Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

Karan M wrote:It just speaks of systematic shortcomings within whole GOI. The bigger issue is also the lack of governance at state level which have got used to central funding and money and assistance for crisis management. We really need some sort of revamp of the whole decision making structure. I have been hearing multiple accounts of how within moments of directive, admin officials are setting up infra. Qn is why did they wait, and that is the issue - the lack of empowerment and accountability at the bureaucratic level which is our real issue. If you need politicians to tell you common sensical things, and their approval for everything, it means the system is an issue.
I have seen this too many times to mistake it for anything else.

These guys have had their darbari privileges curtailed, money making opportunities have evaporated, there is no institutional "gossip" to sustain them, keep their marketable influence intact and their patronage possibilities are currently nonexistent unless they want the ED to come calling.

They have all told their bosses with the utmost sincerity at their crooked command and with the straightest of faces, used only when barefacedly lying, to assure them of their utmost cooperation and this dreaded phrase is trotted out without fail: "sir, we are all with you and we will do exactly as you say"

which means that unless they get directions, every single minute of every day, they will sit back and "wait for aadesh from the mantri or the boss".

and when asked why did you not do this, they will innocently say "sir, we did not get any aadesh from you so we were waiting" Please tell us what to do now

each and every one of these @h0!e$ knows very well how to play the game and how to stay "blameless" because, that is what their mussoorie training is all about

this is what is happening with the congi pasand parivaari and darbaari babooze. The others will simply not rock the boat because of the dreaded "annual confidential report" syndrome and the threat of transfer to some irrelevant position.

In the meantime, they are all waiting it out for the BJP storm to pass and the benign and generous eyetalian sun to shine on them once again

BTW, health, as well as, disaster management are both stage subjects and every babooze knows it well, as do indeed, the state govts
Let me offer a slightly different take, hopefully it is not too OT.

I have been following with dismay the Supreme Court "orders", "comments", "strictures"--I don't know what to call them--every day basically scolding the government like parents may scold a small child about covid management. Nothing to do with deciding a case, just intervening and scolding.

And nobody thinks this is strange or weird. Modi-haters are happy that the SC is scolding, Modi-supporters may be angry that this particular scolding is happening, but are not against the idea of scolding itself.

I think there is some kind of infantilization of officials in the administrative hierarchy: higher-ups are constantly scolding and abusing the lower-downs, either for doing something, or not doing something, doesn't matter. I think this is a cultural quirk of our people, something that kills initiative and decision-making. If you are going to be scolded if you do, there is huge disincentive for doing anything, or taking any decision. If you don't do anything, and something bad happens, ok you will be scolded, but there is a chance that nothing bad may happen. So, optimal option is to do nothing and be passive.

This scolding culture is pervasive: parents scold children, housewives scold household help, teachers scold students, senior doctors scold junior doctors, etc. etc. It is as though, if you don't scold, you are unfit to be a higher-up.

vijayk wrote:Telugu doctor is recommending this

Dr. Venkata Rao (in the telugu video) is recommending that people not go to hospitals for oxygenation, or rely on oxygen cylinders at all; instead get an oxygen concentrator which is available for rent.

Is this a really viable option? If so, why is everyone so focussed on oxygen cylinders, liquid O2 etc.?

Ambar wrote:Karan, my point is even the best prepared government with a robust public healthcare system will fail when hit by a pandemic of this proportion with 1.33 billion people to take care of where many are poor. Yes, as i've said many a times we should have prepared for increase in o2 consumption, ICUs, ventilators, ambulances etc, (which in my opinion we should be doing every year between mar and aug given the increase in flu cases), but beyond that any healthcare system will be overrun when hundreds of thousands fall ill suddenly. The other thing we seem to be forgetting are deaths and hospitalizations by other causes which will now increase significantly due to lack of hospital beds, doctors and other healthcare staff most of whom are geared towards saving covid flu patients. At the current trajectory i expect a million cases and 5k deaths/day by the time we peak .

