Afghanistan News & Discussion - April 2016

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Afghanistan News & Discussion - April 2016

US officials in kabul gave the taliban a list of names of american citizens, green card holders and afghan allies to grant entry into the terrorist controlled outer perimeter of the kabulairport.

the amerikis have signed their death warrants.

even the nazis did not have this kind of cooperation, so willingly extended to them.

chetak wrote:US officials in kabul gave the taliban a list of names of american citizens, green card holders and afghan allies to grant entry into the terrorist controlled outer perimeter of the kabulairport.

even the nazis did not have this kind of cooperation, so willingly extended to them.
The Taliban 2.0. is very savvy, they are not stupid enough to kill off the golden goose yet. They won't stop or harm US citizens or PRs from leaving the country, but as for the poor afghani nationals who worked with NATO and are now left behind they are as good as done. It is so bizarre and ironic to see the taliban use US military humvees and mraps to secure the airport perimeter to keep the very americans safe whom they've been fighting the last 30 years !

I am very curious to see how soon will the taliban approach ADB/WB/IMF for aid, they have already named defense minister, foreign minister and a finance minister !

Ambar wrote:
chetak wrote:US officials in kabul gave the taliban a list of names of american citizens, green card holders and afghan allies to grant entry into the terrorist controlled outer perimeter of the kabulairport.

The Taliban 2.0. is very savvy, they are not stupid enough to kill off the golden goose yet. They won't stop or harm US citizens or PRs from leaving the country, but as for the poor afghani nationals who worked with NATO and are now left behind they are as good as done. It is so bizarre and ironic to see the taliban use US military humvees and mraps to secure the airport perimeter to keep the very americans safe whom they've been fighting the last 30 years !

I am very curious to see how soon will the taliban approach ADB/WB/IMF for aid, they have already named defense minister, foreign minister and a finance minister !
the amerikis would have already signed agreements regarding aid from WB/IMF and maybe the cheeni will push for aid from the ADB

the taliban will also squeeze India, many of our guys have still not reached home yet.
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

TB will insert a few duplicate Afghanis in the list.

Ambar, Your assessment of Taliban magnanimity is very touching. Most US commentators worry that's the bargaining death list handed to Taliban.

Guys there is no need to play devil's advocate for the devil.

ramana wrote:Guys there is no need to play devil's advocate for the devil.
AH your one liners are something Saar. :)
surinder

Post by surinder »

jamwal wrote: Buddhiheen tanu jani ke sumiro pawan kumar
bal buddhi vidhya deho mohi, harhu kalesh vikar.

बुद्धिहीन तनु जानिके, सुमिरो पवन-कुमार।
बल बुद्धि विद्या देहु मोहिं, हरहु कलेश विकार।
surinder wrote:BTW, where are the BRF stalwarts like Ramana, Shiv, Brihaspati, RajeshA etc?
Only Ramana ji is here. Rest left quite a while back, I think after closing of General Forum.
J, beautiful verses, thanks for sharing it.

Sorry to hear that they have left. Maybe this is not the right forum to ask, why would they leave due to closure of General Forum? Whey was the General Forum closed?

Also we had Johann and many others who posted very insightful stuff. I learned a lot from them. At least Ramana Sir is here--he was super knowledgeable and taught me a lot.
surinder

Post by surinder »

President Budhiheen has inadvertently exposed the bluff of Khanate power. Well, we all bluff, India / Gen. Arora and Gen. Jacobs bluffed the TSP army into a surrender. We call TSP bluffs out. But this is a pure and simple self-inflicted goal.
surinder

Post by surinder »

So Haqqani network is in charge of security in Kabul. Haqqani's are the darling of the ISI and centerpiece of ISI / TSP terror machine. Khanate has always begged the ISI, but with some plausible deniability. But if it is *seen* to be dependents on sops of favors form ISI = TSP = Talibums = Haqqanis then this lowers their perceived credibility and the mirage of bluffs.
Aldonkar

Post by Aldonkar »

Maybe the deal was "we will leave all this hardware for you and your Paki sponsors, if you give passage to the folks on this list!"

