Operation Balakot: News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
ranneel

Re: Operation Balakot: News & Discussion

Post by ranneel »

Maybe time to show them that even the SW-NE route is not safe :evil:

Now the purchase of those cheap R-27 Missiles from Ukraine for USD 250 million makes sense, these SARH missiles can take out the drones while the R-77's, Astra's, MICA's, Hopefully some Metoer for our Upgraded Mirages, Derby on Tejas, Asraam, R-73 et all can be save d up for use on the the PAF fighters.
Shivaji

Post by Shivaji »

Above news of drone strike is said to be around 11:30 am.

There was tweet from Flightradar24 on extension of Paki airspace closure is around 12:30 pm.

Just when people were planning to get back to their lives, we had statements by Air Chief Marshal Dhanoa around 12:30 pm.

Tweets by that Jeffery person on IAF dropping bombs near Fort Abbas (later said to be drop tanks of PAF) is from around 2:30 pm.

Then PM Modi later in the day had (probably deliberate) mix-up between Karachi and Kochi as he stated that Pakistan was on his mind!

I think GOI is toying with Pakis and waiting for them to do something rash for us pounce on that opportunity to complete Project PM Modi talked about. Har har Mahadev if it happens!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_cont ... bEA3KmNnXM

How PAF actually responded to the Indian Air Strike

Shivaji wrote:Information coming out slowly:

https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1102557673076260866

NTRO surveillance of JeM Balakot camp in days leading up to air strike by IAF confirmed around 300 active mobile connections in facility

Full story at below link:

https://www.aninews.in/news/national/ge ... 304183910/
. NTRO can sniff active mobiles , that is serious tech.

It's serious tech if they can eavesdrop on conversation. They just knew total number of mobiles in area which is not that difficult
ranneel

Post by ranneel »

shaun wrote:
Shivaji wrote:Information coming out slowly:

https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1102557673076260866

NTRO surveillance of JeM Balakot camp in days leading up to air strike by IAF confirmed around 300 active mobile connections in facility

Full story at below link:

https://www.aninews.in/news/national/ge ... 304183910/
. NTRO can sniff active mobiles , that is serious tech.
If it is 2G then yes ...you can sniff, create man in the middle attacks over wireless but if it is 3G/4G network it is not possible to break this till now unless you have access to their networks.

How can you find out how many mobile signals? Does it imply a local asset with sophisticated equipment?

It's better if we don't know

mobiles are apparently easy to hack... especially smart phones
gunnvant

Post by gunnvant »

@Jtull ji
Lets not discuss this sirjee. Humble request only. Forgive nanha mujahid. Mods please delete if necessary.

I feel GOTUS gave us the sigint files via their Orion series of geostationary SIGINT sats

http://www.astronautix.com/a/advancedorion.html

makes perfect sense

or gotus has hacked the huawei/zte gear in TSP and has a fork running to our basement :)

It is exactly this kind of operational details we shouldn't be giving out to satisfy the khujli of those morons asking for proof.

I can't even quote how bad this idea is in a MANPADS and IADS environment.
Manish_P wrote:Perhaps a very capable platform in sanitised (from Aerial and SAM threats). But even then what about fast ingress and egress - giving lesser reaction/escape time to the targets?

Why IAF needs planes like this for anti-terror ops - Group Captain Murli Menon (retd).

Given the current India-Pakistan scenario, a large air strike into Pakistan is going to get increasingly difficult. Maybe a one off attack, but repeat strikes are highly unlikely given the dense air defence environment -- AWACS, radar cover etc.

Employment of dedicated lightweight special forces aircraft may provide the answer for repeat anti-terror air strikes with surprise elements intact, the cost benefit assured and attrition minimal.

In the recent past, America's Central Intelligence Agency employed crop duster aircraft like the Thrush 510 G and light helicopters like Little Bird operated by the defence contractor Blackwater in Mali, Iraq and Columbia.

The crop duster aircraft was modified with heavy armour plating and fitted with weaponry like cannons and air to ground rockets to neutralise terrorists effectively. The Austrians are known to have facilitated this.

We can easily undertake these modifications at our IAF Base Repair Depots or even at Hindustan Aeronautics Limited in short time frames to give us a special forces AirPower capability which is vital in the present context.

Dilbu wrote:It is exactly this kind of operational details we shouldn't be giving out to satisfy the khujli of those morons asking for proof.
Yes, first sat footage and now this. Instead of "proving" # of ppl dead in strikes, conduct 10x strikes.
Problem solved.
Iyersan

Post by Iyersan »

Ghar mein ghus ke marenge - PM Modi
I have never been much more proud of my country in my life. #Har Har Mahadev

When did he say that?

