The Rohingya Menace

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: The Rohingya Menace

Guys, stop discussing Parsis here.

@chola,

What happens in btween Bdesh and My wrt Ro is between them . What happens with Ro in India is between India and My. If you bring in Bdesh you will complicate things. What happens with Bdeshi illegals is a separate issue.

SS - I have cut-paste your two part reply to Hindu editorials on Twitter
A concise and brilliant summation.

periaswamy wrote:I misunderestimated Suu Kyi, she really is a lady of steel. Much respect to her.
She may be a lady of steel but at the moment she is stirring the hornet's nest and these hornets are buzzing around in our garden. I hope she is able to reach some kind of accommodation quickly, not because I like or dislike one side or the other, but because it is eventually a problem between the Myanmar government and Rohingyas and I don't want to be affected by the fallout.

JEM, you're welcome
periaswamy

Post by periaswamy »

yensoy: but because it is eventually a problem between the Myanmar government and Rohingyas and I don't want to be affected by the fallout.
What fallout? If the Indian govt. cannot keep the Rohingyas out of India, whose fault is it? The Bangladeshi govt. can take in these Rohingyas being part of the islamic ummah and all that.

Besides, would you rather handle the fallout of NE militant and terrorist groups operating out of Myanmar territory as they used to do in the past, by forcing the myanmar regime in unhelpful ways? So take your pick as to which fallout you would rather handle, because those are the only options.

If the Rohingyas refuse to return to Myanmar, that is not India's problem. They can all rot in Bangladesh until Bangladesh forces them out.

The only stick in the mud here is Mamata Banerjee and her petty politicking which will make her allow Rohingyas into Indian territory. If the center cannot handle Mamata Banerjee's treachery, that is India's problem.

Guys, we don't share land border with Rakhine state, they have come through BD. Can't we ask BD to take back and they can deport or do whatever they want to do with.
periaswamy

Post by periaswamy »

That is between BD and Myanmar -- India needs to only make sure the Rohingyas do not enter Indian territory. India can facilitate dialogue between Myanmar and BD to allow these wannabe jihadis back into Rakhine, and that is what the Indian govt. seems to be doing at this point.
ragupta

Post by ragupta »

periaswamy wrote:That is between BD and Myanmar -- India needs to only make sure the Rohingyas do not enter Indian territory. India can facilitate dialogue between Myanmar and BD to allow these wannabe jihadis back into Rakhine, and that is what the Indian govt. seems to be doing at this point.
++, that should be the objective. expel Rohinyas to the place they came from and create awareness as to why the Muslim states are not coming forward to give them asylum.

Why can't some group in India declare that if Rohingyas leave Islam and become Arya Samajis they can live in India.

They are prompt to give big lectures to others but take a year to enforce a deal and accept 50 refugees

First Australia refugees approved for US resettlement
About 50 people from the Papua New Guinea and Nauru centres will be taken to the US, the Australian government confirmed on Tuesday.
Under a resettlement deal struck with the Obama administration in 2016, the US agreed to take up to 1,250 refugees. President Donald Trump called the deal "dumb" but said he would honour it. Under a controversial policy, Australia refuses to take in anyone trying to reach its territories unofficially by boat. They are intercepted and detained in the Nauru and Manus Island detention centres.

periaswamy wrote:
yensoy: but because it is eventually a problem between the Myanmar government and Rohingyas and I don't want to be affected by the fallout.
What fallout? If the Indian govt. cannot keep the Rohingyas out of India, whose fault is it? The Bangladeshi govt. can take in these Rohingyas being part of the islamic ummah and all that.
The only stick in the mud here is Mamata Banerjee and her petty politicking which will make her allow Rohingyas into Indian territory. If the center cannot handle Mamata Banerjee's treachery, that is India's problem.
If a boatload of refugees lands up in Bengal or Orissa, what do you think the government should do?
1. Blow up the boat and people
2. Load up some jerry cans of water & food, turn the boat around and send them towards the open sea
3. Land the refugees, arrest them and put them in a camp while possibly initiating deportation proceedings

Fact is that 1 and 2 cannot be done realistically. If refugees land up, you have to take them in, even if you eventually intend to deport them. And good luck deporting a bunch of people with no identification "back" to Burma - Burma is not accepting them nor is BD.

