Understanding US thread-III

Re: Understanding US thread-III

The Carter-Reagan military buildup did not defeat the Soviet Union. On the contrary, it prolonged the Cold War. Gorbachev's determination to reform an economy crippled in part by defense spending urged by special interests, but far more by structural rigidities, fueled his persistent search for an accommodation with the West. That persistence, not SDI, ended the Cold War.
The Atlantic Monthly

If the ATLANTIC MONTHLY says it, it MUST be true!

And General Niazi's determination to search for a peaceful vacation for his brave rapist soldiers in sunny India is what ended the war of 1971, it had NOTHING to do with the Indian Army.

UlanBatori wrote:The best explanation why Bano is out of the din-2-din hot air of the NSC: .
The shift was orchestrated by Lt. Gen. H.R. McMaster, banno is going to be around, he is crafty fellow.Either it shows his weakness or gen is too strong. In near term we should see what gen and kushner think set everything till banno is back

BTW news just came us launched strikes on Syrian air base

To say the obvious, strikes happened after Trump said good night to XI, at 8:40 pm. Probably left an impression on XI, to reign in NKorea.
While the message to Putin and Iran will also be discussed in the coming days, I think Trump also left a message of sorts which Pakis may want to consider...mass casualties due to Paki terrorism in India will not get Ameerkhan support.

We need not predict what DT will do now. He will do what Deep State tell him to do and we know what US deep state thinks about us. We need to prepare for China rather than for Pakis. Lizard is getting too restless. A Indo China war before the end of 2018?

Trump attacks SyAF base with cruise missiles.

Score is now Kushner 3, Bannon 0. :mrgreen:

krishna_krishna wrote:
UlanBatori wrote:The best explanation why Bano is out of the din-2-din hot air of the NSC: .
The shift was orchestrated by Lt. Gen. H.R. McMaster, banno is going to be around, he is crafty fellow.Either it shows his weakness or gen is too strong. In near term we should see what gen and kushner think set everything till banno is back
Bannon is not out of the NSC

Twitter.
Clarification for my colleagues: Bannon wasn't removed from the NSC, only from the NSC principals committee. He still attends NSC meetings.

Reagan fought Grenada and Thatcher fought in Falklands. Both wars made them popular at home at low cost. Bush went into the Middle East and that cost trillions and continues to bleed bringing nothing to the West. If Trump starts something again in a big way in Syria, it will be just great for China.
Last edited by g.sarkar on 07 Apr 2017 12:59, edited 1 time in total.

Knowing DT, he will not leave the office without a war of his own.

nothing like a good mijjile-strike against someone who is in no position to do anything back
classic billi-grabbing manuva

uncle vlad must have okayed it via the alpha bank server ping yesterday evening

At least in the case of Thacher she was not the one who attacked first. Argentina's invasion did that.
komal

Post by komal »

Lalmohan wrote:nothing like a good mijjile-strike against someone who is in no position to do anything back
classic billi-grabbing manuva

uncle vlad must have okayed it via the alpha bank server ping yesterday evening
DT had to wait for Uncle Vlad's nod. This will provide fodder for Republicans to say how DT is independent of Russia.

It ain't shaking the world. DT better know all his grabs can bite back at him hard sooner or later depending on how he chains his goof ups

All in good sport. Oil&gas prices have spiked. Question is whether they will keep baring teeth at each other through market close todin. Uncle Putin happy, Uncle Trump happy, Aunty BilliC happy. Boeing stocks probably spiked.

Several hundreds of billions must have been made on "after-market trading" last night. Tokyo probably happy as well.

how are rosneft shares doing? apparently new shareholders these days...
komal

Post by komal »

Non farm payrolls came in under 100,000. Expectation was over 200,000. The Donald took credit for last month's number (though the surveys were conducted when Obummer was illegally occupying the office that only belongs to Elephants).

Perhaps why the cruise missles were sent. I hate to see what he does if numbers show jobs actually being lost.

