Maldives Civil-Military Issues

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Maldives Civil-Military Issues

Agree with Chetak saar but I also agree with Chandragupta saar to the extent that if we have to do something go to the root i.e. Maldives. Going on a tangent to Vietnam or something else does not address the root.

chetak wrote: Modi is cool and sitting in the gelf.

There has to be a reason why he is the PM and we are pontificating on a forum, no??

Perhaps then you can enlighten me as to what does Modi ji intend to achieve with his Palestine visit? FDI? Jobs? UNSC Seat?

If you don't want to say it, I will - he is going to balance Israel because he knows Indian Muslims are butthurt with the reception Israeli PM got and now to get some Mullah votes, he will go to Palestine and sing songs of peace.
Gagan wrote:India can react militarily and remove Yameen, that is easily done.
But it will mean a few (<100) indian special forces lives lost, maybe 300-400 maldivians killed. The maldivians have a reasonable self-defence force - We armed and trained them (and the Lankans)
Sorry gagan saar, I stopped reading your post at this point. If you really believe that Maldivians will indulge in a shooting contest with Indian SF then really our understanding is miles apart.

What we will have to do, however, is to ensure we now have continued presence. We can't go in, make some changes and leave. We have to be prepared to have a military presence in Maldives for as long as the country stays afloat. I don't see any reason why we can't do it. We have legitimate concerns - Chinese / Paki hand for one and Islamic radicalization the other. It obviously takes a strong spine to do it & show a middle finger to the world. But I thought Modi is the man to do it, I was obviously wrong. He is no Putin ofcourse.

Again I only agree 50% with you.

He has gone to balance his visit to Israel and the return visit of the Israeli PM. But he is doing so for the benefit of the gelf states.

No this is not about oil but about the millions of Indians employed in the gelf. He doesn't want to upset them because workers are most easily replaceable and there are enough countries willing to make up for India.

shiver me timber boys, i just realised why maldives is so important.

it is a series of atolls for nearly 1000km, not just a couple of islands

its northern end is 500km from indian coast

its southern end is 500km from diego garcia

now imagine what a good line of OTH radars and DF21E ASBM based there could do - monitor and threaten warships in a very wide area.

Singha wrote:shiver me timber boys, i just realised why maldives is so important.

it is a series of atolls for nearly 1000km, not just a couple of islands

its northern end is 500km from indian coast

its southern end is 500km from diego garcia

now imagine what a good line of OTH radars and DF21E ASBM based there could do - monitor and threaten warships in a very wide area.
Tamils call it "Malai theevu," or "garland islands" (there could be other meanings, but this one sounds right to me). It stretches a long way for sure. That's why dismissing it as "a faraway piece of land inhabited by Islamic yahoos" makes no sense. It's an extremely strategic location, and the Chinis aren't in the game there just to spite India, they will gain control of a vast stretch of the Indian ocean.

beaking news - Indian journalists arrested in Maldives.

pankajs wrote:Again I only agree 50% with you.

He has gone to balance his visit to Israel and the return visit of the Israeli PM. But he is doing so for the benefit of the gelf states.

No this is not about oil but about the millions of Indians employed in the gelf. He doesn't want to upset them because workers are most easily replaceable and there are enough countries willing to make up for India.
Don't forget the duty free chocolates.
Parasu

Post by Parasu »

India must intervene in Maldives, arrest Yameen and also ensure that he is `Miloseviced`.
If not anything, this will teach every future president the dangers of acting smartass.

And if you guys are in the mood to read some ideal paid news, here -
https://www.dailyo.in/politics/maldives ... 22275.html

This guy is completely bonkers.
SiddharthS

Post by SiddharthS »

Statement: China did not liberate/invade hong kong, unlike India Which did liberate Goa.

- That's a red herring, To compare hong kong to goa is to compare the British Military to the Portuguese Military.

Statement: Because China is okay with US at its doorstep, so should India be okay with China at its backyard.

