India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

rrao wrote: 10 Apr 2024 10:41 the mysterious deaths of indian students could it be the handiwork of pannun gang with the blessings of ISI and US govt covert support to fix indian govt?
Killing students because they are Indians is too random in order to have any effect on the Indian government.

Killing Indian students because they're related to someone or the other in India and its system requires specific targeting information. It also assumes that the we are past the saam and daam stages and are at the dand stage against the specific individuals.

Related to the above, all states work from the adage, once is an accident, twice is a coincidence, third time is a result of deliberate enemy action. Do we actually know about the background of the victims in order to reach the conclusion that it's happening in order to excercise control over India.

Third, an international student is a customer. If the host nation is deliberately killing the customer, or is looking the other way. Then it's bad for business.

We also don't know how many University students are murdered in the US on an annual basis.

It's entirely possible that of all the murders of students. Statistically, the killing of Indian students is no different from other ethnic groups. But we know about this because they are Indians and the Indian media is highlighting these murders.
AkshaySG

Post by AkshaySG »

While I wouldn't completely rule out the chances of some of these killings being connected there are a couple of more reasons why we are hearing more on Indian student fatalities these days

1. The Indian student population in the US has exploded in the last 5-7 years, The amount of Indian kids that are now in the US is so high that statistically 1-2 may have something bad happen to them every month without it being out of place

2. In previous decades and years students went to usually prestigious universities or flagship state schools but now any and every diploma mill is handing out F1s. This means that a lot of students are going to smaller cities and towns with no established support system such a Indian Student Assoc. Or a local community and are taking more risks trying to do under the table work at gas stations and delivery drivers

3. Anti Indian racism has reached a fever peak on US internet in the last few years, For all the pro Musk talk here and among Indian diaspora it has become worse since he took over X,

Routinely disgusting videos of Bdesh, Pak are circulated and bumped up as Indian streets, High profile accounts are pushing Anti India rhetoric hard and we till recently didn't even have community notes option to dispute. Indian vs African American troll wars have become very common

All this means that a community which mostly flew under the radar in the US is now sometimes being targeted as well.

AkshaySG wrote: 10 Apr 2024 18:07 ...

All this means that a community which mostly flew under the radar in the US is now sometimes being targeted as well.
4. There are a lot of videos on youtube, from MSM/Social media channels as well as 'influencers' about Indian diaspora being the wealthiest, and also less likely to be armed. Also TV series (eg Big Bang Theory) and movies have pushed the Indian students coming from rich indian families trope

This is from 2013:
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4535338/
This pilot study from self-selected institutions of higher education provides an estimate of the causes and rates of mortality among college students between the ages of 18 and 24 years old. One hundred fifty-seven 4-year colleges participated in an online survey of student deaths during one academic year. A total of 254 deaths were reported. The mortality rates (per 100,000) were as follows: total accidental injuries, 10.80; suicide, 6.17; cancer, 1.94; and homicide, 0.53. Within the accident and injury category, alcohol-related vehicular deaths (per 100,000) were 3.37 and alcohol-related nontraffic injuries were 1.49. Men had significantly higher rates of suicide (10.46) than women (2.34).
If the 2013 rate was applicable to Indian students (questionable because the statistic is 11 years old and because the circumstances of Indian students are likely different from that of this sample population) - so a big IF - and there are 200,000 Indian students, they would suffer from about 1 murder, 12 suicides, and 22 deaths from accidental injuries each year.

But I am reasonably certain that the prevalence of use of alcohol and narcotics, depression, financial instability, family instability, loneliness and depression, etc., etc., are rather different between the Indian student population and the general student population.

via news18

In the parabolic arc from the Middle East to the South China Sea, only #India provided the #US with the geostrategic depth to counter China in the Indo-Pacific

vcsekhar

Post by vcsekhar »

A_Gupta wrote: 11 Apr 2024 06:43 But I am reasonably certain that the prevalence of use of alcohol and narcotics, depression, financial instability, family instability, loneliness and depression, etc., etc., are rather different between the Indian student population and the general student population.
My son is currently studying Engineering in the US, we have a lot of contact with family groups in the college and also through other friends whose kids studying in the US. A lot of the kids are not doing too well with regards to making friends, especially kids who have been studying hard all through HS to get great grades. Some seem to be not too confident about going out to the sports fields or joining recreational clubs.
As far as Alcohol and narcotics go, Indian students don't have these issues as most are very aware of their visa issues and do stay away from these, but, there are always a few who do. There are cases of depression because of loneliness and we have seen parents visiting kids at the colleges to spend time with them.