So we attacked Syria (Great!!!!!) who is fighting ISIS which we are also supposed to be fighting. Who will win if Assad goes? ISIS? At least we know who has Sarin, but who will have it if Assad goes, ISIS, a sworn enemy of everything West? That is a nightmare scenario.

There is no side to pick in syria. maybe assad is the least worst ?
komal

Post by komal »

saip wrote:So we attacked Syria (Great!!!!!) who is fighting ISIS which we are also supposed to be fighting. Who will win if Assad goes? ISIS? At least we know who has Sarin, but who will have it if Assad goes, ISIS, a sworn enemy of everything West? That is a nightmare scenario.
We have always been at war with EastAsia

A good article by David Frum:
https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/ar ... ke/522327/

Seven Lessons From Trump's Syria Strike

The attack raises a series of questions about the president’s approach to America’s political processes and institutions.
When the Electoral College elevated Donald Trump to the presidency, it conferred on him the awesome life-and-death powers that attend the office. It was inevitable that President Trump would use those powers sooner or later. Now he has. For the effects on the region, I refer you to the powerful piece by The Atlantic’s Andrew Exum. I’m concerned here with the effects on the U.S. political system. Seven seem most immediately relevant.

This is an obvious KrystallNacht strategy: orchestrate a Sarin leak and go bomb pre-planned targets to stop Syrian ability to bomb the cra* out of the Moderate Terrorists in Idlib. How can there be any Lessons to learn from this, other than that DC is ruled by The Mob?

komal wrote:Non farm payrolls came in under 100,000. Expectation was over 200,000. The Donald took credit for last month's number (though the surveys were conducted when Obummer was illegally occupying the office that only belongs to Elephants).

Perhaps why the cruise missles were sent. I hate to see what he does if numbers show jobs actually being lost.
Unemployment rate down by 4.5% as well. When people are not looking for jobs how can payroll numbers go up, hain?

UlanBatori wrote:This is an obvious KrystallNacht strategy: orchestrate a Sarin leak and go bomb pre-planned targets to stop Syrian ability to bomb the cra* out of the Moderate Terrorists in Idlib. How can there be any Lessons to learn from this, other than that DC is ruled by The Mob?
UB ji, I don't buy it my friend. It is a little -how shall I put it? - say, ingenuous to say those little children and tweets were moderate terroristas. May be in future but now? But then Assad is not that dumb nor his inner circles cronies as per my understanding.

Some one should ask the Donald who he is fighting .. Assad or ISIS or both :mrgreen:

:roll: Or just maybe too many cruise missiles near to expiry date

I guess these days where traffic accidents become terrorist attacks anything is possible

not so much kristallnacht as reichstag fire
kristallnacht and the night of the long knives is yet to come
horst weschel aka banno-jaan will take care of that

am waiting for the DTweet on sweden terror attack told you so...

an uzbek man has been apprehended, and he didn't soosai... and there were explosives in a... beer truck!
is that even a halal way of soosai bumming?

matrimc wrote:
UlanBatori wrote:This is an obvious KrystallNacht strategy: orchestrate a Sarin leak and go bomb pre-planned targets to stop Syrian ability to bomb the cra* out of the Moderate Terrorists in Idlib. How can there be any Lessons to learn from this, other than that DC is ruled by The Mob?
UB ji, I don't buy it my friend. It is a little -how shall I put it? - say, ingenuous to say those little children and tweets were moderate terroristas. May be in future but now? But then Assad is not that dumb nor his inner circles cronies as per my understanding.
That is, with all respect, worthy of a seat on both CNN and Trump Inc Boards, hain? The Syrians were bombing an ammo dump. (According to RT.com, the Only Re-Lie-Able News Agency in the Dunia) the gas came from the ammo dump. The question is, who put Sarin inside the ammo dump? The obvious answer is: same ones who did the Sarin attack long ago to try to get BO to BOmb Syria. That time, to his credit, BO said NO, wait until there is better evidence.