- China did not have an option, when the western powers arrived at its doorstep, it didn't have military wherewithal to thwart them. But it kept the noise level stern and high, and as it acquired power - mainly military- it started flexing its muscle, changing the status quo, pushing and prodding the regional power(Japan), erecting stern opposition to Subregional power(India) and getting foothold in Africa and Middle East. And today with financial and military muscle, it is pushing US back - something that we'd never do, building for the first time in human history artificial military islands in someone else's territory- Chinese Monroe Doctrine. Taking control of Combodia, Laos, Brunei, Philipppines and Malaysia in South China Sea; African and IOR states in Indian Ocean; and spreading its tentacles in Europe.

One thing is clear, China is a marauding power. It does not respect international norms and conventions it subverts them in its favour, the only thing matters to China is its national Interest- a brilliant Realpolitik practitioner. So the question arises, should India - with its current Military wherewithal- allow China to get foothold In Indian Ocean while we can stop it, or should we wait for the time when we can not and will be at the mercy of China. Should we deal with China from the position of strength- the only thing China respects, or should we kowtow to china and deal with it from the position of weakness.

The Maldives crisis will be a template for future Indian actions, does India want to achieve practical objectives, or waste time on reiterating moral,ethical and ideological sermons which ultimately undermine India's national interest.
Last edited by SiddharthS on 09 Feb 2018 23:37, edited 1 time in total.

abhijitm wrote:beaking news - Indian journalists arrested in Maldives.
Two journalists arrested, one Indian, one British. Just google, you will find links from NDTV, Hindustan Times, etc.

Can you picture a professional butler bearing a silver platter, entering your presence with the salutation "your pretext, sir."

Chandragupta wrote: Sorry gagan saar, I stopped reading your post at this point.
Its a free world Chandragupta
Feel free to read on, or not

It must be fun to be in Downtown Male these days...
The place is like the BENIS dhaga - everyone accusing everyone else of being a RAA, CIA Agint...

pushkar.bhat wrote:
I am sure a security pact can help in forming that invite.

If Chinis deploy with a open declaration of preventing a Indian intervention, then for all practical purpose it become a Chinese-Maldivian defense pact.

We are then free to have one with Vietnam.
If the Chinese step onto the pond then we have a legitimate right to intervene in Maldives.
WIll chinese shouting this in hindi confirm this? If chinese step into this pond, then we can be sure of fait accomplii, even US couldnt dislodge them from SCS reefs and artificial islands, and here we are thinking them to dislodge them far across in sea. Another guy who said to "throw the chinese out" cried on listening to "aye mere watan ke logo"

https://twitter.com/USAmbKeshap/status/ ... 5757555712
Atul Keshap
@USAmbKeshap
Follow Follow @USAmbKeshap
More
United States of America @POTUS @realDonaldTrump spoke last night local time to @PMOIndia @narendramodi. The two leaders expressed concern about the #MaldivesCrisis and the importance of respect for democratic institutions and rule of law in #Maldives.

While we twiddle our thumb Nasheed asks for intervention again,
India must step in to check Chinese land grab, rising radicalisation: Nasheed]

Meanwhile China has asked India not to do so, sorry if this was posted earlier,
India has no justification to intervene in Maldives' crisis: China warns against military involvement

If Chinese think so then there is definitely a justification for India to intervene. Now only if we had a leader like IG at the helm...

Dipanker wrote:If Chinese think so then there is definitely a justification for India to intervene. Now only if we had a leader like IG at the helm...
The Chinese are definitely buying time. If they already had warships anchored at G'wadar', the "game" would have been over by now.
SiddharthS

Post by SiddharthS »

Meanwhile, according to the opposition guy Nasheed, the Chinese have already "grabbed" 17 islands in the Maldives:

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/wor ... 856893.cms

And they are now urging India not to "intervene in other countries' affairs".

I think it is time to put a swift end to Chinese frolicking in Maldives.

