Indian Military Helicopters

Re: Indian Military Helicopters

Gyan wrote:Apache helicopters seem to be a solution which is looking for a problem.
If we have to oblige USA then we should purchase equipment which is difficult to sanction and will add immediately needed capability.
In my view we should persuade USA to Sell us thermal imagers and night vision devices
If we had purchased a billion dollar worth of thermal images and night vision devices for the infantry then it would have immediately enhanced our capability to fight terrorists, naxalites and dominate the night against Pakistan and China
I have been pondering that and we all know IA has been requesting full control of the Hinds and wanted their own independent attack squadron.
However the timing seems interesting.

I think we have or are about to squeeze a concession or two from Trump for Trumf.
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

@Gyan... do u think Yankees are dumb? sell imagers etc ...bhai when they sell choppers they get lucaritve business by way of spares, training, etc etc. plus ability to squeeze ur balls at the right time... TI mein kya milenga?? ghan...

Gyan wrote:Apache helicopters seem to be a solution which is looking for a problem.
There is an existing problem that the Apaches are perfectly suited for which is COIN and tackling infiltration. But unfortunately we do not use airpower for these, even if it is away from densely inhabited areas (like the Maoist areas and the orchards where the Kashmiri terrorist groups hang out).

@Bart S what is it that the Apache can do w.r.t COIN and tackling infiltration which the LCH cannot do?

abhik wrote:@Bart S what is it that the Apache can do w.r.t COIN and tackling infiltration which the LCH cannot do?
I am all for using the LCH as the mainstay when it is ready, and I am not saying that we need to order them just for COIN. I am talking about the Apaches that we already ordered, my point is not so much Apache vs LCH but that they (and probably the LCH as well) won't be used to their full potential. The Apaches in particular look like they are going to be gold plated assets that are only taken out for action in a full fledged tank battle, whereas they could be a massive force multiplier for COIN and anti-infiltration efforts.

The Apache is a finely honed killing machine when it comes to Iraq/Afghan type insurgents, with the FLIR, software systems and gun/APKWS/missile weaponly integrated and tested with the avionics and the pilot's targeting systems. It will probably take a few years for the LCH to reach that level of maturity.

Prashant, Do look up the opening war sequences of Desert Storm and OAF. Apaches were used to destroy early warning sites.
Pakistani radar sites have been a bug bear for IAF in 1965 and 1971.

I think IAF plans to use them for their own missions and roles.
prashantsharma

Post by prashantsharma »

ramana wrote:Prashant, Do look up the opening war sequences of Desert Storm and OAF. Apaches were used to destroy early warning sites.
Pakistani radar sites have been a bug bear for IAF in 1965 and 1971.

I think IAF plans to use them for their own missions and roles.
I did consider this possible role (and mentioned it as well). However dont consider it relevant or cost efficient or sufficient justification for keeping the apaches under iaf control (and i am an airforce boy) in our context. The use of apaches to fire the opening salvo in desert storm was purely an improvisation for solving a problem that was probably unique to the day and age and availability of military tech, which in my view does not exist today.

To note that the apaches were used in this role all of once in GW-1. SEAD missions continued throughout the war but apaches had no further role to play. And as far as i know they have not been reemployed in this way in any other conflict since. It would be a waste for the IAF to buy such an expensive weapon system for a single use.

And had it been so critical to taking down radars, wouldnt the Usaf have ordered some for itself?
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

