2019 General Elections News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: 2019 General Elections News and Discussion

KaranM, In fairness I had said no more Telugu states discussion.
So please don't reply any more.

Ok sure. Just realized two of the states come into that specific point. (Facepalm)!

vijayk, Yes I thing message will start changing soon.

Whats amazing is NaMo used that Akshay Kumar interview to send multiple level messages to people who were listening for the nuances.
That Aladdin ki chirag message at superficial level is that Indians don't believe in charasi dreams they want to be realized by magic or genies.
The sub-text is if you are lazy you wont make i in new India.
This applies to the 0.5 % Poonawalas and the 20% below poverty groups.
The extreme rich and extreme poor.

All need to work and improve themselves.

Karan M wrote:Ok sure. Just realized two of the states come into that specific point. (Facepalm)!

Matlab?

I expect Karnataka and MP to fall and RJ with a little coaxing.

and if Jihadidi does not cooperate even after that sweets and kurta remarks half her party could defect.
The mahul in Bengal is quite different and folks are fed up with her jihadidi antics.

The people see this as second freedom movement and are coming out in droves to support Modiji.
We've all been Modi admirers for a long time, and yet he manages to surprise us all over again. His interview with Akshay Kumar was revealing beyond belief. Such a simple yet far-sighted man, truly a Karmayogi.

Ever since Demo I've been saying the feeling I am getting is that India is going through another freedom struggle. It is just as heady, tumultuous, and roller-coaster of a ride as it must have been in my father's generation. There is the same sense of nationalism and fierce pride in the leadership, a sense of hope for the future. India of that era was facing the might of the British empire (weakened though it was), which was aided by Brown Sepoys of the time. The India that we love today faces the Congress Empire (weakened too, no doubt) which is again aided by a new generation of Sepoys. None of us lived through that period but there is a herd memory of it within our DNA somewhere.

Which is why this now feels like a struggle for Independence.

A few lines which reflect my thoughts:

Ek Nayi Azadi

Who bhi ik azadi thi
Yeh bhi ek azadi hai
Who thi angrezi choron se
Ye hai desi looteron se

Is sadi ke yugpurush ne
Duniya ko lalkara hai
Sar na jhukne denge ab
Ye Sankalp hamara hai

Andar se aur bahar se
Vaar bahut kiye dushman ne
Kar di nakaam har koshish uski
56 inchi wale ne

Is din ko yaad rakhna tum
Agli peedhi ko batlana hai
Yahi naya Bharat hai bas
Aur Modi ka zamana hai

Karan M wrote:Ok sure. Just realized two of the states come into that specific point. (Facepalm)!

Matlab?

and if Jihadidi does not cooperate even after that sweets and kurta remarks half her party could defect.
The mahul in Bengal is quite different and folks are fed up with her jihadidi antics.
I meant I forgot you had that point out already and 2 of the states I mentioned were telugu speaking states so the whole post would technically be verboten!
Deleted the whole OT sidetrack.

Beautiful poem Primusji. It is the 4th battle of panipat as put by Puspendra kulshresht

Primus put it on Facebook and put a link.
Its great.

Suresh S wrote:Beautiful poem Primusji. It is the 4th battle of panipat as put by Puspendra kulshresht
4th Panipat is being fought in UP and we don't even understand it.
Most unlikely person is in the fray.

8)

ramana wrote: I expect Karnataka and MP to fall and RJ with a little coaxing.
You mean the state governments might fall post LS election?
johb

Post by johb »

Google trends analysis shows Modi will win with a good lead.
https://www.opindia.com/2019/04/if-you- ... -for-modi/

In the most crucial state of Uttar Pradesh, Modi leads 92% to 8%! According to Google, the interest in Modi is 12 times as much as the interest in Rahul!

In fact, other than TN or Kerala or Nagaland, there isn’t a single state where Modi’s number is below 80%. In Maharashtra, it is 83%. It is 91% in Bihar, 88% in Bengal and 86% in Odisha! Rajasthan is at 88% and Madhya Pradesh at 85%. Those are huge numbers!

How will a party get votes if people do not have the slightest interest in what their leader has to say?

