Eastern Europe/Ukraine [Feb 6th 2015]

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
achy

Re: Eastern Europe/Ukraine [Feb 6th 2015]

Post by achy »

China and India , Latin America and Africa , the Islamic world and Southeast Asia - no one believes that the West leads the world order, much less sets the rules of the game. Russia has not only challenged the West, it has shown that the era of Western global domination can be considered completely and finally over. The new world will be built by all civilizations and centers of power, naturally, together with the West (united or not) - but not on its terms and not according to its rules.
I agree that no one believes that the West leads the world order, much less sets plays the rules of the game... But I guess interesting part is what is Russia's calculus of starting it now.. offcourse the first objective is to take back ukraine but seems like they have taken the opening gambit to show emperor is naked and now expecting that by-standers will join them.

This is where it gets interesting... bystanders have their own calculus... China and UAE may be willing more so then say India... But does China feel ready for showtime.. I doubt.. India, offcourse, has just started its burners and assembling ingrediants... it knows what to cook but is running against time.. and luck??

anupmisra wrote:For those of you batting for the Yuk-rainians... Raise your hands if you still think that these low-life Yuks are the "victims'.

Facing Ukrainian ire after India's UN move: Students

Stopped, Assaulted At Ukraine Border, Say Some Indian Students
Several Indian students fleeing Ukraine have alleged that they were harassed, beaten by the Ukrainian guards at the Poland border and were not allowed to cross over. In one of the videos shot during night time, a student wheeling his suitcase behind him is kicked by a guard in uniform.
Indian students are being tortured.
They are being pulled by their hair and hit with rods. Some women students have suffered fractures and injuries
Border guards are not letting us cross. If someone tries to cross, they attack them with rods.
We have been tortured like animals.
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 879248.cms
https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/stopped ... ts-2793334
Can someone please tweet this to RT News and other news outlets?

achy wrote:But does China feel ready for showtime...
Putin might have had some indications. Russian humint/elint resources are quite considerable or one thinks.

Cain Marko wrote:...If the russkis are really pushed into a corner, they could easily turn off/choke the NS1 tap. It will bring Europe to is knees.
Conversely, russkis can start looking for other markets ... India, Africa and of course China.
Oil/gas, by its very nature, is fungible. If China ends up purchasing a lot of Russian oil (at a discount since it will be a distress sale), it will purchase less oil from somewhere else, and that oil/gas will end up available for the western world. That is the reality.

There will be some price disruption due to market uncertainties, but it is not clear whether it will end upwards or downwards from $100 where we are today. It is entirely possible that it collapses to $30 just as it is possible it peaks to $200 due to a weakening dollar.

We are at the end of northern hemisphere winter. Energy demand for heat will reduce, especially in the more developed parts of Europe which have better housing with excellent insulation. It will be the older decrepit/soviet style houses which will continue to suffer for a few more months but even for them there is light at the end of the tunnel, at least for this year.
achy

Post by achy »

[quote="SwamyG"]We need to call this "European War 2022". Though Ukraine and Russia are involved inna direct military conflict, NATO and European Union have their hands in the War pie.

https://twitter.com/GaRudan_S/status/14 ... xRlvw&s=09[/quote]

We should not call it European wars.. then this will reduce this war as war for territory... We should stick to what it is : West vs Russia's civilizational war

achy wrote:We should not call it European wars.. then this will reduce this war as war for territory... We should stick to what it is : West vs Russia's civilizational war
That is exactly the formulation on Fox Noose Nutwerken. Laura Ingraham of FNN closed her segment on Feb 24th with the following statement:

"The East has challenged the West. West is not going to keep quiet"

Guess where India is. Even Turkey for that matter.

Another data point is that 66% amrus are concerned about what is happening in Ukraine. 33% don't care.

The Dems:GOP:Independent is roughly 33%:33%:34%. Faithfools of both the parties are blindly following their leaders - Globalist Dems and Christian GOP. Globalists are coming from "high moral ground" and fundoo Christians are coming from "Russia is commie. commie is bad" POV.
achy

Post by achy »

Vayutuvan wrote:
achy wrote:I looked far and see only Japan could be that country. It was interesting to hear Abe asking US to rid its ambiguity on Taiwan just other day. Japan is our only possible long term and trusted partner.
achy saar, what about South Africa, Nigeria, and other smaller players like Kenya, Ethiopia?
Africa is at cannon fodder stage... there is reason why China is invested so heavily in Africa. It is not just about resources...It is to create long term leverage, or at least deny Abrahamics use of Africa as fodder. Like it or not, we were cannon fodder during last great war i.e. WW2. The only reason we have moved from cannon fodder stage can be attributed to divine intervention i.e. not why but despite !

