Operation Balakot: News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Operation Balakot: News & Discussion

Another fresh encounter with casualties on our side? It seems like we have lost 7 of our men today! I understand a war like situation means there will be loses but still get a sick feeling in my stomach every time a solider of ours is lost.

Rakesh wrote:They are purposely delaying handing over Wing Commander Varthaman because they want us to give them an ultimatum.

They can then go to town saying that we are escalating tensions. What a stupid strategy.
No need of ultimatums. Just fly some jets by border areas and force no-fly zone again. When flights stay grounded for another 24 hrs, dimag theekane aajayega.
Vamsi_V

Post by Vamsi_V »

Don't no why people are talking about peace when we are taking casualties everyday. True peace is when terrorism seizes to exist.

Bart S wrote:Pakis are really exploiting our soft spot, which is TRP hungry salivating media channels and gullible middle class jackasses who lap up this kind of stuff like some form of entertainment.

We really need a better media management and coordination strategy.
I think after kargil, even with BDutt, they thought it was their lack of global reach and a credible media that hurt them badly. They seem to have worked the following things in the last 20 years
1. Infested with paki loving journos, barkha,rajdip etc are all cut from same clothes
2. Tried to control narratives through use of SM using someimes fake and sometimes "intellectual messages"
3. sowing divisions across multiple lines, population, asking for religion through various assets. Lack of govt control on funding is another thing
4. Left govt helpless to act against errants, NDTV pathankot saga
Despite of their best attempts, there are one or two aberrations like Zee/republic that have guaged the public sentiment correctly and ineptly tried to capture. their hearts are in right place, but they are quite inept barring major gaurav arya and other guests. But the thing is republic have set in motion the right things. they have right vision. they many not be there but they will aspire for it. it is the duty of rakshaks to help them in the process too.

Vamsi31 wrote:Don't no why people are talking about peace when we are taking casualties everyday. True peace is when terrorism pakistan seizes to exist.
Fixed it for you sir.
YashG

Post by YashG »

@moderators & BR junta.

I think a mig-21 shooting down F-16 is history. It changes a lot of calculations. The aviation world is talking about this. It would be great if we can open a new topic on analysis and crosslinks of various credible internet discussion on this historic event. Over time the link would start appearing in search results - it will be very nice for more aviation enthusiasts to come across this piece of history & the IAF brilliance.

I've been a lurker, occassional poster for 15 years on BR. I'm not sure if this is okay as a new thread. If BR junta & moderators agree then either I can start the thread or please someone else do the same. ( if this request need be in another forum - please let me know)

Pakistanis are showing their pakistaniyat in releasing the wing commander. In a sad way , it's good that all the goodwill ImTheDim had created in the hearts of the fools this side of the border has evaporated.

This delay has left a bad taste and this pakistniyat must be paid with compound interest.
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

A convoy has just reached wagah border.
Vamsi_V

Post by Vamsi_V »

Thakur_B wrote:
Vamsi31 wrote:Don't no why people are talking about peace when we are taking casualties everyday. True peace is when terrorism pakistan seizes to exist.
Fixed it for you sir.
Is there any difference really :)

News reporting; Pak has recorded one more video before releasing him and that video is currently being played in Pak media

Utter disgusting
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

nits wrote:News reporting; Pak has recorded one more video before releasing him and that video is currently being played in Pak media

Utter disgusting
Like I said, another solid Thapad needed.

TOI reporting Pakistan changed the time of handover twice. Handover may now take place at 9pm.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 211492.cms

apparently the 'dead' terrorist woke up ...surprising the CRPF, Police... SOP ..shoot 100 bullets into any body...

sampat wrote:
ArjunPandit wrote: sir i am sure they would remember the night bombings of 1971, when we didnt have desi gps and sat recons. Imagine what they are gonna be up for today. It will be best that they blow a fuel tankers or depots in karachi themselves and blame india to be aggressor and use the smoke to prevent india from getting ground intel. Knowing their mindset, they can actually do it!
They have done similar things in past. long time ago in my school days, paki was proudly narrating how their brave momin army destroyed their own weapon depot and risked destroying a city to siphon off stinger missile from US.

True Wah Cantonment fire.

YashG wrote:@moderators & BR junta.

I think a mig-21 shooting down F-16 is history. It changes a lot of calculations. The aviation world is talking about this. It would be great if we can open a new topic on analysis and crosslinks of various credible internet discussion on this historic event. Over time the link would start appearing in search results - it will be very nice for more aviation enthusiasts to come across this piece of history & the IAF brilliance.

I've been a lurker, occassional poster for 15 years on BR. I'm not sure if this is okay as a new thread. If BR junta & moderators agree then either I can start the thread or please someone else do the same. ( if this request need be in another forum - please let me know)
Please go ahead and start the thread with title
Mig-21 shoots down F-16 in Kashmir

And your comments there about the historic nature.
Put the data on Mig-21-93 Bison upgrade and F-16 Blk 52 Twin seater configuration
Also any data on pilots experience etc.

Don't need permission for good work.
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

That propaganda video is heavily edited.
DrRatnadip

Post by DrRatnadip »

He is here.. Thank God..
sudhan

Post by sudhan »

sudhan wrote:A lot of planes without any destination registered, air borne over paki airspace. Something is up..

I think some high profile visits are happening to 4father countries
Two more wide bodies have joined the fray.. Make a beeline to somewhere..

Why so many wide bodies? All from Lahore.. Gonna keep an eye on this..

may be evacuation of some sort? family members of military commanders?

Ok .. the Bakis did make it a display that India was trying to avoid.

Ok back to business as usual let’s open it up where we want
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

HE IS BACK ON INDIAN SOIL!

He is back.

9.21 PM IST. WION TV.

he was accompanied by the indian consulate defence and press attache -- a military officer and a lady.

You mean High commission , there's no Indian consulate in Bakistan!!

there seems to be some kind of injury on his left leg.

ok..I am not knowledgeable about consulate vs embassy vs high commission.
Shaktimaan

Post by Shaktimaan »

The Pakis have made a propaganda video featuring the Wing Commander. Disgusting psy ops video. Not sharing it here or anywhere on social media.
Shaktimaan

Post by Shaktimaan »

habal wrote:there seems to be some kind of injury on his left leg.
One eyewitness claimed that he was shot in the leg by the mob. We'll find out soon enough.

Picture of Abhinandan at Wagah. I can see stadium chairs in the background. (This is for Admiral Rakesh :wink: )

https://www.jagran.com/news/national-su ... tml?src=p1

धन्य है वह माता जिसने इस वीर सपूत को जन्म दिया
Last edited by Kakkaji on 01 Mar 2019 21:42, edited 1 time in total.

pralay wrote:enemy awacs patroling with transponder on
https://www.flightradar24.com/DG44/1fa8898d
There is some heavy troop movement via PIA planes from (or to?) Lahore. Check out https://www.flightradar24.com/PIA8307, https://www.flightradar24.com/PIA8365 and https://www.flightradar24.com/PIA8369 all boeing 777 aircraft.

I take it back, looked at the flight history - all these 3 777 widebodies were stuck in Lahore as scheduled aircraft as of the 27th noon, so they are merely being moved out - 2 to Isloo and 1 presumably to a gulf destination, possibly to ferry back stranded passengers. I don't see any military impact here.
Last edited by yensoy on 01 Mar 2019 22:04, edited 1 time in total.

the lady next to him - dr fareha bugti - director of india desk in pak foreign ministry

Abhinandan is back in India, India Today and ANI have reported.

Kakkaji wrote:Picture of Abhinandan at Wagah. I can see stadium chairs in the background. (This is for Admiral Rakesh :wink: )

https://www.jagran.com/news/national-su ... tml?src=p1
Thank you Kakkaji!

Welcome Back Sir! You have created combat aviation history!

Post by khan »

Looks like they have closed most of their airspace except for limited routes. My guess is these routes are by their Western border:

(A0210/19 NOTAMR A0209/19
Q)OPXX/QRAXX///W/000/999/
A)OPKR OPLR
B)1903011140 C)1903040800 EST
E)PAKISTAN AIRSPACE WILL REMAIN CLOSED FOR ALL OPERATIONS TILL
04TH MARCH 2019,TIME 0800 UTC(EST) EXCEPT THE FOLLOWING:

FLIGHT OPERATIONS ONLY TO/FROM KARACHI INTERNATIONAL, PESHAWAR
INTERNATIONAL, QUETTA INTERNATIONAL AND ISLAMABAD INTERNATIONAL
AIRPORTS WITH RESTRICTED ENTRY/EXIT AS FOLLOWS WILL BE AVAILABLE
W.E.F 01ST MARCH'2019 TIME 1300 UTC.
I) ALPOR-LAKIV-KA-BEGIM-KC
II) METBI/EGRON-JI-LAKIV-KA-BEGIM-KC
III) ASVIB/KEBUD-PG-DOSTI-KC
IV) KC-BEGIM-MELOM-PARET-TAPDO
V) KC-BEGIM-MELOM-PARET-PG-ASVIB/KEBUD
VI) KC-BEGIM-MELOM-PARET-JI-EGRON/METBI
VII) OPPS-HANGU G325 KALAT-DERBO/ASVIB (VIA PG)/METBI OR EGRON
(VIA PG-JI) AND VICE VERSA
VIII) OPIS-KALMI-HANGU G325 KALAT-DERBO/ASVIB(VIA PG)/METBI OR
EGRON (VIA PG-JI) AND VICE VERSA
IX) OPPS/OPIS-HANGU-LAJAK/DOBAT(VIA REGET)/SITAX(VIA SAJAN) AND VICE 
VERSA
X) OPKC-PARET-PG G325 PS DCT 3550N07210E DCT PURPA
XI) OPIS-HANGU-PS DCT 3550N07210E DCT PURPA AND VICE VERSA
XII) PURPA DCT 3550N07210E DCT PS G325 PG-DOSTI-KC
XIII) DOMSTIC OPERATION BTN OPIS/OPPS AND OPKC WILL BE AVBL ON ROUTE
OPIS/OPPS-HANGU G325 PG DOSTI KC
XIV) DOMESTIC OPERATION BTN OPKC AND OPPS/OPIS WILL BE AVBL ON ROUTE
KC-PARET-PG G325 HANGU-OPPS/OPIS
XV) DOMESTIC OPERATION BTN OPQT AND OPKC WILL BE AVBL ON ROUTE
OPQT-KALAT-PG-DOSTI-KC
XVI) DOMESTIC OPERATION BTN OPKC AND OPQT WILL BE AVBL ON ROUTE
KC-PARET-PG-KALAT-OPQT
XVII) DOMESTIC OPERATION BTN OPPS AND OPIS WILL BE AVBL ON ROUTE
OPIS-NONIB-OPPS AND VICE VERSA
XVIII) EGRON/METBI-JI/ASVIB-PG-KALAT-OPQT AND VICE VERSA
XIX) DERBO-KALAT-OPQT AND VICE VERSA
XX) OPIS/OPPS-HANGU-ZB-PARLO-OPQT AND VICE VERSA
XXI) ATS ROUTE G325 FOR TRANSITING FLIGHTS WILL BE AVBL AS METBI/
EGRON-JI G325 PS DCT 3550N07210E DCT PURPA AND VICE VERSA
XXII) DEPARTURES FROM PAKISTAN MAY ALSO PLAN FLIGHT ON ATS ROUTE
T385(PG-TAPDO)
XXIII) ARRIVALS FOR PAKISTAN MAY ALSO PLAN FLIGHT ON ATS ROUTE
B505(APELO-PI-PG).)

They are still concerned about the hammer falling on them.

They should be arrested ramana and given the business in tehar where they belong

In response to Pak-backed terrorism, India has definitively changed the rules of the game
https://www.aninews.in/news/world/europ ... 301200413/

By putting out that propaganda video recorded under duress, Pakis have lost any possible goodwill that they might have earned in the minds of gullible people and they must be made to pay for this!

IndraD wrote:no one can beat bakis....

First F16 to be downed in a dog fight with MiG was from PAF by PAF https://www.dnaindia.com/world/report-w ... ce-2725383
I thought Afghan fighter plane shot down a F-16 in early 80s? It was denied by PAF to this day and they claimed it was training and later friendly fire.
Vamsi_V

Post by Vamsi_V »

Can somebody write a good summary of the economic impact of our operations on pakistan so I can share it on Twitter.

Vamsi31 wrote:Can somebody write a good summary of the economic impact of our operations on pakistan so I can share it on Twitter.

One thing I learnt today... Their meds price will skyrocket in 7-10days!