Armoured Vehicles: News & Discussion

Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Re: Armoured Vehicles Discussion Thread - August 9, 2014

Post by Marten »

Khalsa wrote:Phillip
stop please.
He is actually not interested in the Ka or the Armata.
He was really mocking your blind following for anything Russian.

And you are just playing into his hands much to the delight of all BRFites.
Khalsa, since you mentioned me without showing the courtesy of naming me -- despite the appearances, I respect Philip and his immense knowledge a lot, and he knows this as well. I do not think he took it as a barb, just as a joke, as it was intended. No reason for you or anyone to feel bad. Also, I love the Kamovs, have been a fan for a long while, even before I knew of Philip or read him on this forum. :)

Admins, Admiral, sorry for the OT.

Marten: i need no apologies.

I am Admiral Emiritus i.e. Admiral without a fleet :mrgreen:

Marten wrote:
Khalsa wrote:Phillip
stop please.
He is actually not interested in the Ka or the Armata.
He was really mocking your blind following for anything Russian.

And you are just playing into his hands much to the delight of all BRFites.
Khalsa, since you mentioned me without showing the courtesy of naming me -- despite the appearances, I respect Philip and his immense knowledge a lot, and he knows this as well. I do not think he took it as a barb, just as a joke, as it was intended. No reason for you or anyone to feel bad. Also, I love the Kamovs, have been a fan for a long while, even before I knew of Philip or read him on this forum. :)

Admins, Admiral, sorry for the OT.
Marten my bad.
Please enjoy the Ka and Armatas and all.

Phillip I just speak for myself then. We can't be repeating this cycle again and again (the cycle of MiG-21 and T-55 and T-72).
The Russians did support us and were strategic partners from 50s to 90s and I am immensely grateful for those decades. However its over my friend.
Its every man for himself.

The Russians still have plenty of business from us
FGFA
Su-30
T-90
Frigates
Sub (upgrade) + Nuke Sub.

Bas karo yaar.

Wait till the flying Armata is unveiled,then I wil Taka,taka,taka....,Until then I wil Talka,talka,talka...! :rotfl:
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

Philip, there is no chance. We will probably end up selling the LCH to them in ten years. Mark my words!
Khalsa, you are missing the context mate! Loving the Kamovs is not the same as wanting them for IA/IAF! :)

Philip wrote:Ha!Ha! Nyet comrade,but it has another beast called the KA-52,the flying tank.watch it in action here.
<OT> The Mi-28 Havoc is said to have better armor protection as compared to the KA-52, and equal firepower. Also in attack helicopters, the tandem two seat config is generally more preffered than the side-by-side seating to give better visual situational awareness to both the pilot and WSO/gunner </OT>

Philip wrote:Wait till the flying Armata is unveiled,then I wil Taka,taka,taka....,Until then I wil Talka,talka,talka...! :rotfl:
Oh Phillip you are never gonna give up are you ?
:D :D :D :D :D

Philip ji
Please tell us about yourself. Are you one single person, or a group of people who post under the name 'philip' ?
Are you from the land of Roos too?

^^^ This is against forum rules. Gagan ji, please desist. Philip saar, ignore above message.

2 page article

http://nationalinterest.org/blog/the-bu ... been-19836

Takeaway
..great tanks are in themselves not enough. Logistical tail, mobility of infantry, air and artillery support are vital...

A panzer leader like rokosovsky held back his tanks and used artillery seeing a opportunity

Search for battle of brody in wikipedia

Interesting to note kruschev was a powerful komissar those days spying on generals back to stalin.

Ha!Ha! Phi-Lip.Two words.Does it answer the Q? No. I am not from the land of Rus.,neither I am I a follower of Mr. Marx. I love watching the other Marx..Brothers! No biz dealings with Mr. Putin either unlike Pres. Trump,though would love him to send me some caviar and Stoly.
However,like all of us,input often comes from various sources,nothing classified ever posted.

CAG criticises Indian Army for slack maintenance of weapons systems

http://www.newindianexpress.com/nation/ ... 79945.html
NEW DELHI: The Comptroller and Auditor General has slammed the army for not being able to effectively maintain large inventory of critical weapon systems including radars and battle tanks.

The CAG also took strong objection to inordinate delays by the Border Roads Organisation (BRO) in construction of 61 strategically-important roads, having a total length of 3,409 KM, under the Indo China Border Roads (ICBRs) project.

In a report which was tabled in Parliament, the CAG criticised the army for failing to come up with any long-term perspective plan for creation of infrastructure for newly- inducted military systems.