I just wrote an email/letter to the Yuk-rainian embassy in New Delhi and will also write to my senators and congressman condemning this barbaric treatment of Indian students at the Polish border.

vijaykarthik wrote:Hard hitting piece by Lt Gen Ata Hasnain (retd)

https://chanakyaforum.com/war-in-ukrain ... ns-galore/
Hasnain Saar's article is pretty balanced, - he just pointed out pitfalls of this invasion, but didn't say that Russia is failing. He also, very strangely, overlooked the fact that Russia's actions so far have been very restrained, - not Fallujah-type.

A simple question for the experts, with the SWIFT blockade how can the western cos (Coke, Pepsi, Pizza Hut, McDonald's, Marriot, Hilton, etc etc) can repatriate their profits? They have sunk in billions of $$ over the last 30 years.

achy wrote:
SwamyG wrote:We need to call this "European War 2022". Though Ukraine and Russia are involved inna direct military conflict, NATO and European Union have their hands in the War pie.

https://twitter.com/GaRudan_S/status/14 ... xRlvw&s=09
We should not call it European wars.. then this will reduce this war as war for territory... We should stick to what it is : West vs Russia's civilizational war
Probably this thread will need a name change as such
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

Kati wrote:A simple question for the experts, with the SWIFT blockade how can the western cos (Coke, Pepsi, Pizza Hut, McDonald's, Marriot, Hilton, etc etc) can repatriate their profits? They have sunk in billions of $$ over the last 30 years.
No expert but here's what I found
How expelling Russia from SWIFT could impact the country.
...."It's a communications platform, not a financial payments system...."

"If you remove Russia from SWIFT, you're removing them from a key artery of finance, but they can use pre-SWIFT tools like telephone, telex or email to engage in bank-to-bank transactions."
One analogy I found helpful was that banning a country from using SWIFT is like banning someone from using debit or credit cards. You're not really banning someone's ability to use money, you're just essentially handicapping them. The banned entity can always use cash but forget about ordering items from Amazon or subscribing to Netflix.

So if you can't use visa cards and you owe money to Amazon, they'll happily take a check or a money order(as a one-time courtesy ofcourse) :mrgreen:

Kati wrote:A simple question for the experts, with the SWIFT blockade how can the western cos (Coke, Pepsi, Pizza Hut, McDonald's, Marriot, Hilton, etc etc) can repatriate their profits? They have sunk in billions of $$ over the last 30 years.
It is a misunderstanding that SWIFT blockade means everything is blocked.
1. Only automatic transactions are blocked. Manual transactions are not limited in anyway even with selected banks in 2 below.
2. Not all Russian banks are blocked from SWIFT, only selected banks. See for example https://www.dw.com/en/eu-us-uk-to-exclu ... a-60931401

Europe will pay ~$100B for its gas/oil imports from Russia. It is not under sanctions. https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... -sanctions

EU/US just pulled a majic rabbit out of their nether regions for gullible people. They don't want to freeze to death and want to show something is being done. Similar thing with RU central bank blockade. It will have very limited effect.

Thank you for that summary sivab. Greatly appreciated.

m_saini wrote:
No expert but here's what I found
How expelling Russia from SWIFT could impact the country.
...."It's a communications platform, not a financial payments system...."

"If you remove Russia from SWIFT, you're removing them from a key artery of finance, but they can use pre-SWIFT tools like telephone, telex or email to engage in bank-to-bank transactions."
One analogy I found helpful was that banning a country from using SWIFT is like banning someone from using debit or credit cards. You're not really banning someone's ability to use money, you're just essentially handicapping them. The banned entity can always use cash but forget about ordering items from Amazon or subscribing to Netflix.

So if you can't use visa cards and you owe money to Amazon, they'll happily take a check or a money order(as a one-time courtesy ofcourse) :mrgreen:
That is my point: Are the McDonals'd or Coke's executives carry suitcase full of cash to repatriate their profits out of Russia? Where are they going to exchange their Roubles for $?