Things are a bit better these days as compared to when I did my MS over there as there are a lot more kids from India and in general they are more confident, but, its not all rosy. In 2023 there were about 260K indian students in the US, a growth of 35% over the past year. We should realize that as the numbers go up, the law of averages will catch up and you will find a few students who get caught up in some incidents but I have never really heard of any incident (recently) where an Indian student was targeted because of their ethnicity. Obviously, racist people exist everywhere and shit happens but in general the experience in the US is mostly positive as compared to the EU.

IMO - A despicable Woke championing terrorists talking points & spreading hate against *all* decent beings. Good schools/teachers/parents/governments should take necessary against these
@Harvard types unscrupulous and nefarious groups. Please read the following and use your influence to spread the message:
ndian American actor Avantika Vandanapu was named as “South Asian Person of the Year” by Harvard University.
Avantika sold her soul & dedicated this award to “her” people of Gaza (Not persecuted Hindus of Terroritan

vcsekhar wrote: 12 Apr 2024 14:00
A_Gupta wrote: 11 Apr 2024 06:43 But I am reasonably certain that the prevalence of use of alcohol and narcotics, depression, financial instability, family instability, loneliness and depression, etc., etc., are rather different between the Indian student population and the general student population.
My son is currently studying Engineering in the US, we have a lot of contact with family groups in the college and also through other friends whose kids studying in the US. A lot of the kids are not doing too well with regards to making friends, especially kids who have been studying hard all through HS to get great grades. Some seem to be not too confident about going out to the sports fields or joining recreational clubs.
As far as Alcohol and narcotics go, Indian students don't have these issues as most are very aware of their visa issues and do stay away from these, but, there are always a few who do. There are cases of depression because of loneliness and we have seen parents visiting kids at the colleges to spend time with them.

Things are a bit better these days as compared to when I did my MS over there as there are a lot more kids from India and in general they are more confident, but, its not all rosy. In 2023 there were about 260K indian students in the US, a growth of 35% over the past year. We should realize that as the numbers go up, the law of averages will catch up and you will find a few students who get caught up in some incidents but I have never really heard of any incident (recently) where an Indian student was targeted because of their ethnicity. Obviously, racist people exist everywhere and shit happens but in general the experience in the US is mostly positive as compared to the EU.
@vcsekhar my company recruits a lot of new Engg collage grads from top schools. most of Indian and Chinese origin american students are doing very well and out perform their peers. i also see them into fitness and play multiple sports unlike me ( immigrant who came for ms). maybe its selection bias but i am happy that these kids are doing very well. they also have diverse interests and travel quite a bit . to me they seem a lot more mature and confident than i was in early 20s, i also try to do my bit by mentoring.
vcsekhar

Post by vcsekhar »

Atmavik wrote: 16 Apr 2024 07:32 @vcsekhar my company recruits a lot of new Engg collage grads from top schools. most of Indian and Chinese origin american students are doing very well and out perform their peers. i also see them into fitness and play multiple sports unlike me ( immigrant who came for ms). maybe its selection bias but i am happy that these kids are doing very well. they also have diverse interests and travel quite a bit . to me they seem a lot more mature and confident than i was in early 20s, i also try to do my bit by mentoring.
Good to hear that. I know from my son that most of the Indian kids are doing well academically but not many are into fitness and sports. But, it could simply be related to the college where he is studying. Yes, they are definitely more confident and mature than I was when I started my Engineering.
Even in my MS days (99-01) almost every Indian kid in MS did very well and placed in good companies. So I am hoping that this will continue. Cheers.

