Neutering & Defanging Chinese Threat (15-11-2017)

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Neutering & Defanging Chinese Threat (15-11-2017)

From SupChina Newsletter (no URL)
Worried about Chinese influence, India blocks TikTok

The Economic Times of India reports that India’s Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY) has asked Google and Apple to take down popular short-video app TikTok from their stores. TikTok is a product of Beijing-based Bytedance, more famous in China for its news aggregator app Jinri Toutiao. TikTok and another Bytedance app, Helo, are both popular in India.

The ban on TikTok will “stop further downloads of the application, but people who have already downloaded it will be able to continue using it on their smartphones.”

Media companies are prohibited from “telecasting the videos made using the application.”

India’s Supreme Court was not swayed last week by arguments from Bytedance’s lawyers that TikTok should “not be held liable for actions of third parties on the platform,” and that its app was “like any other social media platform,” so singling it out was “discriminatory and arbitrary.” Bytedance also claimed that the “‘disproportionate’ ban has resulted in infringement of fundamental right to freedom of speech and expression.”

Bytedance says that last week it “removed over 6 million videos that violated its terms of use and community guidelines, following an exhaustive review of content generated by its users in India.”

Why? Some of the reporting from India focuses on fears that TikTok may be used by sexual predators to lure underage victims, but the main worry is about political interference. The South China Morning Post notes:

[T]he Delhi state unit of India’s ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) complained to the country’s Election Commission on March 29 that ByteDance, which it identified as a Chinese company, was “interfering in the Indian election process through its social media applications.”

The BJP cited Facebook’s takedown of 11,000 advertisements from another of the company’s apps — Helo — for violation of its rules concerning transparency in political spending. Helo’s adverts featured doctored images of politicians accompanied by sensationalized text.

India’s move follows a similar one in Taiwan, per this March 29 report in the Nikkei Asian Review:

Taiwan is cracking down on video streaming services of Chinese tech giants Baidu and Tencent Holdings, citing national security and propaganda concerns ahead of a presidential election next year.

[The] deputy minister of Taiwan’s Mainland Affairs Council, told the Nikkei Asian Review on Thursday that Taiwan is likely to ban Baidu’s popular iQiyi platform, and block Tencent’s plan to bring its streaming service to the island later this year.

“We are concerned that streaming media services that have close ties with Beijing could have cultural and political influences in Taiwan…and even affect Taiwan’s elections.”

When we linked to this story in March, we asked: “Is this the first time a democracy will try to block Chinese online media for purely political reasons?”

Now we have example number two. The balkanization of the internet proceeds apace!

Chinese diplomats question Pompeo’s sanity

Steve Lapsley
@stevelapsl
·
22h
These two beautiful mosques, both hundreds of years old, were recently bulldozed by the Chinese authorities in their ongoing cultural war against #Uighurs.

China unmoved by U.S. bid to discuss Masood Azhar in UNSC - Atul Aneja, The Hindu
China on Wednesday said it was not facing any deadline to take a call on designating Masood Azhar, head of the Paksitan based Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) terror group, as an international terrorist, and reiterated that progress was being made to achieve consensus on the issue in the 1267 committee of the United Nations Security Council.

In response to a question on listing Azhar, the Chinese foreign ministry spokesperson said, “On the issue of the listing of Masood Azhar, China’s position remains unchanged. We are also having communication with relevant parties and the matter is moving towards the direction of settlement,” in the 1267 committee.

China has been sticking to its position that the issue of listing Azhar is the prerogative of the 1267 committee and has rejected a parallel initiative by the United States, France and Britain seeking a vote on banning Azhar in the Security Council plenary.

“Technical hold” on designating Azhar

Last month, China placed a “technical hold” on designating Azhar following the February 14 Pulwama attack in which more than 40 CRPF personnel were killed. The JeM had taken responsibility for the attack, triggering a cross-border air strike by the Indian Air Force on a training camp of the group in Balakot.

India had expressed disappointment over China’s move, but the U.S., along with France and the United Kingdom, had been vocal in criticising Beijing’s decision. Last month, U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said, “China abuses more than a million Muslims at home, but on the other it protects violent Islamic terrorist groups from sanctions at the UN.”

Asked whether China had been given an April 23 deadline by the U.S., France and Britain to lift its “technical hold” on listing Azhar, Mr. Lu was affirmative in denying the assertion. “I don't know from where you get such information, but the Security Council and its subsidiary bodies like 1267 committee, they have clear rules of procedures and you have to seek clarification from those sources.”

He added: “China’s position is very clear. This issue should be resolved through cooperation and we don’t believe that any efforts without consensus of most members will achieve satisfying results.”

China has emphasised that the purpose of its “technical hold” is to allow more discussion on the issue in order to achieve a consensus based settlement within the parameters of the 1267 committee.

Mr. Lu said, “In relevant discussions, most members expressed that this issue should be discussed within 1267 committee and they don't hope to bypass the 1267 committee {This is a fraudulent Chinese statement} to handle the issue. Regarding what you said, relevant parties are forcing a new resolution through the Security Council, we firmly oppose that.”

Last month, Beijing dismissed allegations that it was sheltering terrorists by placing a “technical hold” on listing Azhar. On April 1, the Chinese foreign ministry said Beijing “has been in close communication and coordination with various parties,” in the 1267 committee.

Time to invite Ujghur freedom fighters and to confer on them awards for their work for international peace and stability!

Ban on Masood Azhar: China looking for a face-saving formula - Saibal Dasgupta, ToI
China is looking for a formula that would save face for Beijing in Pakistan if it does an about turn on the Masood Azhar issue.
The Azhar case has posed a serious challenge to China’s international image ahead of the Belt and Road Forum that it is holding in Beijing between April 25 and 27, informed sources in Beijing said.

The most important project under the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) is in Pakistan which is also seen in many places as an exporter of terror.
China is giving out signals that it is reviewing its own stance about blocking efforts by India, the US and other countries to get the United Nations to declare Jaish-e-Muhammed head Masood Azhar a global terrorist.

“We are also having communication with relevant parties and the matter is moving towards the direction of settlement (sic). Regarding what you said, relevant parties are forcing a new resolution through the Security Council,” Chinese foreign ministry spokesman Lu Kang said.