Actually it is quite simple in SWIFT. Long long ago in a far away galaxy, I worked in the SWIFT development group. Not on the front end side, but back end writing debugging tools for the transaction processing which is all in Algol. That said, I also had to get an understanding of the message formats etc.

It is possible to block transactions message by message basis. Message archives are guaranteed to be kept for something like 100 years so that they can be presented in case there are legal disputes or for arbitration purposes. There are two data main data storage/processing centers/main nodes - one in Culpepper, VA, USA and another in La Hulpe, Belgium. Each country which is a member of SWIFT network should have a country SWIFT node and then banks have their own nodes.

If you are somewhat familiar with the seven layers of OSI Communication protocol standard, SWIFT implements the top three layers - Application, Presentation, and Session layers.

Envelopes are added at each layer on the message from the layer below. These envelopes at the top three layers have all the information to block transactions selectively.

A small tidbit - SWIFT was almost entirely developed by PIOs. They were working both in Culpepper and in La Hulpe

All were IITs/B-school folks/BITS/IISc educated. :mrgreen:
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 28 Feb 2022 07:41, edited 2 times in total.

Second Rome vs Third Rome Civilizational War.
ManSingh

Post by ManSingh »

Probably a little late to the party but here is my take:

Personal impact: Our organization has a secondary location in Ukraine. Most folks moved towards the Romanian border early on. The company tried to get them out of Ukraine but the ban on leaving the country for men between age 18-60 blocked the effort. Our last contact with the Ukrainian lead was a couple of days back and he was very vocal on how Ukraine will emerge stronger and be more free after this is over. We have had no contact with the Ukrainian team since. My boss is of Russian origin ( and the counter part to the Ukrainian lead ). Poor guys is disturbed no end and is almost apologetic for being of Russian origin. Makes me think that this war is probably extremely unpopular amongst Russians, though I am extrapolating.

Other Impacts:

1. Ukraine is a semiconductor/electronics power house. All big names like Samsung, Amazon and Indian firms outsource heavily to Ukraine. India has to be careful not to be antagonistic of the western stance. We don't want to be cut-off from this industry. Though there are big plans for the future at the moment, the industry is very nascent in India. China has SMIC which will bring large capacity online later this year. Germany ( when it was not exactly aligned with the US on this war ) also announced fab of its own in Magdeburg. Having a fab is also only a part of the story. India has a very long way to go to achieve self sufficiency in this regard.

2. US imports a third of its imported oil( not a third of its total consumption ) from Russia and this is vital for its gulf coast refineries. Canada imports oil worth $550 million a year from Russia. Eastern Canada ( Ottawa, Montreal etc. ) will be impacted if the Russian supply is cut-off. Keeping banks that deal with Gazprom within the SWIFT system isn't exactly an act of charity. One thing to note is that North America does have the spare capacity to deal with domestic supply either through West Texas Intermediate or Canadian tar sands. However environmental activism ( Keystone XL pipeline, Mackinaw strait issues between Canada and USA ) have ensured that this capacity can not be brought to use. Both these issues are/were created by the extreme left within the Democratic party i.e. the current dispensation.

3. Ukraine is a major wheat producer but the ports required to export are now blocked by the conflict. As the demand for wheat is constant, the lack of Ukrainian supply will add inflationary pressures on other economies. As the price of wheat gradually rises globally the impact will be felt in North America too though not as much as the oil shock.

A sad outcome of this war will be the loss to environmental issues due to prioritization of energy security. India can keep quiet and watch from the sidelines for now unless the war escalates when it will be forced to make a choice, probably in favor of the west due to economic alignment. Also Russia may no longer be a reliable supplier of defense goods to India in the near future as a lot of critical semiconductor components are now under a US export license requirement. Russia may be able to source some of them from China but I doubt India would want weapons with upstream components sourced from China.
Last edited by ManSingh on 28 Feb 2022 07:46, edited 1 time in total.
achy

Post by achy »

sivab wrote:
1. Only automatic transactions are blocked. Manual transactions are not limited in anyway even with selected banks in 2 below.
2. Not all Russian banks are blocked from SWIFT, only selected banks. See for example https://www.dw.com/en/eu-us-uk-to-exclu ... a-60931401

Europe will pay ~$100B for its gas/oil imports from Russia. It is not under sanctions. https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... -sanctions

EU/US just pulled a majic rabbit out of their nether regions for gullible people. They don't want to freeze to death and want to show something is being done. Similar thing with RU central bank blockade. It will have very limited effect.
Think of SWIFT as the only system of "expressways for financial transactions" with proper entry and exit toll booths and enforced lane discipline... Now you could argue that you will still be able to take side roads for your destination, but applied with hordes of US/EU banking laws it can be crippling. Your only recourse is to revert back to Barter System or shadow banking... SWIFT is the system where a trader from Jalore can sell things to a trader from Kampala with ease using an intermediary..

If you dig deeper, West is applying sanctions but limited to "Oligarchs and people close to Putin" and to items not yet debilitating for Russia.. It is partly self preservation by Wes but yet enough to cause grievous harm to Russia. It will be akin to nuclear option if West sanctions Russia's energy export.

ManSingh wrote:1. Ukraine is a semiconductor/electronics power house.
ManSingh ji,

Do you mean they have good designers for fabless design houses? Then we in India also have good designers. Why is your company outsourcing to Uk and Ru? Indians have better communication skills. I would rather that Indian companies train Indian EEs in the semiconductor simulation tools. They do cost money but it is well worth investing in India rather than out source to Uk/Ru/Ireland.
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

Kati wrote: That is my point: Are the McDonals'd or Coke's executives carry suitcase full of cash to repatriate their profits out of Russia? Where are they going to exchange their Roubles for $?
Like they normally do, through Interbank foreign exchange market. Rouble isn't exactly banned from forex market, it's only SWIFT that they can't use to facilitate transfers.

So Rouble to $ conversion isn't banned, it's just not as easy as before. And any Russian bank (even the banned ones) can do the conversion for them and send the money to their commercial account in NYC for example.

SWIFT - Societe (Society) for Worldwide Interbank Financial Transactions.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Communica ... ardization
In the OSI model, the layers and their functionality are (from highest to lowest layer):

The Application layer may provide the following services to the application processes: identification of the intended communication partners, establishment of the necessary authority to communicate, determination of availability and authentication of the partners, agreement on privacy mechanisms for the communication, agreement on responsibility for error recovery and procedures for ensuring data integrity, synchronization between cooperating application processes, identification of any constraints on syntax (e.g. character sets and data structures), determination of cost and acceptable quality of service, selection of the dialogue discipline, including required logon and logoff procedures.[65]

The presentation layer may provide the following services to the application layer: a request for the establishment of a session, data transfer, negotiation of the syntax to be used between the application layers, any necessary syntax transformations, formatting and special purpose transformations (e.g. data compression and data encryption).[66]

The session layer may provide the following services to the presentation layer: establishment and release of session connections, normal and expedited data exchange, a quarantine service which allows the sending presentation entity to instruct the receiving session entity not to release data to its presentation entity without permission, interaction management so presentation entities can control whose turn it is to perform certain control functions, resynchronization of a session connection, reporting of unrecoverable exceptions to the presentation entity.[67]
Monitoring and filtering the Application layer messages will be enough to cut Putin and oligarchs from SWIFT.
pravula

Post by pravula »

achy wrote:
sivab wrote:

Think of SWIFT as the only system of "expressways for financial transactions" with proper entry and exit toll booths and enforced lane discipline... Now you could argue that you will still be able to take side roads for your destination, but applied with hordes of US/EU banking laws it can be crippling. Your only recourse is to revert back to Barter System or shadow banking... SWIFT is the system where a trader from Jalore can sell things to a trader from Kampala with ease using an intermediary..

If you dig deeper, West is applying sanctions but limited to "Oligarchs and people close to Putin" and to items not yet debilitating for Russia.. It is partly self preservation by Wes but yet enough to cause grievous harm to Russia. It will be akin to nuclear option if West sanctions Russia's energy export.
It also means that every transaction can be mined. An alternate system will hit a lot of intelligence gathering ops. At the end of the day, SWIFT is just Hawala by another name. The trust is in the "POI" designed computer system rather than the Hawala trader...

achy wrote: We should not call it European wars.. then this will reduce this war as war for territory... We should stick to what it is : West vs Russia's civilizational war
For India, Russia is West as well. Ultimately they are shirts and pants from the same fabric.