I am probably imagining a ray of hope in all this but Chattisgarh and Maharashtra's rate of new case growth is slowing. MH, DL and CG combined contribute 50% of our total cases/fatalities. We are half way there if we can get these 3 cases under control, the flu in southern states usually remain until Jul so i suspect they will be the last ones to peak.

Everything aside we have an endemic issue of corruption which would have scuttled even the best prepared plans. I try not to add more gloom and doom to this already depressing thread but its hard to ignore the news channels showing wailing bereaved families being looted by ambulance drivers, morgues, hospitals and govt officials. With such fundamental issues we had set ourselves up for failure even before the pandemic. If indiscipline and poor governance doesn't kill us then greed certainly will.
+1 to any system can be overwhelmed if the outbreak is big enough.

Back in January Los Angeles area faced a huge second-wave, mostly affecting younger people, with hospitals overflowing. Fortunately it only lasted a few weeks, but it was scary while it lasted.

Recoveries exceeded new cases in Maharashtra yesterday. Hopefully that was not a data issue and if it continues, it can be said the outbreak has peaked there.

Another statistic I found is that 40% of India's population is under 18 years of age. As the virus starts to find it harder to spread in the 18+ cohort, it is likely to mutate to target the under 18 population. Specialized pediatric equipment and adapters will be needed for the third wave I think.

India airlifts 23 oxygen generation plants from Germany.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 216842.cms
Punjabi

Post by Punjabi »

https://www.yahoo.com/news/hell-prime-m ... 31581.html
As usual, worthless garbage like Rana DimTube spitting venom against NaMo. I hope this doesn't get ugly. BIFs are trying to tie it around NaMo like crazy with Xiden refusing to help with raw materials. FatGermanAuntiMerkel talking garbage that India is to blame for not meeting its commitments...all Goras and their coconuts piling up on GOI... Goras forget that this is what NYC, LA looked like except India has more people...
People who lost their loved ones are not going to forget this sleeping on the wheel...
I just pray this gets better...

@Suraj this piece of info will come handy for you in your article (Its about money allocated by Central Govt for Oxygen plant):

https://pib.gov.in/Pressreleaseshare.aspx?PRID=1686271

vijayk wrote:Telugu doctor is recommending this

Dr. Venkata Rao (in the telugu video) is recommending that people not go to hospitals for oxygenation, or rely on oxygen cylinders at all; instead get an oxygen concentrator which is available for rent.

Is this a really viable option? If so, why is everyone so focussed on oxygen cylinders, liquid O2 etc.?
A classmate doctor of mine, cancer specialist who knows a thing or two about immunology, has said oxygen concentrators are a good alternative to medical oxygen. Available in most surgical supply stores.

I'm wondering then why are we seeing patients die in hospitals due to medical O2 shortage? Latest in Delhi, 22 patients in Covid ICU died as O2 ran out and pressure dropped.

Next thing, there will be a run on these machines.

vera_k wrote:Recoveries exceeded new cases in Maharashtra yesterday. Hopefully that was not a data issue and if it continues, it can be said the outbreak has peaked there.

Another statistic I found is that 40% of India's population is under 18 years of age. As the virus starts to find it harder to spread in the 18+ cohort, it is likely to mutate to target the under 18 population. Specialized pediatric equipment and adapters will be needed for the third wave I think.
This virus is probably here to stay for some time. It is mutating and newer and more virulent strains appear all the time.

considering India's population and the grim possibility of the need for vaccinating everyone, this herd immunity thingie is at best iffy and unpredictable, we may well be looking at the domestic need for vaccine doses in excess of 2 billion.

I do not think that the entre world currently has the capacity to produce vaccine doses in such numbers and this is India alone that we are talking about.

all countries are essentially inward looking in a crisis, as they are bound to be and should be.

This nonsense about charity and helping out has been reduced to an India only narrative as though no one else has the responsibility to help out. the whites plundered India during WWII without a second thought to the misery of the native populations. more than two million Indian soldiers fought for the allied whites. They have deliberately chosen to ignore our misery as well as our contributions. War memorials for the Indian dead soldiers are very few. They gleefully stole money and material from India for their war needs and that was done without any payment.