Lu added, “On the issue of the listing of Masood Azhar, China’s position remains unchanged.” But China is known to say this about almost all international matters even when it is changing its approach to certain issues.

Changing its stance towards Azhar, which has protected both Pakistan and the Jaish chief for years, is going to be difficult for Beijing. The Pakistani military checks the possible flow of Taliban influence into the troubled Chinese border region of Xinjiang which has seen a lot of terrorism.

Before changing its stance on Azhar, China needs a good enough explanation to not just get the Pakistani government and military to accept it but also sell the idea to the media and public in Pakistan.

Most importantly, Beijing wants to make sure that a change in stance does not result in anger and put Chinese workers in the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor at risk.

China ready for Wuhan-style summit meet with India despite differences over BRI: Chinese foreign minister - PTI

Why is China begging, cajoling India repeatedly to join BRI? It was even willing to change the name of CPOKEC (China-POK Economic Corridor) at one point of time, until Pakistan uncharacteristically threatened its Chinese master !
China said Friday it was ready to hold a Wuhan-style summit meeting with India this year to improve ties, notwithstanding the differences over the trillion-dollar Belt and Road Initiative in which the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) is a flagship project.

Addressing a media conference here ahead of the Belt and Road Forum (BRF) being held from April 25-27 to showcase China's trillion-dollar Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), Chinese foreign minister Wang Yi appealed to India to shed its opposition to the $60 billion CPEC, saying it no way "undermined" the basic position on the Kashmir dispute.

Asked if India's opposition to the BRI would undermine the new momentum generated by last year's informal summit between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chinese President Xi Jinping, Wang said the two leaders had a very successful meeting at Wuhan city.

"Particularly they have established mutual trust between the leadership and they jointly planned for the future of improvement and strengthening of China-India relations.

"After the Wuhan summit, we see all areas or progress between the two countries and we have bright prospect for this relationship. We are now preparing for the next summit of our leaders," he said without specifying any timeline.

After the Wuhan summit hosted by China, the second summit will be held by India. President Xi plans to visit India for the 2nd informal summit after the general elections, currently underway, are over.

Wang said so far 37 heads of state and governments had confirmed their participation in the BRF. Representatives from over 150 countries organisations' close to 5,000 participants have confirmed their participation. {We have to see the final tally. In the first BRF, China made grand claims which weren't true finally}

Leaders of Pakistan and Nepal are among the countries who would take part in the meeting.

Informed sources here [Beijing] told PTI that there was no official invitation from China to the Indian leadership or at the ministerial level to take part in its 2nd BRF meeting.

For its first BRF meeting held in May 2017, China had invited India to take part in the six separate forums that China organised as part of the meeting.

Indian Ambassador to China, Vikram Misri flagged India's concerns over the CPEC in an interview to state-run Global Times last month stating that "above all, connectivity initiatives must be pursued in a manner that respects sovereignty, equality and territorial integrity of nations. No country can participate in an initiative that ignores its core concerns on sovereignty and territorial integrity".

The BRI is a multi-billion-dollar initiative launched by President Xi when he came to power in 2013. It aims to link Southeast Asia, Central Asia, the Gulf region, Africa and Europe with a network of land and sea routes.

The CPEC which has been officially designated as a flagship project of the BRI, has become a stumbling block for India to take part in it as the controversial project is being laid through Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK).

Foreign minister Wang said China and India were two major countries, besides being neighbours.

"It is natural for us to have differences. This is only natural. I remember Prime Minister Modi mentioning many times that we cannot escalate our differences into disputes. The Indian side wants to put our difference at a proper level in order not to interfere in the development of our relations," he said.

"I believe this is in the fundamental interest of the people of the two countries and that is what China is happy to see," he said.
"One of our differences is how to look at the BRI. The Indian side has its concerns. We understand that and that is why we have stated clearly on many occasions that the BRI including the CPEC is only an economic initiative and it does not target any third country and has nothing to do with the sovereign and territorial disputes left from history between any two countries," he said.

Besides India's protests over the CPEC, China's doling out of huge sums of money especially to smaller countries raised concerns after Beijing acquired Sri Lanka's strategic Hambantota port on a 99-year lease as a debt swap
"India has its basic position on these disputes. Our cooperation will not undermine any party's position on those issues," Wang said, apparently suggesting that it would not alter even Pakistan's position on the disputed status of the PoK.

China has been maintaining that Kashmir dispute is left over from history and it should be resolved between India and Pakistan.

"Now we are trying to achieve common prosperity through the cooperation under the BRI. Those issues left over from history must be separated from our efforts in this area.

"I think such cooperation will not undermine your basic position on sovereignty and territorial integrity and at the same time provide you with more opportunities of development and help India in your modernisation endeavour. I believe this is a good option and good choice for India," Wang said.

Asked whether the US is taking part in the 2nd BRF meet, Wang, while criticising Washington's stand, said America took part in the first BRF meet in 2017.

"We welcome their participation. According to what we know American diplomats, local government and business leaders have confirmed their participation in the 2nd BRF," Wang said.

Wang said besides the US, France, Germany, the UK, Spain, Japan, South Korea and the EU will send high-level representatives to the forum.
Dumal

Post by Dumal »

China has a way of creating and using random issues and then equating a quid-pro-quo resolution against something that is of great value to them. In this case, I think they might try to use something as silly as removing the hold on Azhar's terrorist tag for our support to BRI. I would think to our strategists they have no equivalency, but it won't stop China from trying.

This is just courting to cut down American options. Nothing else. I hope we have enough sense to not take anything they say at face value and with towards our goals with a steady mind and not get taken in by such flowery flattery.

BRI looks like China's mini WTO to me ; desi babus obviously lack depth to understand what all this means it's a way for China to establish it's own limited sphere of influence where it runs the show akin to Amreeka within Nato/G5 . India is being invited to only provide this BRI formal legitimacy . China has a very clear policy when it comes to economics and trade it's always nice to us because India is a market and consumer however in military or geopolitical sphere China knows to put our jokers in their rightful place . Fact is Chinese mean business whereas our rattoo totas don't have a clue.