Now next time abduls will switch off or throw away their phones before getting into the goat shed for meetings making it that much difficult for the agencies tracking them. Why would NTRO give the tactics away (unless it is psyops)?
Iyersan

Post by Iyersan »

Kashi wrote:When did he say that?
Right now at Ahmedabad medical hospital venue
Iyersan

Post by Iyersan »

Ghar mein ghus ke marenge
Koi desh itna asahay nahin reh sakta...
paatal mein bhi nahin chodunga

NaMo Namaha
#Har Har Mahadev

another theory (since drone had already crossed the border before the missile reached toward it)
MW Toba is some kinda sand dune where the "drone" is supposed to have fallen.

Karan
‏@rathorekaran17
1h1 hour ago
More
Replying to @ShivAroor
More likely escaping pak aircrafts dropping EFTs in an attempt to get away. That’s the debris at MW Toba. After pak air strike India is probably engaging all pak aircraft violating the 10 km zone along the IB n LOC. MW Toba is around 15 HM from IB. Error will not be repeated.
Prashanth_R

Post by Prashanth_R »

Deleted
Last edited by Prashanth_R on 04 Mar 2019 20:38, edited 1 time in total.
Iyersan

Post by Iyersan »

मैं इंतजार अब लम्बा नहीं कर सकता। चुन-चुन के हिसाब लेना मेरी फितरत है :
अब घर में घुस के मारेंगे। 40 साल से आतंकवाद हिन्दुस्तान के सीने में गोलियां दाग रहा है, लेकिन वोट बैंक की राजनीति में डूबे लोग कदम उठाने से डरते थें।

मुझे सत्ता की कुर्सी की परवाह नहीं है, मुझे चिंता मेरे देश की है।

मेरे देश के लोगों की सुरक्षा की है: पीएम
Ardeshir

Post by Ardeshir »

I heard that too - live speech, "Ghar mein ghus ke maarenge!" And the whole crowd erupted in cheers.

Singha wrote:another theory (since drone had already crossed the border before the missile reached toward it)
MW Toba is some kinda sand dune where the "drone" is supposed to have fallen.

Karan
‏@rathorekaran17
1h1 hour ago
More
Replying to @ShivAroor
More likely escaping pak aircrafts dropping EFTs in an attempt to get away. That’s the debris at MW Toba. After pak air strike India is probably engaging all pak aircraft violating the 10 km zone along the IB n LOC. MW Toba is around 15 HM from IB. Error will not be repeated.
If planes jettisoned tanks, then missile wouldn't have hit anything and would have crash landed in pak?

Hows the Khauff?

Singha wrote: ‏@rathorekaran17
1h1 hour ago
More
Replying to @ShivAroor
This was the issue. We tried to be gentleman and follow international rules on 10KM zone. Our BVRs should have been on their way as soon as Pak jet crossed the 10KM line on 27th.
prasannasimha

Post by prasannasimha »

Kashi wrote:When did he say that?
https://twitter.com/republic/status/1102578528770392069

Here

Singha wrote:Image

Hows the Khauff?
berry High Sir
prasannasimha

Post by prasannasimha »

Dilbu wrote:Now next time abduls will switch off or throw away their phones before getting into the goat shed for meetings making it that much difficult for the agencies tracking them. Why would NTRO give the tactics away (unless it is psyops)?
Every statement is done with a purpose. Let us stop at that but its for your own countries safety that such information is selectively released.
Patni

Post by Patni »

No aircraft on CAP will jettison External Fuel Tank, if Pakis trying to say debris are EFT, it only means the aircraft in question was spooked and hightailed it running away as fast as he can and that's when you drop your tank to go supersonic with tail on fire (afterburner).

Below link is absolutely OT, and of mods want to remove it, or move it to appropriate discussion it's fine. I have been trying to digest as much info, from various sources, and my overall perspective is that a lot needs to be done by us dharmics in what, when, and how we disseminate information. There are many reasons to do it, but frankly for now, all it matters is that we break the bubble of pakis and dhimmis. Once cannot underestimate what the confidence, and support of a grateful nation will do to our jawans on the front line.

Below is a small snippet on excellent propaganda done by khan. It's amazing to find out that a 4 star general can reach out to a blogger to do this bit. Maybe we don't need that, or maybe we do, but the initiative to put forward one's narrative is what is left for wanting so far. I'll give the GOI benefit of doubt and say that there is a bigger picture my pea brain is missing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qOTYgcdNrXE

Below is what I believe so far

1) IAF conducted the strike. I do not care about the casualties, and even if there were no cockroaches that got eliminated this is still a success. We demod that we can get into paki land(and mind), whenever you want and will take out our targets. This is a great confidence booster and the narrative need to be spread of this point of view

2) Pakis did try to get back at us. Not sure and I have minimal comprehension of ROE, and the actual battle, but we lost a Mig21, and they lost a F16, and in the end we got our guy back.

Below is pure speculation/confusion on my part....

1) If the ROE necessitated that we do not shoot on paki fighters until they cross into our territory, does that mean we broke ROE by chasing them into POK and following them and then shooting them down, in POK? The sooner we understand that Pakis do not give a shit to ROE the better we will be. We need to just stop playing their game. "Preemption" should be the name of the game with Pakis and always be unpredictable with them.

2) What happened to the pilot(s) of f16? Either they are perished/injured in the crash, or Pakis are holding them up to not divulge more info. If they were injured/perished in the crash, my belief is that it could be because of the nature of ejection itself. I do not believe that they were lynched by the crowds.

[\http:\\ubcnews\wag\yomma.com\404.html]Breaking News: IAF to test Aerial Sonar to detect terrorist camps[/quote]
According to usually reliable sources who declined to be named because they are not authorized to speak to the media, the IAF plans while approaching the terrorist resort camp detected a unique acoustic signature. Upon Anal-e-sis at the Ulan Bator Animal Husbandry and Livestock Personal Relations Probing and Research Center in Yomo-Ma, Mongolia, it was found that this was the plaintive bleating of hundreds of goats in severe pain.

Based on deep probing re-search IAF has now developed an Aerial Sonar to detect such sounds, which are believed to unique to Madarssas, Pakistan Army HQ and Terrorist Training Camps, which are usually co-located. The signature has been fed into the Auto-Homing Facility in the Pepper-Chakra Indiagenius version of the SPICE Israeli weapon.
This message is published in small print because it is so highly Classified.
Shaktimaan

Post by Shaktimaan »

In today's speech, Modiji also said (ostensibly referring to Ahmedabad metro) "The speciality of our government is that we don't rest once one project is completed, we start planning the next ones." Then he slyly smiled at the audience and said something to the effect of "I hope you understand what I mean..."

To all Pak lurks here : don't go to sleep tonight. Jaagte raho...

with due respect to all ... u dont need yankee satellite to find out how many mobiles are operating in a certain location... if u can bribe someone who man the switches etc../ or working with the operator... this information can be v easily obtained. i mean many of these things are done in a fairly low tech manner..not always the high funda way as people tend to imagine.
prasannasimha

Post by prasannasimha »

I ahve one question can a country publish a NOTAM over the area of another country ?
VikasM

Post by VikasM »

UlanBatori wrote:[\http:\\ubcnews\wag\yomma.com\404.html]Breaking News: IAF to test Aerial Sonar to detect terrorist camps
According to usually reliable sources who declined to be named because they are not authorized to speak to the media, the IAF plans while approaching the terrorist resort camp detected a unique acoustic signature. Upon Anal-e-sis at the Ulan Bator Animal Husbandry and Livestock Personal Relations Probing and Research Center in Yomo-Ma, Mongolia, it was found that this was the plaintive bleating of hundreds of goats in severe pain.

Based on deep probing re-search IAF has now developed an Aerial Sonar to detect such sounds, which are believed to unique to Madarssas, Pakistan Army HQ and Terrorist Training Camps, which are usually co-located. The signature has been fed into the Auto-Homing Facility in the Pepper-Chakra Indiagenius version of the SPICE Israeli weapon.
This message is published in small print because it is so highly Classified.[/quote]

GRAND OT:
I thought the deep probe leads to acoustic signature. Tauba Tauba. Peace (goat) lovers can't even research in peace now. :rotfl:

One thing in the whole adventure is we haven't specified what are expecting from Pakistan, other than general and the usual "Pak needs to stop terror".

While Pak is going all crazy, we have had 2-3 press conference. Hardly any words. So it is difficult to say what is GoI up to.

and yet TSP is running around like a headless chicken... demands have been made via alternative channels maybe

By the way, for all the people who have spends hours and wrote tons of stuff on the question of "Can India do Cold Start"?

I hope they got the answer on 27th Feb. :D