It seems that despite all the big image makeovers and non-stop praise from Lutyens, the common person in the country simply isn’t interested in what Rahul Gandhi has to say.

It’s fairly clear: Congress hasn’t managed to get its message out. If you ask Google Trends, this election is over. The writing is on the wall.

ramana wrote:Primus put it on Facebook and put a link.
Its great.
Thank you Ramana Ji. Unfortunately, I am 'dark' on FB and don't have a teetar handle either :oops:

shravan wrote:
disha wrote:^BTW Amdavadi'ji., Akshay Kumar did not get the joke about Samajvadi vs. Amdavadi from Modi !

Even I didn't get it. Please explain.
Socialist gets out of station and walks for 5-7 minutes so people getting impression that he is poverty-lifestyle, luxury-rejector ; and then out of sight takes Autorickshaw "TO PROTECT IMAGE OF POOR NON-CORRUPT"

WHILE

Amdavadi walks all the way "TO SAVE THE MONEY"
Sumair

Post by Sumair »

Per some “chaiwala friends”, country’s premium internal intelligence agency has very very positive reports for the government.

From Chintamani. Phase 3 estimates:

https://twitter.com/IamIconoclast/statu ... 86432?s=19

#ChintamaniSpeaks #Elections2019 @Election_in 3rd phase post-poll.

Kerala 20: BJP 1, UDF 15, LDF 4; KA 14: BJP 12, Cong 2; MH 14: BJP 5, SS 6, NCP 3; Guj 26: BJP 26; Chh'garh 7: BJP 4, Cong 3; OR: BJP 3, BJD 3; WB 5: BJP 1, Cong 2, CPM 2; Assam 4: BJP 1, BPF 1, AGP 1, AUDF 1 ..++ Tripura 1: BJP 1; BH 5: JDU 3, LJP 1, Cong 1; Goa 2: BJP 2; UT 2: BJP 2; UP 10: BJP 6, SP 4

Total 116 (J&K 1/3 not counted): BJP 64 (NDA 76); Congress 21 (Kerala 13) (UPA 26) Others 14
Cumulative BJP 128/302

ramana wrote:From Chintamani. Phase 3 estimates:

https://twitter.com/IamIconoclast/statu ... 86432?s=19

#ChintamaniSpeaks #Elections2019 @Election_in 3rd phase post-poll.

Kerala 20: BJP 1, UDF 15, LDF 4; KA 14: BJP 12, Cong 2; MH 14: BJP 5, SS 6, NCP 3; Guj 26: BJP 26; Chh'garh 7: BJP 4, Cong 3; OR: BJP 3, BJD 3; WB 5: BJP 1, Cong 2, CPM 2; Assam 4: BJP 1, BPF 1, AGP 1, AUDF 1 ..++ Tripura 1: BJP 1; BH 5: JDU 3, LJP 1, Cong 1; Goa 2: BJP 2; UT 2: BJP 2; UP 10: BJP 6, SP 4

Total 116 (J&K 1/3 not counted): BJP 64 (NDA 76); Congress 21 (Kerala 13) (UPA 26) Others 14
Cumulative BJP 128/302
Generally OK predictions, but 128 is too low from the 302 so far. I think it is more like 140.

NDA tally is 399

Does Mumbai betting agree with you? This election must be murder on office productivity.
Last edited by UlanBatori on 25 Apr 2019 08:07, edited 2 times in total.

Kanson wrote:NDA tally is 399
I want to inhale what you are inhaling. Makes me :D

If they are 389+, will send you a wine bottle wherever you are :mrgreen:

johb wrote:Google trends analysis shows Modi will win. If you ask Google Trends, this election is over. The writing is on the wall.
Again...the tip of the iceberg... the power of 'big data analytics' cannot be underestimated. 'Pollsters' may soon go out of business.

ShyamSP wrote: I already stopped saying I can provide evidences to Karan. Don't call troll as that topic (EVM/EC) has been going on for 4-5 pages before I joined.
So, it looks like Chandranna is heading for bust then ? :mrgreen:

vijayk wrote:

If they are 389+, will send you a wine bottle wherever you are :mrgreen:
With or without wine? Just asking.

