Understanding the US - Again

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Understanding the US - Again

I am just curious: why is my post on the working of certain US electoral processes interpreted as a "bet on any politician"? I was explaining how things work to another poster. This is still "understanding the US".

Whereas there are 20 posts just above (debating random candidates and where they are in the nomination rankings) that are deemed OK...

I am not overly worried about this post being deleted, but personal biases should not interfere with moderation tasks. For example, including a judgement of "US is a banana republic" in a moderation post reduces credibility.

Just FYI, the US is not a banana republic - it is not perfect and has problems, but certainly has a more effective system than most other countries in nearly every aspect of governance and public participation.

<POOF>

Admin note: Off-topic.

<POOF>

Admin note: Off-topic

<POOF>

Admin Note: off topic

KL Dubey, when an admin posts a warning about OT, then please do take heed. You continued to post ignoring a warning/reminder post. If you like US better than other countries, that is ok. Just don’t post its internal politics in post after posts on Bharat Rakshak Forum. Matters like “personal opinion” etc is irrelevant since US officials treat India with disdain (recent statement about denial of PM Modi’s visa comes to mind) and their own politicians refer to their country as a banana republic, which means we don’t have to take their internal politics seriously in this forum and have heated arguments of questionable relevance to Indians

Please post any feedback or questions further on feedback thread.

https://www.politico.com/news/2023/08/1 ... e-00110937

Ramaswamy’s strength comes almost entirely from polls conducted over the internet, according to a POLITICO analysis. In internet surveys over the past month — the vast majority of which are conducted among panels of people who sign up ahead of time to complete polls, often for financial incentives — Ramaswamy earns an average of 7.8 percent, a clear third behind Trump and DeSantis.

In polls conducted mostly or partially over the telephone, in which people are contacted randomly, not only does Ramaswamy lag his average score — he’s way back in seventh place, at just 2.6 percent.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Vivek Ramaswamy disavows any relationship with George Soros and WEF, and says he opposes them:

Soros has of course attacked Modi, among various others.

The bottom feeding amriki lawyers have smelt the great potential for money here

@dukeofdiaspora

The American bar association @ABAesq wildly claims that over six million Americans are discriminated against based on caste, and that Brahmins are privileged by birth.

They claim that further education on caste is required in the States.

There’s no area where they aren’t going to come for your identity.

WATCH VIDEO
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

There are around 4 million people of Indian origin in the USA - 6 million Americans discriminated? Madrassah Math? Lahori Logic? // Google did not yield anything either.
chetak wrote: 14 Aug 2023 15:26 The bottom feeding amriki lawyers have smelt the great potential for money here

@dukeofdiaspora

The American bar association @ABAesq wildly claims that over six million Americans are discriminated against based on caste, and that Brahmins are privileged by birth.

They claim that further education on caste is required in the States.

There’s no area where they aren’t going to come for your identity.

WATCH VIDEO

krithivas wrote: 15 Aug 2023 02:25 There are around 4 million people of Indian origin in the USA - 6 million Americans discriminated? Madrassah Math? Lahori Logic? // Google did not yield anything either.
You don't need to google. Here's a hint. How many Jews were killed during the holocaust?

Exactly. That six million magic figure is pulled from the a$$ of some woke prof.

Yagnasri wrote: 15 Aug 2023 11:48 Exactly. That six million magic figure is pulled from the a$$ of some woke prof.
It's a little more than that, is what I'm saying. It could very well be a covert attempt to get readers to subconsciously link "casteism" to "nazism." Sounds far-fetched, but as far as they are concerned, every little bit of propaganda helps, covert or overt.

It's not covert, they are open about it and at it for 300 years. That is the BIF ecosystem which feels having destroyed African culture through slave trading and now imposing ideologies, completely wiped out natives from North America, Australia asia, largely eliminated the natives of South America, next step India, only thing will be do east Asia and subjugate Russia.

Partition was a well thought out plan to eliminate Hindus from 40% of the land cut off India from Central Asia.

They know Pakjabis are best slaves, Taliban ideology nothing can ever be developed , but can cheaply be used to screw everyone around.

But no matter what the best laid plans are things don't work out exactly as planned. Thats how the global elite work. Evil always fears honestly and justice. Media will describe good as evil and evil as good. We have work with good and develop Allies and military strength to slowly change this unseen globally dominant elites.

Now Indians in US, they want them to ashamed of India and being too timid to interfere in their agendas, a Ro Khanna and Jaypal, bobby Jindal, Nikky Haley etc have toe their line to be allowed to survive. They want to keep them in check and fighting wars and away from ther inner ecosystems. This more like panic that the community is becoming too influential. The US Supreme Court ruling keeping their privileges under the bogie of African Americans in top US universities must have been a big blow to them. The hard working Caucasian will benefit but the Caucasians relying on family connections will suffer.

Is this genuine or fake?

https://twitter.com/parrish4mn/status/1 ... 9447749633

It has long been contended, by good American citizens, that Ilhan Omar is not qualified to hold office. Now, after years of effort, the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services has disclosed that there is no supporting documentation regarding her citizenship. This means that she has been illegally holding office and must be removed. This also means that
@MNSteveSimon and his office did not properly, required by law, carry out his duties in good faith over multiple election cycles. The implications of these facts are far reaching and a national security concern.

Vivek Ramaswamy laid out his Foreign policy

sanman

Post by sanman »

There have been serious attacks on the christian community in pak, but not a single tweet from @SecBlinken or @StateDept to show their grief or concerns because they all are behind these events to stop the country from going into elections.

If it had been India, these two alone, would have brought down the world by now

Saw the Republican primary debate that happened without Trump.
Vivek was slick and his arguments struck well with the audience. De Santis looked lost. He, Pence and Christie took potshots at Vivek, calling him rookie, chatGPT and next Obama which actually looked like compliments, but they had no real counter arguments. Nikki Haley forcefully argued on foreign policy. Pence and others were just fillers lacking arguments and substance. On Climate Change, Vivek called everyone's BS. His promise to shutdown FBI, Education Board etc etc were too radical and made everyone including the audience nervous. Against Trump, he would have said this is the SWAMP and you failed to clean it, I promise to flush it totally.

Coming to Trump, the killer question was a show of hands on who will back him given the 4 indictments. Only Vivek raised his hands with conviction, all others looked strumped - needless to say, none will get a VP nomination now. But that was a hilarious moment.

Nikki was especially dishonest blaming India and China for carbon emissions, perhaps her math level doest let her understand what per capita is. She and Pence think US has and can fight Russia, China and at the border with Mexico all at once.

Net net, Vivek emerged young, energetic, knowledgeable and clear headed than all the rest and that seemed easy given the low IQ of the others. He is willing to take on the deep state, MIC and the woke brigades all at the same time, and thats not easy. But something tells me the general US public "may be" persuaded by this. The timing is good, and Dems have overplayed their agenda. What will the Dems fight him with? I'm sure lots of them are busy digging for any bit of dirt they can find on him. There is lots of time to do that.

WA
US Presidential Candidate Ramaswamy wrt attacks on him by Radical Christians: “I am a Hindu, I can protect freedom of other religion. I am running for Commander-in-Chief & NOT for Pastor-in-Chief!"

I am interested in what Christian’s in India have to say about this. Julio Riberio perhaps.

chetak wrote: 22 Aug 2023 01:09 There have been serious attacks on the christian community in pak, but not a single tweet from @SecBlinken or @StateDept to show their grief or concerns because they all are behind these events to stop the country from going into elections.

If it had been India, these two alone, would have brought down the world by now
Even stranger, people like John Dalal remain absolutely speechless, ie let them burn as no Hindus are involved so no need to condemn.

These people are not hypocrites, they are Racists of the first order. They have no interests in the welfare of Christians. Just pure hatred of Hindus.

The racism trope is wholly inadequate an explanation.

India is like the godless Bolsheviks.

What is potentially a threat has to derided at every opportunity.
A poverty stricken illiterate chronically bankrupt Pakistan is no threat. Except perhaps for the odd devotee as an individual. The west has taught the adherents of the faith that they have no problem coming to their countries and ransacking them for 20 years. It is unfortunate for the common Muslim but I can see the point being made.

India is not going to be a threat but it is going to be a rival.

The conversation on Christian ethics jealous gods reparations white man’s burden will only start once India gets to 5-6 trillion GDP. Why would anyone care if Guyana alone protests its slave past.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

Just curious about folks who think Vivek is a great candidate… he is ex Goldman, made his fortune thanks to the current financial system and not just a tiny bit.. not unlike Sunak who benefited as well from a similar background… although Vivek seems miles ahead as an American should…for all the IQ they bring, even if they were well meaning, they are preaching to a retarded audience :mrgreen:

In my view these are very much establishment candidates brought in after the previous favourite gora failed … and they represent the new view of the establishment which is whatever happens after the peak woke and peak growth agendas are done and dusted.

Difficult to get a brownie straight up in the white house unlike in UK where selection is the name of the game just like our very own Lehru.. it may well be that with these brownies on top they have to take some tough decisions and then they will be discarded into the bin

I don’t quite follow.

But ramaswamy is not as polarizing as Obama. Perhaps because he is not the rally a serious candidate. And let us acknowledge the average American is willing to let him say his piece.
But there are Indians who say Indians and Pakistanis are the ‘same’. Well let Ramaswamy try it in Pakistan. Indians have a lot more in common with Americans than with Pakistanis.

But he seems to be sufficiently unconventional that Ann coulter has made it clear that he offends her refined Christian sensibilities. Again I’m astounded at Indian Christians’ silence on that bit of bigotry.

I am writing a monograph on sins in heathens being an order of magnitude more offensive to god than those same sins in the chosen people.

S_Madhukar wrote: 28 Aug 2023 03:13 Just curious about folks who think Vivek is a great candidate… he is ex Goldman, made his fortune thanks to the current financial system and not just a tiny bit.. not unlike Sunak who benefited as well from a similar background… although Vivek seems miles ahead as an American should…for all the IQ they bring, even if they were well meaning, they are preaching to a retarded audience :mrgreen:

In my view these are very much establishment candidates brought in after the previous favourite gora failed … and they represent the new view of the establishment which is whatever happens after the peak woke and peak growth agendas are done and dusted.

Difficult to get a brownie straight up in the white house unlike in UK where selection is the name of the game just like our very own Lehru.. it may well be that with these brownies on top they have to take some tough decisions and then they will be discarded into the bin
Pretty much all of them, whether white, black, brown etc are aligned with promoting business interests (either their own, or large corporates). And so is every senator/congressman. That's why people stand up every 2 mins to give Modi standing ovations when he talks business.

Vivek Ramaswamy gives me a very "Chatur Ramalingam" vibe...all the intense sucking up to Trump and every "good ole boy" tradition. Another fast-talking lawyer with no real accomplishments, in the mold of Obamudu (who did manage to take USA for a ride for 8 years). In particular, Chatur will go to any extent to suck up by denigrating his own Hindu religion as being "aligned with judaeo-christian values", which it is absolutely not.
SivaR

Post by SivaR »

This guy comes from Palakkad Tamil clan. They're the most resilient/elite clan in the south India. They're originally from Tanjore Delta district, mostly elite governing class in the Chola Kingdom of 10-13th Century. After the fall of Chola kingdom, during the invasion of Barbaric Commander, Malik Kafur from Delhi Sultanate, killed and plundered them on the way to Madurai during the 1300, they sent communique to Chera Kingdom and the King settled them in Palakkad. Hence they very well know how to reach power centre. Later they sent communique and Intelligence to VijayaNagara king to come and overthrow this Muslim commander and Vijayanagara expanded to whole of south India.
They still follow the Tamil tradition and their Tamil accent is one of the sweetest. They continued to be elites during the British rule as well. In the recent times, the prominent people are T.N.Sheshan (the Famous election commissioner), and many more in the government and film industry personalities include Padmini, Shobana, Jeyaraman, R.Madhavan, Vidya Balan etc.
Usually, these guys are close to power centre and be in administration/governance position. But his American upbringing pushed him to be a Bhaniya and made Millions through start ups. He even mentions about the job insecurity of his dad during the notorious era of GE's Jack Welsh and made him embracing the capitalism.
Coming to this guy, he knows his constituency and what to tell them. He knows the American constitution by-heart.
He's supporting the 2nd Amendment - Right to own gun and articulating why.
He's supporting the family system, to cover the conservative Christian base.
His radical plans of reforming the Education system, including banning the zip code lottery is getting traction in the families.
He's going to fight war against the Drug Cartel and keep the house in order instead of going to war all around the world.
The power centre's are keeping him as back up in case Trump goes to Jail. But bright chance for him to be at-least VP in this election and later to President.
I wish him good luck, America needs a sane president for World Peace.

siva509 wrote: 28 Aug 2023 22:51 ....
I wish him good luck, America needs a sane president for World Peace.
Nice background writeup.

Coming back to needing a "sane" president....Ramaswamy is young in his 30s, and his views are, well....much younger than him. :rotfl: They are what I would expect from a hormone-loaded teenager.

E.g., he says there are two genders and talks about X and Y chromosomes. Doesn't understand the difference between biological sex and gender. In India, three genders are recognized but Chatur seems to adopt the binary "judaeo-christian" view. He believes that "abolishing" a bunch of sarkari organizations and accommodating their functions somewhere else in the sarkari establishment is some kind of great reform. He also wants people 18-24 to take a civics test before being allowed to vote. He might want to try giving the 35-75 y/o vote base a civics test first...a lot of these grown people probably can't even tell the 50 states correctly on a map.

These kind of views are honestly just BS. The fact that there are people willing to support this kind of stuff and vote against their own interests, is pretty amusing. Overall, the most scary thing about this election is that the current front-runner is the only actual "sane" candidate but is also fast approaching senility.

I am not taking sides here. Just a bit annoyed that none of these Indian American politicians - Jindal, Randhawa, Ramalingam - have the capability to assert their own identity instead of sucking up to the religious base of the republican party. Similar thing on the democrat side too - the Indian Americans there are a bunch of socialist loonies.

Siva509, good write up:
siva509 wrote: 28 Aug 2023 22:51 film industry personalities include Padmini, Shobana, Jeyaraman, R.Madhavan, Vidya Balan etc.
Small Correction: Yesteryear actress Padmini and her niece Shobhana are both nairs from Trivandrum. Padmini and her siblings were known as Travancore sisters. Jayaram, is Tamil brahmin, but is from Ernakulam district (Perumbavoor) and not sure if he has Palaghat roots.

KL Dubey wrote: 29 Aug 2023 00:09 Coming back to needing a "sane" president....Ramaswamy is young in his 30s, and his views are, well....much younger than him. :rotfl: They are what I would expect from a hormone-loaded teenager.

E.g., he says there are two genders and talks about X and Y chromosomes. Doesn't understand the difference between biological sex and gender. In India, three genders are recognized but Chatur seems to adopt the binary "judaeo-christian" view. He believes that "abolishing" a bunch of sarkari organizations and accommodating their functions somewhere else in the sarkari establishment is some kind of great reform. He also wants people 18-24 to take a civics test before being allowed to vote. He might want to try giving the 35-75 y/o vote base a civics test first...a lot of these grown people probably can't even tell the 50 states correctly on a map.

These kind of views are honestly just BS. ...
KL Dubey'ji, you need to understand what is happening in America a little bit more deeper.

One of the hottest topic is men showing up in women's restrooms, sports and other areas. Would you like a middle-aged bearded tutu wearing man with displaying his full *ong in a thong showing up in your daughter's restrooms or swimming/changing public areas? If yes, then of course you have something against Vivek. But if no, then you will be fully supporting Vivek. Vivek is drawing a distinction between gender and sexual orientation. You can be of either male or female gender and you can have sexual orientation from the full spectrum of LGBTQ+ (they are already running out of letters) and that is just fine. But to drive gender using sexual orientation is unheard off.

On abolition of FBI and DOE, both need to be shutdown. Just like CBI was caged parrot during Maino time, FBI is unhinged monkey. The DOE has $80B budget and the schools in US are under crisis.

And lastly, who would you want Indo-americans to vote? Do you want Indo-Americans to vote for this candidate

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ayanna_Pr ... ngress.jpg

Ayanna has called for reverse discrimination based on skin. And that includes discrimination against brown skinned people. DubeyJi, can you please tell me who the brown skinned people Ayanna means?

Here is what Ayanna said:

[quote] We don't want any more brown faces that don't want to be a brown voice.[/quote]

So KLDubey'ji, are you supporting Ayanna?

Okay, you might have to listen into Ibrahim Kendi's words (if you have not read his works):

Kendi’s core thesis — that racism is the single, self-evident cause of racial differences in everything from school grades to incarceration rates to income and thus must be rectified using “antiracist discrimination” (Source: https://nypost.com/2021/07/22/ibram-x-k ... ve-faith/ )

So are you saying that all colored skin (white, yellow, brown, red) must be discriminated against to right the wrong against black-skin'ed persons?

Things are really stark over here, if you are *not* supporting Vivek, you are *actually supporting and affirming black racists* like Kendi and Ayanna. And of course gender racism against women. Vivek is right in calling them as people that KKK will be proud of.

PS: KLDubey'ji, you owe me $3,000 ($3K) with interest of 7.5% per annum. This is what a black wimmen stole from my daughter and we are trying to get it back. But no luck. You see, my daughter is brown and female. A crime in eyes of people like you. While experienced people like Ayanna are paragons of virtue. So please pay up on behalf of KKK (since they will be proud of what Ayanna and Kendi espouses)

PPS: More on Ayanna: https://www.nbcnews.com/politics/congre ... r-n1285584
Last edited by disha on 29 Aug 2023 04:32, edited 2 times in total.

KL Dubey wrote: 28 Aug 2023 19:21 Vivek Ramaswamy gives me a very "Chatur Ramalingam" vibe...all the intense sucking up to Trump and every "good ole boy" tradition. Another fast-talking lawyer with no real accomplishments, in the mold of Obamudu (who did manage to take USA for a ride for 8 years). In particular, Chatur will go to any extent to suck up by denigrating his own Hindu religion as being "aligned with judaeo-christian values", which it is absolutely not....
KLDubey'ji, please get your facts right before going on a rant and name calling:

1. Vivek *never* denigrated his own religion. In fact he owned up his Hindu faith. Under severe questioning on his faith, he actually stood up and affirmed his Hindu faith.

2. He is a self-made multi-millionaire, he launched four successful drugs after his failed attempt at launching an alzhiemers drug. And then launched an investment firm and a rallying point against Woke Inc. That is an accomplishment worthy of emulation. I hope India and US has several such Viveks, who actually make a difference in life of people and provide hundreds of jobs.

Now, is your angst against Vivek because he is supporting pardon of Trump? I can understand if you are anti-Trump, but do you want Trump to be jailed on spurious charges? By a geriatric uncle who has brought us to the brink of a nuclear war? Or your angst against Vivek, because he is rich and successful?

Anyway, you do not have to support Vivek. But please get your facts right. And second do not end up supporting racists like Mike Pence, Nikki Haley who-has-UN-Experience, Chris Christie, Ayanna & Kendi and Ilhan Omar and AoC, just because somewhere deep down, you are surprised by the meteoric rise of Vivek.

As far as I know some folks here have no legal standing in opposing VR or anybody else. They would be interfering in the US elections. Better they keep quiet.

@disha ji, the full form is something like LGBTQIAPA+
LGBT is already known
Rest:

Q - Queer or Questioning
I - Intersexual
A - Asexual
P - Pansexual
A - (and) Allies

Link to understand all the categories in +
https://www.yourdictionary.com/articles/lgbtqia-meaning
Najunamar

Post by Najunamar »

While you may have reasons to hate Trump, the only rationale for pardon shared by Vivek was citing the relevant provisions of US law. I have not seen anyone address the questions raised by him. Also among all the debaters Vivek"s was the lone hand in opposing sending any more money to Ukraine's baniansky. While his concepts of having the voting populace take a civics test might not resonate with many, at least he is thrpwing out some ideas. I am hearing hackneyed expressions of "US is so great they can play Global cop as well as spend for internal development" with nothing to show how they'll pay for it from the rest. I am ready for someone with above average IQ.

disha wrote: 29 Aug 2023 04:25 KLDubey'ji, please get your facts right before going on a rant and name calling:
Now, now - 20 pages of posts on why Ramaswamy and Trump are just what USA and India need, but a post to the contrary gets people riled up.....

Sorry - I did get my facts right. In summary, Ramaswamy's business model seems almost like a Madoff Ponzi scheme. He has made money not from real product launches, but from hedge fund connections and raising money from IPOs and other investors. The parent company has very little drug development expertise. Instead they have purchased failed/abandoned/low-revenue drug patents from big pharma companies and are claiming to somehow turn them around into spectacular successes. It doesn't work that way. In a very "chatur" move, his holdings are all in the parent, but not in the subsidiaries that are actually on the hook for "developing" the drugs. There is no real value creation, just financial engineering and a lot of publicity (indeed looking a lot like a Ponzi scheme).

It's interesting the analogy with the "3 idiots" film in which "chatur" played financial games while the hero played by garib khan actually had 400 patents. You should see the humor in it instead of getting riled up :lol:

In the NYC financial sector, this may be considered great heroism, but not in the real world of medicine/science. If this guy was serious about making a difference in the world of medicine, he'd be doubling down on this mission to bring "low cost drugs to Americans" rather than use the money to fuel a presidential run - where, of course, he again promises to change everything under the sun and expects people to support. Please try to be a little less naive than that.

Be honest - he is the product of an ecosystem in which people are willing to throw large amounts of money and let him play/talk/take risks/fail/cash out just in time. Nothing wrong with that, but trying to pitch these financial pursuits as somehow "working for the greater good" is a bit amusing.
1. Vivek *never* denigrated his own religion. In fact he owned up his Hindu faith. Under severe questioning on his faith, he actually stood up and affirmed his Hindu faith.
That is the point. I never needed to "own up" my Hindu faith. He has not "affirmed" his own Hindu faith nor the Hindu faith in general, he has only defended himself (not sanatan dharma) by claiming that his faith is aligned with desert religions. Basically the underlying message is that he is a crypto-Xtian of some kind, to make himself acceptable. If push comes to shove, he would be ready to shaft Hinduism. Now maybe that is a little better than the Jindals or Randhawas that publicly convert to Xtianity to become politically acceptable, and a little better than the Hindu-hating Jayapals and Khannas...but hey, not by much.
Now, is your angst against Vivek because he is supporting pardon of Trump? I can understand if you are anti-Trump, but do you want Trump to be jailed on spurious charges? By a geriatric uncle who has brought us to the brink of a nuclear war? Or your angst against Vivek, because he is rich and successful?
No angst whatsoever on most of this, except maybe for the Hinduism thing.
Anyway, you do not have to support Vivek. But please get your facts right. And second do not end up supporting racists like Mike Pence, Nikki Haley who-has-UN-Experience, Chris Christie, Ayanna & Kendi and Ilhan Omar and AoC, just because somewhere deep down, you are surprised by the meteoric rise of Vivek.
Not at all. I thoroughly enjoyed watching the debate recording. The best comment was from Chris Christie, who hit the nail on head ("Ramaswamy sounds like ChatGPT" :lol: ) I couldn't care less about any of the participants in the debate, because none is likely to have any chance of winning an election.

Posters need to be reminded once again that this is the Bharat Rakshak Forum. This is NOT the American Rakshak Forum. Please understand the title of this thread --> "Understanding the US - Again" and how that understanding relates to India.

The point of this forum is to push India's interests forward and not any other nation. The takleef and angst some people are taking in this thread is quite frankly astounding. Who the US citizenry elects as their next US President only concerns India to the extent of Indo-US relations. How the next US President handles domestic issues relating to the US is of no concern to India. When those domestic issues affect India, then we can discuss them. But till then, please do not bring it into this forum. Whatever ails America can be fixed by America herself. Stop increasing your blood pressure.

If this continues, mods will close this thread. Election season is heating up in the US, but please do not bring it to this forum.

Specific Posters

@disha: Your contributions in the Chandrayaan thread have been widely appreciated. Then mods have to see this. What is this? Please desist.

@KL Dubey: You need a well earned time off. Please cool down for a week. Hopefully some introspection will cause you to self moderate.

@siva509: Numbers are not allowed in usernames. Your username has been changed to SivaR

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfr ... in-waiting
Vivek Ramaswamy is America’s demagogue-in-waiting
Margaret Sullivan, 24 Aug 2023

He thinks the climate crisis is a hoax, supports Vladimir Putin’s aggression in Ukraine and would gladly pardon Donald Trump on day 1 of his would-be presidency. A wealthy biotech entrepreneur, the 38-year-old has never before run for public office.
Despite all of this (or maybe because of it), this week’s Republican debate became a national coming-out party for Vivek Ramaswamy.
Suddenly, this inexperienced and dangerous showoff is almost a household name.
Many in the Republican base ate up his showmanship and blatant fanboying of their hero, Donald Trump. In CNN’s post-debate focus group of Republican voters in Iowa, for example, Ramaswamy got the most favorable response.
Trump publicly applauded him. And many in the mainstream media declared him victorious. The Washington Post put him up high in its “winners” column, trailing only behind Donald Trump, who notably wasn’t even there. (Choosing not to enter this particular clown car showed some uncharacteristic good sense on the former president’s part.)
The New York Times analyzed the situation under a glowing headline “How Vivek Ramaswamy Broke Through: Big Swings With a Smile”, with emphasis on his style: “unchecked confidence and insults”.
For this millennial tech bro, his performance on the Fox News stage in Milwaukee couldn’t have gone much better.
As a glimpse of America’s future, it couldn’t have gone much worse.
“If you have wondered what Trumpism after Trump looks like, ask no further,” suggested the magazine writer David Freedlander on the social media site formerly known as Twitter. His prediction accompanied a debate stage photo of Ramaswamy with clenched fist.
Certainly, he has the essentials covered. No, not foreign policy chops or a background in public service, but a mocking aversion to social justice and equality.
The Florida governor, Ron DeSantis, may talk a good anti-woke game but Ramaswamy wrote the book. His Woke, Inc: Inside Corporate America’s Social Justice Scam, published in 2021, takes aim at the nation’s “new secular religions like Covid-ism, climate-ism and gender ideology”.
His night in the spotlight, and its aftermath, shows that neither Republican voters nor many in the mainstream media have learned much since Trump came down the elevator in 2015 and proceeded to wreak havoc on the country.
In case there was any doubt, now we know: they will always fall for the attention-seeking, the policy-unencumbered, the candidate quickest with a demeaning insult. That’s a “winner”, apparently.
And it’s all too familiar.
“Ramaswamy is like Trump in the larva stage, molting toward the full Maga wingspan but not quite there yet,” wrote Frank Bruni in his New York Times newsletter. “His narcissism, though, is fully evolved.”
After this article I will look at VR with a little more interest.

VR during the primaries said clearly supports the Monroe doctrine and wants everyone to stay away from Western Hemisphere which presumably includes South America which now has 2 large BRICS countries :)
Great, I hope he will follow through by closing the hundreds of US bases all over the globe starting with Diego Garcia and cedes it to India.

What I have very happily observed is no one talking about the economic hardship of the people or economy in the required seriousness. Just like the momo vote banks of Bharat Dems and GOP are only looking for their vote banks for social and religious reasons. Very good for the world. Moneybags and MSM owners want that only. People discussing bathroom entry in a Presidential election. Really?

Bharatiya voters are in a much better place.