WHY would Assad go use SARIN on a residential area, given that his forces have been winning for the past year?
And where would Assad get SARIN given that the UN weapons inspectors were given free rein to find and eliminate all SARIN weapons and supplies after the aforesaid prior attack? Assad desperate wanted to ensure that he would not be blamed again - obviously the first attack was not by his forces again.

The "eye-witnesses" this time report that "no, the bombs came out of planes". How could they see that, given that the raid was at night "while the children were sleeping"? No one at night is in a position to track bombs from planes down to the ground and say, "Aha! SARIN bomb onlee!" Even in the daytime, it is practically impossible to track a bomb all the way from a jet aircraft down to the ground and identify it.

All they could know is that they heard planes, they saw explosions, there were explosions in the area, and people started choking. Faaar more likely for these to have been shells fired during the air raid into the residential area under cover of AA fire - or artillery shells cooking off at the ammo dump.

So we have a situation where the side making the accusations dismisses all calls for unbiased investigation and goes and bombs an air force base from where planes could attack their Moderate Terrorists. Why? Obvious reason is that an investigation would have led to the same result as last time - the finger of reason points to the US-backed Saudi-funded terrorists.

Now to twist all that and claim that I was calling the dead children terrorists --- wow! CNN quality onlee! Surely you must have misread what I posted.
Last edited by UlanBatori on 08 Apr 2017 16:35, edited 1 time in total.
komal

Post by komal »

matrimc wrote:
komal wrote:Non farm payrolls came in under 100,000. Expectation was over 200,000. The Donald took credit for last month's number (though the surveys were conducted when Obummer was illegally occupying the office that only belongs to Elephants).

Unemployment rate down by 4.5% as well. When people are not looking for jobs how can payroll numbers go up, hain?
White Americans in the Old/New Confederacy don't understand economics or numbers. All they want is unemployment for the black/brown to soar.

bolivian rep at the UN

This has been highlighted in the free US press.

http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/boliv ... le/2619672

AoA! This haraam kuffar Senator hu eej Pharmer Brojecyootor oph Bentagon supporting Russia on RT.com!!!
1. What is the motive? I defy any of the MSM to give me a reason why Pres. Assad would launch a chemical gas attack against civilians?
2. Who are the witnesses? Al Qaeda (White Helmets).
White helmets shown not wearing any protective clothing. They are masters at staging deception.

NOW See Enn Enn shows its true colors:
Kaine: No legal justification for Syria strike 01:20 :rotfl:
This is the Flunky-ul-Hicie, hain? His Boss The Great Hyoomanist HiC wanted the entire Syrian Air Force destroyed so that her ISIS mofos could come into Damascus raping and burning and doing their female circumcisions.

Rand Paul: Syria Strikes Not In The National Interest
"You have to ask yourself: who takes over next? Are they better than the current occupant? So are the radical Islamic rebels -- the radical Islamic rebels in Syria -- better than Assad? There are also two million Christians ... in Syria, being protected by Assad, and they fear the Islamic rebels taking over. So there's a complicated decision-making process as to who are the good guys in the war," Paul emphasized.
Actually these are very condensed remarks - listen to the actual conversation: the CNN sh1t with his Auschwitz analogy and Paul dodging adeptly. What he said is:
"The same people who wanted us to go to war with Saddam Hussein now want us to go to war with Syria and Iran - an endless supply of enemies".
People who make the argument that the approval for 2001 covers Syria - are intellectually dishonest people.

NassimNicholasTaleb‏ @nntaleb Apr 7

Apparently they spared the runway (2 fighter jets took off today).
"Drole de guerre" (phony war).
Donaldo playing MSM & libs like a violin.
NassimNicholasTaleb‏ @nntaleb Apr 7

The strike has ~0 military impact. Russians were informed & Syrians could clear area.
All it says: no Chem Weapons even if it wasn't you.
@nntaleb Apr 7
Did Prez Trump do a "Facta Non Verba" on Assad?
So he could control him?
Yes, he did on Assad, N Korea, China...
https://twitter.com/nntaleb/status/850327183344185344
Facta non Verba: How to Own Your Enemies
Dead horse in your bed — Friendship via poisoned cake –Roman Emperors and U.S. presidents –A living enemy is worth ten dead ones

Nassim Nicholas Taleb

The best enemy is the one you own by putting skin in his game and letting him know the exact rules that come with it. You keep him alive, in the knowledge that he owes this to your benevolence. The notion that an enemy you own is better than a dead one was perfected by the order of the Assassins, so we will do some digging into the work of that secret society.