Pro-Palestinian protester who threatened to m*rder the Mayor and City Council of Bakersfield, and is now facing 18 felonies, has been fired from her job.

Khalistani terrorist Gurpatwant Singh Panun claims responsibility for terror attacks. Threatens to kill Indian people and leaders.

US: This is Panun’s freedom of speech.

Ridhi Patel to American Mayor: I will murder you

US: Jail mein daalo isko

^^^ Well deserving pusnishment :D

Somebody - outside of BRF - finally spoke the quiet part aloud.

Don't wake up the MUTUs on BRF :)

"If Chinese Threat Disappears, Then US And India Would Not Be Friendly": Political Scientist Mearsheimer Opens Up On Geopolitical Issues
https://swarajyamag.com/news-brief/if-c ... cal-issues
15 April 2024

I watched that interview live. It's not that I disagree with what Dr.Mearshimer said.

I have a different question.

Will the USA continue to exist as a super power, by 2040s. Given all the internal difficulties it's facing.

Pratyush wrote: 16 Apr 2024 20:28 Will the USA continue to exist as a super power, by 2040s. Given all the internal difficulties it's facing.
Yes.

VinodTK wrote: 16 Apr 2024 17:43 ^^^ Well deserving pusnishment :D

just low level cannon fodder with no value add, and way out of her depth, because of the wrong skin color and obviously the wrong demographic

In short, bali ka bakra ......pumped and dumped.
vcsekhar

Post by vcsekhar »

chetak wrote: 16 Apr 2024 23:11 just low level cannon fodder with no value add, and way out of her depth, because of the wrong skin color and obviously the wrong demographic
That was exactly my first reaction. Did she think she was a blond, blue eyed, valley girl to think she could get away with such public threats?
she is a stupid idiot thinking she could get away with such utterances
sanman

Post by sanman »

Here comes VOA with the propaganda:

https://www.voanews.com/a/india-journal ... 70959.html

Have they watched American media lately, as they recite all their talking points in unison? What about the censorship that was prevalent on Twitter, before Musk bought it?

chetak wrote: 16 Apr 2024 23:11

just low level cannon fodder with no value add, and way out of her depth, because of the wrong skin color and obviously the wrong demographic

In short, bali ka bakra ......pumped and dumped.
I think more interesting is the urban naxal left wing propaganda that brainwashed her into believing what she did and to the intensity with which she did. She was further deluded into believing that her statements would have no or little consequences or will have support.

She has been left to face the music all alone and has wasted her life away with those cheering her on melting back into the woodwork
vcsekhar

Post by vcsekhar »

sanman wrote: 17 Apr 2024 17:44 Here comes VOA with the propaganda:
https://www.voanews.com/a/india-journal ... 70959.html
Have they watched American media lately, as they recite all their talking points in unison? What about the censorship that was prevalent on Twitter, before Musk bought it?
This is one persons opinion masquerading as news. Unfortunately, this has become standard for many news organizations. Nobody wants to take a statement and independently follow up to get corroboration from other unrelated sources. They find one thing and run with it, is this a case of lazy journalism or a case of biased thinking and only talking to people who share your biases?

chetak wrote: 16 Apr 2024 15:23 Pro-Palestinian protester who threatened to m*rder the Mayor and City Council of Bakersfield, and is now facing 18 felonies, has been fired from her job.
Do we know more about this person?

There is past history of the Socialist Alternative party breaching norms in threatening opponents. Possible this person is a member of the party, and this is political activism.

Protesters march to Seattle Mayor Durkan's house
Mayor Durkan and her family are in the state program to keep their address confidential because of the death threats mostly related to her work as Seattle's U.S. Attorney under President Obama.

Meanwhile: - Arrested quite a few, including Rep. Ilhan Omar’s daughter (who is suspended), for participating in the “Gaza solidarity encampment” at Columbia.BREAKING: Police have entered the encampment at Columbia and are preparing to arrest anyone who won’t leave:

(Lot of anti-Hidutva forces are not doing too good..)

