Christianity, Evangelism & its geopolitical impact

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Christianity, Evangelism & its geopolitical impact

India Becomes Net Copper Importer for First Time in Nearly Two Decades
For the first time in 18 years, India turned into a net copper importer. The primary factor behind the shift is the permanent closure of Sterlite’s 400,000 ton per annum smelter in South India from May 2018.
Tamil Church and Evangelicals played prominent role in that closure and the preceding violence

ROLE OF CHRISTIAN MISSIONARIES IN STERLITE PROTESTS

While in Kerala

Did you know that Kerala has a state department that helps people who leave Hinduism and accept Christianity ?
The Kerala government goes out of its way to ensure the 'well-being' of those who leave Hinduism to join Christianity. The call to fill vacancies only by Christian converts is not a one-off notification and the state provides several benefits to the members of the Scheduled Caste Converts to Christianity (SCCC) community.

Why are Christian/Evangelical atrocities in Andhra Pradesh and South India in general are never in national news ?

2 Pastors (Father and Son) rape and exploit 46 school girls in Christian home making 1 of them pregnant. They made them nude, put CC cams in changing rooms.

Most news channels are either EJ or commie owned, they'll never show such news.

Meanwhile in Tamil Nadu
Hindu girl student went to school with Mehandi on her hand

Just for that she was fined Rs.500/- by Convent school Doveton in TN

Hindus are secondary citizens in India who have No rights. Shame

Church controversies over the alleged sexual acts of priests especially in the Catholic church is wounding the institutions severely.The Vatican by shutting up a poor Kerala nun who was subject to virtual alleged sexual slavery by a bishop has ripped open in India wounds of similar fashion across the globe.A most senior Vatican cardinal from Oz. was found guilty for his petversions. The time is long padt in the " me too" era for such muck to be swept under the Vatican's red carpets.

As for the mehendi issue, schools in general are v.strict about uniform and rules for the same. Disciplind is paramount.When I was a schoolboy, there were definite sartorial regulations and rules and all students must conform to the same.This is not a religious matter to my mind.
In my old school, we had v.strict dress codes where bell- bottom trousers were taboo. Sleeves had to be rollled up above the elbows .Discipline has to stsrt at the school level.There mudt be a level playing field for kids .Imagine thd chaos if every different school tribe demanded its own way of life , dress code, etc.

Philip wrote:Church controversies over the alleged sexual acts of priests especially in the Catholic church is wounding the institutions severely.The Vatican by shutting up a poor Kerala nun who was subject to virtual alleged sexual slavery by a bishop has ripped open in India wounds of similar fashion across the globe.A most senior Vatican cardinal from Oz. was found guilty for his petversions. The time is long padt in the " me too" era for such muck to be swept under the Vatican's red carpets.

As for the mehendi issue, schools in general are v.strict about uniform and rules for the same. Disciplind is paramount.When I was a schoolboy, there were definite sartorial regulations and rules and all students must conform to the same.This is not a religious matter to my mind.
In my old school, we had v.strict dress codes where bell- bottom trousers were taboo. Sleeves had to be rollled up above the elbows .Discipline has to stsrt at the school level.There mudt be a level playing field for kids .Imagine thd chaos if every different school tribe demanded its own way of life , dress code, etc.
WTH, you are comparing mehndi to discipline, level playing field, dress code etc. We got to know your EJ proclivities saar. Wonder why you still haven't converted to Russian Orthodox considering your bias :lol:

Kartik,please desist from accusing me of " EJ" proclivities! I don't need to defend myself from the likes of myopic minds like you. School requires and demands a uniform so that discipline is observed by all students during school academic hours.During cultural programmes, annual days , etc., by all means display the diversity of the country's cultural magnificence in dance, drama, music, etc.There is a time and a place for such revelling and costumes, etc. In my old school Independence Day was celebrated by students dressing up like our famous freedom fighters, re- enactments of the freedom struggle, stirring speeches made by them ( "Swaraj is my birthright and I shall havev it..".) we wore patriotism on our school uniform, sent athletes to the nationals and the olympics and several won the best NCC cadet baton at the Republic Day parades.And as for our students joining the armed forces, a galaxy of gallantry awards, sabre slayers to boot. School is like the armed forces.Do you want NCC kids to wear tatoos? Get realistic. Parents send their kids to school to learn in a disciplined environment , respect their fellow classmates as equals and become good citizens of India, where all are treated equally.If you think schools should be like circuses please send your kids there. I know a famous school where they charge a fine of 20K for coming late! My old school doesn't fine anyone, we allow a measure of mischief as we are dealing with young kids, but maintain fair rules and have no complaints.So don't go barking up a tree when you know precious little.

Mehndi is neither dress nor a tattoo. If Mehndi is a problem, then the nuns and principle in the school should be taking off their white towel dress and crosses as well and wear like everyone else.

Philip wrote:Kartik,please desist from accusing me of " EJ" proclivities! I don't need to defend myself from the likes of myopic minds like you. School requires and demands a uniform so that discipline is observed by all students during school academic hours.During cultural programmes, annual days , etc., by all means display the diversity of the country's cultural magnificence in dance, drama, music, etc.There is a time and a place for such revelling and costumes, etc. In my old school Independence Day was celebrated by students dressing up like our famous freedom fighters, re- enactments of the freedom struggle, stirring speeches made by them ( "Swaraj is my birthright and I shall havev it..".) we wore patriotism on our school uniform, sent athletes to the nationals and the olympics and several won the best NCC cadet baton at the Republic Day parades.And as for our students joining the armed forces, a galaxy of gallantry awards, sabre slayers to boot. School is like the armed forces.Do you want NCC kids to wear tatoos? Get realistic. Parents send their kids to school to learn in a disciplined environment , respect their fellow classmates as equals and become good citizens of India, where all are treated equally.If you think schools should be like circuses please send your kids there. I know a famous school where they charge a fine of 20K for coming late! My old school doesn't fine anyone, we allow a measure of mischief as we are dealing with young kids, but maintain fair rules and have no complaints.So don't go barking up a tree when you know precious little.

Well it's for everyone who reads your posts to see your EJ proclivities. Nice you celebrated independence day, BTW, did your school teach you what the people in your community voted for during partition? Nice joke if you think X school treats all students equally, readers can guess to whom such schools give preference.

I saw news wherein a girl was punished on her birthday because she went to a temple in the morning and wore a tilak. I still wonder there are many idiot yindus who still send their kids to X schools and then complain when such punishments are given. I don't know what discipline they'll learn from a org that's spending billions of dollars on child molestation and other charges. :rotfl:

My old school had no bar on tilaks, pottus, religious caste marks whatsoever.And as for the gutter- inspired slur on my community you ignoramus, my father gave the eulogy on AIR when Gandhiji was assasinated, and enough family members gave Pakistan a bloody lesson
in all the wars with them .So don't you dare question my patriotism or that of my community.I never question any others, so keep your foul- mouthed trap shut.Moderators, please advise this ignoramus.

School has become more like Prison nowadays. In the name of discipline, lot of crookedness and crime is getting committed. What's wrong with tattoos? Where is this hate for Tattoo come from? Many parts of India, many communities do Tattoo as part of their culture. What's wrong with Children applying Mehndi? Even Army has got rid of the restriction on Tattoos. Also Kartik, you can't blame Christians for even letting the Education system to have Minority run institutions. These type of divide and rule was fully allowed by Hindus and now why blame the Christians. Philip, you cannot be blind to things of Hindu customs, cultural symbols being deliberately vanished from Chruch run institutions on a larger scale. Be it the removal of Ganesha or objection to Saraswati vandana. But no one must blame you for the wrong that's being allowed by HIndus themselves.
Pathik

Post by Pathik »

Mehndi was not allowed in our area schools too, both convent and non-convents. Some of them were vernacular medium. Mehndis, tattoos, caps, hair colour etc had strict rules. Just saying that it depends on the school culture on tolerance. Our hands used to be adorned with Rakhis till the elbows which had no issues but mehndis and any other occasion decor was not allowed for girls.

There is no prosletysing in Christian schools of the kind in which I studied.In fact there is a very careful watch on any infringement of the same.All religions are treated with respect and the aim is to produce good citizens of India. If it were otherwise, why is there a rush for admissions to leading Christian institutions? It is the professionalism of such institutions that speaks for itself.Most of them too charge far lower fees than privately owned equivalents. The state and Central govts. are also regularly conducting their inspections of schools, audits, etc. Today schools are extremely transparent and universally, whatever their background aiming to raise standards of education which in the country in the last two decades in many places stagnated, concentrating mainly in obtaining marks in exams and not development of a child holistically , ignoring sports and games and extra- curricular activity.
Tution centres or rather tuition factories mushroomed, leading to indiscipline in the classrooms as " teacher would teach better and more at tuition time", leaving kids to be inattentive during classes.In fact, attending certain tuition classes became fashionable amongst well-heeled kids.

School today is not a prison,I can't speak for residential schools in general, some have v.strict rules, but schools play by certain common rules for all.Seeing the happy faces of children in many schools that I've visited is very encouraging.
Dumal

Post by Dumal »

Philip wrote:My old school had no bar on tilaks, pottus, religious caste marks whatsoever.And as for the gutter- inspired slur on my community you ignoramus, my father gave the eulogy on AIR when Gandhiji was assasinated, and enough family members gave Pakistan a bloody lesson
in all the wars with them .So don't you dare question my patriotism or that of my community.I never question any others, so keep your foul- mouthed trap shut.Moderators, please advise this ignoramus.
Philip-ji, there has been enough said from both sides of the school issue related to mehndi, tattoos, tilak, etc. I am not writing for or against any of that here or any posters or their comments that arose from this topic.

I have noticed that the senior folks on this forum and the mods give you a lot of leeway even though your insight can be blatantly slanted geo-politically. We all see where you are tilted towards. In addition, you are unique in your diatribes against our MEA and its officers and perhaps more broadly our strategists, calling them almost all the times you write, eunuchs and similar other epithets. I am not searching and referring to such posts of yours here, assuming you are not going to disown such a consistent streak in your writing. In fact, when I reported one recent post of yours, the mod who reviewed it just chose to remain quiet, as far as I know. I wonder if the kid-glove treatment by the mods is due to your legacy (as you have stated above) and/or your own past and if it is, I think it still is unfortunate. Whatever legacy it is, I can respect that, but not your uncouth, disrespectful language. Even if you have some genuine grievance against a few people, it is grating to see you abuse generations of people from an institution all the time you write.

I thought it would be timely to bring this up when you not only complain about "gutter-inspired slur and foul-mouth" and your advise to the mods but also brought up your legacy. You would know respect begets respect. I only hope that you take my post in the right spirit and reconsider your vocabulary when writing here.

Rs500 for mehndi is meaningless information. What is the context? There are many schools eg Jesuits that have a ridiculous concept of ‘discipline’. That applies to Christians as well. So unless one can demonstrate that it is a discriminatory fine for
Hindu cultural displays, it is best to ignore it.

British cannot purge the Schools that they created in India to spread their ideas and for their Brown sepoys and hence the only option left for the people to overcome the situation of cronic socialist corruption for a long time. Children today are slaves with rules and dictation of what they can wear and what not. Rather just Children Indian way of life, culture held hostage by these so called "Educational institutions of repute". Who can change it? Only Indians can and by bringing rules that let freedom to exist in educational institutions with no one dictating whether a child can wear a traditional attire, wear bangles, draw Mehndi on their hand etc. Uniform is another invention to completely decimate the traditional attire from being worn to schools. It's none of a school's business to dictate what one must wear, eat, dress etc and if they do there must be stringent punishment in the law to take care of such misdeeds.

Also in such Church run schools you see idols of Jesus, Mary at prominent places but when it comes to Hindu culture and gods have literally disappeared. Why? Why can't there be a Ganesha or a Saraswati in each and every Church run School? What's the need to remove the cultural ethnic symbols and gods to whom the Hindus have prayed for millennia and still do? When most of the Children studying are Hindus, why show such kind of hatred towards the ethnic culture and religion? And again it's the Hindus in the name of religious freedom that has let the situation of fundamentalism by some to rampantly abuse the ethnic culture by vanishing ethnic identities and ideology in the garb of minority run institutions.

Philip wrote:My old school had no bar on tilaks, pottus, religious caste marks whatsoever.And as for the gutter- inspired slur on my community you ignoramus, my father gave the eulogy on AIR when Gandhiji was assasinated, and enough family members gave Pakistan a bloody lesson
Phillip ol’ boy...suck it up. Take it on the chin. Natives have endured systematic abuse , genocide and torture based purely on their religious affiliation. You don’t and probably NEVER can empathize with it.
Plus, there is mountains of evidence to incriminate X schools who persecute defenseless Kids. What most people don’t realize is that different sects treat natives differently and the spectrum is very wide. Still , it gets abstracted and is seen as one monolith block.you are up against a wall here my man. Tough luck .

So, Leave patriotism out of this and go with the flow.

Debatable but I am glad you used the word idol.

No yoga in classroom, bishop tells school staff
A Catholic bishop has warned teachers against bringing yoga into the classroom, because it is "not of Christian origin".
He encouraged teachers and school staff to pray, and to help children spend time with Jesus, in adoration, or in quiet meditation in the classroom.
Many evangelical Christians believe Eastern practices such as yoga, which is Hindu in origin and has been praised for its calming effects and the sense of physical well-being it brings, are incompatible with Christianity.

A survey carried out by the Evangelical Alliance in 2016 showed that 50pc of those surveyed said Christians should never do yoga.

"practices like yoga are not capable of opening our hearts up to God". "You can take a million courses in spirituality, a million courses in yoga, Zen and all these things but all of this will never be able to give you freedom," the Pope said.
From the link above
What a bunch of balderdash. Didn't have to badmouth someone else.
Last edited by vishvak on 23 Oct 2019 20:54, edited 1 time in total.

The number system is also not of Christian origin. What’s worse it’s ‘Hindu’

Mod-Note: Do NOT bring up a fellow poster's religion, caste or community in your arguments and do not indulge in personal attacks.

Karthik, you have been warned for a personal attack on Philip. Attack his arguments all you want, not him personally.

This goes for everyone else too.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Rony wrote:A Catholic bishop has warned teachers against bringing yoga into the classroom, because it is "not of Christian origin".
Christianity is not of Indian origin, so should it be banned??

Haresh wrote:
Rony wrote:A Catholic bishop has warned teachers against bringing yoga into the classroom, because it is "not of Christian origin".
Christianity is not of Indian origin, so should it be banned??
Isn't it the other way around always? Am sure people in latin america, africa, indics during portugese inquisition, people in kanyakumari district among many places on earth would agree to it. BTW Japan kind of did what you mentioned, look how bad their condition is today.

We need to have a new name for the Christian version of Pakiness . The zeal of neo-converts

I wouldn’t sweat it. This fellow’s ancestors had the privilege to be converted by the survivors of the tribal Christian wars of medieval Europe. Let him take pride.

Philip wrote:There is no prosletysing in Christian schools of the kind in which I studied.In fact there is a very careful watch on any infringement of the same.All religions are treated with respect and the aim is to produce good citizens of India. If it were otherwise, why is there a rush for admissions to leading Christian institutions? It is the professionalism of such institutions that speaks for itself.Most of them too charge far lower fees than privately owned equivalents. The state and Central govts. are also regularly conducting their inspections of schools, audits, etc. Today schools are extremely transparent and universally, whatever their background aiming to raise standards of education which in the country in the last two decades in many places stagnated, concentrating mainly in obtaining marks in exams and not development of a child holistically , ignoring sports and games and extra- curricular activity.
Tution centres or rather tuition factories mushroomed, leading to indiscipline in the classrooms as " teacher would teach better and more at tuition time", leaving kids to be inattentive during classes.In fact, attending certain tuition classes became fashionable amongst well-heeled kids.

School today is not a prison,I can't speak for residential schools in general, some have v.strict rules, but schools play by certain common rules for all.Seeing the happy faces of children in many schools that I've visited is very encouraging.
Philip saar,

we were taught almost exclusively by Anglo Indian teachers and though many of them have gone on to their heavenly reward, I still fondly remember each and every single one of them.

we got whacked regularly at school but it was mostly after the teacher first whacked her/his own kid in the class that (s)he even turned her/his attention to the rest of us.

Once the last stroke was administered, the incident that warranted the whacking was immediately and permanently forgotten. They genuinely loved their students and their dedicated work was a calling and not a mere job.

If one hadn't been taught by teachers like that, one would never ever understand the meaning of the word "dedication".

we never saw bigotry, discrimination or partiality all through our school years.

genuinely sorry to see the personal comments in this thread.

twitter
What is the purest form of gangajal, Wo kya Zimbabwe se aata hai

https://twitter.com/lawinforce/status/1 ... 6538986496

This news quoting AP Pastors' Statement: "We, 2 Cr Christians & 5 Lakh Pastors of AP worked hard to form this Government". ( of jagan mohan reddy who is a christian and his family is evangelist)

As per 2011 Census total Christian population in 'Undivided' AP is 6,52,660. What's increase of Christian Population in State since 2011 ? Isn't suspicious ?

https://twitter.com/i/status/1191166310744354817
https://twitter.com/i/status/1191186095704137728
In all the halla about the 'peaceful' s their 'book first couzin's' antics are going on under the radar at fair clip.
At school/PUC we had 'Moral science' for hindus and 'catechism' for the people of the book but no overt proselytizing like this!!
reaching quite dangerous levels in the south!!

Ritu (सत्यसाधक) #EqualRightsForHindus @RituRathaur
200 Tribals Hindus converted to Christianity in Gujarat village right under the nose of almost 20 yr old
@BJP4India
state govt
@vijayrupanibjp
ji what r u doing to STOP conversions?
Don't u have any cultural responsibility?
@AmitShah @narendramodi
https://www.divyabhaskar.co.in/amp/madh ... ssion=true

I'm very well familiar with this charotar area. Forget about the tribal poor people being targeted, christian activities are going at full steam in the guise of American standard schools all over the place. There's practically no tracing and accountability of monies being moved through very high fees schools all over the Gujarat. No telling on how much of the money makes it back to church machinery and political machinery.

All well to do Hindu sects are scared to death about interfering and stopping post saffron terror framing.

So far I haven't seen any Hindu organization trying to tackle it head on whether it's VHP or someone else. Picking on VHP as it's mentioned in the article. It's classic mode of operation has been to show up after the event and get in the news with photo ops for filing but disappearance afterwards. No following up on the case or constant drumming up of the cases so far. The enemy knows this and is more than willing to allow that as court cases don't go anywhere.

At least in this area, BJP hardly has any training up of their own from top to bottom so it's useless to expect anything. Only versed and trained ones come from the other Hindu organizations that have joined BJP. Locally BJP doesn't sell itself as overt Hindu party either as charotar is considered Hindu stronghold. To shade some light on the dynamics, in this area, top five people that would be on my speed dial to seek help as Hindu are part of non BJP parties.

Elections aren't fought in this area on Hindu causes as this area still awaits the mass destruction. Local efforts to increase awareness are missing from all entities and not only BJP. All entities include both religious and political machineries. Without the awareness, in some sense, this rich area itself provides the money for anti Hindu activities.

Jesus Never Existed, After All
05/05/2016 05:47 pm ET Updated May 06, 2017

In an earlier post, I argued that the historicity of Jesus was doubtful. Some religion scholars questioned one of my sources. Now, recent scholarship comes as close as possible to settling the issue.
Personally, I have no ax to grind so far as the historical existence of Jesus is concerned. If anything, I would prefer to believe that the life of Jesus, painstakingly learned in childhood, was connected to history rather than a fiction.

Haresh

Post by Haresh »

See my comments on 18th September and notice how quickly replies to my relations questions faded away.
Fact is, no one cares for the poor.

I had to sort that situation out with a phone call to Punjab and another to Canada and then another to Punjab.

No one cares!!

Philip wrote:Kartik,please desist from accusing me of " EJ" proclivities! I don't need to defend myself from the likes of myopic minds like you. School requires and demands a uniform so that discipline is observed by all students during school academic hours.

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/532409987177265244/

^See how Christian symbols are forced upon Hindu children by Christian schools.... So Mehndi OR Tilak violated Uniform Code, but Santa claus isn't?

Philip wrote:There is no prosletysing in Christian schools of the kind in which I studied.In fact there is a very careful watch on any infringement of the same.
You mean none of teachers or principal were collar and cross? No female teachers dressed as nuns with cross

Manish_Sharma wrote:
Philip wrote:There is no prosletysing in Christian schools of the kind in which I studied.In fact there is a very careful watch on any infringement of the same.
You mean none of teachers or principal were collar and cross? No female teachers dressed as nuns with cross
Manish_Sharma ji,

Philip saar is talking about his days in school and you are talking about recent times.

Even in my school, the teachers never wore the collar and cross.

I am sure that they were all devout xtians.

Not one of them ever discriminated against the students in word or deed on religious grounds. I never saw it even once in all my years at school.

A few posters here actually posted as kattarpanthis but they were swiftly weeded out by the ever present birds of prey and they never returned.

Why don't we simply move on to more engaging issues.