Forthcoming Book - Two Front War in 2022

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Forthcoming Book - Two Front War in 2022

Folks,
I've just written a book (completed draft) of a military-geopolitical novel sent in 2022. It is intended for a very niche readership - like those who make up the BR community. I seek your help and hope Admin will permit this post.

Summary: India fights a two front war with China and Pak in Oct 2022. Starting in Jan 2022, the first half deals with the economic and political compulsions, exacerbated by India's political and economic pressure on both countries,that cause Pak and China to collude in a war against India. India's minority government has a former COAS as the RM and the national security team are given a fairly free hand to carry out significant military reform and a more robust approach to national security - the kind we at BRF often fantasise about. Chi-Pak have a seemingly foolproof plan for a short sharp war to cause just enough damage to embarrass India, before a mid term election forced on the govt. The expected result would bring a more Chi-Pak friendly regime to power.

The second part deals with the week long war, on land, air and sea. Unlike other books of this genre, every division of each country is accounted for on each day. All formation names are real (as are even village names) and are deployed where one would expect them to be. All weapons are what are expected to be deployed in 2022 - at least in theory. I haven't gone into the level of micro detail that the work of for e.g. Vivek Ahuja has, but there is a closer and more detailed look at strategy and operations - with the help of several maps. For the amateur enthusiast, there are a lot of snippets of our military history and a look at how our forces operate. For the hardware enthusiast, there are Tejas/Rafale/Brahmos, the Aircraft carrier Vikrant, Arihant class subs and some of DRDO's projects in action. There's also cyber and space warfare and a look at future military logistics.

I'd like (admin permitting) to post the whole or part of the book here in future. However, I currently intend to publish commercially (Amazon / Kindle), for the work to be taken more seriously and because part of the proceeds go to the Army Battle casualties fund, which I support.

I would like to mail advance e-copies of the book to the BR community, so that the subject matter experts can give me their feedback and for
all readers to review the work on Amazon once it is officially published.
The book has copyright, so any copies mailed are not for further circulation.
It is 230 pages of A4 single spaced text. Fairly lengthy, if you study the maps etc.

I can be contacted on rp_deans@yahoo.com

Thanks and Jai Hind.

Re: Forthcoming book - Two front war in 2022

Dean sir, given your noble objective i would prefer to buy the book. Will it be available for delivery in al-birtaniya or only madre watan? Anyway to get signed books.
Lastly, dont kill me for asking this but does the book have lot of pictures? I like to read my little one. Havent done it till now. I want to introduce these things to him via some pictures. He loves going though the books I have accumulated over the years on fighter jet recognitions.
Funny ways of indoctrinating nanha mujahids

ArjunPandit wrote:Dean sir, given your noble objective i would prefer to buy the book. Will it be available for delivery in al-birtaniya or only madre watan? Anyway to get signed books.
Lastly, dont kill me for asking this but does the book have lot of pictures? I like to read my little one. Havent done it till now. I want to introduce these things to him via some pictures. He loves going though the books I have accumulated over the years on fighter jet recognitions.
Funny ways of indoctrinating nanha mujahids
Hi Arjun, The book will be available in all major English speaking countries.
There are unfortunately, no pics. Its rather a serious read. Plenty of maps, but that's to make you explore the area more on google maps.

No problem sir, hope you include the google earth/map links in the online edition

Deans you have my consent. And will purchase the book.

mail sent.

Re: Forthcoming Book - Two Front War in 2022

Deans, I commend your effort. Good Job Sir!

Just a couple of points;

1) Please do not post the entire (or even part) book in here. Writing a book is an exhaustive task, which requires a lot of research. I am sure you know that. Do not squander your hard work by posting the entire book for people to read for free. If you are going to put it on Amazon, then that is fantastic. Give folks an excerpt (a page or two) but that's it! Let people reward you for your hard work. And rewards are not only monetary in nature, but they are also intrinsic. If people like your book, they will acknowledge you for it. And you need that, to motivate yourself to write the next one.

2) Thank you for donating a portion of the proceeds of your book to the Army Welfare Fund. Amidst all the talk of war, we at times forget about the wounded who have sacrificed for the country. Real heroes are the ones who never come home or the ones who come home with both physical and mental scars. The cure for that is more psychological, than physical. Your contribution - however large or small - will go a long way. It is the thought that matters after all. If you are looking for a place to donate a portion of the proceeds of your book, may I humbly suggest you go here ---> viewtopic.php?f=3&t=7339

All the best to you. We look forward to seeing your book on Amazon and even buying it! Jai Hind!

Second what the admiral says above. Post some juicy excerpts here to entice people to buy it when it comes out, but not the entire book (or even large parts of it).

I'm already looking forward to buying it. Good luck to you.

