Maldives Civil-Military Issues

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Maldives Civil-Military Issues

UlanBatori wrote:Goon coup or libteration?
Parliament sealed off, MPs arrested, military on the streets. Looks very much like goon squad :evil:
The Maldives Supreme Court has hit back at President Abdulla Yameen's refusal to free his jailed opponents amid an escalating crisis that saw security forces seal off the country's parliament and arrest two opposition lawmakers on Sunday.

Judges of the top court said there should be "no legal barrier" to releasing the nine people, including the island nation's exiled former president Mohamed Nasheed, whose terrorism and corruption convictions it overturned last week.

Their statement came after Attorney-General Mohamed Anil raised concerns about freeing people convicted of "terrorism, bomb attacks, corruption, embezzlement and fraud".

The top court's ruling last week has plunged the Maldives into political turmoil and dealt a major blow to Yameen, who critics accuse of corruption, misrule and rights abuses.

He denies the allegations.

The sudden about face by the Supreme Court, which sided with Yameen in the past, and the widespread international support for its verdict puts unprecedented pressure on the president to free his opponents ahead of a presidential election later this year.
READ MORE
Maldives top court 'in bid to remove' President Yameen

The government accused the Supreme Court of trying to oust the president, a claim judges did not respond to in their statement late on Sunday.

Earlier in the day, the attorney general, in a televised appearance flanked by the chiefs of the army and the police, said the government has received news of an imminent order by the Supreme Court to impeach Yameen.

"I have informed all law enforcement agencies they must not obey such an illegal order," Anil said.

Ahmed Shiyam, the army chief, said the security forces would follow the attorney-general's advice and "will not wait and watch as the Maldives descends into crisis".

The opposition called Anil's order to the security forces "unconstitutional, highly illegal, and dangerous" and petitioned parliament to oust Anil, as well as the country's chief prosecutor.

Shortly afterwards, soldiers surrounded the parliament building and sealed it off.

The opposition now have a majority in the 85-member house as the Supreme Court ruling also reinstated 12 members of parliament who were stripped of their seats last year.
But two of the 12 were arrested at the airport on Sunday, shortly after they returned to the Maldives after spending months in exile.
Abdulla Sinan and Ilham Ahmed were detained on charges of bribery, a police spokesman told Al Jazeera. Ibrahim Mohamed Solih, an opposition parliamentarian, condemned their arrest in a statement.
"We call on the police to release the MPs immediately, and to stop following unlawful orders, to stop obstructing the lawful mandate of parliamentarians," Solih said.
"In a desperate attempt to cling onto power, President Yameen has illegally overrun the state. His attorney-general has illegally assumed the powers of the apex court, while the military has overrun the legislature," he added.
On Sunday night, hundreds of flag-waving opposition supporters took to the streets calling on the government to abide by the court ruling.
Time for a phriendly vijit by yindoo sagar fauj, hain?
Aren't the hans already there??

This is crazy. We got to support SC now otherwise it would be a betrayal

abhijitm wrote:This is crazy. We got to support SC now otherwise it would be a betrayal
why should we bother?? Stay clear when muslims fight.

they will go back to the chinese, what ever India does.

The hell with them.

What is the legal/moral authority of the SC to ask for help from another country?? It is beyond their purview.

and what happens if the municipal dog catcher asks for India's help and intervention the day after??

Maldives will be under water in very neare future. It is high time India take it for the sake of humanity. Let some rising sea level aytullahs make some noice.

^^^ The article is long on claims and short on facts.

India has no control over decisions of the Supreme Court in the Maldives.

A dictator will inevitably run into problems hanging on to power while trying to subvert democratic institutions.

This is a rubbish anti-India website and the author is likely an ISI mouthpiece. Please avoid posting this tripe here.
SiddharthS

Post by SiddharthS »

Look at the previous articles. It'san Iran, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Pakistan, Duterte(Chinese puppet) and most of all China-supporting propaganda outlet. Do not give traffic to these Chinese PR sites.

SiddharthS wrote:Look at the previous articles. It'san Iran, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Pakistan, Duterte(Chinese puppet) and most of all China-supporting propaganda outlet. Do not give traffic to these Chinese PR sites.
All the talking points smell of the ISPR level of stupidity. The Chinese narrative (outside of the Global Times type stuff) is generally a bit more sophisticated in the way it is cloaked.
SiddharthS

Post by SiddharthS »

Bart S wrote:
SiddharthS wrote:Look at the previous articles. It'san Iran, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Pakistan, Duterte(Chinese puppet) and most of all China-supporting propaganda outlet. Do not give traffic to these Chinese PR sites.
All the talking points smell of the ISPR level of stupidity. The Chinese narrative (outside of the Global Times type stuff) is generally a bit more sophisticated in the way it is cloaked.
The director of that site also writes for following conspiratorial PR sites.

globalvillagespace.com pakistani conspiracy site.
orientalreview.com pro-russian

He's also an editor of TheDuran.com which another pro-china, pro-russia, pro-islamic countries and anti-west site; just like the eurasiareview.
Parasu

Post by Parasu »

https://bharatkarnad.com/2018/02/04/mod ... ameen-now/
Modi should not miss the opportunity to rid Maldives of Yameen NOW

Emergency imposed.Will we let the plea of the SC of the Maldives go unheard? The fascist pig and Chinese catamite in charge now has just imposed an emergency.Will we simply do nothing? I warned a year ago that we should dust off the files on Op. Cactus.Past time now esp. before any Chin intervention in support of the goon in charge.

Parasu wrote:https://bharatkarnad.com/2018/02/04/mod ... ameen-now/
Modi should not miss the opportunity to rid Maldives of Yameen NOW
The hans have vital interests and physical assets there. They also have invested heavily in the current regime.

This is no place for us to be mucking about, unless we are seriously prepared to handle the possible escalations and the fall out all by our lonesome selves.

wait and watch. In the meanwhile, no harm in telegraphing our intentions by dusting off and pulling out the good old C-17s and the IL-76s.

That should get a rise out of the hans.

For now, just wait and watch and gauge the reactions of those countries of the world who may be interested in this ungodly muslim mess.

The hans have vital interests and physical assets there. They also have invested heavily in the current regime.

This is no place for us to be mucking about, unless we are seriously prepared to handle the possible escalations and the fall out all by our lonesome selves.

wait and watch. In the meanwhile, no harm in telegraphing our intentions by dusting off and pulling out the good old C-17s and the IL-76s.

That should get a rise out of the hans.

For now, just wait and watch and gauge the reactions of those countries of the world who may be interested in this ungodly muslim mess.
If we have to act we have to do so now, 5 years or 10 years down the line, we would probably not be able to do anything without major escalation as the Hans would practically have taken over the country and have their military based there.

We should fall on our own swords in disgrace if we do not intervene now in fear of the dlagons anger barely some miles off our own coast :rotfl:

Bharat Karnard is right. India should respond to the call of the judiciary and help conduct free and fair elections and help Maldivians punish their dictator President.

15 days state of emergency declared.

He's testing the waters and will extend it indefinitely after 15 days I am guessing.

Singha wrote:We should fall on our own swords in disgrace if we do not intervene now in fear of the dlagons anger barely some miles off our own coast :rotfl:
This godforsaken island chain has a shelf life of at best, maybe, few decades before it disappears into Lord Varunas domain forever. The populace will all land up in India because surprise, surprise, they don't want to end up in china.

The populace is khattarpanthi muslim.

Why do we need to save it and for what??

We rushed aid and water to it during their last crisis and no one even made a mention of it, least of all, these entitled maldivians.

The hans did not even stir then, knowing that the foolish Hindus would do the needful for some ungrateful muslims.
pushkar.bhat

Post by pushkar.bhat »

Its a 35 days emergency. I expect his bluff will be called pretty quickly. Yameen and Family is on a one way street. They will not have a option to resettle some place else.

abhijitm wrote:This is crazy. We got to support SC now otherwise it would be a betrayal
why should we bother?? Stay clear when muslims fight.

they will go back to the chinese, what ever India does.

The hell with them.

What is the legal/moral authority of the SC to ask for help from another country?? It is beyond their purview.

and what happens if the municipal dog catcher asks for India's help and intervention the day after??
irrespective of religion we must keep our strong influence over neighbors, and that includes bangladesh, maldives and even pakistan. We are much safer if we hold card to influence their local politics, have strong local ties and have a friendly government than to let them (or other powers) have a field day. This is our backyard. These are weak nations. If we turn our back, somebody else will take the place.

https://twitter.com/NandyGram/status/960560545471651840

This guy is from Quint, so take it with some salt...
vinod

Post by vinod »

Modi should send the navy immediately and give a clear warning to the general to hold elections (through informal channels). The dissidents will get a morale boost by that action.

Will wait and watch how other nations respond. Apart from China, see other nations response to that. And move in, at the opportune moment.

Shouldn't this idiot be booked under OSA?
pushkar.bhat

Post by pushkar.bhat »

schinnas wrote:Shouldn't this idiot be booked under OSA?
And anyone who does even a little bit of scenario analysis would play out this situation. If I was on the other side this will be the first possibility I would plan for. You don't need to have a PhD to figure out that India may react differently to the situation that is playing out.

True but giving specific operational details including number of special forces, etc and time of flight is treason. I hope an example is made out of this idiot.

schinnas wrote:True but giving specific operational details including number of special forces, etc and time of flight is treason. I hope an example is made out of this idiot.
why??

for smoking some high quality stuff??

better to get the name of his supplier, no??
pushkar.bhat

Post by pushkar.bhat »

Number of troops and aircraft types could be pure speculation. I will not read too much into it. Yes no doubt he needs a polite call to ask him to keep his mouth shut. Invoking the OSA will require the prosecution to prove that he leaked secrets. Tweets may not stand the test of our courts. Remember what happened in the 2G trial.

schinnas wrote:True but giving specific operational details including number of special forces, etc and time of flight is treason. I hope an example is made out of this idiot.
Isn't this the same fellow who published a 'scoop' (later retracted) stating that Jadhav was a RAW agent? I think this a deliberate lie being put out to preempt any action by India by bringing various pressure groups to bear on India.

Singha wrote:We should fall on our own swords in disgrace if we do not intervene now in fear of the dlagons anger barely some miles off our own coast :rotfl:
This godforsaken island chain has a shelf life of at best, maybe, few decades before it disappears into Lord Varunas domain forever. The populace will all land up in India because surprise, surprise, they don't want to end up in china.

The populace is khattarpanthi muslim.

Why do we need to save it and for what??

We rushed aid and water to it during their last crisis and no one even made a mention of it, least of all, these entitled maldivians.

The hans did not even stir then, knowing that the foolish Hindus would do the needful for some ungrateful muslims.
I don't think anybody cares about saving the populace. We need to intervene because we have to assert our control over our backyard and keep outside powers, well, out. Forget about the Maldives, if we don't sort this out immediately we will have no respect from anybody else in the subcontinent.

This laissez faire attitude started by the weak MMS administration has gone on too long.

Agree with Sigha saar. Invasion, administration and annexation (IAA) ishe the way to go.For the first time ( after Mrs Gandhi ) we have PM with balls. Otherwise it will be too late. I would be not surprised if current dictator ask for Chinese help to quil the unrest.

This is first escalation ladder but opposition has to plan something big.

I agree, we have to respond with heavy hands for their misbehaviour. We have to act swiftly without giving any warning or time so that no one can intervention during action. React in the best interest of India and Maldives.

The US appears to have given India the "green light" for intervention with its latest statements on the crisis.Yam.and his coterie have to go and go down.Until he and his gang are exterminated from the political scene, the Maldives will become the centre of all manner of mischief courtesy Chin and Pak and a festering sore in the IOR.

There is little time to lose.Op Cactus-2 must begin.

wtf modi is waiting for? After all this he must not let maldives slip away. Besides, this is a god sent opportunity for him. killing 2 birds in one shot. Imagine spurt of nationalism if he intervenes when 2019 is just around the corner.

time to weigh anchor boys and go all in.

while I agree that maldives is in danger of going under due to global warming, do not forget China has produced and is producing even bigger artificial islands with airbases and missiles and docks from even more marginal reefs in the SCS. what is to prevent them from doing so in maldives once they settle in.

there are willing to make a grab for any rock. you want this in our backyard? this is exactly going to come in 10 years if we use a policy of "benign neglect" that is our MEA hallmark. what happened in Nepal will repeat here. Cheen does not let any power vacuum exist, just like border tracts if you leave it empty expecting DMZ, next day will be "peaceful yak herders" and next month will be a PLA "engineer batallion" :twisted:

I am very skeptical of modi. His swing of support from one party to another in Tamilnadu has left me wonder whether he is a man of waiting game and support whoever truimphs at the end, instead of being assertive. We have every goddam reason ticked in maldives case to intervene. time is now.

Enough has happened with intl. condemnation to warrant action from us.Rajiv G did a find job with Op. Cactus.

After deposing the current dictator and holding elections, we should sign s defence pact with the Maldives as we have done with the Seychelles and Mauritius , where both have given us islands for our naval/ air and comnns. bases.A permanent defence adviser to the PM/Pres. must be established just like Mauritius.All local policing by local militia/ Mauritian armed forces, who will be trained by us in toto.All external forces like Chins politely bundled off onto a slow boat! That will ensure the Maldives remain an Indian protectorate and prevent any accusations of island grabbing like the Chins!

This nonsense is going on for bloody 4 years now and clearly Indian establishment doesn't know what to do next. There is no mai ka laal left who can bite the bullet and take firm action. Only if current crop of politicians and bureaucrats were in power in 1971 then we would have just sat and twiddle thumbs and wait anxiously for the result of internal fighting. God bless Indira Gandhi.

I can not believe we are still twiddling thumb, it's time for section. Send the subs and the ships.

Why would one muster at Yelahanka? That chap sounds daft. Shanghumughom strip seems calm today morning, as is that place at Pangode. Both places will bustle in minutes, if things get exciting. I saw only a rare pic or two of a super-herky last month with a C17, among the vigorous planespotter community here.

To those saying "Let us show them a lesson" or worse "annexe" etc.... India is a big empire that needs buffer zones. SAARC is a buffer zone that needs to be kept reasonably sanitized, not fully sanitized. We dont want some fautlines to propagate deep into India.

Chetak, both here in Trivandrum or in their islands, the average Maldivians are actually nice to us, compared to the jerk behavior of Sri Lankans or even the bafflingly snooty BDs with their underwhelms. Not to mention the pathetic pakis. If we go as tourists or for other business to these islands, they treat you well and they know who is a friend etc. That is why I keep going against the usual pontificating here, by some BRF_ites about what needs to be to them, because they score low in some dharmic scales etc. None of their women are keen on donning bee-keeper suits of the wahabis and they are very fiesty at a personal level, due to a liking for education etc.

And Singha, "troublemakers from GCC"? Where did you get this from? First-hand experience or reliable links? In my personal observation, the baddies from outside, who land up in those sunny isles are ruskie-mobsters, their chamchas and their scantily clad molls. Maldives still follow a islander-tribal-council power structure and no one is going to cede territory to useless beards who they are certain, will cause them deep poverty

Cheen's influence is not going to be physical. Right now, Indian nationals control the faucet that pours capital into the isles, for those high-end resorts. As also the wholesale-retail businesses. And it is an iron grip on that faucet. It MUST remain like that and as yet, I dont see Dilli slacking off on such mundane things that none of us here need to be interested in.

Ok, back to queefing about reefing.... Situation is tricky, but it always was, since Shree Nasheed got injustice meted to him.