North East & Eastern Himalayan: News & Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: North East & Eastern Himalayan: News & Discussion

We also missed an opportunity to connect NE directly to sea ...
Shankas

Post by Shankas »

srin wrote:We also missed an opportunity to connect NE directly to sea ...
This is the perfect time to do it. Just take care of rangoon generals in exchange for land.
The US brought Louisiana from Napoleon in 1803 for $15 million (Today's value $370m).
Chicken neck will no longer be an issue. Beedies cojones can be gently placed in a vice grip and tightened as and when needed.
srikandan

Post by srikandan »

NE is directly connected to the sea via Myanmar's rivers and kaladan project -- Indian govt. has been working on it for more than a decade.

https://www.dhyeyaias.com/current-affai ... rt-project\
https://www.insightsonindia.com/2019/06 ... n-project/
Shankas

Post by Shankas »

srikandan wrote:NE is directly connected to the sea via Myanmar's rivers and kaladan project -- Indian govt. has been working on it for more than a decade.

https://www.dhyeyaias.com/current-affai ... rt-project\
https://www.insightsonindia.com/2019/06 ... n-project/
1) Chinese will keep creating trouble.
2) We need to buy all land east of Kaladan River all the way up to the port city of Sittwe.
3) The deal should include Myengu island.
4) The area is sparsely populated.
5) Then build Industrial parks and Distribution centers, which will bring in a million Indians from all parts of India.
srikandan

Post by srikandan »

Shankas: 1) Chinese will keep creating trouble.
So you have a plan on how to deal with this? If not, you are stating the obvious, ok, let's accept this as a reality and also accept that the US/EU have a greater motivation to create trouble and break up myanmar into smaller countries. If you disagree with the latter, do tell why.
Shankas: 2) We need to buy all land east of Kaladan River all the way up to the port city of Sittwe.
1) why? 2) who told you that he myanmar junta wants to sell it? But you seem to have plans to "take care" of Myanmar Junta. Do tell.
Shankas: 3) The deal should include Myengu island.
what deal? what is this deal you have in mind? How does this deal conflict (or not) with the current kaladan project?
Shankas: 4) The area is sparsely populated.
So? Myanmar Junta controls that area, so the details of this plan to piss off the junta and take over Myanmarese land must be interesting. The cretin british agent Jawaharlal Nehru asked similar questions of Tibet and Aksai Chin.
Shankas: 5) Then build Industrial parks and Distribution centers, which will bring in a million Indians from all parts of India.
Awesome, so great. So what is the plan to convince the Myyanmar Junta that India should be here? Assuming that you are not advocating white-man's freedom and democracy for Myanmar.
Shankas

Post by Shankas »

Srikandan Ji, we are all armchair strategist with no power to influence. We can only propose and not everything needs to be by force. India can always make too sweet an offer for the populace to refuse. What that is I will leave it to the powers that be.

Buying land is not new and many countries have done this over centuries.

Several Countries Bought Territories In The Past. Here Are Some Examples
Last edited by Shankas on 07 Feb 2022 09:20, edited 1 time in total.
srikandan

Post by srikandan »

Shankas wrote:Srikandan Ji, we are all armchair strategist with no power to influence. We can only propose and not everything needs to be by force. India can always make too sweet an offer for the populace to refuse. What that is I will leave it to the powers that be.
If you are an amchair strategist, the least you are expected to know is the kaladan project. so please... We may not be the "powers that be"but what is expected of citizens like us is that we are informed of the basics. What is this "too sweet" offer that can solve this problem? you think the people running the country would not have figured it out if you can?

India has been working with Myanmar so that they can bring the north east under control. This is a fact. Any armchair general opining on the current situation needs to be aware of the current state of the world before opining.

Please do not let that stop you from boldly stating your opinions.

Just because USA did a louisiana purchase does not mean India can do a M\yanmar purchase.
Shankas

Post by Shankas »

What is this "too sweet" offer that can solve this problem? you think the people running the country would not have figured it out if you can?
Srikandan ji,
I am not sure why my being an armchair strategist and my thoughts, views, and opinions are bothering you.
For all I know the "too sweet" an offer could be Srikand.
Just because USA did a louisiana purchase does not mean India can do a M\yanmar purchase.
Why not?

Its my strong belief that by 2050 Sindudesh, Burma, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Maldives, will become vassal states of India.
srikandan

Post by srikandan »

Its my strong belief that by 2050 Sindudesh, Burma, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Maldives, will become vassal states of India.
If Myanmar broke up into 4 states, with each state owing allegiance to a different world power, how do you see the path from there to the entire region being a vassal region of India?

Shankas wrote:
srin wrote:We also missed an opportunity to connect NE directly to sea ...
This is the perfect time to do it. Just take care of rangoon generals in exchange for land.
The US brought Louisiana from Napoleon in 1803 for $15 million (Today's value $370m).
Chicken neck will no longer be an issue. Beedies cojones can be gently placed in a vice grip and tightened as and when needed.

I agree - acquiring is an interesting idea. Anything to secure the NE and ensuring it isn't cut off by BD (with different Begum).

Sometimes, I also hope that the BDs start something afresh, because it'll give us an opportunity to err ... adjust the borders.

Slowly but surely, the Border between India BD will reduced to a line in the map. Partition being undone one step at a time...

Regardless of our differences It is in India interests to bring up BD living standards to a level where most will not find it worthwhile to migrate to India. More BD women should be brought into education and the workforce so that their childbearing years are spent in other activities.

Pioneer
New train to cement India-Bangladesh people-to-people ties

To further strengthen people-to-people connectivity through the railways between India and Bangladesh, the two countries started a new passenger train service, Mitali Express, via the recently-restored Haldibari-Chilahati rail link on Wednesday.

The third passenger train service between India and Bangladesh, which was virtually inaugurated by the prime ministers of the two countries on March 27 last year, was flagged off virtually by Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw and his Bangladeshi counterpart Mohammad Nurul Islam Sujan. The train service could not be started earlier due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Speaking on the occasion, Vaishnaw said Mitali Express will be yet another milestone in strengthening the bond between the two neighbouring countries. The train will run bi-weekly (departure from New Jalpaiguri at 11.45 am on Sunday and Wednesday, arrival in Dhaka at 10.30 pm on the same days and departure from Dhaka at 9.50 pm on Monday and Thursday and arrival in New Jalpaiguri at 7.15 am on Tuesday and Friday) and cover a distance of 595 kilometres (of which a 61-kilometre stretch is in India).

The new passenger service, Mitali Express, will give a boost to both countries' tourism since it connects Bangladesh with north Bengal as well as the northeastern region of India. It will also provide access to Nepal to Bangladeshi citizens via India by rail.

The new train is in addition to two existing passenger train services — Kolkata-Dhaka-Kolkata Maitree Express (five days a week) and Kolkata-Khulna-Kolkata Bandhan Express (two days a week) — between India and Bangladesh. The services of the above two trains, which were suspended due to Covid restrictions, were resumed on May 29.

Paul ji, is economic opportunity the primary motivation for Bangladeshi migration into India? Yes, improving Bangladesh's standard of living will mitigate that as a factor. But it will do nothing to address the very substantial % of migration that is driven by Ghazwa ideology. Many in Bangladesh want to demographically swamp everything east of the Chicken Neck plus West Bengal and create a greater Islamic Bengal khanate.
sajo

Post by sajo »

Folks,pranams, is the NE safe for traveling/tourists this week ? Any chance of the Manipur violence spilling over to neighbouring states of Tripura, Meghalaya ? I read about a sporadic incident here and there in Shillong. News from mainstream sources is not very clear about how much of a powder keg the situation is elsewhere. Would appreciate any inputs.

Paul wrote:Slowly but surely, the Border between India BD will reduced to a line in the map. Partition being undone one step at a time...

Regardless of our differences It is in India interests to bring up BD living standards to a level where most will not find it worthwhile to migrate to India. More BD women should be brought into education and the workforce so that their childbearing years are spent in other activities.

Pioneer
New train to cement India-Bangladesh people-to-people ties
I understand that average secular sanatani being delusional about two nation theory but expected better from members of this forum.
To our west and east are the same set of wolves just different colors and language. Both will tear you apart given a single minute of weakness.

https://twitter.com/RadharamnDas/status ... 9373682140

ISKCON expansion in NE

Massive explosion🔥in North East Bharat. Yes, Hare Krishna explosion!

With 200 schools, where more than 4,300 tribal students are studying, we can say that we have stopped the giant wheel of the conversion mafia in many villages where ISKCON TRIBAL CARE has reached. Our tribal brothers are returning back to their roots. Many small children's who are studying in our school's can recite more than 100 Gita slokas at a stretch.

ISKCON Tribal Care, for the last decade, has been working with the tribes. These villages are in very remote areas and there is no mobile network. Most villages are only accessible by boat and devotees have to walk 10 to 15 kms to reach our bases in some parts. While some states, like Mizoram, pose a herculean task due to the government's old policies banning Sadhus from entering the state, most other northern states, especially Assam, due to the strong government of Shri
@himantabiswa
, ISKCON Tribal Care is able to bring back people to their roots, which is Sanatan Dharm.

However, we have seen a huge illegal infiltration of people from Bangladesh, which is a matter of great concern. Details can be found in the tweets below in this thread.

Here is a thread on our visit to these tribal villages during this Christmas holiday and how we celebrated Hare Krishna festivals with the tribes. Please read and share. If you want to support, there are details in the last tweet of this thread. Hare Krishna 🙏 .......1/8... continued...
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

vijayk wrote: 03 Jan 2024 06:27 https://twitter.com/RadharamnDas/status ... 9373682140

ISKCON expansion in NE

Massive explosion🔥in North East Bharat. Yes, Hare Krishna explosion!

With 200 schools, where more than 4,300 tribal students are studying, we can say that we have stopped the giant wheel of the conversion mafia in many villages where ISKCON TRIBAL CARE has reached. Our tribal brothers are returning back to their roots. Many small children's who are studying in our school's can recite more than 100 Gita slokas at a stretch.

ISKCON Tribal Care, for the last decade, has been working with the tribes. These villages are in very remote areas and there is no mobile network. Most villages are only accessible by boat and devotees have to walk 10 to 15 kms to reach our bases in some parts. While some states, like Mizoram, pose a herculean task due to the government's old policies banning Sadhus from entering the state, most other northern states, especially Assam, due to the strong government of Shri
@himantabiswa
, ISKCON Tribal Care is able to bring back people to their roots, which is Sanatan Dharm.

However, we have seen a huge illegal infiltration of people from Bangladesh, which is a matter of great concern. Details can be found in the tweets below in this thread.

Here is a thread on our visit to these tribal villages during this Christmas holiday and how we celebrated Hare Krishna festivals with the tribes. Please read and share. If you want to support, there are details in the last tweet of this thread. Hare Krishna 🙏 .......1/8... continued...
The link is not working !!

Worked. Just checked

While some states, like Mizoram, pose a herculean task due to the government's old policies banning Sadhus from entering the state,
This was done by that Nehru retard on the advice of "anthropologist" Verrier Elwin. This led to missionaries having a monopoly in North East to convert tribals.

Haresh wrote: 03 Jan 2024 23:21
The link is not working !!

https://threadreaderapp.com/thread/1741 ... 82140.html. Can you check if this works?

https://twitter.com/Bohemian_C_/status/ ... 9930610765

An investigation by #BohemianClub has exposed the unholy nexus between China-Pakistan-Khalistan on #Manipur crisis to sabotage Indian interests through several proxy organisations. The nexus even floated #NAMTA for the purpose. Our investigation disclosed this sinister design

https://threadreaderapp.com/thread/1743 ... 10765.html