Citing examples of delays in maintenance of key weapon platforms, it said against the norm of 153 days, it took the army 1,512 days for the overhauling of BMP Infantry Combat Vehicles.

"Similarly, for Tanks T-72, the delay ranged up to 836 days against the norm of 144 days. Overhaul of Radar and its variants also experienced delays up to 921 days," the report said.

It specifically mentioned about lack of facility for repair and overhaul of Main Battle tank Arjun which were inducted into the army from 2004 and is due for overhaul from 2020-21.

"In case of Tank T-72, the quantum of backlog of overhaul was 713 at the end of 2010-11 and 479 at the end of 2015-16 which constitutes around 20 per cent of total holding," said the report on working of Army's Base Workshops covering a period of six years from 2010-11 to 2015-16.

The report suggested the army should have a detailed plan to keep the weapons system available for any eventuality.

Referring to maintenance of armoured recovery vehicles (ARV WZT 2), the CAG said the facility for overhaul of the fleet was set up in March 2009 after 28 years of its introduction.

"The vehicle was due for overhaul since 1996-97, but only 22 ARV WZT-2 could be overhauled against the total strength of 222. The equipment was likely to be de-inducted by 2018,"
said CAG.

Too many times we keep seeing this type of criticism and for a valid reason. The IA could get a lot more out of its existing weapon systems with proper infrastructure to support products over their lifetimes. But it seems, a new inventory keeps getting acquired without proper life-cycle support in place and even after a decade in service those facilities still don't get setup.

This is Sputnik, so take FWIW
https://sputniknews.com/military/201703 ... vs-abrams/
M1 Abrams vs. T-90: Top US General Admits Russia Has Achieved Tank Parity
He recalled, for instance, that the US lost 80 Abrams in Iraq during the 2003 invasion, out of a total of 1,135 machines deployed. "As for tanks disabled by enemy fire and due to serious damage suffered by major components and systems, the picture is just depressing," Tuchkov wrote. In 2006, "the army had to ship 530 tanks –i.e. almost half of those deployed, off for repair in the US."
As for Russia and its T-90, it has a lower profile, a higher top speed, a longer operational range, and at 46.5 tons, weighs a full 16.5 tons less than the 63 ton US behemoth. It has partial dynamic protection by default, with no additional skirt installations required, and according to Tuchkov, has demonstrated its prowess in the Syrian conflict.

He was saying in terms of tank technology in general on a number of systems around the world that are close, at par or superior as he highlighted the need to take stuff out of the lab and put it on a future tank. The US Army has no real money for a new tank however given the other stuff it has to modernize first. Number of cold war, or post cold war systems need to be significantly upgraded or completely recapitalized and these will consume majority of the modernization budget through mid to late 2020s so for that moment it is just upgrades.

What is tank parity. Does that mean that tanks from both armies will step out of the line and then challange the tanks from the other side to a duel.

What about the other systems that a tank operates with, they will all of a sudden become irrelevant just because a tank turns up on the battlefield.

russia already had parity or superiority in those except UAV.

I don't think total ground armor recapitalization is on the cards with the type of threats the US Army is likely to encounter. For now they will concentrate on command and control, counter-insurgency multi domain operations and ballistic missile defense. The USAF and USN will continue to get funding priority for the high end fight unless the Army can figure out how to effectively integrated in the Air Sea battle and justify high end investments beyond IAMD. The large scale tank on tank battles of the cold-war are not a pressing enough threat to take resources away from other investments and needs that are more pressing. Even the footprint in Europe is quite small compared to the cold war days.

The US Army at present has actually moved away from armor heavy structure of the Cold War.

Today, it does not even have full fledged armor battalions/regiments of the kind found earlier. What you've today are combined arms battalions under Armor Brigade Combat Team (ABCT). Each ABCT has three combined arms battalion with two battalions having 2 x armor + 1 x mechanized companies while third one has 1 x armor + 2 x mechanized companies for a total of 90 tanks per Armor BCT.

Today, US Army has 13+2 Armor BCT ( 2 BCT being converted to Armor BCT) which should give about ~1,500 active tanks.

As a reference that is a few hundred short of the total number of tanks the US deployed in GW1.

brar_w wrote:
As a reference that is a few hundred short of the total number of tanks the US deployed in GW1.

OT for the thread but I've a request - can you point me to studies/papers which discuss the optimal structure of various combat arms (infantry, armor, AD, mechanized, BCT) in US Army? For example, why should a tank company have 14 tanks or why Combined Arms Battalions in Armor BCT moved from 2+2 company structure to 2+1 structure? I'm trying to understand rationale for how Table of Organization & Equipment (T0&E) is arrived at basis manpower, organic fire-power, mobility and inorganic support.

