India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

@disha reminded me of two things

1. In either the Hudson Institution or the Council of Foreign Relations events, EAM Jaishankar said that his discussions with the Americans re: Canada was about the actual events and not the stuff that the press carries. I waited in vain for the press to pick up on that, but obviously it is not in their interests to do so. If really pushed, I can try to find that precise statement.

2. from https://youtu.be/kWdQjXzJrTY?si=raLIF0WaVGwhY_yl

Abhijit-Iyer Mitra speaking to the Hindustan Times:
…because my job involves a lot of interaction with the US government, what I find is they have a fantastic set of professionals who know what spin is, they themselves don’t take the Washington Post in New York Times seriously within the US government. Some of them read it for the food section, some of them read it for the Science and Technology section nobody actually reads it from the news, because their diplomatic cables are much more incisive – solid primary source research, it’s not a journalist who’s parachuted in for a three-year stint in Delhi and decides that they know more about usI
…there was a paper that came out in 1998 a U.S Marine Corps Colonel wrote about it - State is from uh Venus and Defenses is from Mars, you know that famous book Men Are from Mars yeah so it’s how State tends to - all foreign policy tends to be abstraction, it tends to be a lot of activity masquerading around as achievement; there is a very significant intelligence value to it but Defense hasn’t gone woke State has gone woke and a lot of the wokery that you’ll see is also being reflected in the cables back home. The cables are no longer factual there’s a lot of opinion going back in those cables and what a lot of my friends in DC tell me is that’s beginning to reflect in the way State Department views it. So it is not all hunky dory. So maybe three four five years back, it it was the fact that the Press does not reflect what the U.S government believes was true. Today that is not entirely the case and you could see that so in the meeting with Congressman Khanna.
In response to “is the Biden Administration is better or worse than the Trump Administration for New Delhi”
Um worse and I’ll tell you why before I would have said and this is where the problem comes about. We were always told that relations with America were institutional. People come and go but institutional relations go on forever. Mutual interests go on forever. Today America itself is so polarized and divided. An American can’t see eye to eye with an American,forget seeing eye to eye with an Indian; and in the Biden Administration especially, the kind of sort of left-wing virtue signaling that happens is far far worse than it ever was under Obama.
What is this left wing virtue signaling in the Biden state department foreign policy? (Iyer-Mitra has few issues with the US Dept of Defense.)
We now have extremely strong undercurrents against India running through the Democratic Party, it is permeating all levels of policy in America and there is only so much that a professional bureaucracy can do to fend off ideology when ideology starts wrapping itself up in righteous anger. It is always the sort of mad bishop or the mad mullah or the mad priest who wins and it’s never the voice of sanity that wins. This is why Socrates was forced to drink hemlock and I feel that a lot of these Socrates within the American establishment really don’t want to drink that hemlock.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Indian govt raids on the Chinese-funded NewsClick have triggered concerns in Whitehouse:

why do we even care about what some other country thinks on Bharat's purely internal matter ?
sanman

Post by sanman »

Cyrano wrote: 04 Oct 2023 17:36 why do we even care about what some other country thinks on Bharat's purely internal matter ?
We have to notice who is in our corner and who is against us. We cannot just blind ourselves to problems.

sanman wrote: 04 Oct 2023 21:32
Cyrano wrote: 04 Oct 2023 17:36 why do we even care about what some other country thinks on Bharat's purely internal matter ?
We have to notice who is in our corner and who is against us. We cannot just blind ourselves to problems.
You appear to be missing the point. If chinese sponsored journalists can be targeted successfully today then American sponsored journalists can be targeted tomorrow. QED. Stop Modi!

Cyrano ji,

That's how narratives are targeted, modified, changed, and new narratives are seamlessly planted

It has a name: the Overton Window

Ugly politics starting by US "Civil rights groups".
https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/us/civil ... erent&ei=7
several South Asian American civil rights groups are criticizing the formation of a new Hindu, Buddhist, Sikh and Jain American Congressional Caucus, saying they're worried marginalized groups are being left out.