http://pib.nic.in/PressReleaseIframePag ... ID=1535974

Ministry of Defence
Airbridge for Mansarovar Yatra : An IAF Effort
Posted On: 20 JUN 2018 11:53AM by PIB Delhi
For three months, starting 18 Jun 2018, the Indian Air Force would create an airbridge between Pithoragarh and Gunji, in an effort to airlift 1080 registered passengers to Gunji to enable them to continue their journey for the coveted annual Kailash Mansarovar Yatra.
The requirement for the IAF to pitch in arose, when the MEA approached the MoD for air effort between the places where the connectivity was envisaged to be poor. “The IAF is ever ready to take over any task assigned by the Govt and thereafter ensures that it is executed in a most professional manner” said Air Cmde Pendse of Western Air Command, who is overlooking the operations.
The command had been chosen by Air HQ for this task, especially due to the experience its heptr pilots have in flying in mountainous terrain and landing at high altitudes, given the fact that Gunji is at an altitude of 3100 mts above the sea level.
“We have deployed three MLH class of heptrs at Pithoragarh which would be carrying approximately 60-80 passengers per day” said the task force commander positioned at Pithoragarh. The heptrs, from the Kirpan and Nubra Warrior units of the IAF, would be deployed for about three months catering for the return journey as well and would fly about 300 hrs in the duration of the operations.

ARG/DKS
(Release ID: 1535974) Visitor Counter : 58
barath_s

Post by barath_s »

prashantsharma wrote:
ramana wrote:Prashant, Do look up the opening war sequences of Desert Storm and OAF.
And had it been so critical to taking down radars, wouldnt the Usaf have ordered some for itself?
The USAF and the US Army are bound by Johnson-McConnell agreement of 1966 As per this, most choppers became domain of US Army and most planes that of US Air Force (there are a few exceptions like transport aircraft etc) . So they can't do that. Else US armed forces would have massive duplication with Army, Navy,Marines Air Force each demanding their own planes and choppers. Instead unified combatant commands took care of co-ordination. (As Shwarzkopf told them : "Gentlemen, it all belongs to me"). India has no joint service commands (except Andaman) or Joint service chiefs despite a committee recommendation to set them up. (Thus adding to dysfunction and poorer co-ordination.), In any case, the agreement doesn't apply to India; both the Army and the Air force are staking their claim for Apache, raising possibilities of a power struggle and differing use cases.

As for Desert Storm/Desert Shield, the initial strike was Apache,followed by stealth aircraft (F117) which was responsible for an outsize proportion of targets. Fixed wing non-stealth aircraft also performed SEAD, including with low level flights (low level flights can help you get lost in ground radar clutter in absence of look down radar & AWACS but also leave you vulnerable to MANPADS etc. Planes commonly fly higher than 10,000 feet (eg Kargil) to reduce manpads risk, while choppers commonly hide behind trees, hills and mountains ). Worth noting that SEAD/DEAD is commonly performed by air forces.

The US GAO was tasked with assessing the performance of the Apache

(1) during Operation Desert Storm, Apaches proved their combat effectiveness by destroying 278 tanks and about 900 other targets;

(2) during the air campaign, Apaches primarily flew armed night reconnaissance missions in enemy territory because of their night vision and videotape capabilities, which provided timely intelligence information to Army division commanders;

(3) Apaches flew only a total of 83 missions during the war, primarily because of the perceived enemy threat to low-flying helicopters during the air campaign and because the use of Apaches could have divulged the location of allied forces;

(4) Apache use was also limited during the ground campaign, because ground commanders, who controlled the Apache's use and roles, chose not to use it more and the Army was restricted in where it could use the Apache due to agreements with the Air Force

(5) the Apache was capable of performing its assigned missions during the war, but component problems, sometimes intensified by harsh desert conditions, adversely affected the performance of the Apache's essential weapons and other subsystems;

(6) during the 100-hour ground campaign, little maintenance was performed on the Apaches because units advanced through enemy territory so rapidly that maintenance support could not keep up with the aircraft; and

(7) Apache pilots and maintainers cited the lack of spare parts as the most frequent reason some aircraft were not available to carry out missions.

Worth pointing out that Gulf War had a massive issue of decongestation of airspace, ie the air controllers had to plan how to use airspace, for which aircraft, at what times, how to get them there etc. (relevant to point 4 "agreements with air force")

The Apache should be great at CAS, attacking enemy tanks, etc, with night vision equipment.

India also covets the functionality of the Apache 64 E, wherein Apache pilots control drones, including for sensor inputs and for weapons/attack. India has the Apache 64E,but not the corresponding drones or integration equipment. it almost certainly requires COMCASA to be signed, though.

