J&K Union Territory-2019

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: J&K Union Territory-2019

Anujan wrote:ME kingdoms do not allow protests for *anything*. Even for things like Palestine.

They do not want anyone to have organizational capacity. Who knows, tomorrow the same set of people might want the overthrow of monarchy.

The King of Jordan had it with Palestinians in his territory and had his tanks fire into their refugee camps killing 5000 Palestinians. It was planned and led by one Brigadier Zia Ul Haq. Yes. The same Zia. Killed 5000 Palestinians in black September. And now some idiots are tweeting "Palestine stands with Kashmir".

Wow, didn't know that, thanks.

Karthik S wrote:
Anujan wrote:ME kingdoms do not allow protests for *anything*. Even for things like Palestine.

They do not want anyone to have organizational capacity. Who knows, tomorrow the same set of people might want the overthrow of monarchy.

The King of Jordan had it with Palestinians in his territory and had his tanks fire into their refugee camps killing 5000 Palestinians. It was planned and led by one Brigadier Zia Ul Haq. Yes. The same Zia. Killed 5000 Palestinians in black September. And now some idiots are tweeting "Palestine stands with Kashmir".

Saar, could you point to some detailed sources? Wikichacha didn't help much.

Post by khan »

^ look up Zia’s Wikipedia page.

^^Fairly well known and plenty of references, even in wiki.. Hope this helps:

For example from here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_Sep ... _guerillas
The head of a Pakistani training mission to Jordan, Brigadier Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq (later Chief of Army Staff and President of Pakistan), was involved on the Jordanian side.[64] Zia had been stationed in Amman for three years prior to Black September. During the events, according to CIA official Jack O'Connell, Zia was dispatched by Hussein north to assess Syria's military capabilities. The Pakistani commander reported back to Hussein, recommending the deployment of a RJAF squadron to the region. O'Connell also said that Zia personally led Jordanian troops during the battles....<snip>[
Manu

Post by Manu »

CRamS, sorry to break your heart with respect to Unfair Bibi. As I had said, she is a Nagin. This is her "balanced" article on 370. Nauseatingly Equal-Equal. And her love for BJP and equating it to White Supremacist Terror is not going to go unnoticed. She should be ghosted at all future India events. Her Visa should be revoked.

https://www.lawfareblog.com/indias-move ... plications

Edit: Corrected CramS name.
Last edited by Manu on 13 Aug 2019 23:17, edited 1 time in total.
Manu

Post by Manu »

This is before IM the DIM was a Puppet of Pak Army.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXTic84Za7E

As expected the last Baki card (Blackmail in AfPak) has been flashed.

https://twitter.com/nytimesworld/status ... 0653404160
New York Times World @nytimesworld

Pakistan's U.S. ambassador says his country might redeploy forces from the Afghanistan border to the Kashmir frontier. Such a shift could complicate U.S. talks with the Taliban on exiting Afghanistan after 18 years.

Karthik S wrote: [/b]

From Tariq Ali's book

Also mentioned in Bruce Riedel's book

Manu wrote:CamS, sorry to break your heart with respect to Unfair Bibi. As I had said, she is a Nagin. This is her "balanced" article on 370. Nauseatingly Equal-Equal. And her love for BJP and equating it to White Supremacist Terror is not going to go unnoticed. She should be ghosted at all future India events. Her Visa should be revoked.

Have some heart. CRS saar has a lot of faith in Gora Americans while berating Indians for having a "colonial hangover/white worship" or something like that. From memory but could get the exact phase he used for if required.

Redeploying its forces to the LOC is a Paki bluff to get nore out of the US, both militarily and diplomatically. Their ability to cause trouble lies with the jihadis waiting to cross over.Now that they're supposed to have returned to their bases nearer the LOC, we should identify them so and take them out at our convenience.

Manu wrote:CamS, sorry to break your heart with respect to Unfair Bibi. As I had said, she is a Nagin. This is her "balanced" article on 370. Nauseatingly Equal-Equal. And her love for BJP and equating it to White Supremacist Terror is not going to go unnoticed. She should be ghosted at all future India events. Her Visa should be revoked.

