Neutering & Defanging Chinese Threat (09-08-2014)

Re: Managing Chinese Threat (09-08-2014)

deWalker wrote:I fully expect that PLA unit 61398 are already browsing MoD communications and will shortly attempt to disrupt BSE operations and GST transactions.
Agree. The major war would be in this domain and we should see such attacks surfacing before first shots are fired.

Just hope we are adequately covered in this respect

@Deans..totally agree. @rammana... as per Dalvis book while its true no of men were less the more important aspect as i understood was that they were not positioned correctly and thats why they were overrun so quickly... also the logistics was very poor not clothed or fed properly and equipment deficiencies ...

Hari Seldon wrote:
Guddu wrote:I like the 2 points mentioned above.
1. It may be worthwhile to study how China waged war in previous border disputes
2. That China put 3 month vs 6 month hold, might be significant, though Google searchshows thathey ave done 3mth holds before. They probably want to lift the hold on Mazoor inlieu of face saver provided by India.

based on the above, war is unlikely, as Cina seeks a facesaver
Not good, such a face-saver. Means PRC can conjure up a card to play against India at will.

How many terrorsh1ts there are in Pak and how many can be used as cards to bargain territory related stuff with India, hain jee? Delhi should reject any link whatsoever. Should use trade as a bargaining chip in turn, methinks.
Mazoor Ban will not yield any result on ground; he is in Pak who does not respect any law / ban... to small stuff to negotiate on

srin wrote:Deans-ji, there are a few additions.

Extend Arunachal border all the way north till Brahmaputra and if possible a little beyond.
Take over Shaksgam valley to fortify Siachen and also threaten GB.
On this topic, do take and keep the kailash-mansarovar area pls. PLA can keep Lhasa n stay holed in there.

Nepal wouln't become an island in the Indo-Tibetian land ocean anyway as long as lhasa is with them, besides.

Us army bans all dji drones and sw wef

http://m.ndtv.com/world-news/cease-all- ... topstories

A noob pooch, I was looking at the eastern border of AP and noticed that the one shown in bing is quite different from one shown in google. What are 2 small chinese projections a few km wide in google is shown as 10's of km wide in bing. What is the history of the place and does the Bing map show the actual LoC?

Bing Link:- https://binged.it/2v8Am1o
Google Link: - https://www.google.co.in/maps/@28.33155 ... 2535,8.69z

Singha wrote:Good plans Deans ji

The chumbi valley should also be swarmed from all sides until ewe get a straight line border from sikkim to bhutan

I looked up walong its very vulnerable and we might lose it which is a fair bargain for more strategic pieces you listed. We can pound the place to dust though to render it unsuable for 300 years
The Chumbi valley is doable, but the gain is relatively small. As threatening to China and involving less effort and risk of a larger war, might be to place a small force in West Bhutan to cut the S204 road and the feeder road, along the West Bhutan-Tibet border. That cuts off Chinese access to the Chumbi valley.

Walong can be defended if we control the heights above the river valley. It is as difficult for the PLA to concentrate force there, as it is for us, but
we need a far smaller force to defend.
Last edited by Deans on 05 Aug 2017 17:01, edited 1 time in total.

A very public Chinese loss of face can damage Xi 's credibility. That's what he deserves. The Chinese will lose in a limited conflict and India needs to make sure of that. Speak softly but use that stick.
vijaykarthik

Post by vijaykarthik »

ricky_v wrote: Quishan is 69,and by convention should be replaced. This rule can be ignored by eleven off course if he wants a third term in 2023 but why would he do that if the anti corruption chief is on his case now? Also in a super populated country where only a handful are installed in the inner sanctum, blocking a seat for a period of 5 years after your allocated time is up, is a giant f***U to others and to the oiled institution.
Thats the whole point. Xi wants Wang to be in power and question that a lot of the watchers are seeing is: to what extent will Xi go to shoe up his position in the CPC and how will the rest of the politburo / rivals respond to these moves.

Admins I don't think chola sir is doing things wrong. If he should be banned for advocating war please ban all those are dhoti shivering (for the same reason). Besides, who reads br and will fight/not fight based on what is written here. He has been polite, only his ideas maybe not to liking of many people who are used to india crawling when asked to bend, but that should still be within the brief of br. If not for him and others the discussion here could very well have been, I am calling my parents to us for summer vacation lest D.f -21 kills them or a free ap and Assam is to be declare today or tsp in joint operation is sitting in red fort.

abhik wrote:A noob pooch, I was looking at the eastern border of AP and noticed that the one shown in bing is quite different from one shown in google. What are 2 small chinese projections a few km wide in google is shown as 10's of km wide in bing. What is the history of the place and does the Bing map show the actual LoC?

Bing Link:- https://binged.it/2v8Am1o
Google Link: - https://www.google.co.in/maps/@28.33155 ... 2535,8.69z
Most probably Bing maps is wrong for two reasons:
1. The Bing border has two tongues jutting into a river north of Arunachal and actually cuts across a Chinese road (in yellow colour) in Bing maps itself. Look for a town called Puzang and a road along that and you find that the road suddenly gets chewed off by the border that juts in from India into Tibet. That is definitely wrong

In between the border juts into India and does not follow ridgelnes - but sometimes follows valleys and sometimes ridgelines

2. The Google border stays south of a river valley that is firmly in Chinese control (along Puzang) - it is a tributary of the Lohit river and follows mountain ridgelines and corresponds to the watershed principle where north of ridge is the Tibet side tributaries and south of ridge is Indian side

Having said that even the Google border is probably wrong - if you follow the watershed principle strictly that "tongue" jutting into arunachal will not exist

Either way there are no roads, tracks or human habitations that I could find on either side - only jungle. Will keep looking
Last edited by shiv on 05 Aug 2017 16:35, edited 1 time in total.
vijaykarthik

Post by vijaykarthik »

Iyersan wrote:http://defencenews.in/article/China-May ... dia-283526

New Delhi: The Chinese media ratcheted up their rhetoric on Friday on the current standoff with India over the Doklam issue, saying China may undertake "a small-scale military operation to expel Indian troops within two weeks."

Two Chinese ministries - the defence and the foreign - and four other institutions released statements and commentaries on a standoff that entered its 50th day on Friday.

"The series of remarks from the Chinese side within a 24-hour period sends a signal to India that there is no way China will tolerate the Indian troops' incursion into Chinese territory for too long. If India refuses to withdraw, China may conduct a small-scale military operation within two weeks," state-owned Global Times quoted Hu Zhiyong, a research fellow at the Institute of International Relations of the Shanghai Academy of Social Sciences, as saying.

Hu, however, added that China will inform India's foreign ministry before undertaking any such operation.
Extremely strange that China didn't do anything for 50 days and now suddenly has an itch to warn the Indian establishment in less than 24 hours and send feelers about war? All due on 4th Aug and will be rest on 5th again only to send warnings about the restraint having bottom / top-line and topless lines too.

What strange idiots. Fight if you can or just move on if you cant. I keep reading NK propaganda and this from China is getting even worse.

How is it that in the communist countries, its only the cream of the scum that goes on to the top?

Singha wrote:Air force only for surveillance and air cover for our troops, only artillery, no missile hits, these are the parameters in which we need to operate this round. No crossing our version of the border.

are you banditji back in disguise?
DrRatnadip

Post by DrRatnadip »

http://m.timesofindia.com/world/china/k ... 929052.cms

Khrushchev blasted Mao for 1959 border skirmish with India'

BEIJING: Soviet leader Nikita Khrushchev squarely blamed China's Mao Zedong for the border skirmish in 1959 with India and the subsequent escape of Tibetan spiritual leader the Dalai Lama, absolving then Indian Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru of any blame, a media report said on Saturday.
According to a transcript of a stormy meeting between Khrushchev and Mao published by Hong Kong's South China Morning Post, the Soviet leader bluntly told the then chairman of China's ruling Communist Party that he was responsible for the situation in Tibet and the tension with India.

shiv wrote:Most probably Bing maps is wrong for two reasons:
1. The Bing border has two tongues jutting into a river north of Arunachal and actually cuts across a Chinese road (in yellow colour) in Bing maps itself. Look for a town called Puzang and a road along that and you find that the road suddenly gets chewed off by the border that juts in from India into Tibet. That is definitely wrong

In between the border juts into India and does not follow ridgelnes - but sometimes follows valleys and sometimes ridgelines

2. The Google border stays south of a river valley that is firmly in Chinese control (along Puzang) - it is a tributary of the Lohit river and follows mountain ridgelines and corresponds to the watershed principle where north of ridge is the Tibet side tributaries and south of ridge is Indian side

Having said that even the Google border is probably wrong - if you follow the watershed principle strictly that "tongue" jutting into arunachal will not exist

Either way there are no roads, tracks or human habitations that I could find on either side - only jungle. Will keep looking
1. Bing has the border wrong on Doklam plateau too. Google maps is better as far a the border is concerned.
2. Why do I recall some story about Banditji gifting China two tongues of territory on the map? Subsequently CON ruled India did not correct the maps because it would have exposed Banditji or so was the story.

