J&K Union Territory-2019

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: J&K Union Territory-2019

does spain speak at all about matters related to India? italy, i can understand for NRIs(italians of course), UK for its "special relations", france for wannabe, russia for Supapowah, germany for sanctimony..but spain??? whats next Armenia/Albania/Cyprus??

Opinion piece in the Daily Excelsior
https://www.dailyexcelsior.com/kashmir- ... ntrospect/
Kashmir Politicians' Moment to Introspect
Before blaming Central Government for all that has gone wrong in Kashmir, Farooq Abdullah and local Congress leaders must tell people who was responsible for the rigged 1987 Assembly elections . It is necessary to clear the air because there is a near unanimous view that present cycle of violence is directly traceable to these elections. Thanks to the political manoeuvering of Central Governments, people in the state weren’t given an unimpeded run of the democracy. Local leaders abetted the process. So they played into the hands of Pakistan – a country always in search of an opportunity to pry on the sectarian sensitivities of the Kashmiris.

ArjunPandit wrote:
does spain speak at all about matters related to India? italy, i can understand for NRIs(italians of course), UK for its "special relations", france for wannabe, russia for Supapowah, germany for sanctimony..but spain??? whats next Armenia/Albania/Cyprus??
We have done far worse with peepsqueak countries like Denmark, Sweden, Ireland, Norway and even tiny New Zealand having lectured us in the past.

Day 70: Situation ABNaarmal

Cashmore-is protest without throwing stones.:eek:
Wimmen netas decide to enjoy guvrmand hospitality.

Other bojitive neuj:
1. Post-paid mobile restored; SMS fajility stopped.
2. BSNL bills ppl for period during shutdown (that comes under "Situation Naarmal" per babucracy standards as in SNAFU). That is the only thing Al-CNN found to rebort.

Meanwhile a Truck Driver from RJ has been killed in Kashmir by Islamic terrorists.

dsreedhar wrote:Saw the interview. I was also not very satisfied when it comes to presenting a good case for the civilizational and hindu side.
One point caught my attention. Tavleen singh did mention about Sikhs (Guru Teg bahadur) coming to rescue of Kashmiri pandits, but the guy to the extreme right (Ashish Dar) of anchor flatly rejected it. ???? The guy to the immediate right to Aarti was better among others.
Minor correction. Tegh Bahadur Ji wasn't a Sikh nor was anyone who was martyred along with him.
He was a Hindu who came to the rescue of Hindus. Sikh Panth wasn't born till many years after his death.

Vikas wrote:Minor correction. Tegh Bahadur Ji wasn't a Sikh nor was anyone who was martyred along with him.
He was a Hindu who came to the rescue of Hindus. Sikh Panth wasn't born till many years after his death.
This will be vociferously contested by Sikhs. This may be a historic truth but matters of faith are altogether different. Let's call Tegh Bahadur ji and his disciples & predecessors "Nanak-panthi" - I doubt either Hindus or Sikhs will have an issue with label.

That reminds me of my classmate who claimed he was **NOT*** following Ms. XXXXXXXX around:
"She was following ME in front!"

https://thewire.in/rights/from-the-ston ... id-mobiles
Lo ji
people happy to be back from stone age!!
Reading through students want internet to prepare for the exams!!
What between abusing the police and para military and stone throwing wonder how much of studying going in the past with internet usage?

Vikas wrote:Minor correction. Tegh Bahadur Ji wasn't a Sikh nor was anyone who was martyred along with him. He was a Hindu who came to the rescue of Hindus. Sikh Panth wasn't born till many years after his death.
You're absolutely wrong and wrote a post coloured with your personal and incorrect view. Sikhism was established by Guru Nanak. The Khalsa were established by Guru Gobind Singh. Guru Teg Bahadur was the then Sikh Guru.

I would request you to delete your post. If not, I am requesting the moderators to do so as it will needlessly inflame passions.

tsarkar wrote:
Vikas wrote:Minor correction. Tegh Bahadur Ji wasn't a Sikh nor was anyone who was martyred along with him. He was a Hindu who came to the rescue of Hindus. Sikh Panth wasn't born till many years after his death.
You're absolutely wrong and wrote a post coloured with your personal and incorrect view. Sikhism was established by Guru Nanak. The Khalsa were established by Guru Gobind Singh. Guru Teg Bahadur was the then Sikh Guru.

I would request you to delete your post. If not, I am requesting the moderators to do so as it will needlessly inflame passions.
i am not sure if sikhism ( as we know it today with its typical attire, practices, beliefs, book, rituals) was established by guru nanak. he just started a movement against established practices and dogmas of hinduism/islam. a part of sufi movement. yes, a chain of gurus culminated in the last guru Shri Guru Gobind singh ji, who gave it a distinct identity. The pagri etc which we commonly associated with sikhism came about during his tenure. However, the fact of the matter is that the previous 9 gurus to the best of my knowledge were practising hindus with typical hindu names like aurjun dev, amar dass, ram dass,hargobind, har rai, angad . The gurus led a reformative movement wrt hinduism. During the tenure of the atleast 9 gurus there was nothing like a sikh religion as we commonly understand it today. Wether it inflames passion or not is a seperate matter but the truth be told. I actually laugh when the previous 9 gurus are shown in typical sikh attire. unfortunately this is how history is taught in this country and surprising to see a mature, sensible person like tsarkar take offence of the post. in fact , the priests of gurdwaras were hindus till v recently and often the ragis were muslims which changed after independence.

actually the word sikh is misunderstood by those having been schooled in the western tradition... sikh meaning a student/follower were the people who were basically initiated into a spiritual path/practice by a living guru/master led by guru nanak ji and others. if u read the guru granth sahib, it says it does not matter if u follow the spiritual path as a muslim, hindu , jain . there is no need of converting to any religion to find god. the message to all the 4 hindu castes is same. So why would the gurus set up a different religion and convert people? ?? it was in its initial years not about a different religion but just breaking from dogmas/rituals of established religions ( hinduism mainly) as was practised by the brahmins/priests/pandits of the day. it focussed on meditative practice, rejected idol worship, abstinence from sins/vices, importance of a liviing master as a guide amongst others.

What's with NYT? Syria SNAFU effect?
As militants kill in Kashmir, ppl are afraid to go to work

Watch for that headline to be edited. It almost... ALMOST seems to suggest that "militants" killing is the cause of people being afraid to go to work, i.e. that the militants are just possibly, by definition, t-e-r-r-o-r-i-s-t-s?

Basharat Peer will decorate his cookies over this, to be sure. Watch for the headline to surreptitiously change to something like:
Cashmere: As Hindu Nationalist Occupation Perpetuates Climate of Fear, Locals Dread Going To Work, Militants Strike Back

Folks no more on Guru Tegh bahadur and Sikhs

Situation Naarmal. But media tone seems s-l-o-w-l-y changing?
India blocks SMS services in Kashmir after trucker killed. Indian security sources said the decision to cut text messaging services was taken to reduce the ability of militants to communicate.

Authorities had only restored call and text services for mobile phones on Monday, following a 72-day blackout in the restive northern territory imposed after New Delhi scrapped the region's semi-autonomous status.
That is a very different tone at least for the headline? Though the pic shows the terrorist bibis demanding govt. hospitality for themselves.

Hours after being restored, SMS services blocked in J&K
The whine from Zulfikar Majid, DHNS, Sri Nagar continues. I am a bit surprised as to how he manages to get out his whine every single day dot on time when the news paper goes to print :). WhatsApp, SMS, Phone ban; all did not have any impact on this super-hero reporter. But looks like GoI is just not allowing any kind of mass messaging tool to be used. Rioters and stone throwers would now have to call up their pals or use a public address system to share their thoughts.

Farooq Abdullah's sister, daughter detained.
This sister & daughter seems to be new characters in the drama. How did they land up in Sri Nagar all of a sudden? BTW, I liked the below slogans.
Kashmir Brides Are Not For Sale - who even thought of "buying" them in the first place? Or they themselves feel that they are saleable?
We the women of Kashmir disapprove the unilateral decision taken by the government of India - :lol:. Okay, noted. Next please.

https://www.deccanherald.com/national/3 ... 68746.html
3 militants killed in encounter in J&K
Reuters, OCT 16 2019.
Three terrorists were killed on Wednesday in an encounter with security forces in Jammu and Kashmir's Anantnag district, officials said. The gunbattle erupted between security forces and militants in Indian Kashmir, two police sources said, the first since mobile phone links were restored in the region in an effort to restore normalcy after a prolonged shutdown. All the three local militants have been neutralised, the officials said, adding the bodies were being identified and would be soon handed over to their families.

https://www.livemint.com/news/world/mal ... 86371.html
Malaysia offers to increase imports from India after Kashmir row
15 Oct 2019, 06:35 PM IST
Reuters
To ease trade tensions Kuala Lumpur is considering raising imports of raw sugar and buffalo meat from India
Decision taken in light of India's importance as Malaysia's third-largest export destination in 2018 for palm oil and palm-based products worth $1.63 billion

KUALA LUMPUR : Malaysia is considering raising imports of raw sugar and buffalo meat from India, potentially easing trade tensions after reports New Delhi could restrict Malaysian palm oil imports following the country's criticism of India's actions in Kashmir.
Malaysia is the world's second largest producer and exporter of palm oil after Indonesia. Its benchmark palm oil futures recouped losses to end higher on Tuesday after the announcement by the country's government.
The country's Ministry of Primary Industries, which handles palm oil matters, said in a statement that it made the decision in light of India's importance as Malaysia's third-largest export destination in 2018 for palm oil and palm-based products worth 6.84 billion ringgit ($1.63 billion).
"The minister views with concern recent news reports regarding unfavourable bilateral relations between Malaysia and India as both countries have enjoyed strong and comprehensive relations for more than six decades," the statement said, referring to Teresa Kok, the Malaysian minister in charge of the palm oil portfolio.

g.sarkar wrote:https://www.livemint.com/news/world/mal ... 86371.html
Malaysia offers to increase imports from India after Kashmir row
15 Oct 2019, 06:35 PM IST
Reuters
To ease trade tensions Kuala Lumpur is considering raising imports of raw sugar and buffalo meat from India
Decision taken in light of India's importance as Malaysia's third-largest export destination in 2018 for palm oil and palm-based products worth $1.63 billion

KUALA LUMPUR : Malaysia is considering raising imports of raw sugar and buffalo meat from India, potentially easing trade tensions after reports New Delhi could restrict Malaysian palm oil imports following the country's criticism of India's actions in Kashmir.
Malaysia is the world's second largest producer and exporter of palm oil after Indonesia. Its benchmark palm oil futures recouped losses to end higher on Tuesday after the announcement by the country's government.
The country's Ministry of Primary Industries, which handles palm oil matters, said in a statement that it made the decision in light of India's importance as Malaysia's third-largest export destination in 2018 for palm oil and palm-based products worth 6.84 billion ringgit ($1.63 billion).
"The minister views with concern recent news reports regarding unfavourable bilateral relations between Malaysia and India as both countries have enjoyed strong and comprehensive relations for more than six decades," the statement said, referring to Teresa Kok, the Malaysian minister in charge of the palm oil portfolio.
GOI should demand a anti terror statement.

https://www.dailyexcelsior.com/3-milita ... encounter/

1) The militants were identified as Nazir Gulzar of Arwani area of Kulgam, Aqib Hajam of Redwani area of Kulgam and Zahid Lone of Taqiya Maqsood Bijbehara in Anantnag district. One Insas rifle and two pistols were recovered from the debris of the houses.

Security forces imposed restrictions on the movement of people in Bijbehara and Anantnag towns of the district to prevent any law and order problem. The militants were later buried in their respective villages.

{These three are Kashmiri terrorists. And look at their weapons:INSAS rifle and two pistols. Means they are starved of arms from TSP.}

2) A fruit merchant was killed and another critically injured when militants fired at them in Shopian district of South Kashmir this evening. Police said that gun men opened fire at two fruit merchants at Trenz village in Shopian this evening. One of them Charenjeet Singh of Ferozpur in Punjab died on the spot and another Sanjeev Kumar of Gurdaspur Punjab was injured in the attack.

Kumar was shifted to Srinagar’s SMHS hospital for treatment and he is being treated here. The duo were living in the village and were procuring apples from the growers for last one month. They were loading apples in the truck when they were fired at. Militants also set ablaze the apple truck. However, residents immediately reached the spot and extinguished the fire.

Security forces reached the spot and massive manhunt has been launched against the militants responsible for the killing of the apple trader.

3) A labourer was also shot dead at Kakapora area of Pulwama district earlier today. The labourer was identified as Shetty Kumar Sagar son of Kaniya Lal Sagar of Bailsa Chhattisgarh.

Sources said that two labourers who were working in a nearby brick kiln were walking on Railway track this afternoon. They were stopped by suspected militants and one of them was asked to leave and another was shot dead.

Police and security forces reached the spot and recovered body of the labourer. They also conducted searches in the area but no one was arrested.

4) And the man who is believed to be the brain behind the unrest in Soura since August 4 was arrested by police last night.

Police last night nabbed Hyat Ahmad Bhat when he was shifting from Anchar area last night.
He was interrogated as police alleged that he was the brain behind the protest in the area, which has remained out of bounds for security forces since August 5.

Police sources said that Bhat was instrumental in mobilising people for protests in and around Jenab Sahib Soura.

Formerly affiliated with Muslim League, Bhat was earlier booked two times Public Safety Act as there were 16 cases registered against him pertaining to law and order disturbances.
The police have registered three fresh cases against him this year
at Soura police station for his involvement in fomenting trouble in the area.
Lots of news packed in that report!!!

Strange snippets.
1. Soura has been "out of bounds" for security forces since Aug. 5? A new Godhra-in-training?

2. The 3 terrorists shot dead were "returned to their families". This means they are home-grown, not Paki.

3. The two apple-transporters killed are a Hindu and a Sikh. Tolerance for the sh1ts needs to end.

Situation Naarmal.

Sellers Threaten Boycott after Unpacking Apples from Kashmir With 'Azadi', 'Burhan Wani' Written on Them
Kashmir apples with messages like "We want freedom", "I luv Burhan Wani", and "Zakir Musa come back" written on them were found in boxes bought by fruit sellers in Jammu and Kashmir's Kathua district, prompting police to probe the matter.

The fruit sellers on Wednesday threatened to boycott apples from Kashmir if the government fails to take action as people are refusing to purchase them due to these messages. The sellers opened the boxes purchased from the wholesale market here only to find the messages written on the fruits with black marker.

I was out of internet and phone (mobile damaged)my self for 3 days just now. It is very difficult this if you are addicted to that. Unfortunately we are all addicted to it. But it is not very bad because most of them communication relating to daily needs etc can be done normally. Emergency etc can be done with landlines if you have that.

But cutting communications made the business of terror very difficult. What BIF is asking is for restoration of "ease of doing Terror Business". Nothing else. Entire dramas of medical things, food things, talking to loved one things, are all media war aimed at that. It is good that GoI did not change its path.

By prepaid mobiles the address and KYCs will be better managed. We need to increase the rates of calls etc specifically in J&K. After all they all want special status. :mrgreen: Right. Each account holder shall give an absolute waiver to snoop on the connections. I hope GoI look into this.

manjgu wrote:
tsarkar wrote: You're absolutely wrong and wrote a post coloured with your personal and incorrect view. Sikhism was established by Guru Nanak. The Khalsa were established by Guru Gobind Singh. Guru Teg Bahadur was the then Sikh Guru.

i am not sure if sikhism ( as we know it today with its typical attire, practices, beliefs, book, rituals) was established by guru nanak. he just started a movement against established practices and dogmas of hinduism/islam. a part of sufi movement. yes, a chain of gurus culminated in the last guru Shri Guru Gobind singh ji, who gave it a distinct identity. The pagri etc which we commonly associated with sikhism came about during his tenure. However, the fact of the matter is that the previous 9 gurus to the best of my knowledge were practising hindus with typical hindu names like aurjun dev, amar dass, ram dass,hargobind, har rai, angad . The gurus led a reformative movement wrt hinduism. During the tenure of the atleast 9 gurus there was nothing like a sikh religion as we commonly understand it today. Wether it inflames passion or not is a seperate matter but the truth be told. I actually laugh when the previous 9 gurus are shown in typical sikh attire. unfortunately this is how history is taught in this country and surprising to see a mature, sensible person like tsarkar take offence of the post. in fact , the priests of gurdwaras were hindus till v recently and often the ragis were muslims which changed after independence.
Guys stop it. Today 17th October in history. Sikhs defeated Ahmad Shah Abdali and too back most of punjab. In 1699 Abdali's grandson Zaman Shah was defeated by Maharaja Ranjit Singh. He recovered zamzam gun which is still at the chowk in Lahore close to the jail where Bhagat Singh Rajguru and Sukhdev were hanged. And Hari Singh Nalwa who got Kashmir back was none other than

Hari Singh Nalwa's mother renamed as Dharam Kaur was daughter of Sadashiv Bhau the Marataha leader who was killed at Panipat. Sardar Jassa Singh Ahluwalia rescued 2200 women who were being sent to middle east bazaar to be sold. She was adopted by Sardar Kapur Singh Virk and renamed as Dharam Kaur and later married to Sardar Gurdial Singh Uppal. Nalwa is named as Marshall of the khalsa and was responsible for getting Afghanistan to pay annual tribute from 1718 till 1732. He also got Kashmir to be part of India from Afghanis.

Be very very proud of your heritage and stop pointing out little things.

manjgu wrote:
tsarkar wrote: You're absolutely wrong and wrote a post coloured with your personal and incorrect view. Sikhism was established by Guru Nanak. The Khalsa were established by Guru Gobind Singh. Guru Teg Bahadur was the then Sikh Guru.

Sikhism is still a reform movement. Only that first 5 gurus totally focused on reform of society with widow remarriage, stopping of.sati, casteism, etc.

Then 5th Guru Guru Arjan Dev ji was murdered at Lahore.

The 6th Guru realized that picking up of.the arms is necessary. This is directly from the quote of Guru Nanak dev ji in Guru Granth Sahib
"Sir dhar tali gali meri aao" whoever wants to play the game of love of God put your head on your hand and come with me.

6th Guru was imprisoned at Gwalior fort for 10 years
7th through 9th were hounded all over punjab
9th guru along with Bhai Mati Dass, Sati Dass and Dyal dass was martyred at Chandani Chowk Delhi.
10th Guru made sikhs to be like Soldiers with armament, uniform and discipline.

^+500

https://www.dailyexcelsior.com/transpor ... rom-today/
Transporters to go on strike from today

JAMMU, Oct 16: Intensifying their struggle against the installation of Toll Plaza on Jammu -Pathankot National Highway at Sarore in Samba district and failure of Government to concede their other demands, the transporters have given a call for indefinite chakka jam from Lakhanpur to Kashmir valley.

This was stated by T S Wazir, chairman All J&K Transport Welfare Association and former MLC while talking to Excelsior here today. He said that the Association had given 24 hours ultimatum to Government regarding conceding the long pending demands of the passenger transporters including abolition of Toll Plaza at Sarore but the stoic silence maintained by Government on the demands has forced them to go ahead with its strike call.

@Sbajwa...sikhism was a panth and not a religion ( though now its recognised as a religion). the lofty objective of the Sikh Panth was to uphold Dharma. Panth can be thought of as a specific path(way) - a set of perspectives/ideology/interpretations. Religion, as is used today , is a concept alien to the Sanatan Dharma, wherein, each different path(way) is termed as a panth - a method of achieving essentially the same goals ie god realization and service to mankind.

Yagnasri wrote:I was out of internet and phone (mobile damaged)my self for 3 days just now. It is very difficult this if you are addicted to that. Unfortunately we are all addicted to it. But it is not very bad because most of them communication relating to daily needs etc can be done normally. Emergency etc can be done with landlines if you have that.

But cutting communications made the business of terror very difficult. What BIF is asking is for restoration of "ease of doing Terror Business". Nothing else. Entire dramas of medical things, food things, talking to loved one things, are all media war aimed at that. It is good that GoI did not change its path.
Once full internet /mobile are restored, KMs will ask for 5G. What GOI has done is end the narrative that people have believed for the last 20 years (one of several narratives about Kashmir) that the moment the KMs agitate, govt will rush to address their grievances / provide funds to NC/PDP etc.
In reality they are starting to realise that if they agitate violently, they will be punished (e.g. if someone shoots an apple grower, he in turn will be shot) and if they have civil disobedience (refuse to sell apples), they will screw themselves and no one else will be bothered.

manjgu wrote:@Sbajwa...sikhism was a panth and not a religion ( though now its recognised as a religion). the lofty objective of the Sikh Panth was to uphold Dharma. Panth can be thought of as a specific path(way) - a set of perspectives/ideology/interpretations. Religion, as is used today , is a concept alien to the Sanatan Dharma, wherein, each different path(way) is termed as a panth - a method of achieving essentially the same goals ie god realization and service to mankind.

Off course!! Sikhism is not a "religion" it is a Dharam aka Dharma. Religion is not translated to Dharma. Dharma means doing the good deeds without expecting the results. Karma means doing the deeds.

Religion can only be translated to "sect" in Hindi aka Sampardya. Which even Sikhs have 1000 sects like Nihangs who are suicide warriors and thus do not marry or have kids, and so forth.

there is no F ing disobedience...its forced through the fear of gun/violence. a few top anti nationals starting with hurrirats need to be assasinated...to get things on track. enough nonsense...

Folks can we discuss only J&K here?
titash

Post by titash »

SBajwa wrote: Be very very proud of your heritage and stop pointing out little things.
SBajwa-ji, this is the multi-million dollar quote here.

Be proud of who you are - no matter what others have to say (unless you're a Paki, in which case...)

Be respectful of other people - no matter what they say and how they behave.

Don't sweat the small stuff.

titash wrote:
SBajwa wrote: Be very very proud of your heritage and stop pointing out little things.

Be proud of who you are - no matter what others have to say (unless you're a Paki, in which case...)

Why would call me a Paki. I am Sandeep Singh from India born in India ., I am a Sikh. Pakis who use Bajwa last name are inbred which we do not accept.

Please discuss Jammu and Ladakh only here!!! forget Kashmir!
titash

Post by titash »

SBajwa wrote:
titash wrote:

Why would call me a Paki. I am Sandeep Singh from India born in India ., I am a Sikh. Pakis who use Bajwa last name are inbred which we do not accept.
I know that :-)

Just was trying to be philosophical and indulge in Paki bashing at the same time. The "you" was not referring to you specifcially.

Mod-Note: Anyone discussing anything besides J&K here will receive warnings and bans henceforth. You have received multiple soft cautions by mods already.

Manish_P wrote:Sellers Threaten Boycott after Unpacking Apples from Kashmir With 'Azadi', 'Burhan Wani' Written on Them
Kashmir apples with messages like "We want freedom", "I luv Burhan Wani", and "Zakir Musa come back" written on them were found in boxes bought by fruit sellers in Jammu and Kashmir's Kathua district, prompting police to probe the matter.

The fruit sellers on Wednesday threatened to boycott apples from Kashmir if the government fails to take action as people are refusing to purchase them due to these messages. The sellers opened the boxes purchased from the wholesale market here only to find the messages written on the fruits with black marker.

I can't help compare the hard actions of Erdu and Xi towards actors inimical to their states to India's softy-softy approach towards terrorists in J&K.
Peacefools are still murdering civilians with impunity with no fear of any reprisal whatsoever.