Thank you , from the article:
For those who have long watched India and the country’s ruling Hindu-chauvinist party, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), only two things about this sudden action should have been surprising. First, it’s notable that this did not happen during Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s first term from 2014-2019. After all, abrogating Article 370 of the Indian Constitution, which conferred upon Jammu and Kashmir its special status, has been a core promise inscribed in the party’s manifesto. And the BJP has a tendency to follow through upon manifesto promises even when they are controversial: the party previously vowed to confer nuclear status upon India and did so upon assuming power in May 1998. The second perhaps surprising element was that it was so easy to do. Rather than seeking a consensus-based approached in Srinagar and Delhi, the government simply eviscerated most of the provisions of Article 370.

Elsewhere on Lawfare, Laya Maheshwari explores the legal background of Article 370. Here I explain the history and significance of Article 370 and how the government moved to nullify it. I will unpack some of the motivations for the move, as well as some of the near-term domestic and international fallout.

At its root, Articles 370/35A were remnants of the Two-Nation-Theory still hanging around in India.

Reminder: The Two Nation Theory is the idea that Muslims and Hindus cannot have a common citizenship, that they are necessarily separate nations.

The J&K "dispute" is the claim that the Two-Nation-Theory still has validity.

The angst in Pakistan is because it is increasingly self-evident that their "raisin dieter" is non-existent. :D

For India - now the bones have been set and the remaining fractures can heal. How fast they will heal will depend on the good sense of the people involved.

I won't say that all of the remnants of TNT are gone; perhaps just the most significant remaining one was just erased by Modi/Shah with Doval, etc.

Anujan wrote:
From Tariq Ali's book

Also mentioned in Bruce Riedel's book
u
Thank you sir, appreciate the trouble you took
amritk

Post by amritk »

la.khan

Post by la.khan »

BJP wouldnt have touched Article 370 if Kashmir had Hindu majority, says Congress leader P Chidambaram-- Times
Well, I was under the impression that introducing religion was against the rules.

Anyways, so, let us see, "if Kashmir had Hindu majority" and since Congress had been in power for decades and did nothing (to revoke the temporary 370!!!!) because Kashmir was deemed to have a non-Hindu majority, it must mean (foooof, too long a sentence) that if Kashmir had a Hindu majority that the Congress would have revoked 370 in 1953 itself. Hmmmmm...... A year after Congress agreed to a temporary 370, they would have revoked it, solidifying the meaning of "temporary".
To PC: if erstwhile J&K state had Hindu majority, why would it be under Art. 370? :P

The right question to PC should be how many of the other Hindu majority states in India are under "arraignments" similar to A.370?

What crap from Chidambaram who has the honor of being the one that single handedly destroyed Indian industry. Maybe it is Congess’s agenda to destroy India!!

Give India a chance - remove Congress from power!!
Dumal

Post by Dumal »

Isn't a simple answer to PC's question that Junagadh, Udaipur, Bhopal, Mysore, Hyderabad and so many other (princely) states never needed any 370-like status and they are all fully integrated since long?

Beyond that, if he was harping on a hypothetical case where it was needed and that particular state was going to hell due to mismanagement, corruption, foreign influence etc., why wouldn't BJP remove such exclusivity that breeds pests. In fact, the Congies would have hastened to do so long before just because it was not the peacefuls that were affected.

Today, I assume we can think of Nepal, which was never part of India, as a prodigal that can use some cleaning up, but is not in our hands.

