Atal Bihari Vajpayee Passes Away

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee Passes Away

Om Shanti!!!

Former PM Vajpayee passed away on 16 August 2018 per statement from AIIMS.
Remembering a great Son of Mother India.

Om Shanthi!!!

Re: Atal Bihari Vajpayee Passes Away

Om Shanti

Great loss for Indian and real Indians. Om Shanti!
End of an Era.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DIi1U--FzC0
Last edited by rsingh on 16 Aug 2018 19:00, edited 1 time in total.

A great man. He got the nation back on the right track after the Nehru clan.

Peace.

A noble and valiant soul who started the turnaround of our fortunes

A margdarshak in good sense
Amol.d

Post by Amol.d »

Atalji ... If there was a leader who was respected by one and all Indians, that was you. You gave much needed power and pride to the Indian right in the parliament with your speeches and your charisma, when it was most needed and when the odds were overwhelming. If today Indian nationalism and Hindutva is a formidable and unstoppable force in the government, it is because you nurtured it when it was a trickle. Thank you and Om Shanti

A noble person died. Very sad day for me. सद्गति प्राप्तिरस्तु।।

For my age group we only know two great Prime Ministers PVNR and ABV. Without them this whole Strategic Issues and International relations forum for India would be content less. We would have been a truest banana republic had they not done what they did during their eras.

The Shakti tests and Kargil win when the chips are down with zero friends in the world in no mean achievement. Passing away of ABV is truly an end of an era.
syam

Post by syam »

Om Shanti and thank you all for everything we have today.
Last edited by syam on 16 Aug 2018 19:03, edited 1 time in total.

Om Shanti. Best PM after Modi.

A Noble soul. Om shanti, respected by all Indians, no mean achievement.

The man who laid the true foundation for Modern India in 21 century. May be it is just the fate of our civilization, that it was lucky enough to have PVNR pulling us out from the hole and ABV placing us where we can aim for the stars.

Men who were present and did what needed to done, when it mattered the most.

Om Shanti. RIP.

Within hours of death of Vajâyee ji, NDTV and Ashutosh comes with this

No, Atal-ji Was Not Secular Or "In The Wrong Party"
Their haraminess has no bounds.
Last edited by rsingh on 16 Aug 2018 19:17, edited 1 time in total.

Mere Prabhu! Mujhe itani oonchaai kabhi mat dena, Gairon ko gale na lagaa sakoon, Itani rukhaai kabhi mat dena.
Om! Shanti

ABV ensured India moves from the path of developing country to developed country by his strong initiatives on nuclear security, economic reforms, transportation networks.
His political moderate liberalism ensured commitment to democracy.

MY Prime Minister!
You are the first one I consider so.
(The current one is the other)
You fought a great fight, ran a great race.
You shown us pride. Shown us our backbone.
You made us walk with our heads held high.
And best of all, you lit a torch that is leading us now.
You fought a great fight, ran a great race.
It is time you left the cycle
And find your seat at the court of the emperor of the universe.
Lord Vishnu, the ruler of everything.
The right place for a mortal who personified 'rajya tantra' for us.
Om Shanti Shanti Shanti!!

If the NDA 1 was not a coalition government, by this time, with great sons like pvnr, ab Vajpayee, Bharat Mata would have been leading the world by this time. Still no mean achievement by Atal Bihari Vajpayee. Shat shat pranam... नास्ति तेषां यशः काये जरा मरण जं भयम्।। You will live in our hearts forever.

He was the one Opposition leader of the 1960s whom even Indira Gandhi respected, and apparently the respect was mutual. The decision to go ahead with the nuke tests in 1998 after decades of disastrous waffling, showed why. The decision to launch the SBI Bond issue for $4B in response to the stupid American Sanctiongiri, showed the steel behind the smile: India never looked back from the awe of seeing that getting oversubscribed by NRIs before it even came out. The calibrated approach to Kargil may not have pleased all (most of us wanted to see the Parking situation improved in Rawalpindi) but got the nation through a difficult time. The "restraint" and "Insaniyat Over Insanity" policy towards Pakistan was not necessarily the best way to solve The Pakistan Problem, but many are alive (In India and unfortunately in Pakistan) because of that. Many are dead around the world because of that too (failure to smash the Paki terror cockroach-nest). Op Parakram of course ended as the Pakis' nuclear arsenal was removed by the Chinese under American pressure, and even George Fernandes dissolved in laughter. But that was the height of what those around him allowed him to achieve.

I think he lost it during the aftermath of the Godhra atrocity. Never quite recovered. But he did more for India and the world in his life than millions combined. And he lived frugally in the best traditions of Indian leaders (OK forget u-no-hu and his bro-in-law, no one can call them Leaders)

The best prime minister India has had to date, for me. My respect and Shraddhanjali to this lion, who spoke softly but purposefully and with the will to lead, the confidence of his team and the vision of a statesman.

UB: Even before Indira, there was a comment by JLN to a young ABV in Parliament, you speak as if you want to become the PM one day!!

Great son of the Nation. Pranam !!

Om Shanti!
May god almighty give sadgati to his soul!
Atal Bihari Vajpayee wrote: Jo kal the woh aaj nahi hain,
Jo aaj hain woh kal nahi honge,
Hone na hone ka kaam,
Isi tarah chalta rahega,
Hum hain, hum rahenge,
Yeh bhram bhi sada palta rahega.
Atal Bihari Vajpayee wrote:Bhari dupahari mein andhiyara,
Sooraj parachhai se hara,
Antaratan ka neh nichode,
Bujhi hui baati sulagaaen,
Aao fir se diya jalaen.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XzT0GGe3Lbk

PM Modi's peom at the end of his I day speech. I wonder who the author is...
He probably knew, that ABV was very sick...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jstxWwJTP4

Expecting a Bhavya Antim Sanskar, a Memorial at par with Gandhiji at Rajghat.

He sacrificed his whole life to this nation.
Haridas

Post by Haridas »

Sriman Atal Bihari Vajpayee ko shat shat pranaam aur Abhaar.

Still remember the days post the nuke test, Kargil and mobilization for Parakram. I doubt the new generation will ever get to live those times.

ABV left a inedible mark.
Arima

Post by Arima »

nam wrote:Still remember the days post the nuke test, Kargil and mobilization for Parakram. I doubt the new generation will ever get to live those times.

those are double edge sword. we dont want such situation ever again. but yes ABV prevailed through.
chaitanya

Post by chaitanya »

Om Shanti!

nam wrote:Still remember the days post the nuke test, Kargil and mobilization for Parakram. I doubt the new generation will ever get to live those times.

Don't mind lekin, but BRF got its voice after Buddha roared.
Virendra

Post by Virendra »

A fine, inspiring leader who steered our nation through, in crucial times.
Om Shanti

A son passes away, quietly, having done his duty towards Mother India.

India had had many PM's, quite a few of them were able fighters even if they fought only for themselves. Only a handful fought unarguably for us. ABV belonged to that rare breed. when he was PM you could sleep easy knowing he will try his best for us.
Life as an Indian in the 90's had little to cheer for. His POK-II was my life's first unadulterated moment as a proud Indian. It lit a sense of belief that has kept us going ever since.

With APJ gone and ABV joining him, this is the true end of an era of greats.
But ABV would want his beloved motherland to strive and reach new heights ! That would be his true legacy.
nrshah

Post by nrshah »

A great loss of nation. A son chosen by mother India, who worked for her through out his life... Many will come, many will go..Atalji will remain in the foundation of this nation for decades to come...

A true visionary, one who set the ball rolling for India, main director of smiling Buddha, started the focus on infrastructure by golden quadrilateral, east west corridor and Pradhan mantri gram sadak uyogna...