Deans, will buy 2-3 copies of your book - preferably paperback. I buy paperback so that I give it out as present. Did it with Viveks books as well

To generate interest, at book launch please post some excerpts. We can put it on social media as well (like Twitter)

Rakesh wrote:Deans, I commend your effort. Good Job Sir!

Just a couple of points;

2) Thank you for donating a portion of the proceeds of your book to the Army Welfare Fund. Amidst all the talk of war, we at times forget about the wounded who have sacrificed for the country. Real heroes are the ones who never come home or the ones who come home with both physical and mental scars. The cure for that is more psychological, than physical. Your contribution - however large or small - will go a long way. It is the thought that matters after all. If you are looking for a place to donate a portion of the proceeds of your book, may I humbly suggest you go here ---> viewtopic.php?f=3&t=7339

All the best to you. We look forward to seeing your book on Amazon and even buying it! Jai Hind!
The Army welfare fund - Battle casualties, listed in your link, is indeed the cause I will be contributing to through the book proceeds, which is
what I've done in earlier articles I've written.

disha wrote:Deans, will buy 2-3 copies of your book - preferably paperback. I buy paperback so that I give it out as present. Did it with Viveks books as well

To generate interest, at book launch please post some excerpts. We can put it on social media as well (like Twitter)
Disha ji, It will be in paperback and kindle. Struggling to do a cover for the paperback one, as I'm artistically challenged !

While I'm now getting into editing/ corrections and will decide on what do post here, the contents & list of characters will give an idea of the scope of the book.

Contents:

Foreword
The characters

Part 1 Prelude to War
1. Jan 2022
2. Casus Belli
3. The countdown
4. Plans
5. The perception war
6. Preparation
7. Last chance for peace

Part 2: War
8. The storm breaks
9. Shock and awe in the air
10. What next ?

11. The war at sea
Midway revisited. The Red sea & strait of Hormuz .
Diwali in the Arabian sea

12. The land offensive – day 1
Economic war. The thrust towards Jammu, India counterattacks.
Traffic jams in the Himalayas

13. Attrition in the West
Counterattack toward Sialkot. Lahore threatened. Surprise of I strike corps.
A corps commander is arrested. Indecision in the desert. Rain of fire. Success at Uri.

14. The War in the East
The reality of high altitude warfare. Trapped in the mountains. Breakthrough in Demchok ?

15. Victory
Debacle at Demchok. Failure at Fazilka. Economic collapse. End of the Jihad.
Doomed counterattacks. The politburo fights back.. A new Pakistan. Peace

Afterword
Glossary

Characters:
The Indians

The President of India
The Prime Minister of India
`Raj’ Iyer – Finance Minister
Gen. Vikram Bisht (retd) – Defence Minister
Shruti Upadhyaya – Foreign Secretary
Pradeep Jain – Commerce Minister
Arnab Bhattacharya – National security advisor

Field Marshal Gurdeep Singh – Commander in Chief of the Army
Field Marshal Danish Hussein - Chief of the General Staff
Air Chief Marshal Raghvendra Singh – Chief of Air Staff
Admiral Tony D’Silva – Chief of Naval Staff
Gen. Sunil Chettri - General Officer Commanding (GoC)– East
Gen. Rahul Singh GoC – West
Gen. Suresh Rautela - GoC – North
Air Chief Marshal Sandeep Patankar - Air officer Commanding (AoC) East
Air Chief Marshal Anil Vij - AoC – West
Admiral RR Narayanan – Flag officer Commanding (FoC)– West
Lt Gen AR Rao – Head of Cyber and Space command.
Lt Gen Suresh Bakshi - Head of Special Forces Command.
Commodore Alok Deshpande - Commodore Commanding Submarines (COMCOS) East

Maj Gen. Vijay Gosain – Commander 5th Mountain Division, Bomdila,
Maj Gen `Harry’ Nalwa – Commander 3rd Infantry Division, Leh.
Rear Admiral `Hoshi’ Irani – Commander, Vikramaditya Task force. Arabian sea.
Col. Vikas Singh – Commanding officer (CO) 1/9 Gurkha Rifles
Col. Dilip Bopanna – CO Hodson’s horse (Tank regiment)
Col. Pradeep Mishra – CO 6 Kumaon
Wing Cdr. `Guns’ Ganapathy – CO 16 Squadron IAF, Gorakhpur
Cdr. Gopal Menon – CO INS Arighat (Nuclear Submarine)
Lt Col. Tensin – CO Special forces - Occupied Tibet
Wing Cdr. Priyanka Joshi - Logistics officer IAF.
Squadron Leader Ajay Arora – Commander IAF detachment Tajikistan
Lt Cdr. Vijay – Commander Marine Commando detachment.
Lt Cdr. Roshni D’silva – Naval Intelligence.
Subedar Bhagwan Singh – 1 Sikh. Instructor, Indian training mission Afghanistan

Usha Tsering – Tibetan resistance.