Regarding Abdul Basit claim, guys read Shobha De's article in 2016 and make your own minds who could have influenced such an article.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/blo ... lly-wants/
Frothing at the mouth and cursing assorted “traitors” is the full-time job of politicians sitting in faraway Delhi. Not a hair on their heads is likely to be touched — it’s safe to make speeches in Parliament, and recycle the same old rubbish one has been hearing for decades. It’s worth asking these same Dilliwalas, “When was the last time you visited Kashmir? What have you done for the average Kashmiri — all those lakhs of peace-loving citizens, waiting for respite after years of blood and strife?’’
Because we have shut our eyes and minds. We don’t want to hear or see the naked reality of a tortured land that is suffering because of political decisions taken decades ago. Nobody is willing to ask Kashmiris the question: “What do YOU want?” Both warring sides are busy engaging in brutal tactics without bothering to find out what those most affected by the violence actually desire for themselves. It’s time we did just that. Before more lives get sacrificed, while successive governments play dangerous games with the populace.
This seems more of a cat out of the bag situation
syam

Post by syam »

educating these ignorant congis is not the need of the hour. I am sure they are more aware of the situation than us. It's about choosing sides. They chose their sides.
If we remember feb14 terror attack, it was perfectly coordinated by all the parties. Heck if we go back few years, we can see footprint of congis all over the mumbai terror attacks.

joke is on us. these people are enemy of our country. we better come to terms with it and deal with them as they like to deal with us.

Yes all these stockholm syndrome and complicated theories is BS, these folks were working for thier financial gain at the cost of the Nation, its a whole dam network out there and sad to say the Pakistani establishment was part of the network.

Go back further, Godhra train burning- during Operation Parakram - when the army was dishing it out to the Pakis, UP elections were over the day before, Central Paramiltaries were busy in UP. The suddenly mob correctly identifies a target - what coincidence, how does a mob suddenly assemble/blockcades a railway track in such circumstances, finds freely available vast quanties of petrol for Burning and watch people to burn to death. In 2004 UPA comes to power and calls it that the train started burning from inside- theories on Kar sevak Kerosene stoves etc put out.

The Joke was on Indians....

cross post
--------------------
https://www.firstpost.com/india/jammu-a ... 48021.html

SC refuses to pass order on restrictions in Valley, says who'll be responsible if something bad happens

cross post
--------------

New York Congressman issues public apology after outcry on anti-India Kashmir comment
Congressman Tom Suozzi, issued a public apology to Indian Americans for not consulting them before shooting of a letter to US State Department on the Kashmir issue.

PTI reported that on 9 August Suozzi sent a letter to Pompeo after holding consultations with Pakistani Americans on the actions of the Indian government in revoking the special status of Jammu and Kashmir. “These new restrictions on the autonomy of the state and the rights of Kashmiris could also embolden extremists and terrorists to act,” Suozzi said adding that the action taken by the Indian government “risks provoking mass social unrest…” according to the PTI report.

However, the Congressman issued an apology for not consulting the Indian groups and said that he would make sure in future to consult with all of his constituents​

Election Commission calls meeting to discuss delimitation of Jammu and Kashmir
Election Commission has called the first meeting since the abrogation of Article 370, and the government's move to redraw the boudaries of the state. The poll panel will discuss the delimitation on Vidhan Sabha seats in Jammu and Kashmir, News18 reported. Delimitation is the drawing, or rather redrawing of boundaries of an electoral constituency to prevent imbalance of population across districts.

Supreme Court refuses urgent hearing of PIL against media clampdown in Valley
menon s

Post by menon s »

An anchor in Pakistan was crying out loud...."think about our 50 years of investment in Kashmir, that has been lost today?"

gurus....can we quantify this? in say billions of dollars? ......Very soon the bankrupt Pakees are going to send us a bill for this!

https://indianexpress.com/article/india ... 0-5899903/
Pakistan goes to UNSC, its chief Poland puts it bluntly: Find bilateral solution to J-K
The Polish envoy, who has been following the development in the region and has been key in sending reports from Delhi, said, “I would like to emphasise on the word ‘bilaterally’ that’s the keyword.
This is the crux of the matter.

There are the usual fluffs thrown in for other audiences in the overall package from Poland but I think the Polish envoy had to emphasize the "keyword" because he knows that bakis and some of India's so called "liberals" and "intellectuals" will use the fluff to claim victory of their position and take sly shots on Modi/India.

