2021 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: 2021 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

Cyrano wrote:Suraj and KLNM jis,
Your interpretation (in the Ukraine thread) regarding the note in Indian passport is right, it addresses foreign officials; I did some digging and stand corrected. The note itself is a carryover from British colonial era when HMTQ could haughtily request and require. Doesnt mean much today. Cheers !
Not so fast Cyrano gaaru.

Japan could not "require". if the other party says "else"? How a Japan with no army would enforce thier will?

as for Indan PP, there were several Uak citizens in desh back in 1950. That is a symmetrical language. if brutes held up India. citizens either/or India can do the same to their shittyzens as well as go to the UN with a complaint. The US is the US - maassaa only.

so out if thise four passports, Japan is the odd man out - no army and no clout to enforce.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 07 Mar 2022 02:47, edited 2 times in total.

This report is from the Liar (Wire) but it claims that Defexpo deferment is due to conflicting stances taken by EU+US against displaying Russian armaments.

Unexplained Deferring of Defexpo Will Deal a Body Blow to MoD’s Reliability
Instead, senior defence industry officials claimed that this deferment had followed ‘pressure’ on New Delhi during the Quadrilateral Security Dialogue or Quad meeting Prime Minister Narendra Modi held a day earlier with his Australian, Japanese and US counterparts. They told The Wire that during this virtual four-member conclave on Thursday, the US is believed to have called upon India not to facilitate the ‘gratuitous’ display of Russian armaments at the MMCEC, which Modi himself was scheduled to inaugurate.

To further reinforce its inviolate anti-Moscow stance following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, the US is also believed to have indicated in the Quad interaction its intent, alongside that of other European arms manufacturers, to withdraw from the DefExpo if Russian military enterprises participated in the four-day event.

Of DefExpo’s 121 overseas exhibitors, Russian defence companies were the second largest after those from the US out of an overall total of 1028 participants, the bulk of whom were obviously local. But all of them collectively faced punitive sanctions and embargoes by the US, European Union states, and other countries over the continuing assault on Ukraine by an irredentist Moscow that began last week.

MoD officials and others from the Defence Exhibition Organisation (DEO) tasked with organising the Gandhinagar show were unavailable for comment.

However, several overseas exhibitors said that the MoD’s ‘postponement’ of the DefExpo was merely a euphemism for the show’s cancellation, describing it as simply officialese to preclude compensating participants for the vast advances they had earlier paid to the DEO to ensure their inclusion. Conversely, if the MoD had, in fact, directly cancelled DefExpo it would then compulsorily have had to reimburse 75% of these monies in keeping with DEO stipulations, an undertaking from which it normally shrinks.

A fleeting scrutiny of the rates being charged by the DEO from overseas participants is instructive to gauge the large sums involved. The price for each assorted indoor and outdoor DefExpo stall, measuring 12 sq m, of which exhibitors had hired several apiece, was between $850-1,000 and $530-500 respectively. Expansive chalets, on the other hand, to entertain prospective clients and to hold meetings and negotiations away from prying eyes, ranged from $105,000 to $95,000 each, depending on when the advance bookings had been affected. Prices for analogous space for domestic companies were considerably less.

“It (DefExpo postponement) came as a rude shock to all participating foreign original equipment manufacturers (OEMs), especially when most of them had erected their stalls and were readying for the show,” said an executive from a participating US firm. “We faced no logistic handicaps whatsoever and now all OEMs had to undo whatever they had put together with great effort and at great cost,” she added declining to be named for fear of affronting an unforgiving MoD.

Another European exhibitor said the fallout from the superpower rivalry between the US and Russia over the Ukraine war had ‘shrouded’ the DefExpo, forcing its closure. But he had harsh words for the MoD, which he said should have anticipated the effect the evolving Ukrainian situation would have on the participation of Russian companies in DefExpo, and reacted sooner. However, such arbitrariness by the MoD in summarily calling off the Expo, added another US OEM official, further depreciated India’s credibility as a dependable customer, especially when its military wanted to dilute its inventory of Russian materiel, whose continuance in service was gravely imperilled by sanctions.

Over 50% of all Indian military assets were of Soviet or Russian origin that are continually in need of maintenance, overhaul and upgradation, all of which now threaten to become increasingly difficult, if not impossible, to secure under sanctions. And though India’s military could endure these restrictions and embargoes over the next 12-18 months via current inventories, and by cannibalising existing platforms to keep the rest operational, it faced a serious equipment crunch thereafter, senior service officers admitted.

Presently, India is awaiting imminent delivery of four of five Almaz-Antey S-400 Triumf self-propelled surface-to-air (SAM) missile systems, four Admiral Grigorovich Project 1135.6M frigates, 601,427 Kalashnikov Ak-203 assault rifles, as well as leasing one more Project 971 ‘Akula’ (Schuka-B)-class nuclear powered submarine (SSN).

Additionally, it had concluded assorted deals with Russia for diverse missiles, including man-portable Very Short Range Defence Systems (VSHORADS), ammunition and ordnance for employment by the Indian Army, locked in a continuing faceoff with China’s People’s Liberation Army (PLA) in eastern Ladakh since May 2020. India was also in advanced discussions with Russia to procure 464 Russian T-90MS main battle tanks (MBTs) and 12 Sukhoi Su-30MKI fighters, amongst other sundry kits.

Will dent MoD’s standing, say analysts

Back at DefExpo, Amit Cowshish, former MoD acquisitions advisor, believed that under the prevailing circumstances, India was caught in a ‘cleft stick’. He claimed that it seemed improbable for the MoD to reschedule the exhibition for later this year, as that would clash with bigger and more established defence shows in Dubai, France and the UK, amongst others. Besides, he warned that the MoD would face a predicament similar to the one at DefExpo next February, during the two-yearly Aero India 2023, as Moscow would remain sanctioned for an extended if not indefinite period and comparable, insoluble issues would re-surface, Moreover, the ticklish issue of recompensating DefExpo exhibitors too remained unresolved, further denting the MoDs standing with foreign OEMs, he warned.

Other industry officials and analysts reflected that the alternate way out for India of conducting future military exhibitions by excluding Russian or US and fellow European participants, would be ‘totally meaningless and irrelevant’; these would not only give offence to those who had been snubbed, but severely debilitate Delhi’s defence equipment options even further.

“The reality currently is that India remains equally dependent on Russia and the US for its materiel needs, and under no circumstances can it alienate either one of them,” said military analyst Major General A.P. Singh (retired). It now faces the unenviable task of finding a via medium out of this calamity which DefExpo has highlighted, he cautioned.

Meanwhile, DefExpo overseas exhibitors, now desultorily packing up to return home, bemoaned the high costs they had incurred, not only in stall-booking fees and in ferrying their elaborate displays and hardware to Gujarat, but also paying advances for hotel rooms in Ahmedabad where the tariff had soared sixfold to over Rs 50,000 per night.

“In all likelihood, we will eventually have to write these expenses off, and chalk it down to a bad albeit avoidable experience,” remarked one European participant resignedly.

Another, however, somewhat eruditely and lightheartedly suggested that perhaps the Mahatma’s spirit hovering over the MMCEC, named after the apostle of peace, had intervened and mysteriously impeded arms sales to India, for now.

Cain Marko wrote: This is great news. Any idea what happened with the hijab row? I think Ukraine stole it's thunder.

why not the selective repeal of RTE too in KAR

or at least defang the poisonous provisions and make a level playing field for all
Pliss to excuje but What eej rte, Saar? Right to ....?

However, such arbitrariness by the MoD in summarily calling off the Expo, added another US OEM official, further depreciated India’s credibility as a dependable customer
Ahh, but dear Amreeki OEMs, the customer is always right ! Instead of going and weeping in US Govt's lap these buggers are blaming us for not making DefExpo a "west is best" showroom and pass big orders. :rotfl:

Your interpretation (in the Ukraine thread) regarding the note in Indian passport is right, it addresses foreign officials; I did some digging and stand corrected. The note itself is a carryover from British colonial era when HMTQ could haughtily request and require. Doesnt mean much today. Cheers !
Thanks for checking into it & posting. It’s good to have official info.

Vayutuvan wrote:
Not so fast Cyrani gaaru.

Japan could not "require". if the other party says "else"? How a Japan with no army would enforce thier will?

as for Indan PP, there were several Uak citizens in desh back in 1950. That is a symmetrical language. if brutes held up India. citizens either/or India can do the same to their shittyzens as well as go to the UN with a complaint. The US is the US - maassaa only.

so out if thise four passports, Japan is the odd man out - no army and no clout to enforce.
Cyrano garu can correct me if I am wrong, but passport deal has more to do with international law, conventions, diplomatic ties rtc. than with armies etc.

RTE = Right to Education act 2009, which imposes a 25% quota on all private educational institutions to take students from economically weaker sections. Govt will reimburse the cost at per its own per child expenditure of the state. But these seats are filled only to 20-26% of the all quota.

However, by an amendment in 2012, Minority Institutions (MI) were exempted from fulfilling this quota, and there is no legal need to take in any specific % of minority students. This was challenged in SC but SC upheld the amendment.

https://indianexpress.com/article/expla ... e-7449456/

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/ne ... 219217.cms

Any Hindu institution run school is not exempted from RTE since its not a minority institution.

Xtian MIs are a money making (and off late conversion) rackets. My mon taught in one in Hyd for 3 decades, she never got the full pay the signed for each month. They used to cut PF etc but never paid it to the Govt. When my mom retired she got nearly nothing. They never agreed to show any calculation. There are many court cases, that get adjourned and drag for decades, they have money to keep fighting, retired teachers dont and die one day before the case is decided. Teaching hours and workload was very high with min 60-70 students per class in each section. The principals and administrators were always white frocked "fathers" who were abusive, cruel tyrants. Would not allow even pregnant teachers to sit in the class citing discipline, got little or no maternity leave, of course not a single day of that was paid in any case. If they don't fire you for getting pregnant, you're lucky. Huge donations charged during admission, development fees every year, all in cash, black money that puts builders to shame. Steady, predictable revenue stream. The list of atrocities is endless. They have huge political clout since every govt official, elected rep from municipal council to minister have their children studying in these same prestigious Saint-something schools.

But the quality of education is always considered to be better than a Govt school, so parents would sacrifice many things and pay up. And being MI shields from any oversight and all intervention.

As for madrassas, only alla knows how they are run and what abuses go on there.

Passport issuance is a discretionary power of the State. Cannot be legally challenged. Serves only to prove a persons identity and nationality (with rare exceptions for UK and PRC. There are some International conventions regarding the format and minimum content of a passport but AFAIK nothing concerning its legality or rights it may confer. The message on the passport is not mandatory, no one in the country or outside is "obligated" to do anything if the message is there or not. The message UK and Indian passports carry might have had some significance in the colonial era where only the privileged were issued passports, and were allowed easy passage across the Empire, but today is just a useless vestige of the past. There is no right to any level of help or service one can demand from a consular mission abroad. Whatever help you get depends on the country's ability and outlook towards its citizen in a foreign land.

European Union requires that each member state offer the same level of protection and assistance to a citizen of a member state as it does to its own citizen.
Notably is situations such as: (https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content ... 32015L0637)
The consular protection referred to in Article 2 may include assistance, inter alia, in the following situations:
(a) arrest or detention;
(b)being a victim of crime;
(c)a serious accident or serious illness;
(d)death;
(e)relief and repatriation in case of an emergency;
(f)a need for emergency travel documents as provided for in Decision 96/409/CFSP (8). (in case of loss or theft)
Embassies and Consular premises are considered as territory of the country they represent, so thats where the "protection" comes in. The local police or law enforcement or army cannot intervene in these premises, that would amount to violation of sovereignty. So in most cases you can seek protection INSIDE your embassy or consulate, but they may or may not be able to protect you outside their premises. Consular operations are covered by Vienna convention of consular Operations 1963 under the UN.

Once again, no right conferred on any individual, no obligation placed on a consular office(r) to provide protection and assistance. You can demand whatever you want, what you get depends on your consulate's ability to do something in a foreign country and the outlook of your Govt wrt its citizen abroad, and perhaps your own standing.

why not the selective repeal of RTE too in KAR

or at least defang the poisonous provisions and make a level playing field for all
Pliss to excuje but What eej rte, Saar? Right to ....?

Cain Marko ji,

I see that Cyrano ji has replied.

Cain Marko wrote:This is great news. Any idea what happened with the hijab row? I think Ukraine stole it's thunder.
The advocates have concluded their arguments and the division bench of KA High Court is contemplating on the final verdict. No date of verdict has been given as of today. Mean while the interim order that hijab cannot be worn if the college management has a specific uniform prescribed still stands. Practical (Lab) exams have started in KA and so now if the hijabis want to boycott those exams then they will be the losers. They will have to compensate the lost marks by scoring more in the theory examinations. All of a sudden I also noticed that news papers like Deccan Herald (secular, liberal :roll: and pro-Congress) have stopped reporting this issue now.

Sachin wrote:
Cain Marko wrote:This is great news. Any idea what happened with the hijab row? I think Ukraine stole it's thunder.
The advocates have concluded their arguments and the division bench of KA High Court is contemplating on the final verdict. No date of verdict has been given as of today. Mean while the interim order that hijab cannot be worn if the college management has a specific uniform prescribed still stands. Practical (Lab) exams have started in KA and so now if the hijabis want to boycott those exams then they will be the losers. They will have to compensate the lost marks by scoring more in the theory examinations. All of a sudden I also noticed that news papers like Deccan Herald (secular, liberal :roll: and pro-Congress) have stopped reporting this issue now.
I haven't been near the college in few weeks which started this whole controversy, but in other schools in the district i see kids wearing uniform matching hijabs (with more religious types wrapped in al amira and khimars) and going to school. I think this is how this whole debate will come to an end, schools with uniforms will let uniform colored hijabs/amiras/khimars, and only those with the strictest uniform rules with stomach for more heated debates will prohibit the head coverings irrespective of the court ruling.

If the Wire report is right about US+EU exhibitors pulling out of Defexpo because of presence of Russian wares, then it seems like they sure are not pulling out of Saudi Defence Show...In fact, it seems like both Russian as well as Ukrainian arms manufacturers are present at the show.

Russian, Ukrainian Weapons Compete At Saudi Defence Show As War Unfolds

Again if Western world is pulling out of Defexpo because of how India voted at UN, then it seems like a special message reserved for us and not Saudi? I am referencing an opinion by an abhorrent Indian women based out of massa but she seems to think "our actions have consequences in foreign policy" and pulling out might be one of them...

Ref: https://twitter.com/DrAyeshaRay/status/ ... m85dEpAAAA

Zynda wrote:If the Wire report is right about US+EU exhibitors pulling out of Defexpo because of presence of Russian wares, then it seems like they sure are not pulling out of Saudi Defence Show...In fact, it seems like both Russian as well as Ukrainian arms manufacturers are present at the show.

Russian, Ukrainian Weapons Compete At Saudi Defence Show As War Unfolds

Again if Western world is pulling out of Defexpo because of how India voted at UN, then it seems like a special message reserved for us and not Saudi? I am referencing an opinion by an abhorrent Indian women based out of massa but she seems to think "our actions have consequences in foreign policy" and pulling out might be one of them...

Ref: https://twitter.com/DrAyeshaRay/status/ ... m85dEpAAAA

Let’s save this post and see who actually boycotts the def expo. The only color they know is green( $)

unbelievable commies

orifice aurum will continue to be mined

The State Conference of the CPI(M) Kerala has concluded with the election of an 88 member state committee.

Comrade Kodiyeri Balakrishnan has been reelected as the state secretary.

CPI(M) extends revolutionary greetings to the newly elected leadership.

Chetak ji, How do you come up with such golden expressions? :rotfl:

KLNMurthy wrote: Cyrano garu can correct me if I am wrong, but passport deal has more to do with international law, conventions, diplomatic ties rtc. than with armies etc.
It may very well be. I am giving an explanation for why India copied British passport language. Symmetry. I don't see a need to drop the word "require" from the passport.

When I came to the US back in 1985, Indian passports were not completely laminated (or whatever it is called now). Photo used to be pasted and on top of it a red signature protection ape which would stride the photos bottom edge and the passport page on which the photo is. That is where passport holder's signature would be. All passports carry a warning not to mutilate the passport. It applies to everybody. So that fellow at the US immigration tried to pull on that signature paper strip to see I stuck it onto it or something. I told him to stop doing that. That is how the Indian passports are. Thankfully that fellow stopped before he did real damage to the passport.

Low level folks who have power over even noble laureates like Venky Ramakrishnan.

Cyrano wrote:As for madrassas, only alla knows how they are run and what abuses go on there.
Madarsa-e-aliya is a very elite school though.

Cyrano wrote:You can demand whatever you want, what you get depends on your consulate's ability to do something in a foreign country and the outlook of your Govt wrt its citizen abroad, and perhaps your own standing.
India should not drop the "required". Whether we are able to enforce our will on the other country's officials or not, the language is a must as India is a sovereign nation and signatory to treaties. India's passport and India's wish. I don't see a need for watering down the language.

https://threadreaderapp.com/thread/1495 ... 38563.html
#Putin:Following break-up of USSR,the modus operandi of #Ukraine wasn't that of cooperation w/ #Russia,but rather scroungerism. UKR chose the path of building its identity thru denial of historical commonality with Russia, oligarchs flirted w/ external forces to enrich themselves
Replace USSR with INdia, Ukraine with TN/Kerala/AP and you can see the parallels. Only difference is the Church - embedded in West's corridors of power and also acts as boots on the ground in India.

Vayutuvan wrote:
Cyrano wrote:You can demand whatever you want, what you get depends on your consulate's ability to do something in a foreign country and the outlook of your Govt wrt its citizen abroad, and perhaps your own standing.
India should not drop the "required". Whether we are able to enforce our will on the other country's officials or not, the language is a must as India is a sovereign nation and signatory to treaties. India's passport and India's wish. I don't see a need for watering down the language.
Agree, lets hope leaving it there motivates us to become strong enough to make it mean something in as many countries as possible.

Whatsapp/Facebook/Twitter needs to be banned from India asap. It is bad enough that we are going from one crisis to another and now dealing with high food and fuel inflation, but some people with nefarious intentions are spreading rumors of edible oil and fuel shortage on whatsapp ! The situation is already so bad that several large supermarkets in the area have run out of cooking oil !

national damaad is feeling his oats onlee

the de rigueur but politically mandatory temple visits and wearing of the janeu over his coat will soon start

looks like the dynasty damaad ji had no option but to make the self declaration of his parliamentary ambitions

Want to fight 2024 Lok Sabha polls from Moradabad: Robert Vadra ..

New Delhi: Robert Vadra wants to fight the 2024 Lok Sabha from his home town Moradabad.

The husband of Congress general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra claimed that everyone has high hopes from him and expect him to choose Moradabad or any other city in Uttar Pradesh for his entry to Parliament.

Talking to IANS, the 53-year-old businessman said that he serves the people every day. ‘I think I will be able to make a difference in politics’

“Election or no election, I go to temples, mosques, churches and gurudwaras across the country. I think I will be able to make a difference in politics. I would like that the lives of people change for the better. When Priyanka comes home, we talk politics, and discuss how to mitigate the sufferings of people in the villages,” he said.

When asked if he wanted to see his wife as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Vadra said people want to see her leading the state but it will be her decision.

It is up to Priyanka to decide if she would like to be confined to UP only, or will go to the national stage, because she is a national leader, Vadra added.
GShankar

Post by GShankar »

Neela wrote:https://threadreaderapp.com/thread/1495 ... 38563.html
#Putin:Following break-up of USSR,the modus operandi of #Ukraine wasn't that of cooperation w/ #Russia,but rather scroungerism. UKR chose the path of building its identity thru denial of historical commonality with Russia, oligarchs flirted w/ external forces to enrich themselves
Replace USSR with INdia, Ukraine with TN/Kerala/AP and you can see the parallels. Only difference is the Church - embedded in West's corridors of power and also acts as boots on the ground in India.
"Leaving all the quoted posts for context"

Neela, you might want to add j&k, delhi, punjab, mizoram and w. bengal to your list. Probably haryana, telengana and mh are border line

Though, imo the anology of ukraine is more suitable to nepalese, beedis and pakis.
vinod

Post by vinod »

Ambar wrote:Whatsapp/Facebook/Twitter needs to be banned from India asap. It is bad enough that we are going from one crisis to another and now dealing with high food and fuel inflation, but some people with nefarious intentions are spreading rumors of edible oil and fuel shortage on whatsapp ! The situation is already so bad that several large supermarkets in the area have run out of cooking oil !
Add Netflix and amazon to the list.

