2019 General Elections : Results Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
mmasand

Re: 2019 General Elections : Results Discussion

Post by mmasand »

gauravsh wrote:S Jaishankar joining the cabinet. He has a good hand on China.
source ?
S Jaishankar, Ex-Foreign Secretary, To Join PM Modi Government: Sources

I was not particularly happy with Sadanand Gowda ji and RS Prasad ji, but looks like they will be retained in the cabinet.

If the grapevine is to be believed, even NaMo is not happy with these 2 but won't rock the boat.
Dumal

Post by Dumal »

Saw a snippet JD(U) will not join the cabinet. Any idea why?

Sush Ma may not be part of cabinet per republic tv

Dumal wrote:Saw a snippet JD(U) will not join the cabinet. Any idea why?
Most probably for not getting the Railways
EswarPrakash

Post by EswarPrakash »

Dumal wrote:Saw a snippet JD(U) will not join the cabinet. Any idea why?
Apparently, they were not given more than one "berth" in the cabinet :roll:

Modi Ji taking oath right now, brings tears to my eyes.

very timely article

All Is Not Lost For The Khan Market Gang Yet
by
Vinod Sharma
https://swarajyamag.com/politics/all-is ... t-gang-yet

Javdekar "i didn't change nuttin, no textbooks even" is also back. :roll: :roll:
EswarPrakash

Post by EswarPrakash »

Karan M wrote:Javdekar "i didn't change nuttin, no textbooks even" is also back. :roll: :roll:
Do we have a list of portfolios yet for the ministers?

Is there any projection on who is getting what?

I suspect that with several ministers the BJP leadership has little choice, it is for optics, vote-banks, internal pressures and as yet unknown reasons. IMHO as long as key portfolios are kept with those with the capability and strength to continue down the path of progress, we will be alright. Defense, Finance and MHA are key, closely followed by Education/HRD, Energy, Industry, Transport and Railways. I know we always say MEA is very important, but that policy I believe is mostly dictated by the PMO and for domestic consumption it may not be that critical. For International relations, yes.

But I may be wrong here. We shall find out soon enough what is going to happen.

Pure speculation: any chance there will be a "Dipty PM" this time ?

Picklu, what Shivsankar joining cabinet has to do with POK?

My guess is that Jaishankar will replace Sushma as EAM.

Rajnath, Gadkari, Sitaraman will probably keep their current jobs.

I think Amit may get finance, or switch with Goyal for railways.

Most of the others may continue in their current jobs. Will be interesting to see what the new people will get.

Allies: Sawant may replace Geete in the same job. JDU is not in the goremint. Will be interesting to see what AIADMK and other parties get.

My hunch is that Jaishankar will get defense, not EA

Y I Patel wrote:My hunch is that Jaishankar will get defense, not EA
That would be a waste of his talents IMHO

I think NaMo needs him to be the face of Indian diplomacy. He is also good at hard negotiations

With Jaitley gone, Jaishankar can also fill the role of suave, smooth, English-speaking face of the cabinet
Last edited by Kakkaji on 30 May 2019 20:55, edited 1 time in total.

No Suresh Prabhu or Rajyavardhan Rathore or Gen VK Singhor Jayant Sinha

Updated after below post.
Last edited by srin on 30 May 2019 20:58, edited 1 time in total.

VK Singh has taken oath

TOI website is running a good live commentary of the swearing-in ceremony
Last edited by Kakkaji on 30 May 2019 21:01, edited 2 times in total.

Kakkaji wrote:VK Singh has taken oath

TOI is running a good live commentary

Thanks for the correction. Didn't see him in the minister area.
Dumal

Post by Dumal »

Kakkaji wrote:
Y I Patel wrote:My hunch is that Jaishankar will get defense, not EA
That would be a waste of his talents. et
Sounds like in cases like VK Singh and Jaishankar there may be concerns about conflict of interest due to their prior offices held.

srin wrote:No Suresh Prabhu or Rajyavardhan Rathore or Gen VK Singhor Jayant Sinha

Out of curiosity, did Jayant Sinha fall out of favor because of his own doing or foul mouth Y Sinha, or perhaps perception on too much western soft corner (20+ year residence in khan land)?

Cabinet will be expanded soon, I guess. Jayant Sinha will get it then. He has defended against his dad well. Unless his performance as a minister is bad, he will be inducted I guess.

srin wrote:
Rahul M wrote: source ?
Republic TV. Watch live: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wX9_YKaQC9w

Also, claiming that Amit Shah will be new FM
I think AS will be a bad choice for FM. He should be in either Defense or Home.

What is the status of Nirmala Sitharaman?

Shah as FM or DM? No, please. Too vital to be left to a part time minister.

Why is Rajyavardhan Rathore not there? He was doing well as sports minister.

Shah cannot be President as one man one post.

Supratik wrote:Why is Rajyavardhan Rathore not there? He was doing well as sports minister.
He will be Rajasthan CM.

Who will be President? Suni Deodhar or HBS?
Vamsee

Post by Vamsee »

One big surprise is S. Jaishankar. Still not able to figure out why he is elevated to such a high position!
Vamsee

Post by Vamsee »

Supratik wrote:Who will be President? Suni Deodhar or HBS?
Saw somewhere that BJP President need to be a member for at least 15 years. So that probably rules out HBS.

Re: Jaishankar IMHO
Belief he will manage foreign relations with suave demeanor and being what they expect rather than a Gadkari or Yogi type.

Jaishankar will be MEA.
Sridhar K

Post by Sridhar K »

Met my father's cousin who retired from Pigeons Adda. He was the one who told me that Modi Shah will come back with some gr8 slog over hitting.

He gave a surprising tit bid that 60 PC of babudom is pro modi which was surprising to me. He apparently did Japa 3 hrs daily for Modi victory over the election season

chanakyaa wrote:
srin wrote:No Suresh Prabhu or Rajyavardhan Rathore or Gen VK Singhor Jayant Sinha

Out of curiosity, did Jayant Sinha fall out of favor because of his own doing or foul mouth Y Sinha, or perhaps perception on too much western soft corner (20+ year residence in khan land)?
I think his wife is in some oversight capacity with a foreign fund house. Remember even before Modi took over as PM in 2014 she was fund manager for one of Oppenheimer fund dedicated to India investments. Too much of conflict of interest. Also, he is one of the light weight MPs. Can't win a seat of his own. Nor is he a grassroots Sanghi worker.
Vamsee

Post by Vamsee »

Why do we need Jaishankar as EAM? Nirmala Sitaraman ji would have been perfect fit. Direct entry in CCS? Currently there are 2 open slots in CCS. That of Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj. One of the 2 will probably be taken by Amit Shah. Will the other one go to JaiShankar? Truly surprising decision if it happens.

Maneka Gandhi and Suresh Prabhu are not there as well.

I think the facilitation of the Gaw-Rakshaks went against Jayant. NaMo doesn't want someone too confrontational in your face in administration, the same reason he shifted SI from HRD. He prefers someone who will quietly do the work under radar.

Jayant Sinha did good work with Udaan scheme.

Supratik wrote:Picklu, what Shivsankar joining cabinet has to do with POK?
Not ShivShankar, Jaishankar.

The below is from the chaiwala's panwala, so TIFWIW

He has some very interesting ideas about PoK and Baluchistan that resonates with Doval.

But unlike Doval, he just doesn't want to limit himself only causing trouble to Pak ; as a career diplomat, he wants to completely rectify that past mistake of ours.

And as someone recently mentioned, NaMo dreams of a parmanent solution of Kashmir.

Now make whatever you wish to make :twisted:

Picklu wrote:But unlike Doval, he just doesn't want to limit himself only causing trouble to Pak ; as a career diplomat, he wants to completely rectify that past mistake of ours.

And as someone recently mentioned, NaMo dreams of a parmanent solution of Kashmir.

Now make whatever you wish to make :twisted:
:twisted: :twisted:

I wonder who will be speaker ?