Understanding the US - Again

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Understanding the US - Again

Rudradev wrote: The math just doesn't add up for Tandon. I suspect it will be much the same for Sharma vs. Swalwell.

Don't waste your time or money expecting Khanna to be unseated by Tandon. If you have the cash to drop on making a 'statement', go ahead.

Far better, actually, to primary Khanna from within his own party, even by a rival who is not of Desi origin. (But, even that is probably useless. California in general is a lost cause).
Rudradev'ji you are right. At the same time the progressives are also most apathetic coming from the millenial generation. They will not get their butt out of the sofa unless they get some free doodah to croak on instagram about.

There are couple of points that is being missed. One is that the natural apathy of desis towards the republicans is gradually withering. In tight races, it matters.

Another point is that Mike Honda was unseated. That can be exploited. The same crowd that was resisting Ro for Mike still resist Ro. That district has significant other Asian (Chinese/Korean/Vietnamese) and Latino population. They just need a common candidate. And if there is a latino candidate, expect all the progressives to abandon support for Ro. Point is, Ro can be made to sweat and can be made to lose.

That is, identity politics can be played both ways.

BTW, did people watch Bernie's endorsement by Ilhan Omar? If they have not, please do watch and cringe.

It is interesting that "progressives" support a Jihadin! In effect, 'progressives' are not really progressives or liberal. They are just ultra-left.

Wiki page on Amarnath Vidyalankar - granddad (maternal?) of Ro Khanna
Amarnath Vidyalankar (8 December 1901 – 21 September 1985) was an Indian journalist, social worker and member of Parliament. He was minimally involved in the Indian independence movement and a member of the Indian National Congress since before independence. After independence, Vidyalankar was Minister of Education, Labor and Languages in the Punjabi government from 1957 to 1962 and a member of the First (1952–56), Third (1962-67) and Fifth (1971-1977) Lok Sabhas.[1]
Rep. Ro Khanna makes a big deal out of his grandfather being a freedom fighter. The late Shri Vidyalankar ji was an Arya Samaji but served in INC govts.

Maybe that INC socialism is what is driving Ro Khanna. Does he get some money from Kashmiris like Dr. Gulam Nabi Fai? Who knows? :wink:
Manu

Post by Manu »

Mr Iyer of PGurus believes that Ro is a Crypto...Unitarian

disha wrote:BTW, did people watch Bernie's endorsement by Ilhan Omar? If they have not, please do watch and cringe.

It is interesting that "progressives" support a Jihadin! In effect, 'progressives' are not really progressives or liberal. They are just ultra-left Urban Naxals.

disha wrote:. At the same time the progressives are also most apathetic coming from the millenial generation. They will not get their butt out of the sofa unless they get some free doodah to croak on instagram about.
I think that perspective is outdated. According to Pew Research, Millennial turnout nearly doubled from 23% in 2016 election to 42% in 2018 election. And 2018 was only a mid-term election, typically associated with much lower turnout!

https://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2 ... -midterms/

Let's also remember that Millennials are actually those born between 1982-2000. Meaning ages 20 to 38 next year-- that includes a huge number of people with jobs, homes, marriages, kids, debt, insurance etc. who can and do vote on bread-butter issues. The great majority are not self-indulgent Instagram ke bacchey anymore.

Altogether I think it promises a much higher turnout of that age group in 2020 (whether they end up voting right or left is an open question, but they have swung way left so far).
There are couple of points that is being missed. One is that the natural apathy of desis towards the republicans is gradually withering. In tight races, it matters.
I don't think it matters nearly enough. Even on a politically aware forum like BRF you have many Indo-Ams who oppose Republicans, especially in the Trump era. If you take even a casual poll of Indo-Ams in the wider world, the norm is still very much to vote for Democrats. It is possible that Howdy Modi and the aftermath of these Khanna/Jayapal high-jinks will catch up and make some small difference to this by 2020, but I doubt very strongly that it will be significant (maybe 3 or 4% swing to Republicans, 2020 over 2016, at the very very most). And I don't think the distribution of those votes, geographically, is likely to affect any tight races (certainly not in California-- where, as I said, the FOIL-FOSA coalition of Khalisturds, Crypto-Ambedkarites etc. will make up for any such swing).
Another point is that Mike Honda was unseated. That can be exploited. The same crowd that was resisting Ro for Mike still resist Ro. That district has significant other Asian (Chinese/Korean/Vietnamese) and Latino population. They just need a common candidate. And if there is a latino candidate, expect all the progressives to abandon support for Ro. Point is, Ro can be made to sweat and can be made to lose.

That is, identity politics can be played both ways.
This is the best hope for unseating Ro Khanna... don't just abandon him, but work with non-Desi Dem challengers & constituents to sink him in the primaries. By the time the general comes around (if indeed, Mr. Tandon manages to win the Republican primary for that seat) it will be too late.

East and west coast vote for Democrats of any variety, and so opposing Ro and others in the primaries with other Dems is the best possible approach. Once you get to western PA on the east and the mountain states on the west it changes where Reps can be elected.

I still wouldn’t want to give up on Tandon and Sharma.

X-Posting from the Indo-US Relations Thread. You want to turn Indian-Americans against Democrats big time? Make sure ALL of them hear THIS story.

It punches a gigantic hole in the idea that Trump/Republicans are the "anti-immigrant monsters" from whom Democrats will save us. It highlights a Democratic Senator who is single-handedly cooperating with Iranians, Chinese etc. to block legislation for fairness in high-skilled immigration, ensuring that Indians now and forever will be specifically discriminated against on the Green Card waiting list.
VenkataS wrote:Indians in USA, those who do not yet have their green cards are looking at a decades long wait in the green card backlog. This affects all Indian applicants in the US including those working for big companies such as Google, Apple, Microsoft, Amazon etc and not just those working for desi IT companies. Any India born applicant who has applied after 2010 in EB2/Eb3 category will not get their green cards for another 10 years at least. Infact new India born applicants in the EB2 category are looking at a potential wait time of 70 years before they get their green card. Most would die before they get their green cards and many are dying every month leaving their widows/spouses having to grieve and also uproot their families and self deport themselves.

Indian software engineer in Green Card backlog dies suddenly, leaving pregnant wife out of status
https://www.americanbazaaronline.com/20 ... us-439189/

This situation is because of per country limits in employment green cards. Employment based green cards (140,000 annually) constitute a small fraction of the total number of green cards issued every year (about 14%). However they discriminate an applicant based on where they are born. As a result a person not yet born practically anywhere else on earth will have a better chance of getting a green card sooner than an Indian applicant already in the US with a US Masters degree or higher and in the green card backlog for the past 5 years.

A solution here is to eliminate per country limits and make the situation fairer as has been proposed with the S386 "Fairness for high skilled immigrants act of 2019" introduced in the senate. A companion bill in the House HR 1044 passed with a 365 - 65 vote margin. However this bill has been blocked by Democratic Senator Durbin (Illinois) not allowing it to be brought to the Senate floor for a vote through unanimous consent.

However the way that Senator Durbin mocks Indians egged on by Iranian supporters is what is most disturbing.

US senator Richard J Durbin under attack for mocking Indians
https://www.hindustantimes.com/world-ne ... KuLPK.html

Look at the following video where an Iranian immigrant mocks Indians by presenting with green index card and Senator playing along with him.
https://twitter.com/psyinfeld/status/11 ... 9877427200
And yet some will insist that Trump is the only racist we should worry about!

Here is a first hand account of what happened at the above townhall by an Indian immigrant:
Senator Durbin’s Non-Constituent Coffee
https://medium.com/@jdjs.121118/senator ... 723b536625

One of the reasons that this bill hasn't progressed on the Senate floor is a lack of empathy for the situation of Indian immigrants even from Indian Americans let alone poeple like Democrat RO Khanna who goes ahead and joins Pakistani caucus.

There will always be PIOs who will blindly vote for the Dems regardlessly. We see it in this very thread. They are unable and unwilling to look at the issues objectively. People like Durbin and Ro know this and take full advantage of it. They can get away with open abuse and discrimination of Indians and still get their votes.

Misfit in donkeystan

Not 2 mention, DupliCity as a whole.

Vikas wrote:Are presidential candidate at liberty to pick any VP Candidate for the ticket or is that also driven by the party ?
They can pick anyone in theory but it would be a hard sell. The number of swing voters captured from the VP's party might not cover the number of loyalists lost - and voters would be quite confused.
So what are the odds of TG or Kamala 'I-did-grass' Bibi getting picked up for VP since both will not win any state during nominations hence will drop out pretty quickly.
Both are good looking, successful, smart Women although TG may have burnt her bridges by reacting to Hillary. For Dem Party, A woman on the ticket might be too hard to resist.

Kamala is done. Currently she is a pariah. Total loser.

Mort, Disha et al here is link to Ritesh Tandon website for you to know and support him if you can. Suggest $50.

https://tandonforcongress.com/

RD, He has a good chance in that district and there is undercurrent of support from Indian American community itself.

So much so Ro is already running appeals to raise funds to defeat Tandon. That itself shows he is shaken.

Also if you don't fight for values what's the point?

RD also why such a long and visceral post on Indian Americans fighting against calumny?

Both candidates are putting own money and time 100% to campaign.
And as Tip O'Neil said all politics is local. What you say are macro big things.
And you think people take time off from routine lives to go fight elections on a whim.unless they have a good chance?
There were ideas to run against Brad Sherman and dropped after seeing demographics.
Same with Jaypal.

So There are people who are firmly grounded and working at grass roots level.
komal

Post by komal »

So I am a member of a party routinely described as being run by urban naxalites and who twice voted for a Kenyan Muslim Terrorist.

Thus, unlike many on this forum, I don't think Mexico is paying for the wall. I don't think the Chinese are paying for tarrifs. Both are paid by taxpayers (mostly in states run by urban naxalites). I think creating $1 trillion in annual deficits does not make good ecnomic policy. I don't think that there were good people on both sides in Charlottesville VA.

I belive that between 1948 and 1968 that it was the urban naxalite party pushed civil rights and immigration reform. I understand many on this forum fervently believe that we should only look at pre-1948 when evaulating the urban naxalite donkeystain party. But I was taught that this is 2019 so what happend between 1948 and 1968 is of some consequence. Or in the words of the mathematician, life is not a Markov process.

I also seem to recall it was Bush I and 2 that started wars in the ME and not Hitlery (but what do I know, I recall the Blood Telegram).

So I forget all that and vote GOP because of an immigration law change?

I am not an American but a Secretary of State calling Chitti Singh pura in Kashmir 2000 as Hindu militants is shameful and as good as saying there was no Holocaustand the Jews did sucide. I don't anybody here called Ombaba a Muslim terrorist. But Hillary Clinton, Debbie Shultz Bernie Sanders for some reason are awfully close to Pakis, light on China and bent on starting a world war with Russia. All highly unessecary. There are good people like Tulsi Gabbard but they are being sidelined by loonies Ilhan Omar who supported Paki Terrorists. Democrats need to cut ties with Pakis
Najunamar

Post by Najunamar »

Komalji, the dhimmicrats calling elephantines as Paki sympathizers reeks of pot calling the kettle black. If on the other hand, you suggest domestic issues wise donkeys better than elephants, it's quite possible but unless you're pretending to sleep evidence shows foreign policy towards India, racism, hinduphobia dimensions GOP comes ahead of Dems - so depending on weightage an individual assigns to each category so will your predilections be. IMHO and all other caveats also lest everyone in this forum suddenly starts saying give me your back up data, logistic regression output ithyadhi. :mrgreen:

How Kamala Harris Went From ‘Female Obama’ to Fifth Place
A big part of Harris’ base—well-educated white women—has drifted to Elizabeth Warren, while Joe Biden remains dominant with older voters and African Americans.
And yet Harris’ advisers, along with her surrogates and many politicos with no ties to the campaign, stress they aren’t ready to pronounce her bid dead. Perceived fragility atop the field—from Biden’s lackluster fundraising and dawdling debate performances to Bernie Sanders’ health scare and fealty to democratic socialism to Pete Buttigieg’s youth and problems winning black support to Warren’s trillion-dollar wish lists and her own electability questions—mean Harris can hang around as a possible consensus fallback.

It’s far from the juggernaut she envisioned that January afternoon in Oakland, but it’s something. If Biden crashes, these people argue, it’s not a moderate like Buttigieg or Klobuchar who stands to inherit his base of senior citizens and black voters (a good majority of them women). It’s Harris, if she can overcome her jitters and remind Americans what got her here.

disha wrote:Kamala is done. Currently she is a pariah. Total loser.
She is in fifth place in yesterday's Monmouth college polls with 5%. Biden and Warren each are at 23% followed by Sanders at 20% and Mayor Pete at 9% followed by Harris.

komal wrote:So I am a member of a party routinely described as being run by urban naxalites and who twice voted for a Kenyan Muslim Terrorist.

No one in this forum has said anything like that about Obama. We have said Ombaba and Shyam Sundar as tribute. Ombaba’s party is now that of the Urban Naxal, that part you got right.

Thus, unlike many on this forum, I don't think Mexico is paying for the wall. I don't think the Chinese are paying for tarrifs. Both are paid by taxpayers (mostly in states run by urban naxalites). I think creating $1 trillion in annual deficits does not make good ecnomic policy. I don't think that there were good people on both sides in Charlottesville VA.
Everyone knows DT is charlatan, but he’s the devil we know....As far as deficits, DT is doing comparable to Ombaba. As he doesn’t get the US in a war, then it’s all good.

I belive that between 1948 and 1968 that it was the urban naxalite party pushed civil rights and immigration reform. I understand many on this forum fervently believe that we should only look at pre-1948 when evaulating the urban naxalite donkeystain party. But I was taught that this is 2019 so what happend between 1948 and 1968 is of some consequence. Or in the words of the mathematician, life is not a Markov process.
Gone is the party of John and Bobby Kennedy. Some of us are old enough to remember seeing Bobby live on TV offering great promise of a better tomorrow. The correct term is Donkey-stani not stain. Please get it correct.

I also seem to recall it was Bush I and 2 that started wars in the ME and not Hitlery (but what do I know, I recall the Blood Telegram).
How convenient to forget that it was the Obama administration responsible for the overthrow of the Ukrainian government in 2014 and HiC for the Arab Spring mess?

So I forget all that and vote GOP because of an immigration law change?
That immigration bill is the primary vehicle for Indians to get a Green Card now. I advise that you keep up with the times.

komal wrote:So I am a member of a party routinely described as being run by urban naxalites and who twice voted for a Kenyan Muslim Terrorist.
Thank you for clarifying that komalji. It helps me gain a better perspective of your position.

The donkey starting lineup seems so lame that more donkeys are rushing in. HiC and now Bloomberg. Are BiC and BO qualified? Gary Hart? Mondale? Maybe the lady who put up the Hell signboard? Good chance that by Primaries, there may be 25 candidates again, each with an average of 3.8% of the vote. Interesting. TG has a chance again!

Tada
Michael Bloomberg, concerned about current Democratic field, considers entering presidential race
Former New York City mayor prepares to file for Alabama primary, reaches out to early voting state leaders
He should run as a 3rd party. The Islamist Terrorist loving, free for all socialist party will do everything to screw him.

UlanBatori wrote:The donkey starting lineup seems so lame that more donkeys are rushing in. HiC and now Bloomberg. Are BiC and BO qualified? Gary Hart? Mondale? Maybe the lady who put up the Hell signboard? Good chance that by Primaries, there may be 25 candidates again, each with an average of 3.8% of the vote. Interesting. TG has a chance again!
You got that right! Only Michell O and HiC missing from the lineup right now.

Rudradev wrote:[

I don't think it matters nearly enough. Even on a politically aware forum like BRF you have many Indo-Ams who oppose Republicans, especially in the Trump era. If you take even a casual poll of Indo-Ams in the wider world, the norm is still very much to vote for Democrats. It is possible that Howdy Modi and the aftermath of these Khanna/Jayapal high-jinks will catch up and make some small difference to this by 2020, but I doubt very strongly that it will be significant (maybe 3 or 4% swing to Republicans, 2020 over 2016, at the very very most). And I don't think the distribution of those votes, geographically, is likely to affect any tight races (certainly not in California-- where, as I said, the FOIL-FOSA coalition of Khalisturds, Crypto-Ambedkarites etc. will make up for any such swing).
My experience corroborates this to a tee. I think a large number of Indians who showed up for the Modi events were h1b types who can't vote. Those who can often seem to be HiFi types who are pro Democrat. Just an observation fwiw.

Vayutuvan wrote:She is in fifth place in yesterday's Monmouth college polls with 5%. Biden and Warren each are at 23% followed by Sanders at 20% and Mayor Pete at 9% followed by Harris.

Sorry to be facetious. I am not going with polls. Also being a Obama lackey, she is getting mileage in media & dollars. And thus paid polls.

One of the polls had only 650 responders. Over phone!

Go with where media thinks they can get airtime. Check out Whoopi & Maria baritromo

What is the cutoff point after which a candidate can't throw his/her hat/hijab in the ring for nomination ?

I don't think D-party is ready for HiC once again but we will see someone who is more sympathetic to Clinton position.
2020 is no longer the target anymore IMO but it is 2024 when the field will open up from both sides.

Mr. Bloomberg fires his first volley. Aimed at the Donkeystan Fortress of California
Very nice timing, and obvious use of his media weapon. Stark statistic:
California has 12% of the US population, and 25% of the homeless.
And Las Vegas, Nevada next door to CA has a simple "solution": $1000 fine or 6 months in prison for Being Seen Homeless In Las Vegas. Can't offend the free-spending tourists and remind them of where they are headed from the kind gambling casinos.

And the Democratic Party just veered another 45 degrees to the left. Almost headed backwards now. Ocasio-Cortez to join Sanders on campaign trail in Iowa.
Note that GOTUS has started withdrawing from the Paris Climate Scam.
"It wasn't until I heard of a man by the name of Bernie Sanders that I began to question, and assert, and recognize my inherent value as a human being that deserves health care, housing, education and a living wage," said the congresswoman. Referring to the senator at one point as "Tío Bernie," using the Spanish word for "uncle," Ocasio-Cortez further praised Sanders for pulling the Democratic presidential field to the left after a bruising 2016 campaign during which several of his ideas, including single-payer health care and free college tuition, were sometimes viewed as impractical.
Non-political observations:
1. I call this brave. Like starting a (naxal) Revolution.People's War Group comes to mind.
2. O-C's Green Manifesto New Deal is actually the UN's Sustainability Goals, except that O-C seems to have read them from European Communist literature.

But wherever she got it from, this is overall IMO a very hopeful development in America. The US pulling out of the Paris Accords can only be defended (by the Elephants) as getting out of a hopeless and inefficient bureaucratic boondoggle. But that also removes the fig-leaf of "Govt is already spending a lot of money in this onlee".

People can demand a revolution: the stress may have built up more than enough to release some seismic events.

Quick observation:

I have been a Democrat for long time. Worked for Obama/Sanders/Tulsi. I am a thinking Democrat not a Ditto head democrat buying all propaganda from sh1t media spewing 24x7 venom on Republicans, Modi, and RW. Obama regime made me understand that you should never blindly support one party or one ideology. You have to support a cause.

The propaganda from NYT/WaPo/CNN reached a stage where smart individuals have become so hateful. The lies are immediately believed. Brand every one who does not support Democrat is as someone who thinks Mexico is paying for wall or Chinese are paying for tariff or something utterly stupid. If you oppose mar, you are Islamophobic. You are a a racist bigot.

Example:
In our WA, when someone said he lived in KY, people are nice, a lot of Dem defenders thought it is a joke. They thought if you live there, you will be killed or raped. U read NYT, this is the sh1t you believe in. There is no other answer acceptable. If you say, people are more friendlier/nicer in south than say NY/Boston, you are some dumb moron.

This is the power of PRESSTITUTES.

Seems to be secular IT types that can't celebrate Diwali. From us Gujjus running small businesses, I would take Republican areas in Midwest and South any given day over Democrat strongholds. Just from the mere safety perspective alone. Just ask NY/NY store owners about how they feel about operating conditions where Democrats take votes for granted. It's not like blacks and Latino people are any less racist than whites.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/nation/2 ... unning-us/
Michelle Obama on white flight in Chicago: ‘Y’all were running from us’
Former first lady Michelle Obama shared painful memories of growing up in Chicago’s South Side and gave a reminder to white people in attendance at the Obama Foundation Summit on Tuesday: “Y’all were running from us, and you’re still running,” she said.

Obama was talking about the white flight she experienced growing up in a South Side neighborhood. “White flight” is when white people leave increasingly diverse areas in large numbers.

Obama, whose mission was all about fitness during her time in the White House, said she noticed white families packing up their bags and heading for other parts of the city and state of Illinois to be away from black people.

With her brother, New York Knicks executive Craig Robinson, by her side, Obama said their family was doing everything they were supposed to do and sometimes better. “As we moved in, white folks moved out, because they were afraid of what our families represented,” she said during the Chicago event.
When someone in our WA group posted this, usual pile-ons started white bashing/Republican bashing, I had to say this: We all move to places where we think schools are better, less crime and more upscale where property prices go up not come down. Even Obamas got a load of money from Netflix and bought 10 mil house near a rich beach area in Mass. Everyone goes quiet. People move for different reasons: economic, security, schools. No one packs their bag because blacks moved in but this propaganda is believed by people who look for the same. I think sometimes we have to make this point w/o malice/anger/motives and most people get it except woke people.

I guess we have to put mirror to people on what they did and why they did w/o insulting them. Then they realize the propaganda

darshan wrote:It's not like blacks and Latino people are any less racist than whites.
... and East Europeans.

disha wrote: Sorry to be facetious. I am not going with polls. Also being a Obama lackey, she is getting mileage in media & dollars. And thus paid polls.
All I am saying is that Harris may come back. Then she will be a good VP candidate for Biden or Warren. Both are white and old. No intersectionality. Mayor may be gay or something but he is still a white man. Biden would not pick Mayor. Harris is the natural pick. Both were Obama lackeys.

How to Make Homelessness Go Away, The American Way! Part 2 (part 1 was Las Vegas imposing $1000 fine)
Steve Adler, Austin's mayor, says while it might seem that the homeless population has grown, the new city ordinance decriminalizing city camping has simply brought people experiencing homelessness out of the shadows.
"They're more visible and I know that's disconcerting to a lot of people. It's disconcerting to see poverty in this city," Adler said. "We haven't created any more people experiencing homelessness."
The city's approach has drawn the ire of Texas Gov. Greg Abbott. The Republican governor has unleashed months of social media attacks arguing the relaxed rules spurred lawlessness and indecency in the streets. Even some frustrated Democrats in this liberal city find themselves applauding the Republican governor after he used state resources on Monday to clean up the underpasses.
The Texas Department of Transportation posted notices last week at 17 locations announcing it would soon clear out the encampments. Just days later, workers in bright orange vests were scooping up piles of trash and left-behind belongings. The sounds of shovels scraping the concrete competed with the deafening roar of cars driving overhead.
At least on this there is no disagreement between the Elephants and the Donkeys!

Vayutuvan wrote:All I am saying is that Harris may come back. Then she will be a good VP candidate for Biden or Warren. Both are white and old. No intersectionality. Mayor may be gay or something but he is still a white man. Biden would not pick Mayor. Harris is the natural pick. Both were Obama lackeys.
Vayutuvan'ji, you may be right. Harris can still portray herself as underdog and come out as a "VP" candidate by Obama lackeys. She does not have any moral fibre any way and will bend where the wind blows.

Anyway, Julian Castro's campaign so far is floundering https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nat ... 528034001/

A VP candidate should bring something to the electoral college. California will.anyway vite Democrat. So.unlikely any Ca politician will become VP.
syam

Post by syam »

me rooting for some dem to win this election. the chasm is already wide open. coming election going to make it even more wide. after that it doesn't matter who comes back to power. if it is dems, they will probably go after trump and 'right' all the 'wrongs'. if it is trump, he will become more brazen. i am supporting dems only for academic purposes. Never studied american politics before trump came.

A good historical essay:
Jefferson’s Doomed Educational Experiment
The University of Virginia was supposed to transform a slave-owning generation, but it failed
https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/ar ... ia/600793/