They are now doing the very same thing with vaccines. america, canada, japan et al are sitting on huge stockpiles of vaccines. It will take the japs but a few days to accord approval for the use of the vaccine stocks that they are holding, likewise in some other countries too.

EU, UK and america, all pontificating and allegedly highly moral abrahamic societies, have made it clear that they will not help out India as far as the vaccine production is concerned.

Africa is threatening India and demanding that, notwithstanding, the crisis in India, their share of the vaccines not be held up.

we have fooled ourselves for the longest time that humanity is an all-pervading motivational force and dharmic values are inherent in every civilization.

In all this, the russkies, as usual, are the only ones who have stepped in to help India out with their sputnik vaccine.

the amerikis instead of pitching in with help, have ganged up with their cheeni pals to shaft India

we have been kicked in the teeth, time and again, and yet we have not learned the ways of the world.

we need to consolidate and deliver on a long term basis to reduce dependencies on goras and stand on our own feet as far as vital inputs are concerned.

At least a start has been made by Modi with the Atmanirbhar Bharat initiatives.

But the US, EU and UK stand on not helping India in these times of crises should serve as a permanent guideline for future Indian govts to deal with them

meanwhile, back at the ranch....

Tamilnadu Government has approached court to STOP Sterlite, opening and producing Oxygen. The BIF and the conversion mafias are still riding tall and openly going against humanitarian values knowing that the GoI has to scramble to supply oxygen to TN hospitals

SOS tweets demanding Oxygen supply from various Hospitals are just to create panic. See any SOS tweet & if you follow update, you will find that Medical Oxygen has reached there. Sadly very low % of public follow the update of Oxygen been supplied. Its just part of Toolkit.

According to a another new toolkit. Today : Tamils, Bengali, Dalits and now Jatts are not Hindus. Tomorrow: No one is Hindu, as they are extinct

The GoI should think big by quickly building and leasing out vaccine producing facilities to producers like SI and BB along with some others who have a proven record of timely delivery

Ambar wrote:Karan, my point is even the best prepared government with a robust public healthcare system will fail when hit by a pandemic of this proportion with 1.33 billion people to take care of where many are poor. Yes, as i've said many a times we should have prepared for increase in o2 consumption, ICUs, ventilators, ambulances etc, (which in my opinion we should be doing every year between mar and aug given the increase in flu cases), but beyond that any healthcare system will be overrun when hundreds of thousands fall ill suddenly. The other thing we seem to be forgetting are deaths and hospitalizations by other causes which will now increase significantly due to lack of hospital beds, doctors and other healthcare staff most of whom are geared towards saving covid flu patients. At the current trajectory i expect a million cases and 5k deaths/day by the time we peak .
I dont think there is such a massive increase that the Indian state couldnt manage it all. We are beginning to manage it now. The problem is that by the time our response got in gear, a huge amount of damage would already have been done. In any risk analysis, you have multiple levels of responses which can be activated given the gravity of the issue. We had baseline estimates of the 2nd wave from the world over, 3x, 4x was common. We could have used that vis a vis what we observed in Wave 1 and planned for it accordingly, with the quantum of effort already planned for, key personnel alerted, trained and so on and so forth. This if you dont want to do some complex modeling and think that its not accurate etc. Instead, we are caught in the middle of the wave and are now seeking to resolve things. I dont think even you'd agree this is the ideal way to go about things.

