Operation Balakot: News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Operation Balakot: News & Discussion

Austin wrote:More Images here done by DFRLab .......Seems no impact

https://medium.com/dfrlab/surgical-stri ... 6cda834b24
Looks like it missed. No big deal. The correct location will be hit again. Live and learn.

Katare wrote:As for as I know, we have not seen any images of that madrassa compound. No journalist have been allowed anywhere near it either. No interview with students or moulana have been aired by Pakistan TV channels. If the target is intact why not sho itcyo the world.

IAF hadn’t disclosed how many bombs it dropped, so it is possible that the madrassa was destroyed but a few bombs strayed from their targets and landed in nearby forest. Since they would have carried more bombs than needed so some mirages may have dumped them (heavy 1 ton bomb) to lighten up once the saw enemy aircraft approaching.

So it is possible that the target was obliterated and additional bombs were dropped/fell in yhe near by forest. So both Indian and Pakistan claims voild be true. Unfortunately Indian authorities are tight lipped and Pakistan is showing its side in a bikini.

there was a statement in the paki parliament by sheik rashid, their railway minister, admitting to the fact that huge damage has been caused to the terrorist camp in the attack.

I hate to be mean, but....

Until the MEA or MOD release info, from the civilian satellite pics, it looks like a miss. Some of the debris seem to match up with the fins of the Spice 2000 as well.

Michael J. Sheldon
‏ @Michael1Sheldon
6h6 hours ago

My latest for @DFRLab on the IAF strike near Balakot.
Main takeaway: no significant damage was done, which is odd considering the munitions involved.
See the highlighted part.

it does not matter now if nobody was killed or 300 was killed. people can always carp about details - its been 3 days under clouds and enough time to do whatever was needed.

fact is the camp has been there for 15 years.

the message has been sent that we can reach in and take shots at whatever we need to.

every jihadi is going to get nervous about sleeping in such isolated camps again.

^^^Then it needs to be hit again.

Katare wrote:As for as I know, we have not seen any images of that madrassa compound. No journalist have been allowed anywhere near it either. No interview with students or moulana have been aired by Pakistan TV channels. If the target is intact why not sho itcyo the world.

IAF hadn’t disclosed how many bombs it dropped, so it is possible that the madrassa was destroyed but a few bombs strayed from their targets and landed in nearby forest. Since they would have carried more bombs than needed so some mirages may have dumped them (heavy 1 ton bomb) to lighten up once the saw enemy aircraft approaching.

So it is possible that the target was obliterated and additional bombs were dropped/fell in yhe near by forest. So both Indian and Pakistan claims voild be true. Unfortunately Indian authorities are tight lipped and Pakistan is showing its side in a bikini.

there was a statement in the paki parliament by sheik rashid, their railway minister, admitting to the fact that huge damage has been caused to the terrorist camp in the attack.
I saw the video twice, no ehere he said that.

Mort Walker wrote:^^^Then it needs to be hit again.
they wont setup shop so soon in same location. but yes other sites can and should be hit again..... like israel launches routine small strikes on targets in lebanon and syria...not much news cycle.

What happens when 4 of these 1000 kg bombs ( or 2240 lbs x 4 bombs) are dropped?

I believe that the crater would be huge. So, why aren't we seeing the crater in the image posted?

khan wrote:
from that article
Al Jazeera was unable to visit the site of the school.
If that school is pristine and undamaged, why aren't the Pakistani's giving everyone guided tours of that "school" and salvaging a lot of H&D?
Also many people (including me) have made that point to AlJazeera via twitter..

Mort Walker wrote:I hate to be mean, but....

Until the MEA or MOD release info, from the civilian satellite pics, it looks like a miss. Some of the debris seem to match up with the fins of the Spice 2000 as well.
Its been 3 days. Pak has enough time to give photos of the site to their local media to debunk the claim if no damage done. They have not done so instead they were engaged in false propaganda.
harish_ch

Post by harish_ch »

I am not able to understand what is stopping us from releasing the footage/evidence we have of the terror camp's destruction...That'll shut down all these analysts/bloggers from creating an impression that the strikes failed...we have to counter the false propaganda else the purpose of the strikes itself is lost

bhai in 3 days under cloud cover, a new camp can come up, and a old camp can disappear since the area is cordoned off and ample resources available to set it up as they wish.

kuch bhi change nahi hua. the bar has been raised and air strikes on terror targets the new normal.
Dumal

Post by Dumal »

Wasn't there also reports that many ambulances were seen in the area? What would they have been for if only trees were killed?

harish_ch wrote:I am not able to understand what is stopping us from releasing the footage/evidence we have of the terror camp's destruction...That'll shut down all these analysts/bloggers from creating an impression that the strikes failed...we have to counter the false propaganda else the purpose of the strikes itself is lost
what the satellites see now is what has been arranged after 3 convenient days under cloud cover.

earlier we had 1 pic of a damaged tree and that was it.

you can chose to believe what you want to believe.

there is no need to join in SM wars over this, just ignore , smile and move on. the goals have been achieved even if the payload of those weapons were birthday cards from archies.

Singha wrote:it does not matter now if nobody was killed or 300 was killed. people can always carp about details - its been 3 days under clouds and enough time to do whatever was needed.

the message has been sent that we can reach in and take shots at whatever we need to.

every jihadi is going to get nervous about sleeping in such isolated camps again.
What objective did we achieve with strike and post strike , any thing concrete

harish_ch wrote:I am not able to understand what is stopping us from releasing the footage/evidence we have of the terror camp's destruction...That'll shut down all these analysts/bloggers from creating an impression that the strikes failed...we have to counter the false propaganda else the purpose of the strikes itself is lost
I am sorry to say you are being too naive on this point. No amount of proof will satisfy those who have made up their minds. For the folks on the fence, new narrative will be manufactured.

This is for US and Liberal lurkers -
This is why Pakistan should NEVER be trusted. Here the foreign minister of Pakistan defending one of the most wanted terrorist in the world banned by UN, US, Canada, EU etc. THIS is the true colors of Pakistan. Those who think Pakistan wants peace should think again..
Talk all you want about Pakistan ‘winning the perception war’, but watch their Foreign Minister waffle and weasel out of a reply on arresting Masood Azhar, and sickeningly express apparent concern that he is unwell. How’s that for perceptions?
https://twitter.com/ananthkrishnan/stat ... 3885104129

you are dealing with the Govt and propagandu machinery for which 1971 is a major victory. naive dharmic indians who go by facts are the first ones who dont know what to do against all the fakery.

Austin, you are intelligent enough. no need to act aggressive and 'disruptor' here.
Muns

Post by Muns »

Post by khan »

Singha wrote:it does not matter now if nobody was killed or 300 was killed. people can always carp about details - its been 3 days under clouds and enough time to do whatever was needed.

It is now acceptable to pre-emptily attack terrorist targets in Pakistan from the air.

Singha wrote:you can chose to believe what you want to believe.

there is no need to join in SM wars over this, just ignore , smile and move on. the goals have been achieved even if the payload of those weapons were birthday cards from archies.
Exactly.

Anyone genuinely concerned about GOI/Modi's prospect with the mango man must reflect back on the period immediately following Surgical strike 1. There was equal if not more disinformation then too and that too from the main political players in India! What was the end result amongst the mangos?

These days everyone has on opinion and an outlet via social media so we have many voices. Theek hai.

Guys there are always westerners who payment will claim Paki pasand reports. In you were an adult in 1999 and beloved media Pakistan was winning the war it's airforce was shooting Indian aircraft with BV R, Mujahdeen are winning etc. It finally culminated in PM Atlantique shutdown. Similarly we will find the truth after some time have patientance. Creditability of dubious sources will be destroyed in time.

Do you believe Osama is still alive too ? After all there’s no proof of his killing.

People running around ‘but but propaganda! Why doesn’t somebody do something ??’ dont seem to realize their own behavior is a propaganda win for the other side.

Propaganda is the art of crafting your message, including how you craft the message about how your sides message should be crafted . Never forget that .
Ganesh_S

Post by Ganesh_S »

Phulwama should have been avenged by attacking the regular pakistani army installations as soon as it occurred.

Unless the pain is not inflicted upon the handlers any preemptive strike is useless. The stand off would have lasted a while but would have resulted in PA realising the cost of retaliation for any misadventures would have to be borne by them. This process would also ensure a gradual depletion of critical war supplies.
Last edited by Ganesh_S on 01 Mar 2019 11:58, edited 1 time in total.
Shivaji

Post by Shivaji »

Pakis had used mostly JeM cadre for attacks on us (Pathankot, Uri, Pulwama). Now that JeM has been dealt a big blow, LeT cadres may be used as cannon fodder by Pakis henceforth.

If this happens, we can target Hafiz Saeed in next main project as he is anyway UN designated terrorist and Pakis have attacked our military installations this time.

In all WA groups I am in, I have not seen any messages circulating where Imran Khan is hailed as a hero. On few where it was tried, other group members immediately thrashed them into submission. So apart from fake liberals, no one is buying that crap.

We changed the rule of the game.
We raised the bar of retaliation against which each subsequent government will be measured.
we shook the international community
we called out pak nuke bluff
any next terror strike in india will now bring pakis and the supporting west on their edge.
Shaktimaan

Post by Shaktimaan »

Austin wrote: What objective did we achieve with strike and post strike , any thing concrete
Saar, from the day of the airstrikes a new era of "Enforced Peace" has dawned. Earlier, we used to think that appeasement, peepee-to-peepee contact and pappi jhappi would give us peace but it's clearly not working. Now Bharat Sarkaar has sent a message that we strike at will whenever there's any hostile activity from the Pakis. This is the only language that they understand, as we know from 1965, 1971 and 1999...

That's the achievement of this strike. Don't get caught up in the details of how many pigs were sent to hell, which goat shed was destroyed etc. That is all moh maya.

Sanju wrote:What happens when 4 of these 1000 kg bombs ( or 2240 lbs x 4 bombs) are dropped?

I believe that the crater would be huge. So, why aren't we seeing the crater in the image posted?
Each warhead is 907 Kg of high explosive. I'm not a munitions experts, but someone could comment on the size of the crater in the pics to calculate explosive size.

What we need to be careful of is that the opposition parties, the mahachorbandhan, will use this to say Modi is a failure and capitalize on it.

Why do we dhoti shiver so much? I do not understand why we want approval and seek that others do the same!
Sanju wrote:
Michael J. Sheldon
‏ @Michael1Sheldon
6h6 hours ago

My latest for @DFRLab on the IAF strike near Balakot.
Main takeaway: no significant damage was done, which is odd considering the munitions involved.
So a gora (Michael Sheldon), most likely 5 years out of college, sits as an analyst in some high fangled name "Digital Forensics Lab" which is an arm of a 'think tank' which has a definite agenda (Working Together to Secure the Future. Renewing the Atlantic Community for Global Challenges).

This kid-gora-analyst talks nonsense and refutes (because he is paid to analyze, he paid on quantity and not on quality and his analysis has a directed motive defined by the paymaster) based on some photos supplied by the bakis who we know are always truthful (right?).

And we go around asking "show me the proof" to our own armed forces!

It says a lot about our lack of self-confidence in general.
Last edited by disha on 01 Mar 2019 12:02, edited 1 time in total.

Deleted
harish_ch

Post by harish_ch »

harish_ch wrote: I am sorry to say you are being too naive on this point. No amount of proof will satisfy those who have made up their minds. For the folks on the fence, new narrative will be manufactured.
Pankaj sir...I am not worried about ppl who already made up their minds...but am worried abt the people who actually were happy earlier with the strikes, being now manipulated into believing that this was a futile effort....

Immediately after the attack, people rallied behind the govt though traitorous opposition tried to create a political angle...Media has hyped this saying 300-350 terrorists were killed and nobody questioned it....but now with so called "neutral" observers stating that the strikes are ineffective,added to this captured pilot drama ,this shall dampen the spirit of common people...

Thanks to the Gurus at BRF, people like me, who know not much, understand the profound importance of this strike ,but aam junta are not so aware of the intricacies involved. All they see is social media,news papers n tvs to get their information ..and this is the group that votes in elections and hence very important to be convinced of the results...I hope govt presents our narrative so that we can take it into people as much as possible...

Even better would be to strike now in such a way that even a blind man can see the impact...

Jai hind

Weapons hit the intended targets & caused the intended damage (in Balakot)
Air Vice Marshal RGK Kapoor
I will believe the AVM's quote.

Mort Walker wrote: I'm not a munitions experts, but someone could comment on the size of the crater in the pics to calculate explosive size.
My fundamental question, how do we know we are being shown the right crater by the bakis?
harish_ch

Post by harish_ch »

Mort Walker wrote:^^^Then it needs to be hit again.
Yes sir...Agree 100%

Time to gloat a bit. This Abdul was the first one to identify the madrassa.

viewtopic.php?p=2326003&sid=2c94716d0af ... c#p2326003

Now, many sources confirm that it is where the strikes happened!!

From Balistan to Balochistan, Kyber to Karachi, Green cover is open.

Shaktimaan wrote:
Austin wrote: What objective did we achieve with strike and post strike , any thing concrete
Saar, from the day of the airstrikes a new era of "Enforced Peace" has dawned. Earlier, we used to think that appeasement, peepee-to-peepee contact and pappi jhappi would give us peace but it's clearly not working. Now Bharat Sarkaar has sent a message that we strike at will whenever there's any hostile activity from the Pakis. This is the only language that they understand, as we know from 1965, 1971 and 1999...

That's the achievement of this strike. Don't get caught up in the details of how many pigs were sent to hell, which goat shed was destroyed etc. That is all moh maya.
No. It is not moh maya. The GoI specifically stated that Masood Azhar's BIL, Yosuf Azhar, was one of the masterminds of the IC814 hijacking, and got him in this attack. That should not have been said if they were uncertain. It would be even worse if the compound was not hit at all and show the GoI as lying.

Amber G. wrote:This is for US and Liberal lurkers -
This is why Pakistan should NEVER be trusted. Here the foreign minister of Pakistan defending one of the most wanted terrorist in the world banned by UN, US, Canada, EU etc. THIS is the true colors of Pakistan. Those who think Pakistan wants peace should think again..
+72. Totally in agreement.

disha wrote:Why do we dhoti shiver so much? I do not understand why we want approval and seek that others do the same!
Sanju wrote:
So a gora (Michael Sheldon), most likely 5 years out of college, sits as an analyst in some high fangled name "Digital Forensics Lab" which is an arm of a 'think tank' which has a definite agenda (Working Together to Secure the Future. Renewing the Atlantic Community for Global Challenges).

This kid-gora-analyst talks nonsense and refutes (because he is paid to analyze, he paid on quantity and not on quality and his analysis has a directed motive defined by the paymaster) based on some photos supplied by the bakis who we know are always truthful (right?).

And we go around asking "show me the proof" to our own armed forces!

It says a lot about our lack of self-confidence in general.
Saar, the highlighted part was for the CYA attempt here.