Austin's post reg. the CAG report on tank maintenance or lack of it by the IA is the endemic problem affecting the services and nation. We simply ignore regular maintenance of anything given to us.Take public buildings for example,our major public buildings which were built during the British Raj have survived because they built then to last for centuries.Our new blgs. built by the PWD,whoever, can't even last a few monsoons. Somehow the aim seems to be acquire new toys ,preferably from abroad so that firang junkets and "perks" come with the deal,and then ignore support,spares and maintenance. One fine day,emergency orders are issued when such spares and eqpt. will cost a bomb,like the ammo that the OFB cannot produce which had to be a rush-order to Russia ..(pardon the pun!) and to israel!

I said in an earlier post,Avadi has enough and more on its plate in T-72 upgrades,T-90 prod.,specialist AVs,Arjun follow up whatever, before we need to think about a new FMBT. Dozens of LCHs ,armed Dhruvs/Rudras,MI-17Vs,LUHs and KA-52s for the IA, will give us a huge close support capability with these "flying tanks".Increasing the availability of the thousands of tanks in our inventory will be the equiv of ordering a few hundred new ones too.

brar_w wrote:

OT for the thread but I've a request - can you point me to studies/papers which discuss the optimal structure of various combat arms (infantry, armor, AD, mechanized, BCT) in US Army? For example, why should a tank company have 14 tanks or why Combined Arms Battalions in Armor BCT moved from 2+2 company structure to 2+1 structure? I'm trying to understand rationale for how Table of Organization & Equipment (T0&E) is arrived at basis manpower, organic fire-power, mobility and inorganic support.

I haven't gone over the complete document but THIS may help answer some of those force structure questions. On the earlier point obout the shrinking quantity of US armor compared to the early 1990s -
Army modularity—restructuring the force to produce a supply of directly interchangeable
units—is the product of a number of experiences and concerns.1 Modularity may be best characterized
as the Army’s institutional response to a host of factors, some stretching back to the
early 1990s, that caused the Army to move away from its traditional division-based force to a
brigade-centric design. The most salient considerations included the following:

• There was a realization (circa 1990) that the Cold War was over and that, in its absence,
the United States’ standing was no longer endangered by a revisionist power with direct
military force. In brief, there was no “peer competitor.”
• There were concerns about the Army’s enduring national security relevance after 1999’s
Operation Allied Force succeeded against Milosevic’s Serbia without recourse to ground
forces, as well as the Army’s perceived difficulty in deploying its Task Force Hawk in support
of the allied campaign there.2
• There was a subsequent desire by then–U.S. Army Chief of Staff (CSA, 1999–2003) General
Eric K. Shinseki for a responsive, mobile, midweight (that is, mobile with its own
vehicles) force that would be deployable by air to any crisis in the world within 96 hours.
• The terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, increased demand for Army forces.
• The Army became engaged in extended campaigns in Afghanistan and Iraq.
• The Army was required to support enduring global counterterrorism efforts.
• The Quadrennial Defense Review (QDR) and other defense guidance emphasized building
partnerships and partner capacity and the provision of security force assistance to
beleaguered friendly states around the world.
• There was a growing requirement to support civil authorities in homeland defense and
domestic disaster mitigation and response.
• The Army faced the imperative to be flexible and adaptive in providing appropriate military
capabilities to combatant commanders as the United States prosecuted its campaigns
against a variety of adversaries and antagonists
Given some if not most of these still ring true, it would be very tough for Army Generals to get a new tank through the acquisition cycle. It is far easier to push things that can complement the Navy and Air force in their Air-Sea Battle (a term no longer used for the fear of isolating the Army lobby) such as Integrated Air and Missile Defense, Long range fires, coastal defense, multi domain command and control and other closely allied programs such as future vertical lift.

The US army has also found unique missions to its traditional systems such as the current SCO project to enable Army guns to fire the hypervelocity projectile (developed for the navy Railgun program) in a counter missile defense mission. But despite of this pushing a new tank program above upgrades to the Abrams will be mighty hard. For now they are going to be busy buying JLTV's for the next many years..

All the IA T-72 and T-90 should be sent for recycling. The steel will be needed to the Arjun MkII. IA MUST BE FORCED TO BUY INDIAN. PERIOD.
RohitAM

Post by RohitAM »

The Armor Brigade Combat Team (ABCT) seems to be a smaller numbered, optimally organized way of looking at a traditional Soviet Motor Rifle Division, with emphasis on IFV's and Infantry compared to Tanks. Of course, within the ABCT, the US Army's networking and organizational system come into play, which makes it a much more lethal unit.

Do we have such an organization within the IA in the three main attack corps that we have deployed on the Western Front? Or are the tank regiments designed to operate independently from the mechanized and motorized army units?

India Looking for Substantial Make in India Content in T 90 Tanks
By Vinay Shukla

http://www.indiastrategic.in/2017/04/04 ... -90-tanks/
Discussions have been held for some time in both the countries, the last round on March 18-19 in New Delhi. India is looking at 464 MBTs in addition to some 850 the Indian Army already operates. The deal is reportedly around $ Two billion, and will involve upgrades of the existing tanks at the Heavy Vehicles Factory of the Ordnance Factories Board (OFB) at Avadi in Tamil Nadu.

But this time, Transfer of Technology (ToT) will be a key component any agreement as per the Indian Government’s new Make in India policy to derive some offset gains for big purchases. The state-run Sputnik news agency has given some indications of the ongoing talks but officially, representatives of Uralvagonzavod (UVZ), which makes the tank, and Rosoboronexport (ROE), which handles the arms trade and exports, declined comment.

It may be noted that on March 18-19, the two countries held a Military-Technical Conference covering a comprehensive exchange of views on upgrades of various Russian origin systems in India, from aircraft to vehicles and ships.

The Indian Army plans to have nearly 1700 T 90 tanks by 2020. On offer from Russia now is the advanced T 90MS variant which incorporates some of the turret features of Next-Gen Armata tank developed for the Russian Army, Director of Moscow-based Centre for Analyses of Strategies and Technologies (CAST) independent think tank, Dr Ruslan Pukhov, told India Strategic.

According to him, it was high time for India and Russia to increase cooperation, but as for Make in India involving deep transfer of technology, a lot would depend upon the capabilities of Indian companies to absorb cutting edge technologies.

“Take for example the case of older Konkurs anti-tank wire-guided missiles, Russia has given full technology to India, but it could not absorb it. Some of your defence labs and facilities are world class, some are lingering in the past,” Dr Pukhov said.

The first India-Russia Military Technical Conference held in New Delhi on March 17-18 was co-chaired by Defence Minister Arun Jaitley and Russian Industries and Trade Minister Denis Manturov. It was attended by 100 Russian and 150 Indian companies, both from public and private sectors.

Signing of a long term agreement on lifecycle support and maintenance of the Sukhoi Su-30MKI air dominance fighters between HAL on the one hand and Russia’s United Aircraft Corporation (UAC) and United Engines Corporation (UEC) on the other was a key highlight of the conference. It was organised by the Department of Defence Production.

Russia is expected to supply spares and other equipment to the tune of US$ 300 million under the Su-30MKI MRO deal.

“Russia is ready to set up centres of competence across India for maintenance of Russian-origin military hardware,” Denis Manturov said, and called for the creation of five platforms to manage defence cooperation between Russia and India: helicopter building, aircraft building, shipbuilding, armour and anti-aircraft weapons.

Once details on specific arrangements are worked out, the two countries should be signing inter-governmental agreements to facilitate requirements of various platforms with the Indian armed forces.

“Take for example the case of older Konkurs anti-tank wire-guided missiles, Russia has given full technology to India, but it could not absorb it. Some of your defence labs and facilities are world class, some are lingering in the past,” Dr Pukhov said
This guy seems to be of a Vulcan origin. What about the main gun barrel? Has that tech been give? Why don't we remove the T-90s gun with the Arjun's and call it the T-90 MKI? Just kidding.

The Russians cannot give full tech to a competitor. Anyone who believes otherwise contact me - I have a lot of lemons for you to suck on!

Wasn't ToT part of the original deal(s)? It was the Russians who reneged on things like T-90 armor and 125mm barrel tech. DRDO made substitutes.

:rotfl: Wait a sec! Are we doing MII of the T-90 when we have the Arjun? This is tragically ironic!

Austin wrote:India Looking for Substantial Make in India Content in T 90 Tanks
By Vinay Shukla

http://www.indiastrategic.in/2017/04/04 ... -90-tanks/
Discussions have been held for some time in both the countries, the last round on March 18-19 in New Delhi. India is looking at 464 MBTs in addition to some 850 the Indian Army already operates. The deal is reportedly around $ Two billion, and will involve upgrades of the existing tanks at the Heavy Vehicles Factory of the Ordnance Factories Board (OFB) at Avadi in Tamil Nadu.

But this time, Transfer of Technology (ToT) will be a key component any agreement as per the Indian Government’s new Make in India policy to derive some offset gains for big purchases. The state-run Sputnik news agency has given some indications of the ongoing talks but officially, representatives of Uralvagonzavod (UVZ), which makes the tank, and Rosoboronexport (ROE), which handles the arms trade and exports, declined comment.

It may be noted that on March 18-19, the two countries held a Military-Technical Conference covering a comprehensive exchange of views on upgrades of various Russian origin systems in India, from aircraft to vehicles and ships.

The Indian Army plans to have nearly 1700 T 90 tanks by 2020. On offer from Russia now is the advanced T 90MS variant which incorporates some of the turret features of Next-Gen Armata tank developed for the Russian Army, Director of Moscow-based Centre for Analyses of Strategies and Technologies (CAST) independent think tank, Dr Ruslan Pukhov, told India Strategic.

According to him, it was high time for India and Russia to increase cooperation, but as for Make in India involving deep transfer of technology, a lot would depend upon the capabilities of Indian companies to absorb cutting edge technologies. :(( :mrgreen:

Take for example the case of older Konkurs anti-tank wire-guided missiles, Russia has given full technology to India, but it could not absorb it. Some of your defence labs and facilities are world class, some are lingering in the past,” Dr Pukhov said. :?:

The first India-Russia Military Technical Conference held in New Delhi on March 17-18 was co-chaired by Defence Minister Arun Jaitley and Russian Industries and Trade Minister Denis Manturov. It was attended by 100 Russian and 150 Indian companies, both from public and private sectors.

Signing of a long term agreement on lifecycle support and maintenance of the Sukhoi Su-30MKI air dominance fighters between HAL on the one hand and Russia’s United Aircraft Corporation (UAC) and United Engines Corporation (UEC) on the other was a key highlight of the conference. It was organised by the Department of Defence Production.

Russia is expected to supply spares and other equipment to the tune of US$ 300 million under the Su-30MKI MRO deal.

“Russia is ready to set up centres of competence across India for maintenance of Russian-origin military hardware,” Denis Manturov said, and called for the creation of five platforms to manage defence cooperation between Russia and India: helicopter building, aircraft building, shipbuilding, armour and anti-aircraft weapons.

Once details on specific arrangements are worked out, the two countries should be signing inter-governmental agreements to facilitate requirements of various platforms with the Indian armed forces.
What type of gun does the Armata have?
Can the T-90 have the Arjun gun which seems quite effective?

Very good news. It doesn't tell what missile was fired?

Maybe the DRDO should sell a few Arjuns to China as they praised it!!!!

Rakesh wrote::rotfl: Wait a sec! Are we doing MII of the T-90 when we have the Arjun? This is tragically ironic!
It would be comical. If it was not so tragic.

Only in India can we screw up so bad!
Sumair

Post by Sumair »

I had so much hope from the Modi government regarding the procurement mess and obsession of defense forces for the foreign maal; but alas. Seems like no hope is left.

[OT Alert on]
Why we get T-90 articles as soon as Arjun is in news for good reasons? lets wait for another round of tests and IA come back with request to replace the German engine as it is 20 years old and meet BS III. Which court has banned, so they can't buy it. So IA need a newer environment friendly engine which run on Alcohol, bio-fuel, petrol and diesel. Beside that there will be another 72 important and urgent changes required before IA order 126 Arjuns. :)

BTW, IA thought only 1 Arjun will be enough for the whole Pak/China Army!!
[OT Alert off]
ashishvikas

Post by ashishvikas »

#AR17: Trials of @DRDO_India developed multi-spectral camouflage paints for masking T-90s and T-72s is currently underway.

#AR17 Trials for @DRDO_India developed 'commander thermal imaging cum laser range finding' sights for IA's T-90s were carried out in 2016.

#AR17: 67 of the 73 'tank fittable' improvements meant for Arjun MK-2 MBT have been declared successful.
The total number of improvements envisioned is 84. Out of which 73 are tank fittable as delineated above.

https://twitter.com/delhidefence/status ... 7839698945

https://twitter.com/delhidefence/status ... 1347461120

https://twitter.com/delhidefence/status ... 8449990656

RKumar wrote:[OT Alert on]

BTW, IA thought only 1 Arjun will be enough for the whole Pak/China Army!!
[OT Alert off]
I think there's a new requirement for this mythical Arjun--absolutely critical-- ... Krishna!

Very good news. It doesn't tell what missile was fired?

Maybe the DRDO should sell a few Arjuns to China as they praised it!!!!

the missile was likely the clgm.
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-IhFSMiF1E2c/U ... CLGM-2.JPG