They also say their nationwide community advocacy groups were not consulted in its creation.

"This caucus is not representative of the Sikh community," tweeted the Sikh Coalition, a national civil rights organization that authored a letter, along with other four groups, denouncing the caucus.

Spearheaded by Rep. Shri Thanedar, a Democratic congressman from Michigan, the caucus aims to combat religious discrimination, promote Hindu, Buddhist and Jain community needs and foster interfaith dialogue.

"We are assembling to pioneer a movement," Thanedar said in his announcement of the caucus. "One that strives for understanding, inclusion and affirmative policy actions. A movement that says every faith, every culture, and every community has a place in America."

But in the letter signed by organizations like Hindus for Human Rights, the Sikh Coalition and the Indian American Muslim Council, advocates say the caucus is missing some vital perspectives from minority South Asians.

Advocates for Muslim South Asians and those born into caste-oppressed communities have long warned against Modi's rhetoric and policies, saying it's fomented Hindu nationalist sentiments and led to violence against them on the subcontinent and in the diaspora.

They fear that, without input from historically oppressed minority groups, the caucus has the potential to do the same, their letter said.
"Any caucus without inclusive representation from the Indian diaspora will serve as nothing more than a vehicle for Hindu nationalist policies that will inevitably harm the entire South Asian American community, including Sikh, Muslim, Dalit, Buddhist, Jain, and even Hindu Americans," the letter said.

A_Gupta wrote: 04 Oct 2023 23:11 Ugly politics starting by US "Civil rights groups".
https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/us/civil ... erent&ei=7

But in the letter signed by organizations like Hindus for Human Rights, the Sikh Coalition and the Indian American Muslim Council, advocates say the caucus is missing some vital perspectives from minority South Asians.

HHR (in red) is funded and populated by Muslims, mostly from Pakiland. I am told there is not one Bharatiya Musalman in HHR.

Newsclick was outed by the New York Times.
https://www.nytimes.com/2023/08/05/worl ... ganda.html
A Global Web of Chinese Propaganda Leads to a U.S. Tech Mogul
The Times unraveled a financial network that stretches from Chicago to Shanghai and uses American nonprofits to push Chinese talking points worldwide.
In fact, a New York Times investigation found, it is part of a lavishly funded influence campaign that defends China and pushes its propaganda. At the center is a charismatic American millionaire, Neville Roy Singham, who is known as a socialist benefactor of far-left causes.

What is less known, and is hidden amid a tangle of nonprofit groups and shell companies, is that Mr. Singham works closely with the Chinese government media machine and is financing its propaganda worldwide.

From a think tank in Massachusetts to an event space in Manhattan, from a political party in South Africa to news organizations i
n India and Brazil, The Times tracked hundreds of millions of dollars to groups linked to Mr. Singham that mix progressive advocacy with Chinese government talking points.
None of Mr. Singham’s nonprofits have registered under the Foreign Agents Registration Act, as is required of groups that seek to influence public opinion on behalf of foreign powers. That usually applies to groups taking money or orders from foreign governments. Legal experts said Mr. Singham’s network was an unusual case.
In New Delhi, corporate filings show, Mr. Singham’s network financed a news site, NewsClick, that sprinkled its coverage with Chinese government talking points. “China’s history continues to inspire the working classes,” one video said.

@NRao this is the latest (2019) IRS filing by "Hindus for Human Rights" (EIN 36-4952444)
Something seems wrong, the form is basically blank.
This is from the IRS (Internal Revenue Service) website:
https://apps.irs.gov/pub/epostcard/cor/ ... 255941.pdf

The EIN is from their website:
https://www.hindusforhumanrights.org/donate

Why is the form blank? What happened to the filings for 2020, 2021, 2022?
Maybe my search goofed up?
This is the IRS search site:
https://apps.irs.gov/app/eos/

^ There's some info here. Doesn't look like they have filed returns past the year of their founding.

sanman

Post by sanman »

Let's all pay attention to the closing remarks @ 4:18 which I wholly agree with:

