INS Chakra joins IN - Where is the Mithai?

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: INS Chakra joins IN - Where is the Mithai?

Austin wrote:Its dirt cheap considering no one would give us that and you cant put a price to it.

Western Countries wont even blink an eye at the query of leasing SSN
It is a great point if it were our original lease. But why a third? Wouldn't $2.5B invested in the local industry that already built Arihant and is building its followons be better? I can't imagine our SSN would not be a variant of the Arihant.

Negotiations are currently on to embed a team of Indian shipbuilders to go through the refit process – which will basically build up the entire submarine again from an empty hull – to give them hands-on experience with complex submarine technology.

Aren't we little late to be doing this? Or may be, the engineering embedded there would provide inputs as we build our SSNs here. Even then, we could have asked few Russians on come over and help us out, as was likely case with Arihant.

Karthik S wrote:Aren't we little late to be doing this? Or may be, the engineering embedded there would provide inputs as we build our SSNs here. Even then, we could have asked few Russians on come over and help us out, as was likely case with Arihant.
That video by Shiv Aroor interviewing Sandeep Unnithan is informative in this regard. India needs the Chakra itself to train more and more crews faster. And we are going to need more trained people for greater numbers of vessels being produced.

chetak wrote:^^^^^^^
@third nuclear attack submarine

I had posted this news months ago. :)
author means 3rd - including Chakra-I and Chakra-II (the existing INS Chakra).

Agree with you Austin. In this respect Russia's help has been amazing. Also, $2.5 Billion is indeed a cheap price.

Indranil wrote:Agree with you Austin. In this respect Russia's help has been amazing. Also, $2.5 Billion is indeed a cheap price.
Really, does this 2.5 billion give us ownership of the boat for her entire life or just 10 years.

Can any one answer this question with any degree of certainty.

Then we can decide that it is cheap or not.

Given we're talking about our workers going there to work on the sub refit/build, I'd say it is sort of worth it. Plus as Austin says, we won't really get one from anyone else and who knows what else we're getting for the money? Perhaps even a case of the sub that was vizag for an extended refit and suddenly came out after arihant launch. Some things are better left unexplored?

Indranil wrote:Agree with you Austin. In this respect Russia's help has been amazing. Also, $2.5 Billion is indeed a cheap price.
Really, does this 2.5 billion give us ownership of the boat for her entire life or just 10 years.

On paper looks like we'd be paying $2.5B to lease the sub for 10 years. But as others are saying, there could be *TnC apply clause.

I have never understood the indian way of working . The ability to design and build one boat should be transferable to other boats. But we treat it as one boat learning. To be repeated with every boat that we are going to build.

I mean you have the workers with the skills of building submarines. Give them a new design and specifications. They can translate it to reality.

Or the skills of a worker are not transferable.

Unkil's greatest and bestest SSN, Virginia class, costs $1.7B each (in fact, the procurement of 10 boats of this class created a minor tempest on the Beltway because of its record cost of $17B.)

I am sure the Arihant team can get us a fairly good SSN with $2.5B if not the Virginia class.

And to be perfectly clear, that $2.5B is for a lease not ownership.

Again, if it were for our first nuke sub, before we started buildung the Arihant, I would agree completely that it would have been priceless and this amount worth it. Now with our own SSBN already in the water and our team in place, I am not so sure.

Well the best way to find out a fair price for lease is to do a Global Tender and then see which country participates it and what is the cost and other T & C for Lease ,May be the French and US would lease at a cost

The point is more about time of delivery than money. From Shiv Aroor and Sandeep's video, they said first SSN can be expected in 6 7 years. When we have our own boat coming in 6 7 years, wouldn't it be better to invest that money and make one more in India itself than pay $2.5 for a lease sub that'll arrive in the same time.

Austin wrote:Well the best way to find out a fair price for lease is to do a Global Tender and then see which country participates it and what is the cost and other T & C for Lease ,May be the French and US would lease at a cost
Why have a global tender. Make do with what you have.

In our case we already have the arihant. Use it as a starting point and build the boats. It will be cheaper and cost effective.

Regarding the slow build times. They can be improved with experience.

Making SSBN and SSN are two different task and needs different specialization , we still have a long way to go wrt to fleet of SSBN

Well use the arihant and the template for SSN and aridaman and follow on as the template for SSBN.

Build the arihant based design in mumbai and the aridaman can continue in vizag. Problem solved.

Pratyush wrote:Well use the arihant and the template for SSN and aridaman and follow on as the template for SSBN.