An offer very hard to refuse

There is this formidable scene in the Godfather when a Hollywood executive wakes up with the bloody severed head of a horse in his bed, his cherished race horse.

He had refused to hire a Sicilian American actor for reasons that appeared iniquitous, as while he knew the latter was the best for the role, he was resentful of the “olive oil voice” that charmed one of his past mistresses and fearful of its powers to seduce future ones. It turned out that the actor, who in real life was (possibly) Frank Sinatra, had friends and friends of friends, that type of thing; he was even the godson of a capo. A visit from the consigliere of the “family” neither succeeded to sway the executive, nor softened his Hollywood abrasiveness –the fellow failed to realize that by flying across the country to make the request, the high ranking mobster was not just providing the type of recommendation letter you mail to the personnel department of a state university. He had made him an offer that he could not refuse (the expression was popularized by that scene in the movie).

It was a threat, and not an empty threat.

As I am writing these lines, people discuss terrorism and terrorist groups while making a severe category mistakes; there are in fact two totally distinct varieties. The first are terrorists that are terrorists for about every person equipped with ability to discern and isn’t a resident of Saudi Arabia or works for a think tank funded by Sheikhs; the second are militia groups largely called terrorists by their enemies, and “resistance” or “freedom fighters” by those who don’t dislike them.
The first includes nonsoldiers who indiscriminately kill civilians for effect and don’t bother with military targets as their aim isn’t to make military gains, just to make a statement, harm some living humans, produce some noise and, for some, a low-error way to go to paradise. Most Sunni Jihadis, of the type to take incommensurable pleasure in blowing up civilians, such as Al Qaeda, ISIS, the “moderate rebels” in Syria sponsored by former U.S. president Obama’s, are in that category. The second group is about strategic political assassination –the Irish Republican Army, most Shiite organizations, Algerian independence fighters against France, French resistance fighters during the German occupation, etc.
For Shiites and similar varieties in the Near and Middle East, the ancestry, methods, and rules originate in the order of the Assassins, itself following the modus of the Judean Sicarii during Roman times. The Sicarii are named after the daggers they used to kill Roman soldiers and, mostly their Judean collaborators, owing to what they perceived was the profanation of the Temple and the land.

I have the misfortune to know a bit about the subject as I am the only one of those “notable” former students listed on the Wikipedia page of the Lycée Franco-Libanais, my elementary and high school, whose notability doesn’t originate for having, like my classmates and childhood friends, having being the victim of a successful or attempted assassination.

The Assassins

Sanjar became in 1118 the sultan of the Seljuk Turkish Empire of Asia minor (that is, modern day Turkey), Iran, and parts of Afghanistan. Soon after his accession, he woke up one day with a dagger next to his bed, firmly planted in the ground. In one version of the legend, a letter informed him that the dagger thrusted in hard ground was preferable to the alternative, being plunged in his soft breast. It was a characteristic message of the Hashishins, a.k.a. Assassins, making him aware of the need to leave them alone, say send them birthday gifts, or hire their actors for his next movie. Sultan Sanjar had previously snubbed their peace negotiators; so they moved to phase two of a demonstrably well planned out process. They convinced him that his life was in their hands and that, crucially, he didn’t have to worry if he did the right thing –they had proven to him that they were both in control and reliable. Indeed Sanjar and the Assassins had a happy life ever-after.
You will note that no explicit verbal threat was issued. Verbal threats reveal nothing other than weakness and unreliability. Remember, once again, no verbal threats.