Ambar wrote:Whatsapp/Facebook/Twitter needs to be banned from India asap. It is bad enough that we are going from one crisis to another and now dealing with high food and fuel inflation, but some people with nefarious intentions are spreading rumors of edible oil and fuel shortage on whatsapp ! The situation is already so bad that several large supermarkets in the area have run out of cooking oil !
And how exactly you will prevent any alternate tech platform from spreading/aiding these rumors ? SM presence has also aided nationalist narrative because it provided space for individuals to come in public and puncture shells of knowledge hardened by Nehruvian Socialists/Leftist/Marxist cabal both internationally and nationally.

^^ I've done this as an experiment across SM platforms many times with predictable results. Try reporting a post/comment that is misleading/hateful towards India/Modi/BJP. Never have even a single post ever got blocked or deleted, such posts for some reason always meet the standards of these platforms. Now do the reverse and you will see action being taken swiftly with offending post/video/channel taken down faster than you can spell poof. All the editorial power is one sided and lead by the most rabid Bif, Islamist and Marxist types spreading as much fud as they want.

Vayutuvan wrote: Not so fast Cyrani gaaru.

Cyrano garu can correct me if I am wrong, but passport deal has more to do with international law, conventions, diplomatic ties rtc. than with armies etc.
:rotfl: whoever talks about Japan not having any clout to 'require' has no idea what they're talking about.

Here's the blunt reality - over a ~40 year period, the Japanese passport has been the most powerful passport in the world for real access to countries. Forget the stupid rankings where random little Euro countries all crowd the numbers with broad numbers - Japan continues to have visa free/eVisa access to ALL the major world nations, and this has been the case for a long time. Americas ? Europe ? Russia ? China ? India ? Oceania ? It does not matter. No western passport comes close to this.

Japanese are barely used to the concept of a visa because they haven't needed one pretty much anywhere for almost 2 generations now. SHQ talks about having traveled all over the world as a kid and took a while to grasp that both in terms of cost and accessibility, Indians have no grasp of the sheer accessibility to the world Japanese take for granted. For a long time they've needed to do nothing more than pack a change of clothes and passport and head to airport. We used eVisa for her and our kid last time we entered India and the afsar said she doesn't even need that, pointing at portal marked 'visa on arrival for Japanese nationals only'.

Suraj wrote: :rotfl: whoever talks about Japan not having any clout to 'require' has no idea what they're talking about.
That is not the point I am making. I don't want to go on as I don't know whether you are posting as a mod or as an ordinary poster. :mrgreen:

Vayutuvan wrote:
Suraj wrote: :rotfl: whoever talks about Japan not having any clout to 'require' has no idea what they're talking about.
That is not the point I am making. I don't want to go on as I don't know whether you are posting as a mod or as an ordinary poster. :mrgreen:
Did you not see that ramana has already told posters to stop the 'request' vs 'require' nonsense argument ?

Guess what ? You still did. Just you. Did you censured for it ? No, you actually got a response focusing on the topic, not you. What do you have in response ? Make it personal with the mods. Again, and again.

Don't behave like Kejriwal. Your recent posting record and user notes make it clear you are a net liability to the forum. Your permaban is not far away, and it will have been thoroughly well earned.

Ambar wrote:
Sachin wrote: The advocates have concluded their arguments and the division bench of KA High Court is contemplating on the final verdict. No date of verdict has been given as of today. Mean while the interim order that hijab cannot be worn if the college management has a specific uniform prescribed still stands. Practical (Lab) exams have started in KA and so now if the hijabis want to boycott those exams then they will be the losers. They will have to compensate the lost marks by scoring more in the theory examinations. All of a sudden I also noticed that news papers like Deccan Herald (secular, liberal :roll: and pro-Congress) have stopped reporting this issue now.
I haven't been near the college in few weeks which started this whole controversy, but in other schools in the district i see kids wearing uniform matching hijabs (with more religious types wrapped in al amira and khimars) and going to school. I think this is how this whole debate will come to an end, schools with uniforms will let uniform colored hijabs/amiras/khimars, and only those with the strictest uniform rules with stomach for more heated debates will prohibit the head coverings irrespective of the court ruling.
Well if that's what it comes to, I hope we see equal number of kids with tilak, shikha etc. And an occasional sannyasin type in full ochre or langot.

Maybe the lack of coverage also has to do with UP results now becoming apparent.

Sumeet wrote:
And how exactly you will prevent any alternate tech platform from spreading/aiding these rumors ? SM presence has also aided nationalist narrative because it provided space for individuals to come in public and puncture shells of knowledge hardened by Nehruvian Socialists/Leftist/Marxist cabal both internationally and nationally.
Have desi alternatives so the govt has some control over social media platforms. I thought it was just in my district that there was a run on the edible oil and petrol, looks like the rumors of impending edible oil/petrol shortage has made people hoard these items in multiple districts/states. I sometimes wonder if apps like whatsapp purposefully let these rumors fester and spread, compare it with messages questioning vaccines/covid treatments, the platforms were so vigilant that they instantly shut off messages running contrary to the information from western governments .

India needs to ban Fake News.

Banning has many negatives. This could completely undermine press freedom in the country. Tomorrow it could be dictator puppet at helm and will ban and arrest anyone who write against him calling it fake news. So it's better that we create an atmosphere where it's absolutely free to publish anything but if found fake, then there is accountability. Fake news was always there. That's why many corrupt and crooked ones are glorified in our textbooks. Fake news is getting challenged today because of social media. Problem here is that the social media platforms itself undermining freedom of press. So there must be absolute freedom to publish anything and let people counter it. But if spreading fake news or trying to ban some type of views by social media platforms, then they must be held accountable. Another issue is that the censoring of fake news is with the same social media types. Now whether they are doing their job correctly or not is not monitored. Neither is any penalty for going rogue and banning and censuring what the social media platform thing is fake media. And if this power is taken from them, then also the number of fake news could increase in those platforms where they are doing the job correctly.

Some option is to put monetary penalty. But this has its negative that the ordinary citizen or small time media that's truthful will find it difficult even for a small mistake, while the ones with money power and funding can keep peddling fake news. So its better to put some sort of rating mechanism for media by the public themselves along with the government passing a law to make them apologize in public in their front-page for a day for the fake news they peddled. This will have a better deterrent to fake news. This must be a law that must be applicable to all publications including foreign ones and on not apologizing could lead to a ban of a week. This repeated regularly when they peddle more fake news will completely decimate them from the competitive market.

Also to ensure that the youngsters not have to go through the pseudo secular phase and then change to understand the reality, our textbooks need to change. Have no doubt about it. That's where all the filth is starting with. Every text books should be made pro-BHARAT without any doubt and when they come out of school, they could figure out the wrong and the right immediately.
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

uddu wrote:Banning has many....
Imo this is way too idealistic. Fake news in itself isn't the problem, fake news that is detrimental to india's interests, is.
There absolutely shouldn't be "absolute freedom to publish anything" and "let people counter it" is even more egregious. What's required is the ability to peddle fake news and block out fake(&real) news that doesn't align with state's interests.

Agree with the textbook change! Sorely required.

ramana wrote:India needs to ban Fake News.
The question is what is fake news and who defines it?

I think more than banning fake speach. We need to improve our prosecution rates for slander and liable case's with real penalties. Not just a retraction or apology.

dsreedhar

Post by dsreedhar »

ramana wrote:India needs to ban Fake News.
The question is what is fake news and who defines it?

I think more than banning fake speach. We need to improve our prosecution rates for slander and liable case's with real penalties. Not just a retraction or apology.
Agree that's a better approach. Heavily penalize for any outright lies, and appropriate penalties for slander etc.

ban fake news to make way for Pravda ? I dont know if there is/can be a remedy against fake news.

Make journalists register as professionals (like CA / Architects / Doctors)

Every "news" article or website to have the journalists' registration number.

Any opinion piece on news website to be tied in to the registration of the media house.

Have the article review link up to the professional rating of the journalist / media house.

Consistent poor ratio of review leads to quarantine / suspension of license.

Just my 2 paise.

Cyrano wrote:ban fake news to make way for Pravda ? I dont know if there is/can be a remedy against fake news.
Cyranoji
My old Professor used to say;
There is no Pravda in Izvestia and
No Izvestia in Pravda (check out meaning for P and I) :lol: :lol: