Indian Navy News & Discussion - 15 Dec 2016

Re: Indian Navy News & Discussion - 15 Dec 2016

maz wrote:
Aditya G wrote:Maz

Any news of Project-28A and Project-18 DDG? Do these even exist?
I have come across the P-18 next gen DDG on some of the other fora on the interweb. Some of the defence journalists have also referred to the next gen DDG in news reports. I think MDLs boss also referred to it in one of the Defexpo 2018 show dailies.
Nothing much in the web on the P 18 DDG except for that its 9000 + tons and one helo ; with hypersonic brahmos and "electromagnetic rail guns :mrgreen: "
Anant

Post by Anant »

Two helos can be on sides and a meaty vls system in middle
For that we need ddg51/type45 20m beam

Indian Navy's IL-38 maritime patrol aircraft operating for the Indian Navy (06) was damaged when it landed with a retracted nosegear at Moscow Zhukovsky
soumik

Post by soumik »

maz wrote:
Aditya G wrote:Maz

Any news of Project-28A and Project-18 DDG? Do these even exist?
I have come across the P-18 next gen DDG on some of the other fora on the interweb. Some of the defence journalists have also referred to the next gen DDG in news reports. I think MDLs boss also referred to it in one of the Defexpo 2018 show dailies.
was in meetings with someone formerly with the directorate of naval design recently, asked him about when we would have ships with more VLS cells his response" beta P17A aur P15B ke baad ki designs toh abhi tumne dekhi bhi nahin" rest assured we're working on it.the video below came out earlier & shows at least one of these concepts

Last edited by Rahul M on 29 Apr 2018 12:09, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: corrected uoutube tags

Prem wrote:Indian Navy's IL-38 maritime patrol aircraft operating for the Indian Navy (06) was damaged when it landed with a retracted nosegear at Moscow Zhukovsky
No doubt caused by incompetent Indians unable to absorb the 'sophisticated' Russian technology :roll:

^^^ No need to go there. From the wording, albeit ambiguous, of “According to the Ilyushin company press service, the plane belongs to the Indian navy, there are experienced Ilyushin test pilots on board, said.”, I am guessing it was not Indian but Russian pilots doing the flying:

Indian Navy Il-38 Plane Successfully Makes Emergency Landing Near Moscow – Source

Anway it seems that the pilots, from whichever country they happened to be from, were fully aware that the nose landing gear was not extending and did a flypast dumping fuel to lighten landing stresses and reduce fire hazard prior to landing. Credit to the pilots to keep the aircraft on the runway and in one piece barring a pancaked radome and missing nose gear. Checkout the video embedded in the below RT article showing the fuel dump:

Video captures malfunctioning Il-38 plane's daring flyover at airport outside Moscow
Last edited by arun on 29 Apr 2018 18:23, edited 1 time in total.
Vamsi_V

Post by Vamsi_V »

It was being piloted by Ilyushin test pilots according to the article above when the mishap occurred. The pilots were recommended for a bravery award too. So is this a plane that is undergoing MLU in Russia?

arun wrote:^^^ No need to go there. From the wording, albeit ambiguous, of “According to the Ilyushin company press service, the plane belongs to the Indian navy, there are experienced Ilyushin test pilots on board, said.”, I am guessing it was not Indian but Russian pilots doing the flying
Yes, I know. Was a sarcastic statement inspired by the BS peddled by russia-rakshaks to demean indigenous programs and DRDO/forces. In fact if this didn't happen in Russia and with Russian pilots, you would probably have seen such a statement already, in defence of all things Russian.

soumik wrote:
maz wrote:
was in meetings with someone formerly with the directorate of naval design recently, asked him about when we would have ships with more VLS cells his response" beta P17A aur P15B ke baad ki designs toh abhi tumne dekhi bhi nahin" rest assured we're working on it.the video below came out earlier & shows at least one of these concepts

That video is from 2011, and from the looks of it we aren't going to have any new designed frigates/destroyers before the late 2020's.
maz

Post by maz »

The stealthy future design seems to be influenced by the US Navy's Zumwalt class DDG when a 'land attack' platform was in vogue. The Zumwalt concept is hugely expensive and the USN is trying to figure out how best to use it. The ships are not even in service I think. Zumwalt was in dry dock getting kit added on as of late Feb/early March 2018.

