J&K Union Territory-2019

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: J&K Union Territory-2019

http://www.kashmirtimes.com/newsdet.aspx?q=95314
PAK `INTRUDER’ NABBED IN R S PURA
KT NEWS SERVICE. Dated: 10/9/2019 1:17:58 AM

JAMMU, Oct 8: A Pakistani national was arrested by the Border Security Force (BSF) personnel along the International Border in R S Pura sector and handed over to police on Tuesday for further questioning.

He was the third Pakistani intruder, who was arrested along the Indo-Pak border in Jammu, in last 17 days, officials said.

Hasnain Farooq, 41, a resident of Goharpur village of Sialkot in Pakistan's Punjab, was arrested while he was trying to sneak into this side from across the border Monday evening. The officials said he was noticed moving near the fence in the Nawa Pind border outpost area of R S Pura around 7.15 PM and was immediately arrested as he crossed over to this side. No incriminating material was recovered from the possession of the intruder, who during questioning claimed that he was working as a salesman at a shop in Sialkot and wanted to come to this side for a better living, they said.

After questioning by the BSF and other security agencies, he was arrested and handed over to R S Pura police in the morning for further questioning and necessary legal action.

Prior to him, a Pakistani teenager was arrested in Akhnoor sector of Jammu on October 3 and another Pakistani national was nabbed from Chandu Chak village of R S Pura on September 21

Hope MAD armtwists banks etc to stop demanding interest or installments until situation has smoothened out. THIS is the sort of thing where I would hope there are good lawyers to extract compensation from the guvrmand.

The reality will sink in soon. GoI is sitting pretty comfy with whole world behind it. Controlling violence at all cost was the master stroke in my opinion. Without burning vehicles, buildings, ambulances and dead bodies on 24x7 TV no-one gives a rats ass.

Katare wrote:The reality will sink in soon. GoI is sitting pretty comfy with whole world behind it. Controlling violence at all cost was the master stroke in my opinion. Without burning vehicles, buildings, ambulances and dead bodies on 24x7 TV no-one gives a rats ass.
Exactly. The KMs are behaving like a kid throwing a tantrum, thinking that as in the past , GOI will rush to appease them. Best strategy is to ignore them completely (as the world is pretty much doing). Ideally, security intel permitting, GOI should call the bluff, restore communication and release the less popular leaders (who are probably safer in custody). That does not give the KMs any excuse to continue their sulking/ disobedience. They can then decide if they want to lead normal lives, or screw themselves.
Dumal

Post by Dumal »

Can someone identify these traitorous ingrates from the picture? Not a bad idea to target them in whatever way we can(no physical violence) and start nullifying their influence.
The tall guy next to Corbyn looks like Zhor Malik, a councillor out of Birmingham, who spoke at the labour conference.

Dumal wrote:
Can someone identify these traitorous ingrates from the picture? Not a bad idea to target them in whatever way we can(no physical violence) and start nullifying their influence.
The tall guy next to Corbyn looks like Zhor Malik, a councillor out of Birmingham, who spoke at the labour conference.
No, that's Kamalpreet Dhaliwal, who heads the Indian Overseas Congress in UK.

Deans wrote:
Katare wrote:The reality will sink in soon. GoI is sitting pretty comfy with whole world behind it. Controlling violence at all cost was the master stroke in my opinion. Without burning vehicles, buildings, ambulances and dead bodies on 24x7 TV no-one gives a rats ass.
Exactly. The KMs are behaving like a kid throwing a tantrum, thinking that as in the past , GOI will rush to appease them. Best strategy is to ignore them completely (as the world is pretty much doing). Ideally, security intel permitting, GOI should call the bluff, restore communication and release the less popular leaders (who are probably safer in custody). That does not give the KMs any excuse to continue their sulking/ disobedience. They can then decide if they want to lead normal lives, or screw themselves.
sirji,

While I agree with what you say, the problem is not only with the KMs but with Ms all over India, suffering psychotic delusions as they do stemming from serious congi withdrawal symptoms and being shafted by parties like SP, BSP, commies and others who washed out in the elections and also the marginalizing of entities like the jihadi begum in bengal.

For decades, these guys have been seriously used to being wooed by parties who get votes from the Hindus on a caste basis and use that legitimacy to lavish privileges on the Ms and proclaim themselves as secular.

This has built an insidious culture of entitlement in the siege mentality of the Ms which has actually denuded them of the fruits of progress and thus far managed only to produce madrasa chaap leadership.

ditto is the case with the other minorities who now see themselves as discriminated against because of the sabka saath, sabka vikas meme that has forced the sharing of the social and economic pie with the marginalized of the majority.

This is now being condemned as authoritarian populism.

the disquiet in the general M population regarding the abrogation of the art 370 is very evident from the number of Ms and their gaddar supporters who appear on TV every evening decrying the Modi govt for the injustices in cashmere.

Not one of them ever mentions the plight of the cashmeri pandits.

The M population traditionally speaks through such commentators and we should not mistake the message.
Dumal

Post by Dumal »

Kashi wrote:
Dumal wrote:
No, that's Kamalpreet Dhaliwal, who heads the Indian Overseas Congress in UK.
Makes sense. Thanks for correcting me.

I respectfully disagree. The valley could still go into a convulsion of TSP-led blood letting with us losing brave, valuable, precious, jawans/officers while KMs and TSP pigLeTs go to their 72. Maybe TSP will not play the same script because FATF and other lending agencies are watching them, but they will surely strike in some form or the other (the dropping of weapons through drones in Punjab may give some hints to our intel guys on what TSP is planning). And when that happens, we are back to square one. So far GoI has managed the situation very well. Hope they stay the course and eschew this 'winning hearts & minds' BS through some form of appeasement.

Also, I dispute that whole 'world' is supporting Indian govt. By 'world', I assume you mean gora countries. There again, its a case of good cop, bad cop. The western govts may have been somewhat muted. But knowing how US operates through its 5th pillar, namely media, I cannot believe the spate of India demonizing propaganda in NYT, WP,Economist etc, don't have the blessing of 'un-named officials'.

In the western media at least, the attacks on India have been relentless. Except for Jeff Smith in that Hudson Institute video that I posted, can anyone point a single article or statement or event where India's position on Kashmir post 370 has been presented and empathized with? I can't think of any.

BTW, I noticed that WP has now given space to that traitor b!tch Rana Ayyub to puke her bile. So now Burka Bibi has some competition. Compared with poison like Rana, ADhothi etc, Burka might now come across as a 'nationalist' :-).

https://www.dnaindia.com/analysis/edito ... ng-2795691
Kashmir thaw - There are clear signs that curbs are easing
Oct 9, 2019
Home Minister Amit Shah reaffirmed this week that Jammu and Kashmir would not remain a Union Territory forever and will get back its statehood status once the situation improves. The signals from Kashmir are positive and that should be considered good news.
For New Delhi, normalcy remains the best argument in its favour of abrogating Kashmir’s special status. Home Minister Amit Shah reaffirmed this week that Jammu and Kashmir would not remain a Union Territory forever and will get back its statehood status once the situation improves.
For good measure, the Home Minister also said that the notion that only Article 370 protected the Kashmiri culture and identity was incorrect, observing that all regional identities are inherently protected by the Indian Constitution. The statement coming from one of the principle movers on Kashmir is a sign that India is flexible in its approach, just so long as the other stakeholders also are on the same page. There are other signs too that the ice is melting. Tourists, the backbone of Kashmir’s economy, who had been asked to leave days before the state was stripped of its special status, are now welcome. In a major step towards restoring normalcy, the state Governor has recalled the security advisory issued over two months ago after holding a review meeting. More than half-a-million people visited the Valley in the first seven months of this year, according to official data. In addition, some 3,40,000 religious tourists were in the Valley in July before their pilgrimage was called off on the government’s advice. Barely 150 foreign travellers have visited Kashmir after August 5, official figures reveal.
Over the last week, the administration has taken some steps to test the Jhelum waters as it has come under increasing scrutiny for the prolonged clampdown. The first step was the announcement of the Block Development Council (BDC) elections in the state, followed by the permission granted to a National Conference delegation to meet detained leaders Farooq Abdullah and his son Omar Abdullah.
BDC elections, scheduled to be held on October 24, are party-based and delegations, whose leaders are interned, are being allowed to meet party heads so that they can take election-related decisions.

CRamS wrote: In the western media at least, the attacks on India have been relentless. Except for Jeff Smith in that Hudson Institute video that I posted, can anyone point a single article or statement or event where India's position on Kashmir post 370 has been presented and empathized with? I can't think of any.
True, but how long are they going to keep screaming :INDIA MUST END THE BRUTAL CURFEW when there is no curfew?

Also, our ppl are failing in one very important opportunity. Capture all the tweets/comments out there from "Kashmiris" bemoaning the lack of Internet, posted on YouTube and other Internet portals. Ask how they are posting, keep hammering.

yes, those are Pakis. Yes, they get very p.o.ed when that is pointed out. :(( Esp. with the respectful style for which UBCN is famed, asking about their 15 half-brothers by various fathers, relations with goats etc. But they HAVE posted as "Kashmiris". No sense in our wasting that opportunity.
To emulate CRS' exemplary record however weakly, time spent here should be complemented by time spent chitchatting with "Kashmiris" on the 'Net and recounting those to others on the 'Net. :mrgreen

Even if the attacks by western media are relentless that doesnt matter much as the role played by govts is what matters and not what the Non resident pakis think anywhere in the world..govts have spoken..beyond noise they cant do much. Period. India can maintain the status quo for even next 1 year..and no one can do zilch...CNN will progressively get busy with the elections and the cashmere will churn less and less cash for them..dimran can shout from dawn ..if he is still around he can talk in foreign tours..and some ummah will give him a hearing and make few pointless statements..but beyond that it would be SBI "lunch ke baad aana" esp when he'll ask for money. You can't ask both the kidneys at the same time..and that too every year...kidneys dont exactly grow on trees..although they might on labs...so countries will make noise to not give money to them and might admit to india about it..so i suggest that people to stop increasing the click count of by saying good nyt to NYT and making WAPO do a WACO from indian sites (esp after they deployed rana and burkha bibis)..and lomdi news...to see how do nothing democrats are taking an honest President like never before for corruption that was always done...

https://twitter.com/hussain_imtiyaz/sta ... 8460111872
Imtiyaz Hussain @hussain_imtiyaz [J&K Police Officer.]

This Pakistani federal Minister wants to hoist Pakistani flag in Delhi after he’s done with it in Srinagar.
Never had any confusion that proxy terror war in J&K is a war of our existence as a nation. We will have to fight to win.
As has been discussed before on this forum, the way the bakis have setup this game of 1000 years, only one country can come out of it intact.

Our duty is not to worry about baki survival but ours and for that bakistan has to be destroyed. The bakis have left us with no other option. Good thing is that more and more folks outside this forum are understanding the dynamics.

as a mongol yakherder said here "give peace a chance, destroy pakistan"
it needs to be modified: "Give the only chance to peace, annihilate pakistan"

CRamS wrote: In the western media at least, the attacks on India have been relentless. Except for Jeff Smith in that Hudson Institute video that I posted, can anyone point a single article or statement or event where India's position on Kashmir post 370 has been presented and empathized with? I can't think of any.
True, but how long are they going to keep screaming :INDIA MUST END THE BRUTAL CURFEW when there is no curfew?
Well despite screaming at the top of their voices, what exactly have they achieved in terms of actually hurting the GoI in any respect? No country has significantly changed the way it deals with India despite all the hullabaloo. Even the ones who opposed the move did not go beyond uttering platitudes.

On the one hand we admire how the Chinese conduct themselves by not giving a rat's musharraf about what anyone in the west says about them and at the same time we keep worrying to no end about what every 2 bit American journalist, politician, "intellectual" and "activist" is saying about Cashmere.

I can better express my thoughts about this in Hindi. "Unko jo bhaukna hai, bhaukne do. Koi hamara kuch ukhaad nahi sakta hai."

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/500-ter ... er-2115315
"500 Terrorists In PoK Waiting To Enter J&K", Says Top Army Officer
"There is no doubt that terrorists are facing a big shortage of arms and are attempting to snatch it from police stations or from special police officers," General Officer Commanding-in-Chief of the Northern Command Lieutenant General Ranbir Singh

Press Trust of India, October 11, 2019
BHADERWAH/JAMMU: Some 500 terrorists are waiting at training camps along the Line of Control in Pakistan-occupied Kashmir, ready to sneak into Jammu and Kashmir, a top Army officer said on Friday. He said some 200-300 are suspected to be operating in the hinterland of Jammu and Kashmir to keep the region boiling with Pakistan's support.
"As far as terrorists operating in Jammu and Kashmir are concerned, 200 to 300 have come here," General Officer Commanding-in-Chief of the Northern Command Lieutenant General Ranbir Singh told reporters today. He said this in reply to questions about the number of terrorists suspected to be operating in Jammu and Kashmir and those in PoK waiting to infiltrate into India. "Like this, nearly 500 terrorists are staged in terrorist training camps in PoK and are ready to infiltrate into J&K," said Lt General Singh, adding the numbers keep changing.

Wow! MAD are MAD.

Malaysian palm oil to feel the heat
Great for coconut oil prices in India.

67? 68? days over. Situation Naaarmal.

Post-paid mobile phones restored from Mondin

UlanBatori wrote:Wow! MAD are MAD.

Malaysian palm oil to feel the heat
Great for coconut oil prices in India.
long time coming, saar.

mahathir should learn some humility on his own and if not, he can be taught quite easily.

Another group of anti India @#$%^-heads. Meeting Rep Pramila Jayapal.
They all seen paki to me though. Indians in the districts of people who give these guys time of day must be boycotted.
Rep. Pramila Jayapal
@RepJayapal
·
21h
Yesterday, I met with a group of Kashmiri American constituents and leaders to discuss the human rights crisis in Jammu & Kashmir.

Watch out for Jayapal, she's gone paki.
You can tell she has no idea what she is talking about, she's using the same language as pakis and shehla/ayyub types.

KJo wrote:Watch out for Jayapal, she's gone paki.
You can tell she has no idea what she is talking about, she's using the same language as pakis and shehla/ayyub types.
She's going to make a fool of herself as communication restrictions are lifted, and there is little evidence supporting her claims of denied medical assistance or religious intolerance in J&K beyond what has already been seen and endured by the minorities there.

CRamS wrote:
I respectfully disagree. The valley could still go into a convulsion of TSP-led blood letting with us losing brave, valuable, precious, jawans/officers while KMs and TSP pigLeTs go to their 72. Maybe TSP will not play the same script because FATF and other lending agencies are watching them, but they will surely strike in some form or the other (the dropping of weapons through drones in Punjab may give some hints to our intel guys on what TSP is planning). And when that happens, we are back to square one. So far GoI has managed the situation very well. Hope they stay the course and eschew this 'winning hearts & minds' BS through some form of appeasement.

Also, I dispute that whole 'world' is supporting Indian govt. By 'world', I assume you mean gora countries. There again, its a case of good cop, bad cop. The western govts may have been somewhat muted. But knowing how US operates through its 5th pillar, namely media, I cannot believe the spate of India demonizing propaganda in NYT, WP,Economist etc, don't have the blessing of 'un-named officials'.

In the western media at least, the attacks on India have been relentless. Except for Jeff Smith in that Hudson Institute video that I posted, can anyone point a single article or statement or event where India's position on Kashmir post 370 has been presented and empathized with? I can't think of any.

BTW, I noticed that WP has now given space to that traitor b!tch Rana Ayyub to puke her bile. So now Burka Bibi has some competition. Compared with poison like Rana, ADhothi etc, Burka might now come across as a 'nationalist' :-).
Comeon man, enough of this rona dhona, whole world is against me, gora, kala, traitor, bitch.

Have some faith!

yensoy wrote:Watch out for Jayapal, she's gone paki.
She's going to make a fool of herself as communication restrictions are lifted, and there is little evidence supporting her claims of denied medical assistance or religious intolerance in J&K beyond what has already been seen and endured by the minorities there.
She's a Hilary-class pompous idiot minus the false politeness of Hilary. Didn't u c her make a total fool of herself as Committee Chair trying to bully the ex-chief of Customs& Border etc. Forgot that the guy is now a retired private citizen - and it is she who is on the Fed payroll.
YOU MUST RESPECT THE CHAIR!!
:((
er... YOU work for ME!

I might have said: Yeah, the furniture, yes, but the lump in it, seriously?

Polis not messing around. Very innovative version of
It takes a village to raise a child (to not be a stone-thrower)
Tough love no doubt, but it IS love: it is a way of keeping these brats alive.
"wait all day to be 'counseled' by polis"
:shock:

https://www.rediff.com/news/report/kash ... 191012.htm
Kashmir not raised or discussed at Modi-Xi summit: FS
October 12, 2019
India and China on Saturday resolved to start a new chapter of cooperation while prudently managing their differences as Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chinese President Xi Jinping agreed to set up a ministerial-level mechanism to boost trade and investment and work towards deepening defence and security ties during their second informal summit in this ancient coastal town.
Among the significant outcomes of their nearly seven-hour one-on-one talks over two days were China's assurance to address India's concerns on ballooning trade deficit and on negotiations for the proposed Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership, work on additional confidence building measures and agreement on consolidating strategic communication to enhance mutual trust between militaries of the two countries to maintain peace on border.
Foreign Secretary Vijay Gokhale, addressing a press conference at the end of the summit, said the Kashmir issue was not raised or discussed during the deliberations, but said the Chinese leader briefed Modi about Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan's visit to Beijing earlier in the week.
“The two leaders had an in-depth exchange of views in a friendly atmosphere on overarching, long-term and strategic issues of global and regional importance,” Gokhale said, at the end of Xi's nearly 24-hour visit.
A new era of cooperation will start between India and China on Saturday with the "Chennai Connect”, Prime Minister Modi said in his remarks at the delegation level talks after a 90-minute one-on-one conversation with Xi in a luxury resort overlooking the Bay of Bengal.
Xi said their "candid", "heart-to-heart" discussions on bilateral relations were "in-depth" and "good", noting that maintaining and expanding the Sino-India relations is a firm policy of his government.

Saar, how is it naarmal when we have a grenade attack?
Unless you mean naarmal as per paki istandards?

Situation Naarmal. Pakis do soosai attacks, ppl go about their bijnej, security forces hunt down Pakis. For Srinagar, lack of stone-throwing and grenade-throwing is AB-Naarmal onlee. Like thruster "overperforming", it tends to upset everyone.
As Charles Bronson said in "Telefon":
Everyone should do what they do best.

Situation Naarmal. 4 million mobile phones come alive for 7 million population.
Yasir Ahad said he was talking to his fiancee when the lines snapped abruptly.
“I was not able to contact my fiancee who lives just five kilometres from my place. We got engaged in July this year and two weeks later we had no information about each other’s well being,” Ahad said.
Ahad, who plans to get married next spring, said he would talk to his fiancee every day till the sudden communication blockade came into force in the early hours of August 5.
“I was talking to her when the signal went off. Initially, I thought there was something wrong with my phone but soon realised that the rumours ahead of August 5 were not unfounded,” he added.
Just THINK about that. FIVE KILOMETERS!!!! In good weather too.. :((
Shankas

Post by Shankas »

UlanBatori wrote:Situation Naarmal. 4 million mobile phones come alive for 7 million population.
Yasir Ahad said he was talking to his fiancee when the lines snapped abruptly.
“I was not able to contact my fiancee who lives just five kilometres from my place. We got engaged in July this year and two weeks later we had no information about each other’s well being,” Ahad said.
Ahad, who plans to get married next spring, said he would talk to his fiancee every day till the sudden communication blockade came into force in the early hours of August 5.
“I was talking to her when the signal went off. Initially, I thought there was something wrong with my phone but soon realised that the rumours ahead of August 5 were not unfounded,” he added.
Just THINK about that. FIVE KILOMETERS!!!! In good weather too.. :((
I and my friend regularly walk 5+ km even in the dead of winter (-10c to -15c) in Toronto. Now if I was young and had a fiancee, what's 5km.

Rony,

Saw that interview. To me it was disappointing on 2 counts:

1. Everybody spoke in generalities, that guy to the extreme right of Aarti was harping on 'civilizational issue' which we all know, but didn't say anything concrete. Likewise, blow-hot-blow-cold Tavleen Singh in her fak pompous Brit accent keep saying "ModiJi doesn't have a strategy ost 370' without saying what he should do.

2. This was supposed to be a right of center panel, and every one of them were pushing their pet peeves against Indian govt missing the elephant in the room: TSP but for whom there would be no "Kashmir issue".

Coming to Tavleen, I would like to remind her ilk who take silly Jibes against ModiJi on what India is up against. It helps always to keep the big picture in mind. So here goes:

1. A large swathe of Muslims in Kashmir want secession, period. No deluding ourselves with this. Its a civilizational or religious battle, whatever you want to call it.

2. TSP has been waging a terrorist war in the backdrop of nukes to wrest the valley of Kashmir from India.

3. India has lost 1000s of troops battling TSP. Short of costly war, there is nothing else India can do to bring TSP to its knees and seek a reasonable compromise.

4. Every decent political move by India, like elections, courting KMs, even sucking up to separatists and TSP proxies has not worked. Once again, this is a civilzational/religious battle.

5. TSP has powerful friends like US and China who support them diplomatically, economically, and militarily. TSP's nukes are a gift from China with win win nod nod from USA. Western nations usually talk bluntly through their proxy media even though on the surface they espouse 'neutrality', but make no mistake, they think India is the bad guy, and would like see India accede to the demands of Kashmir Muslims and TSP.

6. Huge 5th columns in India that is more Paki than Hafeez Saeed, Taliban Khan, and Bajwa in their desire to break up India

The above list goes on. With such a mountainous challenge that India faces, I get livid and my blood boils when you have arm chair useless journalists who are supposedly right of center berate ModiJi for no "political strategy" or someone who says Kashmir is a "political problem" that requires a "political solution".

Funny thing is that by revoking 370, ModiJi has embarked on the most daring political solution that nobody else had the b@lls to execute.

https://www.rediff.com/news/report/terr ... 191014.htm
Terrorists kill Rajasthan truck driver in Kashmir
October 14, 2019
Two terrorists, including a suspected Pakistani national, shot dead the driver of a Rajasthan truck and assaulted an orchard owner in Shopian district of Jammu and Kashmir on Monday, police said.
The deceased has been identified as Sharief Khan, they said, adding that the terrorists carried out the attack in Shirmal village in desperation as fruit transportation has picked up in the Valley.
dsreedhar

Post by dsreedhar »

Saw the interview. I was also not very satisfied when it comes to presenting a good case for the civilizational and hindu side.
One point caught my attention. Tavleen singh did mention about Sikhs (Guru Teg bahadur) coming to rescue of Kashmiri pandits, but the guy to the extreme right (Ashish Dar) of anchor flatly rejected it. ???? The guy to the immediate right to Aarti was better among others.

"https://www.dailyexcelsior.com/huge-rus ... onday-uni/
Huge rush of customers in BSNL office in Srinagar seeking fresh post-paid SIMs as authorities restored post-paid telephones on Monday.(UNI)

X-post
chetak wrote:this is worth watching.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OgXVMO5rdHg

Kashmir - The State & The Status by Srinath Raghavan, Manthan Samvaad 2019

Debunking Myths of Article 370 & Kashmir

The lecture ‘Kashmir-The State & The Status, Manthan Samvaad 2019’ by Srinath Raghavan on Article 370 is not only intellectually dishonest but also a very selective reading of history. The biggest claim he makes in his lecture is that militancy in Kashmir is a result of the erosion of Article 370. He offers no evidence but presents correlation as causality. There is no causation whatsoever and at one level, even correlation is not necessarily true.

The erosion of Article 370, in absolute terms, began with the 1952 Delhi agreement between Sheikh Abdullah and JL Nehru, itself. Further dilution of Article 370 happened way before militancy erupted in Kashmir in 1989. In fact, Raghavan conveniently overlooks the fact that Kashmir did not rise against India even during the 1965 war though Article 370 had been eroded substantially by then.

The fact is that those who led insurgency in Kashmir, were not believers of Article 370 to begin with. JKLF, Hizbul Mujahideen, Lashkar-e-Taiba, Jaish-e-Mohammad, Ansar Ghazwat-ul-Hind, Wilayah-al-Hind (Islamic State of Jammu & Kashmir) and other terror groups are not proponents or supporters of Article 370. They have never been and they never will be. They have sought either clean separation from India or accession with Pakistan and the Islamic Ummah.

The Muslim United Front (MUF), an amalgamation of several Islamist and separatist groups (including parent bodies of JKLF, Hizbul Mujahideen), the precursor of Hurriyat Conference in Kashmir, contested elections of 1987, on the right to self-determination (the choices of which have only been two — India and Pakistan), on the slogan that J&K’s accession was illegal, on the idea of two nation theory and on communal Islamic rhetoric. Having failed to gather electoral/democratic support for their agenda, the constituents of the MUF, turned militant and brought Pakistan sponsored terrorism to Kashmir. That militancy with no relation to 370 is now three decades old.

Even today, none of the violent protests in Kashmir since the abrogation of Article 370, are about constitutional issues. Nobody has come to the streets, demanding restoration of J&K’s flag or constitution. Instead, militants and their over ground supporters (both sponsored by Pakistan) demand only one thing — secession from India. Raghavan conveniently ignores the entire history of militancy and makes a completely unsubstantiated claim that erosion of Article 370 led to militancy.

More importantly, Raghavan fails to recognize that its Kashmiri Muslims (Bakshi, Sadiq and even Sheikh) themselves who allowed for the erosion of Article 370, who have been fighting insurgency for the last 30 years and who have been killed for standing up for India in Kashmir. He also doesn’t tell his audience how erosion of Article 370 was really denial of rights. On the contrary, what he calls erosion, has been actually empowerment of people in J&K. For example, how can the extension of fundamental rights enshrined in the Indian constitution or jurisdiction of the Supreme Court to the state of J&K, be erosion of anything? How can greater rights be a cause of militancy?

Actually his entire argument is straight out of advocate AG Noorani’s tendentious exegeses published in Pakistani newspapers and in his books. The whole lecture is about the ‘state of Kashmir’. It is extremely unsettling when a scholar distorts facts. Kashmir is not a state; Jammu & Kashmir is a state. Kashmir was not a princely state, Jammu & Kashmir (including Ladakh) was. Kashmir did not accede to India; Jammu & Kashmir did.

J&K acceded to India using the same instrument of accession (introduced by the British in 1935) as other princely states but his lecture pretends as if only “Kashmir” acceded on special terms. It conveniently ignores the underlying reason of why other princely states merged with India completely while Kashmir became a problem.

None of the Noorani school of scholars are able to answer why did India anoint Sheikh Abdullah as the successor of Hari Singh in J&K? Sure he was the popular leader of Kashmir valley who had challenged the Dogra autocracy but were rulers of other princely states far more secular, democratic, progressive and just? Was Nizam of Hyderabad kinder and better as an administrator than Hari Singh? Why was Sheikh Abdullah more legitimate than the Dogra ruler, because, after all, he was unelected and untested on any constitutional floor too. So why did he get to negotiate Article 370 on behalf of the entire state with New Delhi? The answers to all these uncomfortable questions are not favorable to the narrative that has been set by a certain academic ecosystem in India.

The crux of Raghavan’s lecture is fundamentally this — Two Nation Theory is correct; Hindus and Muslims can’t coexist as equals; Muslims need same guarantees and special provisions that Jinnah sought; Kashmir, a Muslim majority valley, must dictate terms of relationship of J&K with New Delhi. If Kashmiri Muslims are not given special status in the union of India (which is Hindu dominated), they are justified to seek autonomy (the best alternative to partition) for the whole state of J&K.

The biggest problem with this line of thinking is that it completely ignores the fundamentals on which Nehru and Jinnah disagreed, leading to the Partition of India. India’s founding fathers envisaged a union with equality for everyone; Jinnah wanted a loose federation with special status for Muslims. In Nehru’s India, there is no scope for creating constitutional islands on religious lines.

CRamS wrote: 1. A large swathe of Muslims in Kashmir want secession, period. No deluding ourselves with this. Its a civilizational or religious battle, whatever you want to call it.

2. TSP has been waging a terrorist war in the backdrop of nukes to wrest the valley of Kashmir from India.

3. India has lost 100000s of troops battling warring (over last 1000 years) TSP . Short of costly war, there is nothing else India can do to bring TSP to its knees and seek a reasonable compromise.

4. Every decent political move by India, like elections, courting KMs, even sucking up to separatists and TSP proxies has not worked. Once again, this is a civilzational/religious battle.

5. TSP has powerful friends like US and China who support them diplomatically, economically, and militarily. TSP's nukes are a gift from China with win win nod nod from USA. Western nations usually talk bluntly through their proxy media even though on the surface they espouse 'neutrality', but make no mistake, they think India is the bad guy, and would like see India accede to the demands of Kashmir Muslims and TSP.

6. Huge 5th columns in India that is more Paki than Hafeez Saeed, Taliban Khan, and Bajwa in their desire to break up India

The above list goes on. With such a mountainous challenge that India faces, I get livid and my blood boils when you have arm chair useless journalists who are supposedly right of center berate ModiJi for no "political strategy" or someone who says Kashmir is a "political problem" that requires a "political solution".

Funny thing is that by revoking 370, ModiJi has embarked on the most daring political solution that nobody else had the b@lls to execute.
for a change we both are on same side of thought..just minor corrections..visit interiors of UP, Bihar...if Pakistan is not cut eliminated India is staring another partition...one of my IPS friend who believed in Chindu like Gospel (word intented)..after serving few years in UP in the peaceful belts confided, after two rounds that savarkar might not be a suave but a necessary idea, unfortunately ahead of its day..according to him the right time was perhaps 70s or 80s when IG/SG could have actually done it..(although he did acknowledge SG's efforts)