Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

Dutee Chand at the World Universidad games 2019 finals. Brutal. Wish she was 10-20 cms taller like the Africans and she would be there at the top.

https://youtu.be/M1ecUsQCu38

Awesome to see Gopichand there also. In the old days players used to be alone, now it's a team.
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

PV sindhu is one consistent performer. Long it may continue. With such domination, she has assured one gold from Tokoyo Olympics!!

Reading this and other such wonderful articles, hope we become a strong sporting nation with ability to win 10-15-25 medals consistently in future olympics
Saral

Post by Saral »

Note that sindhu's parents were *both* national level volleyballers. That gives her the base height and athleticism. China arranges these kind of matches systematically. Yao Ming being a famous example.

It's not required to arrange such matches using an authoritarian state. We can accomplish a lot by just being very smart about managing our talent pool. Please read the cycling article late in the previous page in full. It's a GREAT example of how a nation with no history at all in the sport, can in five years become world champions and world #1 in a high tech field dominated by rich western nations, where the bicycle alone costs Rs.10 lakh or more. The article reads exactly like how China manages to build domination in a sport.

We only have one world standard velodrome in the country, and just a few years ago, had only 5 track bicycles. In fact the UCI and western countries took pity on us and donated 40 more. Little did they know it would come bite them in the rear before the decade was done. The people in charge of the cycling federation demonstrated firm understanding of what's required in modern sport - to create a world champion, forget the seniors. Forget even the kids who love cycling but lack physical ability. Focus on the kids who have the physical capability and hate to lose. Doesn't matter if they don't even know how to ride a bicycle - that can be taught. Train, train, train more. It doesn't take more than a small elite group of selected talent and sustained coaching to go from complete nobodies to world champion in a high profile, very expensive sport. We have the talent pool. I didn't believe India could be a track cycling world power anytime soon, but I'm happy to admit I was totally wrong.

Same for Sindhu. The greatest credit to her is that she has overcome her forever-2nd tag. She's now the reigning world tour and world champion. In badminton there is no WC in an Olympic year, so she goes into Tokyo 2020 as reigning world champ and keeps her title 2 years. She is only just turned 24, and is already the woman with the most WC medals (5), and the 2nd overall behind Lin Dan (who has 7). She can win 2-3 more medals and become the undisputed most successful badminton player at the world stage. At this point she needs to focus on cementing her legacy - she must win at least one All England and win gold at Tokyo 2020 - she goes into Olympics as the favorite now.

It is a day of world champions. Komalika Bari becomes world junior champion in archery women's recurve event.

https://scroll.in/field/935090/archery- ... -in-madrid
Parasu

Post by Parasu »

Imho, the credit should go all to PV Sindhu herself.
Its very little to do with the Korean coach or Gopichand.
She wasnt playing well against TTY. However, she worked hard and ground out that victory. That was very important.
After that match, she was high on confidence and would have beaten anyone.
M_Joshi

Post by M_Joshi »

Suraj wrote:Breaking the cycle
Not too long ago, India had one dust-ridden velodrome, no qualified coaches, few cyclists and five bicycles. Then a retired Air Force HR manager took under his wings a group of athletes with a promise to make them elite cyclists. The Indian Express meets the young world beaters pursuing a sport where India has virtually no history.

But in their projection to the sports ministry, the cycling federation has given in writing that they will win a medal at the 2024 Olympics.
Great inspiration. Just goes on to show how the will of a single individual backed by an enabling system can work wonders. If same could be done with swimming India's Olympic medal tally can never be below double digits.
pandyan

Post by pandyan »

https://www.outlookindia.com/website/st ... ion/336994
Since losing the gold medal match against Carolina Marin in Rio Olympics 2016, PV Sindhu has struggled to find answers. For all her potential, the 25-year-old has not won anything significant this year.

With the Japanese players emerging as a force and hunting down opponents in packs, it's been so near but yet so far for the lanky Hyderabad lass. But a patient South Korean is working overtime to bring the best out of Sindhu ahead of next year's Tokyo Olympics.

Kim Ji Hyun is an experienced badminton coach
No wonder she stresses on the finer points of the game and the little tricks that foxes opponents.

Clever net play that involves the wrist and the policy of maximum damage with minimum stress -- the very basic of a surgical strike -- are efficiencies she reinforced in Sindhu's game. Additional hours with specific focus are clearly helping the remodelling of Sindhu.