Bart S wrote:
Prem wrote:Indian Navy's IL-38 maritime patrol aircraft operating for the Indian Navy (06) was damaged when it landed with a retracted nosegear at Moscow Zhukovsky
No doubt caused by incompetent Indians unable to absorb the 'sophisticated' Russian technology :roll:
it was apparently all Russian crew

kit wrote:
Bart S wrote:
it was apparently all Russian crew
Good point on the media spin by OEM nation.

Had it been an Indian crew, it would be the fault of Indian crew's lack of flying skills or engineer's ability to absorb sophisticated technology. It could never be a product flaw.

But since OEM crew are flying, they showed superlative flying skills in "saving" the aircraft.

Needless to say, OEM nation media will suffer from cognitive dissonance on product quality and stay mum on any discussion on product quality like an ostrich burying its head.

maz wrote:Regarding stern launching of small boats from ships, there is hope! The Bharati built CG interceptors have a stern ramp. Maybe the IN can learn something from the CG?
Technology is never a challenge. Changing mindset in adopting a different way of building and operating is.

maz wrote:
Prasad wrote: Uh i shot all those pictures :) I'll see if I have a higher res shot. Don't think there is but will look.

Prasad, you have done a great job capturing the images of the posters and kit. It is hard work, so a very BIG thank you for your coverage!

Please check your BR pm inbox.
Thanks maz. Check email please.

That was one classy landing of Il-38. Virtually no visible damage

shiv wrote:That was one classy landing of Il-38. Virtually no visible damage
If standard landing approach is followed with fuel dumped/emptied to get the weight right and reduce the possibility of fire, belly landings are safe.

Aircraft designers also factor the possibility of belly landing

Landing gear failure has not resulted in any fatalities in the past many years, including tyrebursts in multiple Indigo and Spicejet flights.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/advi ... ear-fails/

Barely any damage to fuselage

Photos of Jet Airways more serious main landing gear failure here. All passengers safe and the engine pod absorbed the impact

https://www.eturbonews.com/113368/landi ... ucky-be-ok

The radar dome of the Il-38 is gone - not sure if the Sea Dragon radar was inside. The Elta EO ball in the nose would've been probably removed before sending the aircraft to Russia.
Last edited by tsarkar on 30 Apr 2018 11:45, edited 2 times in total.

It could've been much worse.The crew saved the aircraft but the radar has gone for a burton. Fortunately the radome is large ,which kept the fuselage higher than in a belly landing,so the engines/props wouldn't have hit the tarmac. Since it was on its trials,the onus of repairs,etc. lies with the OEM.
There are a few doz. IL-38s mothballed in mint condition available if we want a new replacement for any reason.

abhik wrote:That video is from 2011, and from the looks of it we aren't going to have any new designed frigates/destroyers before the late 2020's.
Ships are designed around systems. We've state of the art Elta 2248, LRSAM & BrahMos that would be ahead of the curve for atleast 10-15 years. The Type 15A/B has four gas turbines for speed but reduced endurance. Type 17/17A has CODAG for greater endurance & silent operation but at a reduced speed. In the absence of newer systems, new designs are unlikely.

DND may churn up exotic designs for "thought leadership" like HAL concept for amphibious aircraft to impress leaders but that will remain khayali pulao. This sort of "thought leadership" is pretty common in the private sector that gives management and shareholders impression and assurance that "they're ahead of the curve".
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

The DAC also approved procurement of thirteen 127 mm calibre guns for the Navy. These guns will be fitted on-board new construction ships for undertaking surface engagements including Naval Gunfire Support Operations. The guns will enable Naval ships to provide fire support and engagement of targets on the land. These guns have engagement range of 24 kilometres, which could be extended further by using Extended Range Gun Munitions (ERGM). These guns, a long outstanding requirement of the Navy would be procured from BAE Systems of the United States of America under the categorisation of Buy (Global) at an approximate cost of over Rs 3,000 crore.