Foreign secretary Vijay Gokhale in Beijing, buzz on Masood Azhar - Saibal Dasgupta, ToI
India’s foreign secretary Vijay Gokhale is on a two-day visit to the capital [[Beijing], ahead of the Belt and Road Forum from April 25 to 27 in Beijing.

The spur-of-the-moment visit has stirred interest whether New Delhi is “intensely negotiating” with Beijing on the issue of JeM terrorist Masood Azhar. If the visit yields a decision, it is likely to have a significant impact with India currently in the middle of a general election to form the next government at the Centre.

New Delhi wants Beijing to stop blocking Indian efforts to get the JeM chief declared a global terrorist at the United Nations Security Council. India also wants China to persuade Pakistan to crack down on Masood Azhar and his supporters.

The Indian embassy in China said Gokhale’s visit is for “regular bilateral consultations” and did not go into specifics. The former ambassador to China is also scheduled to meet China’s state councillor and Foreign Minister Wang Yi on April 22, it said.

The question is whether Beijing would insist on at least a low-level participation by India at the OBOR forum.

Chinese foreign minister Wang Yi indicated on Friday that the two countries would continue to have a “good relationship even if India chooses not to participate in the Forum”, indicating he was preparing for negotiations with India’s foreign secretary.

Indian ambassador to China Vikram Misri recently suggested India will not be participating in the Forum. He told state-run Global Times last month "above all, connectivity initiatives must be pursued in a manner that respects the sovereignty, equality and territorial integrity of nations. No country can participate in an initiative that ignores its core concerns on sovereignty and territorial integrity".

China's tactic is predictably always the same. Patiently wait over any issue without resolving it immediately until the odds turn in its favour or a suitable quid-pro-quo can be effected. Its cleverness is in successfully warding off any pressure for resolution by assigning various reasons at various times but making them appear as 'a consistent stand by China', until such time it can exploit the issue. For this reason, it uses very broad and inexact terminologies such as "issue left behind by history", 'we are in touch with all the relevant parties', 'there is no unanimity', 'not everyone is in favour' etc.

China did not send invitation to India for the second BRF and it would be therefore too late to strike a quid-pro-quo between Masood Azhar and BRF-II at this stage. It will ask for something else, for example prominent role for Huawei in 5G and future positive consideration of BRI.

None of this is worth our pursuit against Pakistani-sponsored terror. Allowing the Trojan-horse Huawei is fatal for our national interests too. In fact, the UNSC-1267 ban of Masood Azhar doesn't amount to much (as we saw from Hafiz Saeed's case) except that India's stand on terror against Pakistan is vindicated once again and we can possibly use that also in FATF and other fora. China could also be worried that this might give an undue advantage to India in the SCO where it would like to maintain equality between the two states, if not downright bias favouring Terroristan.

Agreed. Any concessions given to cheen will be entirely too much given they give nothing at all.
souravB

Post by souravB »

^^saar this Azhar business by Cheen is actually pretty advantageous to India right now if political parties stop using it for political gain. While Cheen stops the ban, Azhar will be free to do what it does in Pukistan leaving us free to do what we want to do in Pukistan(read covert and overt ops). China's block is giving us the need of the hour, impunity. And all of this with a quid pro quo that we can use against Cheen later for something major.
It is unfortunate but we need this Azhar character to be free in Pakistan until and unless we achieve our objective which is either put a ban on PA or declare Pukistan as terrorist state.
Why do you think Unkil is pushing this so hard in UN. Not out of goodness of it's own heart. They want to pacify India so India delay the punishment to Pukistan to meet Unkil's own goal in Afg.

Pacifying India is far down their list. Let's not give ourselves too much bhav/buildup. They're doing to correr China and portray them as terror supporters which they can use each n every time they talk about them. Any gains for us in this is purely incidental.

souravB wrote:^^saar this Azhar business by Cheen is actually pretty advantageous to India right now if political parties stop using it for political gain. While Cheen stops the ban, Azhar will be free to do what it does in Pukistan leaving us free to do what we want to do in Pukistan(read covert and overt ops). China's block is giving us the need of the hour, impunity. And all of this with a quid pro quo that we can use against Cheen later for something major.
It is unfortunate but we need this Azhar character to be free in Pakistan until and unless we achieve our objective which is either put a ban on PA or declare Pukistan as terrorist state.
Why do you think Unkil is pushing this so hard in UN. Not out of goodness of it's own heart. They want to pacify India so India delay the punishment to Pukistan to meet Unkil's own goal in Afg.
This got me thinking and I agree with the point - it is in our interest for this to fester. We get carte blanche to retaliate and proactive take action against terrorist infrastructure and assisting military infrastructure, as long as we can show it is related to Azhar. We get a needle to poke the Chinese.

Former GE Engineer and Chinese Businessman Charged with Economic Espionage and Theft of GE’s Trade Secrets
An indictment unsealed today charges Xiaoqing Zheng, 56, of Niskayuna, New York, and Zhaoxi Zhang, 47, of Liaoning Province, China, with economic espionage and conspiring to steal General Electric’s (GE’s) trade secrets surrounding turbine technologies, knowing and intending that those stolen trade secrets would be used to benefit the People’s Republic of China. Assistant Attorney General for National Security John C. Demers, U.S. Attorney Grant C. Jaquith for the Northern District of New York, Assistant Director John Brown of the FBI’s Counterintelligence Division and Special Agent in Charge James N. Hendricks of the FBI’s Albany Field Office made the announcement.

According to the 14-count indictment, Zheng, while employed at GE Power & Water in Schenectady, New York as an engineer specializing in sealing technology, exploited his access to GE’s files by stealing multiple electronic files, including proprietary files involving design models, engineering drawings, configuration files, and material specifications having to do with various components and testing systems associated with GE gas and steam turbines. Zheng e-mailed and transferred many of the stolen GE files to his business partner, Chinese businessman Zhaoxi Zhang, who was located in China. Zheng and Zhang used the stolen GE trade secrets to advance their own business interests in two Chinese companies - Liaoning Tianyi Aviation Technology Co., Ltd. (LTAT) and Nanjing Tianyi Avi Tech Co. Ltd. (NTAT), companies which research, develop, and manufacture parts for turbines.

mappunni

Post by mappunni »

That's in Houston. I myself personally know Desi researchers similarly UT Southwestern is another premier research hub in Dallas.