Vely vely vely intelesting. I could not find the item in south China Post: Has anyone found it? Date is arr-impoltant. Can u imagine someone in mainland Han-stan publishing that in Aug. 2017?

If they did, there can be only one reason: Eleven is blaming Mao and backing out. Or wants to convey that impression as a feint. Hu can possibly possess transcripts of private mtg between Krushchev and Mao? Except CCP Poritbulo?

May be preparing a flotilla of inner-tubes to send Ambhibious PeeEllAy down the Brahmaputra to invade through 5th Column Avenue in Kolkatta.
Lekhraj

Post by Lekhraj »

I think unless we have capability to rule the sky, we cannot take over any land. I m no sure if we have that capability.

Jmtc

pankajs wrote: 2. Why do I recall some story about Banditji gifting China two tongues of territory on the map? Subsequently CON ruled India did not correct the maps because it would have exposed Banditji or so was the story.
I have seen the story in the last 2 days but can't recall where

pankajs wrote: 1. Bing has the border wrong on Doklam plateau too. Google maps is better as far a the border is concerned.
I used the following formulae for determining the actual LAC on Google earth
1. Enable photo layer. If the photos are labelled in English it is Indian. if in Martian language it is Tibet
2. If one can recognize army camps - Chinese camps are always rectangular and walled with great roads, concrete tops. Indian army - more in tune with the environment, olive green and no harsh and prominent visible road. Helipads have a huge "H"
3. If roads and paths lead to India then its Indian.

Just watch this entire 11 minute answer given by Ajit Doval sometime in the 2009-2010 time frame or maybe in 2012-2013. The question he is asked is." How does India tackle China?'. And he devotes about 11 minutes to answering it. This talk was clearly given before he became NSA, and I heartily agree with virtually all of his views. He is clearly a strategist, understands the concept of comprehensive national strength and it's application to achieve strategic objectives. Also understands very clearly the nature of India's conflict with China. The handling of the current standoff with China clearly bear his fingerprints. Good to have him in the position that he is.

Added later: In this answer, Ajit Doval clearly talks about China converting it's economic strength to military capability and the convergence of the 2 into it's comprehensive national strength. I am glad that he has articulated that so clearly. There are some on this forum who pooh-poohed that the economy has anything to do with military strength when I stated it sometime ago. I am sure that they know more than Doval :P
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

What is the significance of the increased Chinese hollering in view of hostile statements being pushed at ASEAN? Is this the effect that India desired? I mean having Vietnam virtually ask PRC to take a walk if they cannot abide by law.

Paging Rudradev jee,

You wrote a post 3 years back outlining economic reason why China will start a war, and how their way is different then Porkis. Would be great if you can repost here.

TIA

deWalker wrote:I fully expect that PLA unit 61398 are already browsing MoD communications and will shortly attempt to disrupt BSE operations and GST transactions.
Agree. The major war would be in this domain and we should see such attacks surfacing before first shots are fired.

Just hope we are adequately covered in this respect
Dhoti shivering, talking about BRF:

We have to prepare for such times. Please put notice in red on sticky pages about how to communicate and continue discussions. I am not It-ty type. Is it possible to use FB? Although it will be great shock for SHQ as it is her domian. I never use it. :((
Last edited by rsingh on 05 Aug 2017 18:31, edited 1 time in total.
jagga

Post by jagga »

Very good interview. Sound quality is little poor though.

Aiyyooo! Did u hear that blow to Paki H&D from Dovalji? :((
Interesting analogy though.

This "bloody nose" c**** is so British I feel like puking. Bloody nose may be perfectly acceptable to China if they end up breaking a couple of arms and 10 teeth of their enemies.
"Shanghai will look look like Mosul" would be a nice statement. "Uighurs will be roaming Beijing carrying nooses" would be sooo much nicer.
M_Joshi

Post by M_Joshi »

Narendra Modi‏Verified account @narendramodi 6h6 hours ago
More
Asia’s oldest traditions of dialogue and debate can give the answers to several global challenges such as terrorism and climate change.
Something to do with current situation with Cheen?
Javee

Post by Javee »

Heh, look how China is selling the story internally,
It is a war with an obvious result. The government of Prime Minister Narendra Modi should be aware of the PLA's overwhelming firepower and logistics. Indian border troops are no rival to PLA field forces. If a war spreads, the PLA is perfectly capable of annihilating all Indian troops in the border region.