That is why despite all the kudos going around I think it is best that Suu Kyi finds some way to fix the problem at her end itself before it bites us hard. I didn't get your reference to NE and see no point in bringing that into the discussion. Mamata is not driving foreign policy, yet it is somebody on the state police force who will have the first official interaction with the refugees and he/she will be least prepared for it. All the talk about sending them "back to Burma" or "back to BD" sounds good in theory but ignores operational reality.
Last edited by yensoy on 20 Sep 2017 20:37, edited 1 time in total.

SBajwa wrote:Why can't some group in India declare that if Rohingyas leave Islam and become Arya Samajis they can live in India.
What's the guarantee they won't reconvert? Let's not think in terms of abrahamic faiths and perform coercive conversions , and let's not complicate things.
periaswamy

Post by periaswamy »

yensoy:
That is why despite all the kudos going around I think it is best that Suu Kyi finds some way to fix the problem at her end itself before it bites us hard. I didn't get your reference to NE and see no point in bringing that into the discussion.
perhaps you should get a clue about the problems before pretending it is irrelevant to the topic. Militancy in the NorthEast was brought under control with the help of the Myanmar Junta, and this was not easy to get them on board. So putting pressure on the Myanmar junta will have other fallout that is harder than this refugee problem.

Suu Kyi controls nothing -- the army controls everything, and it is the Myanmar Junta that holds the levers of power. And that is why the Indian govt. is working with the Junta to resolve this --- appearance with Suu kyi are photo ops. Suu Kyi has become a realist and will not be a dancing puppet for the people in the west just because they gave her a nobel prize.
periaswamy

Post by periaswamy »

If a boatload of refugees lands up in Bengal or Orissa, what do you think the government should do?
2. Load up some jerry cans of water & food, turn the boat around and send them towards the open sea
3. Land the refugees, arrest them and put them in a camp while possibly initiating deportation proceedings
Just fence them in refugee camps in the area --- but law and order is a state subject, so if Mamata decides to play rogue, and there is every indication that she will, we are screwed. Indian rescue ships picking up these people in boats at sea before they reach land and transport them back to Myanmar, after working the modalities with Myanmar govt. would be a better option
prasan

Post by prasan »

Zee news was covering it. They have settled in Delhi, Hyderabad , Harayana (mewat) todays video. They were telling CID keeps tracking them, who are born and all. Dont know why Zee news dont put it in their site

Fali Nairman appeared for Union Carbide also. His son is sitting Supreme Court judge. Did Fali ever appear any Nationalist cause? Fali charges in crores for a case, who funded?
brvarsh

Post by brvarsh »

periaswamy wrote:
Why is there one right answer? Each boat sighted can be easily marked as high, medium and low risk and all three in that order can be done. Our Naval Border sentries go deep in waters for anyone's iPhone to be capturing it.

^^^^ Refugees use anything from makeshift rafts to small fishing boats, not steel patrol boats. This is Coast Guard responsibility. Even during highest of high alerts, refugees would travel overnight between India and Sri Lanka (some went back from time to time to run their businesses or for smuggling) and weren't challenged. Folks here are talking like there is a land border which can be fenced and mined.

We can't get blackmailed by a minor power cooperating with us in the hope of denying help to NE rebels. NE rebels are our problem which we primarily need to deal with just as Rohingyas are Burma's problem which they need to primarily deal with. For Burma to kick them out of the land is not acceptable to us because it puts us under threat. Let them figure out a solution either within or with Bangladesh. We need to encourage them to take that step.

yensoy wrote:^^^^ Refugees use anything from makeshift rafts to small fishing boats, not steel patrol boats. This is Coast Guard responsibility. Even during highest of high alerts, refugees would travel overnight between India and Sri Lanka (some went back from time to time to run their businesses or for smuggling) and weren't challenged. Folks here are talking like there is a land border which can be fenced and mined.

We can't get blackmailed by a minor power cooperating with us in the hope of denying help to NE rebels. NE rebels are our problem which we primarily need to deal with just as Rohingyas are Burma's problem which they need to primarily deal with. For Burma to kick them out of the land is not acceptable to us because it puts us under threat. Let them figure out a solution either within or with Bangladesh. We need to encourage them to take that step.
The problem is Burma IS "working" things out a solution with Bangladesh. They kicked 400,000 out of 1.1M Rohungya back to BD. They are doing what we should be doing to the 20M Beedee illegals in India.

The 40K Rohingya in India are not there because of our border with Rakhine (we don't have any) they are here because we can't safeguard our fvcking borders with Bangladesh.