The fact that we didn't do anything even before situation reached this level shows either stupidity or lack of bold decision making on part of the govt. This is Doklam 2.0. If Chinese get a sniff that we don't act according to our interests outside of Indian territory, they'll happily purchase every island and port encircling India (they are already three quarters way there).

where was China when op Cactus 1 happened? and now its a factor only if we let it be

In the first few days or even weeks of the "Maldy fish" crisis, the Chins and XI Gins suppressed even their farts as it was expected that an Indian intervention as before was on the cards.RG responded within 24 hrs and the world thought "here we go again",India will sort out the mess...and leave later on as we always do.But day after day saw bugger all happening.The great ASEAN gambit at Republic Day was an announcement that India and ASEAN would establish strong mil. ties.So a swift end to the Maldy Fish fiasco was expected, a demo to ASEAN that we put our money where our mouth is.

The moment the world realised that we were scaredy cats and our MEA mice not men, the overjoyed Chins swung into speech, getting more strident by the hour.Now advice and admonishing has ratcheted up into threats! The moment of truth has arrived.The time has come when India either goes in to the ring to box or meekly gives a walk over, sorry, Chin takeaway.

PS:
Just read that China has refused a request by the Maldivian despot for "troops to protect their investments". China also says no foreign intervention should take place, and is in contact with India! V.clever strategy,nice ,as logistically they can't but send a token force.Secondly, the media is abuzz with the huge scale of China's takeaway in the Spratlys.Over 1500 acres reclaimed, new airstrip, etc.Any Chinese move in the IOR would confirm China's imperialist and expansionist ambitions.China is doing all it can to prevent India from intervening.

The news that we might send forces to evacuate our nationals being mooted in certain quarters after ond of our joufnos was arrested, is a shocking idea , totally defeatist.It reveals the asinine attitude of the pea-brained lot of the MEA.Modi does not also need Trump's permission to intervene in our own backwaters.Years ago when Indo-US relations were never so close , Rajiv G read the situ immediately and acted with alacrity.His pro-active intervention in both SL and the Maldives and willingness to project force in the IOR was perhaps one reason why he was assassinated.The full contours of the conspiracy have never come out.The LTTE may have detonated the bomb, but who sent them to do so?

The same forces who benefited from his assassination are rearing their ugly heads again. The Sino-Pak axis of evil and the Saudi Wahaabi paymasters, recruiters of young Maldivians to fight in their horrendous wars we're seeing today in the ME, want the despot of the islands to remain so that they can control and exploit this most vital strategic group of islands in the IOR.Kept out of the Maldives, China's OBOR, Maritime Silk Road will lead only to Davy Jones's Locker! Why it is desperate to keep India out.Our impotent establishment in Lutyens Bagh is doing it an immense favour and inaction on our part , historians will later come to record,the "Maldy Fish" crisis as the moment when India threw away the IOR to China.
Last edited by Philip on 10 Feb 2018 08:09, edited 4 times in total.

this thread is like the MRCA thread. we will still be sitting here after 3 years it seems.

very disappointed in our MEA, NSA and PMO. :-?

Karthik S wrote:The fact that we didn't do anything even before situation reached this level shows either stupidity or lack of bold decision making on part of the govt. This is Doklam 2.0. If Chinese get a sniff that we don't act according to our interests outside of Indian territory, they'll happily purchase every island and port encircling India (they are already three quarters way there).
This is Chinese version/response to Doklam - you are correct :-)
Indian Doklam + ASEAN security arrangement + Quad = Chinese nonsense in IOR! let them stretch their supply lines onlee! :P

For those of you wanting military intervention - it may not happen when you want it to happen. Nasheed by opening his mouth has made it hard for India to intervene swiftly. If anything, to accept that India is not acting at all means - one has to accept that Indian intelligence failure allowed such a thing to happen in the Indian back-water-yard. Then it also brings into question, was there similar challenge for the US as well. Reality is Indian military (Navy) is already present, so one can dismiss such assertions as nothing but idle speculation.