The Assassins were a 11th-14th C. sect related to Shiite Islam and was (and still is through its reincarnations) violently anti-Sunni. They were often associated with the Knight Templars as they fought frequently on the side of the crusaders –and if they seem to share some of the values of the Templars, in sparing the innocent and the weak, it is more likely because the former group transmitted some of their values to the latter. The chivalric code of honor has, for second clause: I shall respect and defend the weak, the sick, and the needy.

The Assassins supposedly send the same message to Saladin, informing him that the cake he was about to eat was poisoned… by them.

The ethical system of the Assassins is that political assassination help prevent war; threat of the dagger-by-your-bed variety are even better for bloodless control[1]. They supposedly aimed at sparing civilians and people who were not directly targeted. The methods focusing on precision meant to reduce what is now called civilian “collateral damage”.

Assassination as Marketing

Those readers who may have tried to get rid of pebbles in their shoes (that is, someone you bothers you and doesn’t get the hint) might know that “contracts” on ordinary citizens (that is, to trigger their funeral) are relatively easy to perform and inexpensive to buy. There is a relatively active underground market for these contracts. In general, you need to pay a bit more to “make it look like an accident”. However skilled historians and observers of martial history would recommend the exact opposite: in politics, you should have to pay more to make it look intentional.

In fact, what Captain Weisenborn, Pasquale Cirillo, and I discovered, when we tried doing a systematic study of violence (debunking a confabulatory thesis by the science writer Steven Pinker), was that war numbers have been historically inflated… by both sides. Both the Mongols and their panicky victims had an incentive to exaggerate, which acted as a deterrent. Mongols weren’t interested in killing everybody; they just wanted submission, which came cheaply though terror. Further, having spent some time perusing the genetic imprints of invaded populations, it is clear that if the warriors coming from the Eastern steppes left a cultural imprint, they certainly left their genes at home. Gene transfer between areas by happens by group migrations, inclement climate, unaccommodating soil rather than war.

More connected to recent events, I discovered that the Hama “massacre” of Syrian Jihadis by Assad senior was at least an order of magnitude lower than what was reported; the rest came from inflation –numbers swelling over time from 2,000 to close to 40,000 without significant information. Simply, Assad wanted, at the time, to intimidate and his enemies, the Islamist and their journalist sympathizers, former U.S. president Obama’s wanted to aggrandize the event.

Assassination as Democracy

Now, political life; if the democratic system doesn’t fully deliver governance –it patently doesn’t, owing to cronyisms and the Hillary Montanto-Malmaison style of covert legal corruption; if the system doesn’t fully deliver governance, we have known forever what does: an increased turnover at the top. Count Munster’s epigrammatic description of the Russian Constitution explains it: “Absolutism tempered by assassination”.

While today’s politicians have no skin in the game and do not have to worry so long as they play the game, thanks the increased life expectancy of modern times, they stay longer and longer on the job. France’s pseudo-socialist Francois Mitterrand reigned for fourteen years, longer than many French Kings; thanks to technology he had more power over the population than most French Kings. Even a United States President, the modern kind of Emperor (unlike Napoleon and the Tsars, Roman emperors before Diocletian were not absolutists) tends to last at least four years on the throne, while Rome had five emperors in a single year and four in another. The mechanism worked: consider that all the bad Emperors Caligula, Caracalla, Elagabalus, Nero ended their career either murdered by the Pretorian guard or, in the case of Nero, suicide in anticipation. In the first four hundred years of empire, only 20, that is less than a third, of emperors died a natural death, assuming these deaths were truly natural.

[1] It appears that what we read about the Assassins can be smear by their enemies (including the apocryphal accounts according to which their name comes from consumption of Hashish, Cannabis in Arabic, as they would get into a trance before their assassination).

The Syrian Air Base Attack - blog.dilbert.com

Posted April 7th, 2017 @ 8:32am
in #syria #Trump

As I blogged yesterday, the claim that Assad ordered a chemical attack on his own people in the past week doesn’t pass my sniff test. For Assad to order a gas attack now – while his side is finally winning – he would have to be willing to risk his life and his regime for no real military advantage. I’m not buying that.

