Kaveri & Aero-Engine: News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Kaveri & Aero-Engine: News & Discussion

Whatever one may say about russki engines, one has to wonder how in hell they manage to keep those engines running without surge or stall during a brutal manoeuvre (engine wise) like the Su-27 Pugachev's cobra.

I also wonder about the same. I did try to find out exact technical details about it. But I couldn't find any definitive information. Its rather difficult to find proper scientific publications, one they are all in Russian and other, the journals are not easily searchable/accessible on internet anyhow.

Whatever one may say about russki engines, one has to wonder how in hell they manage to keep those engines running without surge or stall during a brutal manoeuvre (engine wise) like the Su-27 Pugachev's cobra.

I also wonder about the same. I did try to find out exact technical details about it. But I couldn't find any definitive information. Its rather difficult to find proper scientific publications, one they are all in Russian and other, the journals are not easily searchable/accessible on internet anyhow.
Nothing to wonder about, saar.

Just can't beat these guys for excellent design and superlative mathematics.

This stuff will not be floating around on the net and also these days it is sad to see that their standards of production sometimes do not match their standards of design

BTW, its not just the engines alone, the russkis, by airframe and wing design, also manage to maintain even aerodynamic flow over both wings, so much so, that there is not even the hint of a nose/wing drop, especially during the most intricate of their slower speed maneuvers in the vertical plane which is something that their western counterparts are unable to achieve consistently or many even not at all. This is more a function of the aircraft design rather than the skill of their pilots.

Also, don't know too much about school standards now, but during the soviet era, when I was fortunate to make a number of trips to the soviet motherland, the kids in the USSR were routinely doing higher mathematics in school that the US kids were maybe doing at the college level when they were much older.

chetak wrote:Whatever one may say about russki engines, one has to wonder how in hell they manage to keep those engines running without surge or stall during a brutal manoeuvre (engine wise) like the Su-27 Pugachev's cobra.
Modern engines are quite good and have been for some time. Here's an aircraft kitted with the F404 doing some insane low-speed high alpha stuff:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vRh6xnbOZo

brar_w wrote:
chetak wrote:Whatever one may say about russki engines, one has to wonder how in hell they manage to keep those engines running without surge or stall during a brutal manoeuvre (engine wise) like the Su-27 Pugachev's cobra.
Modern engines are quite good and have been for some time. Here's an aircraft kitted with the F404 doing some insane low-speed high alpha stuff:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vRh6xnbOZo
nicely done.
dinesh_kimar

Post by dinesh_kimar »

The Kaveri is ambitious. Like a student trying to crack IIT in first attempt.

This is how GE did it:
Their first iteration was F-404 -400, which was in dev from 1973-76, and launched in 1985-6 timeline.
Max thrust was 71 KN or 16000 lb thrust. (Baseline was the J-79 engine, with same thrust goals).
The first 1100 F-18 Hornet A/B versions used this, and was even exported to Australia, Canada and Spain.

Only in 1992, after the Gulf War, the F-404-402 EPE with 79 KN was made available.

We apparently use a version of the Volvo RM-12, with about 80 KN, for Tejas.

Our best efforts with Kaveri indicate figures between 72 KN (Sjha) up to about 75 KN (93% of design thrust).

If I was a decision maker, I would accept and induct this. The calculation is somewhat as follows:

The Mig-21 weighs 5800 kg, with 69 KN from the Kilmov.

I would happily induct a lighter Tejas, with same weapons load as Mig-21, and all advantages of the newer technology, with 72 KN. Reliability MTBO figures are important here, however.

I will gladly use 150-200 nos. of this version, in lieu of the Migs.
This would be the base for LIFT and CAS aircraft, ground attack etc.

With replacements, about 500-600 Kaveri will be produced, more than a decade of production.

Free up the F-404 for MRCA and interceptor roles.
If sanctions are applied, our commanders can still fight back with what they have.

AJT variant of LCA powered by Kaveri may be a good stepping stone.

https://www.theengineer.co.uk/supersoni ... ty-engine/

New supersonic engine by GE for Aerion AS2 Biz Jet. Very interesting architecture. CFM-56 based core with infusion of advanced manufacturing tech. Dual Fan, and exhaust mixer at the back.

dinesh_kimar

Post by dinesh_kimar »

The DRDO Chief S. Christopher had tweeted that Kaveri powered LCA will fly in Aero India 2019, around Feb 2019.

The DRDO should hold to their word. They promised the nation, they need to deliver.

Also, shaktivel of DFI is tweeting that the SNECMA assistance is revival of an old shelved plan - an M-88 core and local modules.

Apparently, AVM Matheshwaran rejected it during the committee review, so was dropped.

SNECMA has promised 88 KN, and some ToT will come for non core modules.

I am all for holding DRDO responsible.. once we stop throwing peanuts at engine development.

If someone thinks some millions is going to result in DRDO bringing out a 80/90KN jet engine, they are being high on Afghan flavored stuff.

Everyone would asking DRDO to built for them.

Before DRDO, people should hold GoI responsible. Holding GTRE responsible just means firing people, who would gladly leave. Then what?

AVM cast a long shadow in torpedoing defence development.
Usually when yiu reject something on the table you need to offer better options.
So called Plan B.
What was Plan B for Kaveri if SNECMA was rejected in 2009?
thammu

Post by thammu »

Kaveri on LCA

Sorry, if this has appeared earlier!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6XGjKDCaUcc

engine gurus, please provide your inputs on below for this SDRE :)

https://twitter.com/aloysius34/status/1 ... 9507031040 ---> Mystery shrouds the K-9 GTX-35VS Kaveri turbofan engine, France Snecma involved in solving multiple design flaws will certify the engine & DRDO hopes to power the LCA Tejas MK I in 2019. The K-10 module is up for development with probable Rolls Royce. Multiple plans but no output.

Rehashed info. Same old same old.
Haridas

Post by Haridas »

dinesh_kimar wrote:Apparently, AVM Matheshwaran rejected it during the committee review, so was dropped.

I recall meeting AVM Matheshwaran at his apartment few month after this review. His objection was SNECMA core means the GTRE development is dumped, hence it will be only Kaveri in name,

Yes AVM had no plan B. His big fat (ugly) ego just wanted HAL & ADA to follow his barking from his high pedestal ( the thorn of mighty Indra).
During that meeting he was against AMCA for he though it is unobtainium for Indians.
dinesh_kimar

Post by dinesh_kimar »

^ Saar, will respond, collecting info.

Haridas wrote:
dinesh_kimar wrote:Apparently, AVM Matheshwaran rejected it during the committee review, so was dropped.

I recall meeting AVM Matheshwaran at his apartment few month after this review. His objection was SNECMA core means the GTRE development is dumped, hence it will be only Kaveri in name,

Yes AVM had no plan B. His big fat (ugly) ego just wanted HAL & ADA to follow his barking from his high pedestal ( the thorn of mighty Indra).
During that meeting he was against AMCA for he though it is unobtainium for Indians.
Very unfortunately, there are many who have a similar very unfavourable/hostile attitude toward any program to develop next-gen tech. "Oh that is beyond us, it is unproven tech, it is too kaastly to make lets import it, it wont fit timelines"

For the RTA, during the webinar the CSIR head said they have decided to put in an imported (RR i believe) turboprop engine and have no plans for developing an Indian engine despite projecting more than a 200 plane order :roll:

Prasad wrote:
For the RTA, during the webinar the CSIR head said they have decided to put in an imported (RR i believe) turboprop engine and have no plans for developing an Indian engine despite projecting more than a 200 plane order :roll:
Unfortunately they forgot to upload this webinar on youtube.
Do you remember what are the thrust requirements for this RTA engine...? I think it should be something like 40-50kN for one engine i.e. something like 8-10k Hp engine. HAL's HTFE could do the trick as its core is designed with max 40kN. But given our lack of experience with engine certification and lack of infra, it would be prudent to use existing engine and procure it through govt contract so desi-karan can be enforced to an extent we want.

Don't think it was specified during the talk. It was just mentioned as an imported engine and treated like a plug-n-play item that they had no concern about. He repeatedly mentioned lower sfc, lower maintenance and operating costs as prime aims. So if a desi engine does not match imported engine, it will be dumped and cag will come back and say why for you waste thousands of tax rubees on a waste project like this that didnt even get to full scale production hainji.
dinesh_kimar

Post by dinesh_kimar »

Apparently, the issue was discussed in BRF, timeline around the LCA-Kaveri decoupling.

1. AVM -the SNECMA core wouldn't be indigenous, foreign exchange will be used up to purchase it, no local tech development will take place.

2. A Few BRF posters agreed with him. (Remember, at this point of time DRDO had shoddy timelines / project management, notorious overruns, etc).

Others opined that all existing aircraft engines in inventory are anyways purchased with foreign exchange, GTRE needs hand holding after they admitted they cannot meet goals, building some local content percentage, ( LP compressor, LP turbine and GTSU-110 starter) with proven engine core will also result in knowledge gain, SNECMA hand holding and certification is welcome.
dinesh_kimar

Post by dinesh_kimar »

Before 2014, I had no hope on ISRO cryogenic technology either.

The Russian engines was complicated as hell, with about 800 pipes coming from it in a spidery maze. The physics at minus 80 deg. was insane. They had a 50% success rate, and actual payload was closer to 1800 kg.

After they stopped flight testing in 2010, we had only 2 engines left from Russia, and clear message that no more would be supplied.

Radhakrishna ordered a deep design review in 2010, after the failed launch, and adopted various countermeasures.

He brought back many oldies to ISRO, and put his weight behind its success. (Remember Stanley Hooker and RB-211 ?)

The Local GSLV flew in 2014, successfully.

(This takes guts, with the media dissing you over GSLV failures, experts opining to stay with PSLV, close friends advising to "be smart" and stick with Ariane Space, final year of tenure, don't rock the boat, etc).

When the local GSLV went up in Jan 2014, ISRO had subconsciously crossed an invisible hurdle.

They knew it worked, the physics and the engineering.

Today, we are seeing 3500 kg heavies launched twice a year.

We airily talk about matching Ariane using SB stages.

Just 4 years back, 1800 kg was unobtanium.

With Kaveri, it's the same condition, the physics and the engineering.

Once it's done with 81 KN and 1100 kg weight, we can scale up.

dinesh_kimar wrote:We airily talk about matching Ariane using SB stages.

Excellent post, Dinesh ji!

^^^ I believe we have the physics and engineering already. We know principles of turbofan engineering. It is alchemy that the final hurdle. The portions and proportions of material science.

The difference between a rocket and an engine is making the latter last.

Not just that. The biggest issue, funds.

How much did we spend in the past 30 years? Has it even reached a billion?
thammu

Post by thammu »

dinesh_kimar wrote:Before 2014, I had no hope on ISRO cryogenic technology either.

Today, we are seeing 3500 kg heavies launched twice a year.

We airily talk about matching Ariane using SB stages.

Well said!!

Prasad wrote: For the RTA, during the webinar the CSIR head said they have decided to put in an imported (RR i believe) turboprop engine and have no plans for developing an Indian engine despite projecting more than a 200 plane order :roll:
Why would they"? No project manager would think of desi engine at this point. Needless diversion.
And guess what, many fires have to be fought...Sukhoi , Mitsubishi, embraer, bombardier, airbus 220 are all in the same turf .

Also,Indranil mentioned HAL was developing a turboprop.

dinesh_kimar wrote:Apparently, the issue was discussed in BRF, timeline around the LCA-Kaveri decoupling.

1. AVM -the SNECMA core wouldn't be indigenous, foreign exchange will be used up to purchase it, no local tech development will take place.

2. A Few BRF posters agreed with him. (Remember, at this point of time DRDO had shoddy timelines / project management, notorious overruns, etc).

Others opined that all existing aircraft engines in inventory are anyways purchased with foreign exchange, GTRE needs hand holding after they admitted they cannot meet goals, building some local content percentage, ( LP compressor, LP turbine and GTSU-110 starter) with proven engine core will also result in knowledge gain, SNECMA hand holding and certification is welcome.
A very old article from 26 December 2008 - almost 10 years ago to the day - but relevant to the discussion above. And I fully agree on the bolded part in your post. Thank you for that!

IAF not keen on French offer for Kaveri engine
https://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/t ... 4.ece/amp/

Indian Air Force (IAF) is not keen on accepting an offer from the French company Snecma to join the Gas Turbine Research Establishment (GTRE) in co-developing the long-delayed Kaveri turbofan combat aircraft engine. The Kaveri engine, which has been under development at the GTRE for two decades at a cost of almost Rs. 2,000 crore, is specifically being built to power the indigenous Light Combat Aircraft — Tejas. A committee set up by the IAF has indicated to Air Headquarters that the Snecma offer will not meet the Air Force’s operational requirements, nor help India acquire the technological know-how to indigenously develop a combat engine. Constituted in September under the chairmanship of Air Vice Marshal M. Matheswaran, to look at the Snecma offer, the committee had as its members representatives from the designers of the Tejas — the Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA), the manufacturers of the Tejas — the Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL), the Centre for Military Airworthiness and Certification, and IAF officers posted at ADA, the National Flight Test Centre and the Aircraft Systems and Testing Establishment.

Highly placed sources told The Hindu that the committee felt that the Snecma offer was not in the IAF and India’s interest primarily because the French were offering a fully developed engine accepting which would “compromise and even kill the efforts, however meagre” that Indian defence laboratories had made towards developing the indigenous Kaveri engine. The offer would also not help India get a co-designed, co-developed engine but rather an engine under a licence production arrangement, and at a great financial cost. Explained a member of the committee: “It would be better if GTRE and other laboratories working on the Kaveri brought the engine to its logical conclusion even if it took a few more years. At least we would have mastery over the core technology. This will be better than importing the French core, paying a lifelong royalty, but saying the Kaveri is our indigenous effort. Neither the French nor anybody else will give us the know-how on the core technology.”

dinesh_kimar wrote:With Kaveri, it's the same condition, the physics and the engineering.