The arguments made in favour of the ah 64 in the above post will apply to the LCH as well.

The apaches have come at over 100 million per aircraft. How much is the additional payload again?

Apaches in advance of the 3rd Ind.Div. at Kerbala were so badly shot up, 30 of them from small arms and RPG fire that they were never used again in such measure, mainly for recce and where there was air support.

In Afghanistan too it was a disaster and calls to dump it appeared in the US press. Despite its vulnerability and huge cost we've be bought it as a pay- off to the US over the N-deal, etc.A fitting fact is that the Afghan govt. want the heavily armoured flying tank, the Sov. era MI-35 from India, instead of the Apache or other western attack helos. which they could easily acquire.

It is why we should invest in a heavy helo like the MI-35 and armoured G.attack/ CS birds like the A-10 or SU-25 still doing the biz and indispensable in the current conflicts.
KrishnaK

Post by KrishnaK »

Indranil wrote:The apaches have come at over 100 million per aircraft. How much is the additional payload again?
I believe it's the electronics and software. It is excellent at detecting and killing tanks en-masse.

From AH-64D Apache Longbow Flight Report - by Carlo Kopp
Prior to this flight I was a little sceptical of Boeing's claims of ease of operation, given how much I knew about the complexity of the underlying weapon system, which is comparable to that of a modern fighter aircraft. I was soon to be proven very wrong and can state that the vendor's claims are no overstatement, within minutes I could navigate my way through a number of menus and modes successfully.

I cycled the Longbow through single and multiple radar sweeps. The radar detected the highway traffic, vehicles at the airfield, and taxiing aircraft, which appeared as yellow target type icons on the TSD within a second or so. The radar is "hot" only when the rocker switch is depressed, to minimise signature. The software prioritised the top two targets (hapless freeway commuters) with a diamond box over the first and triangle box over the second target, the boxes appearing almost immediately. The software automatically cued the MMWI Hellfires on the wing pylon to the these targets. I lifted the finger guard and squeezed off the first round. "Missile away" and we watched the countdown on the right hand display. The software reprioritised targets upon trigger depression, and marked the soon to be dead target with an X. In a tactical situation a gunner could loose off his weapons very quickly, without having to even worry about selection - all is performed by the software.

The single sweep facility on the Longbow is excellent, properly coordinated crew operation allows a single mast exposure and sweep, to cover a 90 degree sector out to about 10 km.

I played with the radar a little more under Pete's expert tutelage, and we then proceeded to a demonstration of missile seeker unlocking. Pete slewed the aircraft until the locked target was outside of the seeker's FOV. The software immediately marked the icon with black crosshatches to indicate that the missile was not longer able to acquire the target off the rail.

The next demonstration was the TADS. Pete set up the system and I then engaged the TADS and using the right display, slewed it on to the Avalon flightline. A juicy C-130 in low contrast grey was a beckoning target, so I proceeded with an ALH Hellfire engagement. The TADS LOS is easily steered with the thumb pressure switch and the target was quickly acquired, tracked. "Missile away" and we watched the countdown. After missile "impact" I played a little with the TSD, under Pete's direction, exploring targets along the highway and the airfield, and picking out an obscured shack next to the treeline. The colour active matrix LCD is very sharp, contrast was excellent in bright diffuse ambient lighting, and response time to menu inputs instantaneous. The combination of automatic attitude stabilisation and TADS stabilisation provided a rock solid picture, and the TADS TV resolution was excellent. Within minutes I was able to calibrate to the picture and resolve targets.

Boeing's statements concerning the ability of the Longbow to find targets hidden behind foliage is not an overstatement. The treeline along the freeway obscured much of the traffic, which could in some places not be seen through the TADS. The Longbow locked them up in a single sweep.
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

http://www.vayuaerospace.in/images1/Sel ... erview.pdf
Army aviation in future battle space.
2014 interview with Lt. Gen PR Kumar, DG Army Aviation

My question on the last page went 1 step further then just the Apache's for the IAF.
Apart from the Apache, IAF is projected to get 65 LCH as well. In fact from the current 15 LSP LCH that are being produced, 10 are meant for IAF and only 5 for IA.