“The way she plays, I feel it’s not smart enough. I mean, at the top level, you have to be smart. It has to be a combination, like your technique, and hitting and mentality. There are so many skills she has to work on, especially net skills and deception. Step by step. We’re working on skills, and changing tactics, as you can’t use the same tactics over and over again," Kim, who started working with Sindhu earlier this year
Shwetank

Post by Shwetank »

pandyan wrote:https://www.outlookindia.com/website/st ... ion/336994
“The way she plays, I feel it’s not smart enough. I mean, at the top level, you have to be smart. It has to be a combination, like your technique, and hitting and mentality. There are so many skills she has to work on, especially net skills and deception. Step by step. We’re working on skills, and changing tactics, as you can’t use the same tactics over and over again," Kim, who started working with Sindhu earlier this year
Based on the above quote from the Korean coach, this is the headline outlook went with : "PV Sindhu Not Smart, Says Kim Ji Hyun, Korean Coach Behind Badminton Star's Course Correction" . :roll: DDM ..

M_Joshi wrote:
Suraj wrote:Breaking the cycle
Great inspiration. Just goes on to show how the will of a single individual backed by an enabling system can work wonders. If same could be done with swimming India's Olympic medal tally can never be below double digits.
Yes, the story of the Cycling Federation of India and the Indian junior track team - which came out of nowhere to become world #1 and reigning world champions and that too in team sprint, the most TFTA event of all track events, shocked me. I did not believe we have the organizational ability, facilities or capability to do this. I'd more readily have believed that we would see the sight of an Indian junior swimming world champion than a winner in team sprint cycling. It is just a very expensive sport. The track is very expensive, the bikes cost more than several B and C segment cars in India, and training is high tech. Only Japan, Korea and Malaysia was any good in Asia.

Perhaps the 2018 Asian junior track championship was a sign but it was ignored - we repeatedly outdid them, but even then, being world champions was a laughable idea. Scan over Asian junior track history and we have a grand total of 3 silvers until 2016, but then in 2018 we're #1 in Asia winning half the events, and in 2019 we're world #1. That sort of thing we've seen the Chinese do often, but not Indian sport until now.

The bottomline here is that there are several sports federations with hungry and focused people in charge, who aren't interested in just having some flash in the pan continental results. They understand what it takes to win on the world stage, and are willing to work at it. It does not matter if the sports hones a few people, makes them perform at world beating standard for 2-5 years and spits them out in favour of new blood. That's how the Chinese system is run. Increasingly, it seems we have learned to replicate that system, but without the authoritarian aspects. In shooting, India leads the 2019 world cup circuit for the first time ever, after finishing an all time best 3rd last year and 6th the year before that - a consistent improvement.

Success like this is good. When mediocrity pervailed, everyone could point fingers at others and do nothing. But now we have all kinds of oddballs, from being the strongest rifle/pistol shooting nation in the world, to having a commonwealth champion in fencing (who also made the quarterfinal in the worlds) to having the world champion junior team in track sprint cycling. It forces all other sports to accomplish more and be in the news themselves.

Gunneswaran lost to Medvedev relatively tamely in the end. Oh well.

Nagal playing GOAT Federer. I hope he gets some games but an experience of a lifetime for Nagal. Playing the GOAT in Center Court of a GS is amazing.

Nagal leads Federer 6-4 :mrgreen:

His first ever set at ATP comes against Federer.

https://twitter.com/Pvsindhu1/status/11 ... 7335033856
Pvsindhu@Pvsindhu1
I could not hold back my tears when I saw the Indian flag and heard the National anthem playing. Words can’t express my feelings about yesterday's win at the World Championship. Had been preparing for it for so… https://www.instagram.com/p/B1n8kTshU-9 ... jnsz8od2k1
https://www.instagram.com/p/B1n8kTshU-9 ... jnsz8od2k1

Nagal is not going anywhere with that serve. This is something that seems to afflict many Indian players including Yuki Bhambri.
Just hitting harder is not going to win points. Placement is also important.
He also seemed a tad slow around the court.

He does have good ground strokes and more than decent return of serve.

Kashi wrote:https://twitter.com/Pvsindhu1/status/11 ... 7335033856
Pvsindhu@Pvsindhu1
I could not hold back my tears when I saw the Indian flag and heard the National anthem playing. Words can’t express my feelings about yesterday's win at the World Championship. Had been preparing for it for so… https://www.instagram.com/p/B1n8kTshU-9 ... jnsz8od2k1
https://www.instagram.com/p/B1n8kTshU-9 ... jnsz8od2k1
A pleasure to see an Indian world champion on the podium with the anthem playing . The ‘tave subha name jage’ part of the melody is always my favorite . Komalika Baris cadet world championship win and medal ceremony is also on YouTube about an hour into the finals video . She’s flanked by a Japanese and a very grumpy looking Korean as she smiles on center of the podium.