So why hasn't the PLA started? China cherishes the decade-long peace on the border and wishes not to break it. We want to give peace a chance and allow India to recognize the grave consequences.
From Gobar times
Dumal

Post by Dumal »

fanne wrote:Admins I don't think chola sir is doing things wrong. If he should be banned for advocating war please ban all those are dhoti shivering (for the same reason). Besides, who reads br and will fight/not fight based on what is written here. He has been polite, only his ideas maybe not to liking of many people who are used to india crawling when asked to bend, but that should still be within the brief of br. If not for him and others the discussion here could very well have been, I am calling my parents to us for summer vacation lest D.f -21 kills them or a free ap and Assam is to be declare today or tsp in joint operation is sitting in red fort.
It may be that admins don't like uncalled for advice or opinions in these matters, but I also don't believe chola or iyersan are crossing any lines. I don't agree with their constant drumbeat about going​ to war or their reasoning for that but I just love seeing their enthusiasm. And as mentioned by fanne, I haven't seen anything objectionable in their posts. Just a diametrically different opinion from mine (and I believe not a realistic one...)

ldev wrote:Just watch this entire 11 minute answer given by Ajit Doval sometime in the 2009-2010 time frame or maybe in 2012-2013. The question he is asked is." How does India tackle China?'. And he devotes about 11 minutes to answering it. This talk was clearly given before he became NSA, and I heartily agree with virtually all of his views. He is clearly a strategist, understands the concept of comprehensive national strength and it's application to achieve strategic objectives. Also understands very clearly the nature of India's conflict with China. The handling of the current standoff with China clearly bear his fingerprints. Good to have him in the position that he is.

[youtube]M9-w8kMdKsI

Added later: In this answer, Ajit Doval clearly talks about China converting it's economic strength to military capability and the convergence of the 2 into it's comprehensive national strength. I am glad that he has articulated that so clearly. There are some on this forum who pooh-poohed that the economy has anything to do with military strength when I stated it sometime ago. I am sure that they know more than Doval :P
NIce video. I had seen it before but forgot. The date of interview is roughly August 3rd week 2010 (Doval mentions the event 'I read in the papers today where Gen. Jaswal was denied permision to visit China' happened around this time).

Doval is thinking of the end-game here (and that is the only way to think about a war with China, IMO). i.e. what will make China think hard and deep about attacking India- and mentioned hitting their economic machine (I think he mentions some places by name ). It makes total sense to me ....that this is the only thing that will give them pause. If India hits their economic machine hard, other countries like Japan, SoKo, Vietnam, Australia (not to mention India) will step into that economic gap in the years it takes them to recover. OBOR was not there in 2010 but OBOR will end. CPEC will end.

Doval mentions that massive missile capability is the way to go. In 2010 Agni V was not there, he mentions missile ranges of 2000-3000 km (from Arunachal) which puts many Chinese economic centers in range. The closing minute of the video is the best: he says that a strong leader is needed to execute something like this, where the leader decides what is right, knows what needs to be done and goes for it without fear. Recall that MMS was the PM that time. Did Doval know Modi was going to be PM? :)

At a private dinner last night in NYC, I met a retired Secretary - GOI (cannot disclose which department, but one of the top three). He was a close colleague and friend of my dad. Our friend privately confirmed that India and China have a deal on the Doklam matter, a deal made during Doval's recent visit. He would not provide details except that India comes out ahead. The Chinese are waiting for CPC elections.

TIFWIW.

Please send a "red rose" reminder to those key decisionmakers reminding them of "Chacha Nehru's" great calamity in'62. If we repeat his mistakes again in '17, then we will have only ourselves to blame.Why 2017 for this Chinese aggro?.The number 8 is considrred the luckiest in Chinese astrology and a bad number for many Indians.'17 adds up to 8. Watch this space.

If the Chinese dare to attack us we must teach them a signal lesson both in the mountains and in the IOR.Nothing less will suffice and anything less will reflect upon Mr.Modi as India's no-nonsense strongman,refusing to kowtow to China.