ManSingh wrote: 1. Ukraine is a semiconductor/electronics power house. All big names like Samsung, Amazon and Indian firms outsource heavily to Ukraine. India has to be careful not to be antagonistic of the western stance. We don't want to be cut-off from this industry. Though there are big plans for the future at the moment, the industry is very nascent in India. China has SMIC which will bring large capacity online later this year. Germany ( when it was not exactly aligned with the US on this war ) also announced fab of its own in Magdeburg. Having a fab is also only a part of the story. India has a very long way to go to achieve self sufficiency in this regard.

.... India can keep quiet and watch from the sidelines for now unless the war escalates when it will be forced to make a choice, probably in favor of the west due to economic alignment. (Yeah, last I heard India had already made a choice, either you are with India or against India)
I wasn't aware of Ukraine's role in Semis other than one of providers of raw material. What is Ukraine's role in the Semi supply-chain?

Uncle is so serious about brining back Semiconductor manufacturing that even small issue around the globe is amplified by MSM as something likely to affect supply-chain, thus "we-must-print-few-billion-dollars-to-build-at-home" type response...

Ukraine conflict puts chipmakers on alert over supply of key gases

Banning Iran and now Russia of SWIFT will only hasten a China led alternate payment system. While we saw UAE abstain from voting along with India and China, the way US has behaved over the past 12 months, i doubt if any Gulf country would want to remain under the US security and economic umbrella for long if there is an alternative. As for this war strengthening NATO, i doubt if that's true. Even immediately post WW2, the europeans including its leaders like De Gaulle, Churchill etc. remained wary of US involvement in European politics but needed US anyways to keep the Red Army at bay. If Europe suffers as a result of this war, i wouldn't be too surprised if NATO further weakens as they experience yet again how US drags other nations into war while sitting pretty and unscathed across the atlantic.
ManSingh

Post by ManSingh »

Vayutuvan wrote:
ManSingh wrote:1. Ukraine is a semiconductor/electronics power house.
ManSingh ji,

Do you mean they have good designers for fabless design houses? Then we in India also have good designers. Why is your company outsourcing to Uk and Ru? Indians have better communication skills. I would rather that Indian companies train Indian EEs in the semiconductor simulation tools. They do cost money but it is well worth investing in India rather than out source to Uk/Ru/Ireland.
If it were my company, it would outsource to India because I could probably effectively outsource to India.

In this case, Ukraine is the second engineering center (not outsourcing destination) other than where I am located. It is not an Indian company. The reason why a lot of tier-1's ( and independent vendors/fabless design houses ) have engineering center's or outsource to Ukraine is the high quality of engineering talent. This includes hardware designers and embedded software professionals. Ukrainians( and other East Europeans ) are present in a lot of R&D, advanced engineering departments in North America.

The simulation/design tools/Lithograhpic manufacturing equipment are the other key. Synopsys, Cadence, ASML etc. all operate under US export controls. It wouldn't be wise to take a completely antagonistic stand to the West due to these. India neither has the manufacturing fabs nor owns the IP for fabless design tools. There is nothing to gain by taking a stand for/against.

SwamyG wrote:
achy wrote: We should not call it European wars.. then this will reduce this war as war for territory... We should stick to what it is : West vs Russia's civilizational war
For India, Russia is West as well. Ultimately they are shirts and pants from the same fabric.
Correct. Discussions between Indians still take place in a "western" framework, which defeats the purpose and confuses the issues. Russia - specifically its power structure - is also very much the "West", more specifically, European. Communism is also an European idea.

There are still a couple of Ukrainian drone Strikes videos every day. The latest one being a TB2 drone taking out a Buk launcher. While the damage to the Russian forces is miniscule, it goes on to prove that Russians so far have not been able to enforce a complete no fly zone over Ukraine.

Thakur_B wrote:There are still a couple of Ukrainian drone Strikes videos every day. The latest one being a TB2 drone taking out a Buk launcher. While the damage to the Russian forces is miniscule, it goes on to prove that Russians so far have not been able to enforce a complete no fly zone over Ukraine.
Saw those videos. Russians are moving there convoys on highways and there also seem to be traffic jams. It’s a strange sight

Considering these 2 nations were one a mere 30 yrs ago, watching Russia fight Ukraine is like watching a train wreck in slow motion ! The Soviet Union did not care much for high attrition and infact made waves of soldiers just charging towards their enemy center to their strategy. We saw in Chechnya and again in Georgia how Russians can be disorganized, chaotic and their strategy head scratching. In Georgia there were many instances when the Russian communication equipment was so poor that they had to use cellphones ! Looks like not using airforce, not neutering enemy's air assets completely and moving large convoys slowly without any airsupport the Russians are once again staying true to their traditions.

pravula wrote:The trust is in the "POI" designed computer system rather than the Hawala trader...
ravula gaaru, what do you meanu saaru?

SwamyG wrote:For India, Russia is West as well. Ultimately they are shirts and pants from the same fabric.
You want to cheDDi utaaro, hain swamy gaL?! :rotfl:

ManSingh wrote:The 1. simulation 2. design tools 3. Lithograhpic manufacturing equipment are the other key.
Three different areas. The design tools are followed by simulation. Litho tools are in the loop - from the start to end.
ManSingh wrote: Synopsys, Cadence, ASML etc..
array saar, please do expand on that etc..
Synopsys and Cadence are in a different space than ASML.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 28 Feb 2022 09:37, edited 1 time in total.

chanakyaa wrote:I wasn't aware of Ukraine's role in Semis other than one of providers of raw material. What is Ukraine's role in the Semi supply-chain?
Chanakya saar. how are your furnace designs coming along?
pravula

Post by pravula »

Vayutuvan wrote:
pravula wrote:The trust is in the "POI" designed computer system rather than the Hawala trader...
ravula gaaru, what do you meanu saaru?
Sorry, no offence, was taking a dig at your "A small tidbit - SWIFT was almost entirely developed by PIOs. " statement. We can take it offline, but I am not sure how that was a significant enough titbit to be bolded. More than happy to remove it if it offends you, was meant as more friendly jab/roast.

anupmisra wrote:For those of you batting for the Yuk-rainians... Raise your hands if you still think that these low-life Yuks are the "victims'.

Facing Ukrainian ire after India's UN move: Students

Stopped, Assaulted At Ukraine Border, Say Some Indian Students

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 879248.cms
https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/stopped ... ts-2793334
Can someone please tweet this to RT News and other news outlets?
I would be careful about using words like torture. I would tend to agree that they were harassed. I think our people on the ground will investigate
and take it up - we have a good team in place there and I know a couple of the senor MEA people.
In the longer term, I think students should rethink why they want to do medicine in the Ukraine (there's a single digit pass percentage in the qualifying exam in India. Having worked in both countries, I find they are a racist people (even more than Russia).
vijaykarthik

Post by vijaykarthik »

ldev wrote:Forecasting is a dicey business, but I would say that the countdown has begun on Putin's exit. Now that the sanctions are in place, they will not be lifted anytime soon. Notwithstanding any agreement reached between Russia and Ukraine, the sanctions will not be lifted unless all Russian forces withdraw to pre Feb 23 positions. And there there is the possibility of a demand for withdrawal from Crimea as well which will be impossible for Putin to comply with. The un-spoken and un-stated objective of the sanctions is that there is pressure mounted on the inner circle to depose and get rid of Putin. If the rouble plummets in value, there is a run on banks for cash, hyperinflation, shortage of basic goods and services, all of which can happen because of the sanctions on the Central Bank of Russia, the pressure on Putin's inner circle to get rid of him will grow.
OT: I forecast as a hobby to keep myself abreast. Both in prediction markets and in tournaments. A lot of these forecasts are used by Economist (magazine)/ and other large clients (and allegedly some US govt depts too) too. Economist actually linked to our public covid dashboard when they were doing their reports / analysis etc. Matter of fact, only researching for one tough question actually brought me to BRF earlier.

KL Dubey wrote:Not taking sides here, only giving objective comments.

Putin still has the upper hand. The nuclear grandstanding aside, this is the kinetic form of a mini-cold war with the west having using their cultivated proxies in Ukr over the last decade to foster instability in eastern europe. Putin has decided to solve that problem with a military solution. I think Ukr will fold in another 10 days.

If Ukr returns to the Russian orbit, then Poland will be the "frontier" country and Germany especially will be the NATO state put on the hook to defend it, since the Polish armed forces do not inspire much confidence.

As in WW-1 and WW-2, it seems the European races have not evolved beyond the desire to kill each other.
That is it in a nutshell... Except for smooth-talking and technology, nothing has changed in European Geopolitics from the 1940s. Plus there is a predictable (rather comfortable for the Russians) Biden admin who is not going to risk anything here. GoI did the right thing by staying neutral, we cannot trust these jokers.