The issue is with Chinese stealing IP.
syam

Post by syam »

I am amazed by the way people are going hard on ip stealing. If we look back few centuries back, west also did same with our ip. Let's not outrage on the behalf of white man. We already got independence few decades back. It's not global empire where everyone has to answer to the emperor. No rules are there to begin with anyway. why cry about unfair treatment and later play the same team?

Something new happening on world stage. let's secure ourselves. Focus more on northeast and sub-continent.

syam wrote:I am amazed by the way people are going hard on ip stealing. If we look back few centuries back, west also did same with our ip. Let's not outrage on the behalf of white man. We already got independence few decades back. It's not global empire where everyone has to answer to the emperor. No rules are there to begin with anyway. why cry about unfair treatment and later play the same team?

Something new happening on world stage. let's secure ourselves. Focus more on northeast and sub-continent.
And that's why we have to be watchful. Han stealing the latest technology WILL have implications for our security and not all good ones.

You seemed to have overlooked this tiny fact, but how long before that cutting edge tech finds it way into battlefield weapons, Cyber warfare and Anti-satellite weapons specifically targetted at us?
syam

Post by syam »

Kashi wrote: And that's why we have to be watchful. Han stealing the latest technology WILL have implications for our security and not all good ones.

You seemed to have overlooked this tiny fact, but how long before that cutting edge tech finds it way into battlefield weapons, Cyber warfare and Anti-satellite weapons specifically targetted at us?
What makes you think we are not targeted yet? Just go to any social media site, you will see how they are working against us.

:rotfl: chinis will target us. We have to be careful. Only west has rights to screw us indians.

I'd rather not be screwed by anyone.

You'd rather that since we are getting screwed by the West, we should have no qualms about Chinese screwing us too.
syam

Post by syam »

Ok. . . I didn't say we should get screwed by both. Way to kill the discussion.

Most of the anti-chini thing is western import. Same as RW ideology. I am expecting some indic response to chinis threat.

Xi Jinping meets Imran Khan, calls for improvement of Indo-Pak relations - PTI
Chinese President Xi Jinping met Prime Minister Imran Khan on Sunday and expressed hope that Pakistan and India can meet each other halfway to improve their strained relations following the Pulwama terror attack by a JeM suicide bomber.

Both leaders also exchanged views on the situations in South Asia
, an official Chinese statement in Beijing said about the meeting between Mr. Xi and Mr. Khan.

The India-Pakistan relations reportedly figured prominently in the meeting. Mr. Xi expressed hope that Pakistan and India can meet each other halfway and promote the stabilisation and improvement of India-Pakistan relations, it said.

Mr. Khan arrived in China on April 25 and attended China’s 2nd Belt and Road Forum (BRF) held on April 26-27.

The Sunday’s meeting between Mr. Xi and Mr. Khan was regarded significant as it was held in the backdrop of heightened tensions between India and Pakistan following the February 14 Pulwama terror attack carried out by Pakistan-based terror group JeM which killed 40 Indian CRPF soldiers.

China had sent its Vice Foreign Minister Kong Xuanyou to visit Pakistan in March as part of its efforts to ease the tensions.

Mr. Khan’s meeting with Mr. Xi took place when China is under pressure at the United Nations over its repeated attempts to block efforts to declare Pakistan-based JeM leader Masood Azhar as a global terrorist.

China’s technical hold on UNSC resolution

Last month, China put a technical hold on a resolution put forth by the US, the UK and France at the UN’s 1267 counter terrorism committee to declare Azhar as a global terrorist.

The US later took the issue to the UN Security Council (UNSC) in a bid to pressure China to take a public stance on Azhar’s issue instead of just putting up blocks at the 1267 committee.

China had expressed its firm opposition to the issue being taken to the UNSC, saying that the matter headed for settlement and blamed the US for scuttling it.

While there is no word here whether the Azhar issue figured in Mr. Xi’s talks with Mr. Khan, officials say there is a sense of wariness on the part of Beijing to block India, the US and other countries’ efforts to blacklist him at the UN on behalf of Pakistan.

Officials hoped that the issue could be resolved in the coming weeks following Mr. Khan’s visit to China.

Pakistan-China sign agreements

Prior to his meeting with Mr. Xi, Mr. Khan called on Chinese Premier Li Keqiang during which the two countries signed a number of agreements. Earlier, he met Chinese Vice President Wang Qishan.

During Sunday’s meeting, Mr. Xi expressed China’s firm support to Pakistan to further the bilateral ties between the all-weather allies.

“Pakistan is China’s all-weather strategic cooperative partner. China and Pakistan are ‘iron friends’ and have always firmly supported each other on issues concerning each other’s core interests.” Mr. Xi said. {This romantic and funny terminologies are now flowing one way from the Emperor}

China takes Pakistan as a priority in its diplomacy, he said.

“No matter how international and regional situations change, China firmly supports Pakistan in safeguarding its sovereignty and national dignity, choosing its own development path suited to its national conditions, combating terrorist and extremist forces, striving for a sound external security environment, and playing a constructive role in international and regional affairs,” Mr. Xi said.

He said major progress had been made in bilateral cooperation in the construction of the CPEC, especially in areas such as finance, trade and other aspects, the statement said.

“In the next stage, China and Pakistan should make more efforts to advance the all-weather strategic cooperation,” Mr. Xi said.
Deepen high-level contacts

He called on both sides to deepen high-level contacts and mutual support, strengthen strategic communication and promote high-quality cooperation in production capacity, infrastructure construction, people’s livelihood and trade within the framework of the BRI. {Xi, the megalomaniac feels that he is the Emperor of all that he surveys. So, there is now nothing outside of BRI. This is an important takeawaay now. The engulfing of Terroristan under the BRI rubric is complete}

Mr. Khan said the CPEC had played an important role in Pakistan’s economic development and the improvement of people’s lives.

He said he believed more and more countries will support and participate in the cooperation under the BRI.

Pakistan is willing to consolidate its traditional friendship with China, deepen pragmatic cooperation and enhance communication and coordination with China in multilateral affairs, Mr. Khan was quoted as saying in the statement.

During his meeting, Mr. Khan spoke a few times about India-Pakistan relations and the prospects of peace between the two countries.

