Pakistani Economic Stress Watch

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Pakistani Economic Stress Watch

They see their nearness to the bottom as a massive problem for the world. If they were doing OK, no one would care. This takes a unique Paki attitude.

In Pakistan, bottlenecks hold up $14b foreign loans - Shahbaz Rana
ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan on Wednesday directed expeditious release of $14 billion stuck up foreign loans against the ongoing development projects.

In Pakistan, oil refineries in hot water as low prices dent margins - Our Correspondent
KARACHI: Petroleum refineries in Pakistan are facing a new crisis as rapidly declining furnace oil prices are denting their profit margins while they are searching in vain for potential buyers of the oil.

yes thats a miracle how a economically insolvent nation state can survive so long on a baksheesh..as someone on BRF said (pls feel free to take credit) that they're bad indians and they will always find a way to survive...
I will say they're virus, they will mutate but unless completely annihilated they can't be killed

ArjunPandit wrote:yes thats a miracle how a economically insolvent nation state can survive so long on a baksheesh..as someone on BRF said (pls feel free to take credit) that they're bad indians and they will always find a way to survive...
I will say they're virus, they will mutate but unless completely annihilated they can't be killed
ArjunPandit Ji :

As the Baas said to Raaburt "Terroristan has been immersed in Liquid Oxygen. Liquid Usay Jeenay Nahin Daygi! Oxygen Usay Murnay Nahin Daygi!!"

Terroristan Stock Exchange has just lost nearly a Billion US Dollars in One Day :rotfl:

S&P BSE SENSEX

Index Current : 40,575.17 - Pt. Change : 76.47 - % Change : -0.19

Market Capitalization of BSE Listed Co. (Rs.Cr.) : 1,53,25,988.76 - $ 1 / I N R = 71.775

Market Capitalization of BSE Listed Co. (U S $.) : 2,135.28 Billion

P S E[/b]

Current Index : 37,101.31– Change : -936.37 - % Change : -2.52% - High : 38,096.56 - Low : 37,033.45

Market Capitalization of PSE Listed Co. (Rs.Tr.) : 7,116,054,617,556 - $ 1 / T R = 155.5279

Market Capitalization of PSE Listed Co. (U S $.) : 45.75 Billion

B S E : P S E : : 46.66 : 1

Last edited by Peregrine on 21 Nov 2019 18:27, edited 1 time in total.

if you were in paki satellite al bartania..i would have treated you for a beer for this news.......

ArjunPandit wrote:if you were in paki satellite al bartania..i would have treated you for a beer for this news.......
Arjun Pandit Ji :

Many thanks for the kind offer. On my next visit I would prefer a wee dram of the drop from the Ol' Crater!

Kashi wrote:Their economy was in dumps when they instigated Kargil.

Poor state of economy has not stopped them from instigating Uri, Pathankot, Pulwama, Nargota.
It was easy for NaPak to wash off their hands with non-state actor bullsh*t. The cost and burnt was born by India only. But in the new India, the cost and burnt are born by both sides. Modi has certainly increased the cost of terrorism for NaPak, I truly believe it is still not optimal. But it is a good start, we have to keep increasing the pressure until either NaPak is denuclearized after nuke break the backbone of NaPak or complete Ladakh is reunited with india. Topping on the cake will be if there are some independent nations.

Mashallah 40% of crop hallaled by Locusts in Porkistan.

Pakistan has defeated the locusts as it could not consume the other 60% :rotfl:
Last edited by Vips on 21 Nov 2019 20:25, edited 2 times in total.

Vips wrote:

Mashallah 40% of crop hallaled by Locusts in Porkistan.

Wasn't some minister asking people to start making Tiddi (Locust) Biryani, Tiddi Korma, Tiddi keema, etc?

Very delicious, nutritious and the only choice for nPakis!

Yes the minister was following Bhutto who had asked the Puki awam to eat grass and locusts belongs to the grass (hopper) family.

If one finds the right card to put pressure on in the house of cards that is Pakistan....

But But same minister declared that locust are just flying throooooo Bakistan and they sleep in night. So they are not eating crops. :((

World Bank restores Pakistan’s budgetary support - Shahbaz Rana
ISLAMABAD: After a gap of almost four years, the World Bank has decided to restore Pakistan’s budgetary support and may approve a $500 million loan to bring improvement in fiscal management and harmonise sales tax across the country.
Comments : Either may or might not also possibly restore!

Fully Posted on the Analyzing CPEC Thread

US urges Pakistanis to pose tough questions to China on CPEC
WASHINGTON: The Trump administration has urged Pakistanis to ask tough questions to China on the China Pakistan Economic Corridor, as a top American diplomat launched a blistering attack on the multi-billion dollar project which the official claimed is going to take a toll on Islamabad's economy.
The China Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) is a planned network of roads, railways and energy projects linking China's resource-rich Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region with Pakistan's strategic Gwadar Port on the Arabian Sea.

S&P BSE SENSEX

Index Current : 40,889.23 - Pt. Change : +529.82 - % Change : +1.31

Market Capitalization of BSE Listed Co. (Rs.Cr.) : 1,54,55,740.67 - $ 1 / I N R = 71.7375

Market Capitalization of BSE Listed Co. (U S $.) : 2,154.49 Billion

P S E

Current Index : 38,212.28 – Change : 286.49 - % Change : 0.75% - High : 38,293.08 – Low : 37,839.03

Market Capitalization of SE Listed Co. (Rs.Tr.) : 7,302.112,098,973 - $ 1 / T R = 155.6399

Market Capitalization of PSE Listed Co. (U S $.) : Billion 46.92 Billion

B S E : P S E : : 45.92 : 1

Vips wrote:Yes the minister was following Bhutto who had asked the Puki awam to eat grass and locusts belongs to the grass (hopper) family.
Actually locust storm came over from la la lands of puredoms ie Saudi ME so it's not a cause to hate hindoo.
China loot Pakis and WB gives loans to Pakis. Isn't there something wrong there ie WB should take more loans from China for this.
Last edited by vishvak on 25 Nov 2019 20:06, edited 1 time in total.

Vips wrote: Mashallah 40% of crop hallaled by Locusts in Porkistan.

you mean another perception victory.... :rotfl:

Vips wrote:Yes the minister was following Bhutto who had asked the Puki awam to eat grass and locusts belongs to the grass (hopper) family.
i have been told that it is a very good source of protein...waiting for pakis to come up with those arguments..anyways it might not be haram..after all their ancestors would not have imagined that such a day would ever befall the progeny

Locust problem debrief - what happened

ArjunPandit wrote: i have been told that it is a very good source of protein...waiting for pakis to come up with those arguments..anyways it might not be haram..after all their ancestors would not have imagined that such a day would ever befall the progeny
Check out Tiddi Biryani.

vishvak wrote:China loot Pakis and WB gives loans to Pakis. Isn't there something wrong there ie WB should take more loans from China for this.
vishvak Ji :

On 31-12-2018 : 1. State Bank of Pakistan

Domestic Markets & Monetary Management Department – TOTAL LIQUID FOREIGN EXCHANGE RESERVES : US$ 13.7568

Here is the Report from The News International of Tereroristan :

2. Alarm Bells – 06/01/2019

For the record, our net international reserves are now at negative $11 billion

Since then Terroristan has been Taking More and More Debt.

On 15-11-2019 : 3. State Bank of Pakistan

Domestic Markets & Monetary Management Department – TOTAL LIQUID FOREIGN EXCHANGE RESERVES : US$ 15.4623

As such one really can't say whether the World Bank Should take a Loan from China or Terroristan take More and More Loans from China or both the US and China should shut the whole Show of Smoke and Mirrors and Pack their Bags and go to a World in which there is no Terroristan.

Cause where this Money comes from is a mystery, It's like the changing of the seasons and the tides of the sea - But here's the one that's driving me berserk, Why should the Chinese , the IMF and World Bank FOR TERRORISTAN work?

Cos there are a lot of plonkers and dipsticks in the rest of the world, bruv :wink:

Those tomatoes in the vidoe are of lowest quality. You can't sell them in Indian cities. No indian woman will touch those.
ArjunPandit wrote: i have been told that it is a very good source of protein...waiting for pakis to come up with those arguments..anyways it might not be haram..after all their ancestors would not have imagined that such a day would ever befall the progeny
Check out Tiddi Biryani.

vishvak wrote:Locust problem debrief - what happened
in my college days, i met an organic prof who was part of group that worked on this problem through the use of pheromones to change the direction of travel of locust advance..being a bob dylan fan, he did not forget to quote 'the answer is blowing in the wind'.

Manish_P wrote:Cos there are a lot of plonkers and dipsticks in the rest of the world, bruv :wink:
Manish-P Ji :

Okay, Rodders! :rotfl:

Check out Tiddi Biryani.
Nothing wrong with Tiddi Biryani. As John the Baptist ate it and as all prophets of Christianity are accepted, I guess Locusts are halal. Do they have to be killed in the Islamic way? Only a Mullah can tell.
https://www.biblesprout.com/articles/bi ... at-locust/
"In Matthew (the first Gospel), we’re introduced to John the Baptist who paves the way for a coming savior. In his description, he is distinguished from others in scripture by his surroundings (living wilderness), his attire and his choice of food. There have been many questions regarding Matthew 3:4, which mentions this “food”.
4 Now John wore a garment of camel’s hair and a leather belt around his waist, and his food was locusts and wild honey."
Wild honey however may prove expensive. Even sugar is scarce in Pak lands.

^^now please dont tell me that it also happens to be the manna food that was given to jews...and after that pakistanis will be able to find the way out of the deserts to sanity

ArjunPandit wrote:^^now please dont tell me that it also happens to be the manna food that was given to jews...and after that pakistanis will be able to find the way out of the deserts to sanity
ArjunPandit Ji :

From the concerned website :

Yes, Those Locusts
Locusts are an insect from the Acrididae family and also known as grasshoppers. Before you wonder why a famed biblical figure such as John the Baptist would live off of insects, consider this:

Many in the middle and far eastern world consider locusts to be a delicacy. The Oriental culture would often roast or season these animals, and Arabs eat the thorax which contains wing muscles. The Israelites were also allowed in their dietary law (kashrut) to consume locusts (according to Leviticus 11:22).

50-60% of the weight of the average locust is pure protein. In fact, this actually makes them a more complete protein source than beef (by protein/weight ratio).

In fact, locusts contain: Iodine, Phosphorus, Iron, Thiamine, Riboflavin, Niacin and traces of calcium, magnesium and selenium. Maybe John the Baptist was onto something.

^^now that you have convinced me..i wish my paki neighbours pure protein..anyways that would fit their dietary and gym rquirements

Pakistan receives $1 billion in hot foreign money - Shahbaz Rana

ISLAMABAD: Foreign investors have bought over $1 billion worth of Pakistan government’s debt, said Finance Adviser Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh on Monday – an amount that is equal to the increase in official foreign exchange reserves in the current fiscal year.

Central bank data showed that the money was predominantly invested in three-month treasury bills, suggesting that foreign investors were still not ready to take long-term risks associated with exchange rate fluctuations.

Foreign investors invested $1 billion in government securities, said the finance adviser while speaking at the Pakistan Innovative Finance Forum, arranged by the Asian Development Bank (ADB) and Karandaaz Pakistan.

The State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) governor was pursuing the policy of attracting risky hot foreign money to boost foreign currency reserves. To achieve that goal, he got sweeping tax concessions approved from the federal government for non-resident companies in September this year.

Dire need to address foreign exchange bottleneck

The government has cut the withholding tax from 30% to 10% for non-resident companies having no permanent business establishment in Pakistan, being charged on the profit made on the disposal of securities. These foreign investors have been given special treatment on their investments in treasury bills and Pakistan Investment Bonds (PIBs) acquired through the Special Convertible Rupee Account.

The central bank data showed that so far $1.1 billion had been invested in the treasury bills and PIBs. However, the investment in the PIBs amounted to only $3.2 million. In November alone, Pakistan received $630 million worth of foreign investment in the government debt.

Out of the $1.1 billion, the country received $612.7 million from the United States, $466.4 million from the United Kingdom, $5.1 million from the United Arab Emirates, $496,000 from Cayman Islands and $363,000 from Ireland, according to the SBP.

On the back of the $1.1-billion hot foreign money, the central bank’s gross foreign currency reserves increased to $8.4 billion. Had the central bank not followed the policy of attracting the hot foreign money, its reserves would have remained at the June 30 position despite nearly one-fourth reduction in imports.

Although the foreign investment in debt securities has provided a temporary relief for the government, it at the same time can put additional pressure on the foreign currency reserves if the investors decide to pull out their money on maturity.

The $1.1-billion foreign investment has come at the expense of domestic investment and production as the central bank has artificially kept the interest rate high at 13.25% to make foreign investment in debt securities lucrative.

Shaikh said the central bank was independent in making decisions on the exchange rate and monetary policy.

The previous Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) government had also built the foreign exchange reserves by heavily relying on short-term foreign commercial loans. Federal Minister for Economic Affairs Hammad Azhar said last week that the repayment of short-term loans increased the government’s debt repayments significantly.

Shaikh also spoke about the economic challenges and a brief respite in tough economic conditions.

“The government inherited a threatening economic situation and it had to take tough decisions to restore stability,” remarked Shaikh. “We are beginning to see signs of restoration of economic stability.”

He said for the first time the primary budget surplus was achieved in first quarter of the current fiscal year while the current account also posted a surplus in October.

Foreign exchange: SBP reserves rise $45m to $8.44b

“Everything is not rosy, as high prices, creation of more jobs and achieving sustainable economic growth are key challenges for the government,” he added. The finance adviser vowed that the government would surpass the 2.4% economic growth target agreed with IMF.

The de facto finance minister said the government had managed to achieve 16% growth in tax collection, adding that the target of Rs1.2 trillion in annual non-tax revenue would also be crossed by a wide margin this year.

The adviser emphasised that there was a need to strengthen the institutions for private-sector participation. “How to make coordination among key stakeholders better is also a challenge,” said Shaikh.

It was challenging to have better coordination between the centre and provinces, between the federal government and international financial institutions and among various government departments, said the finance adviser.

“If we can get project readiness and approval systems improved, the ADB can invest more than $2.5 billion per year in developing key infrastructure and services in Pakistan,” said ADB Country Director Xiahong Yang. Further Debt Mounting!

Financial and Economist Garus : When a Foreign entity buys i.e. pays Terroristan Government for Debt then who eventually pays whom when the three-month treasury bills MATURE?

MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE!

S&P BSE SENSEX

Index Current : 40,821.30 - Pt. Change : -67.93% - % Change : -0.17%

Market Capitalization of BSE Listed Co. (Rs.Cr.) : 1,53,70,113.59 - $ 1 / I N R = 71.5075

Market Capitalization of BSE Listed Co. (U S $.) : 2149.44 Billion

P S E

Current Index : 37,795.05 – Change : -417.23 - % Change : -1.1% - High : 38,568.05 – Low : 37,535.89

Market Capitalization of PSE Listed Co. (Rs.Tr.) : 7,232,017,033,344 - $ 1 / T R = 155.5569

Market Capitalization of PSE Listed Co. (U S $.) : 46.49 Billion

B S E : P S E : : 46.24 : 1

Cause where this Money comes from is a mystery, It's like the changing of the seasons and the tides of the sea - But here's the one that's driving me berserk, Why should the Chinese , the IMF and World Bank FOR TERRORISTAN work?
The money to WB comes from everyone else including India and goes to China via pakilands.

Peregrine wrote: Financial and Economist Garus : When a Foreign entity buys i.e. pays Terroristan Government for Debt then who eventually pays whom when the three-month treasury bills MATURE?
13% for a short term debt of 3-months is very very high. If you park $100k in Baki treasury, you will get $113k in 3 months. Risk is only for 3 months.

It indicates that nobody is loaning any money into Bakistan for a longer term. Say 5, 10 or 30 year. All debt is short term debt. This is unhealthy.

1. This is basically speculation money. If you are a money manager of an emerging market debt fund (that is your investments are in buying sovereign debt of emerging markets like Pakistan, India or Thailand) and your assets are greater than $10 Billion (there are dozens of such mutual funds in US), then putting money in Bakistan is a good Q4 window dressing. Invest in September, take the money out in November/December and your year end returns look good. Great for your mutual fund.

2. It is the beepul of Bakistan jhammuriyat who are paying this debt. In effect Bakistan is in a debt trap . They will sell additional debt next quarter to service this debt. The current debt some of it goes to run the economy and some of it goes back to service previous debt. At every point, the interest rate creeps up slowly. If the world economy improves, Bakistan has to pay more interest rate! Since others will go after less riskier, higher return.

This is a light bulb moment for me

To the eternal question on why the west is supporting Bakistan? Well Bakistan is the drug addict which is taking more and more and more of debt. As long as the debt is serviced, Bakistan will be kept in a limbo state. It will slowly impoverish itself.

Money bags in UK, ME, US - all of them want to give debt to Bakistan and get as much return out of it. $1 Billion debt for 3 months for Bakistan is miniscule. But think about it, Bakistan will owe $130 million on it in next 3 months. There is no way Bakistan can invest in its own infrastructure and return 13% growth in 3 months. So the next debt has to service the above debt.

Now I remember what my moneylender friend was doing to me. He was never interested in getting the principal. He was only interested in making sure I pay the interest regularly. Even when I had money to pay the principal, my moneylender friend actually loaned me more money to help me buy a new dog to terrorize the neighbour. I thought he was helping me, such a good friend and money lender he was!

disha Ji :

Many many thanks!

This reminds me of stories about the Pathan Money lenders in Bombay. They would always tell their "Debtors" - usually Textile Mill Workers who were worried about their Debt - "Kuchi Hum Ko Sara Paisa Nahin Chahiye, Hum ko Siraf Bayaj Day Do!"

So I now understand - thanks to you - the whole "Operation"

Last edited by Peregrine on 27 Nov 2019 03:49, edited 1 time in total.

Peregrine wrote:disha Ji :

Many many thanks!

This reminds me of the Pathan Money lenders in Bombay. They would always tell their "Debtors" - usually Textile Mill Workers who were worried about their Debt - "Kuchi Hum Ko Sara Paisa Nahin Chahiye, Hum ko Siraf Bayaj Day Do!"

So I now understand - thanks to you - the whole "Operation"

Wow! 13% for 3 months? Are you sure that’s not the APR? Otherwise it’s a 52% APR which should be illegal. Just think FATF blacklisting would have been beneficial to TSP as it would get their macro economic house in order.

Disha Ji :

Is the Interest Rate 13% the Rate Per Month or Per Annum?

Peregrine wrote: Financial and Economist Garus : When a Foreign entity buys i.e. pays Terroristan Government for Debt then who eventually pays whom when the three-month treasury bills MATURE?
13% for a short term debt of 3-months is very very high. If you park $100k in Baki treasury, you will get $113k in 3 months. Risk is only for 3 months.

It indicates that nobody is loaning any money into Bakistan for a longer term. Say 5, 10 or 30 year. All debt is short term debt. This is unhealthy.

1. This is basically speculation money. If you are a money manager of an emerging market debt fund (that is your investments are in buying sovereign debt of emerging markets like Pakistan, India or Thailand) and your assets are greater than $10 Billion (there are dozens of such mutual funds in US), then putting money in Bakistan is a good Q4 window dressing. Invest in September, take the money out in November/December and your year end returns look good. Great for your mutual fund.

2. It is the beepul of Bakistan jhammuriyat who are paying this debt. In effect Bakistan is in a debt trap . They will sell additional debt next quarter to service this debt. The current debt some of it goes to run the economy and some of it goes back to service previous debt. At every point, the interest rate creeps up slowly. If the world economy improves, Bakistan has to pay more interest rate! Since others will go after less riskier, higher return.

This is a light bulb moment for me

To the eternal question on why the west is supporting Bakistan? Well Bakistan is the drug addict which is taking more and more and more of debt. As long as the debt is serviced, Bakistan will be kept in a limbo state. It will slowly impoverish itself.

Money bags in UK, ME, US - all of them want to give debt to Bakistan and get as much return out of it. $1 Billion debt for 3 months for Bakistan is miniscule. But think about it, Bakistan will owe $130 million on it in next 3 months. There is no way Bakistan can invest in its own infrastructure and return 13% growth in 3 months. So the next debt has to service the above debt.

Now I remember what my moneylender friend was doing to me. He was never interested in getting the principal. He was only interested in making sure I pay the interest regularly. Even when I had money to pay the principal, my moneylender friend actually loaned me more money to help me buy a new dog to terrorize the neighbor. I thought he was helping me, such a good friend and money lender he was!
A couple of Porki economists (Ashfaq Hassan and one more with surname of Bangali) have been crying hoarse on puki talk show channels for nearly six months now that all the strategy that the ex world bank employees who are Finance Minister and chief of the Paki state bank have is to raise the interest rates so that foreign funds are parked in govt securities. These funds are hot money which will stay till they get high interest which no government can pay for long and will leave as soon as the interest rates go down and the country suffers another crisis.
Guess where this happened last - in Egypt where the same Porkis employed this strategy to get short lived kudos. :rotfl:

Vips Ji :

You mean Kaiser Bengali?

Pakistan Rupee could touch 250 vis-a-vis dollar within a year: Noted economist
Kaiser Bengali has also described the China Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) as a product of the new"East India company".