Like hanumadu said, it’s become hard to keep track of all the wins. Maybe posts of the sort should be in bold so it’s easier to scroll thru and catch them - just a line stating who won what.

twitter

Queen.

twitter

The next leg of the 2019 Shooting World Cup circuit is on , at Rio .

And the first gold goes to India . Elavenil Valariven wins women’s 10m air rifle . She just won gold at junior World Cup and has now followed it up with a senior gold . India continues to dominate this season, topping the medal tally at all the previous legs - the first ever time the country has done so .

Golden Girls of India.
PV.Sindhu with PT Usha
Last edited by KJo on 29 Aug 2019 23:38, edited 1 time in total.

Second event of the Rio shooting world cup, India wins another medal - silver by Sanjeev Rajput. This is not traditionally a strong event for India but he was on track to comfortably win gold before a horrific last shot caused him to finish second by 0.2 . He is going to look at this with great regret and hopefully will work hard to improve composure.
2019 Rio World Cup: 50m Men's 3 Positions

There are four world cups in a year and this is the final one.

Neither Manu Bhaker nor Rahi Sarnobat made the 25m women's pistol final. Weak performance.

Both Saurabh Chaudhry and Abhishek Verma are in the fray in the men's 10m air pistol final later today - hopefully at least one of them will medal. In this event, Saurabh won gold in 2 of the previous three world cups this year, and Verma won the gold in the other one.

India's strongest events in Tokyo 2020 are:
Women's 10m air rifle: Elavenil (1x gold in WC 2019), Apurvi Chandela (2x gold in WC 2019), Mehuli Ghosh. We have 2 quota places which should go to the first two. We have won gold in this event in 3 of 4 world cups this year.
Men's 10m air pistol: Saurabh Chaudhry (2x gold in WC 2019), Abhishek Verma (1x gold in WC 2019). We have 2 quota places and two strong candidates. We have won gold in this event in all the world cups this year.
Mixed team 10m air pistol: Saurabh Chaudhry/Manu Bhaker (3x gold in WC 2019). They are the world's strongest mixed team, having swept all the world cups to date
Mixed team 10m air rifle: Divyansh Singh/Anjum Moudgil (2x gold in WC 2019). Recent pairing, I don't think they competed in Delhi world cup, but won the last two world cups, probably strongest team in the world.

Of the 12 golds in WC 2019 circuit, we won 11 in the above 4 events, showing consistent domination. The last one was Rahi's 25m air pistol gold in one world cup. However ,that is not a strong event for India with both Manu and Rahi failing to get to final this time.

Shooting therefore has the potential to yield 3-4 medals, potentially 1-2 golds at Tokyo 2020. The reasons are pretty specific:
* We have improved our all time best WC full year performance from 6th in 2017 to 3rd in 2018 to undisputed 1st in 2019.
* We have won all of the first three world cups this year in terms of medal table position - something never achieved even once before
* We have had strong shooters before, but have never dominated the annual world cup circuit. A medal here and there was it. Now in practically every rifle/pistol event we are in the fray for gold.
* The world cup events are exactly the same ones as Tokyo 2020 and nothing more. CWG/AG all have many additional non-Olympic events. WC also has the entire current world-level competitors taking part .

And India win gold and bronze in 10m men’s air pistol . Abhishek Verma picked up the yellow metal while Saurabh only got a bronze . With this, India dominates this event all year long sweeping the gold in all four world cups .

One more gold in women’s 10m air pistol . Not a known string event but we managed to win gold there too .

India swept both the mixed team events - 10m air pistol and 10m air rifle. The former was an all Indian final . With this India won 5/10 golds at the Rio World Cup, with all other countries winning at most one each .

For the full 2019 World Cup circuit year, India finished first with 16 golds , twice as many as second placed China and probably more golds in a single year than India has ever won in all previous world cups in history combined .

Going into an Olympic year, India dominates 4 Olympic shooting events at the world level - men’s 10m air pistol, women’s 10m air rifle and both the mixed team events, with all the shooters between 17-26 years of age, good for 3-4 Olympics worth of medals .