Aldonkar wrote:

Maybe the deal was "we will leave all this hardware for you and your Paki sponsors, if you give passage to the folks on this list!"
Or maybe the deal was "if you give us the list of collaborators, we may consider safe passage to your citizens"

Aldonkar wrote:

for 85 billion$ worth of lethal weapons and war stores in the hands of the ungodly, unlikely

a lot of folks on that list have already been hunted down. Even the britshits, in their hurry to skedaddle, left behind details of the afghans who helped them and those afghans have also been sorted out by the taliban. ditto, the scandinavians and some of the other great whiteys,

besides, in India, people are not ready to accept a democratically elected govt led by Modi
and they oppose the laws passed/to be passed by the govt - from CAA to farm laws to UCC.

but, in afghanistan, how come the very same BIF woke world is kissing jehadi butt and is ready to accept a terrorist govt led by the taliban
Last edited by chetak on 28 Aug 2021 01:47, edited 1 time in total.

partha wrote: Or maybe the deal was "if you give us the list of collaborators, we may consider safe passage to your citizens"
After WWII, all Soviet citizens who fought for German Second Reich and surrendered to the Western powers were sent back to the Soviet Union. They were all executed on Stalin's orders. This return of surrendered prisoners to their certain death was done per agreement between Soviet Union and the Allied Powers. The Taliban considers these Afghans as collaborators and are sure to kill as many as they can. Protection should have been given to them and they should have been repatriated sooner. But more practically, the usefulness of these Afghani citizens has come to an end and the US has now no interest in saving them. That is Realpolitik for you.

This is a cut and run operation - the list was culled in a very racist manner because not everyone can be brought back to the US. The list of Americans are mostly of Afghan or Indian sub-continent origin. These people are not white, so what does it matter they get slaughtered by the Pak army irregulars (AKA the Taliban)? Let them die was the decision taken by the Biden administration. This administration and CENTCOM can give the list of Americans and Afghan allies to the Taliban, but can't give it to the US public. Who do you think they're fooling? The 13 or so US military killed are collateral damage as espoused by commentators on MSNBC network in the US. The only thing that matters is running the US printing press for $3.5T reconciliation budget and insider trading on equity markets. Some people are going to get very rich.

This withdrawal/exodus has shades of the British withdrawal from India. Get out by midnight 15 Aug 1947 and leave no central law and order apparatus to watch the Islamists kill the despised Hindus.

Arms left for the Pakis:
1. 600,000 assault rifles including M-16s and M-4s.
2. 162,000 pieces of secure communication equipment.
3. 16,000 night vision goggles.
4. 4,702 armored vehicles including 2,000 Humvees in excellent condition.
5. 2,520 bombs.
6. 20,040 hand grenades.
7. 1,394 grenade launchers
8. 40 aircraft including UH-60 Blackhawks, Scout attack helos, and Scan Eagle drones. The GAO reports that 200 aircraft were delivered to Afghanistan.

S Sridhar, See if you can read this book:

"War and Society in Afghanistan: From the Mughals to the Americans, 1500–2013"
By Kaushik Roy

Traces the history of the formation of Afghanistan during the Persian and Mughal struggle to modern times.
It is basically an Indian frontier state.
hemant_sai

Post by hemant_sai »

Mort Walker wrote:....

Arms left for the Pakis:
5. 2,520 bombs.
6. 20,040 hand grenades.
8. 40 aircraft including UH-60 Blackhawks, Scout attack helos, and Scan Eagle drones. The GAO reports that 200 aircraft were delivered to Afghanistan.
Shouldn't this be eye-opener for GoI and MEA?
Why do we continue to show our weakness and helplessness to call USA as friendly nation?
F**K off that Quad. We are not so weak that we are doomed without Quad.

Don't call USA your enemy if you don't want to be that straight - but at least don't call it a friendly nation.
We should limit our military dependence and co-operation with USA to the point it remains irrelevant to us.

Unfortunately we have already committed too much on wrong path.
Politicians are anyways hopeless but military leadership is supposed to be visionary.

^^^That is just the unclassified info. There has been no accounting by the US government or GAO audit as exactly what and how much has been delivered in the last 5 years. SM pics of Taliban wearing US army style uniforms with protective gear along with brand new armored Ford pickup trucks just delivered this year.
DavidD

Post by DavidD »

I thought the Taliban has had the list of collaborators for a while now. Wasn't there already a big stink made about how the list would become a hit list? I guess this new list clarifies who the Americans value more, but doesn't seem like something groundbreaking.

hemant_sai wrote:
Mort Walker wrote:....

Arms left for the Pakis:
5. 2,520 bombs.
6. 20,040 hand grenades.
Shouldn't this be eye-opener for GoI and MEA?
Why do we continue to show our weakness and helplessness to call USA as friendly nation?
F**K off that Quad. We are not so weak that we are doomed without Quad.

Don't call USA your enemy if you don't want to be that straight - but at least don't call it a friendly nation.
We should limit our military dependence and co-operation with USA to the point it remains irrelevant to us.