SRR/NAo/Nampi/DK/Rajib

(Release ID :178984)

Nothing like a good 6" gun at least,8" better still! Our future main guns should have with ER ammo,a range upto 100KM.
Vadivel

Post by Vadivel »

del.
Last edited by Rahul M on 01 May 2018 19:23, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: OT deleted. Nothing to do with Indian Navy

http://mdb.cast.ru/mdb/1-2018/item4/article1/

Tu-142ME experience with IN
Q: You have mentioned India. Was Kuznetsov involved in the maintenance of NK-12 engines used on the Indian Tu-142ME anti-submarine planes?

A: That was our company’s first delivery abroad, and we went about it very carefully. We weren’t completely familiar with the operational environment in India (high air temperature and humidity). At high air temperature and lower air density, the engine delivers lower thrust than at sub-zero temperatures. The Indians – pilot crews as well as technicians – spent long time training at our country. We kept in close touch, and set up a working team that maintained the planes. We understood each other quite well. My first trip to India lasted 12 months because that’s how long the engine warranty lasted, and we had to resolve all the emerging issues very quickly. It was in 1988.

The location was Goa, which is a dream destination these days, but back at the time it was in the middle of nowhere. To get in touch with the head office, one had to relay the call through Delhi, then London, then Moscow and on to Kuibyshev. There were three of us there: a designer from the Special Design Bureau, a test engineer, and myself. During those 12 months, we managed to resolve many issues, and there wasn’t a single major incident with the engines. There was very strict selection of the personnel sent to India: the first selection round was at the company itself, and then the candidates were approved by the local Communist Party committee and then by the Communist Party Central Committee in Moscow.

Q: What do you think about the Indian Tu-142ME pilots and technicians in terms of their skills and training?

A: The pilots were very well trained – at least those we worked with. But they did have some quirks. They tended to be less diligent in some areas. Take, for example, the take-off run. As I already mentioned, the engine produces less thrust at increased ambient temperature. So they would start messing with the engine fuel system – what is worse, they would start doing it when we were away. Then we would say to them, “Why r did you try to change the fuel system settings? What for?” And they would reply, “Two weeks ago I reached sufficient speed for take-off near that light over there, but today it was near that other light farther away. I do not seem to get enough thrust”. So we had to convince them that the runway length would be sufficient for them to take off.

There were also other problems, for example, with rapid descent. When they hunted a submarine, they would dive to it – and then complained that the propellers started to feather. Nevertheless, they were very experienced and skillful pilots. They have a large selection of planes of different manufacturers to choose from. For example, when we were at the airfield, we saw British Harrier vertical-takeoff-and-landing aircraft. So, the Indians would always compare different hardware – but they did like our plane at the time.

Also, they have an interesting quirk in how their personnel are deployed. They have adopted the British approach, with constant personnel rotation: today you are assigned to the Air Force, tomorrow to the Navy, and the day after to the tank troops. We asked them why, and they would say that when a specialist works at the same unit all the time, he becomes less diligent in following all the requirements and instructions. So when we used to come there, we had to train a new group of technicians each time.

Q: Did you learn any lessons in India in terms of design and engineering?

A: We had to adapt to a new operational environment – namely, increased air temperature and humidity. We once had an incident when the crew reported an engine fire in mid-flight. But as the plane approached the airfield, we saw no sign of any fire from the ground. We inspected the plane after it landed, and again, no signs of fire. It turned out that the fire detectors in the engine nacelle had their electrical contacts damaged by corrosion, setting off a fire alarm. The first stage of the fire extinguishing system was automatically initiated (the second and third stages required manual input) and fed quenching fluid into the engine.

We kept struggling with corrosion. We also had to manually rinse the icing detector because it kept getting clogged with mosquitos.

Besides, the Indians used their own locally made fuel and engine oils, although that had of course been agreed with the supplier back home and approved by the chief designer. Nevertheless, it also effected the engine operation and maintenance.

Q: Am I right that the final NK-12 production run in the mid-2000s was made under an Indian contract?