When it comes to countering China, the US wants India's support

When it comes to sanctioning Russia, the US wants India to follow suit

But when it comes to backing India, it is leaning towards the other side

That's hypocritical, to say the least

and a lot more needs to be said, might I add

"with friends like this, who needs enemies?"

https://www.foreignaffairs.com/india/ma ... ted-states

DANIEL MARKEY is Senior Adviser in the South Asia Program at the United States Institute of Peace. From 2003 to 2007, he was a member of the U.S. State Department Policy Planning Staff. He is the author of China’s Western Horizon: Beijing and the New Geopolitics of Eurasia.

Of course its all India's, especially right wing hindu nationalist Modi's fault. This is the kind of people I suspect the state dept is filled with.

I expect this rhetoric to become front stage once again as soon as the Turdeau disaster quietens.
sanman

Post by sanman »

https://www.politico.com/newsletters/na ... t-00119709

U.S. Ambassador to India ERIC GARCETTI has told his in-country team that, because of the diplomatic spat with Canada, relations between India and the U.S. could get worse for a time, the official said. Garcetti also has said the U.S. may need to reduce its contacts with Indian officials for an undefined period of time.

When asked for comment on the matter, a State Department spokesperson, granted anonymity to discuss a sensitive diplomatic issue, was blunt:

“We don’t have anything for you on this,” the spokesperson said. “Ambassador Garcetti is a champion of our strong partnership with the Indian people and the Indian government. Our relationship with India is an important, strategic, and consequential partnership.”

Breaking News: Gov. Gavin Newsom vetoes SB403!

With the stroke of his pen, Governor Newsom kills a bill premised on racist rhetoric, a baseless lawsuit, egregious calcivilrights misconduct & false claims about the Hindu religion. Many of us worked very hard to lobby this. ( Remember this was passed in both houses (with overwhelming majority - due to Khalistani bad elements and support from Equality labs type - till some of us prominent Indians started educating.

Nice to know, we did not have to go to court -- Also I was afraid that Newsom might play safe and do not do anything.. (In California, if Governor does not take action ( veto or sign ) the bill becomes a law --, I think last date was pretty close-- glad good sense prevailed.

Added later: Statement from HAF.
“Today, we at the Hindu American Foundation join South Asians across California and the Hindu American community in offering our heartfelt appreciation to California Governor Gavin Newsom for his historically important veto of SB-403. This is a victory for the civil rights of all Californians.

With the stroke of his pen, Governor Newsom has averted a civil rights and constitutional disaster that would have put a target on hundreds of thousands of Californians simply because of their ethnicity or their religious identity, as well as create a slippery slope of facially discriminatory laws. We thank Governor Newsom for listening to the thousands of voices that contacted his office and seeing that SB-403 was premised on racist rhetoric, a baseless lawsuit, egregious Civil Rights Department misconduct, false claims about the Hindu religion and South Asian community at large, and the self-serving, methodologically flawed, caste survey by Equality Labs.

We thank political leaders of both parties, in all levels of government, who demonstrated moral courage in opposing this racist bill. Whether by passing local resolutions opposing discriminatory legislation, working with HAF to remove facially discriminatory language, outright voting against the bill or vetoing SB-403 — we will never forget that you defended the Hindu and South Asian communities at a critical moment in California history.”

Excellent job, congratulations and abhaar poorvak dhanyawaad to all who fought to get this done.

Wow, for a change Gov. Gavin Newsom used his better judgement and killed this stupid bill. Clearly the Indian community has no representation in the california political system. This would have prevented the votes on SB-403. I liked the reason Newsom cited: no discrimination based on ancestry, religion, national origin and other characteristics. This is the correct reading so we don't need a superfluous SB-403 to target just India. Great job there by Gov. Gavin Newsom.
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

Gov. Newsom deserves the thanks of every Hindu, every Indian for vetoing a clearly racist bill. He is also a potential challenger to Pres. Biden in the 2024 elections. He did the smart thing too.