Very nice post Sir! You give us all hope!

Major difference between engine for Civil and Military: You need to convince the aam-aadmi public who wouldn't buy Tata cars to fly on Indian designed engine.

Even Airframe will have some reluctance factor of being designed in India.. Even in 2018...

I remember being uneasy after realizing that the plane I just boarded is (then unheard of for me) CRJ-100 sometime in 1995.

Dileep Sir , having your engine ETOPS certified and EASA certified for aircraft is one way to reduce those apprehension for Non-EU/US developed system , Infact the only way as of now.

Austin wrote:Dileep Sir , having your engine ETOPS certified and EASA certified for aircraft is one way to reduce those apprehension for Non-EU/US developed system , Infact the only way as of now.
Well, almost all countries' flightworthiness requirements including EASA are copy-paste of FAA. Ours wont be any different. In fact going by the mindset we have against our own products we will be putting them through more stringent testing than what typical aircraft would be going through.

ETOPS would be good extra milestone to walk to prove quality and reliability. Even though it will not be a necessity for our first engine which will be in all likelihood for a smaller airliner meant for domestic market only.

X-Post from Indian Air Force - News & Discussion thread....
But the DTTI’s professed aim to transform the bilateral “buyer-seller” relationship into co-development and production of weapon systems has remained a pipedream, with both Indian and US officials privately admiting “disappointment” with the progress made under the DTTI of 2012.
India was very keen on the jet engine project, having failed to develop the indigenous Kaveri engine despite spending Rs 2,839 crore on it since 1989, but it hit an insurmountable roadblock earlier this year. “The US refused to share some key technologies we wanted,” said an Indian official. A US official, however, said, “What we offered India was far more than what we have ever offered to any other country.” The stalemate means India’s indigenous Tejas fighters will continue to be powered by General Electric engines bought directly from the US for the foreseeable future.

Was just reading Dassault CEO's interview by Sandeep Unnithan, so we can be reasonably assured of no DDM crap.

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/story/r ... 2018-03-10

This line from it:
We will support the integration of this new engine in this new aircraft.

X-Post from the AMCA thread....website does not allow cut-and-paste.
ArjunPandit wrote:India's Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft program: What happened to Kaveri engine?
https://www.oneindia.com/india/indias-a ... 27340.html

https://twitter.com/SJha1618/status/1087330930757255169 ---> India should take up jet engine development on a national mission mode basis which will bring together DRDO's GTRE with industry and academia alongside a foreign technology partner. An empowered committee should have oversight.

https://twitter.com/SJha1618/status/1087330961233199104 ---> The objective should be to build a 115-125 KN (wet thrust) low-bypass turbofan engine for the Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft.

I click on this thread hopefully to hear significant progress with Kaveri.
All I hear is 'should' and 'would'.

Nowadays defence reporters are sounding like wish list promoters.
When do they report what is happening?

Hmmm, in twitter discussion with Saurav Jha. Yes, I know it sounds far-fetched but is there a plan for this? Kaveri for the Rafale?

https://mobile.twitter.com/AdvaidhyaT/s ... 0603425792
Advaidhya Tiwari
@AdvaidhyaT
Replying to
@ersakthivel1 @SJha1618 and @HALHQBLR

The RAFALE MMRCA_2 will use Kaveri engine itself. No Snecma involvement. Instead Rafale itself will use Kaveri engine made by India. India is making Kaveri fully indigenously without French help

That is incorrect. But would be nice if it could work, but incorrect.

chola wrote:Hmmm, in twitter discussion with Saurav Jha. Yes, I know it sounds far-fetched but is there a plan for this? Kaveri for the Rafale?

Advaidhya Tiwari
@AdvaidhyaT
Replying to
@ersakthivel1 @SJha1618 and @HALHQBLR

The RAFALE MMRCA_2 will use Kaveri engine itself. No Snecma involvement. Instead Rafale itself will use Kaveri engine made by India. India is making Kaveri fully indigenously without French help
real good stuff that these guys are smoking.

is the afghan connection paying off at last??

chola wrote:Hmmm, in twitter discussion with Saurav Jha. Yes, I know it sounds far-fetched but is there a plan for this? Kaveri for the Rafale?

Saar, normally I would just pass over a tweet like that.

But I saw the handle of Saurav Jha and the official one of HAL in the thread. So maybe something to it, I thought.

Can’t fault a guy for being hopeful. :|

Saar, normally I would just pass over a tweet like that.

But I saw the handle of Saurav Jha and the official one of HAL in the thread. So maybe something to it, I thought.

Can’t fault a guy for being hopeful. :|
not blaming you in any way, saar.

these guys, including HAL ought to know better.

HAL is back to playing games once again, especially the ex-chairman who is definitely into some top quality stuff. (pun intended)