Addressing Pakistan and China Investment Forum in Beijing on Sunday, he expressed hope that the relations between the two neighbours will improve after the Indian general elections.

“We want to build a civilized relationship with our Eastern neighbour and there is a possibility that if we can resolve the Kashmir issue through dialogue, things can improve,” he was quoted by state-run Radio Pakistan as saying.

syam wrote:Ok. . . I didn't say we should get screwed by both. Way to kill the discussion.

Most of the anti-chini thing is western import. Same as RW ideology. I am expecting some indic response to chinis threat.

Eh, Cheen is a strange country. Commie but occupies top rank as a trading nation. Massive military/military-industrial complex but distinctly non-warrior with no fighting experience for four decades. Closed but open.

A typical example is they are willing to embrace Hollywood and Bollywood to an extent that Indians would never do in return. At the very least it means they as a people are open to foreign ideas, thoughts and visions and thus more resilient than your average tinpot dictatorship.

The fact they are global in thought and practice (trade, tourism, education) also makes friendship with them a little more likely than your regular dictatorship but the inflow and acceptance of foreign ideas also makes them more formidable if they remain as rivals.

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat- ... 5m-1205435

https://m.economictimes.com/magazines/p ... 989490.cms

X Posted on the Terroristan Thread

Listing of Masood Azhar as global terrorist by UN will be ‘properly resolved’: China - Express Web Desk

Last month, China had placed a technical hold on a fresh proposal to impose a ban on the head of Pakistan-based JeM which claimed responsibility for the deadly Pulwama terror attack. It was for the fourth time, China blocked Azhar's listing as a global terrorist by the UN.

Days after Chinese President Xi Jinping met Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan, Beijing Tuesday said that the contentious issue of designating Jaish-e-Mohammed chief Masood Azhar as a global terrorist by the UN will be “properly resolved”. However, it did not give any timeline on the issue.

“I can only say that I believe that this will be properly resolved,” Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Geng Shuang told a media briefing in Beijing, PTI reported. He was responding to queries on the media reports that China has purportedly consented to lift its technical hold on a fresh proposal moved by France, the UK and the US to list Azhar under the 1267 Al Qaeda Sanctions Committee of the UN Security Council.

Last month, China had placed a technical hold on a fresh proposal to impose a ban on the head of Pakistan-based JeM which claimed responsibility for the deadly Pulwama terror attack. It was for the fourth time, China blocked Azhar’s listing as a global terrorist by the UN.

According to reports, the US, the UK and France this time have stepped up pressure on Beijing by taking the issue directly to the powerful UN Security Council (UNSC).

Beijing’s opposition to the issue be taken to the apex UN body stems from the fact that it would have to publically explain its stand on its reservations to list Azhar, whose group JeM has already been designated as terror outfit by UN, before exercising its veto power as a permanent member of the UNSC.

China has accused the US of scuttling progress to resolve the issue by taking it to the UNSC and insisted that it should be resolved at the 1267 Committee whose proceedings are not publicised.

“Regarding the listing issue in the 1267 Committee, we have expressed our position many times and I just want to stress two points,” Geng said answering a number of questions on Azhar’s issue. “First, we support the listing issue being settled within the 1267 committee through dialogue and consultation and I believe this is the consensus of most members. Second, the relevant consultations are going on within the committee and has achieved some progress. Third, I believe, with the joint efforts of all parties, this issue can be properly resolved,” he said.

On reports that China would lift its technical hold on May 1, he said, “on the listing issue, China is still working with the relevant parties and we are in contact with all relevant parties within the 1267 Committee and I believe with the joint efforts of all parties, this will be properly resolved.”

Major lifafa offensive being undertaken by China to get US drunk-tanks and policymakers on board with BRI/OBOR.

The lifafa-acceptor in this case is a (hack-thhoo) anal-cyst of Desi origin named "Parag Khanna". Long-time Sinophile who has been unremittingly dismissive of India's emergence.

https://www.politico.com/magazine/story ... ake-226759

But there are many, many more articles with exactly this tone in Foreign Policy, The Diplomat, etc. All messaging that the US is missing out on a great thing by not embracing BRI.
The greatest fallacy permeating geopolitical discourse today is the notion that the 21st century world must choose between American or Chinese leadership. The world has already voted, and the winner is neither. America’s share of the global economy and trade is shrinking, its military is overstretched, and its credibility is in tatters due to a combination of the Iraq War, financial crisis and Donald Trump. :roll:

But that doesn’t mean China is taking over. In 1945, when the U.S. emerged from World War II as the world’s sole superpower, it represented fully 50 percent of the world economy. Today, China represents barely 15 percent of global gross domestic product and its economy is decelerating and its population plateauing. India is already growing more quickly than China and its younger population will soon be larger than China’s. Simply put: China is rising into a world that is already multipolar; it doesn’t displace incumbent powers such as America and Europe—whose economies are still equal or larger than China’s—and cannot prevent the rise of India nor easily subdue Japan, South Korea or Australia.

These simple geographic, historical and economic facts are precisely why Belt and Road is a foremost national priority for China, so much so that it is now enshrined in the constitution. China existentially feels the need to diversify its trade routes to Europe, the Middle East and Africa in order to survive. Rather that perpetually vilify China, therefore, we should make sense of its fears and interests :roll: and use those to shape its future behavior. In other words, the actions of Kissinger/Nixon and Clintoon that unleashed Chinese nuclear-proliferation on the world and also gutted the US manufacturing economy were, surprise-surprise, the "right" way to go. And yet he says American credibility is in tatters because of the financial crisis and Donald Trump... both direct correlates of the shambles in which embracing China left the US economy.

BRI is a good place to start. Its mission is perfectly laudable: To promote commerce and people-to-people exchange among almost 100 postcolonial and post-Soviet republics. The West should strongly support this mission, for if executed correctly, it would result in greater prosperity across the developing world, enhanced Western commercial opportunities in fast-growing markets, and bring about more multipolar Asia. "bring about a more multipolar Asia" here is a code word for "help contain Russia (and secondarily, Iran (and tertiarily, India))." Basically the Nixon-Clintoon (or Kissinger-Halfbright) argument being warmed over for the 100th time.If the world—and the U.S.—can steer BRI correctly, the project should actually help diffuse power, not concentrate it in China’s hands.

This is entirely consistent with a smart U.S. grand strategy of seeking a world order in which it does not have to intervene everywhere but rather balances itself, Pandering to the Trumpkins here. Even those Republicans who support Trump on the basis of "no more foreign wars" should support OBOR because it will make the world safe for trade and democracy while lessening the reasons for international military intervention... or so he argues. In other words, "G2 redux". while providing greater opportunities for America to benefit from global economic growth on the other side of the planet. Remember that China did not dominate the ancient Silk Roads and will not dictate their future even as it has taken a lead role in rebuilding them. Beijing is building roads, but all roads won’t lead to Beijing.

Rudradev, what do you make of that moron Narang and the rest of the brown NPA crowd on twitter?

Just another facet of what Rajiv Malhotra calls the Academic Sepoys. Some claim to be economists (Amartya Sen) or social scientists (Angana Chatterji) or cultural critics (Ania Loomba). Others like Vipin Narang claim to be strategerical experts on nooklear prolifurelation, even though their apparent qualification may be political science (as in Narang's case). They know on which side their bagel is buttered, that's all. Simply a limb of the C-system which has inveigled itself (and been welcomed, for obvious reasons) at Western Universities.

Dragons, disrupted
Foreign suspicion is hemming in China Inc’s global rise

If China wants to see more of its companies succeed abroad, it should cut them slack at home

Teens everywhere love lip-synching to TikTok. Parents may be less enamoured of the boppy music-video app, whose popularity has exploded of late. For different reasons, governments appear wary, too. In February TikTok paid a record $5.7m fine in America for illegally collecting data on users under the age of 13. This month an Indian court banned the app on the grounds that it abets sexual predators. Bangladesh and, briefly, Indonesia, have banned it in the past year, alleging it promotes *****.

TikTok is not the only social-media app to perturb regulators concerned about data privacy, fake news or dangerous content. But there is another reason for the attention: TikTok is Chinese. The angst surrounding its parent company, Bytedance, and China’s other tech titans is a measure of their rising global relevance. Five of the ten most popular apps used by Indians last year were Chinese. Two in five TikTok users live in India, Bytedance’s largest market outside China, ahead of America. Baidu, Alibaba and Tencent—technology behemoths collectively known as the bats—hold stakes in 150 companies abroad, according to Abacus, a research arm of the South China Morning Post, a newspaper. Alibaba has 56 data centres overseas. Tencent owns 17.5% of Snap, creator of a popular American messaging app, and 7.5% of Spotify, a Swedish music-streaming service.

No firm has animated worries about China Inc’s overseas forays more than Huawei, its most successful global company. Governments worry that its telecoms gear might enable spying on behalf of the Chinese state (see article). Scrutiny of Huawei is understandable, given the strategic importance of 5g. But “the Huawei effect”, as Samm Sacks of New America, a think-tank in Washington, dc, calls it, is infecting internet and consumer-electronics firms hitherto viewed as innocuous, because their technologies were regarded as less important and their links to the Communist party looser.

In foreign eyes, both of these mitigating factors appear to be weakening. The bats in particular have moved beyond their core businesses of internet search, e-commerce and gaming, respectively. They control and crunch flows of data, at home and abroad, and manage cloud-computing services. This allies them to the state-led “Made in China 2025” scheme to dominate advanced technologies such as artificial intelligence.

Meanwhile, a two-year-old security law compels firms to participate in intelligence-gathering when the party asks them to. Since November the police can enter the offices of any Chinese internet-services provider to copy data deemed relevant to cyber-security. Hard as it is to imagine Chinese companies refusing requests from their authoritarian government even in the absence of formal rules, these developments highlighted the risk. Now, observes Ms Sacks, “if you pair the words ‘China’ and ‘tech’, red flags go up”.

As a result, more Chinese acquisitions that involve the transfer of sensitive technologies are being scotched. Last summer America’s Congress beefed up the screening regime for foreign investments, making life harder for acquisitive firms from China. On April 1st Beijing Kunlun Tech, a gaming company, said that it was in talks with American government officials over its ownership of Grindr, a popular gay dating app that it acquired last year. The Committee on Foreign Investment in the United States (cfius), an American agency that vets foreign deals for national-security risks, has reportedly ordered it to sell. cfius fears, it is thought, that personal data submitted by the app’s users, which include messages, location and even hiv status, could be used by the Chinese government to blackmail American officials.

In a similar case this month PatientsLikeMe, which helps connect people suffering from the same illness, was reported to be looking for a buyer after cfius had forced iCarbonx, a Chinese health-data analytics firm backed by Tencent, to sell its majority stake in the American platform. Last year cfius blocked the $1.2bn purchase of MoneyGram, a money-transfer firm, by Ant Financial, an Alibaba affiliate, on national-security grounds. Investment by Chinese firms in America fell below $5bn last year, from $46bn in 2016, according to Rhodium Group, a consultancy.

Authorities are beginning to restrict not just Chinese companies’ investments, but their products. In 2017 American officials warned that those of dji, a leading drone-maker, were probably sending data on critical infrastructure back to China’s government; the us Army barred dji drones from its bases. In 2018 American government agencies were banned from using cameras made by Hikvision, the world’s biggest manufacturer of cctv kit. Some large American funds have quietly sold their stakes in the firm, which also risks sanctions in America for supplying technology that aids repression in parts of China.

It is not just America picking on its chief geopolitical rival. Defence ministries in Australia and India have prohibited staff from using WeChat, Tencent’s messaging app. The Australian Strategic Policy Institute has urged the app’s 1.5m Australian users to beware of propaganda and censorship. In March India’s ruling Bharatiya Janata Party complained to the election commission that Bytedance’s social-media apps were interfering in elections. It wants to ban a Bytedance news aggregator called Helo. Fearing Chinese propaganda ahead of its own general election in 2020, Taiwan may ban Baidu’s iqiyi, called China’s Netflix, and stop Tencent from launching its own video-streaming service on the island (which China views as a part of its territory). Israel, where Chinese investors accounted for 12% of tech deals in the first nine months of 2018, is thinking of creating a cfius-like oversight body.

As China’s businesses push overseas, its all-powerful president, Xi Jinping, expects more loyalty at home. After the government nixed its popular six-year-old jokes app last year, Bytedance’s founder, Zhang Yiming, apologised publicly. The firm’s news app, Jinri Toutiao, has devoted a channel to party pronouncements. According to Reuters, a widespread app launched in February called “Study the Great Nation”—a little red book for the digital age—was built by Alibaba (which declined to comment). The firm has 200-odd Communist-party branches; 600 party members reportedly join its workforce yearly. A recent revelation by a state newspaper that Jack Ma, its boss, was a party member stunned outsiders, who viewed him as the embodiment of a market-driven China.

Chinese companies are doing “a lot of persuading” to show they have no political agenda, says William Chou, vice-chairman of the China practice at Deloitte, a consulting and accountancy firm. Alibaba and Tencent have spent lavishly on their foreign holdings, but would relish a bigger global footprint. Barely 10% of Alibaba’s revenues come from outside China.

In China’s “socialist market economy” it is hard to tell which firms are closer to the party, and so more deserving of suspicion. Assuming they are all an arm of the state, as some foreign politicians urge, carries its own risks. Blacklist too many Chinese firms and you hurt your own. China can retaliate by blocking access to the world’s biggest market. Even if it doesn’t, spurning Chinese advances deprives foreigners of opportunities. PatientsLikeMe hoped the iCarbonx tie-up would grant it access to Chinese machine-learning technology.

Treating all Chinese companies alike also underestimates the vibrancy of China’s private sector. Ms Sacks reckons that the new cyber-security laws may be a tacit recognition by the party that the bats have grown powerful—more so, even, than some government ministries. If Mr Xi really wants Chinese firms to succeed abroad, he should cut them some slack at home.

X Posted on the Terroristani Thread

Positive progress made’: China on listing Masood Azhar as global terrorist – Sutirtho Patranobis and Rezaul H Laskar

China put a technical hold in March on a fresh proposal to impose a ban on the head of Pakistan-based JeM which claimed responsibility for the deadly Pulwama terror attack. It was for the fourth time, China blocked Azhar’s listing as a global terrorist by the UN.

China on Tuesday said there has been “positive progress” in consultations on the listing of Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) chief Masood Azhar as a global terrorist and the matter will be “properly resolved”, an apparent indication Beijing is close to lifting its hold on the sanctioning of the Pakistan-based terrorist.

Soon after the February 14 attack in Pulwama by a JeM suicide bomber that killed 40 Indian troopers, France, with the backing of the US and the UK, moved a proposal at the UN’s 1267 Sanctions Committee to blacklist Azhar. At the end of a 10-day period to consider the proposal, China placed a hold on the proposal on March 13, saying more time was needed to discuss the issue.

In response to a flurry of questions about China lifting its hold on Azhar’s listing, Chinese foreign ministry spokesperson Geng Shuang told a regular news briefing in Beijing: “I want to emphasise that, first, China supports the issue of listing being resolved through political consultations within the framework of the 1267 Committee. I think that is also the consensus of the overwhelming majority of the members of the [UN Security] Council.

“Second, the relevant consultations are currently underway within the framework of the 1267 Committee, and positive progress has been made. Third, we believe that with the joint efforts of all parties, this problem can be properly solved,” said Geng, who spoke in Mandarin.

Hindustan Times first reported on Tuesday that China is expected to lift its hold on blacklisting Azhar at the UN’s Islamic State and al-Qaeda Sanctions Committee, also known as the 1267 Sanctions Committee, on May 1. A global terror tag on Azhar would be a major diplomatic victory for the Narendra Modi government.

There was no formal response from the external affairs ministry to the Chinese foreign ministry spokesperson’s remarks. However, Indian officials who asked not to be named said they were waiting and watching for Beijing to act.

“In a matter as sensitive as this, one can’t say anything until it finally happens,” said an official.

China has so far blocked four attempts to list Azhar at the 1267 Sanctions Committee – a move interpreted as a sign of its “all-weather” relationship with Pakistan. However, the latest block resulted in international criticism of China for providing an escape route to Azhar, especially after Beijing signed off on a UN Security Council statement condemning the Pulwama attack that named JeM.

The development also angered the US and its allies, which circulated a draft resolution on listing Azhar among the UN Security Council’s members to force China’s hand.

People familiar with developments noted that the Chinese foreign ministry spokesperson’s remarks about the issue being resolved “within the framework of the 1267 Committee” were an indication that Beijing didn’t want the matter to be taken to the UN Security Council.

There have been other signs that the issue of Azhar’s listing has been inching towards a resolution. The US principal deputy assistant secretary of state for South and Central Asia, Alice Wells, told her Indian interlocutors during a visit to New Delhi last week that Washington was looking for action against Azhar “in the near term, people familiar with developments said.

The UK high commissioner, Dominic Asquith, too told reporters last week that his country was optimistic about Azhar’s listing.

Spokesperson Geng did not hint at a timeline for withdrawing the hold against Azhar’s listing but said: “China is in contact with all relevant parties on this issue and we will continue to engage in the discussion and review of this issue in a constructive manner. I believe with the joint efforts of [all] parties, this issue can be properly resolved.”

Before responding to questions on Azhar at the news briefing, Geng answered in some detail about the close ties between China and Pakistan in the backdrop of Prime Minister Imran Khan’s recent visit to Beijing to attend the second Belt and Road Forum.

Geng made it a point to praise Pakistan’s counter-terrorism efforts. “We commend the Pakistani government’s and people’s efforts in fighting terrorism and extremism and their great endeavours and sacrifices to this end. We call on the international community to fairly and justly see Pakistan’s endeavours and contributions in counter-terrorism and step up dialogue and cooperation with the country,” he said.

“I would like to stress that Pakistan is China’s ‘all-weather strategic cooperative partner’. To borrow Prime Minister Imran Khan’s words, our two countries are iron brothers,” he added.

“We firmly support each other on issues concerning our core interests. Pakistan is always one of China’s diplomatic priorities. No matter how the international and regional situation may evolve, we firmly support Pakistan in safeguarding its sovereignty and dignity, independently choosing its development path based on its own conditions, securing a sound external environment and playing a constructive role in international and regional affairs,” Geng said.

However, people familiar with developments in New Delhi and Beijing said China had been quietly messaging Pakistan about the need to do more against terrorism despite some concerns in Beijing about possible repercussions for the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) in the event of the listing of Azhar. China is worried about possible blowback from JeM against CPEC and Chinese nationals working in Pakistan, the people added.

The issue of Azhar’s listing had also figured in discussions when foreign secretary Vijay Gokhale visited Beijing last week, Indian officials said. External affairs ministry spokesperson Raveesh Kumar said in a statement last week that Gokhale had “shared with China all evidences of terrorist activities of Jaish-e-Mohammed and its leader Masood Azhar”.

Azhar Masood declared a global terrorist.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 128905.cms
siqir

Post by siqir »

china switching their stance seemed pretty low probability so this is quite a surprise

if they have decided to play nice this may be a signal of more to come specially on the tibet and dalai lama issue
Ardeshir

Post by Ardeshir »

Chicoms will expect eternal gratitude for this - none should be shown. There can be no concessions to them on any front, that is the only language they truly understand.

siqir wrote:china switching their stance seemed pretty low probability so this is quite a surprise

if they have decided to play nice this may be a signal of more to come specially on the tibet and dalai lama issue
We should consider that no country, not even Unkil, has as much interest in the outcome of Indian elections (or is observing them as granularly) as China. Maybe Pakistan, but that's effectively a Chinese province now.

So switching the stance is probably in complete accordance with their reading of the (oolong) tea leaves. No Lahul, onree Modi.

Honestly I found it a little irritating reading about the "diplomatic offensive" every other day to get Azar listed as a terrorist in the UN, gave me a flashback of the dossier days. China blocking the ban was a petulant F-You to us, our response should have been to return the favour in equal measure - we have enough cards of our own.
However, the latest block resulted in international criticism of China for providing an escape route to Azhar.
China is a country with no rule of law, its citizens have no human rights, it has imprisoned an entire region, it is the patron of the egregious dictatorships around the world - And our plan is to shame it, WTF?
siqir

Post by siqir »

chinese are unusually willing to take damage to gain face

many through history learned to use this as one of the only levers dealing with the central kingdom

meanwhile communist china seems to have done a complete backflip time warp straight to imperial era

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zvE4XR7emRY

this is video of xjp spouse peng liyuan entertaining the bri summit leading ladies at some royal garden few days ago

Former CIA Officer Pleads Guilty To Spying For China

An ex-CIA officer pleaded guilty in federal court Wednesday to spying for China, the third separate espionage case in the past year linking a former U.S. intelligence officer to the Asian nation.

Jerry Chun Shing Lee, 54, entered the guilty plea to the most serious of the three charges he was facing.

"I conspired to gather and send secret information to the PRC (People's Republic of China)," Lee said when asked by Judge T.S. Ellis to describe his actions.

In exchange for the guilty plea, prosecutors in the U.S. District Court in Alexandria, Va., agreed to drop two lesser charges of retaining secret information after he left the CIA.

The plea agreement calls for a minimum sentence of about 21 years. But Judge Ellis emphasized that this was only a recommendation and he is free to impose the sentence he sees fit when Lee is sentenced on Aug. 23. The charge carries a maximum penalty of life in prison.

Lee worked as a CIA officer in China and elsewhere from 1994 to 2007. After resigning from the agency, he settled in Hong Kong and became a private businessman.

Article continues after sponsor message

Prosecutor Neil Hammerstrom said Lee met with Chinese intelligence officials in 2010 and subsequently made cash deposits in his Hong Kong bank accounts totaling hundreds of thousands of dollars over the next three years.

Former CIA officer Jerry Chun Shing Lee, 54, in an undated photo provided by the Sheriff's Office in Alexandria, Va.
AP
From 2010 to 2012, a dozen or more Chinese citizens secretly cooperating with the CIA were arrested and either jailed or executed by the Chinese government, according to media reports and former CIA officials.

This was a major blow to CIA operations in China, and there has been considerable speculation about whether Lee might have played a role. Some media reports said Lee was a leading suspect in the CIA's hunt for a mole, while others have suggested that the Chinese may have broken into a CIA communications system, which led them to the spies.

However, Lee's attorney, Edward MacMahon said the government's court filings never accused Lee of actually delivering information to the Chinese and did not blame him for any deaths.

"Those were stories leaked to the media," said MacMahon. "There's no allegation in the indictment or the government's statement of facts that Mr. Lee had anything to do with anybody getting killed."

The CIA has not commented on the case.

Lee becomes the third former U.S. intelligence official tied to spying for China over the past year.

Former CIA Officer Charged With Spying For China
THE TWO-WAY
Former CIA Officer Charged With Spying For China
Kevin Mallory, a former officer with the CIA and the Defense Intelligence Agency, was convicted at a trial last year and is scheduled to be sentenced this month. Ron Hansen, a former DIA officer, pleaded guilty in March and is now serving a 15-year sentence.

Chinese espionage efforts

National security officials say these cases point to widespread Chinese espionage operations directed at U.S. targets.

They include traditional spy-vs.-spy efforts aimed at stealing U.S. government and military secrets, as well as an extensive Chinese program to pilfer high tech from private companies and universities.

"No country poses a broader, more severe intelligence-collection threat than China," FBI Director Christopher Wray said last week. "They're doing it through Chinese intelligence services, through state-owned enterprises, through ostensibly private companies, through graduate students and researchers, through a variety of actors all working on behalf of China."

Lee was born in Hong Kong and is a naturalized U.S. citizen. He resigned from the CIA 12 years ago, reportedly frustrated that his career had stalled.

He had been the target of an FBI investigation since 2012, when he traveled from Hong Kong to the U.S., stopping in Hawaii and Virginia. FBI agents secretly searched his hotel rooms in both states and discovered Lee's handwritten notes in two small address books that "contained true names and phone numbers of assets and covert CIA employees, as well as the addresses of CIA facilities" all related to China, according to the indictment.

Lee was interviewed by the FBI at the time, but was allowed to leave the U.S. and returned to Hong Kong. He was arrested in January 2018, when he returned to the U.S. on another visit and was picked up at New York's John F. Kennedy Airport.
https://www.npr.org/2019/05/01/71900628 ... -for-china