Shree Iyer, on PGuru, stated that the "veto" could be overturned. So, I'm unsure if this is the bill's end.

Besides, there are, per Iyer, 11 more states considering similar bills. He mentioned Illinois as one of them.

Also, has the Gov done what he did to get the Indian votes in a potential Presidential run next year?

In summary, a bunch of nut jobs/lefties from the Democratic party created/passed SB-403, and head of state of the Democratic party killed it. Nice. Are American Hindus now going to love or hate Democratic party?

Out of curiosity I read the SB-403, and found the definition or reference to "caste" obscure and illogical from legal PoV.
(9) “Caste” means an individual’s perceived position in a system of social stratification on the basis of inherited status. “A system of social stratification on the basis of inherited status” may be characterized by factors that may include, but are not limited to, inability or restricted ability to alter inherited status :-? ; socially enforced restrictions on marriage, private and public segregation, and discrimination; and social exclusion on the basis of perceived status.
This appears to be modeled (but watered down) after a British version Equality Bill 2008-09 (or Equality Act 2010)
The Equality Act 2010: caste discrimination
While there is no universally accepted definition of “caste” the Explanatory Notes to the Equality Act 2010 provide the following:

The term “caste” denotes a hereditary, endogamous (marrying within the group) community associated with a traditional occupation and ranked accordingly on a perceived scale of ritual purity. It is generally (but not exclusively) associated with South Asia, particularly India, and its diaspora. It can encompass the four classes (varnas) of Hindu tradition (the Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vaishya and Shudra communities); the thousands of regional Hindu, Sikh, Christian, Muslim or other religious groups known as jatis; and groups amongst South Asian Muslims called biradaris. Some jatis regarded as below the varna hierarchy (once termed “untouchable”) are known as Dalit.

Last edited by Amber G. on 08 Oct 2023 09:56, edited 2 times in total.
Najunamar

Post by Najunamar »

Link doesn’t work AmberGji!

^^^Link is fixed.
Lot of background, and efforts many of us did in last few months/years.. Thanks to organization like HAF,HFH ..was uphill climb but massive reach out and community advocating.. Work still to be done.

Let us notice the advocates for the bill Soundararajan who had been on a hunger strike in front of the Capitol Annex building for more than a month, holding rallies and spewing hate for Hindus/Indian...

Hunger striker Thenmozhi Soundararajan, and others rally in Sacramento last month for a bill to ban caste discrimination. SB 403 passed the Legislature, but Gov. Gavin Newsom vetoed it Saturday. :(( :(( :(( :eek: :eek: :eek:
morem

Post by morem »

does seem to have lost a lot of weight , fat cow

Happy to see sanity prevail in California. Thank you Gavin Newsom for vetoing SB403. A victory for common sense, for American laws and a win for those who fought for justice.
ImageImage
From CoHNA:
“This is a culmination of the efforts of the entire Hindu American community, and the hundreds of organizations, temples, businesses, and allies that fought against #profiling. We rose above the lies, the insinuations, and the wild accusations - and we prevailed. Thank you!

Months of organizing, educating + reaching out to legislators; hundreds of thousands of emails + letters; the marches to Sacramento. The hours of testimony; the great support from key legislators - To everyone who put in the effort, this is your victory. And that of Dharma
Meanwhile from the first rally outside Sen Wahab's office in Fremont, to pounding the pavement each weekend and multiple protests in Sacramento. A huge shout out to everyone who came out fought for justice, and pushed back against a hate group and told them "You do not speak for us.'

But of course, the task is not over..those who wish to "dismantle" Hinduism will strike again- in another state, another legislature, another city council. The job of a hater is never done. We can't ignore them .. If there ever was a reason to recall/expose/make_them_pay Wahab types ..it is now...

So I leave here some for record ..We are not likely to forget:

Thank you AmberG and your friends for your untiring efforts.

Amber G. wrote: 08 Oct 2023 09:59 ^^^Link is fixed.
Lot of background, and efforts many of us did in last few months/years.. Thanks to organization like HAF,HFH ..was uphill climb but massive reach out and community advocating.. Work still to be done.
Thanks Amber G. whats the best way to support these efforts. HAF ?
mappunni

Post by mappunni »

Support HAF by a monthly contribution for Hindu causes.

Amber G. wrote: 08 Oct 2023 22:12 Happy to see sanity prevail in California. Thank you Gavin Newsom for vetoing SB403. A victory for common sense, for American laws and a win for those who fought for justice.
Why thank Gavin Newsom? Anyway, SB403 should not have come on the floor itself. People who voted for Aisha Wahab (democrats) should hang their heads in shame.

And since you purport to have lot of influence, can you make sure that the above is rolled back and removed from UC system?
Last edited by disha on 09 Oct 2023 23:04, edited 1 time in total.

Newsom is running for president to replace Biden who is suffering from dementia. Hence the veto, as he needs wealthy people for fund raising. He's vetoed the CA bill for schools keeping gender change info from parents, and now SB403. It has nothing to do with common sense and has everything to do for running for higher political office.

When the next leftist CA gov. is installed, this bill will come back and get signed - only to be struck down by either the state supreme court of federal courts.

Mort Walker wrote: 09 Oct 2023 11:36 Newsom is running for president to replace Biden who is suffering from dementia. Hence the veto, as he needs wealthy people for fund raising. He's vetoed the CA bill for schools keeping gender change info from parents, and now SB403. It has nothing to do with common sense and has everything to do for running for higher political office.
^ On the spot on the observation and well put Mort'ji and hence needs to be read in bold.

And it is the "no-matter-who-vote-blue" desi woke support that got SB403 into the law in the first place. The same desis who now claim "victory" over Gavin Newsom doing the veto supported Aisha Wahab, because she supported BLM and bend-the-knee and her opponent did not support "Bend the Knee". Anyway, several of desis (incl. myself) are running campaign and raising funds to recall Aisha Wahab.

Instead of posting news of Newsom, if some of those same desis who voted Aisha (originator of SB403 caste bill) now stand with placard in Sacramento to recall Aisha and start campaigning and funding her recall campaign, that will help.

Also SB403 is not completely dead. By back door it is in all California Univ and Colleges. That is, currently caste is a protected category and the Univ (or college) HR will determine your caste and identify mitigation. For example, if a PhD student loses a project, she can claim that the professor was Casteist. A professor can get tenure based on Caste! Admission determination can be made on Caste.*

* PS: There is substantial money in doling out caste certificate. Get approval from Sacramento (CA capital) to be a caste certifier and you can then issue caste certificates. You can also become a caste expert and go to courts commenting on the caste of the perpetuator. For example, if the victim is a "brahmin", we can use the "brahmin hindu partriarchy", that is a triple-whammy, and the victim has to give up his religion, also pay us money to get a different caste, and even go through sex-change and get his b@ll$ chopped off. That way he will not be a victim anymore. Something like that almost happened in the Cisco case.**

** PPS: The Desi wokes can go to Pelosi identity pickets or Fienstein "just-say-yes" or Palestine or Cashmere-is-for-Cashmeres or "BLM" picket lines and prove their wokeness. And support Jack Dorsey and Gavin Newsoms and come here and state how they are solving the problem by creating it first!

Man that sounds worse than all those woke people accuse India of doing

Cyrano wrote: 09 Oct 2023 23:10 Man that sounds worse than all those woke people accuse India of doing
It is. The big fight going on in US currently is about child rights vs parent rights when it comes to transgenderism and who determines gender reassignment surgery.

That is, the school teacher can determine that the child (even a kindergartner) wants to be a girl or a boy (as opposed to their natural gender which could be a boy or a girl) based on what the kindergartner expresses. For example, if a girl is interested in playing with cars, the teacher may determine that the gender of the girl is actually a male and can recommend the kid for gender reassignment surgery if the kid has say "behavorial or learning issues". WITHOUT THE CONSENT OF THE PARENT.

This is big. Take the case if a boy expresses that he likes pink color and likes to play with dolls and kitchen, other boys make fun of him and the kid beats up other kids. The boy has behavorial problem and his issues might be stemming from the boy being a transgender and hence sent for gender reassignment surgery (the ben1s is cut off here and testes removed and a vagina is put in place). All without the consent of the parent and even without informing the parent. Teachers union are for gender reassignment surgery. Parents do not know what is going on with their kindergartners and teens.

This is a big battle fought now and actively pursued by the "progressives". The same progressives are anti-Hindutva, anti-Modi, anti-India and come from the stock of doing Cap-Rollback-Eliminate of nuclear weapons of India. The "progressives" are also called wokes. And they have a target. For example, they are anti-trump, anti-elon musk and pro-biden and pro-gavin newsom and pro-jack dorsey and pro-vijaya gadde and put BLM on their sleeves (might as well imprint on their foreheads) in US politics. Internationally, they are the ones who call India as totalitarian and fascist. While being friends of Cheen.

And this same wokes are supported by desis, since for desis it is fashionable to show themselves as anti-trump and "progressives" and "wokes", and a cache into "left liberal wannabe". Little realizing that they are the night-soil carriers of the wokes.

Another interesting point, the wokes are pro-hijab, pro-burqa, pro-pakistan and hamas supporters. They will chant death to Izrael and support cause of palestine at the drop of the hat. And yes, there are several desis who have bought into that.

This progressive/wokes are a cancer to both US and US-India relations and if they get into power, they definitely will hurt India.

Notice who voted against the bill in house and senate:

Zero democrats. And still desis will go and vote for those dems who introduce the caste discrimination bill.

Ignoring the trolls.

Appreciating and saying "You are welcome to" statements like:
Excellent job, congratulations and abhaar poorvak dhanyawaad to all who fought to get this done.
Thank you AmberG and your friends for your untiring efforts.
Sharing: A prominent Dalit-Bahujan group in California reacts to VetoSB403:
APNADB's statement on SB-403 veto

..While we thank Governor @GavinNewsom for #VetoSB403 ..,we implore the responsible policy makers and legislators to contemplate their actions. Such misleading bills and appropriation of our marginalized identity by fringe, anti-Dalit hate groups such as Equality Labs, inflict significant threat to cultural existence and physical well-being of our marginalized communities nationwide..

Meanwhile: She was last seen wolfing down massive hamburgers at a McDonalds. All by herself. (Fake hunger strike didn’t work)

A major news item for lungi dancing and dhoti shivering, in this case Arundhoti shivering:

https://swarajyamag.com/news-headlines/ ... s-approval
Arundhati Roy To Be Prosecuted For 2010 Provocative Speech Advocating Separation Of Kashmir After Delhi LG's Approval
And the IPC Section is 196(I) which includes crime of waging war against the state.
As per Section 196(1) of the Code of Criminal Procedure (CrPC), a valid prosecution sanction from the state government is mandatory for certain offenses, including hate speech, offenses hurting religious sentiments, hate crimes, sedition, waging war against the state, and promoting enmity, among others.
The complainant filed the case in 2010 and it got approval from LG Delhi to go for prosecution:
The complainant alleged that the discussions advocated the "Separation of Kashmir from India" and that the speeches were provocative, posing a threat to public peace and security
Here is Arundhati leading Cashmere Terrorists down the path to jail...

^ US SD toys are being cap'ed, rollback'ed and eliminate'ed. EAMs visit after G20 must be seen in that light.

On top of this the political wing of the special peaceful community associated OlaUber with barbarism. Not that the BRF posters did not know it, now the whole world is seeing it.

Amber G. wrote: 10 Oct 2023 18:59 Meanwhile: She was last seen wolfing down massive hamburgers at a McDonalds. All by herself. (Fake hunger strike didn’t work)
^No Photo of T. SoundaraRajan wolfing down beef patties? Sandwiched between K-Terrorists? That would have been a keeper.

https://images.firstpost.com/wp-content ... height=363