbs: Assocham
NEW DELHI: With the US tightening the norms for H-1B visas under the President Donald Trump's 'Buy American, Hire American' campaign, the Indian IT companies are bound to face disruptions by way of higher costs and even some laying off work force back home, and the rising rupee is aggravating the situation further for the technology export firms, an Assocham paper said here on Wednesday.

Nearly 86 per cent of the H-1B visas issued for workers in the computer space go to Indians and this figure is now sure to be scaled down to about 60 per cent or even less, the paper said.

Interviewing and selection procedure itself are important soft skills.

People are introvert or extrovert by nature and you cannot change that.

IMHO, one must be prepared to spare good time for an interview. If the candidate is not forthright with whatever you are specifically looking encourage them to speak on their strong areas. That will give them the confidence to hold the conversation, get rid of the fear factor and build a rapport. After that.

It's the job of the interviewer to dig out what an introvert candidate cannot communicate effectively and in a similar vein must also uncover what trickster candidate try to hide. This of course excludes positions that calls for candidates communication skills as primary considerations.

People hands on with tech in IT should build up an online profile quickly.

LinkedIn, GitHub, StackOverflow etc. Put up your showcase projects, code assets etc. Practice algorithms, data structures etc.

Last week, one HR motorham from a top Swiss bank fished out my profile from LinkedIn and curiously my GitHub profile (how they correlated I don't know), browsed through the code base there and then asked me if I was interested in a senior technical position. I declined for the time being, but I am pleasantly surprised that such avenues exist.

KJo wrote:Indian IT firms may face layoffs due to H-1B visa curbs: Assocham

Nearly 86 per cent of the H-1B visas issued for workers in the computer space go to Indians and this figure is now sure to be scaled down to about 60 per cent or even less, the paper said.
This used to be less than 70% a few year ago, may be just 50%. What are all the other countries doing? What about the hordes of chinese students who come to the US to study who are equal in number to India. :-?

Is this true? 95% of Indian engineers do not know basics of coding.

http://www.catchnews.com/business-econo ... 58330.html

You tell me....is it true indians beat their kids and worship monkeys ?

Such paki type questions are framed to put the responder on the defensive.

I would ask is it true the goras are being hounded by just the 5% of indian competition who can code? Are they that bad? Is something wrong in their family, schools and society to be so bad? Is it sense of entitlement? If only 5% coding is enough to run the show what are the rest 95% goras doing all day other than surfing or doing ppt ?

Hanumadu, knaledge of English is the final arbiter betwixt bharatiyas and cheeni bhai log. But then that advantage is fast disappearing. We may have a 3 year advantage if that. We can't depend on that only. The best cours of action, not only in IT but in all other areas of endeavor, is to develop a robust market within the country. Gawd knows there is enough latent demand for all kinds of goods and services within desh itself.

^^ not just robust market sir, but semi-protected one. ALL the cheeni internet/electronic giants became so as national champions with mysterious sources of working capital, protected market and foreign rivals either totally blocked(fbook,google) or made life so tough they backed out and failed (amazon,uber)
in a open market its easy for EU/US cos with 5% cost of capital to dump capital here and kill indian efforts.
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

Cheeni market is costlier than Indian market. Atleast the goras who run this shop have found bangalore more cost effective than Shanghai.

3 years back, they sent some seats to shanghai, after continuous complaints of falling quality, seats moved back here.

I dont belive that cheenis are good in complicated, business process and regulatory work. Too many mistakes

Infy to hire 10k in usa, across 4 new centers. First will be in indiana home state of mike pence

Ah, no wonder they have paused hiring in India.

10k Amreeki means (10k US citizens only they could very well be desis onlee).

the locations will be really low cost ones like indiana. will be hard to find elite goras willing to work in such places....so seems designed to get the low cost resources..perhaps they will keep things simple and no more post people all over client sites but operate big4 delivery centers and send h1 also only there.

well played by infy...the idea is to make the admin look good..so they can say issue is 'solved' and trump ire will be directed elsewhere...

who gives a crap about details...

Singha wrote:Infy to hire 10k in usa, across 4 new centers. First will be in indiana home state of mike pence
My close friend (desi US citizen) just got hired by INFY to work at Mickey location.
I hope the phenomenon to mass-hire and pack off to furrin will stop.

Gus ji, if you think INFY can play these games and get away, you are mistaken. In the end Trump's H&D is at stake and if we continue to see TCS/INFY hordes infesting every company, he can say bye bye to his credibility.

the only people who are mistaken are those who believe used car salesman pitches.

Gus wrote:the only people who are mistaken are those who believe used car salesman pitches.
Wait and watch. The days of rampant corruption and cheating by TCS/INFY type of companies are over.
Other than false bravado along the lines of "amreeka needs us! they will collapse without us!", I see a lot of :(( behind the scenes.

Indian IT Industry

X Poxted on the STFUP Thread

Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology – Government of India

ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY ANNUAL REPORT 2016-2017

CHAPTER 4 : MAKE IN INDIA : SOFTWARE AND SERVICES :
PARA 4.1 : Global Perspective - PAGE 102
IT-BPM exports from India are expected to reach US$ 117 Billion during FY 2016-2017, a 7.6% Y-o-Y growth. The trend and the factors contributing to growth are similar to global markets, and encouragingly, at a faster rate.

KJo wrote:
Gus wrote:the only people who are mistaken are those who believe used car salesman pitches.
Wait and watch. The days of rampant corruption and cheating by TCS/INFY type of companies are over.
Other than false bravado along the lines of "amreeka needs us! they will collapse without us!", I see a lot of :(( behind the scenes.
This is utter nonsense. Not to mention insignificant in comparison to what american companies have done and are doing in India. Enron anyone?

KJo wrote:Gus ji, if you think INFY can play these games and get away, you are mistaken. In the end Trump's H&D is at stake and if we continue to see TCS/INFY hordes infesting every company, he can say bye bye to his credibility.
Seriously? I know you are biased against desi IT companies, but this really pushing it. What gives you the right to talk like this about Indians on an INDIAN forum? Perhaps you can talk like this on storm front, I am sure they will welcome you with open arms :rotfl: