India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

All said and done Trump is first Republican President to visit India.
Philip, think of the Taliban accord as US unleashing their options.
However NaMo is ready for that
CDS etc all are to align for eventual take down.of TSP.

ramana wrote:All said and done Trump is first Republican President to visit India.
How about George W Bush? Also Eisenhower and Nixon (as VP)?

Philip wrote:Grandest welcome,but the Donald still whines about being treated badly by us. Simply tactics to get a better deal or does he truly believe it? In my opinion,we're overdoing the welcome for the visit,as if we are a loyal lackey.A warm welcome is great,but we should retain our dignity.
So in years past when India had PMs like Deve Gowda or Chandra Shekar Indians grumbled that the suave Pakistani Generals could charm US Presidents while Indian PMs had the withdrawn personality of a piece of rock. Now that India has a flamboyant outgoing PM with the ability to develop a a rapport with US Presidents, Indians are grumbling that it is being overdone :rotfl:

Never satisfied.

Suraj wrote:GSP only impacted $3-5 billion of Indian exports, or about 10% of a single months exports. Its going away has been on the cards since about 2005 when I first saw mention of the intent in the economic news sites . There’s probably a reference to it in an old Econ thread .
But the impact has not been noticeable from July 2019 to December 2019 from the data:
https://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/balance/c5330.html

July 2019	2,532.2	4,953.4	-2,421.3
August 2019	2,597.2	4,776.3	-2,179.1
September 2019	2,516.4	4,643.8	-2,127.4
October 2019	2,626.7	5,031.8	-2,405.1
November 2019	2,727.0	4,505.0	-1,778.0
December 2019	3,059.6	4,279.5	-1,219.8
Data from the last 6 months of 2018:

July 2018	2,541.7	4,593.7	-2,052.0
August 2018	3,110.2	5,075.7	-1,965.5
September 2018	2,946.0	4,499.0	-1,553.0
October 2018	2,826.1	5,331.8	-2,505.6
November 2018	2,659.7	4,107.1	-1,447.4
December 2018	3,291.2	3,949.6	-658.5
The press reports are concluding that the elimination of GSP has hurt India and GoI is upset about it.

Cain Marko wrote:When was the last time you saw a welcome of this nature accorded to a russki leader?
When was the last time an Indian PM got to hold a massive rally to the Indian diaspora in a Russian city? This is reciprocity to further personal relationships which, at this time with a tribal leader in the US, is of value.

Don’t forget the billions the Russians have swindled from India on weapon systems not delivered, extremely low availability, and non functional.
1. India has had many festivals in roos well before this showbaazi in Houston. Not to mention the fact that there are many informal meetings between the leaders as and when needed.
2. Billions Russians have swindled while giving us tech like akula2 and helping in everything from arihant to raakit engines.I really don't think these deals can even be priced since they simply are not possible elsewhere. And when did US miltech become any cheaper?
Last edited by Cain Marko on 23 Feb 2020 07:13, edited 1 time in total.

Suraj wrote:I’ve never interpreted Modi as obsequious . He likes to rattle someone who’s not used to another leader being in their personal space . It’s an act of domination more than anything else, as far as I’m concerned . Everyone knows he commands power because he holds a mandate more powerful than most of them, and leads one of the worlds most powerful countries.

Arguably there is no way to ‘look good’ around Ivanka . It’s nothing to do with the leader in question but Ivanka herself - a profusely plastic surgery filled airhead acting as the emissary of a father who’s equally out of place. No one looks good around her because they’ve no idea how to deal with her . She’s not a peer, an intellectual, or even educated . Lagarde and the EU leaders loathe her or look mildly amused, the East Asians keep their poker faces while showing little respect in the local news. Worrying about how anyone looks around Ivanka is something best left to Vogue or Cosmo.
Act of domination when the other person is almost recoiling from you? Uhh Trump tolerates modis hugs like he might that of a diseased patient. Making others uncomfortable with distaste is hardly domination.

Ditto with the Ivanka scenario. Calling her a vapid blonde only makes modis behavior all the more crude. And using the euro gangs standoffish and inconsequential attitude to cover this didn't make it any more reasonable.

As far as Obama is concerned, the guy comes in India and gets a heroes welcome from modi only to give the entire population a grand slap via a lecture on tolerance. Not exactly dominant I'd say.

Sorry sir, your first point was well made and taken, the rest seems little more than spin.

Trump is going to discuss religious freedom, indo-pak ties and trade issues with Modi. They are issuing such statements to the public now to ensure that in an election year, this is not spun as Trump is being touristy and just going for pomp and show and TajMahal.

I am sure Modi would discuss racial violence against NRIs and Indian Americans, esp Sikhs in USA, Iran and Syria, indo-pak-afghan, us-china and trade issues. Both parties would mean business in private

We should primarily be focussed about things that go on behind all this pomp and show.

Americans aren't used to personal space being violated in conversations. Some European nations are very different in that way and hug and kiss when they meet others. Perhaps Modi isn't used to these nuances?

Regardless, we shouldn't allow recee over our skies by foreign aircraft. Ideally it should be done by IAF with SEcret service personnel inside along with NSG. At a minimum, we should keep it as a joint exercise with ISF and US chopper doing it as a pair.

Cain Marko wrote: Act of domination when the other person is almost recoiling from you? Uhh Trump tolerates modis hugs like he might that of a diseased patient. Making others uncomfortable with distaste is hardly domination.
I take it you don’t know about Lyndon Johnson’s famous mannerisms then ? :)

People waste too much energy bothering about Modi’s mannerisms . Months after 2014, at his first I-day speech, he wore an enormous red turban and spoke about village toilet building . People recoiled at that image too . Five years later that enormous program of rural development drove him back to power with a kind of re-election mandate that has no comparison in modern international democratic politics.

Modi is idiosyncratic , like the country he runs . I don’t care about him being suave, polished and urbane . I want him in charge and to ensure the nations interests are being furthered. He’s doing a great job of it . He maintains a special relationship with Abe. He compels Xi to treat him as a peer in power games. He commands attention from the EU. Your two comments about the former model/fashion owner are two more than I’ve ever seen anyone care about the matter , and as such it’s your own concern .

Why single out Obama - the darling of the US progressive extreme left ? Typically every visiting British leader or royal finds a way to put both feet in their mouth . Even that Canadian fellow who came to India and wore a lehenga choli to show his love wasn’t any good .

Even that Canadian fellow who came to India and wore a lehenga choli to show his love wasn’t any good..
It is actually us who have been a bit wanting in this. We shouldn't let Canada be like new age indirect colonization that will come back with worse next generation. Sikhs moving away from the mainstream is not good overall (Sikhs inclusive) and Khalistan idea is indicative of shyt coming back only to make some look better than others.
the suave Pakistani Generals could charm US Presidents while Indian PMs had the withdrawn personality of a piece of rock
Well USA President Trump made it tough for certain immigrants to jump in United States isn't it. The Generals could perform charm offensive routine.

Who cares about hugs, personal space and all those. Our objective is economic relationships with US.

The PR overdrive is required, becoz in boardrooms on US companies goof word from the US president carry lot of weight.

Trump's word against China triggered companies looking for alternatives. Show of close relationship provide comfort in boardroom decision making.

Shooting of students made no difference to china in its path to 12 trillion economy. Neither will lectures on religious freedom.

Cain Marko wrote: 1. India has had many festivals in roos well before this showbaazi in Houston. Not to mention the fact that there are many informal meetings between the leaders as and when needed.
2. Billions Russians have swindled while giving us tech like akula2 and helping in everything from arihant to raakit engines.I really don't think these deals can even be priced since they simply are not possible elsewhere. And when did US miltech become any cheaper?
1. You know very well Russia never had significant numbers of Indian origin people. Roos festivals about India are very small affair from years past.
AFAIK, besides a few on this forum, very few people in India want to spend significant time in Russia nor are college degrees from there recognized in India. India-Russia trade of goods is 1/10 of India-US. India-US trade in goods and services is over $146 billion/year.

2. Yes, Russian miltech is cheaper like the Admiral Gorshkov ripoff, cryo engines which don't work to specification, or the last 90 days of IN Mig-29Ks that fail in flight?

Cain Marko wrote: 1. India has had many festivals in roos well before this showbaazi in Houston. Not to mention the fact that there are many informal meetings between the leaders as and when needed.
1. You know very well Russia never had significant numbers of Indian origin people. Roos festivals about India are very small affair from years past.
AFAIK, besides a few on this forum, very few people in India want to spend significant time in Russia nor are college degrees from there recognized in India. India-Russia trade of goods is 1/10 of India-US. India-US trade in goods and services is over $146 billion/year.

2. Yes, Russian miltech is cheaper like the Admiral Gorshkov ripoff, cryo engines which don't work to specification, or the last 90 days of IN Mig-29Ks that fail in flight?

we went into the deal with our closed eyes and a blindly trusting attitude: meaning our guys were not vigilant or even clued up enough.

we did not realize that the days of bata shoes and bananas in barter trade were long over and they will never return.

after the soviet union imploded, the russkies had just woken up to the horrors of very harsh market reality and this was not seen by their people ever.

they had promised things that they were simply not capable of delivering. we just did not know because we were even more clueless

If it was not for the soviet union we would be like either afghanistan or pakistan today.

they helped us when no one else would. be very grateful for their help. when the soviet union split up they lost over 75-80 percent of their MIC. They just could not figure out what had happened to their supply chains which simply VANISHED overnight and we did not even care to do our homework to get hold of his vital piece of information.

we foolishly expected to deal with the soviet union of old and instead what we got was the hungry, angry, confused and suspicious russian bear that we had never seen before.

The extremely timely arrival of the foxtrot class submarines, the MiGs and the SUs, the AN-12s and the early imports of the missile boats, the minesweepers and the other russian ships and missile defence systems, and GoK what else literally saved our collective asses. Except for these guys, no one else in the world was even willing to touch us with a twenty foot barge pole.

there were clueless guys on both sides of the gorshkov deal and they all blundered along.

we forgot the very first rule of business whether one is buying potatoes, or aircraft carriers: caveat emptor or buyer beware.

BTW, we also had to struggle very hard with the french sourced vikas engines too.

Trump visiting India is no problem at all.We've had visits from US heads before. The huge tamasha being organised at incredible cost is vulgar, tasteless and over the top. But leaving that aside,as it's a sideshow,the real issues are being sidelined ,especially by the mediocre media.

Indo-US relations ,trade,visas, foreign affairs like Afg. global security, and uncalled for US interference in our internal affairs ( Art. 370, CAA,etc.) ,we could retaliate in kind about US war crimes in the ME,etc., are the issues that need to be highlighted,not whether Trump is being received by X no. of people or Y.Bringing out lakhs of cheerleaders is more in the style of the great dictator of the decade ,comrade Kim of NoKo!

There is one v.serious Q that must be asked,Trump's seriousness and his understanding of complex matters.He shoots ( first) from the hip like a cowboy .We are told that he never knew that we shared a border with China, like Nixon during the ' 71 war trying to pull out all stops in helping the Pakis,asked where E.Pak was and on being shown it on a map,reportedly said " then what the &₩$* is India doing in the middle?!" Stroking Trump's ego by such an imperial welcome as India is doing, demands in return strong substance that trumps style, pardon the pun.
Last edited by Philip on 23 Feb 2020 23:37, edited 2 times in total.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3H27Vj7Gjqc
Jared Kushner cares about India, believes it’s a good partner

First point is taken. Yes there is a large Indian diaspora in the US and this is huge but there is Indian population in the UK or UAE too, no such tamasha for them?

Second point? Very suspect. For eg. Wrt....29k.... Please tell me what Western plane won't have problems mid flight if struck by birds. Gorky deal happened under the very noses of the Navy, what was happening? Yeah their equipment can have issues but those are almost always solvable. Shouldnt you remember of how the lca team and program were shafted not too long ago? Or how tsp f16s continue to shoot Indian fighters? Or how about dem fine pontifications on plurality by Obama Saheb?

Point is, I'm all for engagement, but yaar kuch toh dignity rakho.

CM,

I believe Modi is playing this right. He's establishing a personal relationship with not just Trump, but his daughter and damad. There has to be some give for promoting India's cause. The invitation that Modi gave was to the Trump parivar. Given that Trump behaves like a tribal clan leader, family influence on policy is very high where it has impacted US domestic politics and international relations. Further, the Republican party has consolidated around Trump. If Trump and family are mostly on India's side, then the rest of noise makers (EJs and Sunni lovers) in the Republican party will be told to take a back seat.

We must take a dispassionate look at Indo- US relations in the regional and global context over the last decade +. True,in security matters v.good progress on arms sales,but this must be seen solely from the viewpoint of India being beefed up with US arms as a countermeasure to China. Step- by-step we are being seduced into a full- fledged military relationship with the US and its lesser allies,dangerously compromising our sovereignty.

On the other side of the coin the US has repeatedly shafted us on Pak,refusing to bring that terror nation to heel.Instead of the drone strike against Gen.QS,the strike would've achieved far more for global peace had it targeted Paki GHQ.Instead of sanctioning Pak on its terror war against India,the US has the audacity to lecture us on Art.370 et al and offers its services as a ( dis) honest broker.Nehru was shafted at the newly formed UN by the US,UK,etc. in 1948 when the UN had greater credibility and attempted to douse fires across the globe. Can anyone expect honesty from the US given its track record,especially recently- ask the Kurds! Yet we roll out the red carpet,kill the fatted calf, bring out the dancing girls and zombie flag wavers in the lakhs for in truth, with the latest pro- Talib deal in Afg., the eternal protector of Pakistan!

Unless there is a quid-pro-quo on India's security interests that matter to us most ctitically, Kashmir and the external war being waged against us by Pak, the US's continued Nelsonian eye towards its favourite rent boy will make a mockery of this tamasha of a visit after the litter and garbage has been collected.

Mort Walker wrote:CM,

I believe Modi is playing this right. He's establishing a personal relationship with not just Trump, but his daughter and damad. There has to be some give for promoting India's cause. The invitation that Modi gave was to the Trump parivar. Given that Trump behaves like a tribal clan leader, family influence on policy is very high where it has impacted US domestic politics and international relations. Further, the Republican party has consolidated around Trump. If Trump and family are mostly on India's side, then the rest of noise makers (EJs and Sunni lovers) in the Republican party will be told to take a back seat.
Not CM here, but I agree that Modi demonstrates his ability to build working relationships with different kinds of leaders.

With Abe, a genuine confluence of national interests ensures that they repeatedly engage each other during bilateral visits. Modi appeared on NHK TV news last winter even at times when there was nothing special happening in Indo-Japanese ties. He has mindspace with their public and external politics as a result. People know he's the powerful Indian leader without needing a turban to know he's even Indian.

He's build a system of back and forth summit level engagements with Xi, at Ahmedabad and Mammallapuram, and reciprocal ones in Wuhan and someplace else in China. Nothing like this existed before. The ability to have the Chinese sit across and table and regularly discuss things, even as we continuously build strategic capability directly targeting them, is something no prior Indian leader has accomplished, dating all the way back to Nehru. It's Modi who shed the old beaten wife syndrome of engaging China.

With the Trump clan, he doesn't let any personal opinion he has about Trump get in the way of an effective approach to political policymaking. He knows Trump likes crowds, adulation and praise. It's shallow and egostical and a reflection of Trump, but who cares ? Trump likes it. Modi makes sure Trump gets that. He pulled Trump onstage at Houston to let him enjoy, and now he wants the parivar to have a good time in India. It is not possible to have long working lunches and summit level discussions with Trump, who doesn't have the attention span to keep up.

Modi has the experience to understand how best to tailor the interaction to suit interactions. Abe values building a personal rapport, a very Japanese tenet. The Chinese love the word summit since it feeds their own self importance. And Trump gets treatment that that suits who he is. Politics is the art of perfecting how to make things appear.

Swarajya: Is Trump Coming All The Way To Put Afghanistan and PoK on the table?
https://swarajyamag.com/world/so-if-no- ... -the-table

schinnas wrote:Swarajya: Is Trump Coming All The Way To Put Afghanistan and PoK on the table?
I can’t get to it as it’s behind a paywall.

Surajsan,

I agree. India has to deal with both the US and China as they are the earth’s two largest economies and India’s two largest trading partners. Modi is not going to let his or anyone else’s personal opinion get ahead of national interest. I suspect a larger trade deal may be delayed until after the US election to avoid the appearance of interfering in US politics.

Jared and Ivanka need to be on India’s side.

Mod Note: Deleted.

Please don't post articles behind Swarajya's paywall here in full. It's only Rs.999 to subscribe if you wish to read it. It's not NYT or something else. If you're curious, subscribe online. I've been a subscriber for years.
Last edited by Suraj on 24 Feb 2020 01:01, edited 1 time in total.

Surajji,
I never post any article in full ever. Copy right laws prohibit that.

schinnas wrote:Swarajya: Is Trump Coming All The Way To Put Afghanistan and PoK on the table?
I can’t get to it as it’s behind a paywall.
No it is not. At least I can read it and I am not a subscriber. May be my solution is also illegal and so i deleted it.
Last edited by saip on 24 Feb 2020 01:11, edited 1 time in total.

g.sarkar: THEY decide how much constitutes an excerpt, not us. Swarajya lets you read a certain number of articles a month freely. Beyond that, they let you see a paragraph and then insert their paywall. That's all you can quote, and what you've quoted earlier is clearly much more. Therefore your post was removed.

It's better to support SwarajyaMag by subscribing to it if one finds them that useful.

I stand corrected. I apologize. I will never post from Swarajya again.

OT but good thought: been meaning to do this for a while. How does one subscribe from Mongolia? Bank xfer from desi baink? (Possible..)

Ulan Batoriji,
As a librarian I do not believe in paying for information. Tagore also wrote: Where knowledge is free. Pay some respect to him. Never pay a subscription other than XXX stuff.

UBCN OUT-ON-A-LIMB PREDICTIONS

After deep thought, we have decided to post our predictions:
Basis:
1. US MSM claims that Trump is going to "press Modi on CashMore, CAA, TradeBarriers, Relijjius .
2. Trump has just lost the war in Afghanistan - unless he can do something drastic to checkmate TSP/Pakiban. Most Existential Moment since 9/12/2001 when Dubya *ucked up by not ordering Pakistan razed to a parking lot.

Basic Prediction:
1. Trump will point, at speech to his Faithful, that India has SAVED people's lives by banning terrorists from Kashmir. Following Trump's Travel Ban from "terrorist" nations.
2. Trump will point to Katarpur as stellar example of Phreedom of Relijjun.
3. Trump will point to India as reliable Free Democracy as supplier for US entities.
4. Announce massive order for Portable Ventilators (Oxygen sysems) and other medical supplies, maybe also Rapid Response field hospitals, fast-deploying hangars, etc etc.
5. Order for another 5 or 10 C-17s to help out Boeing.
6. *MAYBE** a big order or two for fruits/nuts etc. Replacing Chinese exports to India.
7. On CAA he will simply say that it is internal affair and he "won assurance from Modi" that rights of Mynawrities will be protected.
8. Order for a squadron or 2 of F/A-18s also to bail out Boeing.
9. ITAR-exemption for P&W engines for INDIGO etc with maintenance/overhaul in India.

BIG REACH:
1. Chabahar to form basis of US-Iran rapproachment.
2. India-US-Israel-Iran agreement to protect Afghan democracy. HOPEFULLY with no Indian BOG in Afghanistan. MAYBE IAF support for Afghan guvrmand.
3. US companies to be allowed to participate in Chabahar-Central Asia road/rail link: direct in-ur-face to OBOR or whatever. IOW, a small explosion at Gwadar, courtesy Bugtis, will not be a problem.

I have not made any sense of the US BMD scam for Dilli: I thought that Indian BMD is already in place. V r not going to predict that because we don't want that.

g.sarkar wrote:Ulan Batoriji,
As a librarian I do not believe in paying for information. Tagore also wrote: Where knowledge is free. Pay some respect to him. Never pay a subscription other than XXX stuff.
Ha! Confucius say:
Wise man not pay a XXX subscliption with cledit cald.
Swarajyamag is a realization of 20 years of us wanting SOME portal that will publish the correct news and perspective. They have print as well as e-versions.
I want them to not have to go begging for advertising support from {u no hu}.

Example of which I am all too keenly aware:
In the city of Atlantastan in Dera Khanistan, there is a rag called "Khabar". Started by son of a very good Yindoo. I remember when I was vijiting there XX saal pehle, it was a thin booklet on cheap paper.. but FREE!! True Tagorean etc, they put it outside the grocery stores that allowed them to put it there. Used to have community and desh-related articles on Strategic Affairs such as which filmy ishtar was doing it with which others.

There was a time when Mullah Rajeev Srinivasan used to be debating some other desi on two sides of various issues. I wasn't even clued-in then to who was "right" vs "left" etc.

Todin, it is a 100+page glitzy rag on shiny thick paper. Delivered by US mail to hazaar ppl every month.
***BLATANTLY ANTI-INDIAN***** as we know it.

Why the great success? Because 95% of advertising revenue comes from Paki/ Aga Khan sources. No Rajeev there any more.
I do not want to see Swarajya Mag go that way.

Nor the other model: there is also a rag called "Rashtra Darpan" in the same town. 400% Yindoo. One-man operation by someone who also runs 3 other businesses to stay alive. About 1/10 the size of "Khabar". Also gets a few ads: mostly Pure Hindu. We COULD publish articles there, except that no one would read - which is a good thing because the Editor-Publisher does not believe in basic format-checking.

As for Tagore, I tend to take that part that says: "Where Knowledge Is Free" to mean, "Free" as in not causing free trip to Gobi LeEducation Centel.

From Leon Uris, "EXODUS":
Only the {University} of Heaven runs on truth
All the {Universities} of The Earth run on {Baksheesh}
Amartya Sen did not "preside" over Nalanda "free". He was paid $100K for 6 month stint every year. Plus round-trip first class jaunts all over the world several times a year.

**End OT*** Folks: PLEASE do subscribe to Swarajyamag. Of course I think their Editor is a (never mind). :eek:

UlanBatori wrote:OT but good thought: been meaning to do this for a while. How does one subscribe from Mongolia? Bank xfer from desi baink? (Possible..)
Online using Mongolian credit card works fine.

UlanBatori wrote:OT but good thought: been meaning to do this for a while. How does one subscribe from Mongolia? Bank xfer from desi baink? (Possible..)
Online using Mongolian credit card works fine.
The *&^%*s charge me a "Phoren Tranjakshun Baksheesh" that is a good % of the subscription. No problem. Can handle, thx.

That’s a matter with your card and not Swarajyamag.

ramana wrote:All said and done Trump is first Republican President to visit India.
How about George W Bush? Also Eisenhower and Nixon (as VP)?
I should have clarified. His visit is of different nature than earlier Presidents. And his visit starts from a small state capital and then to a moufssil town and ends in Delhi. Yes and add George Bush to Republican presidential visitors.

pankajs wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3H27Vj7Gjqc
Jared Kushner cares about India, believes it’s a good partner

One of our members went to school with him and Ivanka.

Trump visits a big foreign market — for the U.S. and for Trump Org

Has a list of Trump projects in India and some information on Indian politicians involved the projects.

Mort Walker wrote:CM,

EJs and sunni lovers have a tight stranglehold on the US deep state.

trump may last over the next four years or so if he gets a second term and by then the damage would have been done. look at the scale of the US operations in the north east over the decades. They have brought about huge demographic changes there and we don't even talk about those changes which are actively fueling separatism because we are getting pulverized on a regular basis with the usual sanctimonious "religious tolerance" nonsense spouted by the US.

and yet the amerikis themselves are unable to "tolerate" one in number "Hindu" tulsi gabard and are regularly assaulting the sikhs because of their beards and turbans.

In the meanwhile we are being slowly and inexorably drawn into their poisonous embrace we are being straight-jacketed by them because our trade and weapons are being sought to be dominated by US suppliers.

and one day soon, if these deep state guys turn around and do an iran on us we are truly buggered.

That is why Modi is very unwilling to burn any russian bridges and rightly so.

he has brought the russkis into the oil trade in India to offset their weapon sales losses and to keep them motivated and interested.

trump is playing us for votes and he is merely an insignificant passing phenomenon.

BTW, the Republican party has not consolidated around Trump, they don't like him at all but they do not have any viable and credible alternative to him at the moment. It is a political fait accompli for them.

^^^You're missing the point.

The US is now India's largest trading partner and two way trade in goods and services is $160 billion. This is an unpleasant fact for some.

See the following from Coupta, who is this time correct:

Mort Walker wrote:^^^You're missing the point.

The US is now India's largest trading partner and two way trade in goods and services is $160 billion. This is an unpleasant fact for some.

See the following from Coupta, who is this time correct:
youtube]wXnEdToCsEM[/youtube]
you have missed their agenda, the same one that they have been pushing since 1947.

trade is a fairly recent by product and why not, if the Indians are willing to bend, bow and scrape for a few visas, college admissions, jobs for the boys and girls.

have you missed the extreme hostility of their universities towards our culture and the endless denigration of our heritage passed off as academic study and FoE.

are you not aware that coupta is a house negro. :mrgreen:

why would darbari coupta not push the family or even the US agenda, after all the piper is being paid for his tunes, no

does this gell with being "India's largest trading partner".

trump's visit is a high optics, but otherwise low yield affair designed to bring Modi supporters in the US to trump's side during the elections.

otherwise, trump has been selling to Indians fairly useless US made weapons to us to ensure that the factories in the US MIC back home keep humming and continue to employ workers and pro trump campaign contributions continue to pour in
Last edited by chetak on 24 Feb 2020 10:31, edited 1 time in total.

No SSS.

Trade is important because it is not small relative to GDP. There are far fewer Indians willing to bend and bow compared to 40-50 years ago. Many colleges and universities have Indian origin pro-India faculty, administration and staff. Some of them are on this very forum. The relationship has changed which is what Coupta was referring, but that's okay, please continue your whinefest.