It is unfortunate that we as nation did not give him free.hand and curtailed him by coalition government... Else no one would have said Modi to be better than him.

While many and I also think we had a soft stand in Kargil, it is imperative to note the quality and quantum of war fighting machinery of our nation at that time. Also, Parakram was not failure, it showed us our weakness in peace time and we improved to where we are now with cold start and all.. think if this weakness was observed during the actual crisis and war. operation Gagan Shakti in 2018 still practice the lessons learnt on Operation.parakram

Beyond everything, if the nation can think of Congress free country, the seeds were shown by him.

I still remember my first vote, it wasn't for any party. It was for Atal Bihari Vajpayee...

Truly the most capable Prime minister of India...

Absolutely saddened by his demise, may his soul rest in peace and get the highest place into the Swarg. May Bharat Mata get millions of similar souls to serve her...

A true leader of men
Steered our nation through difficult times.

25 years before he became PM , when the Cong. was at its peak after the '71 war, a veteran MP and close family friend predicted that he was an outstanding parliamentarian and would become PM ond day.

If Nehru laid the foundation with Dr.Homi Bhabha for our nuclear edifice, Mrs. Gandhi took us into the nuclear club with P-1 and Homi Sethna, ABV was responsible for India storming the nuclear weapons club with P-2 and Raja Ramann and R.Chidambaram.

He had many achievements during his political life, but the abiding memory and legacy was that he was India's
" man for all peoples" and by conducting the P-2 tests dramatically gave us our strategic deterrent along with other eminent scientists especially
our late President APJAK.Victory over Pakistan over Kargil thanks to his leadership at that critical time was another great gift to the nation." Cometh the hour, cometh the man".

May ABV enjoy a cosmic eternal peace . He will never bd forgotten by a grateful nation .

The morning of May 12 1998 was the day I really had any sort of geopolitical awakening. I was still a youngster then, unlike some of the more wizened vets of BRF. Didn't see TV the previous evening and didn't know what happened until the paper came in next morning with the news emblazoned all over the front . I was too young to know much about the larger implications involved, but it was clear that's the kind of direction I wanted of India.

May ABV rest in peace.

Someone suggested in twitter that Golden Quadrilateral be named after ABV. It's a good idea, hope govt. does the same.

Arima wrote: those are double edge sword. we dont want such situation ever again. but yes ABV prevailed through.
It showed the character of the nation. George Fernades openly calling China as a bigger enemy than Pak, time of APJ Abdul Kalam, Gen Paddy promising to wipe out Pak from earth during Parakram, LCA first flight despite sanctions, daily constant artillery battle with 155MM on LoC, cable news networks. You name it.

Stuff that people talk and wish for on this forum, happened during those times. We as a nation of today are from those times.

Still remember reading with shock the early morning news about the nuke test and spending the entire day watching India being discussed on BBC & CNN!

Probably In another 10 years, just like ABV those times will fade away.
VickyAvinash

Post by VickyAvinash »

Om Shanti...
Mollick.R

Post by Mollick.R »

India lost one of the greatest leaders that she ever produced. Leaders like shri AVB come once in several generations.. The country lost its great son.
Bowing my head in immense respect, May his soul be bestowed with highest level in Swarg.

Om Shanti

Let me post his poem which has been mentioned in this dhaga ...
ठन गई!

मौत से ठन गई!

जूझने का मेरा इरादा न था,
मोड़ पर मिलेंगे इसका वादा न था,

रास्ता रोक कर वह खड़ी हो गई,
यों लगा ज़िन्दगी से बड़ी हो गई।

मौत की उमर क्या है? दो पल भी नहीं,
ज़िन्दगी सिलसिला, आज कल की नहीं।

मैं जी भर जिया, मैं मन से मरूं,
लौटकर आऊँगा, कूच से क्यों डरूं?

तू दबे पांव, चोरी-छिपे से न आ,
सामने वार कर फिर मुझे आज़मा।