KL Dubey wrote:
ShyamSP wrote:So, it looks like Chandranna is heading for bust then ? :mrgreen:
Know two folks from Seemaandhra side. One of them (shq colleague) is a die hard Chandranna man. Both of them said if Jagan's YSRCP has a good understanding with the BJP then Chandranna is toast! :D

Matlab?

I think once KA falls, there will be a domino effect in MP and maybe RJ. With Namma Buffalo weeping every other day on TV, it looks like he is setting up the stage for an 'honorable discharge'.

KL Dubey wrote:

Matlab?

I think once KA falls, there will be a domino effect in MP and maybe RJ. With Namma Buffalo weeping every other day on TV, it looks like he is setting up the stage for an 'honorable discharge'.
His only hope Italian PAPPU becomes PM of a weak coalition with his support. Not happening

x posted

Can't remember the last time the GoI released such information and in so much detail about these matters. Something or some other intel input(s) is/are unpalatable and someone has got their langotes in a really tight twist either in India or SL, and the amerikis have also publicly disassociated themselves from this entire intel warning to SL snafu

Or is it simply because its election season and the Govt is sending a very very pointed message to a specific minority that this govt just saved their arses.

India sent alerts to Sri Lanka about possible terror attack after NIA probe into IS module targeting south Indian leaders

Apr 24, 2019

New Delhi: Intelligence inputs regarding a possible terror attack in Sri Lanka were shared by Indian agencies with their Sri Lankan counterparts earlier this month after the National Investigation Agency completed its probe into an Islamic State-inspired module planning to kill prominent leaders in South India, officials said here.

The input was sent through diplomatic channels to the island nation after a thorough investigation pertaining to the IS case in Coimbatore was carried out by the NIA, which has filed a charge sheet against seven people.

Representational image. Reuters
During investigation, the probe team had stumbled upon videos of National Thowheed Jamaat (NTJ) leader Zahran Hashim, which was indicative of a terror attack on the Indian High Commission in Colombo.

After further investigation which included cyber trailing of some of the accounts associated with the IS, the central security agencies shared an input with their Lankan counterparts about the churches being the likely target of the ISIS module, they said.

Over 350 people were killed in Sunday's serial blasts at churches and hotels. The videos, seized from the accused in the Coimbatore case, showed Hashim asking youths from Sri Lanka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala to establish an Islamic rule in the region.

The arrested accused, who have been charge-sheeted since then, include Mohamed Ashiq A, Ismail S, Samsudeen, Mohammed Salauddin S, Jafar Shadik Ali and Shahul Hameed.

The case was originally registered at B3 Variety Hall Police Station, Coimbatore City on 1 September last year and pertained to the criminal conspiracy hatched by the accused with the intention of furthering the objectives of the proscribed terrorist organisation IS by targeting Hindu leaders and activists, who are critical of religious terrorism.

The NIA investigation showed that the arrested persons had got radicalised on the violent extremist ideology of the IS and they had been propagating the same ideology over the social media.

With the intention of furthering the objectives of the terrorist organisation IS in India, the accused had organized themselves into a terrorist gang in June 2018 and conspired to further the activities of the group by carrying out terrorist attacks targeting persons critical of the proscribed terrorist organisation and its violent extremism ideology.

The accused in Coimbatore case were in touch with Hashim for being enrolled in the IS terror group. Though the investigation in the case are complete, the officials did not rule out the possibility of questioning all the six accused again in case some evidence suggested that they had any knowledge about the blasts in Sri Lanka

KL Dubey wrote:

Matlab?

"Namma Buffalo"

Neat and inspired phrasing, saar.

take a bow.
Theeran

Post by Theeran »

This would have never happened with JJ or Kalignar Karunanidhi. Is TN getting out of the hero worship mode? TN politics may not be to BRF's liking but the state is very progressive. With admk the state may regain its economy lead within India.
https://twitter.com/Kishore36451190/sta ... 54274?s=20
https://twitter.com/an_and_clicked/stat ... 07904?s=20

How to embed tweet?

This is some very innovative example of management by objectives or is it bata management(size 10)??

Amarinder Singh says Punjab ministers will lose cabinet berth if they fail to win in respective Lok Sabha seats

Chandigarh: Congress ministers in Punjab will be dropped from the cabinet if they fail to ensure victory of party candidates in their constituencies during the Lok Sabha election, Chief Minister Amarinder Singh said on Wednesday.

Besides, legislators will not be given tickets in the next assembly polls if they are unable to ensure victory of party candidates in their constituencies, he said. The warning came despite the ruling party exuding confidence that it would win all the 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab.

The party has also made the criteria for allotment of chairmanships of various board more stringent. Toughening its stance, the Congress has decided that such chairmanships will be allotted on the basis of the performance of individuals in the ongoing Lok Sabha polls.

Performance and not seniority will be the criteria determining their eligibility for boards and corporations, Singh said. The chief minister said the objective behind these decisions was to promote a performance-based culture in the party.

ps it is bata management(size 10).

KL Dubey wrote:I think once KA falls, there will be a domino effect in MP and maybe RJ. With Namma Buffalo weeping every other day on TV, it looks like he is setting up the stage for an 'honorable discharge'.
We keep hearing terms like these (bolded) off and on, especially about this person and his father. While I am no supporter of either, it does not do any good to this forum to use such words when talking about an elected representative, who is also the chief minister of a state in the Indian Union to boot. We are Bharat Rakshak, after all. So can we please stay off using such terms? Kindly edit this part of your post. TIA.

Dileep wrote:Report from KL: There was record turnout. The history (before BJP became a significant player) is that increased turnout always favour UDF, especially when CPIM is in power. The logic is, hardcore CPIM folk will vote 'rain or shine'. The indifferent will move their kappa-meen bellies out to vote if there is a good reason to beat the commies.

I would venture that this time the increased turnout where BJP is actively running all benefit BJP. So, TVM, Attingal, PTA and Thrissur will see major BJP thrust. I predict TVM and PTA as 'in the bag'. TSR is highly likely, given the way SG carried himself in the campaign and the corresponding massive turnout. ATL I would give a fair chance to BJP.

Wayanad is all Pappu. Warts and all, he is still the top guy of Grand Old Congress, and a celebrity in that capacity.
What about Tharoor in Trivandrum?
Tharoor seems to be losing. Dileepan - ii pravisham ayalde 'thala potti' ennu enikya tonnunnonda. :rotfl:

chetak wrote:good riddance.

BJP MP Udit Raj joins Congress after being denied Lok Sabha ticket from Delhi, calls saffron party 'anti-Dalit'

The former BJP MP had often held views contrary to the party's stand, especially during the Sabarimala issue and 'Bharat Bandh' called by Dalit organisations in 2018.

Earlier in April, he was at the centre of controversy after being caught in a sting done on several MPs, which purportedly showed lawmakers accepting use of black money for contesting polls.

BJP fields another Dalit from North West Delhi, disgruntled leader who joined Congress calls BJP anti-Dalit

After being denied ticket from the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) for the Delhi North West constituency, Udit Raj joined Congress Party today in the presence of Congress President Rahul Gandhi. During the media briefing, Raj said that he wanted to join Congress since 2012.

Congress President @RahulGandhi welcomes Shri Udit Raj into the Congress party.

A miffed Raj while addressing the media after joining the Congress accused the BJP of being anti-Dalit. “BJP is an anti-Dalit group which uses internal surveys to choose its candidate”, he said.
पार्टी क्यों नहीं टिकट दे रही। मैंने इतना अच्छा काम किया है। पार्टी क्या दलित विरोधी है? पूरे देश में मुझसे बड़ा दलित नेता कौन है। जितने इनके कैंडिडेट लड़ रहे हैं, उनके जितनी मेरे अकेले की ताकत है : @Dr_Uditraj, #BJP सांसद pic.twitter.com/PFFcvJ6rD7

— NBT Dilli (@NBTDilli) April 22, 2019
Raj removed the prefix Chowkidar from his Twitter handle soon after joining the Congress. He said he would snatch at least 10-15 seats from the BJP. “I was one of the best performing MPs for BJP, I was a popular figure. But I was accused of influencing Dalits. I will snatch at least 10-15 seats from BJP now”.