Two other points to consider - “the morning after” is something anyone interested in strategy needs to worry about - for India, the cost of maintainging the periphery needs to be changed - it cannot be military intervention every time there is an external power interfering. India needs to make the periphery have a stake in India’s security - this is a serious short coming of all govts since independence. Second, the US is equidistant geographically and is as concerned by a real Chinese presence in Maldives - given the Quad - India may in the new context encumbered to work in cohesion with the new alignments. Only time will tell if that is a net benefit to India or turns out to be a drag.

Finally, someone with expertise in maritime/naval warfare can clarify how China plans to maintain bases/presence in the India Ocean with supply lines stretched? They have done the same in Tibet and did not help them in Doklam, in turn it has become thier weakness.
For those folks making tall claims about chess vs. go (wei qi) - India will play the long game - neither chess nor go! Life is no board game :-)
You two can go! :mrgreen:

The Chinese will use the same logistic solution that the US uses at DG.Ships loaded with supplies, spares, ammo, etc. in a forward basing pre-positioned strategy enabled the US to intervene in both Afghanistan and the two Gulf wars.What it lacks at DG is heavy repair facilities which the US during the CW hoped it would get at SL.Indira Gandhi and Rajiv G prevented that from happening.

China's huge Hambantota gambit at the southern tip of SL, where thousands of hectares in the hinterland will be a Chin enclave, its virtual colonial outpost, will contain massive amounts of supplies, etc. an SEZ for Chinese only industries and lakhs of "workers" there.Heavy repair at the Port .The bases in the Maldives another set of pearls in the string.In Pak, another base is being sought for primarily military reasons, as Gwadar will be a major commercial shipping hub and open to shipping of all nationalites.The new base at Jiwani will be closed to merchant shipping.

By publicising its apparent neutrality by the "refusal " to the Maldivian despot to send troops, China is simply buying time.At a future date once well established in the region esp. at Pak , Lanka and in the Maldives, it will send in large numbers of a Chinese "workforce", and fait accompli would've been accomplished.No Pax Indica for the IOR my friends if we continue to display our abject impotence,
It will be the dawning of the XI Gin dynasty , but a Pax Sinae instead.

In Doklam, we had upper hand because of the logistics and terrain not because of our military superiority over cheen. A fact that they may be willing to exploit in an area far away from our shores in Maldives.

No kamments ....

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 857173.cms
India pushes for UN mission to visit Maldives

Kashmir '48 redux! The UN. When did the UN last resolve any crisis? By the time the UN jokers have finished their huge luncheons, banquets, etc.debating the pros and cons of the situ, Yameen would've incarcerated half the population.
Last edited by Philip on 10 Feb 2018 09:14, edited 1 time in total.

I am telling you modi is new socialist nehru.

No "plower" in the buttonhole! But socialist almost there.According to my arch- capitalist buddy, he's turned us all into hated Commies by stealing all our money , and beggering us in the process ,with a Big Brother "Aadhar eye!

abhijitm wrote:I am telling you modi is new socialist nehru.
Few takers for that one here, I think.

Modi is going about his planned rallies, foreign visits, etc with zero mention of Maldives. Not even a tweet from him NOR any minister. Swaraj, Sitaraman, VK Singh et al all silent. It looks like they are under "radio silence" instructions.

There have been barely 2-3 short statements from the India goremint, including the declination of the Maldives "envoy" visit and request for "UN mission" (which sounded more like a perfunctory request). Plus the press release of phone call between Modi and Trump. That's it.

Overall it looks to me like Modi and Doval are not revealing their hand.

BTW, not to go off-topic, but "socialist neo-Nehru" Modi will be laying foundation stone for this on Sunday in the A-rab lands:

https://www.thenational.ae/uae/hindu-st ... 0-1.702891

China says it doesn't want Maldives to be another 'flashpoint' in ties with India, warns against external interference

Feb 09, 2018

Beijing: China on Friday said it is in touch with India to discuss a way to resolve the political turmoil gripping the Maldives and underlined that Beijing doesn't want the issue to become another "flashpoint".