I see far too many handwaves made for what is essentially a planning issue and one of SOPs. The Indian military has SOPs for most things, many mock them, but they exist for a reason. In our case, we dont even seem to have learnt from what happened in Wave 1, which had a mini version of whatever we are seeing now. Its inexplicable to me, that we are seeing the same thing repeat, and yet, the previous event seems to have been ignored completely.
Raja

Post by Raja »

Karan M wrote: I dont think there is such a massive increase that the Indian state couldnt manage it all. We are beginning to manage it now. The problem is that by the time our response got in gear, a huge amount of damage would already have been done. In any risk analysis, you have multiple levels of responses which can be activated given the gravity of the issue. We had baseline estimates of the 2nd wave from the world over, 3x, 4x was common. We could have used that vis a vis what we observed in Wave 1 and planned for it accordingly, with the quantum of effort already planned for, key personnel alerted, trained and so on and so forth. This if you dont want to do some complex modeling and think that its not accurate etc. Instead, we are caught in the middle of the wave and are now seeking to resolve things. I dont think even you'd agree this is the ideal way to go about things.

I see far too many handwaves made for what is essentially a planning issue and one of SOPs. The Indian military has SOPs for most things, many mock them, but they exist for a reason. In our case, we dont even seem to have learnt from what happened in Wave 1, which had a mini version of whatever we are seeing now. Its inexplicable to me, that we are seeing the same thing repeat, and yet, the previous event seems to have been ignored completely.
100% agree. There should have been a plan in place. At the very least, alarm bells should have been ringing when cases went past 100K. That would have still given us 2 weeks of lead, instead of running around like chickens now.

Covid 19, Poor Country and the West

DrRatnadip

Post by DrRatnadip »

Cyrano wrote:
KLNMurthy wrote: Dr. Venkata Rao (in the telugu video) is recommending that people not go to hospitals for oxygenation, or rely on oxygen cylinders at all; instead get an oxygen concentrator which is available for rent.

A classmate doctor of mine, cancer specialist who knows a thing or two about immunology, has said oxygen concentrators are a good alternative to medical oxygen. Available in most surgical supply stores.

I'm wondering then why are we seeing patients die in hospitals due to medical O2 shortage? Latest in Delhi, 22 patients in Covid ICU died as O2 ran out and pressure dropped.

Next thing, there will be a run on these machines.
-O2 concentraters are useful in mild cases and few moderate cases also..But pts who require oxygen are more likely to worsen and require other supportive measures also which can not be administered in home setting..
-More important thing is continuous monitoring and identifying early signs of detoriation which can only be done in hospitals..
- Concentraters do not deliver 100 percent FiO2 .. They are good for pts who require 35 - 40 percent oxygen..
- 2 month back we got a concentrater at 35k price.. Now wender is asking for 75 k for same model..
Sicanta

Post by Sicanta »

Dr Randeep Guleria, Dr Naresh Trehan & Dr Devi Shetty address the situation of #COVID19

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awXovTfHX3I

Suraj wrote:I posted this on Twitter:
https://twitter.com/surajbrf/status/138 ... 88929?s=21
If you were in charge of any given state, how easily can you predict mid April in February ? Or even in mid March ?

....Take Feb or March in complete isolation and try to establish how well one could projects raging wave within 2 weeks ?
I went thru your series of posts on teeter and covid19india site. Rate of growth of daily confirmed cases was approx. 2.5% from Feb. through middle of March, which you have highlighted in your post as cases picking up in March. If Feb and March data is looked at in isolation with the benefit of "rate of growth" from previous months as a first derivative tool, one give-away observation is that the rate of growth of confirmed cases declined for few months up to February and then started picking up at an average rate of 2.5%, which kept increasing each week.

Question is, how good this information is in predicting April surge? This question is difficult to answer due to lack of information on the extent of people to people to contact. For example, I created a simple model in which you start with 1000 infected people. Assuming that each infected person gets in touch with one new person each day with two scenarios. In one scenario, the odds of newly contacted person getting the virus has 50% odds and in the second scenario odds are 25%. These scenarios need to be further split into two best and worst case scenarios where the rate of infection to human body can vary (earliest signs of symptoms 6 days or latest 15-20 days). In these scenarios, the assumption is that infected person is prevented from further human contacts in 6 days or 20 days. Given these variations, the potential increase in the future infections (or surge) can vary by a wide margin. Data suggests that the second order derivative was positive for March. We have only one year of data to work with, so there is not much to go in terms of back testing.

He's a communist.

They're only allowed to spend other people's money.

He can't go against his religion.
but, then again, health is a state subject and pinarayi vijyan simply cannot wash his hands off it.

somehow, this guy always reminds me of imran khan niazi, always begging and threatening alternately.

Pinarayi Vijayan@vijayanpinarayi

Maximum vaccination is required to crush 2nd wave of #COVID19.

Requested @PMOIndia to reconsider new policy on vaccine distribution so that availability is assured & no additional financial burden is incurred, enabling States to perform constitutional obligation in health sector.

mappunni

Post by mappunni »

What else can you expect from PeeNari? This fellow went to Mayo Clinic, Rochester NY to get treated for cancer, similarly his lieutenant Kodiyeri was Houston MD Anderson once again for getting his cancer treated. All at the taxpayer's expense.

Now Yechuri's son who passed away was at Medanta hospital which is apparently considered a 5-star kind of hospital.

PeeNari = IM the Dim when it comes to begging!

Vaccinations need to be first targeted to those localities ringing present hot spots not the hot spots themselves.

Should include lorry drivers etc. Immunise immediately.

Covaxin pricing announcement:

For state governments: Rs 600
For private hospitals: Rs 1200
Exports: $15-20
Aldonkar

Post by Aldonkar »

Punjabi wrote:https://www.yahoo.com/news/hell-prime-m ... 31581.html
As usual, worthless garbage like Rana DimTube spitting venom against NaMo. I hope this doesn't get ugly. BIFs are trying to tie it around NaMo like crazy with Xiden refusing to help with raw materials. FatGermanAuntiMerkel talking garbage that India is to blame for not meeting its commitments...all Goras and their coconuts piling up on GOI... Goras forget that this is what NYC, LA looked like except India has more people...
People who lost their loved ones are not going to forget this sleeping on the wheel...
I just pray this gets better...
I have always maintained that countries cannot rely on "friends" and must be as self-sufficient as possible. Countries just have interests and ally with others that have similar interests as India is now discovering.

I am not surprised by the attitude of the US. Biden is continuing the Trump policy of putting America first. I am surprised by Merkel's attitude of "we can't rely on India for our pharmaceutical supplies". Most of Europe gets its generic medications from India because they cannot beat it on price. I live in the UK and much of my medication is made in India.
I am surprised that the UK has not made more effort to help India eg and airlift of Oxygen cylinders by the RAF. In fact none of the developed countries have lifted a finger without $$ changing hands. In the UK it is time to mobilise the substantial Indian community to pressure the Government - after all, two of the highest offices of State are occupied by persons of Indian descent.

Bengaluru Reports Over 17,000 Covid Cases In Biggest Single-Day Surge
The Karnataka technical advisory committee on Covid has asked the state government to impose stringent restrictions, including lockdown for two weeks to break the chain of infections.

The members of the panel have asked the state government to increase the number of hospital beds to tide over the crisis.

"There are two main strategies. First, we need to reduce the number of cases and that will happen only by a stringent lockdown for at least 14 days. And second, we should expand the bed capacity by taking as much as possible beds from all private medical colleges, nursing homes and hospitals," Public Health Foundation of India's Giridhar Babu told news agency PTI.

DrRatnadip

Post by DrRatnadip »

DrRatnadip wrote: -Two days back I admitted a 26 year old female with covid.. she was absolutely normal 3 days back.. she then developed irrelevant talk and mild to moderate fever.. No respiratory complaints.. within one day she became unconcious.. CT severity score was 6 (mild disease).. Her inflamatory markers were haywire.. Her respiratory system was good but virus or associated immune response damaged her nervous system leading to encephalopathy and myopathy.. In few young pts virus is presenting with uncommon symptoms..

-No role of steroids in prophylaxis.. Ivermectin we are using in confirmed close contacts and in mild cases..
Can the Nitric Oxide nasal spray work? Nitric Oxide nasal sprays are over the counter in many countries. Can it be done in a clinical setting? Anyway, the patient may collapse, but it will help if the virus load decreases and the patient recovers.
I dont high hopes with NO sprays..

