Operation Balakot: News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Operation Balakot: News & Discussion

What is this love for Rafale ? Root for LCA Tejas. I could undertsand this love for foreign stuff in comment section of TOIlet news article. It is disturbing to see people here just rooting for Rafale and ignoring LCA completely.

jamwal wrote:What is this love for Rafale ? Root for LCA Tejas. I could undertsand this love for foreign stuff in comment section of TOIlet news article. It is disturbing to see people here just rooting for Rafale and ignoring LCA completely.

Because they will come faster than Tejas and are more potent. To be honest we need both. Tejas and Rafale in parallel to add to squadron numbers. First get to 42 and then 55.

Nope. If there is money and effort, LCA will come much faster and will be a lot more beneficial and cheaper in long term.

partha wrote:Pakistani airspace closed for 3 more days. Fresh NOTAM issued.
stop it! just stop it! stop this ridiculous amount of shalwar shivering.

Namo is not thaaat bad. good old grandpa onlee. or is he? :twisted: you never know ...

Mudi is a weak and insecure man ... his weakness i.e. his silence is being misinterpreted as aggression. Not fair.

He is such an insecure man that he is addressing political rally in Tamil Nadu.
Last edited by pankajs on 01 Mar 2019 16:26, edited 1 time in total.
rgosain

Post by rgosain »

Sumeet wrote:
jamwal wrote:What is this love for Rafale ? Root for LCA Tejas. I could undertsand this love for foreign stuff in comment section of TOIlet news article. It is disturbing to see people here just rooting for Rafale and ignoring LCA completely.

Because they will come faster than Tejas and are more potent. To be honest we need both. Tejas and Rafale in parallel to add to squadron numbers. First get to 42 and then 55.
Absolutely correct - now you can see why the UPA failed to induct either in order to undermine the iaf, and why RaGa has been acting against the RaFale.
Also the deal with the French may allow for emergency access to a whole load of French kit as was the case 20 years ago during Kargil. This could include M2K.

The recovery of the AMRAAM has led to a lot of CT in the western press about the source of the missile.
Last edited by rgosain on 01 Mar 2019 16:30, edited 1 time in total.

1A order is yet to be signed due to price haggling b/w HAL and IAF. That is a low hanging fruit to pluck right there.

Karthik S wrote:
Karan M wrote:I dont think its Rafales, its stuff we can use right away.

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com ... L1500_.jpg
That looks like Arnold Schwarzenegger's shopping cart after he broke into a gun store in Texas.
I can assure you, that this is literally how we end up getting stuff after every "incident". Pathankot, Uri and now Balakot. We will be shopping heavily & I hope Jetli is told to read the riot act to his ministry and told to s*crew the expenditure limits on the budget, forget the fiscal deficit BS & go for a heavy procurement. We have 3 months before this Govt goes to election, no point in waiting forever.

Yep France and Israel would respond fastest as long as you have the $$$.

Rafale gets combination of AESA and Meteor BVRAAM which will give us a huge boost. Imagine backed with AWACS, surrounded by MKIs and on ground having S-400, the long range Meteor will be a game changer.

Also, Rafale + Avionics + Scalp will give IAF a whole new league of DPSA (deep penetration strike package) given that will be a new norm to whip TSP in future.

Prasad wrote:1A order is yet to be signed due to price haggling b/w HAL and IAF. That is a low hanging fruit to pluck right there.
1A order & Akash follow on IAF order for 7 more squadrons.
milindc

Post by milindc »

milindc wrote:
Same pic on Feb 20th and Feb28th? I don't get it.
Where on GE? GE has not been updated.

The before picture is from GE. The after picture is from Zoom Earth, which updates daily.
On Zoom Earth only, thats the only portal where you can change the date and check out.
I tried two dates, Feb 20th and Feb 28th.