^^^ Meanwhile HfHR gangs are being exposed for criticizing HR 1131)
For those do not know: H.Res.1131, the resolution introduced by Congressman Thanedar, which celebrates the diverse and rich contributions of over 4 million Hindu Americans, condemns the increasing incidents of Hinduphobia and calls for an end to anti-Hindu bigotry.
Key Points of the Resolution Include:

Celebrating the historical and ongoing contributions of Hindu Americans in various fields.
Recognizing the vibrant Hindu festivals such as Diwali and Holi that enrich American cultural diversity.
Condemning the rise in hate crimes and discrimination against Hindus and their places of worship.
Promoting the values of acceptance and mutual respect inspired by Hindu teachings

HfHR (and other IAMC are criticizing this resolution as it is islamofibic and supported by Hindutva forces..:(

Amber G. wrote: 18 Apr 2024 23:48 ^^^ Meanwhile HfHR gangs are being exposed for criticizing HR 1131)
For those do not know: H.Res.1131, the resolution introduced by Congressman Thanedar, which celebrates the diverse and rich contributions of over 4 million Hindu Americans, condemns the increasing incidents of Hinduphobia and calls for an end to anti-Hindu bigotry.
Key Points of the Resolution Include:

Celebrating the historical and ongoing contributions of Hindu Americans in various fields.
Recognizing the vibrant Hindu festivals such as Diwali and Holi that enrich American cultural diversity.
Condemning the rise in hate crimes and discrimination against Hindus and their places of worship.
Promoting the values of acceptance and mutual respect inspired by Hindu teachings

HfHR (and other IAMC are criticizing this resolution as it is islamofibic and supported by Hindutva forces..:(
HfHR and IAMC are absolutey right. This resolution is Islamophobic.

Islam has made no ongoing contributions in any field.
Islam has no festival such as Diwali and Holi that enriches American cultural diversity.
Islam does not condemning the rise in hate crimes and discrimination against Hindus and their places of worship.
Islam does not promoting the values of acceptance and mutual respect inspired by any teaching

Amber G. wrote: 20 Apr 2024 00:41 US on Indian Elections: we don't send observers in case of advance democracies like India

(IMO, US Can always learn how to do elections properly)

Amber ji,

they will be the first to scream electoral fraud, no matter what

the friendlier those guys try and get to you, the less you trust them :mrgreen:

Most of the "friendly fire" is coming from US, UK, france, and germany and all have large jihadi populations to appease at India's cost

chetak wrote: 20 Apr 2024 18:32
Most of the "friendly fire" is coming from US, UK, france, and germany and all have large jihadi populations to appease at India's cost
You forgot Canada :mrgreen:

Vayutuvan wrote: 21 Apr 2024 04:07
chetak wrote: 20 Apr 2024 18:32
You forgot Canada :mrgreen:

Indeed, Vayutuvan ji.

turdeau is one of soreass's biggest boot lickers

This is a scene from Columbia in New York.. Some Pakistani chanting "Azadi" :(
<vido Link short>
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Amber G. wrote: 22 Apr 2024 01:12 This is a scene from Columbia in New York.. Some Pakistani chanting "Azadi" :(
<vido Link short>
She has "azadi" she is not living in a peaceful controlled country.
Did you notice the guy to the left, wearing the arab headscarf ? :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

^^^ (From above - please see the video_
“We will snatch it (छीन के लेंगे ) —Palestine.”
“We will scream (चिल्ला )for it—Palestine.”

Know the context.

This slogan being ******** for Palestine was first chanted by Pakistani militias in 1989, to instill fear amongst Kashmir’s indigenous Hindus before hundreds of thousands were raped, massacred and ethnically cleansed.

It’s being modified now to instill fear among Jews at Columbia

Stop the hate & clear the campus of threats.

Amber G. wrote: 22 Apr 2024 01:12 This is a scene from Columbia in New York.. Some Pakistani chanting "Azadi" :(
<vido Link short>
Is this Viral in US yet ?