A: That is correct. It was in 2008. When Indian delegations came here, and I always tried to meet them to discuss whether there had been any issues with the engines.

tsarkar wrote:
abhik wrote:That video is from 2011, and from the looks of it we aren't going to have any new designed frigates/destroyers before the late 2020's.
Ships are designed around systems. We've state of the art Elta 2248, LRSAM & BrahMos that would be ahead of the curve for atleast 10-15 years. The Type 15A/B has four gas turbines for speed but reduced endurance. Type 17/17A has CODAG for greater endurance & silent operation but at a reduced speed. In the absence of newer systems, new designs are unlikely.

DND may churn up exotic designs for "thought leadership" like HAL concept for amphibious aircraft to impress leaders but that will remain khayali pulao. This sort of "thought leadership" is pretty common in the private sector that gives management and shareholders impression and assurance that "they're ahead of the curve".
Just a quick nitpick P-17/P-17A are CODOG unf not CODAG. Yes i agree with your statement one of the reasons i am not big fan of this Talwar "Made in India" attempt i don't mind buying these vessels outright from Russia and fitting the propulsion system. But in all likely hood GSL built Talwar are not going to get inducted likely till 2025+ in which case we are talking about SY build a 30 yr old design which is inferior to even P-17s. I would rather have them or Private SYs build ASuW variant of P-28 (fit 8 Brahmos in place of Rbu-6000 and 16 Barak-8) or even P-17s.

INDIAN NAVY MARCOS:The few The fearless

The problem is that in all our desi construction,we are way behind time,so there's little point in wanting warships that will not come on time .sev. years late.The IAC-1 i a perfect case in point,taking twice as long to build as the Chinese with their carrier about twice as large! I won't g into Scorpene construction,except to say that the design is now outdated."middle-aged",and by the time the last one arrives,will be in its late middle-age,with data compromised....for non-AIP boats to boot!
Our DPSUs and MOD have little conception of time,preferring each year to see that their share of the cake/budget gets approved and the system allots money in the usual manner.

So pay money to Russia for ships that are based on 50 year old design. But don't fix the problem with Indian yard's that cause these delays.

Right.

After ASW SWC the next big thing from IN force levels perspective is going to be NGMV or NGC program. I think that should lead to a dozen hulls at least

50 yrs old design? All the armament and sensors are brand new like BMos for instance.The proven hull design is all that is legacy.In fact even our celebrated P-15s are called "stretched Kashins/Rajputs". The oceans haven't changed at all and proven hulls stay relevant.We used the Leander hull for both our G and B class FFGs , with the old boilers plant too.

You have not addressed the major problem of increasing delays by our DPSU yards.Former chiefs have hugely criticised the "nomination" of MDL for the P-75I subs instead of the pvt. sector, when the Scorpenes are delayed by 5 years along with huge cost overruns.
Rewarding incompetence and unaccountability, cancelling the earlier policy of former DM MP.

Pl study the situ in the context of the massive Chinese warship and sub construction rapidly outstripping India by several times.If we do not acquire more warships and subs from even firang sources- since our yards are full with orders and cannot deliver on time, we have no alternative but to acquire some vessels from firang sources.

See the latest offer from SoKo to build all our MCMs, first batch,at a much faster speed than in India. As far as the extra Talwars are concerned, having 10 of the type will increase interoperability of crews, easier maintenance and support and operations.If you examine even our DDG,s,FFGs and ASW P-28s, we appear to want at least 10 of each type of major surface combatant.This is a welcome policy.However because of poor timely delivery, the orders have been split between DPSU yards, which again isn't helping cost-effectiveness.

Pvt. yards will close up unless they get orders and the " make in India mantra is seriously under threat by not giving pvt. yards sufficient numbers of types.Thus we look at Russia, SoKo, Italy, etc. for critical imports.We have to help our own yards both DPSU and put. to avoid imports.
Last edited by Philip on 02 May 2018 18:21, edited 2 times in total.
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

http://www.makeinindiadefence.gov.in/IN ... aditya.pdf

LIST OF ITEMS IDENTIFIED FOR ‘MAKE IN INDIA’ – MiG 29K / KUB AIRCRAFT

Philip wrote:The IAC-1 i a perfect case in point,taking twice as long to build as the Chinese with their carrier about twice as large!
Vikrant class is 45,000 tons
Laoning class is 55,000 tons

Philip, do go easy on hyperbole. We make fun of media folks for being far less accurate.