There is an explanation in ch. 1, for the enhanced ranks of the generals and new designations. (Military reforms)
I used to date a Tibetan girl of the same name !

The Pakistanis
Akbar Khan – Prime Minister of Pakistan
Gen. Tariq Baig – National security advisor
Lt. Gen Munir Akram – Head ISI
Jahangir Mohammed – Finance Minister
Afreen Bhatti – Foreign Minister
Sardar Shahbaz Haq – Chief Minister of Punjab

Gen. Zubair Hayat - Chairman Joint Chief of Staff’s committee
Gen. Abdul Quadir – Chief of Army Staff
Air Chief Marshal Azim Khan – Chief of Air Staff
Admiral Tanvir Butt – Chief of Naval Staff
Lt Gen. Tauseef Malik – Commander IV Corps (Lahore)
Lt Gen. Ejaz Bukhari – Commander X Corps (Rawalpindi)
Lt Gen. Farooq Abassi – Commander I Corps (Army Reserve North)
Maj Gen. Saukat Alvi – Commander Force Command Northern Areas (FCNA)

Wing Cdr. Aziz Farooqi – CO 16 squadron. PAF Rafiqui
Lt Col. Iqbal Baig – CO Artillery Regiment, X corps. Pak occupied Kashmir.

Mazaar Saifi – Head Balochi Liberation front.
Maulana Babur Ali – Head of the Lashkar-e-taiba (LeT)

General Peng – Chinese Military envoy to Pakistan

Looking forward to it Deans; will surely buy it; from when it will be available on Amazon

The Chinese
Li Wei - Paramount leader & Chairman Central Military commission
Wang Qiang - Premier of the State council
Zhang Chenglai - Chairman standing committee National people’s congress
Gen. Liu Tao - Vice Chairman of the Central Military commission
Hu Renshu – Minister of State Security
Tan Lei - Foreign Minister
Chen Wenyan- Finance Minister
Choden Dolma - Chairman People’s Govt. Tibet Autonomous region.
Huang Yong - Chinese Ambassador to Pakistan
Zhao Hui - State councillor and Minister for Defence.

Zhang Chongan - Head of the General staff dept. People’s Liberation Army (PLA)
Wang Feng - Commander of the PLA General staff
Zhou Hong - Commander of the PLAAF (People’s Liberation Army Air force)
Wu Mingli - Commander of the PLAN (People’s Liberation Army Navy)
Lin Shen - Head of the General political dept. PLA
Gao Xiang - Head of the General logistics dept. PLA

Sun Fang- Commander Western Theatre command (Tibet)
Xu Jie - Commander PLAAF Western Theatre command
Liu Cheng - Political Commissar Western Theatre command.
Song Enlai - Political Commissar PLAAF Western Theatre Command
Ma Wei- Commander 77th Group Army – Eastern Tibet
Liang Dong - Commander 76th Group Army – Western Tibet
Li Jun- Commander 75th Group Army – Central Tibet & Lhasa
Tang Fu - Commander 81st Group Army – Western Tibet
Vice Admiral Wei Yujie – Commander, Liaoning task force. Indian ocean.

These are names statistically most common in the Han Chinese population. I chose Li as Premier as I wanted it to be similar to `Eleven'.

The book is just out on kindle. The paperback will be out in a couple of days.

https://www.amazon.in/dp/B07Q29P3M1

For those of who who have advance copies. Please post your review on Amazon (cut-paste above link).
I can edit even after the work is available online. (there are several edits from the draft sent to some of you).
The book can be read free on kindle unlimited, as of now.
A sample of the book can be downloaded free on amazon.

It is also available outside of India on other Amazon sites (e.g. Amazon.com).
A significant part of the royalty will to the Army battle casualties fund, so please spread the word and leave your reviews. It is designed for a
niche audience, as as this forum.

Kindle copy purchased, have not read it yet, but it will be interesting to see the land war part on the northern front, given the time period.

Thanks Shaurya ji. The land fighting is against both Pak and China. It can be a lengthy and tedious read for someone not very familiar with the subject, but I hope it will appeal to BRF members.
MurthyG

Post by MurthyG »

Just bought the kindle version on Amazon.com sir. Looking forward to the paperback to give as gifts. Thank you for your effort in putting together a book for Jingos. Jai Hind!

Great job. Looking forward to reading it. BTW, you need a better design for cover.
asbchakri

Post by asbchakri »

Looking forward to buying the paperback when it comes out. Any tentative date.

asbchakri wrote:Looking forward to buying the paperback when it comes out. Any tentative date.
The paperback should be on sale on Amazon in two days.