Suraj wrote:Focus on the kids who have the physical capability and hate to lose. Doesn't matter if they don't even know how to ride a bicycle - that can be taught. Train, train, train more. It doesn't take more than a small elite group of selected talent and sustained coaching to go from complete nobodies to world champion in a high profile, very expensive sport. We have the talent pool. I didn't believe India could be a track cycling world power anytime soon, but I'm happy to admit I was totally wrong.
Same for Sindhu. The greatest credit to her is that she has overcome her forever-2nd tag. She's now the reigning world tour and world champion. In badminton there is no WC in an Olympic year, so she goes into Tokyo 2020 as reigning world champ and keeps her title 2 years. She is only just turned 24, and is already the woman with the most WC medals (5), and the 2nd overall behind Lin Dan (who has 7). She can win 2-3 more medals and become the undisputed most successful badminton player at the world stage. At this point she needs to focus on cementing her legacy - she must win at least one All England and win gold at Tokyo 2020 - she goes into Olympics as the favorite now.
I know you bike/run, and so you know the sport and what you are talking about.
However focusing on just the elite will yield patchy results. In 1.3 billion, we obviously will figure out the talent. A better approach for long term is creating feeder system, and ecosystem at multiple levels. Let us leave the best example we have - cricket. So let me pick another good example - Chess. We have 64 GMs now, a remarkable achievement because the entire thing caught up after Vishy Anand ascendance. If you look at the tournaments going on, the prize money is good. Kids travel far and near, there is both passion among the players and parents. There are institutions that offer good prize money, companies sponsor the kids, and schools are letting kids play chess without coming to the school (they just write the exams). The number of GMs in the last few years has been climbing exponentially. The coaches and support system have vastly improved in the country.

When the ecosystem is built, then it is easier to find the talent and the 'elite' come up naturally. The coaches can then train the best among the best with specific goals in mind.

I do not see any relationship between what your post says and the topic in question . The entire Indian Shooting Team story in the past 3 years is a case of organic growth . Explain why you argue otherwise .

My post is specific to your assertion about identifying elite individuals. You had shared a few examples. My point is we need to create an ecosystem at different levels, and talent automatically will eventually bubble up.
jpremnath

Post by jpremnath »

Suraj wrote:India swept both the mixed team events - 10m air pistol and 10m air rifle. The former was an all Indian final . With this India won 5/10 golds at the Rio World Cup, with all other countries winning at most one each .

For the full 2019 World Cup circuit year, India finished first with 16 golds , twice as many as second placed China and probably more golds in a single year than India has ever won in all previous world cups in history combined .

Going into an Olympic year, India dominates 4 Olympic shooting events at the world level - men’s 10m air pistol, women’s 10m air rifle and both the mixed team events, with all the shooters between 17-26 years of age, good for 3-4 Olympics worth of medals .
Considering how well we perform at global shooting events, why is our gatherings at the Olympics very less?

SwamyG wrote:My post is specific to your assertion about identifying elite individuals. You had shared a few examples. My point is we need to create an ecosystem at different levels, and talent automatically will eventually bubble up.
Please quote examples from the Indian shooting team to show why your argument applies to them.

jpremnath wrote:Considering how well we perform at global shooting events, why is our gatherings at the Olympics very less?
ALL of the world cup shooting performance improvements are post Rio Olympics in 2016. The World Cup comprises 3-4 legs a year and only holds the events that are held at Olympics, same scoring standard, essentially the entire top competition. This years legs were at New Delhi, Beijing, Munich and Rio.

Here's a summary of historic medal performance (across all world cup legs each year):
2014 World Cup: 1 bronze, insignificant medal table position
2015 World Cup: 1 silver, 4 bronzes, insignificant medal table position
2016 World Cup: 1 gold, 4 silver. #17 in medal table
2017 World Cup: 3 gold, 3 silver, 3 bronze, #6 in medal table
2018 World Cup: 4 gold, 2 silver, 2 bronze, #3 in medal table
2019 World Cup: 16 gold, 4 silver, 4 bronze, #1 in medal table by a long distance

India also topped the 2018 Junior World Cup, again for the first time ever.

So as seen above, India won more golds in 2019, than in all prior world cup years combined. We went into past Olympics being the top shots at Commonwealth level, with some Asian level success, but basically nothing more than flashes in the pan at world level. A silver here and bronze there, and that is all we would do, and yes that was the record of even Abhinav Bindra, Gagan Narang etc. None of them were major World Cup level performers. Our medals at Olympic level are better than our typical world level performances. The Chinese dominated the World Cup and then went on to sweep medals at Olympics too.

In comparison, Saurabh Chaudhry just turned 17, and has 6 World Cup golds - more than all his predecessors in shooting combined. The likes of Jaspal Rana and Samaresh Jung who dominated CWG level, were not competitive at world level.

However, shooting has seen a consistent effort at building an ecosystem, despite claims on this thread. Jung and Rana coach the Indian team. Gagan Narang mentors the juniors. Almost all the juniors transitioned from junior Asian champion to junior world champion to senior world cup winner in about 2-3 years. In shooting we have multiple kids who were not yet 12th std pass, with world champion tags.

At Tokyo 2020:
* worst case performance - just a repeat of prior Olympics, maybe 1-2 medals
* best case performance - 4 golds in shooting

The reason for this is straightforward. We don't just have one shooter winning a couple of World Cup medals (like Jitu Rai before 2016 Olympics). We have multiple shooters/teams in 4 different events winning almost all of the World Cups this year:
Men's 10m air pistol
New Delhi: Saurabh Chaudhry
Beijing: Abhishek Verma
Munich: Saurabh Chaudhry
Rio: Abhishek Verma

Women's 10m air rifle
New Delhi: Apurvi Chandela
Beijing: Russian
Munich: Apurvi Chandela
Rio: Elavenil Valariven

Mixed team 10m pistol
New Delhi: Saurabh Chaudhry + Manu Bhaker
Beijing: Saurabh Chaudhry + Manu Bhaker
Munich: Saurabh Chaudhry + Manu Bhaker
Rio: Saurabh Chaudhry + Manu Bhaker (all India final)

Mixed team 10m air rifle
New Delhi: China
Beijing: Divyansh Singh + Anjum Moudgil
Munich: Divyansh Singh + Anjum Moudgil (all India final)
Rio: Apurvi Chandela + Deepak Kumar

Also multiple academies have opened in shooting primarily by past good shooters. So ecosystem has started getting built. Similar is happening in boxing, wrestling, badminton, chess. But we are still scratching the surface as the scope is far greater. In contrast we have say only one world class velodrome for cycling. Very few world class swimming pools or athletics tracks. So need elite athletes. What is the point of building more cricket stadiums only god knows when we should be building for olympic sports in every corner of the country.

I think shooting benefited a lot from facilities and institutional support (ex Sports Min himself the first shooting Olympic medalist) and former shooters actively stepping in to support the new generation . Plus a focus on air pistol/rifle over big caliber guns . We don’t have a single World Cup medal this year in trap/skeet events but dominate air pistol/rifle in certain events. In these we have been able to fast track teenagers into world champion grade while also having a few folks in their 20s improve their standard . 30/40+ folks are coaching these.

The year end world championship will be a good barometer of performance before Tokyo 2020. We already have won the maximum two Olympic quota places in all our strongest events, so we will send a contingent capable of winning multiple golds there if they continue to perform smoothly . It would be a dream to see the mixed team OG finals being between India 1 and India 2.

Tokyo 2020 Shooting Programme
Day 1 and Day 4 are the days when were have our strongest events, and hopefully we will be in contention in all four events.

SwamyG wrote:My post is specific to your assertion about identifying elite individuals. You had shared a few examples. My point is we need to create an ecosystem at different levels, and talent automatically will eventually bubble up.
Please quote examples from the Indian shooting team to show why your argument applies to them.
My post is general, and not specific to any one sport. If there were two broad ways to identify talent one without a vast ecosystem and one with; I say we should have the ecosystem as well.

Your post is odd because shooting is showing better results than chess. There are far more people in the shooting community giving back to the sport through coaching and producing higher caliber sportsmen earlier and faster. It demonstrates a much more effective ecosystem than the sport offered as an example of building an ecosystem.

India has a grand total of one bronze in the open chess Olympiad and none at all in women’s . In shooting at a comparative level in the World Cup we have worked our way to the top, with a collection of shooters half of whom are 20 or younger, both men and women . Saurabh and Manu, who swept all the world cups in mixed team pistol, are both 17. Saurabh in fact has won everything short of Olympics - junior and senior Asian champ, Asian Games champ, junior and senior world champ, junior and senior world record holder and junior and senior world number 1, as well as Youth Olympic champion.