Unfortunately we have already committed too much on wrong path.
Politicians are anyways hopeless but military leadership is supposed to be visionary.

i call the same old prithviraj chauhan syndrome., since 2001 for 20 years Indian politicians made blunders after blunders in Afghanistan without going for the kill against Pakistan now it is their turn. So beware and be ready is my only advice. War must be taken into enemy territory and defensive mindset is a defeatist mindset., be it 1948, 1967, 1971, 1999 or all the terrorists attacks.

SBajwa-ji,

We don't know yet how much ammunition, artillery pieces+shells, tons of explosive, land-mines, and other anti-personnel weapons were left to hit vehicles and soft targets. Rough estimates are nearly 3 million rounds of ammunition and 100,000 2.75-inch rockets/mortars. The job of the US political opposition is to highlight this in great detail, but many will not, as they too are incompetent idiots as those currently in charge. Though some have and the Indian-American community needs to press on this.

The Taliban 2.0 will be very successful in control as they have biometric data and information left behind by the US that will be sufficient to target their own population for the next several years. This clears the path for more lethal weapons will make its way to the Pak army and their irregulars for war on India. Just remember the distance from Jalalabad, Afghanistan to Srinagar, India is less than 400 KM.

The leader of the free world has been reduced to doing kadi ninda and promising retaliation at a time and place of their choosing. But retaliation against whom? They have already declared that ISIS was responsible for the blasts and the Taliban are innocent. Nobody knows who in Afghanistan actually belongs to ISIS. So all they have to do is bomb some rocks and claim that they killed a bunch of ISIS including whoever planned the blasts and all ij well again.

Biden State Department Falsely Denies Taliban, Terrorist Haqqani Network Ties
The Biden State Department made the astounding claim Friday that the Taliban and its brother organization, the Haqqani Network, are “separate entities.”

In truth, the two are tightly linked, and many of the top Haqqani leaders – including self-described “Kabul chief of security” Khalil Ur-Rahman Haqqani – are also high-ranking Taliban officials.

Terrorism experts were thunderstruck by the State Department’s blatantly false assertion, which it appears to have made to deflect public outrage over the Biden administration entrusting the safety of Americans still trapped in Afghanistan to a U.S.- and U.N.-designated terrorist organization.

The Taliban’s Kabul security chief Khalil Ur-Rahman Haqqani – his last name should have been a clue for the Biden State Department – was designated a terrorist in 2008 by the U.S. government, which offered a $5 million reward for information leading to his arrest. The widely acknowledged deputy leader of the Taliban also happens to be named Haqqani: Sirajuddin Haqqani, who is also the number one leader of the Haqqani Network.

The Biden administration has entrusted airport security in Kabul to Haqqani and his operatives and has reportedly provided them with information about Americans trapped in Afghanistan, ostensibly so the Taliban will allow them to access the airport.

NBC News noted on Thursday, with considerable understatement, that Haqqani’s promises to “provide safety” at the airport were “called into question by what a Pentagon spokesman called a ‘complex’ bombing attack outside Kabul airport Thursday that killed 13 U.S. service members and caused an undetermined number of Afghan casualties.”

The total death toll from the ISIS-claimed suicide bombing at the airport reached 200 as of Friday afternoon.

The Haqqani Network is a hybrid terrorist organization and organized crime gang that President Joe Biden should have remembered since they were instrumental in the kidnapping of U.S. deserter Bowe Bergdahl. Biden was vice president when President Barack Obama traded five high-ranking Taliban officers for Bergdahl in May 2014. The “Taliban Five” soon returned to the battlefield despite Obama’s assurances to the contrary. Some of them were involved in the Taliban conquest of Afghanistan this month.

Khalil is the stepbrother of Haqqani Network founder Jalaluddin Haqqani, who died in September 2018 from Parkinson’s disease, and uncle to the current leader of the organization, Sirajuddin Haqqani.

Jalaluddin formed the Haqqani Network during the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan in the 1980s. He began merging it with the Taliban in the late 1990s, and eventually accepted a post as minister for border affairs in the first Taliban regime.
The Haqqanis became more aggressively terrorist under the leadership of Jalaluddin’s son Sirajuddin, a wanted criminal under U.S. law like Khalil who has a $5 million reward for information leading to his arrest.

The FBI charges Sirajuddin with masterminding attacks across the Pakistani border against American forces in Afghanistan and also links him to the savage 2008 Taliban attack on a hotel in Kabul that killed an American citizen plus six others.

Despite these allegations, the New York Times (NYT) controversially allowed Sirajuddin Haqqani to write an op-ed in February entitled “What We, the Taliban, Want.” The NYT identified him only as “deputy leader of the Taliban,” not as leader of the Haqqani terrorist organization.

In his NYT article, Sirajuddin claimed the Taliban desired only peace, wished to negotiate a reasonable settlement with the government in Kabul, and wanted Afghanistan to be governed according to a “consensus among Afghans.” The op-ed did not hold up well over time.

The Haqqani Network is the glue that binds the Taliban to al-Qaeda. Jalaluddin Haqqani was a friend and mentor to Osama bin Laden, who was very nearly killed in a U.S. missile strike on a Haqqani base in 1998.

The U.S. Director of National Intelligence (DNI) described the Haqqanis as “the most lethal and sophisticated insurgent group targeting U.S., Coalition, and Afghan forces in Afghanistan,” with a penchant for “small-arms assaults coupled with rocket attacks, IEDs, suicide attacks, and attacks using bomb-laden vehicles.”

“I do not believe that anyone in the West fully understands the reach of the Haqqani network. It is the single most impressive non-state militant group I have ever seen, with the exception of ISIS in the first two years of the caliphate,” retired Lt. Gen. Michael K. Nagata told the Wall Street Journal on Thursday.

The Haqqani Network was designated a foreign terrorist organization by the U.S. government in 2012. The Taliban has not been so designated.

In addition to being wanted by the FBI, Khalil Haqqani was designated a terrorist by the United Nations in 2011. The U.N. cited his work as a fundraiser for the Taliban and said he has “acted on behalf of al-Qaeda and has been linked to its military operations.”

Aside from his questionable work as a security director, Khalil Haqqani has been doing some public relations work for the Taliban regime. He gave a speech outside Kabul’s largest mosque to a cheering throng of supporters on Friday, after attending prayer services while surrounded by a commando squad and carrying one of the new American assault rifles provided to the Taliban – and by extension the Haqqanis and their al-Qaeda friends – by President Joe Biden.

“If we can defeat superpowers, surely we can provide safety to the Afghan people,” Khalil told Al Jazeera News in an interview published on Sunday.

“Our hostility was with the occupation. There was a superpower that came from the outside to divide us. They forced a war unto us. We have no hostility with anyone, we are all Afghans,” he said.

In another Sunday interview, Khalil offered amnesty to former Afghan President Ashraf Ghani, who fled the country with an allegedly huge amount of cash before the Taliban captured Kabul, and former Vice President Amrullah Saleh, who joined a resistance movement against the Taliban.

“The fact we have Khalil al-Rahman Haqqani in charge of Kabul security is dismaying,” a British intelligence official told Voice of America News (VOA) last week. “The Haqqani and al-Qaeda have a long history together, you could argue they are intertwined, and it is highly unlikely they will cut ties.”

Another British source, retired diplomat Ivor Roberts, told VOA that putting Khalil Haqqani and his network in charge of airport security was like “the fox being put in charge of a chicken coop.”

Roberts thought the Taliban, which has been attempting to present itself as more moderate and responsible than the regime overthrown by the U.S. after 9/11, made a surprising blunder by putting the vicious Haqqanis front and center. Another explanation would be that the Taliban enjoys taunting and humiliating the Biden administration.

Source : Breitbart

There has been drone attack on some hut in Afghanistan. US claim that they have destroyed the planners of Kabul attack. So US took revenge and whole world belive that. Guess who is laughing.

The US President needs to resign along with the CIA chief, NSA, SoS, Sec Def, chairman of joint chiefs, and CENTCOM commander. All incompetents.

If even one US citizen is abandoned in Afghanistan, he needs to be impeached.

Rudradev wrote:If even one US citizen is abandoned in Afghanistan, he needs to be impeached.
If they’re not white Christians, what does it matter?
Manas

Post by Manas »

Rudradev wrote:If even one US citizen is abandoned in Afghanistan, he needs to be impeached.
If they’re not white Christians, what does it matter?
The GOP are sitting ducks as they dont control the house or the senate. The Georgia senate seat loss in the runoff was devastating for the GOP and the country as there are no checks and balances on a regime that is hell bent on changing the country fundamentally into a socialist, single party rule country with changes to economic, immigration, social and political system. Former Sen. Purdue had won the Nov election by 50K+ votes but lost the runoff by a few thousand votes.

Other than hawing and humming the GOP has to quietly watch and hope that the Biden admin will implode the Democratic party and unfortunately the country with their extreme progressive agenda - open borders, radical regulation in garb of reversing climate change, high tax rates, free money which will incentivize people not to work but make it difficult for business to grow leading to stagflation.

If Biden admin implodes the GOP hopefully can win the house (doubt if they can take the senate back in 2022). If they establish a comfortable majority if they probably will move to impeach Biden and get even.

The stories are slowly bubbling up. This is the beginning of the fall of Biden Presidency for sure. The people who are laughing their way to the Bank is Paki ISI. Need to grudgingly give it to them. To con the khans for this long and bring back a Taliban govt is a great achievement. Poor guys don't know how to convert these tactical wins to strategic ones. I bet they are surely going to turn on the terrorism tap towards the east. Hope our guys are ready with accurate intelligence. We will have the kill such attempts in the bud by pre-emptively striking them. There is really no other option. So much for QUAD and other useless acronyms we thought will help us. We need to fight these thugs on our own.

Ambar wrote:Western wokeism will do to the west what the Wehrmacht under nazis and Soviet Union couldn't do.
Yes, absolutely. You can already see the devastating damage that wokeism has done to the social fabric of the Five Eyes countries (US, Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand). The only question is: is the damage permanent, i.e. irretrievable or is there still hope that a suitable election result can stop the runaway train?

I think we all know two things for sure:
  1. Several dozen (at minimum) US citizens will be left behind in Afgh., i.e. stranded. Maybe hundreds. And,
  2. Biden will not be impeached. He is a Democrat, the House of Representatives is currently in control of the Dems, and Dems never, never, never hold their own culprits accountable. Republicans are too cowardly to fight for anything. That's the difference in the fundamental natures of the 2 parties: Dems are a bunch of crooks/liars/thugs/gangsters, like Tony Soprano's crew; Repubs are a bunch of spineless, cowardly eunuchs with no guts for a political fight. It's barely possible, I guess, that the American public may be so fed up with things that they kick the Dems out of power in the House as well as the Senate in November 2022, but that is by no means a 'given'. If the Repubs were perceived as being courageous men rather than napunsaks, their massive victory in the next election would have been a certainty. But they are not, and it is not.
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

The US soldiers who were KIA were all in within the range of 20-23 years old. It's very sad to see that these young men had to pay with their lives due to a old man's blunder.

Mort Walker wrote:The US President needs to resign along with the CIA chief, NSA, SoS, Sec Def, chairman of joint chiefs, and CENTCOM commander. All incompetents.
That is minimum. I do not know much about internal dynamics of US politics.

Below are a couple of links to open source documents as to what military equipment was provided to the ANA from 2003-2019:

https://www.openthebooks.com/assets/1/6 ... pment1.pdf
https://www.openthebooks.com/assets/1/6 ... 44-AR1.pdf

rsingh wrote:
Mort Walker wrote:The US President needs to resign along with the CIA chief, NSA, SoS, Sec Def, chairman of joint chiefs, and CENTCOM commander. All incompetents.
That is minimum. I do not know much about internal dynamics of US politics.
neither resignation nor impeachment is gonna happen any time soon, I.e. in the next one year. the only chance for impeachment is 2023 January. that is what Mortji predicted. it might yet come to pass. Then we will have several firsts - first woman pres, first black pres., first Asian pres., first south Asian pres., first India pres., first baptist-hindu pres., first Brahmin pres. ...

williams wrote:The stories are slowly bubbling up. This is the beginning of the fall of Biden Presidency for sure.

Snip.....

This is too much a discussion on US internal politics. But the cold hard facts are the this is not a new development. This is end result of nearly 50 years of radicalization of US society. The wokeness is the latest manifestation of that phenomenon.

When you have the joint chiefs of staff saying that white rage is the biggest threat to America. Or the CDC saying the racism is a bigger health crisis than Covid 19. The whole Antifa running about in west coast America.

You know that the society is becoming unglued. Add to that the general ignorance of the vast sections of the population.

You have a recipe for what happened in Afghanistan.

I don't think that there is a solution to this problem within United States.

This is a country that knew that it was leaving in a few months time. And yet instead of getting the American civillian out first they leave in the middle of the night.

Either the professional US military is incompetent beyond discription. That they could not plan and execute this right. Or it was ordered to act this way.

As a potential member of quad. None of the above possibilities are appealing to me as an Indian.

So media like Noah and CNN elected president failed? The amount of hate these single man news channel have on Trump is amazing.

Is it possible for India to bomb the planes, copters?

Are the posters who are calling for Biden's resignation or impeachment serious? How does arming of Taliban or Pakistan goes against American interests in anyway? It hurts only the Afghans against Taliban, Iran to some extent and India. Unless Taliban/ISI start bombing Americans which seems unlikely, no one there cares. Deaths of a few American soldiers is nothing new and is considered cost of "peace".
When these same islamists start fighting in Iraq, Syria or start attacking American bases or oil supply lines, only then the Taliban will be considered a threat.