Jamwal ji - Yes, a very basic cover. Had to do it on my own (I'm lousy at being creative) and couldn't find non copyright pics.

Brought the kindle version and finished the first two chapters. A very accurate count of the underlying geopolitics. Eager to read the rest.

Will buy the paperback

I have been adding a lot to my amazon cart. You are on for this one when its available in paper back.

Can't find my Kindle now :/
Anyhow, you can hire a designer for a good price for book cover. I know 1-2 who can do it for cheap once you give them proper instructions.

I am feeling partial for physical version too. I bought Vivek's books on Kindle but I guess I am too old fashioned as I enjoy physical books a lot more.

Purchased the book on Kindle. Jai Hind.

jamwal wrote:Can't find my Kindle now :/
Anyhow, you can hire a designer for a good price for book cover. I know 1-2 who can do it for cheap once you give them proper instructions.

I am feeling partial for physical version too. I bought Vivek's books on Kindle but I guess I am too old fashioned as I enjoy physical books a lot more.
The paperback is now available. It is currently showing as available on Amazon.com and will take a couple of days on Amazon.in
Kindle link will also show in a search couple of days. Here are the links:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1091617422?re ... _397514860 (link to paperback)
https://www.amazon.in/dp/B07Q29P3M1 (kindle)

I've kept it free on kindle unlimited for a limited period.

Coincidentally, the book has India using a ASAT to kill a Chinese satellite ! (using the ASAT for the first time).

There was also a Mig-21 and F-16 shooting down each other over Kashmir.
And Modiji (implied) is PM in 2019, but with a minority govt !

I just ordered the paperback...
asbchakri

Post by asbchakri »

Just Ordered the paperback

An update - As of now, the paperback is only available on Amazon marketplaces outside India (Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk) for e.g.
It won't show up on Amazon.in
Its available on kindle in India (and other countries).

I've kept it free for Kindle unlimited for a while, mainly to encourage enthusiasts and those from the services to pick up a copy.

Please post reviews. The book pretty much disappears without reviews.
The book is intended for a very niche readership, so please spread the word, particularly among the fauji community. Part of the proceeds go to Army battle casualties.

Got the book delivered just now. DeansJi - Why many spelling mistakes in the summary at the back of the book?!

IIndia
Concersssions
theat
acount
poeple

Have not started reading yet. But a simple spell check would have addressed these!

I am at the 8th chapter now. A lot of good jingo material! I am still not convinced Khan will provide us so much support. I guess it is possible.

V_Raman wrote:Got the book delivered just now. DeansJi - Why many spelling mistakes in the summary at the back of the book?!

IIndia
Concersssions
theat
acount
poeple

Have not started reading yet. But a simple spell check would have addressed these!
Yes, Unfortunately a combination of a glitch at kindle (I cannot see what I type for the cover of the paperback version and there is no spell check for the cover) and my tiredness.
No excuse though. It has been corrected for subsequent copies.
It is embarrassing, as I hate a typo in my everyday correspondence.
Hope there are none in the book itself. Please review on Amazon once read. The book sinks into obscurity without that.
Last edited by Deans on 30 Mar 2019 09:33, edited 3 times in total.

williams wrote:I am at the 8th chapter now. A lot of good jingo material! I am still not convinced Khan will provide us so much support. I guess it is possible.
Actually they don't give us that much support. They only tell us what China is upto, which costs them nothing. Also, US-China tensions have progressed three years beyond what they are today. Other things like joint Naval exercises are already a reality.

A note on pricing of the book:

For Kindle, even when it is priced free on Kindle unlimited, I get a royalty based on pages read. That is a win-win as the reader gets a lower priced book, while I can support my cause with royalties. The royalty if the full free book is read, is higher than the paperback version.
There is a free 30 days trial on Kindle unlimited, so you can access the book without even paying the monthly subscription of rs 169 (in India). However, the book disappears after 30 days, or once you stop paying.

The Min allowable price of the paperback of this size and genre is $ 10.02. At the current price, the royalty is $ 1.10
The paperback is not available ex India - amazon.in (it has to be ordered from Amazon.com).

The first five paperback books sold have spelling errors on the rear cover (only) - as a previous poster has pointed out.
They were purchased before the error was flagged. It should be corrected by tomorrow. Happened because of a glitch that prevented me from previewing what I typed and the spellcheck, which works for the rest of the book, not being applicable to covers.

It is greatly embarrassing to me. I am not comfortable with someone purchasing my book with typos of this kind.
If any of you are one of those with one of the 5 paperbacks with errors and wants a replacement, please mail me directly.
Last edited by Deans on 30 Mar 2019 12:39, edited 1 time in total.

Post by Klaus »

Ordered paperback. Just curious if the characters have same or similar personas & psyche as their real life inspirations?