Although Udit Raj has accused BJP of being anti-Dali for denying him the ticket, the fact is that Delhi North West is a reserved constituency for SCs. Which means an upper caste candidate can’t contest from this seat. In place of Udit Raj, BJP has fielded singer Hans Raj Hans, who is also a Dalit. Hans Raj Hans belongs to the Valmiki community, which is recognised as a Scheduled Caste.

Raj had earlier threatened to quit the party if he was denied ticket by the party.
I am waiting for ticket if not given to me I will do good bye to party

— Dr. Udit Raj, MP (@Dr_Uditraj) April 23, 2019
He had tweeted: “I am waiting for ticket if not given to me I will do good bye to party”. Raj had merged his Justice Party with BJP back in 2014 and had successfully contested for North West Delhi.

Sumair wrote:Per some “chaiwala friends”, country’s premium internal intelligence agency has very very positive reports for the government.
Country’s premium intelligence agency historically has reported what the ruling dispensation wants to hear

Suraj wrote:Thanks. Mallustani/NCERT Sanskritized Hindi education is weak on Urdu words. For the longest time, the only thing I understood of the movie name 'Muqaddar ka Sikandar' was the word 'ka' :oops: What to do onlee...
Not limited to Mallustan I think. Although I knew ahsaas because it is commonly used in spoken Hindi, I still have no clue what Muqaddar means :lol: You can put that down to Bollywood habit of inserting chaste Urdu everywhere. Even most of their songs today have heavy dose of either Punjabi or Urdu which leads you to question who is the intended audience.

Will stop there before Ramana guru wields the danda for going OT.
OT:
Muqaddar means fate. See slightly older movies and you will see movie title in Urdu even though there are hardly any Urdu readers who can't read Hindi. What it has got to do with elections is that almost none of us here ead Urdu ( I can to some extent) and hence can't get grip on whatever narrative is being pushed in Posters in Muslim dominated areas.

After getting Bangladeshi actors to campaign, Mamata’s TMC caught running ads in Bangladesh appealing for votes

Earlier this month, two Bangladeshi actors were found campaigning for Mamata's TMC candidates for the ongoing general elections

OPINDIA STAFF, APRIL 25, 2019

West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC chief Mamata Banerjee.

Mamata Banerjee led Trinamool Congress was caught running ads appealing for votes in Bangladesh on Facebook.

https://youtu.be/ZnT8mQ8MNo8

As seen in the above video, when you click on the ‘info and ads’ on the official Facebook page of Mamata Banerjee led TMC, you could see the countries where TMC is running ads during the ongoing general elections. The drop-down menu gives two countries as an option, meaning, TMC is running ads in the two countries. The first country is India which is understandable because the elections are being held in India. The second option, however, is Bangladesh, the neighboring country West Bengal shares its porous wall with.

Mamata’s TMC is running as many as 13 ads on Facebook, including an ad where Mamata is appealing to people in Krishnanagar Lok Sabha constituency to vote for TMC in the ongoing elections. Why is Mamata appealing for votes in Bangladesh via Facebook is anybody’s guess because last we checked, only Indian citizens could vote in Indian elections.

The West Bengal Chief Minister appealing for votes in Bangladesh was also pointed out by other Twitter users. Surprisingly, when OpIndia team tried searching for the same on a mobile phone, it threw up a message that TMC is running no ad in Bangladesh.

Primusji
We got 651 impressions in one hour. Lots of likes.

You need to get a Twitter account.

arshyam wrote:While I am no supporter of either, it does not do any good to this forum to use such words when talking about an elected representative, who is also the chief minister of a state in the Indian Union to boot.
He should have thought about the responsibilities and dignities expected of him by the same Indian Union...and pulled himself together to behave like a man rather than a bawling bovine. Seriously....!!!

Same with the father...dozing and snoring everyday in cabinet meetings and parliament...

Why defend the indefensible.
Last edited by KL Dubey on 25 Apr 2019 09:55, edited 1 time in total.

I call him HD Cryswami
Sidhant

Post by Sidhant »

vijayk wrote: