Operation Balakot: News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Operation Balakot: News & Discussion

So now they have come down to begging?

Since they claim Balakot hit only trees, why such a stupid condition?

IndraD wrote:https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/wor ... 893683.cms
Pakistan airspace to open only if India promises to not repeat Balakot strike

Modi: Ghar mein Guskar Maarenge ! But I promise to tell you afterwards.

Balakot strike never happened. India should promise never to to do a Balakot again. I want whatever it is that Dim and friends are smoking.

IndraD wrote:https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/wor ... 893683.cms
Pakistan airspace to open only if India promises to not repeat Balakot strike
I said a long time back that Terroristan was trying to 'punish' India with its airspace closure. This is another manifestation of its trying to take advantage of its 'location' which Olaf Caroe & Jinnah used to speak a lot about. We have to get used to a circuitous route and use other methods to squeeze Terroristan until it sees reality. It is the usual, "Let me go blind in both eyes, but India must have at least one black eye" syndrome. The naPakis never learn, don't they?

Overfly Baltistan which is Indian territory.

Saving trees. More Greenpeace than Greenpeace- pun intended.

The Pakis have used the last available card of its location in trying to hurt India.May affect us but not much. India should now go all out to weaken the pakistani exports in textiles and leather and also make sure the GSP + status its exports enjoys in EU is not renewed.

https://m.timesofindia.com/india/post-b ... 913418.cms

More GoI leaks. IN assets were chasing PNS Saad (Agosta) - found it off western coast hiding like cowards.

We should take advantage of our location and stop water flowing to them

Post by khan »

I hope the Modi Govt isn’t easing up the pressure. The Pakistani’s were in a very bad place, with their economy going down the toilet and their military overstretched.

They need to keep the border warm & the PAF of their toes - both very expensive propositions.

shyamd wrote:https://m.timesofindia.com/india/post-b ... 913418.cms

More GoI leaks. IN assets were chasing PNS Saad (Agosta) - found it off western coast hiding like cowards.
This must have happenned on 4 March, thats why the PN old videos of their Agosta 90B diving and said they have chased away Indian subs.

Pakis know how to win Twitter wars.
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

(MBD-if-RP)
BEL equipment used to track Pakistani aircraft during Balakot ..

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 609826.cms

khan wrote:I hope the Modi Govt isn’t easing up the pressure. The Pakistani’s were in a very bad place, with their economy going down the toilet and their military overstretched.

They need to keep the border warm & the PAF of their toes - both very expensive propositions.
Action is only in covert domain for now due to other crisis

Pak planes did not cross LoC during Feb 27 dogfight: Air chi ..

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 926362.cms

Datapoint: We so far have 18 Mirage 2000 which have been upgraded/modernized and another 2 squadrons worth remaining to be upgraded. It is taking a long time.

Vips wrote:Datapoint: We so far have 18 Mirage 2000 which have been upgraded/modernized and another 2 squadrons worth remaining to be upgraded. It is taking a long time.
Actually 19- the 19th one had a software error and took out 2 of our pilots in January. I dont think any of the 2 seat versions have been upgraded as of now.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

Vips wrote:Datapoint: We so far have 18 Mirage 2000 which have been upgraded/modernized and another 2 squadrons worth remaining to be upgraded. It is taking a long time.
OT question...
How many M2k Squadrons do we have...??? 2 or 3...???
I thought we have 41 jets, which is around 2 squadrons...

We have 3 Squadraons, should be around 48 aircraft

The Other question to be asked, if F-16's had launched there bombs from that side of LOC, Abhi was a very brave man, who chose the use of R-73 and go after Pakis accross the LOC. He could have deceided to fire those R-77's and stay on this side of the LOC but wanted a sure shot kill while putting his life in peril
rajsunder

Post by rajsunder »

Picklu wrote:We should take advantage of our location and stop water flowing to them
And where would all that water be stored or routed to? Do we have the necessary infrastructure to do this?

Aditya_V wrote:We have 3 Squadraons, should be around 48 aircraft
More like 2.6 instead of 3

rajsunder wrote:
Picklu wrote:We should take advantage of our location and stop water flowing to them
And where would all that water be stored or routed to? Do we have the necessary infrastructure to do this?

hopefully, we interlink and move it southwards and to other places where some spare storage capacity may be available and also to some of the perennially arid regions where new storage may have to be created.

but trust our rapacious regional politics and regional satraps who will wantonly throw many a spanner into the works to gum it up because whoever does this interlinking work from the center will also use it to win elections.

All that water will be needed to recharge our depleted ground water table.

yensoy wrote:All that water will be needed to recharge our depleted ground water table.

foolishly given "free" power has done the most damage to the depleted ground water table.

We give them an ultimatum that if the air routes are not opened by so and so date,
a. we open the gated spillway of baglihar dam
b. we start projects to create infrastructure for re routing water to other parts of country

Any international agreement can be amended in exceptional situation and we declare pakistan not opening their air routes as exceptional circumstances

First we need to have river interlinking system in place. SO when we deceide to act, we can do so before TSP can react.

We need to first have the mindset which understands Pakistan cannot make peace with India and those within India who use its existence to create trouble, breaking it up into smaller more dependent nations with rivalry amoung itsselves, If Isloo, Sialkot, Rawalpindi, Lahore, Karachi and Multan see the kind of destruction Miran shah has seen the Ideological moorings of the BIF forces will take a big blow.
Last edited by Aditya_V on 25 Jun 2019 10:15, edited 1 time in total.

Picklu wrote:We give them an ultimatum that if the air routes are not opened by so and so date,
a. we open the gated spillway of baglihar dam
b. we start projects to create infrastructure for re routing water to other parts of country

Any international agreement can be amended in exceptional situation and we declare pakistan not opening their air routes as exceptional circumstances
we have to live with this for now. They think that they are playing hardball.

and we need other levers to screw them with.

what about banning all paki exports to India routed via the gulf or wherever.

Banning Paki exports is not at all advantageous for us. We should be importing all the sugarcane and rice they can subsidize. Saves us water, saves us money. Makes them spend money, and makes their fat cats even fatter. We should be growing high value horticultural produce, set aside 10% of land for organic farming, and work on food processing industry instead.

We have the hardball lever. The gated spillways are already present in baglihar. Our declaration that they will be opened, against the arbitration order, is enough to make them brown their pants.

Picklu wrote:We have the hardball lever. The gated spillways are already present in baglihar. Our declaration that they will be opened, against the arbitration order, is enough to make them brown their pants.
Folks the water discussion is meaningless. What if China opens up the Tsangpo Dams and floods Arunachal and Assam?

BTW this sort of silly thinking makes Pakistanis laugh at us. They do terror strikes and we send dossiers and threaten to stop Indus water :(

If we stop water, then they'll send their tribal lashkars to infiltrate and occupy the border water resources. As civilians, we would be constrained to fire on them.

Far from silly, water is really a weapon for us. Fact is that we have full entitlement of the eastern rivers which we are not using. The water being allowed to flow its natural course can be put to better use for us; over time such diversions are feasible and should happen.

There is no analogy with respect to China. The Chinese have no way of storing or using waters of the Brahmaputra - pumping it up to northern China is a wet dream only. Admittedly they can weaponize it but it will not work well for them. They have no legal standing to let loose a wall of water. This will be construed as a very belligerent act and is certain to affect their perception in the world, as well as bilateral trade and in the current circumstances neither is expendable. Also the flood will pass down to Bangladesh where it will do further damage to that country and their goodwill in Bangladesh.

tsarkar ji, serious question,
1. why do you think it would be easy for the lashkars to breach the heavily protected borders?
2. I havent checked but I doubt that the dams are so close to IB/LOC
Regarding china, yes karma will come to bite us, but with china they will anyways bite us

well..i just happened to visit a v big dam under construction in J&K... the chief engg is my relative. he says it will take approx 5 to 6 years and it will squeeze pakis no end. india is indeed weaponising water. only anything to do with water takes time. india is doing it subtly and slowly ( but surely).

manjgu wrote: . . . india is indeed weaponising water. only anything to do with water takes time. india is doing it subtly and slowly ( but surely).
Very true.

GOI is taking strong steps to deal with TSP strategically like the water weapon. The counter you'll have is that water will target the ordinary people, not TSPA

Reflecting on the entire Operation. I think it's worth mentioning that GOI did not carry out the full extent of the operation for various reasons.

Balakot was just 1 of several targets. There were at least 2 other targets in PoK that were not hit (due to the Crystal Maze issues). Further , there were to be missile strikes in mainland TSP and of course the naval based strikes in coastal TSP plus a air/sea blockade.

Is this enough to change behaviour? That's the question...

Too bad for those 'ordinary people'. Where is the popular groundswell of opposition to Pakistan's terror policies, including sheltering some of the world's worst terrorists?

and what happened after Balakot is even more significant as TSP is getting rent asunder by the tanzeems in and out of uniform.

Varoon Those are irregular jihadis of the TSPA.

You have not understood the TSP story yet.

The incident at the military hospital is India telling Pakistan it is not finished yet. The signal is they have the real time intelligence and the means. More importantly India is daring Pakistan to respond, confidant they have the escalation competence and may well proceed to overt military engagement.

India recently let out that it had 60 naval vessels in the upper reaches of the Arabian Sea. They are taunting Pakistan. The situation is reversed from when Pakistan had American patronage.