So we tell Burma what? They have to accept this Beedee invasion? And what do we do if they say "Fvck you, we fall back on the PRC and Russia to protect us globally"?

Read what they had Cheen do at the UN! The PRC blocked any wording that Rohingyas in Bangladesh had any right to return to Burma. The Burmese don't want these people and they believe that forcing them back to Beedee is good and just. Are we going to war with them over people who appealed to Jinnah to take Rakhine into Pakistan?

If at all there is a relationship worth preserving, it's the one with BD. We have a really good relationship with the present government and inshallah they will be in power for a long time as the Jamatis are rounded up and encountered. BD is doing some things right, like focussing on family planning and economic development. We are close enough and BD is doing well enough economically that (i) there is less incentive for BDs to migrate illegally into India and (ii) down the road we may have enough of an understanding to push the illegals back to BD.

BD forms a buffer state for us. It is reasonably moderate (just imagine if the Jamatis took over and it became a mini Pakistan). We have a long border, not defensible in all areas especially the riverine ones. There is some amount of goodwill and a decent amount of trade; and they give us transit access to the North East (not overland yet, but via Chittagram port).

Now on to Burma. Sure they can work it out with BD but we cannot appear to take sides, and most certainly not look like we are against BD.

Karthik S wrote:Guys, we don't share land border with Rakhine state, they have come through BD. Can't we ask BD to take back and they can deport or do whatever they want to do with.
The beedis hate the rohingiyas as much as the rakhine state buddhists do. The beedi hatred for the rohingiyas is only exceeded by their hatred for India.

They will actively push the rohingiyas into India and we cannot do anything about it as the beedi border is extremely porous as also, sad to say, extremely corrupt.

The beedi govt refuses to accept the beedis who cross over into India saying that India has to produce proof like passport, citizenship papers of the beedis before that can be accepted back, after due diligence and "proper verification" of those "non existent " papers.

What exactly do you think are the chances of the beedis accepting back the rohingiyas??

Well in that case we should put them on a train across the country and push them into Pakistan.

yensoy wrote:If at all there is a relationship worth preserving, it's the one with BD. We have a really good relationship with the present government and inshallah they will be in power for a long time as the Jamatis are rounded up and encountered. BD is doing some things right, like focussing on family planning and economic development. We are close enough and BD is doing well enough economically that (i) there is less incentive for BDs to migrate illegally into India and (ii) down the road we may have enough of an understanding to push the illegals back to BD.

BD forms a buffer state for us. It is reasonably moderate (just imagine if the Jamatis took over and it became a mini Pakistan). We have a long border, not defensible in all areas especially the riverine ones. There is some amount of goodwill and a decent amount of trade; and they give us transit access to the North East (not overland yet, but via Chittagram port).

Now on to Burma. Sure they can work it out with BD but we cannot appear to take sides, and most certainly not look like we are against BD.
the beedis are extremely transactional in their relationship with India as are the pakis. They are in it solely for what they can get out of it from India, even "awarding" Modi beedi state honors and licking mamta banoo's backside and doing "hilsa" politics.

The very minute they get a chance they will publicly stick it to you and that too where the sun don't shine.

Their next and urgent agenda is a completely one sided, IWT like foolish agreement, whereby they grab an extremely disproportionate share of the teesta waters.

Hasina will last as long as the beedis see some potential of her pulling off the teesta waters swindle. Their true nature lies with the dirty politics of hasina's opposition as well as their openly stated ambition of the complete assimilation of Indian bengal.

do not be fooled by the hilsa, however tasty it may be.

yensoy wrote:Well in that case we should put them on a train across the country and push them into Pakistan.
with ticket or without??

Is the demographic game that is being played so very difficult to understand??

the rohingiyas see themselves as being the safest in India.

It is the only state in the entire world where someone, whatever be their communal politics, is actively supporting them with the saudi infested UN human rights cabal also rooting for India to take them in, citing "international" legal requirements.

The biggest threat we see is coming from BD, make no mistake. They are the ones contributing the most to weaken us from within through demographic changes. 2 crore illegals and now letting in RMs through their country. So India will face serious threat if jamaat wins? We dhoti shiver looking at who is ruling BDs of all the countries.

yensoy wrote:Well in that case we should put them on a train across the country and push them into Pakistan.
with ticket or without??

It is the only state in the entire world where someone, whatever be their communal politics, is actively supporting them with the saudi infested UN human rights cabal also rooting for India to take them in, citing "international" legal requirements.
EXACTLY

Which is why I don't want them landing in my shores or crossing my border in the first place, and the only way to make that happen seems to be to ensure that they stay where they are. Why is this becoming so difficult to understand?

yensoy wrote:
with ticket or without??

