Eastern Europe/Ukraine [Feb 6th 2015]

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Eastern Europe/Ukraine [Feb 6th 2015]

Cyrano wrote:The missile hit was not top attack, but from the side. The cage is untouched.

How did you determine the missile launched was Kalibr?
Apparently it was top hit and was confirmed by few folks, the cage has a hole in hit and the explosion you see on the side from internal explosion or someone decided to fire an rpg for good measure.

I have seen Kalibr launches before and it mirrors it pretty well

hmmm....

KL Dubey wrote:https://liveuamap.com/

This map was posted last week by a BRF member...it seems to have a Pakrainian slant (I guess because those are the people reporting incidents)...but it is clear that the Russians are choking/encircling almost all the major cities except Odessa and Lvov.
Then whose map would you use? Al Jazerra is no different same with ones from Chinese or our media as well.

The information war is always slanted towards "Clever West/Nato" and "Stupid/Bumbling Russia". When you reflect on the collective decisions made by the "Clever West/Nato" it turns out to be mightly stupid and asinine, since they have a little chip on their shoulders which places them morally above others and the rest are all bumbling fools. Their actions are done from this angle always and rest be damned. They don't understand a chess player like Putin.

John wrote:

This map was posted last week by a BRF member...it seems to have a Pakrainian slant (I guess because those are the people reporting incidents)...but it is clear that the Russians are choking/encircling almost all the major cities except Odessa and Lvov.
Then whose map would you use? Al Jazerra is no different same with ones from Chinese or our media as well.
I posted that and the website is built/maintained by Ukrainians. Most of the videos/pics uploaded are from Ukrainians as well so we have to account for that.

Having said that Russia is slowly(very) encircling all the major cities. They are having logistical problems and taking losses but that is nothing new for them.

If one is waiting for Russia to just give up now it will take years not months.

Mort Walker wrote:VP Archana Puran Singh (Kapil Sharma show host) was speaking at press conference with Poland president today. Chewtias like this will only drag this conflict out further.

She is going to have a tough time in future , Shidhu will be returning to the show after the mayhem he created …
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

vijayk wrote:I am getting sick of Indian Express. They are printing daily lies/propaganda of NYT in total ... so many stories from white racist propaganda network. We need to infiltrate editorial boards of TOIlet/IE
GOI needs to control Indian media sooner rather than later.

Otherwise, as we can see in the present day, not controlling your media means the US controls your media, pure and simple.

The US media network, despite the vast lies and propaganda they have spewed, still carry the most prestige and due to this, people who worship prestige and power will automatically download US propaganda into their brains without really vetting it. Some of this is holdover from when the propaganda was smarter (50 years ago). Some of this is just due to US being the "only sooper power". In the last 30 years the propaganda has gotten much stupider, but the prestige isn't fully gone yet.
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

bala wrote:The information war is always slanted towards "Clever West/Nato" and "Stupid/Bumbling Russia". When you reflect on the collective decisions made by the "Clever West/Nato" it turns out to be mightly stupid and asinine, since they have a little chip on their shoulders which places them morally above others and the rest are all bumbling fools. Their actions are done from this angle always and rest be damned. They don't understand a chess player like Putin.
Clever West NATO is so clever that every day they jump and do some new action to say "f--k YOO RUSSIA" without any plan, any concept, any strategy.
Just pure war hysteria and lust for power.

Day 1, "we have sanctions from hell prepared for the evil Russkies. Russia doesn't need to be cut from SWIFT, that's the nuclear option."
Day 2, "ackshually, we will cut the evil Russkies from SWIFT because they are just so damn evil."
Day 3, "also we have decided to send MANPADS because Zelensky is crying."
Day 4, "btw citizens of the West, if anyone would like to go fight the Russkies than we will totally admire you for that and you would be a hero of the crusade, but we're not saying you should, or anything."
Day 5, "Fire all the Russian Opera singers."
Day 6, "Poland do you want to send planes to Ukraine? Yes, no, let's think about it!"
Day 7, "Russian gas is banned. Hey Venezuela wanna talk? Iran? Anyone?"
Last edited by UBanerjee on 11 Mar 2022 02:06, edited 2 times in total.

John wrote:

I didn't say we should use another map. I just said the inputs seem all from Pakranians (as opposed to, say, Russians involved on the ground) so take it FWIW.

Russia can revive their plan of placing missiles with nukes in Cuba/Venuzuela or take over some island of the americas. Russia's own nato would be on the door steps of US. They could threaten the ships carrying export goods from Europe/Britain. They have many options. It would become a grand clusterf*k for the world at large. The 'woke' types of US Democrats are no great thinkers/strategists just hot-air nut cases running around feeling important and most of their ideas screw the general populace at large.
Last edited by bala on 11 Mar 2022 02:26, edited 1 time in total.
srikandan

Post by srikandan »

Clearly, no one knows outside Russia knows what Russia's end game is, and we know that Putin needs end-game in the short term, so what would be the end results that will shore up Russian security in the long term and allow a defanged ukraine to continue as an independent state. Denying access to ports like Odessa and Mariupol and making western "pro-NATO" ukraine landlocked and eastern ukraine "independent" seems to be part of the plan.

After all the bombing, killing, maiming of civilians US, and West did in AFG, SYRIA, and other middle east shitholes in the least 50+ years the nerve of these people to point that 'Russia is committing' war crimes in Ukraine. This is one area where the West has no moral right to cry Wolf.

https://thehill.com/homenews/administra ... an-attacks

bala wrote:Russia can revive their plan of placing missiles with nukes in Cuba/Venuzuela or take over some island of the americas.
They can, but they won't. One thing, Russia's power projection has diminished significantly since the heydays of coldwar. Russia can do it but it will take enormous resources to project nuclear power outside of its continent and I don't think Russia is in a position to expend such resources now. Venuzuela might entertain the idea, but I doubt Cuba will. A lot has happened for US-Cuba relationship in the last decade and half and I will surprised if Cuba will go the extent of reliving the past 70 years as its future.

^ Venezuela is already ready to establish closer relationship with US

“a smug Maduro — who has sought face-to-face talks with the U.S. for years — bragged that careful protocol was followed, with the flags of the two nations “beautifully united, as they should be.”

https://apnews.com/article/venezuela-us ... 06e0d82400

Talking of civilian deaths, the Brits presided over the deliberate famines like the ones in Bengal 1943 (which Amartya Sen whitewashed), Guntur in 1832, Orissa in 1866/67 and Viceroy Curzon famine in 1899/1900 killing 10s of millions of Indians. In the two world wars roughly 350,000 Indian soldiers died as fodder in the front lines, fighting the battles in Europe. The Brits also used the Mughals to wreak havoc on hindu Indians. The total number of dead Indians is a staggering 80-90 million. Let us not forget that the US wiped out the native population in the Americas.

OT to this thread: But need to point out, bala, the term “famines” sound as if it might have been natural causes and not deliberate. The terms we should diligently use for those horrendous crimes of british should be changed to “Indian Holocausts” committed by the imperialist british using fenceless concentration camps (a british innovation which doesn’t have as much recognition as their other innovation, the regular concentration camps that nazis later adopted and improved)
sohamn

Post by sohamn »

UBanerjee wrote:
vijayk wrote:I am getting sick of Indian Express. They are printing daily lies/propaganda of NYT in total ... so many stories from white racist propaganda network. We need to infiltrate editorial boards of TOIlet/IE

Otherwise, as we can see in the present day, not controlling your media means the US controls your media, pure and simple.

The US media network, despite the vast lies and propaganda they have spewed, still carry the most prestige and due to this, people who worship prestige and power will automatically download US propaganda into their brains without really vetting it. Some of this is holdover from when the propaganda was smarter (50 years ago). Some of this is just due to US being the "only sooper power". In the last 30 years the propaganda has gotten much stupider, but the prestige isn't fully gone yet.
Control the MEDIA??? Do you want India to turn to a dictatorship, emulate China? Be careful what you ask for, else you will find yourself living in China.

We don't appreciate our freedom because it seems so normal and the grass is greener on the other side. But pray, that our country doesn't become another Pakistan or China - where the state controls everything.

hnair wrote:OT to this thread: But need to point out, bala, the term “famines” sound as if it might have been natural causes and not deliberate. The terms we should diligently use for those horrendous crimes of british should be changed to “Indian Holocausts” committed by the imperialist british using fenceless concentration camps (a british innovation which doesn’t have as much recognition as their other innovation, the regular concentration camps that nazis later adopted and improved)
Saar agreed. Love the fenceless part! BTW the south used to call brits as Angelakaran, the angel is similar to Angela Merkel and Angel is district in Germany from where the AngloSaxons came. Heck the Brit Royals are also German blood. All adoptions/adaptations of ideas are therefore within the famiglia. Little known secret the bankers were controlling affairs both in Britain and Germany.
vinod

Post by vinod »

Meta Platforms will allow Facebook and Instagram users in some countries to call for violence against Russians and Russian soldiers in the context of Ukraine invasion, according to emails seen by Reuters, in a temporary change to its hate speech policy

Also, twitter has started closing down Russian accounts citing propaganda .

I hope Indian govt is noting all these. If ever we are sanctioned, Facebook, twitter, Instagram and Netflix should be banned

Su-34 crashed in Belarus conflicting reports some reports state it was shot down by a Russian SAM, locals say they saw the plane was damaged returning from Ukraine and it crashed during landing attempt.

https://twitter.com/sentdefender/status ... 55943?s=21

Is this a great opportunity to hire some top brains from Russia directly into Indian labs/research facilities to help with our defence/strategic efforts? This would bypass sanctions because it will be a pact with individuals in their own capacity - that hasn't been sanctioned and probably will never be because even at the height of cold war US hired the best and brightest from ex-soviet block and continues to do so from Iran and China.

They don't necessarily need to be PhD types, but even expert machinists and craftsmen/women will be welcome to add expertise to our facilities.
yogeshkumar

Post by yogeshkumar »

yensoy wrote:Is this a great opportunity to hire some top brains from Russia directly into Indian labs/research facilities to help with our defence/strategic efforts? This would bypass sanctions because it will be a pact with individuals in their own capacity - that hasn't been sanctioned and probably will never be because even at the height of cold war US hired the best and brightest from ex-soviet block and continues to do so from Iran and China.

They don't necessarily need to be PhD types, but even expert machinists and craftsmen/women will be welcome to add expertise to our facilities.
Why do we have to abide by US's sanctions? Either we are independent country.. or still a slave of US/EU.
yogeshkumar

Post by yogeshkumar »

Even a country like Turkey is saying F**k U to US/EU sanctions. And Turkey is even in NATO.

One mistake all of us are led to believe is that this tussle is between Ukraine and Russia which is far from the truth. It is Nato vs Russia and the US is firing from the shoulders of Ukraine. The proverbial sacrificial lamb is Ukraine. The US wants the Russia speaking side of Ukraine to take the brunt but Russia pre-empted the whole scheme and now the Pole-Russian mix are being sacrificed. Poland of course is Nato. The US Deep State is fine with the slaughter of poles-russian mix, once again the common people are at receiving end of the bargain. Compound this with the asinine stupid sanction on energy and gas and we have the rest of Europe freezing to death. All par for the course for the US Deep State.

Please spare the bravado. We are always watchful for US/western sanctions because large parts of our economy is tied to the west. My question is not about sanctions and I don't want to derail the point here. My question is whether this is a great opportunity for us to hire the top brains and experts from Russia to help speed up our industry.

What is the Azov Battalion? | 5 Minute History

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cuBeABAprlo

from the UKR point of view but goes into why Putin keeps referring to de nazify UKR

yensoy wrote:Please spare the bravado. We are always watchful for US/western sanctions because large parts of our economy is tied to the west.
No we are not - India never really cared. Pushing a pro-west POV is ok to a point in this thread. Don’t push your posts into a hanging threat over India or it’s interests.

Also your question is irrelevant as is the claims of bravado. India has hired Russian and Ukrainian firms as consultants for sensitive projects that US has sanctioned or tried to prohibit in the past and which rest of west does not like. Again consultancy, instead of poaching their talent. It will still continue in many threads. West likes it or not.

Western sanctions are a joke to all but FDI folks and speculative market skimmers who want to push money through global borders. The sanctioned governments have zero pressure due to their populace suffering because their public dislikes west’s empty posturing. Sanctions right now are a way for DC politicians to blather away on TV without committing boots on ground. Only americans seems to get affected by their own sanctions. Emotionally

hnair wrote:
yensoy wrote:Please spare the bravado. We are always watchful for US/western sanctions because large parts of our economy is tied to the west.
No we are not - India never really cared. Pushing a pro-west POV is ok to a point in this thread. Don’t push your posts into a hanging threat over India or it’s interests.
Mod saar, I don't know why it is so difficult to understand my question...

I am saying, I don't want to talk about sanctions. But I see this as a great opportunity to hire talent from Russia given the impact to their economy.
hnair wrote:India has hired Russian and Ukrainian firms as consultants for sensitive projects that US has sanctioned or tried to prohibit in the past and which rest of west does not like. Again consultancy, instead of poaching their talent. It will still continue in many threads.
This is good to know and answers my question, but maybe we should push it up a notch and actually get their people, like China has done over the years. This is a good opportunity if their MIC faces prolonged headwinds.

How we as a country react to western sanctions is irrelevant. But western sanctions have the effect of bringing up some opportunities which we can exploit.

Turn your speakers volume down
What weaponry are the Ukranian soldiers carrying?

surinder

Post by surinder »

hnair wrote:OT to this thread: But need to point out, bala, the term “famines” sound as if it might have been natural causes and not deliberate. The terms we should diligently use for those horrendous crimes of british should be changed to “Indian Holocausts” committed by the imperialist british using fenceless concentration camps (a british innovation which doesn’t have as much recognition as their other innovation, the regular concentration camps that nazis later adopted and improved)
And if the Russians steal stuff from Ukraine, then surely UK will be OK with that. Having stolen trillions of dollars and still holding on the Koh-I-Noor and other Indian possessions, they are the one nation which is in agreement in with stealing.

The British government thugs responded to Indian request to return Koh-I-Noor by saying that "possession of this diamond is the key argument in favor of not returning." So once Russia takes the stuff from Ukraine, then it possesses it and hence has right over it. British surely would agree to that.

Talking about "unprovoked" war by Russia, how many of the British wars on India and rest of the world provoked?
srikandan

Post by srikandan »

https://twitter.com/tjmcintyre/status/1 ... j13dYpAAAA

So western govts. are now frantically trying to keep "unsanitized news" from reaching their populace. Growing used to "free media and freedom and democracy in the west", we see the reality is just blatant govt. controlled propaganda on "private" media channels.

How exactly is this kind of "privately controlled, govt. initiated" censorship better than communist-style "govt. controlled, govt. initiated" censorship, except for the fact that the dirty work has been outsourced to private companies in the USA run by Indian-origin scapegoat CEOs.

surinder wrote:UK Having stolen trillions of dollars and still holding on the Koh-I-Noor and other Indian possessions, they are the one nation which is in agreement in with stealing.
UK is Loot-R-US and STEAL-R-US country. Little do Indians know that the UK systematically stole all the Jewels/Gold of India (remember India was a Rich country due to Spice trade and other stuff including Knowledge). All the wars between the Mughals and Hindu Rajas were instigated by the Brits and then once the loot was collected they would finish of the Mughal satrap e.g. Tipu was finished by the Brits. The Taj had solid gold/jewels which the Brits took away. They were shipped to Britain and the entire banking base of Gold was established, not only in Britain but in Germany, Swiss etc. I would say that Britain stole stuff to the tune of 300+Trillion pounds from Indian Sub-continent. That is like wiping out your retirement account generation after generation. Prior to world war II the Indian Exchequer and Britain Exchequer were separate. After World War II, the US asked Britain to pay for expenses. Britain deducted the costs from the Indian Exchequer, leaving India as pauper/poor nation.

a pakistani girl thanks indian embassy and PM for rescuing her. Modi is now oppressing hijabis by rescuing them

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJnPiPmxsKw
srikandan

Post by srikandan »

https://twitter.com/JackPosobiec/status ... 30/photo/1

Ro Khanna seems to have done some downhill skiing like his fellow pakistani countrymen -- deleted his mutterings on the US in Ukraine. what a tool -- no spine to stand behind how own words. :roll:
vinod

Post by vinod »

What I don't get is why are TB2 drones not taken out by Russians?
vinod

Post by vinod »

Ukraine is saying 8 Russian generals have been sacked. Head of intelligence FSB has been put under house arrest for corruption.
shravanp

Post by shravanp »

UBanerjee wrote:

GoI cannot control media under current legal framework. Zero chance. Media needs money. US/UK have control on their media because they throw money on them. There is a cost involved. Worse, India has opened gates for foreign investments in media, so foreigners will always control the narrative IN India. Patriotism/Desh Bhakti can only have a limited number of audience. There's people far beyond that and you cannot expect them to be desh bhakts. They will always be money-bhakts. paisa bolta hai. Limiting foreign investment can help somewhat.

However its not all gloom and doom. We have decent amount of pro-Indic channels as well.
ManuJ

Post by ManuJ »

Cyrano wrote:Turn your speakers volume down
What weaponry are the Ukranian soldiers carrying?

Quite impressive fire-power.
Ukraine is fast becoming a graveyard of Russian tin-cans and APCs.

^^^and Ukraine is also becoming a graveyard for every bit of military and civilian infrastructure. This war is Russia’s to lose in the next few weeks.

Russian strategy is baffling. There should be no negotiations with Ukraine with the exception of unilateral surrender. Obviously, the Russians can’t occupy it, so it would be best for the Ukrainians to stop fighting now, hold on to their weapons, then turn the place into an insurgency if the Russians don’t leave by summer. Otherwise all of their civilian infrastructure will destroyed and tens of thousands of civilian deaths.
vinod

Post by vinod »

Russians are getting desperate. So the destruction level will go up.
It seems Russian state tv has said this invasion is more embarrassing than Afghanistan. If putin doesn't pull something out of his hat soon, he is going to be in serious trouble.