Be Indian Buy Indian

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
VishalJ

Re: Be Indian Buy Indian

Post by VishalJ »

To be honest, if you're in the market for a good entry-level or mid-range phone with a competitive/economical price, there's almost no choice other than one made in china or made elsewhere/MII by a chinese co.

For the life of me I cannot understand why the Indian smartphone makers can't make a 5" & a 5.5" slim bezel, stock Android phone.

None, NONE of them make one. Instead they cram their phone with ridiculous amounts of bloatware and custom UI - two thing which majority of smartphone users don't like.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_m ... by_country

CREO
Celkon
iball
Intex Technologies
Karbonn Mobiles
Lava International
LYF
Micromax Informatics
Onida Electronics
Ringing Bells
Spice Digital
Videocon
Xolo (subsidiary of Lava International)
YU Televentures (subsidiary of Micromax)

I highly doubt anyone would pick any of the above against a Motorola, OnePlus - Oppo - Vivo, Huawei or a Xiaomi for that matter.

Unless we make the right product, we're not going to have a winner.

The closest anyone comes is Yu with their near (but not quite complete) stock Android UI.
Sicanta

Post by Sicanta »

You can always go for Samsung which has plenty of decent options in this range since a year or 2 now.

As for indian options, mostly these are just chinese models bought in 'Thok ke daam'. LYF entire stock is chinese made to the last part.
Last edited by Sicanta on 10 Aug 2017 22:01, edited 1 time in total.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Sicanta wrote:You can always go for Samsung which has plenty of decent options in this range since a year or 2 now.
1. The navigation buttons are all ulta
2. No stock Android, I dislike TouchWiz UI
3. They make the most boring/mundane looking phones except maybe their flagships

I love HTC's design philosophy but again, point #2

I have never seen a friend or relative in India with an LG phone so don't know its UI, I know it isn't stock Android either so have never bothered + their (all the SoKo mfg) phones are always pricier for the given hardware & specs vs almost everything else.

That's where the rest are taking the market away, despite the SoKo guys have economies of scale they keep their prices high & the void is filled by the Chinese who make what people want at a lesser price.

Imagine an LG/HTC/Samsung making a Moto G5 Plus today (& at that price) - everyone will buy it but, they don't :x
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

LG launched the Q6 today.

Nicely put on if, why and what to boycott.

"Be Indian Buy Indian" is now way ahead of the discussion on the Chinese threats, showing that Indians are getting tired of the Chinese.
vivek_v

Post by vivek_v »

Marten wrote:LG launched the Q6 today.
Needed to replace my current phone. Ideally, would have gone to for Xiaomi phone (Redmi note or something like that) but bought the LG Q6. It's not much but it's a start.

Q6 looks pretty nice and Amazon gives an additional 3000 rupees over and above the exchange price. Will post impressions when I get the phone.
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

vivek_v wrote:
Marten wrote:LG launched the Q6 today.
Needed to replace my current phone. Ideally, would have gone to for Xiaomi phone (Redmi note or something like that) but bought the LG Q6. It's not much but it's a start.

Q6 looks pretty nice and Amazon gives an additional 3000 rupees over and above the exchange price. Will post impressions when I get the phone.
Me too. Its made in India product and i got 6k as exchange bonus for my used note3 neo :D . Its looks are wow and its lenght 5.5 inch has been accomodated into 5 inch body size chinipanda stuff, gr8!
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

Will buy both of you a beer if you swing by Bangalore! :)
I have the G4 and will likely buy the Q6 instead of G6.

Guys,media today reported that strenuous efforts are being made by a so-called scientific entity recommending total usage of GM crops in India! This will destroy Indian agriculture as we know it.The RSS is totally against such introduction of GM crops but the western vested interests and their p*mps over here are hell-bent in sabotaging India's agri heritage.A campaign to prevent GM crops is alreayd onb.it needs more people behind it t stop GM crops at any cost.

For the desi buy campaign,we need a national organisation with local outfits in Tier1/2/3 cities at least.Rural masses to be edcuated by TV/radio ads,
Stickers ,posters,lobbying supermarket chains,etc. need to be done in a mass campaign.I wish that the Maratha mass rally a few days ago could've also taken up the issue of boycotting Chinese goods. Opportunity missed.
ashbhee

Post by ashbhee »

I hope Anna Hazare Ji will start a movement to ban Chinese goods and we can all rally behind him.

%$#&*(^ lizards must be hacking my Lenovo phone (bought in desh in Aug. 2016, thinking that Lenovo was a nice Made in India IBM product :(( ). Nav system totally misbehaving on road trip. Keeps telling me to take a detour via Siberia and Beijing in getting from east Ulan Bator to West Ulan Bator.

Samsung just moved up the purchase competition ladder.

Up!

I buy YU phones and they are the best of regular feature phones. If I need a high end feature rich phone, Samsung or apple should do it.
souravB

Post by souravB »

The problem is none of the OEMs produce the phones in their country. even most of the components are not produced there. In short whichever OEM you buy a phone from will lead to adding money to Cheen economy. Now there are some companies that assemble phones in India like Xiaomi(which is a Chinese company btw), also Foxconn assembly line produces some phones. So it is not worthwhile to choose depending upon which phone is made in India because frankly none truly are and that is the bane of globalization.

Why not just choose to keep profits in India?

The new Nokia android phones are marked Made in India. They are assembled here for sure with imported components, but still better than fully imported and/or chinese brands. Posting for anyone who is looking to buy...