Shifting focus away from Mudi's "5 inch" chest for a moment, the UNSC resolution on Masood Azhar is currently under discussion. Maybe ... Mudi is waiting for some concrete results from that discussion BEFORE launching the next phase or at least deciding the next step.

He might have rebuffed *friends* of India on the Baki question instead asking them for results at UNSC. The Cheeni and the bakis would have been notified by these friends and hence the bakis are taking precautions.

Cheenis are evaluating their own position. The next step might damage CPEC bridge as well as a TSPA brigade HQ. That would put the Cheenis in a pickle and advertise the CPEC vulnerability to the whole world. OTOH, siding with India will most certainly cause a rift with the bakis though the bakis are hardly in a position to defy the Chinese. But such an action will certainly cause lots of heartburns at Rawalpindi. Dost dost na raha and all that.

All farts only ... for what ever it is worth.
Last edited by pankajs on 01 Mar 2019 16:38, edited 1 time in total.

This conflict has shown limitations of heavy fighters like Su-30MKI in a short and sharp conflict. They're too expensive to keep on-station forever and are too visible (unstealthy) if taken across the border. More power to LCA and MWF.

Immediate shopping list should include Airbus Refuellers, Our desi chapatis over Airbus, additional Rafale. While Tejas will be coming for sure, we need a bomb truck. Rafale + MKI is as good a combo as anything out there. Except may be F-22 and F-15E.

JTull wrote:This conflict has shown limitations of heavy fighters like Su-30MKI in a short and sharp conflict. They're too expensive to keep on-station forever and are too visible (unstealthy) if taken across the border. More power to LCA and MWF.
JTull, you are drawing incorrect inferences from sketchy data. The IAF has deliberately not released many details on Su-30 ops for obvious reasons. We'll know what all they did in due time.

Is something going on in Helmand Afghanistan? Looks like taliban struck army camp, US and afghan causalities reported. Number of causalities is yet to be ascertained.

JTull wrote:This conflict has shown limitations of heavy fighters like Su-30MKI in a short and sharp conflict. They're too expensive to keep on-station forever and are too visible (unstealthy) if taken across the border. More power to LCA and MWF.
Am sure the Israeli Air Force will disagree with you when you say heavy fighters (read F-15s) have limitations in such conflicts.

Refuelers and awacs. That MRTT should've been here by now.
sudhan

Post by sudhan »

Karthik S wrote:Is something going on in Helmand Afghanistan? Looks like taliban struck army camp, US and afghan causalities reported. Number of causalities is yet to be ascertained.
Yes, latest report from Afg states the attack on the base was beaten back. No US casualities

Karthik S wrote:Is something going on in Helmand Afghanistan? Looks like taliban struck army camp, US and afghan causalities reported. Number of causalities is yet to be ascertained.
a combined afghan govt & us sf base has been hit by some 30 taliban from all sides, who used ladders to scale the walls at night.
some of them were suicide bombers too. casualties quite heavy but said to be contained and in process of being swatted now.

https://twitter.com/hashtag/taliban?lang=en

taking a random look at recent posts, the taliban have unleashed complete mayhem all over the place, have camps to prepare fresh batches of trainees, are heavily armed both from own purchases and war booty and most importantly, the afghan national army seems to lack the kind of small unit leadership to fight the talibs in what is small actions spread over vast areas. these formations would likely be ok in large divisions but in the kind of bush war you need good leaders and better training to make it. ambushes are rife .. US is relying more and more on C17 lifting loads than highways.......c17 loads rose 20x in 2018 over 2017

Is it pak ploy to make US stay back in Afghanistan? Why would a weaker side (taliban) attack a base with US soldiers, when the later is leaving their country?
M_Joshi

Post by M_Joshi »

schinnas wrote: It will also mean death for Rafale scandal nonsense that was peddled by Congress. They will not dare to raise one sound on it again.
You're underestimating the Congress. Ye Rahul Gandhi ki nayi Congress hai, ye chori bhi karegi aur kotwaal ko bhi daantegi.

Another ceasefire violation in Rajouri

Karthik S wrote:Immediate shopping list should include Airbus Refuellers, Our desi chapatis over Airbus, additional Rafale. While Tejas will be coming for sure, we need a bomb truck. Rafale + MKI is as good a combo as anything out there. Except may be F-22 and F-15E.
First get that third Netra into IAF hands!

imo we need another 6 Netras. the 3rd can remain with HAL as the development flying rig.

question is between our CAG/SC/CVC/dalals Embraer got blacklisted. the culprits are roaming around.

a war note/cabinet note needs to be passed and 6 airframes immediately purchased and sent to brazil. surely if we do it today it will still take 18 months to get first one into IAF hands.

sitting on our thumbs waiting for a E3 Sentry on a a330 airframe that was never used for awacs earlier is the typical indian way - aano do jab ayega . we are actually better off getting used 767 and having boeing do the mod because it has been done earlier JASDF.
when we will buy the airbus and in what timeline airbus will do it is a mirage
NOBODY wants a giant dish awacs on a330 airframe not even france :lol:

this kind of khayali pulao was possible if we had our own airbus or boeing, but not otherwise.

Yep... it speaks volumes that we were talking of donating the 3rd one, because because we need bigger Phalcons not chotus.. and then war comes and everyone is like oh, super useful.

nam wrote:F16 getting hit on it's a**

https://twitter.com/sayareakd/status/11 ... 5015544832
Excellent detective work by Sayareakd!! Spread it far and wide.
Shaktimaan

Post by Shaktimaan »

With this video there should be no doubt in anyone's mind that the Paki F-16 was indeed shot down by the IAF.

Please download a copy for your records, the entire thread if you can. SayareakD has done an incredible job (he is a DFI regular I think). Back him up please.

Aditya_V wrote:Another ceasefire violation in Rajouri
Thank you Pakistan, for being such utter, total, incontrovertible imbeciles. Here, we were, concernedabout the situation de-escalating before you guys got a much deserved a$$ whooping. And here you are, informing all of us, that you remain complete and total morons asking, no, begging for a thrashing. Thank you.
rgosain

Post by rgosain »

Shaktimaan wrote:

With this video there should be no doubt in anyone's mind that the Paki F-16 was indeed shot down by the IAF.
Looks like a lens flare and the sound of the engine is consistent throughout - not clinching evidence

Aditya_V wrote:Another ceasefire violation in Rajouri
Thank you Pakistan, for being such utter, total, incontrovertible imbeciles. Here, we were, concernedabout the situation de-escalating before you guys got a much deserved a$$ whooping. And here you are, informing all of us, that you remain complete and total morons asking, no, begging for a thrashing. Thank you.

Yes! Hate to sound like a warmonger but no likee just ending like this.

It will not end now the Pakis dont feel they have been hit hard publicly but privately know the truth and will have to bury thier dead quietly, Ripe for them to try something again.
rkhanna

Post by rkhanna »

Shaktimaan wrote:

Looks like lens flare?!
chandrasekaran

Post by chandrasekaran »

rgosain wrote:
Shaktimaan wrote:
Looks like a lens flare and the sound of the engine is consistent throughout - not clinching evidence
Two fighters were flying past and that could explain the sound. Not sure about the lens flare, but in another video too we see this orange ball.

It has been reported that Wing Commander Varthaman has just crossed over to India. Please provide pictures as and when they come in. The Wing Co is a HERO!!
sudhan

Post by sudhan »

Looks like medical check up is on going on our side..

Rakesh wrote:It has been reported that Wing Commander Varthaman has just crossed over to India. Please provide pictures as and when they come in. The Wing Co is a HERO!!
That is a very interesting sentiment.
The men and women in uniform never see them selves as that.

Guys please watch it live here:

https://www.republicworld.com/livetv

You should watch it as it happens.