Young Indian shooters make it a watershed year with 16 gold medals
The Indian rifle and pistol shooters had won 12 World Cup gold medals in 33 years till 2018. In just eight months in this year, Indian shooters clinched 16 gold medals.

The young shooting brigade of the country, who have emerged as world beaters, ended the 4-edition World Cup series with 22 medals - 16 gold, four silver and two bronze medals. As a bonus, they have won nine quota places for Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

The biggest game-changer for India has been the mixed-gender events, which were introduced last year.

When asked what changed the shooting scenario in the last couple of years, Manu, 17, said stiff competition back home is the reason behind improvement in performances. "So many young shooters have come up in the last couple of years in India that there is no chance of getting complacent. We have to consistently shoot wlel to maintain our spots in the squad", Manu told ToI from Rio.

The youngsters are also maintaining their form and world No. 2 Abhishek Verma credits it to a robust data collection. "When we train or compete, we note down everything about our shooting. We record things that we do when we are shooting well and are winning medals. Likewise, we also note down things we did when we did not do well. When we don't shoot well, we go back to the diary and see what could be done to rectify our mistakes," Verma, who won 10m air pistol individual gold in Beijing and Rio World Cups, said.

The National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) president Raninder Singh said giving exposure to the shooters has made a lot of difference in their attitude. India has hosted four international events since 2016, including two World Cups and one World Cup Finals in Delhi.

Raninder also gave credit to NRAI’s junior programme and Indian coaches. “We started the junior programme four years ago, it is giving results now. Also, earlier we used to depend only on the foreign coaches, but now we have so many former India shooters taking up the coaching job. This has helped us in a big way, he added.
So much for lack of ecosystem. Shooting arguably has the most prolific ecosystem of any Indian Olympic sport right now.
Ankit Desai

Post by Ankit Desai »

More data Data check: Breakdown of India’s historic medal tally at ISSF World Cups in 2019

Overall Medal Tally (ISSF World Cup 2019)

Rank	Nation	          Gold	Silver	Bronze	Total

1	 India (IND)	         16	  4	    2	      22
2	 China (CHN)	          8     13      15        36
3	 United States (USA)	  5	  4	    1	      10
4	 Russia (RUS)	         4	  5	    3	      12
5	 Hungary (HUN)	        4	  1	    1	      6
6	 Croatia (CRO)	        3     2	    0         5
7	 Australia (AUS)         3     1	    4	      8
8	 Italy (ITA)	          2     2       6         10
9	 Germany (GER)           2     1       1         4
10   Czech Republic (CZE)	 2	  0	    1	      3

Medal distribution according to discipline

Discipline	      Gold	Silver	Bronze	Total
Pistol shooting	   10	   1	   1	     12
Rifle shooting	     6	   3	   1	     10

Medal distribution according to category
Event	     				Gold	Silver	Bronze	Total
10m air pistol				9		1		  1			11
10m air rifle				 6		2		  1			8
25m pistol					 1	   0		  0		   1
50m rifle three position  0	   1		  0		   1
-Ankit

One potential problem with our shooters is just problems with growing up . Anish Bhanwala, the junior world champion and Commonwealth Games gold medalist in 25m pistol , is having a hard time adapting this year because he has grown taller since 2018 and his center of gravity changed. This affected his gun holding fine balance, and impacted his shooting . He’s only 16. Luckily the shooting system is helping him learn to reorient himself .

This is one thing that could trip someone like Saurabh Chaudhry, who otherwise is competing at a level that could make him challenge for at least one Olympic gold next year, if not both of them (10m air pistol men’s and mixed team with fellow 17 year old Manu Bhaker).

We are fortunate that in each of four events with potential to win Olympic gold , we have two entries both of whom have demonstrated the ability to win. It helps with redundancy when one person is having a bad day .

Another Baahubali in the making. We are in the Golden Age of South Cinema and it is only beginning. Khanwood better watch out!

https://mobile.twitter.com/ippatel/stat ... 7739745280
प्रशान्त पटेल उमराव
@ippatel
#Saaho slapped on face of film critics who understand themselves Allah of BollyDawood.

It's box office collection Day 5 crossed ₹ 350 Cr mark worldwide & become India’s biggest blockbuster of the year.

This Sujeeth directed Prabhash film is breaking records every other day
tandav

Post by tandav »

https://www.news18.com/news/football/in ... 04083.html

India hold Asian champions Qatar to a 0-0 draw and keep alive their World cup Qualification chances. Apparently it was a nail biting match and the score card does not do justice to quality of the play.