The envoy seems to have learned quite a bit about how Indian media and "intellectual" class works/spins. Even IE had to to use the word "bluntly" for its headline BUT I can assure you the whole thing would have been spun as a slap on Modi but for quoted para.
sudhan

Post by sudhan »

BJP wouldnt have touched Article 370 if Kashmir had Hindu majority, says Congress leader P Chidambaram-- Times
Well, I was under the impression that introducing religion was against the rules.

Anyways, so, let us see, "if Kashmir had Hindu majority" and since Congress had been in power for decades and did nothing (to revoke the temporary 370!!!!) because Kashmir was deemed to have a non-Hindu majority, it must mean (foooof, too long a sentence) that if Kashmir had a Hindu majority that the Congress would have revoked 370 in 1953 itself. Hmmmmm...... A year after Congress agreed to a temporary 370, they would have revoked it, solidifying the meaning of "temporary".
If Kashmir had been a hindu majority, Art 370 would have been promptly dispatched by the congoons decades back..

njay ... The panelist, thought all of them are day dreaming, but don't seem to agree on the way forward. :lol:

mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Fantastic takedown of BBC and other 'biased' coverage.

A reasonable baki taking class though some bakiness does creep in from time to time.

Manish_Sharma wrote:

Thank you , from the article:
For those who have long watched India and the country’s ruling Hindu-chauvinist party, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), only two things about this sudden action should have been surprising. First, it’s notable that this did not happen during Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s first term from 2014-2019.

Unfair madam is a die-hard Clinton supporter, and that informs here world-view, including hatred of Trump and support to Robin Raphael (whom should would otherwise have called out as a Paki in disguise).

In my quest to get a better handle on spoken Urdu, so as to follow the language better in Paki TV shows, I googled "maqbooza". I had a general understanding that the word had negative connotations, as our part of Kashmir was always prefaced with this word in the Paki shows.

It lead me to the following article. Why am i posting it here? This article is written by a resident of Srinagar who runs an online magazine, studied in UK and met many Pakistanis and Kashmiris from POK. He never mentions any friends from India or about India. In his visit he talks about how "everyone" from Immigration officials, to Police officials, to security guards want to know more about Kashmir...this interest is across the board in the Pakistani society.

After reading the article, one can understand the angst, impotent rage and general helplessness of TV anchors (Hassan Nisar, Rauf Klasra etc) that some of us may have considered as balanced if not tilted towards India, in the current atmosphere prevailing in Pakistan regarding the abrogation of Articles 370 & 35A.

The link is fromWire, so posting the article in full.
When a Kashmiri Visits Pakistan
In Pakistan, as in Kashmir, one finds brief moments of happiness amidst political uncertainty and grave injustice.

Fahad Shah

EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

24/MAR/2017

IMG_8686
Fahad Shah in front of the Badshahi Mosque during his visit to Pakistan.

The partition of British India was ruthless, it divided villages, towns and families but gave birth to a new country – the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. Since its formation, relations between India and Pakistan have been rough, mainly over the claim to Kashmir. In Pakistan, during a recent visit–my first–everyone had a one-sentence introduction for me: Yeh ‘maqbooza Kashmir’ se aaye hain (He has come from ‘occupied Kashmir’).
My entry into Pakistan was via the Wagah border, where, on seeing that I was from Kashmir, two men questioned me for over an hour. They asked me about the recent civilian uprising in Kashmir, how uprisings affected development, how foreign tourists in India didn’t highlight the good things, how Pakistanis crossed Wagah. They also wanted to know who I knew in Pakistan.

IMG_8888
Wagah border. Credit: Fahad Shah

After two cups of tea and a glass of water, I was told to go to the immigration counter, where three men, including the immigration officer, questioned me once again. At the actual gate of the border, one has to walk with one’s luggage through ‘no man’s land’. The first thing you see is a giant gate, with Baab-e-Azadi (Gate of Freedom) written over it. It is the gate into Pakistan. The city of Lahore is just a half an hour’s drive away. While driving from Wagah, looking at the people and their houses, I went into the past. I imagined what this landscape must have looked like when British India was partitioned.
I was visiting Lahore to attend a friend’s wedding. We had met as students in London a few years ago. The shaadi was in a grand hall, full of people with flamboyant clothes. Everyone I met was concerned about whether my long journey had been a pleasant one and asked about the well-being of Kashmiris.