Build the arihant based design in mumbai and the aridaman can continue in vizag. Problem solved.
Hehehehe Alas if Life of That Simple we could have built an SSBN 30 years back

I would suggest any one interested in SSN/SSBN development/construction should read Norman Polmar authoritive work on the subject

https://www.amazon.com/Cold-War-Submari ... 1574885308

The propulsion is solved and it works. It can always be optimised further. The rest to be built around it.

So it's not that big a challenge.

Would USA lease us a Virginia class for $2.5B?

I think we don't understand the cost of operating an SSN/SSBN. Also funding for the desi SSNs are not affected by this lease. It only bolsters it because we need to train our men. We have been training our men who will man these boats. We will now also train our men who will build these boats.

The US and Russia with their long history now have separate development lines for their SSNs and SSBNs. But when they started out, their SSBNs were variants of their SSNs.

Hell, the first US SSBN, the Washington, was rebuilt from a Skipjack SSN hull! (The first Soviet SSBN, Hotel class, derived from their November SSNs.)

We could be like the French who got their SSBNs first then their SSNs. The French Barracuda uses the same tech as the Triomphant SSBN.

But most went with the SSN first like the US/USSR and then used that as a base for their SSBN. The UK Resolution SSBN was a stretched version of the Valiant SSN and the chini Type 92 was an extended Type 91 attack sub.

The point is that historically all of the nuke sub operators today had started with SSN/SSBN of common origins. I am entirely certain we will build our attack nuke based on the Arihant. Not on the Akula/Chakra.

So all I'm saying is if it would not better investing our $2.5B internally with the group that will build our SSN.

Indranil wrote:Would USA lease us a Virginia class for $2.5B?

I think we don't understand the cost of operating an SSN/SSBN. Also funding for the desi SSNs are not affected by this lease. It only bolsters it because we need to train our men. We have been training our men who will man these boats. We will now also train our men who will build these boats.
Every rupee that is spent overseas is 1 Rupee less for domestic programs.

So it will be effecting domestic program.

The argument of training builders is false as we have enough men with sub building experience to enlarge our program if we so chose.

The rupees for the SSNs/SSBNs comes from a separate pile. This acquisition is not in place of our desi SSNs,. This acquisition is for our desi SSNs.

Great news! What I've been advocating/hinting for aeons,good to see commonsense has prevailed.Russia has a large stock of Akulas.The RuN itself has been using unfinished hulls and eqpt. of Sov. era subs and upgrading some mothballed N-subs too to bring them upto current cutting edge stds. equipped with the latest missiles,sensors and weaponry at a much lower cost than building them afresh,also saving valuable time. The US too has been converting some of its SSBNs into SSGNs.Chakra-3 might feature more lethal missiles that we've already developed for the SSBNs,like the K-15 or plans for hyper-BMos in the future.The Zircon hyper-SSM is going to enter service with the RuN next yr.,our BMos-L and BMos-H are also in planned/dev. stages.It would be prudent to plan for these subs to carry them .In any case,Kalibir,extended-range Klubs could be fitted immediately to both the Chakra and our 9 Kilos,making them even more potent .

Possessing at least 3,preferably 4 Akula SSGN boats of Akula2/3 std.,fitting them with tech from even Yasen subs and perhaps even from the new classes being built (there are supposed new torpedo firing tech reducing launch noise to almost zero and new N-reactor pumps,etc. even more silent),will give us a distinct advantage over China in the stakes in the Indo-Asia-Pacific waters.The Akulas are large boats and can carry around 40 weapons of various types.Possessing 3 will allow us to have at least one on patrol at any time,while the other two are returning from patrol with one in harbour for any refit/maintenance purposes.These SSGNs would/should be tasked to carry our most potent anti-ship and land attack missiles.The 6 SSNs in addition will give the IN the freedom to form a forward line of defence against the PLAN beyond the Malacca Straits! Being N-powered,they would need no refuelling and could conduct a 90 day patrol even setting off from the A&N islands.In addition,our conventional AIP fleet,setting of from the A&N islands ,would be able to extend their time on station for at least 3-4 weeks.If facilities are available in Viet ports,then virtually on permanent station like the N-subs.The extra Akulas would also enable the 6 SSNs to tag and hunt any PLAN N-subs that might appear in the IOR,as China will inevitably do once its sub fleet reaches the 80-100 mark.However,possessing upgraded,modernised Akulas and brand new SSNs which would have significant Ru tech.,the IN would have a distinct qualitative advantage over the PLAN's subs. This emphasis on building up the sub fleet is most welcome and none too soon,as we have a lot of catching up esp. in numbers of subs when compared with the Sino-P{ak JV.