There is at least one clinical study from Bangladesh about povidone iodine nasal spray providing prophylaxis and even faster recovery. But the paper is printed in a no-name journal and I am not sure about how well the study design was. My guess it no harm if used occasionally as a prophylactic after exposure. There were other similar studies using similar antiviral agents.

A review paper of these studies:
https://www.futuremedicine.com/doi/full ... ossref.org

This is basically a variant of our age old jal-neti with copper activated water, except with stronger virucidal agents that can provide a longer prophylaxis and some post exposure defense.

Here is another paper, again from Dacca, on use of povidone iodine gargles and nasal sprays etc. reporting faster recoveries and reduced severity of disease and mortality. Again, no name journal and written poorly.. (but then I am not sure how much of me noticing this is just english language and anti third world prejudice.. these doctors have tried something and are reporting their results.. Perhaps its time we conducted some confirmartory trials as well)

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q ... Z06iRuBTRt

the money bit:
1% PVP-I is introduced into oral cavity as mouth wash. Care is taken to ensure the solution is distributed throughout the oral cavity for 30 seconds and then gently gargled or, held at the back of the throat for another 30 seconds before spitting out. Then 4-5 drops of 1% PVP-I is introduced to wash the nostrils by dropper and 2 drops in each eye. This application is done 4 hourly for 4 weeks.
In the study, more affected are male (79.87 %, N- 484) than female (20.13%, N- 122). The differences were not statistically significant (P>0.05). More (39.93%) patients are in the 31-50 years age group, followed by 34.65% in the 51-70 years age group (Table -1). In group A (patients used PVP-I), only 2.64% (N-8) patient is RT-PCR positive on the 7th day whereas in group B (patients used lukewarm water), it is 70.30% (N-213) (Table 2, Gr- A & B) (p>0.05). Data of Table 3(Gr-A&B) shows that 3.30% (N-10) hospitalized patients of group A needed oxygen support (by mechanical ventilator and/or high flow nasal cannula and/or non rebreather mask and/or face mask and/or nasal cannula) but 20.79% (N-63) patients of group B needed oxygen support. Mortality rate is high 5.6% (N-17) in group B than 0.66% (N-2) in group A. The differences were statistically significant (P<0.05).
An 8-9 fold reduction in both oxygen use and mortality. A very bold claim.. I guess at least this wont cause any harm and is worth trying out, especially in early stage of covid cases.

Raipur
I found that Raipur is trending downwards in number of new infections detected.

This was preceded by a complete lockdown that started on April 9.
Chhattisgarh: Raipur Under 10-day Lockdown From Today

IMO the messaging about containment zones needs to be substituted with such 10 day lockdowns until new cases start dropping.
Raja

Post by Raja »

Lockdowns work, but they come at a huge cost for the economy. However, we don't have a choice till vaccination coverage is much higher. But it doesn't make sense to do pan India lockdowns.

2.54 million vaccinations on Saturday, total 141 million
118.6 million first doses, 22.3 million fully vaccinated

Waiting for vaccination coverage to rise is not wise at the moment. As I found out, 40% of India's population is under 18, for whom there are no vaccines available just yet.

Getting the rise in new cases under control using lockdowns is needed just to avoid overwhelming the medical infrastructure. What the central government could do is provide some framework of metrics like hospital beds, availability of oxygen or other criteria that local authorities can use. Any place that is close to exceeding those metrics can then be mandated to impose a 10 day complete lockdown.

madhu

Post by madhu »

A very good webpage that keeps track of mutations of this virus. As per the web page there are 36 mutated virus in india itself.

https://nextstrain.org/ncov/global?l=clock

is there any portal which tracks city wise vaccination coverage data? I tried googling it but no luck.

In BLR more than 700 people are testing +ve per hour...the positivity rate is at 15%!! AIIMS director has also recommended doing a lockdown in areas where positive rate is higher than 10%...unfortunately, most of the high positive rate areas are also the ones which are major economic centers. At least a week (ideally 2) is required in BLR to put a pause on infection rates...but knowing BSY, he will not do a lockdown.
sajo

Post by sajo »

partha wrote:is there any portal which tracks city wise vaccination coverage data? I tried googling it but no luck.
dashboard.cowin.gov.in shows city wise coverage ,and even hospitalwise coverage within city.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=7800&p=2489707&hili ... d#p2489707

Zynda wrote:In BLR more than 700 people are testing +ve per hour...the positivity rate is at 15%!! AIIMS director has also recommended doing a lockdown in areas where positive rate is higher than 10%...unfortunately, most of the high positive rate areas are also the ones which are major economic centers. At least a week (ideally 2) is required in BLR to put a pause on infection rates...but knowing BSY, he will not do a lockdown.
Pune city is under lockdown for over 20 days now.. Unfortunately hasnt made much of a dent in our caseload as well as fatalities. :(

vera_k wrote:Waiting for vaccination coverage to rise is not wise at the moment. As I found out, 40% of India's population is under 18, for whom there are no vaccines available just yet.

Getting the rise in new cases under control using lockdowns is needed just to avoid overwhelming the medical infrastructure. What the central government could do is provide some framework of metrics like hospital beds, availability of oxygen or other criteria that local authorities can use. Any place that is close to exceeding those metrics can then be mandated to impose a 10 day complete lockdown.
The younger population overwhelmingly do not constitute the seriously ill and dying. Yes there are high profile cases, but the data has been consistent. Data from the Lancet:
Or Nashik study where 96% of deaths are 40+:
66/67 dead recently in KA were 50+

In hot clusters, it makes senses to try to vaccinate everyone possible so as to arrest transmission and 'weaken the net' . Everywhere else, it makes sense to maximize first dose coverage so the ones at risk - the 320 million people over 45, don't die.

sajo wrote:
partha wrote:is there any portal which tracks city wise vaccination coverage data? I tried googling it but no luck.
dashboard.cowin.gov.in shows city wise coverage ,and even hospitalwise coverage within city.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=7800&p=2489707&hili ... d#p2489707
Thanks!

sajo wrote:Pune city is under lockdown for over 20 days now.. Unfortunately hasnt made much of a dent in our caseload as well as fatalities. :(
Following the news it appears that "lockdowns" are not uniformly implemented this time round. Talking to people in Pune I gathered that there is a sporadic lockdown with more of a lockdown on weekends and less of a lockdown on weekdays. Is this true? If yes, it would explain why the cases are not coming down.

A lot of media channels within the U.S and India are putting out new of Exporting the "Vaccine" from U.S. India has just asked for the raw material ban to be lifted. Seems these news is planted with the aim to export vaccines that U.S hoarded.
sajo

Post by sajo »

vera_k wrote:
sajo wrote:Pune city is under lockdown for over 20 days now.. Unfortunately hasnt made much of a dent in our caseload as well as fatalities. :(
Following the news it appears that "lockdowns" are not uniformly implemented this time round. Talking to people in Pune I gathered that there is a sporadic lockdown with more of a lockdown on weekends and less of a lockdown on weekdays. Is this true? If yes, it would explain why the cases are not coming down.
Yes, and private offices continued to function at full capacity even if non-essentials from office as there wasnt much of a repercussion. Till about 10 days back there was no restriction on movement as well.
My father (vaccinated with 1 dose of Covishield) had to venture out due to some compulsions to the registrar's office for some property related work. Reported crowds were normal and no restrictions were being followed. To top it all, he had to unmask himself in that crowded office for the photograph to be taken, for a nominal time. I can see from my window college kids continue gathering and sitting around on footpaths, chitchatting etc. So I agree, there were some restrictions, but 0 enforcement, and we are probably paying the price for it.

There is no such thing as "free"

If you are getting something for "free", then someone, somewhere, has paid for your "free" stuff

It is unbelievable how some people can just demand "free" stuff, thinking that they are entitled to it, just because India's preamble has the word "socialist" in it.