There is one common thing between the two countries – Bollywood. From the cab at Wagah to the wedding night, Bollywood songs were the rage. My friend – the bride – and her cousins danced on ‘Kaala Chashma’ atop a lavishly lit, smoke-filled podium, while I sat sipping flavoured Kashmiri tea.

My host in Lahore was Feryal Ali Gauhar – a wonderful woman known to most of Pakistan for her work as an actor, writer and activist. It was at her house in Zaman Park, full of beautiful cats and the city’s essence, where I stayed. I was told that it was in the park outside the house that Imran Khan had played cricket as a child. The area was named after his grand uncle, Khan Bahadur Mohammed Zaman Khan. This is where his family settled after partition.

In the evenings, Gauhar and I talked about Pakistani movies, books and theatre, about Kashmir and Afghanistan. Most of our conversations were about the Kashmir dispute and I could sense the kinship every Pakistani has for the region and its people. Kashmir is ingrained into everything – from road signs and food to the debates in cafes. On the birthday of the revolutionary poet Faiz Ahmed Faiz, I was sitting in Lahore’s Pak Tea House, which was founded in 1932 on the famous Mall Road and had become a place for the city’s intellectuals. Faiz, Ahmed Faraz, Sadat Hassan Manto and the likes of them used to frequent the café in their day but what once a place of art and literature is now just like any other café where you get eat cheap food. From the walls, however, framed portraits of Pakistan’s poets and writers keep an eye on the proceedings.

I was here with another friend, Eshah Shakeel – a young scriptwriter, who doesn’t like Lahore’s chaotic traffic while driving her ‘Laali’, the equivalent of the Maruti 800. On our way there, we had spent more than an hour in a traffic jam, caused by the pharmaceutical business owners who had taken out a protest rally. They were protesting the Punjab government’s amendments to the Drug Act, 1976, which seeks to rid the market of spurious and dangerous drugs.

We spent the day visiting the Badshahi Mosque – a Mughal wonder built by emperor Aurangzeb in 1671; the Minar-e-Pakistan, the site where on March 23, 1940, the Lahore Resolution – the first call for a separate homeland for South Asia’s Muslims – was passed; Lahore Fort and the tomb of Allama Iqbal, poet of the East and spiritual father of Pakistan.

After eating at Cuckoo’s Den while watching the sunset, the red sandstone mosque turning orange after the lights were switched on and listening to the magrib azaan, Lahore was beginning to grow on me.

IMG_8701
Badshahi Mosque. Credit: Fahad Shah

It was a beautiful day until the evening when a suicide bomber blew himself up at the protest rally near Punjab assembly, killing 16 people, including two senior police officials. A block away from the blast site, Shakeel and I had parked the car before going to the Walled City in an autorickshaw.
In the morning, I had seen these people protesting, walking in groups, raising slogans and gathering. Now I was seeing chaos. The blast hit just when we were going back to the car, where a police vehicle and an ambulance had arrived. My phone had died and we could hear sirens and panic filling the air. We drove through Mall Road which was filled with anger and mourning. Policemen were everywhere and the roads were blocked. We saw the blast site, swarming with the OB vans of news channels and photographers with cameras flashing.

I managed to charge my phone at another café and I saw what being in Lahore could mean. There were texts and calls from friends all over the place – wondering if I was safe. Thanks to Shakeel, who had said, “Let’s walk for a while before leaving.” Otherwise, things may have been different for us.

That week, Lahore wasn’t the only city that was hit by a blast. On February 16, a suicide bomb hit Lal Shahbaz Qalandar shrine in Sehwan, killing 90 people, including 21 children. The Islamic State claimed responsibility for the brutality. Lal Shahbaz Qalandar was a Sufi saint, philosopher and poet who is revered by people of all religions.