But let’s say the world believes Assad or a rogue general under his command gassed his own people. What’s an American President to do? If Trump does nothing, he appears weak, and it invites mischief from other countries. But if he launches 59 Tomahawk missiles at a Syrian military air base base within a few days, which he did, the U.S. gets several benefits at low cost:

1. President Trump just solved for the allegation that he is Putin’s puppet. He doesn’t look like Putin’s puppet today. And that was Trump’s biggest problem, which made it America’s problem too. No one wants a president who is under a cloud of suspicion about Russian influence.

2. President Trump solved (partly) for the allegation that he is incompetent. You can hate this military action, but even Trump’s critics will call it measured and rational. Like it or not, President Trump’s credibility is likely to rise because of this, if not his popularity. Successful military action does that for presidents.

3. President Trump just set the table for his conversations with China about North Korea. Does China doubt Trump will take care of the problem in China’s own backyard if they don’t take care of it themselves? That negotiation just got easier.

4. Iran might be feeling a bit more flexible when it’s time to talk about their nuclear program.

5. Trump’s plan of a Syrian Safe Zone requires dominating the Syrian Air Force for security. That just got easier.

6. After ISIS is sufficiently beaten-back, the Syrian government will need to negotiate with the remaining entities in Syria to form a lasting peace of some sort that keeps would-be refugees in place. Syria’s government just got more flexible. It probably wants to keep the rest of its military.

7. Israel is safer whenever an adversary’s air power is degraded. 

On the risk side of the equation, we have the possibility of getting into war with Russia. I’d put those odds at roughly zero in this case because obviously the U.S. warned Russia about the attack. That means we knew their reaction before we attacked. And it was a measured response of the type Putin probably respects. I expect Russia to complain a lot but continue to partner with the U.S. against ISIS.

If it turns out that the sarin gas attack that sparked this military action didn’t come from Assad, it doesn’t much matter. President Trump will bank all of the benefits above even if the attack turns out to be a hoax. We know Assad had some chemical weapons at one point, and probably used them. No one will be crying for Assad if the attack was unnecessary. And realistically, the public will never be 100% sure who was behind the attack.

I doubt this is the first step in a larger plan for war to depose Assad. But if Assad thinks it might be, we have a stronger position over there.

I’m not pro-war, so this military action alarms me the same way it alarms most people. But objectively speaking, the risk-reward ratio for this attack on Syria’s air field was exceptionally good. You rarely see so many benefits arise from one limited military action.

I thought President Trump would hold off on military action in the service of regime change. That still seems to be the case. But once our intelligence services traced the plane that allegedly dropped the gas back to a specific air base, it opened the option that Trump took. I didn’t realize that our military knows what every aircraft in Syria is doing at all times. That’s impressive, bordering on hard-to-believe.

Secretary of State Rex Tillerson will head to Moscow this week to negotiate with the Russians, and his words will be backed up by the proven power of the U.S. military. The Syrian regime, a close Russian ally, reportedly carried out a brutal chemical weapons attack on a hospital Tuesday, murdering innocent women and children. Former President Barack Obama drew a “red line” on the use of chemical weapons in Syria. But, when Syrian President Bashar al-Assad used sarin on civilians in 2013, he backed down, settling for an agreement that failed to eliminate the Syrian regime’s chemical weapons stockpiles — despite the administration’s claims to have done so. White House Press Secretary Sean Spicer partially attributed Tuesday’s atrocity to the Obama administration’s “weakness and irresolution.” President Donald Trump ordered cruise missile strikes Thursday against al-Shayrat airfield, the air base from which Tuesday’s chemical weapons attack was launched, upholding Obama’s “red line” years later and demonstrating that a U.S. threat of military force has meaning. Thursday’s demonstration of American power restores American credibility, which was damaged by the previous administration’s inaction. Tillerson will be able to enter into negotiations with Moscow with leverage

http://dailycaller.com/2017/04/08/trump ... rong-hand/