The new larger than L'ning classes under constr. said to be around 80K t for no."002".LNing was the erstwhile Varyag of 67K t wasn't it? Its sister carrier 001A is slightly larger at 70K t. IAC-1 is only 40K t not 45K t, which is approx. the size of the VikA.My figs were almost right, I did say "about"!

Anyway, there's little dispute about the time being taken for construction for IAC-1 vs either 001A or 002.
I think they have a " 007" fixation," licence to kill" and all that what?

The collapsed crane, according to a shipbuilding expert, is damaged and will have to be written off. The structure has blocked the dry dock and the building berth gates.The module hall where blocks for the P 17-A class frigates are being fabricated was destroyed in the mishap and has become unusable. “This has a direct impact on the P 17-A frigates-building programme. A large store adjoining the building berth has been damaged and is now unusable, further impacting the work at the shipyard. A new Goliath crane has a time-period of 30 months from issue of tender to installation and commissioning. Thus, not only will the ongoing programmes suffer, but this will also impact the contract under negotiation with the Ministry of Defence (MoD) for anti-submarine warfare shallow water crafts,” said the expert, who has knowledge of the incident.
https://www.thehindubusinessline.com/ne ... 740931.ece

Bart S wrote:
There was an all russian crew on board the distressed aircraft and not "incompetent Indians"

Whereas the "incompetent Indians unable to absorb the 'sophisticated' Russian technology " were patiently awaiting the results of the test flight.

Properly chastised and also awed by the incident, the "incompetent Indians unable to absorb the 'sophisticated' Russian technology " have since returned to India, no doubt to contemplate their considerable inadequacies.
Last edited by chetak on 03 May 2018 09:17, edited 1 time in total.

Prem wrote:
The collapsed crane, according to a shipbuilding expert, is damaged and will have to be written off. The structure has blocked the dry dock and the building berth gates.The module hall where blocks for the P 17-A class frigates are being fabricated was destroyed in the mishap and has become unusable. “This has a direct impact on the P 17-A frigates-building programme. A large store adjoining the building berth has been damaged and is now unusable, further impacting the work at the shipyard. A new Goliath crane has a time-period of 30 months from issue of tender to installation and commissioning. Thus, not only will the ongoing programmes suffer, but this will also impact the contract under negotiation with the Ministry of Defence (MoD) for anti-submarine warfare shallow water crafts,” said the expert, who has knowledge of the incident.
And the great luck of IN seems to continue into 2018! :evil:

Sh*t! Talk about bad luck.But this is the first time one is hearing of such a catastrophe.There are many ports I know in the cyclone belt possessing G cranes which weather such conditions without mishap. More wretched delays.Destruction of the module hall catastrophe X 2.

Prem wrote:
Let the contract be assigned to Pvt sector yard at the price quoted by MDL. In the interest of getting the ship's being built on time.

While the MDL repairs itself and then focuses on the p 15 b and p 18.

At least 8 of the 16 ASW craft,giving time for the yard to acquire a new crane and rectify the damage-within 3 years.These vessels are only 700t each.A pvt. yard like L&T should be able to deliver around 2/yr. at least.

Let the contract be assigned to Pvt sector yard at the price quoted by MDL. In the interest of getting the ship's being built on time.

While the MDL repairs itself and then focuses on the p 15 b and p 18.
Please read the news properly its not MLD but GRSE

So nominate a private shipyard to build the 3 P-17A that GRSE was to build

Philip wrote:At least 8 of the 16 ASW craft,giving time for the yard to acquire a new crane and rectify the damage-within 3 years.These vessels are only 700t each.A pvt. yard like L&T should be able to deliver around 2/yr. at least.
GRSE was suppose to build only 8 ASW craft the other 8 is to be built by CSL. I dont think the ASW project will be affected as the damaged yard was for P-17A
Last edited by Kakarat on 03 May 2018 19:15, edited 1 time in total.