2021 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: 2021 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

I don't know why other Patels and Patidars aren't taking an offense to this incorrect patidars. These bunch from saurashtra doesn't have any commonality with mainstream ones but won't stop identifying themselves as such.
AAPians changes public garden’s name; SMC restores old name
https://www.deshgujarat.com/2021/03/05/ ... -old-name/
Well, AAP city general secretary’s photographs of paying visit to Muslim Madresa were viral in last two days on social media. A claim of AAP councilor that he managed to complete pending road work within 48 hours of getting elected and counterclaim that the claim was fake were also viral on social media.
But what AAP councilors did on Thursday at a public garden in Puna-Simada area was very much indicative of their style of functioning, we are going to witness now on. AAP councilors changed the sign board of Yogi Udhyan (Yogi Garden) over the gate of the garden in TP scheme number 68 (Puna – Simada) final plot number R/22. By installing a new sign board, AAP councilors changed the name of Yogi Udhyan to Patidar Garden. The color of the sign board was changed to green.
It’s worth noting that the garden belongs to Surat Municipal Corporation (SMC). The Municipal Commissioner of SMC soon issues orders to restore the signboard. Accordingly, the AAP sign board naming the garden as ‘Patidar garden’ was removed and signboard with the name ‘Yogi Udhyan’ was restored. The Municipal Commissioner made it clear that the name of any public place can be given or changed by SMC after related resolution is passed in the Standing Committee. Without that one can not give name or change the name of places on whims

Muslims have much more share in welfare schemes of state government than their population in the state: UP CM Yogi Adityanath
https://www.opindia.com/2021/03/yogi-ad ... e-schemes/
CM Yogi said that Muslims’s share in state government welfare schemes was many times more than their population. “The Muslim population in UP is 17-19 per cent, but their share in the benefits of welfare schemes is 30-35 per cent”, the CM said in the state assembly drawing the attention of Samajwadi Party leader and Leader of Opposition (LoP) Ahmad Hassan.

CM Yogi Adityanath cited schemes such as the central housing scheme, free power connections, free cooking gas connections under Ujjwala schemes and Ayushman Bharat healthcare schemes to support his claims.

Needless to say why they feel and claim to be superior. A Hindu would never get a bail in this manner and this quickly. There are many Hindus suffering from 498a abuse to SC/ST act abuse.
‘He got carried away, committed a serious mistake’: Bombay HC upholds bail for Areeb Majeed, accused of traveling abroad to join ISIS
https://www.opindia.com/2021/03/bombay- ... -nia-bail/
The Court said, “We have observed that the respondent is an educated person, who was completing his graduation in Civil Engineering when he left for Iraq at the age of 21 years. He categorically stated before us that as a 21-years-old, he was carried away and that he had committed a serious mistake, for which he had already spent more than six years behind bars.”

the empire strikes back.

the arhtiyas are squarely in the crosshairs.

but the real change will come only when the govt actually buys equitably from all states and not from just the favored few and ensures the evenhanded distribution of the 172000 cr wheat/paddy MSP.

To start direct payment of MSP to farmers, FCI asks Punjab govt for land records

The March 4 letter said that FCI, Zonal Office (N), Noida, has directed that land records are a must for wheat procurement in RMS 2021-22.

Anju Agnihotri Chaba
Jalandhar
March 5, 2021

The director has been asked to update the land records on the Annaj Khardi Portal before commencement of the RMS 2021-22 to avoid complications.

The Food Corporation of India’s (FCI) Punjab office on Thursday wrote to the director of food, civil supplies and consumer affairs seeking land records of farmers so as to make direct online payment of Minimum Support Price (MSP) to their bank accounts from the upcoming Rabi marketing season (RMS).

The March 4 letter said that FCI, Zonal Office (N), Noida, has directed that land records are a must for wheat procurement in RMS 2021-22.

The director has been asked to update the land records on the Annaj Khardi Portal before commencement of the RMS 2021-22 to avoid complications.

The letter further says: “It is requested to share data of land records and convey to the office where to find it so that FCI shall verify land records of farmers during RMS 2021-22 with regard to FCI’s own purchase.”

The issue of direct payment to farmers accounts is something the Centre has been mulling for the past couple of years as it wants to remove middlemen from the process. Currently, arhtiyas (commission agents) get the payments in their accounts, which they in turn pay to farmers through cheques. The Centre has to pay 2.5 per cent commission to arhtiyas who facilitate procurement of the crop from farmers to government agencies and take commission for that from the government.

The Arhtiya Association of Punjab has already filed a petition in court against this, and also had the support of some farmers.

Currently, the government pays around Rs 1,400 crore-worth of commission annually for procurement of wheat and paddy only.
Last edited by chetak on 06 Mar 2021 05:30, edited 1 time in total.

https://swarajyamag.com/insta/premier-b ... ia-gujarat

The above URL is a must read. The quoted link will point to the article discussing
Combined Commanders’ Conference, a premier brain-storming event of the military commanders from all the three services of the Indian Armed Forces commenced at Kevadiya in Gujarat today, reports ANI.

Raksha Mantri Shri @rajnathsingh at the Combined Commanders’ Conference which is being held at Kevadia, Gujarat. pic.twitter.com/QVF47eJ2nY
- RMO India (@DefenceMinIndia) March 5, 2021

The commanders from Indian Army, Indian Navy and Indian Airforce were joined by the defence minister Rajnath Singh in the conference.
But I am posting here for a different reason.

If symbolism means anything, above is a big slap to the CONgoons, the elites, the pseudo-environmentalists like Medha Patkar, the andolanjeevis and the parjeevis.

No not the event. The venue.

The venue is at the largest statue in the world of the real Iron man, the Narmada dam and it is in the interior of Gujarat where the development was neglected by successive governments of CONgoons.

Cyrano wrote:
Suraj wrote:With JE Menon’s support, I had my first article published on SwarajyaMag:
Why BJP Should Be Considered A Hindu Democratic Party
Excellent piece Suraj ! Deserves a far wider dissemination that what Swarajyamag attracts.
Excellent article. We need to spread it all over

SBajwa wrote:
Cyrano wrote:
Excellent piece Suraj ! Deserves a far wider dissemination that what Swarajyamag attracts.
Excellent article. We need to spread it all over

Well done Suraj!

Great article @Suraj.

I see what you did (I think). Using the liberal gold standards against them, while also working against the "Trump=Modi" points. Not saying this was the main point in your article. The "Repubs against transgender, BJP pro-transgender" bit should set up a nice mindgame for those retards. Another point being - if anything, it's the INC which is a snooty elitist party, the BJP is for the non-English-speaking aspirational lower sections. One can actually argue that the elite in India is less than 10%, and this is reflected in the INC getting less than 10% of the LS seats (forgetting the religious dimension). In fact, it is the BJP which is true to its name here (Janata Party). I saw the comment from that one person about the rational abortion policies of the BJP. We know how that one would score in certain circles in the west.

Now curious - who is your intended audience? It seems you were targeting two separate sections at least. 1. A distinctly western audience, with their own talking points turned against them (could also be western-aping Indian liberals); 2. Providing talking points for the right-thinking (in the sense of "right vs. wrong" not "right vs. left") Indian side. This also would partly indicate what kind of audience Swarajya itself is targeting, it's obviously not intended as just a general "report the news and be done with it" portal. But is Swarajya interested in a global audience?

Suraj,

Kudos to you for elevating the discussion on the ideological parallels between Social Democrats of Europe and the Narendra Modi led BJP. Sanjeev Sanyal said in one his inspiring talks that the best way to change a narrative you do not agree with is to articulate your own. You have taken a huge step in forming a new narrative, and I wish you the best of luck for further success. I greatly admire your ideas here on BRF and the substance of what you are presenting, so please take the critique that follows as an earnest attempt to encourage further such efforts on your part.

Facts and numbers are your strong point, but you lead off with too many - taken individually, each is a strong piece of information; collectively they become an overwhelming for a reader. Less is sometimes more, and interweaving your facts within the larger theme will make it that much stronger.

Secondly, stridency is a serious distraction if you want to win converts. You come off as too strong - "Anglos just don't get European Social Democrats" can be a lot more cutting if you phrase it more subtly.

Thirdly, there is undelivered promise in your analogies. By your own telling, a lot of people are not aware of this long prevalent and powerful political philosopy. So educate us. Social Democrats are easy to confuse as Socialists, and your posts on BRF have educated us on that a lot more than your article in Swarajya does. IMHO you are doing your ideas a great injustice in not starting with Adnauer and tracing the historical lineage of Merkel's governance philosopy, and then doing the same for the political philosophies and inspirations for Modi and present day BJP. And then leavening your narrative with facts on how Modi's governance shatters the conservative straitjacket his detractors wish to confine him in.

I will leave it at this. It is easy to critique and very hard to actually commit yourself to the grind of getting your ideas published. Bravo, and hope to read a lot more from you!

Thanks SBajwa, KLNMurthy and sudarshan. Lots of questions from the latter.. can I just ban you instead of answering ? :)

To be honest, I was not trying to be smart. Let me explain what I wanted to do: systematic categorization of the BJP on the political spectrum is lacking. They're called all kinds of random things - 'fascist', 'Hindu nationalist', whatever. One can choose to just react to those. But I don't care to react to it. I want to learn, in an exhaustive evidence based manner, what does BJP's record of legislative action + executive action + political position indicate as to their position on the standard political spectrum ? I showed a categorization with evidence - liberal conservatism. I gave it a name based on existing common mainstream terminology: Hindu democratic party.

I did not explicitly seek to confuse this with various greater imperatives like using others own logic against them. It's just that when a detailed analysis of their record is done, the categorization that is evident can throw up very interesting rhetorical possibilities. As you say, the question of transgender rights. Oh the Maternal Termination of Pregnancy Law (2020) that passed LS and is waiting to clear RS. The Republicans would never pass abortion and transgender rights bills. Even the CDU would be hard pressed to do at least one of those. That is the liberal part of liberal conservatism in action. '

Liberal conservatism suits a Hindu approach to polity well. We understand this quite implicitly. Our culture is not rigid in the form of immutable 'thou shalt not' laws. Things evolve with time. This is understood. Rather, the culture values order in evolution, and accepts this as natural. This is very Germanic, their popular pithy phrase is ordnung muss sein - there must be order. Arguably Indian polity is less rigid, and it shows in how BJP is more liberal than CDU in some ways.

Who's the audience ? Well anyone who wants to read and learn. The goal here is to make the effort to construct evidence based rigorous classification. With that base, many things are possible, including the ability to simple respond 'oh you say BJP are extreme right fascist ?' Here's links to passed maternity law, workers compensation law, transgender rights law, abortion law {insert more}. Now explain why you've categorized them that way.

All of these are possible. But only upon the basis of evidentiary detail. I hope the article (there will probably be more of them) will offer you and others the ability to construct narratives around a carefully argued and sound classification and its evidence.
mukkan

Post by mukkan »

Some historical perspective on BJP's ideology

Bhartiya Jana Sangh (BJS), the precursor to BJP, fought the general elections of 1977 as part of Janata Party group, though there was no formal merger of the two. The Janata Party won 299 seats out of 405 it fought. Interesting part was that the BJS emerged as the largest constituent of the Janata Party, with 93 seats, but BJS leaders Atal and Advani, never claimed for the Prime Minister’s post. BJS selflessly sacrificed the whole party, in the Janata Party Experiment, emerged as the biggest faction in the Janata Party and did not even claim for the Prime Minister’s post, as for them the nation’s interest was supreme. It’s noteworthy that Prime Minister Narendra Modi, captured this core essence of BJS/BJP and gave the motto of ‘Nation First’ and ‘Sabka Sath, Sabka Vikas, Sabka Vishwas’ to the lead the aspirational New India.

Though the BJP was formally founded in 1980, its political journey started with the formation of the BJS in 1951. The BJS has his roots in the RSS and in other dharmic, cultural and nationalist movements before it. So to understand the BJP, we have to go to the roots, the formations, the ideas, the leaders and the ideological frameworks of the BJS, the RSS and the other movements before them, right back to the Arya Samaj & Hindu Mahasabha.

Today is the day, when we should reflect back that current Ghar Wapsi debates have their roots in the Shudhi Andolan of Arya Samaj in which Swami Sharaddhanand lost his life by a member of Tablighi Jamat, today’s Hindutva and nationalist doctrine has its roots in the ideas of Savarkar, debates around cow find its history in the cow protection movements of 1881, today’s political tactic of Muslim Appeasement has its roots in the divisive ideas of Sir Syed Ahmed (Founder of today’s Aligarh Muslim University),

https://www.opindia.com/2020/04/bjp-fou ... ana-sangh/

Suraj san,

congrats on the article. when I first read it on swarajya it felt as if this was discussed in BRF. me and my friends were also struggling to classify Modi in the Anglosphere concept of left -right. your explanation clears things quite a lot.

YIP: thanks for the feedback. I didn't argue that the BJP correspond to the Social Democrats (i.e. Nordic European polity) though. I once did but upon greater study into this, they are far more closely liberal conservatives (Germanic polity). The latter are far less secular and place significantly more emphasis on religion. For example: Merkel Sees No Chance For Christian Reference in EU Charter
However, any attempt to mention Christianity or God in the treaty has been strictly opposed by secular France, liberal countries such as Sweden and Denmark and by Britain.
As to stridency, well I think that depends on what perspective you choose to read the article from. Not everyone will like the article. Some will outright disawow it because of cognitive dissonance ("no it just can't be - there's no way the BJP can be liberal anything! I'm a liberal! Just kill me now, aieeee!'), there'll be those who have a really hard time resolving the evidence against their mental frame of thought but reevaluate, there's those who may feel put off like you stated, and several who find the material useful as is. To rephrase a former member here, opinions are like oiseules, everyone has one :) Just kidding - I appreciate that you yourself understanding how much easier it is to critique than do the hard work of narrative building.

As to Adenauer etc, my perspective - the concept of liberal conservatism is quite hard to explain because of the awkward terminology, like 'hot-cold' or 'dry-wet'. It's easier to use contemporary examples rather than go very deep into history. Swarajya likes easy sentence morsels, since those can be tweeted. A simpler analogy of a contemporary leader is easier to convey. Additional material can work back history and demonstrate even more evidence. This is how narratives are built, after all.

New Rules by MHA

OCI cardholders will Now need to take Special Permission from Foreign Regional Registration Office (FRRO) or Indian Mission For - Missionary, Tabligh, Journalistic Activities in India

What it means: Tightening the noose for goondas like vardarajan of the Breaking India gang

OCI cardholders require special permit if they want to undertake missionary, 'Tabligh' activities: MHA

Mar 5, 2021

NEW DELHI: All Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) cardholders are required to take special permission from the central government if they want to be involved in any missionary, 'Tabligh' or journalistic activities in the country.

The OCI cardholders have parity with Indian nationals in the matter of tariffs in airfares in domestic sectors, entry fees for visiting national parks, national monuments and museums in India.

An official from the Union home ministry said these rules were part of the 'brochure' published by it in 2019 and were recently consolidated and notified.

The ministry, in its notification issued on Thursday, said the OCI cardholders are entitled to get multiple entry lifelong visa for visiting India for any purpose but "required to obtain a special permission or a special permit from the Foreigners Regional Registration Officer or the Indian Mission to undertake research and to undertake any missionary or Tabligh or mountaineering or journalistic activities".

It is also necessary for OCI cardholders to take a special permit to undertake internship in any foreign diplomatic missions or foreign government organisations in India or to take up employment in any foreign diplomatic missions in India or to visit any place which falls within the protected or restricted or prohibited areas as notified by the central government or competent authority.

In March 2020, when the nationwide lockdown was in force following the coronavirus outbreak, over 2,500 Tablighi Jamaat members found to be residing at the organisation's headquarters in Delhi despite guidelines and orders issued against large congregations of people.

As many as 233 foreign Tablighi workers were arrested for violations of visa rules and many of them were blacklisted, putting a ban on their future visit to India.

Tablighi Jamaat workers, both foreigners as well Indians, indulge in preaching tours across the country also known as 'Chilla' in which a volunteer of the organisation travels for 120 days to various parts of the country and stay in local mosques where they inform the neighbourhood people about their activities besides holding special prayers.

The home ministry said the OCI cardholders are exempted from registration with the Foreigners Regional Registration Officer (FRRO) or Foreigners Registration Officer (FRO) for any length of stay in India, but they have to inform the FRRO or FRO concerned through email whenever there is a change in permanent residential address and in their occupation.

According to the notification, they have parity with Indian nationals in the matter of tariffs in air fares in domestic sectors in India, entry fees to be charged for visiting national parks, wildlife sanctuaries, the national monuments, historical sites and museums in India.

An OCI cardholder is a foreign national holding a passport of a foreign country and is not a citizen of India.

They have parity with Non-Resident Indians in the matter of inter-country adoption of Indian children subject to the compliance of the procedure as laid down by the competent authority, appearing for the all India entrance tests such as National Eligibility cum Entrance Test, Joint Entrance Examination (Mains), or other such tests to make them eligible for admission only against any Non-Resident Indian seat or any supernumerary seat, provided that the OCI cardholder shall not be eligible for admission against any seat reserved exclusively for Indian citizens, the notification read.

The OCI cardholders also have parity in purchase or sale of immovable properties other than agricultural land or farm house or plantation property and pursuing professions like doctors, dentists, nurses and pharmacists in India as per the provisions contained in the applicable relevant statutes or laws

and this guy thinks that he was removed/sidelined because of his age

it's shameful that at his age, uncle continues to fool himself

"Heaven has no rage like love to hatred turned, nor Hell a fury like a woman scorned"

Year 2001 Surat SIMI meeting case; all 124 accused acquitted by local court
https://www.deshgujarat.com/2021/03/06/ ... cal-court/
According to lawyer of accused who have been acquitted, ‘in year 2001, Athwalines police station’s inspector Pancholi had filed First Information Report (FIR) claiming that he had secret information from the State government regarding a three-day convention of banned organization SIMI at Rajshi hall of Sangrampura area. The convention was raided by police and 123 persons were nabbed. Five other persons were nabbed later on for their alleged connection. Police probed the case and filed chargesheet under UAPA law sections 3, 10, 15 and 17. After about twenty years, Chief Judicial Magistrate Dave in his order today concluded that ...
...Some of those arrested were doctors, some educationists, some engineers and some were advocates and their motives could not be doubted.

Y I Patel wrote:Suraj,
Facts and numbers are your strong point, but you lead off with too many - taken individually, each is a strong piece of information; collectively they become an overwhelming for a reader. Less is sometimes more, and interweaving your facts within the larger theme will make it that much stronger.
I was trying not to say this (and get banned), which is why I was carefully querying Suraj on his intended audience instead :). This is the frustrating part of writing for a general audience. Too many facts and numbers, and they just tune out. Each fact and number that you present, shaves several % off of your original audience. When I present some of the stuff I write to SHQ for feedback, I often get "why do you make things so d*** intellectual all the time, who do you think will read all this?" And this is fiction I'm talking about, which is much more palatable to an average reader than non-fiction, with the material not really being that intellectual, it's based on basic research. And SHQ has a pretty high level of academic achievement herself - but then she's also talking from the point of view of her friends and relatives, most of whom have taken lifelong vows to *not* make the effort to grasp anything outside their comfort zone. I guess if the material which you present is in a different area to what one is used to reading about, it comes across as being too intellectual and intimidating, and "not worth the effort to make the leap." Which is why, I guess, most authors prefer to shove the references and stuff to the footnotes or endnotes. Most readers just want the juicy story part, the supporting pulp - they like that it's there for the sake of authenticity, but they don't want to get into it. They prefer to drink orange juice, rather than eat the orange.

Suraj - your article is great, factual, and well-thought-out. Kudos. It's just that I've dealt with the above frustration myself, so that's where I'm coming from. It's not us, it's them, but when we try to reach out to them, we have to deal with it, what to do onlee.
ParGha

Post by ParGha »

Suraj wrote:my perspective - the concept of liberal conservatism is quite hard to explain because of the awkward terminology, like 'hot-cold' or 'dry-wet'. It's easier to use contemporary examples rather than go very deep into history. Swarajya likes easy sentence morsels, since those can be tweeted. A simpler analogy of a contemporary leader is easier to convey. Additional material can work back history and demonstrate even more evidence. This is how narratives are built, after all.
Try "Progressives with Indian Characteristics" :twisted:

Very strange incidents happening in Maharashtra

About 10 days after construction grade gelatin sticks were found outside ambanis house inside a car, the owner of the car(mansukh hiren) has been found in mumbra - a Muslim ghetto on the outskirts of Mumbai district. The mumbai police claim it was a suspected suicide.

At face value, it appears that this person(mansukh) was being harassed by the Mumbai police for quite a while. He had sent a letter to ex-cm fadnavis detailing his grievances.

1) He either commits suicide(or the Mumbai police kill him)
2) The Mumbai police take his car and fill it with gelatin sticks found at construction sites.
3) They park it outside ambanis house in an effort to chase him out of Maharashtra
4) The mumbai police dumps mansukhs body at the mumbra ghetto and informs the media.

Very strange things indeed.

Facts and figures are essential. Without that, its just an opinion piece without corroboratory evidence.

Karan M wrote:Facts and figures are essential. Without that, its just an opinion piece without corroboratory evidence.
Exactly. Some of the feedback I get makes sense. Some does not.

The article is very explicitly an evidence-based foundation. It is not an opinion piece. It is intended explicitly to provide a solid evidentiary basis the classification on the political spectrum as a liberal conservative party, and then I proceeded to use an existing template to name it a Hindu Democratic party . I got some interesting feedback that Dharmic Democratic Party is also an option - an umbrella term for liberal-conservatism where the conservatism issue to an Indic religion. I responded sure, why not.

For some, all the links takes away from the flow of prose. If that's the argument, that is fine, but the article will not compensate for that. The other side of the 'too much numbers' argument is the number of people who responded (on SM) asking why BJP does not publicize these accomplishments better. On the balance, I prefer the amount of data and the ability to educate.

Those who don't like numbers probably aren't an audience. In fact the question 'who is it intended for' is confusing. All manner of people will read regardless of who it is 'aimed at'. It's easier to describe ones own causes for disliking the article, like YIP's very sharp criticism. That's fine with me. I expect to get some 'this is really good' and some 'this it terrible, you clucked up and missed so many opportunities' responses.

The article is serving as a base around with more such works will be written (I've at least one more being planned, and JEM and I probably another). The goal is to popularize the understanding of liberal conservatism as a concept and the terminology to describe the BJP, which right now basically gets called names, and it does nothing about it because there's no evidence based solid categorization it can stick to.

The list of legislation (I specifically picked legislation that's already passed both houses to ensure rigour - so I didn't include the abortion bill which is pending RS) is fascinating. List them as a blind test and 10/10 will suggest it is some leftist/progressive party. The entire collechistorytion of the BJP's description as 'right wing' sounds incomprehensive versus that list, but those are very much within the scope of liberal conservatism.

Some statistics: at this point in less than 1.5 days since publication, it's been RTed about 3-400 times, across JEM, Ruchir Sharma, Prasanna Vishy, Koneraad Elst and more people on Teetar. That's a significant amount of reach, and it enables people to understand BJP's position on the political spectrum, giving them the confidence and understanding to write material that expresses the liberal conservative nature of the party. The normalization and standardization of terminology benefits the entire ecosystem.

As mentioned above, some of the detail (e.g history of CDU) has been deliberately left out in order to be palatable to the SM-friendly present and the language more sharper, as opposed to a magnum opus BRM article. For those who look at the article from the template of a BRM article, it will definitely seem too rough at the edges, and this is quite intentional.

^ Responded in the Indian Interests_2 thread, since it is getting OT here.

PM addresses the valedictory session of the Combined Commanders Conference at Kevadia, Gujarat
https://www.deshgujarat.com/2021/03/06/ ... a-gujarat/
Prime Minister was briefed by the Chief of Defence Staff about the discussions during this year’s Conference. The Prime Minister expressed his appreciation for the structure and agenda of the Conference. He particularly appreciated the inclusion of Junior Commissioned Officers and Non Commissioned Officers in this year’s Conference.
Prime Minister stressed the importance of enhancing indigenisation in the national security system, not just in sourcing equipment and weapons but also in the doctrines, procedures and customs practiced in the armed forces.
He emphasized the need to optimise manpower planning in both military and civilian parts of the National security architecture. He also called for a holistic approach, focused on breaking down civil-military silos and on expediting the speed of decision making. He advised the Services to rid themselves of legacy systems and practices that have outlived their utility and relevance.
Taking note of the rapidly changing technological landscape, Prime Minister highlighted the need to develop the Indian military into a ‘future force’.

Prime Minister pointed out that the country would be celebrating 75 years of its independence next year, and called upon the armed forces to use the occasion to undertake activities and initiatives that would inspire the youth of the country.

nvishal wrote:Very strange incidents happening in Maharashtra

About 10 days after construction grade gelatin sticks were found outside ambanis house inside a car, the owner of the car(mansukh hiren) has been found in mumbra - a Muslim ghetto on the outskirts of Mumbai district. The mumbai police claim it was a suspected suicide.

At face value, it appears that this person(mansukh) was being harassed by the Mumbai police for quite a while. He had sent a letter to ex-cm fadnavis detailing his grievances.

1) He either commits suicide(or the Mumbai police kill him)
2) The Mumbai police take his car and fill it with gelatin sticks found at construction sites.
3) They park it outside ambanis house in an effort to chase him out of Maharashtra
4) The mumbai police dumps mansukhs body at the mumbra ghetto and informs the media.

Very strange things indeed.
While it is not uncommon for police to harass commoners, it is indeed strange that they would go to such extent to frame and bump off this guy. What is it that a small time car accessories dealer had on the police that they were after him ? When did he write to Devendra Fadnavis ? Who were the officers who were behind his harassment ? Too many questions and very few answers. It shouldn't be too difficult for Mumbai police to make a regular citizen like Mansukh disappear for good without staging an elaborate drama, there's definitely more to this case than what we are lead to believe.

On a side note, for all the money Ambani has he should invest on better security cameras. The grainy, low resolution footage looks like it was shot from a 15 yr old Nokia phone. The Toyota Innova which followed the scorpio and left on its own would have revealed much had the camera been able to capture better quality images.

For all we know, they have all good quality videos. However, what I don't understand is why no videos from the car owner himself. In this day and age, it's lot easier to leave a digital footprint. Entity like Republic TV should spend some money to allow submission of information.
venkat_kv

Post by venkat_kv »

Suraj wrote:With JE Menon’s support, I had my first article published on SwarajyaMag:
congrats on a very well written article Suraj San. Its good to see good thinkers, articulate writers with sharp wit going mainstream from BRF. Rohitvats has gone main stream along with Shiv Saar,, JE Menon, Indranil, JayS and now Suraj San has joined them. Hope you write more and shape young minds positively.

I hope Karan M ultimately finishes his writing with regards to the Indian DDRDO contributions for AtmaNirbhar Bharat for local MIC and Shiv Saar also goes mainstream in publishing with his views regularly from now one.
On a side note I hope the next level of writers come in the form of Chetak Saar with his sharp wit and acerbic prose and Jamwal saab with his anecdotes from his travels on the ground level info.

Suraj-san, a very well-written article, and thought provoking to the average reader. Hopefully, with a sustained use of this term, it catches on. I hope you are considering writing more such articles, especially in the economic domain. While Swarajya has a good panel of columnists writing about economics, as your bio states, articles from a politico-economic perspective would not hurt. Basically more like your BRF posts disseminated to a wider audience :)

All the best!

P.S. Could you share how one gets published in Swarajya? I have been thinking of blogging on a few topics, and would love to contribute to a platform like Swarajya if the opportunity presents itself.

Thanks ! Yes I plan to write more, and focused more on political economy .

JEM asked me to write articles quite some time ago . I finally wrote one and sent him the draft . He forwarded it to Swarajya who accepted it immediately and published it within a matter of hours after reformatting it to make everything into small bite size portions that could be tweeted .

Like I said it’s foundation material with reference data . It got surprising traction because it’s original research and hopefully it enables various folks to write more articles building upon a solid foundation that gives them the list of achievements, legislation and political spectrum classification.

From my own research I’ve never seen BJP properly characterized, and certainly not as a liberal Conservative party. But that’s exactly what their record shows. I did not like the whole Modi=Trump analogy. The republicans would never pass abortion and transgender rights legislation. The BJP has already done both, and more . They are much more like the Christian Democrats in this regard.

Excellent piece, Suraj! Just finished reading it & found it enjoyable. Brings a fresh perspective & I hope this re-characterization of BJP takes hold.

I'd be curious to know how BJP views itself (if it indeed has such a view). Since the RSS serves as the ideological foundation of the BJP, it'll be good to compare your characterization with their self-characterization

Suraj wrote:Thanks ! Yes I plan to write more, and focused more on political economy .

JEM asked me to write articles quite some time ago . I finally wrote one and sent him the draft . He forwarded it to Swarajya who accepted it immediately and published it within a matter of hours after reformatting it to make everything into small bite size portions that could be tweeted .

Like I said it’s foundation material with reference data . It got surprising traction because it’s original research and hopefully it enables various folks to write more articles building upon a solid foundation that gives them the list of achievements, legislation and political spectrum classification.

From my own research I’ve never seen BJP properly characterized, and certainly not as a liberal Conservative party. But that’s exactly what their record shows. I did not like the whole Modi=Trump analogy. The republicans would never pass abortion and transgender rights legislation. The BJP has already done both, and more . They are much more like the Christian Democrats in this regard.
Suraj,

why don't you send the link of the article to Ram Madhav @rammadhavbjp

be interesting to see what sort of a take he would have.

Is Reliance not capable of finding anyone outside china to do it?
Reliance Jio reportedly working on ‘JioBook’, a 4G-ready low-cost laptop: Report
https://indianexpress.com/article/techn ... 5890/lite/
The report adds that Jio is partnering with China-based Bluebank Communication Technology, which is an engineering firm that creates mobile devices and develops software for third-parties. XDA Developers’ report is based on documents they have reviewed and includes images of the purported laptop.
Given the product is under development one cannot take it for certain that Jio will launch the device in the market. The reports states assembly for the product might start in May 2021, though the actual release date, if any remains unknown.

@kaushikcbasu next time maybe you can teach pappu and gang basic maths and charts rather than discussing "Silk route with a nervous system"

Who controls union territory?
Late Mohan Delkar’s son meets CR Patil in Surat
https://www.deshgujarat.com/2021/03/07/ ... -in-surat/
Delkar’s son after meeting with CR Patil said: I have made only demand in the meeting that the administrator and the officers in union territory should be removed. The name that has emerged in this case is Praful Patel. He is on the post of administrator. He should be removed from the post so that neutral probe can be initiated. My father had told me so many things, but we never imagined, it would go to this extent. We are in correspondence, we will disclose more details eventually. We have full faith on Mumbai Police that they will do all procedure, but the administrator has to be removed from his post so that neutral probe can proceed.’

Prem Kumar wrote:I'd be curious to know how BJP views itself (if it indeed has such a view). Since the RSS serves as the ideological foundation of the BJP, it'll be good to compare your characterization with their self-characterization
The thing with political spectrums is that parties evolve along them over time. Or they have factions whose relative strength evolves over time. For BJP and BJS before them, they took a while to evolve a position that gained them a broad mainstream electoral base. I'm using these terms as I understand them and someone more conversant in all the pol sci could suggest others:
- they had a more nationalist-conservative bent originally e.g. when created by SP Mukherjee, and during Balraj Madhok's time.
- Under LKA and with RJB they moved towards right wing populism. Populism is a good way to add numbers to a voter base, but it's really hard to sustain long term because, to quote Thatcher, you have to spend other people's money on populism.
- The policy record of the Modi administrations is strongly evident of a more liberal conservative positioning. This might surprise some, but the data shows it.

Parties evolve over time. People also evolve over time. LKA did. Even Modi has. This is normal. A sophisticated view of our polity includes the acceptance of this. Assuming that the BJP is one single thing (or worse, all kinds of things at once) is a political engagement doomed to consistent sniping between sections of people and the polity, even though these are supporters. One of the goals here is to help enable understanding that lessens the 'why doesn't the BJP do xyz ??? :(('.

CDU/CSU has factions. The Bavarian CSU are more socially conservative than the CDU overall - Merkel is from the godless former East Germany, not Bavaria. Merkel is more religious than her predecessor Helmut Kohl. More like Adenauer in this regard, but perhaps Y I Patel is more familiar with this.
chetak wrote:Suraj,

Thanks, I think it needs a little more material to get to the point of reaching out that high. I'm working on a little more now. In any case it's easier if someone else passes the link on.

Prem Kumar wrote:I'd be curious to know how BJP views itself (if it indeed has such a view). Since the RSS serves as the ideological foundation of the BJP, it'll be good to compare your characterization with their self-characterization
The thing with political spectrums is that parties evolve along them over time. Or they have factions whose relative strength evolves over time. For BJP and BJS before them, they took a while to evolve a position that gained them a broad mainstream electoral base. I'm using these terms as I understand them and someone more conversant in all the pol sci could suggest others:
- they had a more nationalist-conservative bent originally e.g. when created by SP Mukherjee, and during Balraj Madhok's time.
- Under LKA and with RJB they moved towards right wing populism. Populism is a good way to add numbers to a voter base, but it's really hard to sustain long term because, to quote Thatcher, you have to spend other people's money on populism.
- The policy record of the Modi administrations is strongly evident of a more liberal conservative positioning. This might surprise some, but the data shows it.

Parties evolve over time. People also evolve over time. LKA did. Even Modi has. This is normal. A sophisticated view of our polity includes the acceptance of this. Assuming that the BJP is one single thing (or worse, all kinds of things at once) is a political engagement doomed to consistent sniping between sections of people and the polity, even though these are supporters. One of the goals here is to help enable understanding that lessens the 'why doesn't the BJP do xyz ??? :(('.

CDU/CSU has factions. The Bavarian CSU are more socially conservative than the CDU overall - Merkel is from the godless former East Germany, not Bavaria. Merkel is more religious than her predecessor Helmut Kohl. More like Adenauer in this regard, but perhaps Y I Patel is more familiar with this.
chetak wrote:Suraj,

Thanks, I think it needs a little more material to get to the point of reaching out that high. I'm working on a little more now. In any case it's easier if someone else passes the link on.
Overall, it was impressive article. I was collecting all this info on hoping to write on how welfarism should be executed in poor countries like India.

We need to do more:

* one track has to be impressive gains made by BJP - FInanical inclusion Jandhan, DBT and UPI, farm reforms
* one track has to be privatization, capacity increase and expansion of manufacturing via policy changes of incentives.

I wish BJP folks are more smarter and propagate this message than trying to suck up to the leadership

Nita Mukesh Ambani launches ‘Her Circle’ digital platform for women
https://www.deshgujarat.com/2021/03/07/ ... for-women/
This first-of-its-kind digital networking platform aims to accelerate women’s empowerment and strengthen the bonds of sisterhood globally by providing them a joyful and safe space for interaction, engagement, collaboration, and mutual support.
40 year old Mohammed Intezar trying to marry minor Hindu girl, insist Hindu orgs, Delhi Police denies: Details
https://www.opindia.com/2021/03/hindu-o ... ce-denies/

13-year-old Ludhiana girl abducted by one Babar with the help of his mother rescued from Surat, was subjected to sexual exploitation
https://www.opindia.com/2021/03/13-year ... rom-surat/

Sher Khan Killed Naina Kaur For Turning Him Down. So which Family Left The House In Fear?
https://swarajyamag.com/ideas/sher-khan ... se-in-fear

‘She Died Fighting Forced Conversion’. Nikita Tomar’s Father Criticises Documentary That Says Her Murder Had Nothing To Do With Religion

https://swarajyamag.com/news-brief/she- ... h-religion

Suraj wrote:Thanks ! Yes I plan to write more, and focused more on political economy .
Maybe it's time to bring back BR Monitor :D

Multi-billionaire M George Muthoot , the founder of world's largest gold backed money lending company 'The Muthoot Group' and financier of hundreds of politicians in all 5 southern states was found dead at his Delhi house last night. The police say he accidently fell from fourth floor to the ground floor and died on the spot. It must be noted that one of George Muthoot's son, Paul Muthoot, was brutally murdered in Kerala in 2009, the motive for the crime remains largely unknown to this day.

KJo wrote:Maybe it's time to bring back BR Monitor :D
+100.

Ambar wrote:It must be noted that one of George Muthoot's son, Paul Muthoot, was brutally murdered in Kerala in 2009, the motive for the crime remains largely unknown to this day.
First Report:

Nine get life term for 2009 murder of Muthoot group scion.

A CBI court in Thiruvananthapuram on Tuesday sentenced nine accused to life imprisonment and four others to three years in jail in the sensational case pertaining to the murder of young businessman Paul Muthoot George in 2009. George had been the executive director of the Rs 20,000-crore Muthoot Group, one of the leading NBFCs in the country.

Earlier in the day, judge R Raghu found 13 accused persons guilty while acquitting another alleged accused. The nine accused persons, who got life term, had direct involvement in the murder, while the other four had been charged for destroying the evidence.

paul muthoot georgeGeorge was the executive director of the Rs 20,000-crore Muthoot Group, one of the leading NBFC in the country.

According to the prosecution, George was travelling along the Alappuzha-Changanassery road on the night of August 22, 2009. He was accompanied by two wanted criminals, Om Prakash and Puthanpalam Rajesh, who allegedly had links with CPI (M) leaders.

The accused persons were members of a supari gang, who were going from Changanassery to Alappuzha in two vans to attack a person in Alappuzha. However, one of their vehicles developed some hitch. While they were repairing the vehicle, the car in which George and his friends were travelling hit a two-wheeler parked near the van which was being repaired. However, George drove away without attending to the two-wheeler rider. This provoked supari gang leader K Jayachandran who asked his colleagues in the other vehicle to follow the car.

The other gang members acted accordingly and tracked down the businessman’s car later in that night. They got into a scuffle with George and subsequently, one of the gang members, K Satheesh, stabbed George. Meanwhile, the two criminals who were accompanying George fled the scene.

Initially, the case was probed by the state police. But, George’s family moved the High Court, which handed over the probe to CBI. Both investigating agencies had concluded that there was no conspiracy behind the murder, which, according to the police, was an outcome of an accidental roadside scuffle.

The murder had snowballed into a major controversy after it was found that the criminals, Om Prakash and Puthanpalam Rajesh, were allegedly close to the son of then home minister Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, a CPI (M) Politburo member. The state police revealed that George was stabbed using an “S” shaped knife. They recovered one such knife, but later a blacksmith said the police had asked him to make such a knife after the murder. CPI(M) leader Pinarayi Vijayan, then party state secretary, had joined issue saying the S knife was normally used by the RSS.

Second Report:

Drugs, Deals and Dons Dealt in Death.

The mystery behind the murder of Paul Muthoot George, scion of one of India’s biggest financial companies, on August 21, 2009, has been solved on August 31 with the sentencing of the accused.

The case involved a rich and flamboyant victim, his cronies who fled from the murder scene and gangsters who decided to deliver their own form of justice. Paul, who was hacked to death in Kerala's Alapuzha, was the 32-year-old son of the multi-crore Muthoot M George Group chairman M G George. Paul was the executive director of the group and was heading its hospitality sector with varied interests in tourism and resorts at various places in Kerala.

The Kerala Police cracked the case within 24 hours and they found that a myterious woman, Vilasini, and her son Satheesh Kumar who had a criminal background, were involved in it.

According to Inspector General (IG) Vinson M Paul who was heading the Special Investigation Team (SIT), the SUV driven by Paul knocked down a two-wheeler at Pallathuruthy around 2.5 km from the murder spot and he drove away without stopping. As many as 22 gangsters from Changanassery who were on their way to Alappuzha for some ‘quotation’ work were at the accident spot, fixing a problem in one of their vehicles. Some of them chased Paul’s vehicle and intercepted it when he stopped to check the radiator of his SUV. A scuffle took place between Paul and the gangsters, during which he was stabbed from behind. However, the goons fled when they saw an approaching vehicle driven by Paul’s driver Shibu.

However the ‘real’ motive behind the murder remained a puzzle to many even after the local police and the CBI arrived at the same conclusion that it was the result of a freak road rage.

There was a controversy regarding a S-shaped knife for which even the police were under the scanner after a news channel aired an investigation report which said a certain circle inspector approached a blacksmith in Alappuzha to make an ‘S’ shaped knife after the IG told media that the murderer had used such a knife. The case was then handed over to the CBI by the Kerala High Court. While the police chargesheet had stated that a ‘S’ shaped knife had been used to stab Paul, the CBI charge sheet said another knife was used to stab the victim which was recovered from Manancherry at Alappuzha. Twenty eight persons were accused by the CBI in its charge-sheets.

A CBI special court on August 31 sentenced nine accused—Jayachandran, Satheesh, Sathar, Sujith, Akash Sasidharan, Satheesh Kumar, Rajeev Kumar, Shino Paul and Faisal—to life imprisonment and four others to rigorous imprisonment of three years each.

However, Paul’s murder had exposed the nexus between the worlds of business and crime. Omprakash and Puthenpalam Rajesh, who were wanted under the Goonda Act, were accompanying Paul at the time of the incident. It was learnt that Omprakash, who was in a hideout in Tamil Nadu, had gone to Kochi to meet Paul as wanted by the latter. Paul was suspected to have been using the services of the two for certain shady business dealings.

The tycoon, a bachelor, who had been living in Delhi for many years, had also figured in a Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances case. A person identified as Fazal Khan, who was held by the Delhi police with 125 gm for heroin, had confessed before the police that he used to supply the heroin to Paul. But Paul was later acquitted by a Delhi court in the case citing that the prosecution could not prove his involvement in the case.