What strikes me about Pakistan is how moments of beauty are punctuated by grim reality. Something similar to Kashmir, where one finds brief moments of happiness amidst political uncertainty and grave injustice. Among those moments of happiness was meeting old friends and people I had been in touch with all these years. I spent hours talking about politics and the Afghan refugee crisis with my friend in Islamabad, whom I had met in London for the first time. She told me why Pakistan has come down hard on Afghan refugees as a consequence of the growing number of acts of terror in the country.

As a Kashmiri, if you are in Lahore or Islamabad, your origin is your identity and Pakistanis want to hear what Kashmiris have to say about life. A security guard wanted to know if we were able to buy groceries during month-long curfews. A cabby wanted to know why the Kashmir issue wasn’t being solved. A shopkeeper wanted to know if it was easy for me to come. A librarian wanted me to come back and have lunch with him. A police official during the arrival verification wanted to know if I have ever seen the holy relics at Hazratbal in Srinagar. A student wanted to know if people from my side consider Kashmiris on the Pakistan side as Kashmiris or not.

For a Kashmiri, you’re treated in a special way – more than you could be in any other place. One feels that the country and its people have some sort of affinity with Kashmiris. Many Pakistanis I met said that they want their government to do something for Kashmir, but politics is such that people on both sides are helpless. But even within this helplessness, Pakistan gives Kashmir a special status – for political reasons, but also for the shared history. Even the Pakistanis who spoke against what was happening inside their country related to Kashmir as an omnipresent part of their lives.

For me, the most memorable moments of my visit were when I met people from the Pakistan side of Kashmir. I have had friends from that part for years and spent a lot of time with them in Britain, but here it was different. A smart young student from Muzaffarabad spoke for hours about how she wants to visit Kashmir university and live in Srinagar. Another student from Muzaffarabad was just happy that we met.

IMG_8737
Faisal Mosque. Credit: Fahad Shah

One doesn’t feel like one is in a different country – but yes, there is a lot that changes when you cross over the border. Pakistan is not what we get to hear on the Indian media. There are people who find hope in love and want to prosper even in unfortunate times. The hospitality is unsurpassed and you cannot miss seeing the growth of the country despite its internal problems. But yes there are questions – of dissent, of unresolved issues. And looming large is the debate on how the province of Punjab seems to dominate everything.
One evening, Shakeel and I were talking about how easy it would have been to just drive across to Amritsar and return without any hassles. But no, the borders exists, and walls have come up – so high that people from both sides of Kashmir crave to see those from whom they have been divided.

My 12 day visit ended and Feryal Gauhar drove me back to Wagah. I walked into India through no man’s land, perhaps the most secure zone in the subcontinent. A small signboard announced a warning: Beware of pickpockets. Who would steal anything here? I wondered. Could memories be stolen? For memories are the only thing that we carry with us while crossing borders.

Fahad Shah is a journalist who is the founder and editor of the Kashmir Walla, a digital magazine.
And yes, "maqbooza" means occupied.

J&K Union Territory-2019

SC refuses to pass directions on lifting of restrictions in J&K; says govt needs time as situation 'very sensitive' – PTI

HIGHLIGHTS

- SC has refused to pass any immediate directions to the Centre and the Jammu and Kashmir government on a plea seeking lifting of all restrictions imposed after the abrogation of Article 370

- The present situation in Jammu and Kashmir was "very sensitive" and some time should be given for bringing back normalcy in the region: SC

NEW DELHI: The situation in Jammu and Kashmir is "very sensitive" and reasonable time should be given to the government to ensure normalcy there, the apex court said on Tuesday while refusing to pass any immediate order to the Centre to lift restrictions in the region imposed after abrogation of Article 370.

The apex court also said that it is to be ensured that no life was lost there and posted the matter after two weeks, saying it will wait for normalcy to return.

A three judge bench headed by Justice Arun Mishra was hearing the petition filed by Congress activist Tehseen Poonawalla on the Centre's decision to impose restrictions and "other regressive measures" in Jammu and Kashmir following the revocation of the provisions of Article 370.

The Centre told the bench that they are reviewing the situation in the region on a day-to-day basis and reports come from respective district magistrates and relaxations are being ordered accordingly.

"We have to ensure that law and order situation in Jammu and Kashmir is maintained," Attorney General K K Venugopal told the bench.

He referred to the July 2016 agitation in Kashmir after encounter of terrorist Burhan Wani and said it took around three months to bring normalcy at that time.

He said that since 1990, 44,000 people have been killed by extremists and people from across the border have been guiding and giving instructions to them.

He said in the present situation, it will take few days to restore normalcy in Jammu and Kashmir.

Venugopal said that not a single death has been reported since last Monday after the restrictions were imposed.

The AG was responding to the bench which asked about the steps taken by the authorities for bringing normalcy and restoring basic facilities in the region.

During the hearing, the bench said: "The situation is such that nobody knows what exactly is happening there. Some time should be given for bringing normalcy. They are analysing the situation on a day-to-day basis.

"The government's endeavour is to restore normalcy. That is why they are reviewing the situation on a day-to-to basis. If tomorrow anything happens in Jammu and Kashmir, who will be responsible? Obviously the Centre."

The bench further said that it has to look into all the pros and cons and therefore reasonable time should be given to the government to ensure normalcy returns in the state.

It asked the petitioner's counsel senior advocate Menaka Guruswamy to give specific instances where relief is needed.

"You give us specific instances and we will give directions to them to provide relief," the bench said.

The top court asked the AG as to how much time will be needed to restore normalcy.

Venugopal replied that there is need to ensure that law and order situation is maintained and least inconvenience is caused to the general public.

He said that large number of troops and para military forces have been sent to Jammu and Kashmir.

While Guruswamy was making submissions that due to snapping of all type of communication
people failed to speak on the festive occasion, the bench said, "nothing can be done overnight. There are serious issues. Normalcy would return and we expect it will come with time. What is important is it has to be ensured that no life is lost".

Venugopal said that the government is ensuring that no violence or human rights violations takes place there.

He said that during the agitation in July 2016, total of 47 persons had died but till today no
one has died.

Before posting the matter after two weeks the bench said, "We are with you on the issue of right to liberty of the people. But we should have a real picture before us.

"Wait for sometime. Let us wait for normalcy to return."

The bench told further the petitioner that he will have the chance to come back after two
weeks.

At the outset, Guruswamy said how can there be total prohibition on communication that even soldiers posted in the state cannot talk to their family members.

This submission invited angry reactions from the bench.

It said: "Why you are raising grievances on behalf of soldiers. Your prayer is not this. Soldiers have to maintain discipline and if they have any grievance then let them come before us. Why you are taking up the cause of soldiers."

When Guruswamy tried to make a reference of Article 370, the bench warned her saying, "Don't make any such statement on it".

She had said she was not making any comment on Article 370 but was on the issue of constitutional right of the individuals.

While she was making submissions on various violation of rights by referring to people's difficulty in even reaching to hospital and schools and police station, the bench said that in the
petition no instances have been cited like that.

"Your petition is poorly drafted," the bench said, adding that it is also filed very carelessly without realizing the seriousness and importance of the matter.

CheersImage

pankajs wrote:cross post
--------------

New York Congressman issues public apology after outcry on anti-India Kashmir comment
Congressman Tom Suozzi, issued a public apology to Indian Americans for not consulting them before shooting of a letter to US State Department on the Kashmir issue.

PTI reported that on 9 August Suozzi sent a letter to Pompeo after holding consultations with Pakistani Americans on the actions of the Indian government in revoking the special status of Jammu and Kashmir. “These new restrictions on the autonomy of the state and the rights of Kashmiris could also embolden extremists and terrorists to act,” Suozzi said adding that the action taken by the Indian government “risks provoking mass social unrest…” according to the PTI report.

However, the Congressman issued an apology for not consulting the Indian groups and said that he would make sure in future to consult with all of his constituents​
Our local chapter had a meeting with him this past weekend and 'corrected' his misconceptions. Politicians will always respond to a threat of withdrawal of votes and financial support.

her heart and some other parts are yearning for the pakijabi army and unfortunately, she has been declared as persona non grata by them.

she has been trying her best to climb back into their good graces as well as onto some other paki house furnishings too.

the very best way for her to do that is to diss India.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 658501.cms
'Madam Batliwala' pontificating on the constitutionality of aborgation :shock: :eek:

https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions ... e-us-step/
India is precipitating a crisis in Kashmir. It’s time for the U.S. to step in.
-- Asad Majeed Khan is the ambassador of Pakistan to the United States.
Trump’s offer was a sign of immense goodwill that the people of Kashmir enthusiastically applauded. The Indian government’s alarming announcement last week that it would revoke Article 370 of the Indian constitution is a slap in the face of this renewed American commitment to solve one of the world’s most dangerous and intractable conflicts. It makes plain to the world the depth of India’s arrogant indifference to the region’s peace and stability.
Baki trying to appeal to the H&D of Frump. Old playbook. Other standard trope wrt UN resolution, etc are employed.
Aug. 5 also sounded the final death knell for India’s increasingly tenuous claims to be a secular democracy. In fact, the right-wing BJP’s project to remake India (not just occupied Kashmir) is neither secular nor democratic. Instead, the BJP envisions a future in which India’s long-suffering Muslims, Christians, lower-caste Hindus and other religious minorities and tribes are formally relegated to the status of unpersons.
But most of all, the rash and irresponsible actions of the BJP have also put South Asia on the brink of conflict for the second time in less than six months.
Another standard baki talking point.
This is why it is more urgent than ever for the United States to do what it can to prevent India from precipitating another crisis. A long and painstaking U.S.-led reconciliation effort, which has been supported by Pakistan, has brought peace within our grasp in Afghanistan.
Ah .. the latest threat Afghanistan peace process.
The time is now for the United States to make good on Trump’s offer of mediation — not for Pakistan’s sake or for India’s sake, but for the sake of the only people who have not been heard since India gagged them a week ago: the people of Kashmir themselves.
I like this last line.

Bogus but well drafted. Designed to push all the right buttons for anyone who doesn't follow the Sub-continent closely.

Menaka Guruswamy, the lawyer representing "Congress activist" Tehseen Poonawala.

Daughter of Mohan Guruswamy.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Menaka_Guruswamy

Also:
https://qrius.com/the-menaka-guruswamy- ... d-in-2019/

Quite an interesting ecosystem.

Admin note: No crass comments please.

Sanju wrote:It lead me to the following article. Why am i posting it here? This article is written by a resident of Srinagar who runs an online magazine, studied in UK and met many Pakistanis and Kashmiris from POK. He never mentions any friends from India or about India. In his visit he talks about how "everyone" from Immigration officials, to Police officials, to security guards want to know more about Kashmir...this interest is across the board in the Pakistani society.
In Pakistan, as in Kashmir, one finds brief moments of happiness amidst political uncertainty and grave injustice.

Fahad Shah
I remember reading this article when it was published. This fellow is a TFTA Kashmiri and obviously Pakis lapped up his presence and placed him on a pedestal. The experience of a Bangla, Hindu, Bihari or Kerala muslim would have been very different.

Pakis are racist. (We are racist too, but well aware of the fact, and definitely the younger generation is looking at each other differently than the older generation did, so I believe we are progressing towards an aware & equitable society) If you watched Paki TV you would feel that they were all TFTA. The more ashrafi their name is, the more is their racist view towards India. Calling us black baniyas is par for the course; which shouldn't matter to us because some of us are indeed black baniyas, but it's the loading of the term with derision and venom is what makes the pakis pukeworthy.