India-Russia: News & Analysis

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-Russia: News & Analysis

Kindly take this Putin deification to some other website please. There are enough physically fit Indian netas, including Modi who has a punishing regimen and does yoga & dietary control to stay in shape, his peers like VK Singh, never mind the younger generation like R Rathore, Kiren Rijiju et al. This sort of constant OMG Putin is so great yaa, Indians are so bad yaa rubbish does not belong on BRF.

Stop with the Putin this, Putin that kindly. And stick to the topic of the thread.

- Mod note
Ashokk

Post by Ashokk »

Ajit Doval coordinates with ‘strategic partner’ Russia to secure release of Indians kidnapped by Taliban
On Sunday, seven Indian engineers working in Afghanistan were kidnapped allegedly by the Taliban from the northern part of the landlocked country. As reported in Economic Times, in a bid to rescue them India’s NSA Ajit Doval and Foreign Secretary Vijay Gokhale visited Moscow to meet their Russian counterparts along with other senior officials from the Russian government.

Russia reportedly has many connections in the Afghan nation and especially the Taliban. Thus, India is also approaching Russia other than the U.S to find a solution to this impending crisis. The Afghan issue will be among the topics to be discussed, it is expected that the issue of Indian import of Russian defence equipment amidst U.S sanctions and the plausible ramifications of U.S pulling out of Iran deal on Indo-Russia interests as well as Chabahar Port and INSTC will also be taken up during this visit.

NSA Ajit Doval has also reportedly spoken to his Afghan counterpart Hanif Atmar on negotiating the release of kidnapped Indian nationals. As reported by ET, a spokesperson in the External Affairs Ministry, Raveesh Kumar stated, “We are in touch with different people who are involved in the exercise through the Afghan government.”

Suspected Taliban militants abducted seven Indian workers in the northern province of Baghlan on Sunday. They were snatched from the car along with their Afghan driver and while no one has taken responsibility for the kidnapping yet, it is believed the kidnapping was carried out by the Taliban.

Elderly Russian Veteran pushed by Putins security was personally approached during V Day parade

^Again, more Putin veneration that has nothing to do with India or this thread.
kiranA

Post by kiranA »

rsingh wrote:
Interesting to note that they still use word "comrade". Like Comrade President of Russian Federation....sounds wierd.
Putin and modern russians are very proud of their communist heritage. Very proud of achievements of Soviet. They hate what Gorbachev and the drunk Yeltsin did to their country.

Bart S wrote:^Again, more Putin veneration that has nothing to do with India or this thread.
If you dont like it you can ignore it or raise it up with mod but it shows how much respect the leaders have for old veterans and how much these veterans contributed to WW2 , the country to lost most population in WW2
Parasu

Post by Parasu »

kiranA wrote:
rsingh wrote: Interesting to note that they still use word "comrade". Like Comrade President of Russian Federation....sounds wierd.
Putin and modern russians are very proud of their communist heritage. Very proud of achievements of Soviet. They hate what Gorbachev and the drunk Yeltsin did to their country.
Almost every Russian I have met hates Putin and decries the lack of democracy in the country.
"Putin is proud of communist heritage!!" Of course, he is. He was in KGB. He wants more power and misses Soviet Union`s power.

The male russians dont care much. As long as they get sufficient vodka, it matters not to them.
The women want Europe style democracy and are dhimmified. They dont want no power games. They dont want Russia intervening in Syria or anywhere else.
This does not in any way diminish the fact that Putin is doing the right thing for his country in view of unrelenting hostility from the West.

^^Did you meet russians in USA or russians in Russia? What i got to know from a couple of russians who were in US was that they dont like him, but many of the people like him back there without realizing how badly they are living (American Russian's view). My PoV is that countries get what they want, try democracy in afghanistan?
Parasu

Post by Parasu »

ArjunPandit wrote:^^Did you meet russians in USA or russians in Russia? What i got to know from a couple of russians who were in US was that they dont like him, but many of the people like him back there without realizing how badly they are living (American Russian's view). My PoV is that countries get what they want, try democracy in afghanistan?
Countries are not monolithic. They change, evolve and are mostly constituted of many identities.
You are equating `country` with `citizens`. They are two different things.
To say that Russians want a non-democratic setup is extremely simplistic, to the point of being an autocrat-apology.
"Putin is an autocrat because Russians want him to be one". Really?!

He won the last election with a huge majority.In any democracy including India, there will always be different opinions of whoever leads the country.Look at Britain.Visceral hatred and adoration of the population for the ruling Tories who are themselves split on Brexit.

The regular interaction between Indian and Russian leaders and officials is necessary for the relationship and various agreements to run smoothly. The confirmed deals hanging in the air need to be sealed asap.
The TOI, front page,has a lead story that our ammo can last for only 10 days and that a "15,000cr. plan to ease the Army's crippling shortage", is to be undertaken.
Last edited by Philip on 14 May 2018 09:53, edited 1 time in total.

US curbs' effect on Russia arms deals discussed at NSA-level dialogue
NEW DELHI: National Security Adviser Ajit Doval and Foreign Secretary Vijay Gokhale met Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov and other senior officials, including Secretary of the Russian Security Council, Nikolai Patrushev, in Moscow on Thursday.

Sources said this was part of the regular NSA-level dialogue between the two nations, and preceded the summit meeting between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and recently re-elected Russian President Vladimir Putin expected in India later this year.

Apart from regular issues like combating narco-terrorism and organised crime, the two sides discussed the implications of the impending US sanctions on Russia and Iran, which could impact India’s pending arms purchases as well as its energy security.

Several Russian companies which supply military equipment and spares to India are likely to face sanctions under the US Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act. Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman had travelled to Russia last month and discussed a slew of defence deals.

Sources in New Delhi said the government would decide on how to deal with the sanctions only after they were formally imposed and their “contours became clear.” According to one source, “We have already requested Washington to be sensitive to our concerns, particularly towards deals already finalized with Russians. We also pointed out that none of our purchases pose any direct or indirect threat to American interests.”

Sources said the Indian side also sought Russian help in freeing Indian engineers kidnapped by the Taliban in Afghanistan earlier this month. However, they declined comment on whether the issue of Moscow’s increasing military and strategic relationship with Pakistan was raised.
Parasu

Post by Parasu »

Modi is visiting Putin for an informal summit in Sochi on May 21.

Philip wrote:He won the last election with a huge majority.In any democracy including India, there will always be different opinions of whoever leads the country.Look at Britain.Visceral hatred and adoration of the population for the ruling Tories who are themselves split on Brexit.

The regular interaction between Indian and Russian leaders and officials is necessary for the relationship and various agreements to run smoothly. The confirmed deals hanging in the air need to be sealed asap.
The TOI, front page,has a lead story that our ammo can last for only 10 days and that a "15,000cr. plan to ease the Army's crippling shortage", is to be undertaken.
I feel bad about russia. They were in our corner when all the others were against us, if not actively against us, then at least looking down upon us.

To a large extent, JLN was responsible for the world's attitude towards us, with his moralizing, sermonizing and the holier than thou attitude. His damage lasted for a long time, and even after his death, we continued to pay the price.

All the more reason to admire the pragmatic and practical approach being adopted now, where the interests of the state come first and personal slights are ignored.

In a large measure, it was russia that propped us up for the longest time.

We should not ignore or abandon russia because we owe them. Old friendships are reliable and have withstood the test of time whereas new ones are somewhat suspect, especially now, when we are doing well.

https://twitter.com/geeta_mohan/status/ ... 1710675968
Geeta Mohan Verified account @Geeta_Mohan

#Breaking
After China, PM @narendramodi's second #InformalSummit will be with Russia.
To meet President Vladimir Putin on May 21. @PutinRF_Eng
Sigh ... more GUBO by one definition.

India Russia Informal summit in Sochi on 21st May

Good Initiative by Modi Government first China and now Russia , Hopefully we see such more informal summit with SAARC and BRICS countries in near future and going ahead with ASEAN nation.

Hopefully we could see a Economic Partnership between China India Russia which will be good for all........India and China alone will be engine of growth for World Economy for the next 30 years.

Parasu wrote:
ArjunPandit wrote:^^Did you meet russians in USA or russians in Russia? What i got to know from a couple of russians who were in US was that they dont like him, but many of the people like him back there without realizing how badly they are living (American Russian's view). My PoV is that countries get what they want, try democracy in afghanistan?
Countries are not monolithic. They change, evolve and are mostly constituted of many identities.
To say that Russians want a non-democratic setup is extremely simplistic, to the point of being an autocrat-apology.
I am not commenting upon russia, but was merely providing an alternative view that I have heard from Russians on your statement. I am very well aware how different ethnic groups in russia view putin. But it in every country there is a core that defines and drive the ideology of a country.
Yes it was supposed to be a simplistic version, as in a sentence a PHD can't be written. If you have a better explanation of why Russia is autocratic, I am listening.
Parasu

Post by Parasu »

ArjunPandit wrote:
Parasu wrote: Countries are not monolithic. They change, evolve and are mostly constituted of many identities.
I am not commenting upon russia, but was merely providing an alternative view that I have heard from Russians on your statement. I am very well aware how different ethnic groups in russia view putin. But it in every country there is a core that defines and drive the ideology of a country.
Yes it was supposed to be a simplistic version, as in a sentence a PHD can't be written. If you have a better explanation of why Russia is autocratic, I am listening.
Because systems have to have checks and balances in them. In US, idiots like Trump may very well want a third term. But there are sufficient checks and balances to ensure it doesnt happen. Same for Europe and same for Japan.
Russia moved from the czar to communists. Then strongmen like Yeltsin and Putin. There was no development of a constitutional system of checks and balances. And there was no stabilisation period after the dissolution of USSR.
To say that common Russians want a despot to rule them is wrong.
And Afghanistan is an illiterate Islamic state. Its comparison with christian Russia with 100% literacy is also wrong.

The surprise visit of the PM to Russia for a mano-a-mano summit with Pres.Putin so soon after the visit to China to meet emperor XI indicates that something is afoot between the 3 nations.The chaotic administration in Washington and general diktat to all and sundry even against the EU stand on the Iran N-deal is deeply worrying to the globe anticipating another conflict on the horizon.A closing of ranks of the 3 nations may be on the cards as to working out a strategy of dealing with a rogue US.The Israeli- Palestinian blood- bath in Gaza a sign of worse events to come.

I had written many yrs ago on this forum that one day if these western nations continue their disgusting behaviour it is possible that the armies of India, China and Russia will be on one side in a war that will destroy these countries.

Doubtful that any such thing will happen. More likely, Russia wants to get some economic backing in the form of assured Indian support to some of its programs ala pakfa. I think India will once again help, but I sure hope it gets it's pound of flesh

Govt of India should realize that Indians are paying out of their nose at gas pumps, on every litre of petrol sold govt collects Rs. 40 as tax. :eek: that is almost 80¢s on every litre, so that such flagrant expenditure can be undertaken at discretion of Indian govt. Last year GoI earned 2.3 lakh crore surplus from sale of petrol, diesel. And this is what they use these windfall surplus monies for. And on top to add insult to injury many of these babus cannot ask Russia openly in that WHAT EXACTLY DO WE GET FOR SPENDING THESE MONEY ON YOUR PAKFA ?? Do we get IP for single crystal blade technology implemented in pakfa varient engines ? Do we get tech for LP compressor and newer mettalurgy varients ? Can production be undertaken in Russia and India simultaneously ? ie Can there be two assembly lines, one in Russia and one in India ? Can they help set up wind tunnel for testing our varient ? Can they supply us with an IL76 platform for testing our kaveri engines ? OR in athithi devo bhava spirit we just handover cash snatched away from Indian public and fail to obtain guarantees on technologies or dual lines and just keep quiet lest we offend our foreign guests.

Govt should clarify policy of what we get out of Russian JV for future platforms ?

Suresh S wrote:I had written many yrs ago on this forum that one day if these western nations continue their disgusting behaviour it is possible that the armies of India, China and Russia will be on one side in a war that will destroy these countries.
I am not in favour of India joining either Sino-Russian Military alliance or Anglo Saxon one , We should be neutral here.

India did join SCO which is a bulkhead for NATO expansion in the region

PM Narendra Modi's date with Russian president Vladimir Putin at seaside resort in Sochi

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 166469.cms

HIGHLIGHTS
PM Modi will on May 21 meet Russia's Vladimir Putin in the seaside resort of Sochi.

"Bilateral issues will not be on the agenda," said sources familiar with developments.

The leaders will concentrate on "global and strategic" matters.

Sorry, somehow Putin is in the news again! He just opened the new 12 mile long bridge linking the Crimea and Russian territory across the Kerch Straits built 6 months ahead of time, driving a truck across it himself.The bridge is of great strategic importance as earlier a ferry transiting UKR territory was used.After the regaining of the Crimea, this bridge was the top priority firming up its direct connection with Russia for the first time making the logistics of supporting the strategic Crimean peninsula a lot easier than before.

This endeavour should spur us to firm up asap the road/ rail link from Chahbahar to Central Asia and Russia which will hugely benefit trade from India into the CA heartland whose states are old friends and which was visited by PM Modi for the first time in years by an Indian PM.Like the Crimean bridge, the Chahbahar port and road/ rail links to CA, etc. will also enhance our strategic interests in the Afghan/ CA region.Remember that we have an air base in Tajikistan at Fakhor too.Let's hope that this strategic link
will be on the agenda at the forthcoming Putin- Modi meeting as for India it also offers an alternative to the Chin OBOR game plan.

Cain Marko wrote:Doubtful that any such thing will happen. More likely, Russia wants to get some economic backing in the form of assured Indian support to some of its programs ala pakfa. I think India will once again help, but I sure hope it gets it's pound of flesh
Isn't the PAKFA done for as far as we are concerned??

I thought that we were well out of it.

We should concentrate on the S-400 type of systems and stop with the pig in the poke kind of stuff.

^ not sure if pakfa is over but it could be. Yes either s400 or pakfa or maybe the newly proposed stealthy flanker deal.

Whatever it is I hope namo has his best baniya hat on....
Parasu

Post by Parasu »

Philip wrote:The bridge is of great strategic importance as earlier a ferry transiting UKR territory was used.
Remember that we have an air base in Tajikistan at Fakhor too.
Why would the Ferry have to traverse Ukrainian territory?! Unless it essentially needs to hop on some Ukrainian land before reaching Russia?! You do realise that a ferry is a kind of a boat/ship that floats on water.

India does not have an airbase in Farkhor in Tajikistan. It had a military hospital in Farkhor.
India spent 300 crore rupees upgrading the Ayni airbase in Tajikistan and wanted to lease it. But Russia didnt want military footprint of any foreign country in Central Asia. So, it bulldozed the plan.

And we have to declare this in public. Our vabus snd their tendency to leak stuff to the press...looks like there is no improvement whatsoever.

Cain Marko wrote:Doubtful that any such thing will happen. More likely, Russia wants to get some economic backing in the form of assured Indian support to some of its programs ala pakfa. I think India will once again help, but I sure hope it gets it's pound of flesh
No way Russia will give S400 system to India without India either becoming a partner in the PAKFA/FGFA program or providing/committing finance for a couple of squadrons in fly away condition. Also Russia needs India to commit to purchase the half built and incomplete (without Ukrainian engines) frigates and Ka 226 copters. All the 3 items are deals which Russia desperately needs as India is the only major buyer for them.

The two deals that Russia knows it has India on hook for are the S400 and nuclear powered sub.

It gave turkey and the saudis the s400. They'll give it all right and some flexibility to go as well.

There are compelling reasons it happened. For Saudi Arabia it wanted to open up the Saudi market and for Turkey the reason it is to notch a sale to a NATO member and if possible to wean away from it. For India there are no compelling strategic reason given that Russia is increasingly taking its cue from China.

None?

The India-Russia bilateral arms trade volume, by revenue, is the largest in the world by a factor of 3. Even US-Israel, US-Saudi don't come anywhere close to it... let alone Russia-China. Moreover Russia-China will only decrease as China rapidly achieves self sufficiency in weapons industry.

The Russians are not stupid. Our economy is growing, theirs is stagnant (and much smaller than ours). Our defence imports market is expanding, China's is contracting.

If they don't supply what we want for hard cash, no conditions or questions asked, we will go to the US for our defence needs, because we'll have no choice. That means we will sign COMCASA, BECA etc. and become fully integrated with US C4I... in other words a US poodle, at least for the time being, and potentially a major strategic threat to their dreams of an SCO coalition dominating Eurasia.

We hold all the cards. They have virtually no options. They can stuff their worthless PAKFA, give us what we are willing to pay for, and earn some money. Or they can get nothing.

Rudradev wrote:None?

The India-Russia bilateral arms trade volume, by revenue, is the largest in the world by a factor of 3. Even US-Israel, US-Saudi don't come anywhere close to it... let alone Russia-China. Moreover Russia-China will only decrease as China rapidly achieves self sufficiency in weapons industry.

The Russians are not stupid. Our economy is growing, theirs is stagnant (and much smaller than ours). Our defence imports market is expanding, China's is contracting.

If they don't supply what we want for hard cash, no conditions or questions asked, we will go to the US for our defence needs, because we'll have no choice. That means we will sign COMCASA, BECA etc. and become fully integrated with US C4I... in other words a US poodle, at least for the time being, and potentially a major strategic threat to their dreams of an SCO coalition dominating Eurasia.

We hold all the cards. They have virtually no options. They can stuff their worthless PAKFA, give us what we are willing to pay for, and earn some money. Or they can get nothing.
India needs you on the negotiating table Saar :rotfl:

But it is quite true, India can and should negotiate, hard. One good thing about Russian purchases is that nothing is off the table. I'll hardly be surprised if they leased a yasen if India really pushed for it . Now is the time to strike great bargains. TBH, this is the only way to get militarily muscle in the short term with regard to strategic programs and some crucial, cutting edge hardware such as the s400, SSNs, hypersonics, engines and even pakfa.

Far better than squandering dollars on 4 th gen mrca when the Tejas is on its way.
Bharadwaj

Post by Bharadwaj »

There were reports of a so called exclusive alliance with the Russians. Also the reports on the fgfa drop came only in certain section of the media. This visit may be be a very productive one.
Parasu

Post by Parasu »

Vips wrote:There are compelling reasons it happened. For Saudi Arabia it wanted to open up the Saudi market and for Turkey the reason it is to notch a sale to a NATO member and if possible to wean away from it. For India there are no compelling strategic reason given that Russia is increasingly taking its cue from China.
4-5 billion dollars is no compelling reason?!
Why do Indians think that they needs Russian weapons while Russians dont need our money!!
If they didnt need our money, why would they get gussa over us not agreeing to fork out more moolah for FGFA ?!

Parasu, read the reports on the new Crimea/ Kerch bridge.Look at ghe map. Previously the entire region was UKR.Only the Crimean peninsula became Russian.Much of the remaining territory remains UKR.Accessing the Crimea had to be through UKR territory by land.The ferry linking Kerch and the Russian territory across the strait was by a ferry which was jointly run by Russia and the UKR before the conflict.The Russians had to establish a direct link with the Crimea now cut off from land (UKR) and supplied only by sea.

The bridge has been built from Russian territory.The idea of a bridge has been there for aeons, a dream from before the last century, built at record speed in just 3 years, a 12mi long bridge where bad weather exists.Fantastic achievement which we should emulate too with our border infra. projects.Where there's a will there's a way.
The Russians now have a direct land route, linking the Crimea with the port of Sevastopol too, the bridge has a parallel rail section apart from the 4- lane road, to the Crimea which will hugely benefit it economically and strategically.

Bharadwaj wrote:There were reports of a so called exclusive alliance with the Russians. Also the reports on the fgfa drop came only in certain section of the media. This visit may be be a very productive one.
i quite agree .. its in Russia s interests that India does not tip totally into the western camp