EXACTLY

Which is why I don't want them landing in my shores or crossing my border in the first place, and the only way to make that happen seems to be to ensure that they stay where they are. Why is this becoming so difficult to understand?
In theory, it is easy to understand but in practice, very difficult, almost impossible to implement, as these scum buy their way into India using facilitators on both sides of the border.

Why is this so difficult to understand??

yensoy wrote:
EXACTLY

In theory, it is easy to understand but in practice, very difficult, almost impossible to implement, as these scum buy their way into India using facilitators on both sides of the border.

And had the situation not been precipitated by Burma, we would not have this problem, no? For one reason or the other we can't seem to keep them out, so the next best thing is to stop the problem at its source, which is Burma.

Somehow by placing the onus of this situation on the Burmese, I am drawing the ire of posters who (I can guess) seem to confuse my position with some kind of sympathy for the Rohingyas. I wish posters here read posts fully before making gratuitous comments and casting aspersions. I have not made any personal attack and won't do so.

yensoy wrote:

And had the situation not been precipitated by Burma, we would not have this problem, no? For one reason or the other we can't seem to keep them out, so the next best thing is to stop the problem at its source, which is Burma.

Somehow by placing the onus of this situation on the Burmese, I am drawing the ire of posters who (I can guess) seem to confuse my position with some kind of sympathy for the Rohingyas. I wish posters here read posts fully before making gratuitous comments and casting aspersions. I have not made any personal attack and won't do so.
RMs have had issue with Myanmar for many decades, including call for secession of Rakine State. Now the Burmese are not pussyfooting like us in dealing with such population. They are responding in a way that is in their interest. So you want India to do what? Tell the Burmese to stop taking care of their interest? Let these people into their country and do what they do best. That's not our problem. If someone precipitated the situation, it is the RMs themselves not the Burmese. Is this difficult to understand?

Our only problem now is to make sure Myanmar takes them back, which I hope is going on as we speak.

yensoy wrote:

the burmese have reacted to sort out their rohingiya issues.

the rohingiyas are basically beedis whom the beedis don't want back in their country. No other muslim majority country in the region or elsewhere wants them too. So the UN sees Hindu India, the garbage bin of the whole world's refuse and rejects as the solution. This is all being slyly supported by the very same muslim majority countries who don't want to take in these dregs.

The issue is a burmese beedi one.

The best solution for them both is to push the rohingiyas into India and solve their problems forever. This shows lack of respect for India or the perception in both these countries that India is an easy mark, with mamta banoo and her hardline jehadis in charge and also nepal providing an open border with unrestricted entry into India and the UN supporting the presence of rohingiyas in India, the very same rohingiyas who have "officially registered" with the UNHRC in India, if you please.

These are the facts and now our SC pitches in to weigh in on matters of national security. Tomorrow, they will be running the Indian Armed forces.

Your "will and wish" have no part to play here, especially when complicit Indian facilitators are eager to help the rohingiyas to cross over for a few bucks.

It is these facilitators who will win.

Understand that clearly, because otherwise, millions of beedis would not have dared to cross over at will. Many cross back into beedi land frequently to visit their families with the certain knowledge that their jobs in India will be waiting for them when they get back.

we are unable to stop them because this is a huge money spinning racket of industrial proportions and organisation, feeding directly into the power corridors of both the state and the center.
prasan

Post by prasan »

Rohingya menace covered by Sudhir Zee TV.

video - https://www.facebook.com/ZeeNewsHindi/v ... GOtgyYwYLo

Karthik S wrote:
yensoy wrote:

RMs have had issue with Myanmar for many decades, including call for secession of Rakine State. Now the Burmese are not pussyfooting like us in dealing with such population. They are responding in a way that is in their interest. So you want India to do what? Tell the Burmese to stop taking care of their interest? Let these people into their country and do what they do best. That's not our problem. If someone precipitated the situation, it is the RMs themselves not the Burmese. Is this difficult to understand?

Our only problem now is to make sure Myanmar takes them back, which I hope is going on as we speak.
Tell the Burmese that they need to figure out a way out of this mess without affecting us. In other words whatever settlement they have with BD or whoever else - Saudi, Pak, Malaysia, free Rakhine state or themselves, I don't care - should be an orderly one. Is that hard to ask? Why is it so difficult to understand that if they go full force guns blazing and try to "evict" the Rohingyas who for one reason or other have been in that area, it's not going to end well for us? In that case, why should we support the cowboy tactics of the Burmese?