In total the projected IAF requirement for attack helicopters is 77!
What role are so many attack helicopters meant for in the IAF, given that IA is also set to independently get 114 LCH, plus 6 possible Apache, in addition to 60+ Rudra?

mody wrote:My question on the last page went 1 step further then just the Apache's for the IAF.
Apart from the Apache, IAF is projected to get 65 LCH as well. In fact from the current 15 LSP LCH that are being produced, 10 are meant for IAF and only 5 for IA.

What role are so many attack helicopters meant for in the IAF, given that IA is also set to independently get 114 LCH, plus 6 possible Apache, in addition to 60+ Rudra?
Heliborne insertion of Garuda for SAR missions, sabotage/capture of enemy ALGs/Airfields/forward radar locations, will not be possible without armed heli escorts.

Moreover, air-to-air role against UAVs and other slow-moving aircraft is a possiblity. Apaches can be equipped with Stingers (Air-to-air). Perhaps, IAF has similar aims for LCH.

HAL carries out hot weather tests on its LUH in city (Nagpur)
Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) carried out some critical tests on its latest platform named Light Utility Helicopter (LUH), in the city on Tuesday.

Speaking exclusively to The Hitavada, HAL’s Chief Test Pilot Wg Cdr Unnikrishna Pillay(Retd) informed that the LUH has tremendous demand from all the three wings of Defence services, mainly for its utility of being used as an Air Ambulance, that can carry two stretchers, one doctor and one attendant, or load of 1.2 tons, besides the crew of two. Moreover, the ageing fleet of Chetaks and Cheetahs are becoming more demanding with regards to its maintenance and increasing demands of the Services of getting a better, more modern platform, with superior avionics, to meet its requirements of operating in adverse weather conditions like hot climate, cold climate, high altitude pickets, mountains and valleys and the missions over the sea. “The Chetaks and Cheetahs,” said Wg Cdr Unnikrishna, “I have served very successfully for 50 years now and time has come to replace them.

The LUH has high-tech computers on board, has its own cooling system, which needs to be monitored in hot weather conditions. Similarly, gear box with oil with thermal cooling system, engine and other things that are critical, need to be tested in such hot weather conditions. “So, we parked the chopper on the tarmac, exposed it to the Sun and let it absorb the outside heat, so as to give us data on how the various systems on board are behaving in such trying conditions. There are temperature sensors fitted on the chopper at various points that provide data to the systems monitoring on the ground and on reaching the limit prescribed, it alerts the pilot. There are designers and technicians on the ground who will monitor flaws, if any, and avoid risks,” Wg Cdr Unnikrishna told The Hitavada.

Asked about his next visit, Wg Cdr Pillay gave that handsome boyish smile and said, “Yes, but with a Multirole Helicopter, a heavy lift machine, designed by HAL. But, it will take three years for that.”

Asked about his completion of the mission in Nagpur, Wg Cdr Pillay reiterated, “Yes. Now, we fly out on Wednesday and reach Bangalore. We will later go to Leh for the cold weather tests”.
Last edited by suryag on 26 Jun 2018 18:25, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: highlighting HAL's MLH dev status

200+ desi attack helos is not an overboard figure given that these birds will receive the heaviest anti-air onslaught from the enemy.IAF losses during our past conflicts showed that 60+% of all losses were due to ground fire. It's why despite the huge evidence of Apache vulnerability both in Iraq and Afghanistan we have been armtwisted into buying them.They will suffer the same fate in any Indo- Pak or Indo- Sino conflict.Both enemy forces possess far superior anti-air air weaponry.
Heavily armoured flying tanks like MI-35s, KA-50/52s and CS/ GA birds like A-10s and SU-35s have repeatedly proven themselves.Remember our aircraft and MI-8/17 loss during Kargil too.

It is a realisation of this which is why the IAF/IA are arming as many utility helos which will have a dual use of close support of ground forces.

JTull wrote:
mody wrote:My question on the last page went 1 step further then just the Apache's for the IAF.

Heliborne insertion of Garuda for SAR missions, sabotage/capture of enemy ALGs/Airfields/forward radar locations, will not be possible without armed heli escorts.

Moreover, air-to-air role against UAVs and other slow-moving aircraft is a possiblity. Apaches can be equipped with Stingers (Air-to-air). Perhaps, IAF has similar aims for LCH.
Nuclear weapons are stored on airbases. Garudas are proly being trained w/ paras/marcos for snatch missions in the event that Pakistan faces balkanization.

+108.

Validated in GaganShakti.

Philip wrote: Heavily armoured flying tanks like MI-35s, KA-50/52s and CS/ GA birds like A-10s and SU-35s have repeatedly proven themselves.
Only after the MANPAD and heavy AAA threat has been significantly degraded. Until then their operations have been limited to flying above the typical engagement envelope.

You might want to check this out..
Austin wrote:The Russian Air Campaign in Syria A Preliminary Analysis

Anton Lavrov Associate Fellow, Centre for Analysis of Strategies and Technologies,
Moscow

https://www.cna.org/CNA_files/PDF/COP-2 ... -Final.pdf

JTull wrote:

Ok. This makes sense. Hope the Apache's can pass on the Longbow info the LCH via our data link.

Austin wrote:The Russian Air Campaign in Syria A Preliminary Analysis

Anton Lavrov Associate Fellow, Centre for Analysis of Strategies and Technologies,
Moscow

https://www.cna.org/CNA_files/PDF/COP-2 ... -Final.pdf
A mighty good read !
The conclusion is as tasty as any other parts.
The CE gained and new CE developed will most certainly be worth its weight in gold.

mody wrote:
JTull wrote:

Ok. This makes sense. Hope the Apache's can pass on the Longbow info the LCH via our data link.
No chance.
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

beautiful video clip, could not resist posting here ( MBD-if-RP)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxminAmKCn0
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxminAmKCn0[/youtube]
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

Lt Gen Kanwal Kumar, DG AA shares his views on the technology needs of army 2025 and beyond

http://www.cii.in/VideoDetail.aspx?enc= ... 8GG6dWTD4=

jaysimha wrote:beautiful video clip, could not resist posting here ( MBD-if-RP)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxminAmKCn0
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxminAmKCn0[/youtube]

Damn sir, this is a must watch for all of us.
Look at that machine being used by the crafty Indian to draw lines in clear sky like picasso and his brush.
okay jokes aside.

WOW !!

Yeah. But when will it enter service?

Wtf in manuvering. I say it is ready to enter service.

Pratyush wrote:Wtf in manuvering. I say it is ready to enter service.
I know right

Pratyush wrote:Wtf in manuvering. I say it is ready to enter service.
Sir I will take your word for it.

Having been on BRF since close to inception I still am amazed at the extremes of emotion here. However knowing the ALH prog and LCA from close (from a whileback) I temper my pride with some realism. The only thing excites me is when something good happens for the infantry - the Queen of battle!!

ks_sachin wrote:Yeah. But when will it enter service?
They are en route to get IOC by year end. LSP will start after that, like in the case if LCH.

Luh program is one of the reasons why I am opposed to imported solutions.

I prey that it will have IOC and FOC in an uneventful manner and goes on to have a long and boring service with the forces.

Indranil wrote:
ks_sachin wrote:Yeah. But when will it enter service?
They are en route to get IOC by year end. LSP will start after that, like in the case if LCH.
Thank you. IR.
i will get excited then.
BTW how is the little one?

ks_sachin wrote: BTW how is the little one?
Thank you for asking. He is doing well. He ended up being a model for a toy company which started shipping the product yesterday. So his face is reaching a few more households.

We are lucky, he is a very social kid. Doesn't fuss much and adapts to our lifestyle which is a little outdoors-oriented.

Happy for your IR ji(and mrs)

BTW HTT-40 seems to have gone silent

HAL has been trying to keep a tight lid on its developments for the past couple of years. You will hear from them when they cross a milestone.