Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

Nam ji the other side of the argument will say that anyways a certain %age of doctors and nurses would have died in road accidents. What someone wants is to lift the blockade prematurely and then have lots of people killed and then lampoon the authorities for inexperience and stupidity.

The way that this goes is present a fallacious argument. The argument to support this theory is anyways people die(throw in all random numbers and vectors for ex: 5000 people died when shitting last year etc), we cant let the economy suffer. Next step is to lay this landmine and hope you step on it, lets say you do and obviously going by what the doctors on this forum and elsewhere are saying it will be a shit show all over the place and then hit the Govt back using stalwarts like Rajan, etc for inexperience and stupidity

For me there is only one yardstick, the CCPs are not fools to lock up an entire province for a simple Flu and yes they dont panic easily. Assuming, that their docs were wimps and panicked what happened to docs in Italy, Germany did they turn into wimps too ? Okie leave all of these docs and wimps the world's superhero/superspy James Bondski a.k.a Vladimir Putin Ji said this today
Putin has signed legislation imposing severe punishment — including up to five years in prison — for people convicted of spreading false information about the coronavirus. The legislation also imposes punishments for people breaking coronavirus quarantine rules, including up to seven years in prison

Did he turn into a wimp too ?Did he panic too ? or has everyone turned suicidal and bent upon ruining their economy
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

And here's the Italian data with age profiles of the dead (lower left)

https://portale.fnomceo.it/wp-content/u ... le-ITA.pdf

Arun.prabhu wrote:I personally believe the lockdown is a waste of time and money,
The WSJ ran an editorial early on debating whether it was worth sacrificing 83% of the economy to save the 17% of the US economy dedicated to healthcare. The comparison is even starker for India, where healthcare is just 4% of GDP.
DrRatnadip

Post by DrRatnadip »

Primus wrote:Not sure if this makes sense but there is a video from an ER doc at Maimonides in Brooklyn claiming we've all got it wrong and that the virus does not cause ARDS but a form of hypoxia similar to HAPE and that PPV is in fact more harmful.

There is a paper out from China suggesting viral proteins binding with heme and porphyrin disabling its O2 carrying capacity and how Chloriquine and favipiravir may be helpful in this situation.

COVID-19: Attacks the 1-Beta Chain of Hemoglobin and Captures the Porphyrin to Inhibit Human Heme Metabolism

Any intensivists here with thoughts on this? Dr. Ratnadip?

Both video and article make some bold claims.. Both authers doesnt seem to come from medical background.. Study of viral protein binding to heme is just computer simulation and needs experimental evidence.. One more thing that comes to mind is if virus is affecting at such basic step of oxygen exchange why so many patients are spared of this effect??

In youtube video gentleman is recommending change in currently used ventilator settings.. He is suggesting using low PEEP in stead of high PEEP.. Both settings have there own disadvantages.. High PEEP uses higher pressure to pump air in alveoli that are collapsed due to fluid.. More pressure can sometimes damage delicate alveoli causing Ventilator induced lung injury.. Lower pressure will have less chance of injury but optimal air delivery in each alveoli may not be achieved.. Current guidelines favour using High PEEP ( positive end expiratory pressure)..
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

I didn't realize I was also an anti-Modi, anti-BJP and anti-national as well. Don't stop there. Cast more aspersions on me. Perhaps I'm a serial rapist/killer?

Toodle doo, cupcake.
suryag wrote:Nam ji the other side of the argument will say that anyways a certain %age of doctors and nurses would have died in road accidents. What someone wants is to lift the blockade prematurely and then have lots of people killed and then lampoon the authorities for inexperience and stupidity.

The way that this goes is present a fallacious argument. The argument to support this theory is anyways people die(throw in all random numbers and vectors for ex: 5000 people died when shitting last year etc), we cant let the economy suffer. Next step is to lay this landmine and hope you step on it, lets say you do and obviously going by what the doctors on this forum and elsewhere are saying it will be a shit show all over the place and then hit the Govt back using stalwarts like Rajan, etc for inexperience and stupidity

For me there is only one yardstick, the CCPs are not fools to lock up an entire province for a simple Flu and yes they dont panic easily. Assuming, that their docs were wimps and panicked what happened to docs in Italy, Germany did they turn into wimps too ? Okie leave all of these docs and wimps the world's superhero/superspy James Bondski a.k.a Vladimir Putin Ji said this today
Putin has signed legislation imposing severe punishment — including up to five years in prison — for people convicted of spreading false information about the coronavirus. The legislation also imposes punishments for people breaking coronavirus quarantine rules, including up to seven years in prison

Did he turn into a wimp too ?Did he panic too ? or has everyone turned suicidal and bent upon ruining their economy
syam

Post by syam »

Arun.prabhu, chinis did what you are suggesting.

Result-> people collapsing on roads like birds and huge sulfur emissions that even satellites picked it from space.

moral of story - xi, putin, trump .etc are not idiots.

Arun.prabhu wrote:Oh, you mean these doctors and the ones who died since. Look at the DOBs on the dead doctors.

https://web.archive.org/web/20200328152 ... -covid-19/

By the by, this is the latest list. Note how the DOBs are now missing. LMAO

https://portale.fnomceo.it/elenco-dei-m ... -covid-19/
I don't think you understand the term "overwhelming of Medical services". Or the consequence of doctors & nurses mass isolating for 14 days.

So I prefer not to continue this further.
DrRatnadip

Post by DrRatnadip »

https://m.timesofindia.com/city/surat/s ... 014061.cms

People assaulting doctors for treating covid patients..I have no words for this..
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

The Chinese researchers now state that the massive pollution in Wuhan may have contributed to the die off. Not to mention whatever they used to disinfect the city. Remember, they SO2 concentration was at one time 1800ppm and that was noted here.

https://www.eurasiareview.com/01022020- ... onia-oped/

syam wrote:Arun.prabhu, chinis did what you are suggesting.

Result-> people collapsing on roads like birds and huge sulfur emissions that even satellites picked it from space.

https://www.covid19india.org/

Confirmed
[+488]
Active

Recovered
[+53]
Deceased
[+15]

We are still going up by 10% rate. I was hoping we slow down
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

Oh, I do. I had noted that the self-quarantines were reducing the available personnel and exacerbating the problem. But since I've already been judged an agent provocateur, an anti-national (which is a laugh. One simply has to look at my posting history to know that I'm not.) and since people don't seem to like to read and follow up on sources here, I give up as well.

Ah well. Such is life.
Arun.prabhu wrote:Oh, you mean these doctors and the ones who died since. Look at the DOBs on the dead doctors.

https://web.archive.org/web/20200328152 ... -covid-19/

By the by, this is the latest list. Note how the DOBs are now missing. LMAO

https://portale.fnomceo.it/elenco-dei-m ... -covid-19/
I don't think you understand the term "overwhelming of Medical services". Or the consequence of doctors & nurses mass isolating for 14 days.

So I prefer not to continue this further.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

Hopefully, they serve a decade long prison sentence.
DrRatnadip wrote:https://m.timesofindia.com/city/surat/s ... 014061.cms

People assaulting doctors for treating covid patients..I have no words for this..
milindc

Post by milindc »

Arun.prabhu wrote:The Chinese researchers now state that the massive pollution in Wuhan may have contributed to the die off. Not to mention whatever they used to disinfect the city. Remember, they SO2 concentration was at one time 1800ppm and that was noted here.

syam wrote:Arun.prabhu, chinis did what you are suggesting.

Have you even checked the date of the article ? It is Feb 1st and I wonder what they might say at March 1st ?

Coupta thinks this plan is what Center might follow post-lockdown

Any thoughts, especially from hakims on the forum?
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

LMAO. Can't be bothered to do research. Can't be bothered to think. Can mock.

Oh look, an article from the guardian in 2018 linking air pollution and complications it causes in diseases of the lung.

https://www.theguardian.com/society/201 ... pitals-nhs

"Lung specialists identify several factors behind the rise in lung-related A&E admissions. These include an increase in the number of older people who may be frail because of lung disease or other health problems, the contribution of indoor and outdoor air pollution to lung disease flare-ups, and the potency of flu strains and other viruses in winter."

milindc wrote:
Arun.prabhu wrote:The Chinese researchers now state that the massive pollution in Wuhan may have contributed to the die off. Not to mention whatever they used to disinfect the city. Remember, they SO2 concentration was at one time 1800ppm and that was noted here.

Have you even checked the date of the article ? It is Feb 1st and I wonder what they might say at March 1st ?

Suryag ji, you don't have to put words in other people's mouths. The other side of the argument is not that those doctors would have died in traffic accidents, the other side (at least from me) is that most of those doctors were in their 60's, 70's, 80's, and one even in 90's. That Swiss site links to the data site that Arun.Prabhu also posted. Many of those doctors are also listed as "pensionato" (retired), "Ex-medico," etc. Probably retired folk hauled to the front-lines of fighting the disease, with predictable results.

At least on my side, I'm not arguing against the current lockdown. In the face of an unknown disease, it was the right thing to do, and Modi did a commendable job of instituting an early lock down.

Now the need is to use the chance to make an honest evaluation of the disease and its characteristics. This need is not served by: labeling every death with Coronavirus as a "CV death":
In other words, a 90-year-old man who dies with a fracture of the femoral neck and becomes infected with corona in the hours prior to his death is also counted as corona death. To name but one example.“
A German medical specialist informs us: „From my medical point of view, there is some evidence that some of these people may have died as a result of the measures taken. People with dementia get into high stress when major changes are made to their everyday lives: isolation, no physical contact, possibly hooded staff.“ Nevertheless, the deceased are counted as „corona deaths“ in German and international statistics. In connection with the „corona crisis“, it is now also possible to die of an illness without even having its symptoms.
Why inflate the death count with "data" like the above? Any particular reason, maybe to justify the current lockdowns, or maybe to plug a vaccine?

The need is also not served by: publishing data on the "exponential rise of CV cases" without publishing corresponding data on the "exponential rise of testing for CV cases" (in fact, the fraction of positives is practically flat). To its credit, worldometer is now showing data on the number of tests as well. The flat fraction of positives to me indicates that - in the pockets where "new cases" are occurring, what we're seeing is actually the fact that up to 20% of the population has already been infected. The testing is turning out to be a poll of this infection - increased testing, corresponding increase in cases. In India, that fraction seems to be 2.5% in the general population, about 10% in the Mosque revelers.

So what I'm saying is, no issues with the current lockdown, no need to justify it, it was the right thing to do. The issue now is - are we honestly evaluating the need for future lockdowns? Not if we keep spreading unnecessarily inflated numbers of deaths and also showing "exponential spread" without the context of "vastly increased testing."

Like I said, I'm very interested in seeing how well that prediction of "93,000 deaths in the USA" pans out (this prediction, once again, ALREADY ACCOUNTS FOR THE EFFECTS OF THE LOCKDOWN, according to the author(s) of the paper). If this turns out true (I hope not), then the experts have a good handle on evaluating the seriousness of this disease. If this prediction turns out to be greatly exaggerated, then - I'll have a hard time buying the logic for future lockdowns. Another couple of days or so should tell us.

DrRatnadip wrote:https://m.timesofindia.com/city/surat/s ... 014061.cms

Dr, the neighbour and the lady had a prior history over her dog. He has been arrested.

Arun Prabhu please peddle your conspiracies elsewhere. This is not the thread (or forum) for it. Failure to comply will result in an immediate ban.
syam

Post by syam »

did you just quote feb article?

I know you are panic posting and being in denail mode. take a breather and go through the evidence available on the this thread itself. sulfur emission happens mostly through coal burning. ccp for all its faults, doesn't take second chances. they burned their dead using coal!!! no matter what you use, the virus will keep living unless you burn the whole thing down. another point we have to consider as some folks want to bury their dead here.

no country returned to 'normal' yet. Singapore and Japan are under lockdown now after flattening the curve. Europe yet to reduce their numbers. china, no one knows what's happening there. why do you want to risk our country, sirji?

Folks no more on the above lines, people indulging in further discussion along the above lines will get a warning. Kindly cease and desist
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

I did not peddle conspiracies. The arguments I made were backed up by data collated by the folks at swprs from published journals and studies. Difference that seems to sail right past the heads of most BR members.

And anyways, at this point, I've had it. <abusive language edited>
nachiket wrote:Arun Prabhu please peddle your conspiracies elsewhere. This is not the thread (or forum) for it. Failure to comply will result in an immediate ban.
Last edited by nachiket on 07 Apr 2020 01:00, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: user banned
milindc

Post by milindc »

sudarshan wrote:Suryag ji, you don't have to put words in other people's mouths. The other side of the argument is not that those doctors would have died in traffic accidents, the other side (at least from me) is that most of those doctors were in their 60's, 70's, 80's, and one even in 90's. That Swiss site links to the data site that Arun.Prabhu also posted. Many of those doctors are also listed as "pensionato" (retired), "Ex-medico," etc. Probably retired folk hauled to the front-lines of fighting the disease, with predictable results.

At least on my side, I'm not arguing against the current lockdown. In the face of an unknown disease, it was the right thing to do, and Modi did a commendable job of instituting an early lock down.

Now the need is to use the chance to make an honest evaluation of the disease and its characteristics. This need is not served by: labeling every death with Coronavirus as a "CV death":
In other words, a 90-year-old man who dies with a fracture of the femoral neck and becomes infected with corona in the hours prior to his death is also counted as corona death. To name but one example.“
A German medical specialist informs us: „From my medical point of view, there is some evidence that some of these people may have died as a result of the measures taken. People with dementia get into high stress when major changes are made to their everyday lives: isolation, no physical contact, possibly hooded staff.“ Nevertheless, the deceased are counted as „corona deaths“ in German and international statistics. In connection with the „corona crisis“, it is now also possible to die of an illness without even having its symptoms.
Why inflate the death count with "data" like the above? Any particular reason, maybe to justify the current lockdowns, or maybe to plug a vaccine?

The need is also not served by: publishing data on the "exponential rise of CV cases" without publishing corresponding data on the "exponential rise of testing for CV cases" (in fact, the fraction of positives is practically flat). To its credit, worldometer is now showing data on the number of tests as well. The flat fraction of positives to me indicates that - in the pockets where "new cases" are occurring, what we're seeing is actually the fact that up to 20% of the population has already been infected. The testing is turning out to be a poll of this infection - increased testing, corresponding increase in cases. In India, that fraction seems to be 2.5% in the general population, about 10% in the Mosque revelers.

So what I'm saying is, no issues with the current lockdown, no need to justify it, it was the right thing to do. The issue now is - are we honestly evaluating the need for future lockdowns? Not if we keep spreading unnecessarily inflated numbers of deaths and also showing "exponential spread" without the context of "vastly increased testing."

Like I said, I'm very interested in seeing how well that prediction of "93,000 deaths in the USA" pans out (this prediction, once again, ALREADY ACCOUNTS FOR THE EFFECTS OF THE LOCKDOWN, according to the author(s) of the paper). If this turns out true (I hope not), then the experts have a good handle on evaluating the seriousness of this disease. If this prediction turns out to be greatly exaggerated, then - I'll have a hard time buying the logic for future lockdowns. Another couple of days or so should tell us.
Question is more simple. Are you willing to be in shoes for Nurses and Doctors treating infected Covid patients. Are you willing to put your life in danger (Yes, it might be 0.5% if you get infected but still) ?
If not, then please desist from saying.. yes, look at the economic, only the old folks are dying who anyway will pass away.
Yes, everyone will pass away one day, but the question is whether one is willing to take that chance himself?
If that 70 year old Doctor, didn't get infected by Covid would he have survived for another 5 years?

Alright you get your wish Arun Prabhu. Banned!

KJo wrote:I have been tracking Confirmed cases.

US: The daily growth is reducing. It is now at 8%. Was in teens earlier, and the decline is also steady. By around Apr 18, we should see 0% growth. Then decline.
India: The growth is very erratic, so hard to see any trends emerging. I think it will be a few more days for that. India has to be watchful as there are crazies who want to ruin things for everyone.
In India look at cluster-specific growth. For example, look at hot spots like Mah, Delhi, Kerala & Rajasthan.
Even better, look at clusters district wise from http://covidindiaupdates.in/

We top of at +500 today, 4290->4778, have 8 more days to go, hope and pray we slow it down considerably.

470 odd cases for today, compared to 600+ yesterday. As expected the lockdown effect is kicking in now. Not out of the woods yet, however a ray of hope.

Frankly we hit the lockdown almost at the right time. We are on our way to 1k+ per day cases.

GoI has allowed limited anti-malaria and paracetamol export.
syam

Post by syam »

ANI
@ANI
·
3m
UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson, who had tested positive for #Coronavirus late last month, has been taken to intensive care: UK media

Boris Johnson in intensive care. Mere flu would have put them there or just the common pneumonia would have put him there so fast? Nothing to do with COVID19? It is like any other virus?

The number of daily deaths in Italy, Spain, Ger is on an encouraging down trend, as with my wishes for anyone who gets infected, may Boris Johnson recover quickly

Horrible disease and can't believe we had a person foolish enough to claim it was over hyped. Anyone who thinks this is perfectly welcome to step outside and volunteer to assist doctors, nursing staff etc. To sit at home in front of a computer and take the words of academics who are merely looking at 2nd order effects and claiming it is just like flu is beyond bizarre when so many details now exist from frontline responders on how it makes people who are vulnerable desperately sick as well as those who thought they were immune. Stupid to downplay this.

https://www.mohfw.gov.in/pdf/3Containme ... 9Final.pdf

The govts very detailed containment plan. This is the one coupta was talking about. It seems our administration is also rising to the challenge.

Boris Johnson admitted to ITU
Scary stuff
Dominic Rabb stand in leader

I was in London 11th to 13th because of wife’s convocation at the college
I am really scared
Hell what is this shit

Karan M wrote:Horrible disease and can't believe we had a person foolish enough to claim it was over hyped. Anyone who thinks this is perfectly welcome to step outside and volunteer to assist doctors, nursing staff etc. To sit at home in front of a computer and take the words of academics who are merely looking at 2nd order effects and claiming it is just like flu is beyond bizarre when so many details now exist from frontline responders on how it makes people who are vulnerable desperately sick as well as those who thought they were immune. Stupid to downplay this.
Earlier I had few bouts with said worthy who used a lot of data to create a lot of fud to promote the premise that herd immunity is the way forward because the "inevitable" economic apocalypse would be a lot worse.

What I noticed was that the data and arguments were often non contextual and hence fud.

In itself the data might've been ok, for example the analysis of Italian deaths which were overwhelming of older people, who of course have comorbidities. In itself that's fine. But taken in the context of how many of the elderly are therefore susceptible to this disease, the numbers would be staggering. Combine that with the fact that a lot of the younger population today suffers from such conditions too (just check how prevalent diabetes, heart disease and hypertension is in these populations), and you realize that it will take a heavy toll on this population too.

The entire idea of herd immunity seems to be a Thanosian venture to cull the "weak". I can see the temptation as a movie theme but in reality, it is genocidal insanity. Interestingly and perhaps not too strangely, only 2-3 countries seem to have played with this idea. And all of them have a strong Protestant bias. Not too dissimilar from your run of the mill Tablighi.

Kudos to mods for fixing the issue
Last edited by Cain Marko on 07 Apr 2020 02:28, edited 1 time in total.

It clearly indicates said worthy has no medical awareness worth his name.

As you noted, literally every other person in India is genetically predisposed to some ailment or the other which is kept in control with medicines or plain luck.

If any aggressive disease like this virus, takes off the controls with one set of organs, i.e. the lungs, then what does it do to the rest?
People with COPD, CKD, Hypertension are all at risk. Young folks with none of the above diagnosed are coming out barely alive with reduced lung function.

This herd immunity stuff sounds like the kind of crazy, we have no answers plan which has landed the UK PM in the ICU. I am glad our "chai-wallah" PM had the foresight and straight forward sense to get the experts at ICMR and elsewhere to come up with a much better plan rather than this sort of insanity.

Arun.prabhu wrote:I saw that chart and I'm happy that our government is trying to take care of us, but the disease isn't as deadly as we believe it to be... Do we close our roads to save the 150000 annual dead? Or ban all industries to reduce the incidence of heavy metal poisoning and the shortening of life expectancy that causes? Have we banned sugar to fight the diabetes epidemic that will claim so many millions decades before they would otherwise have died?
None of your arguments make any sense, I'm afraid.

First you conflated the lockdown with an attempt to lower case incidence. However, the lockdown is to flatten the curve. There's an element of potential reducibility from lack of contact, but that goes away as the lockdown is removed, and therefore the public policy goal is to have a lockdown long enough for a substantial number of carriers to recover, and make the progression a slow burn endemic illness on par with the transmission rate of conventional flu.

Secondly, you conflate the argument with that of diabetes and auto accidents. Neither of these have transmittability, i.e my consumption of refined sugars will not give those sitting around me diabetes, and similarly your wrapping your car around a lamppost won't spontaneously make others drive off a cliff too.

A lockdown is a public policy measure taken to tamp down the transmission speed of a novel virus with the ability to simultaneously put a large number of people in hospital because the virus is novel, i.e. we have no herd immunity yet. The entire purpose of the lockdown is to generate herd immunity the normal way - by causing transmission at a low rate even as the new case count and new recovered counts are roughly on par, as opposed to case count being orders of magnitude larger than the recovered count, as is the case now.

I don't get the 'don't do lockdown, let herd immunity work' argument. The lockdown approach IS the herd immunity approach. No lockdown at all is an out of control fire burdening first responder and hospital facilities nationwide and causing a breakdown in social cohesion and trust in public institutions.

Had this NOT been a novel virus with the population having some greater degree of natural built in immunity, none of these would have been required, because the transmittability would be lower and thus pressure on public services would correspondingly be lower. The concept of a sweeping novel virus has been wargamed by many authorities, and it's always been known that a situation like the present was a case of when and not if. Everyone with a functioning public government has imposed some degree of lockdown or the other, with those who delayed (including UK leadership) having large numbers in hospital in the process.

From TFIPOST: ‘We will give you masks if you accept Huawei 5G,’ China is forcing Coronavirus-hit countries to kneel before Huawei
As if manufacturing the Coronavirus Pandemic that has enfeebled countries across the world was not enough, Beijing is now also looking to profiteer out of the global public health crisis- pushing its 5G tech giant, Huawei into the West, even extorting other countries into allowing it.

The might Dragon knows that countries across the world have currently slipped into distress, and has thus launched a propaganda war against the Coronavirus-battered countries in a mischievous attempt to pose itself as the country that will bail the world out of the Coronavirus Pandemic.

Chinese State media has now started resorting to publishing photographs of the country’s medical aid (read “mask diplomacy”). Even the Chinese conglomerates have come out donating medical gear to other countries, and one of those corporate giants which has been a major component of Beijing’s medical aid-PR campaign is the 5G service provider Huawei, a telecom major that was till yesterday being rejected by countries across the world.
First indications of China looking to profiteer out of the Pandemic in terms of pushing Huawei came when CCP mouthpiece Global Times issued an open threat, quoting a Chinese analyst as saying, “US moves to restrict sales of technology to Huawei may backfire amid the #COVID19, as China could ban the export of face masks and other medical gear to America.”

The threats are becoming that much clearer with Huawei’s Chairman-CEO Eric Xu warning that the US moves to step up pressure on the Chinese tech giant could spiral into retaliatory action from Beijing that could damage its worldwide industry.

China knows that with critical supply chains snapped, and countries desperate for medical supplies, any medical gear coming from China is bound to be treated as a favour even if it is an outright sale and not donations/ aid. After all, China is the only country in the world that has come back to function at some level.

And Beijing is targeting one country at a time, taking full advantage of the fault-lines emerging between the rest of the world amidst desperate national attempts to ward off the Wuhan virus. For example, in the case of Canada, Trudeau hit out at the Trump administration following the latter’s decision asking a manufacturer to stop exporting N95 masks to Canada and Latin America.

This is where Beijing has stepped in exporting millions of masks to the country, and this alters the political calculus between Beijing and Ottawa. Only a little more than a year ago, Huawei senior executive Meng Wanzhou had been arrested in Vancouver, Canada on an extradition request from the United States. This had kicked off bilateral tensions between Canada and China, but now China’s “mask diplomacy” will make inroads for Huawei in Canada.

In the case of France, the Chinese President Xi Jinping is reportedly not even beating around the bush, and when the French President Emmanuel Macron requested supply of masks, Jinping bluntly made it clear that medical equipment would be supplied only if France accepts Huawei’s 5G technology.

This virus is an existential threat to India(I almost want to say, was but touch wood ) and I congratulate the prime minister for having the foresight to react the way he did.A country with, at the moment poor hygienic practices, poor health infra for the massive population of this size and densely populated if unchecked this virus had the potential to have caused casualties in the millions. Prime minister,s govt has done a fantastic job under the circumstances. My only criticism is the way he is rx the peacefuls and traitorous press with kid gloves.

Unrelated but the first news today that brought tears to my eyes and the only news I watched today was not corona virus but our brave hearts paras fighting the scum on the LOC. Jai Hind.

If our companies want to play big in the future, they need to show up now. The CCP is now fundamentally holding the world at ransom, using a mess they created in the first place.

It is time our companies buckle up and churn out masks, medical kit, medicines and support at war scale. World is looking at an alternate to the CCP fiefdom and we will not get another opportunity.