You can lay whatever blame on Rohingyas that you want, but whom will you engage with? There is no leader, there is no organization, there is no elder. So the only responsible party you can talk to is the Burmese.

Here's a crude analogy - your neighbours dogs trample on your garden, poop on your doorstep and bite your kids. Do you talk to the dogs or to your neighbour?

yensoy wrote:Here's a crude analogy - your neighbours dogs trample on your garden, poop on your doorstep and bite your kids. Do you talk to the dogs or to your neighbour?
Thanks for this, easier to reply. First, the dog is not my neighbor's, but my neighbor's neighbor's. That dog has to pass MY neighbor's garden to reach mine. BTW, few of my neighbor's dogs have trampled my garden already. So whom will you talk to now?
Second, I'll build a fence across my garden so that dog will not enter.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Tweeted by Posina Rao (Dassault India)

https://twitter.com/posinavrao/status/9 ... 5071958016

I find all this pro-BD talk nonsensical. It is a matter of when & not IF when BD turn into another Pakistan-lite. I find the 'wisdom' here that Pakistan is bad because they perpetrated a Hindu genocide while abusing at the top of their voices but Bangladesh is good because they genocide Hindus while shaking our hands, smiling and sharing Hilsa curry and while also pushing 20 million potential jehadis & baby producing machines into India.

Do we have figures for children per woman for illegal BD population in India? I guess not.

Chandragupta wrote:I find all this pro-BD talk nonsensical. It is a matter of when & not IF when BD turn into another Pakistan-lite. I find the 'wisdom' here that Pakistan is bad because they perpetrated a Hindu genocide while abusing at the top of their voices but Bangladesh is good because they genocide Hindus while shaking our hands, smiling and sharing Hilsa curry and while also pushing 20 million potential jehadis & baby producing machines into India.

Do we have figures for children per woman for illegal BD population in India? I guess not.
That's what I said, the crafty bengali beedi will do much more damage to India than the brash loud, crude and "in your face" panjabi paki

we are being fooled by the hilsa politics.

Rohingya Muslim tried to set fire to a bank in Australia get himself burned There is a video there.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-09-19/s ... rt/8960540

A Melbourne court has released confronting CCTV of an asylum seeker from Myanmar setting fire to a bank at Springvale, in Melbourne's south-east, in an "act of retribution" for being kept waiting to make a withdrawal.

Security vision from inside the Commonwealth Bank branch shows Nur Islam, 22, pouring petrol on the ground between the ATMs inside the front entrance and the middle of the service area.

He then ignites it with a cigarette lighter as customers try to flee.

Islam can be seen running to the back of the bank engulfed in flames.

Islam, who was on a bridging visa, appeared emotionless as the vision was played at the start of his short committal hearing in the Melbourne Magistrates' Court.

Prosecutor Gavin Silbert QC told the hearing the fire caused the bank to fill with smoke, creating panic and confusion.

"This created a large ball of flames preventing customers and staff from leaving the bank from the only exit point," he said.

"In the ensuing pandemonium, there was a stampede to leave the bank, with some people being trapped by a security door and others running through flames and sustaining serious injuries."

Islam suffered burns to 60 per cent of his body and was in hospital for four and a half months.

He has pleaded not guilty to 108 charges including intentionally causing serious injury, conduct endangering life and criminal damage.

The court was told Islam had earlier gone to the bank on the morning of the fire to withdraw the balance of his account.

Mr Silbert said it appeared he was angry at the length of time he had been kept waiting, and left to buy a container of petrol from a nearby service station.

"He had clearly at this time decided he was going to set fire to the Commonwealth Bank as an act of retribution for his earlier treatment," he said.
Nur Islam suffered 'catastrophic' injuries

In a police interview, Islam later admitted to buying the petrol and setting fire to the bank "in order to get back at it".

Defence barrister Barnaby Johnston told the hearing Islam had suffered the "most serious and catastrophic injuries".

He said there was insufficient evidence Islam had intended to injure the people inside the bank and the charges of intentionally causing serious injury and intentionally causing injury should be downgraded.

But Magistrate Peter Reardon found there was enough evidence to commit Islam to stand trial on all charges.

He will undergo a mental health assessment in the coming weeks and will face a directions hearing in the County Court on Wednesday.