While China officially continues to maintain that there should not be any external interference especially in the light of reports of India's special forces ready for deployment, Beijing is also in touch with New Delhi to resolve the crisis, Chinese official sources said.

China doesn't want the Maldives to become another "flashpoint", the sources told in Beijing on Friday.

The stand-off between India and China in the Doka La area and Beijing's opposition to declaring Pakistan-based Masood Azhar as a global terrorist at the UN had been major irritants in bilateral ties in the past.

If this is not lip service then it provides with an opportunity to push harder than otherwise.

To give the PM the benefit of doubt and to be a "devil's advocate", I offer a plausible explanation.

Last yr. some of us expressed our fears about 2018.A year in which the country would be in election mode and vulnerable to Sino- Pak JV, also at a time when our mil. capability would be at a very low ebb with the IAF start pensioning off hundreds of aircraft with starting with MIG-21s , etc.,noto mention of shortages of ammo._

The Chinese muscle- flexing earlier, even before Doklam was part of a carefully planned strategy being executed.Modi to the Pakis and Chins was the greatest stumbling block for the Chinese campaign by stealth into the Gulf and oil- rich ME.Call it OBOR, Silk Rd. whatever.To achieve this goal, a series of stepping stones were planned, decades ago, to circumvent the" Malacca Dilemma", a counter to the problem of increasing and stressing into the IOR. This would include Burma, BDesh , Sri Lanka, the Maldives , Pak of course and Africa now achieved at Djibouti.

Pak's role was to instigate a relentless campaign of terror in J&K, with the inevitable security response from us further infuriating the locals and raising the temp.in an ever- increasing spiral of violence even further.Even today as I write the housing zone of an army camp in Jammu is under terrorist attack ,at this moment with 2 dead and at least 4 injured. We have casualties almost daily. Doklam occured very recently as well and now along with the J&K terror attacks, daily arty barrages, the Maldives crisis has erupted.We are now being surrounded with crises on 3 fronts.The 2.5 scenario which Ramanna alluded to in his td. is staring at us in the face.

This simultaneous orchestrated strategy unfolding on the ground and waters of the IOR in 3 theatres, and the unpreparedness of the Indian armed forces to effectively deal with these simultaneous eruptions during a critical period of military downsizing and gaps in force structure for all three services, is perhaps why the govt. of the day is keeping mum about the situ, not wanting a dramatic escalation and comprehensive spat involving our two mortal enemies and a pipsqueak sprat in the IOR.If Modi is looking for insurance covering his back- the US, he must remember that is an unreliable partner at times and that it were best if we took the initiative to suit ourselves.The Maldives is low hanging fruit and we can sort it out swiftly, while keeping our two mortal enemies at bay.One glaring omission in our recent foreign policy is not involving Russia in our he and strategy, the nation that protected our back in '71 from Nixon and Kissinger, allowing us to sever Pak into two.Russia still is the only nation that provides us with top of line milware, assisting us in our SSBN/ SSGN programme, etc.,and would benefit from " Putin the Victor's" view of the situ.Russian backing for any intervention in the Maldives would snuff out any farting from XI Gins and his Zhongnanhai slimeballs.
Last edited by Philip on 10 Feb 2018 11:40, edited 3 times in total.

pankajs wrote:If this is not lip service then it provides with an opportunity to push harder than otherwise.
HUM KARE TOH CHAMATKAR........

AUR TUM KARO TOH B------------......
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

Our bane is jumping to conclusions very quickly, particularly the negative kind. "India is bad", "Nehru is bad", "Modi is bad".

IMO, There is no need to rush in. China if it wants to get in its naval ships into Maldives, we can always track and know days or week in advance.

Cactus happened after the President asked for help.
In this case, we need to build a international consensus. Atleast Quad backing, preferably UN.

Maldives is a basket case. Jihadis all over. 100% Malsi. current politicians are all in bed with Saudi. Friendly Maldives will not happen, even after intervention. So cost benefits need to be checked. Goal should be keeping Chin out permanently.

Is our Navy prepared? How much time do they require to get ready?
Maybe our ships are already surrounding Maldives keeping any other navies at bay. All without announcements. Wasn't there a naval exercise last week?

What are the chances, that our people have triggered the crisis in the first place. and our people may be confident that situation will evolve as per our expectations.

Modi and Doval will have a lot more info at hand than we can imagine. So far, they have not been short on taking hard decisions (Myanmar, and TSP surgical strikes, Demo, GST...). If they have not YET announced anything, there must be a reason, that we are not aware of.

Hidden within the link I last posted is a reference to the Maldives president refusing to meet the EU delegation.

Also note that it sent it's envoy's only to China, Bakistan and Saudi Arabia. Forget India for the moment.

To me that looks like the current Maldives regime is already isolated and it knows it. Saudis and the bakis are in no position to help.

It also asked for Chinese protection which has been denied if one goes by the news reports. Seems it has put all its eggs in a single basket i.e. China.
Last edited by pankajs on 10 Feb 2018 11:39, edited 1 time in total.
Trikaal

Post by Trikaal »

https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/asia.nik ... -and-India

This is the article in a Japanese media outlet. Clearly the South East Asian countries are seeing this conflict as a proxy fight between india and china. If we lose this, we lose face with all of them. If the government continues to sit on its thumbs, then we can't expect them to back us in future conflicts. No one likes to bet on the losing scared horse.

V.elequently put in concise lingo Trikaal!
This is Modi's golden opportunity to have his place in Indian history and secure a victory at the next hustings.
Last edited by Philip on 10 Feb 2018 11:43, edited 1 time in total.

Going by that logic we have already lost to China closer to home i.e. in Bakistan. The most recent example of that was India's *helplessness* wrt CPEC and that too in a territory that India claims as its own.

You see the ASEAN countries had no business looking to India even before this latest Maldives crisis. I even wonder what the so called QUad expects from such a wuss India.

Truth hurts but truth is the truth and need to be spoken.

A Deshmukh wrote:
Our bane is jumping to conclusions very quickly, particularly the negative kind. "India is bad", "Nehru is bad", "Modi is bad".

IMO, There is no need to rush in. China if it wants to get in its naval ships into Maldives, we can always track and know days or week in advance.

Cactus happened after the President asked for help.
In this case, we need to build a international consensus. Atleast Quad backing, preferably UN.

Maldives is a basket case. Jihadis all over. 100% Malsi. current politicians are all in bed with Saudi. Friendly Maldives will not happen, even after intervention. So cost benefits need to be checked. Goal should be keeping Chin out permanently.

Is our Navy prepared? How much time do they require to get ready?
Maybe our ships are already surrounding Maldives keeping any other navies at bay. All without announcements. Wasn't there a naval exercise last week?

What are the chances, that our people have triggered the crisis in the first place. and our people may be confident that situation will evolve as per our expectations.

Modi and Doval will have a lot more info at hand than we can imagine. So far, they have not been short on taking hard decisions (Myanmar, and TSP surgical strikes, Demo, GST...). If they have not YET announced anything, there must be a reason, that we are not aware of.
Your entire post is if.. and.. then type of hypothesis. That is no analysis, that is hypothesis. Our military on the record said they are ready, so believe in it and move on. We are better off when we start calling out things as we see exactly as they appear to be and analyze, instead of being deluded of 'something must be happening in background' or 'they have better info than us so they must be right' type of hypothesis. There is no iota of evidence presented to us that we are trying to clean the mess, except going to UN. So, either you are pregnant or you are not pregnant. There is no grey area there. So start calling out as you see. And then at the end if we are surprised, then we all will be pleasantly happy. So far our history teach us otherwise.