$2.5 Bn for a 10 year lease? :mrgreen: You now know who is goting to help with the SSN project. :twisted: . Remember the tale of the cost of the Gorshkov and then suddenly the Arihant breaking cover? :mrgreen: :twisted: :mrgreen: Draw your own conclusions. :P :P :P

What I cant understand though is why cant the lease of the chakra 2 be extended by another 5-10 years so that the IN will have two SSN's till the indigenous design comes out.

Will wrote:$2.5 Bn for a 10 year lease? :mrgreen: You now know who is goting to help with the SSN project. :twisted: . Remember the tale of the cost of the Gorshkov and then suddenly the Arihant breaking cover? :mrgreen: :twisted: :mrgreen: Draw your own conclusions. :P :P :P

What I cant understand though is why cant the lease of the chakra 2 be extended by another 5-10 years so that the IN will have two SSN's till the indigenous design comes out.
Chakra 2 will be due for refuelling.

Added: Russian reactor designs are not as advanced as US one's. Modern US naval reactors are designed to last nearly the full lifecycle of the carrier/sub. Their thermal to electric conversion is far superior to Russian designs.

DAE is yet to crack the code on a design to power the SSN. My hope is part of this build is to "learn" from the Russians to do so for the reactor also.

IMHO: There are three things that differentiate an SSN from an SSBN. Speed, Agility and Sound. Both have endurance. SSBN has the size to launch ballistic/LR missiles.

ShauryaT wrote:Added: Russian reactor designs are not as advanced as US one's. Modern US naval reactors are designed to last nearly the full lifecycle of the carrier/sub. Their thermal to electric conversion is far superior to Russian designs.
Reactor of different generation have different feature , Akula Subs are of 3+ types that uses OK-650V ( 190MW(t) )reactor that needs refuelling after 12 years of operation. Previous generation subs used 80-90 MW(t) reactor that needed refuelling in 8 - 9 years ( eg Delta 4 class or Victor 3 class )

4th gen subs of Yasen Class uses New Monoblock reactor ( 200 Mw (t ) ) that does not need refuelling through its life time

ShauryaT wrote: DAE is yet to crack the code on a design to power the SSN. My hope is part of this build is to "learn" from the Russians to do so for the reactor also.
The design was already "cracked" by BARC for Arihant. I find it impossible to believe that our SSN won't be based on the Arihant and its followons and the powerplant in those. Designing the SSN from a separate base is insane for a new nuke sub operator by duplicating efforts and expenses.

Shaurya,oui,the relationship is much deeper than what appears on the surface. There was a report quite some time ago when the second lease broke,that concluding it would be well if Ru were given the collaboration for the 6 SSNs.It would also make eminent sense to have a common thread of design,eqpt.,etc.,running through the SSBN,SSGN (lease) and SSN programmes,esp. as the Chakra was also meant to train our submariners in operating an N-sub.With the second SSBN launch expected/announced anytime now,and very welcome news of the 3rd Akula planned,the IN's N-subs programme appears to be making excellent progress.

One intriguing point.The IN team inspected two Akula subs/hulls.Could it be that both are in the "basket"? Would make even more sense for both (3&4) modified.Ak-2 was supposed to be the "Kash-a-lot" (translates into a "lot-of-cash" :rotfl: ).The Samara is the much younger of the two,but who knows what the hull conditions o both are.The fact that both have been taken to the yard indicates that both will be modernised.
However, sources have told ThePrint that the two Project 971 submarines that are presently docked at Zvyozdochka shipyard in Severodvinsk are the Samara ​​(K 295) and Bratsk (K 391), both of which were transported there in 2014. Indian teams are believed to have inspected both hulls.
If an Indian team is embedded at Sevmash,then the team could work hands on with the second sub almost simultaneously ,while the first is being built by the Ru team.That would give us excellent N-sub building human skills.The team ,even teams by rotation,can then return later to build the SSN class.
ambati

Post by ambati »

i have question does every SSBN need a one more sub to protect it
if yes who is doing it for our sub is it chakra or any other subs
If chakra then who will protect the other SSBN that is been launched

Pratyush wrote:The propulsion is solved and it works. It can always be optimised further. The rest to be built around it.

So it's not that big a challenge.
I think you should send your CV to the Directorate of Naval Design!!!!

I will not be considered by INDO. To much common sense.

sum wrote:I assume 2.5B includes some sort of hidden ToT for the Indian SSN programme else sounds unbelievably high for a single sub lease
Modi had eye on Yasen submarine, but Putin can't spare it plus Russian mic is overstretched in building these superboats.

Some of the tech will be slipped into the Shucka subs, our technicians will be involved in rebuild from ground up. The cost is for ToT plus training for our own Hunter killer sharks.

Since our security partner USA with whom we are tied at hip has refused help with SSN tech. They want us to buy f18 + f16 junk instead.

While our French froggy friends have already promised/declared in Australia that they won't help brown Bharatiya nation with submarine technology.

So villain Putin and Russia step in.

Just like in old times those who couldn't afford Rajesh Khanna opted for Navin Nischal.

Good Enough isn't Good Enough :)

There seems to be more cooking in the IN N sub saga. Nothing seems clear at the moment. I guess we only need to tell the world we have atleast One Chakra (to ensure that helps allies classify chakra signature as ours). We could buy all the chakras from russia and induct them as ours and no one would know how many we have.

Austin wrote:Good Enough isn't Good Enough :)
Actually I will be very happy to have 9 Yasen type advanced SSGN boats by 2036, even American admiral is so impressed that he has a model of it built so he can look at it everyday. 8)

Manish_Sharma wrote:
sum wrote:I assume 2.5B includes some sort of hidden ToT for the Indian SSN programme else sounds unbelievably high for a single sub lease
Modi had eye on Yasen submarine, but Putin can't spare it plus Russian mic is overstretched in building these superboats.

Some of the tech will be slipped into the Shucka subs, our technicians will be involved in rebuild from ground up. The cost is for ToT plus training for our own Hunter killer sharks.
The cost may very well be for a Yasen, or a Schuka with Yasen levels of sensor+noise reduction tech, with hands on training and consultancy for our own boats included. If history were to be a guide, the cost of INS Vikramaditya had shot up, along with a submarine that we simply couldn't "assemble back" in Visakhapatnam. There was so much criticism about both, but a few years later, out comes the Arihant and voila, so does the Sindhukirti!
Manish_Sharma wrote:Just like in old times those who couldn't afford Rajesh Khanna opted for Navin Nischal.
Well put, except in this case, Rajesh Khanna being a superstar refuses to deal with us hoi-polloi types, and we like wide-eyed fans don't take it personally and continue to fawn over him :lol:

Samara - FOC 1995
Bratsk - FOC 1989
Kashalot - FOC 1988

leopard, volk, magadan, vepr are laid up in port in some stages of refit, or awaiting more lessors.

only tigr, kuzbass, gepard are active, rest a few are decommed and a few were never completed. two such were even used for borei class hulls.

so there is plenty of scope to lease two subs, but they will need deep refit and fresh reactors being 30 yrs old.

there are no subs ready to roll except the 3 in active service which russia surely needs to support the few yasens in service . right now they would not be able to muster up more the 3 akulas + 2 sierra+ 1 yasen = 6 . thats the size of France/UK SSN holdings and less than Cheen.

6 more yasen are in the pipeline, but the 3 active akulas might also be retired by then.

6 Akula are going though deep upgrade bringing it close to yasen standard , first one almost ended it's upgrade and will start sea trials.The remaining older 5 akula will go through operational refit and will be retired by eol , 4 Oscar 2 and 2 Sierra 2 will be upgraded the rest will be discarded plus 7 yasen are getting built lead ship commissioned and other 6 in different stages of construction will be built to upgraded standard

Not much to spare for lease and no SY available before 2024 to build any new subs for other navy at severodvinsk

India's only nuclear submarine damaged in accident
https://theprint.in/2017/10/03/accident ... onar-dome/
India’s nuclear-powered submarine, INS Chakra, has suffered “some damage” in an accident and could require substantial repair work to get it back in shape. The attack submarine, obtained on a 10-year lease from Russia, has not sailed for a month and is berthed at its home port of Visakhapatnam for repairs.

Sources told The Print that the submarine — currently India’s only operational nuclear-powered vessel — suffered damage to its sonar dome in the accident. The sonar dome is located at the forward portion of the submarine, beneath the torpedo tubes. While details of the incident are yet to emerge, sources said that the damage could be the result of either a collision at sea or accidental scraping while entering the harbour. The Indian Navy refused to comment on the incident.

Repair work on the submarine is likely to be complicated given that the sonar dome is made of titanium, a difficult metal that requires both specialised machinery and manpower to work on. However, the indigenous Arihant nuclear armed submarines are also being made in Visakhapatnam and that could help.
ramdas

Post by ramdas »

^^ Should'nt leaking such info, if such info is true, lead to the concerned journalists being imprisoned ? Preferably, a worse fate, along the lines of a life imprisonment, should befall such elements. Such traitors should not be allowed to continue with their business.
Last edited by ramdas on 03 Oct 2017 22:54, edited 1 time in total.