From UBCN MadeInChina Clystar Barr: 2018 adds up to Eleven. Also to #2. Which means Eleven is going #2 at thought of what Poritbulo is going to do to him.
BSR Murthy

Post by BSR Murthy »

Dumal wrote:
fanne wrote:Admins I don't think chola sir is doing things wrong. If he should be banned for advocating war please ban all those are dhoti shivering (for the same reason). Besides, who reads br and will fight/not fight based on what is written here. He has been polite, only his ideas maybe not to liking of many people who are used to india crawling when asked to bend, but that should still be within the brief of br. If not for him and others the discussion here could very well have been, I am calling my parents to us for summer vacation lest D.f -21 kills them or a free ap and Assam is to be declare today or tsp in joint operation is sitting in red fort.
It may be that admins don't like uncalled for advice or opinions in these matters, but I also don't believe chola or iyersan are crossing any lines. I don't agree with their constant drumbeat about going​ to war or their reasoning for that but I just love seeing their enthusiasm. And as mentioned by fanne, I haven't seen anything objectionable in their posts. Just a diametrically different opinion from mine (and I believe not a realistic one...)
True

SriKumar wrote:
ldev wrote:Just watch this entire 11 minute answer given by Ajit Doval sometime in the 2009-2010 time frame or maybe in 2012-2013. The question he is asked is." How does India tackle China?'. And he devotes about 11 minutes to answering it. This talk was clearly given before he became NSA, and I heartily agree with virtually all of his views. He is clearly a strategist, understands the concept of comprehensive national strength and it's application to achieve strategic objectives. Also understands very clearly the nature of India's conflict with China. The handling of the current standoff with China clearly bear his fingerprints. Good to have him in the position that he is.

[youtube]M9-w8kMdKsI

NIce video. I had seen it before but forgot. The date of interview is roughly August 3rd week 2010 (Doval mentions the event 'I read in the papers today where Gen. Jaswal was denied permision to visit China' happened around this time).

Doval is thinking of the end-game here (and that is the only way to think about a war with China, IMO). i.e. what will make China think hard and deep about attacking India- and mentioned hitting their economic machine (I think he mentions some places by name ). It makes total sense to me ....that this is the only thing that will give them pause. If India hits their economic machine hard, other countries like Japan, SoKo, Vietnam, Australia (not to mention India) will step into that economic gap in the years it takes them to recover. OBOR was not there in 2010 but OBOR will end. CPEC will end.

Doval mentions that massive missile capability is the way to go. In 2010 Agni V was not there, he mentions missile ranges of 2000-3000 km (from Arunachal) which puts many Chinese economic centers in range. The closing minute of the video is the best: he says that a strong leader is needed to execute something like this, where the leader decides what is right, knows what needs to be done and goes for it without fear. Recall that MMS was the PM that time. Did Doval know Modi was going to be PM? :)
+ 100

Doval is thinking at a strategic level. While the actual details of what is happening at the border in terms of tactical advantage to India or China in a specific area/sector are important, and discussed in detail here on the forum, Doval realizes that what is ultimately going to deter China is decapitating their economic engine which is the basis of their national strength, and as he says, among all the Asian countries, only India has that capability. And as you put it so well that in the time it takes China to recover, he mentions that others such as Japan, Vietnam, SoKo will step in and take over. And that will be the end of the Chinese dream to dominate Asia, let alone the world.

And yes you are again correct, that last statement about the need for a strong leader, almost prophetic words about the exit of MMS and the entry of Modi :)
Last edited by ldev on 05 Aug 2017 19:46, edited 1 time in total.

Yes, I did not want to say it explicitly but India can hit their economic engine to 'Middle Kingdom Come' in the first week of the war. But Doval has said it...so I will too. Nothing else will register on the radar of this amoral politburo, who will not care about the military or civilian causalities of their own. Hence my thought that this should be be kept strictly local. A military war executed correctly will change their OBOR dreams to GOBOR (Gobar =cowdung).

I had not seen this b4: (Indian express): Kailash-Manasarovar pilgrimage was cancelled.
High time Uttar Dharmasala was liberated. This is ridiculous.

anupmisra wrote:At a private dinner last night in NYC, I met a retired Secretary - GOI (cannot disclose which department, but one of the top three). He was a close colleague and friend of my dad. Our friend privately confirmed that India and China have a deal on the Doklam matter, a deal made during Doval's recent visit. He would not provide details except that India comes out ahead. The Chinese are waiting for CPC elections.

TIFWIW.
Sir, is it not the case of "I am still valid" or "I am still in loop" which is the most common disease amongst the retiree. Why to wait for CPC elections? What is the guarantee (Chinese being Chinese) that they will withdraw after that? Does't add up.