^^^ I sent emails/SM to various professors at Columbia (including
Panagariya (Former NITIAayog Vice Chair, Jagdish Bhagwati etc)- that it is time to wakeup and take some action). Columbia University has a Hinduphobia problem.
-What cls_salsa was not an isolated incident.
- Chants used by Pakistani murderers when massacring Hindus are being used on campus.
- Indian Students Association has been targeted and harassed in online campaigns.
(Columbia now suspended all classes -- only remote learning - many students are prepare to sue for $70K Tuition, while Jihadis and Hamas supporters have better free-hand, many decent professors are locked out (they can't go in - their card are disabled.. unbelievable! )

As said before in the vial clip (“We will snatch it (छीन के लेंगे ) —Palestine.”
“We will scream (चिल्ला )for it—Palestine.”) - the slogans are same as Pakistani murders. Funny (actually ugly) part is that woman is shouting .."We will snatch it fro Modi" (and Netyanahoo)>>).

Whitehouse statement is better -- so is NY governor etc... they are waking up.

SumitJi,

Palestine support protests in US Univ. is big news and the mainstream media wants to wash it away. The latest is that Police has showed up on campuses of Yale, Harvard, Berkeley, Columbia etc to arrest the protestors.

Biden and WH woke up from the slumber and said that anti-semitism is not right. Biden went back to slumber after that.

Again this has no impact on India-US relations. This is an internal matter of US. . India can only observe that free speech on US Soil must be tolerated and as per the compact of the declaration of independence and US Constitution, the US Gobermint must uphold the values of free speech, liberty and justice in the land of the free and brave.

The rest can be taken into Understanding US thread.

Oh, BTW Gar$hitty is enjoying his extended vacation in India.

Well, proof in the pudding will be if corporations pull back recruiting teams from these colleges. Until then, it's business as usual. Very much a local affair until then.

Well - Time will tell
Google (unlike previous times) did fire 50 employees for their support and doing this kind of nonsense..

Many *well* known people are withdrawing their support.. and Many are fed up.. And many corporations are not going to employee these openly hamas supporters..

Meanwhile: WH statement:
..calls for violence and physical intimidation targeting Jewish students and the Jewish community are blatantly Antisemitic, unconscionable, and dangerous – they have absolutely no place on any college campus, or anywhere in the United States of America. And echoing the rhetoric of terrorist organizations, especially in the wake of the worst massacre committed against the Jewish people since the Holocaust, is despicable. We condemn these statements in the strongest terms.” -Andrew Bates, White House Deputy Press Secretary
New York Governer is waking up "
The recent harassment and rhetoric is vile and abhorrent
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

The sudden surge of anti-semitism only proves how *latent* the feeling is in America and Europe. Whereas Jews have been living in India for thousand+ years with their dignity intact. And the West lectures Indians on "tolerance" :)
titash

Post by titash »

krithivas wrote: 24 Apr 2024 01:09 The sudden surge of anti-semitism only proves how *latent* the feeling is in America and Europe. Whereas Jews have been living in India for thousand+ years with their dignity intact. And the West lectures Indians on "tolerance" :)
Slight disagreement here

Most of the Anti-Israel / Anti-Semitic rhetoric is coming from the US/UK Muslim community.

The African American community (Muslims perhaps...in any case they've historically had animosity towards Jews) is a big participant.

The White/Hispanic community is represented via rabid leftists i.e. not the average Joe/Jane/Jose. The same guys who'll pick on India/Hindus if given half a chance. Puppet Masters + Pump 'n Dump useful idiots like Riddhi Patel

Meanwhile, US embassy in Delhi reacts to protests in US universities, concerns for Indian students education being impacted. Imagetatement:

^^^ Also these comments (from India about events in Columbia University 'Protests" which is concern of India and and other democracies because of safety of Indian students)
India had taken note of the event that took pace in the fellow democracy...

"We have seen reports on the matter and have been following related events. In every democracy, there has to be the right balance between freedom of expression, sense of responsibility and public safety and order,

"Democracies in particular should display this understanding in regard to other fellow democracies. After all, we are all judged by what we do at home and not what we say abroad."