Russian Weapons & Military Technology

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Russian Weapons & Military Technology

sanman wrote: 28 Sep 2024 00:08
Su-57 is not vaporware. We'd have to be able to evaluate Su-75 Checkmate and assess its suitability and viability before bringing it onboard.
No we do not. This is not a local sabzi mandi where you have touch everything before deciding "pau kilo" of that stuff. This is useless waste of time and national energy. F
We have to look at convergence (or at least non-divergence) of national interests. The Russians typically don't dangle stuff and then yank it away, like the Americans do.

Bhai saab, are you forgetting about the entire VIK carrier saga, the PAK-FA drama baazi?
Can you imagine if we'd tried to purchase an American CVN instead of the Gorshkov? We'd still be waiting for it today, after having seen it yanked away and re-dangled multiple times. And you'd be saying "don't worry, at least it's not Vaporware" :roll:

Theres no replacement to local efforts, else decade after decade you will roll out the same bikhari drama of "evaluashion". Russian hardware is gone, kaput, bye bye....the sooner babus like you realize its a waste of time and it's a million times better to focus on learning-testing-building-deploying local products the better we will be. Everything else is indeed vaporware.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Jay wrote: 02 Oct 2024 05:44 Theres no replacement to local efforts, else decade after decade you will roll out the same bikhari drama of "evaluashion". Russian hardware is gone, kaput, bye bye....the sooner babus like you realize its a waste of time and it's a million times better to focus on learning-testing-building-deploying local products the better we will be. Everything else is indeed vaporware.
We don't have an engine. We don't even make our own chips.
pravula

Post by pravula »

We dont even make our own rifles. Enough said...

Generals will ensure we never develop an MIC. Never seen an officer corps so determined to ensure that its own country is never able to develop weapons of its own. This is traitorous behaviour

sanman wrote: 02 Oct 2024 09:41
Jay wrote: 02 Oct 2024 05:44 Theres no replacement to local efforts, else decade after decade you will roll out the same bikhari drama of "evaluashion". Russian hardware is gone, kaput, bye bye....the sooner babus like you realize its a waste of time and it's a million times better to focus on learning-testing-building-deploying local products the better we will be. Everything else is indeed vaporware.
We don't have an engine. We don't even make our own chips.
And the solution is to lust after vaporware from sellers who are struggling to win a local conflict and who cannot even fullfill orders for their own fighting armies? wah bhai wah....badiya logic! :rotfl:

pravula wrote: 02 Oct 2024 10:26 We dont even make our own rifles. Enough said...
we cannot even make up our mind on the calibre of bullets! This would be funny if it's not depressing enough.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Jay wrote: 03 Oct 2024 00:01 And the solution is to lust after vaporware from sellers who are struggling to win a local conflict and who cannot even fullfill orders for their own fighting armies? wah bhai wah....badiya logic! :rotfl:
Were you describing Russia or describing us?
But alright, even if we don't find Su-75 to be suitable, we should still study such platforms to see what we can learn.
Would you call it inferior to Rafale?

sanman wrote: 03 Oct 2024 13:48 ...
But alright, even if we don't find Su-75 to be suitable, we should still study such platforms to see what we can learn.
'Study' how exactly
sanman

Post by sanman »

Manish_P wrote: 03 Oct 2024 16:59 'Study' how exactly
It may have state-of-the-art technologies that we don't have (not hard for me to believe, given who sells what to whom)

sanman wrote: 03 Oct 2024 20:10
Manish_P wrote: 03 Oct 2024 16:59 'Study' how exactly
It may have state-of-the-art technologies that we don't have (not hard for me to believe, given who sells what to whom)
My question was how would you study
sanman

Post by sanman »

Manish_P wrote: 03 Oct 2024 22:22 My question was how would you study
We'd need to take a model for evaluation

Might as well take one F35 while we are at it. Study that as well.

Good preparation for the exam. Study all subjects. Even those which are out of the syllabus.
sohamn

Post by sohamn »

sanman wrote: 03 Oct 2024 13:48
Jay wrote: 03 Oct 2024 00:01 And the solution is to lust after vaporware from sellers who are struggling to win a local conflict and who cannot even fullfill orders for their own fighting armies? wah bhai wah....badiya logic! :rotfl:
Were you describing Russia or describing us?
Would you call it inferior to Rafale?
Inferior to Rafael or not can be decided only when the product is not vaporware. Forget su-75, Russia doesn't even use the su-57 in Ukraine although a stealth fighter is what you need to attach enemy positions.

Manish_P wrote: 04 Oct 2024 07:00 Might as well take one F35 while we are at it. Study that as well.

Good preparation for the exam. Study all subjects. Even those which are out of the syllabus.
Manish ji very funny. So India needs to learn about what Dr. Bevilaqua achieved in terms of aircraft, engine, etc. Bharat has its own skunkworks?

bala wrote: 04 Oct 2024 23:44
Manish_P wrote: 04 Oct 2024 07:00 Might as well take one F35 while we are at it. Study that as well.

Manish ji very funny. So India needs to learn about what Dr. Bevilaqua achieved in terms of aircraft, engine, etc. Bharat has its own skunkworks?
Bala sir, extending some of the thinking process here we ought to get one piece of each type - Gripen, Typhoon, F18, F35, F22,...

I would like to humbly suggest that it might be even better if we get one each of the J-10, J-11, J-20 ityaadi... much better to study what the enemy has got :D

Bharat has no skunks i think. We can have the Nevala-works.

<pls. excuse my feeble efforts at a rant>
pravula

Post by pravula »

The very definition of skunk works is basically unauthorized shadow research program, like what is usually called as shadow IT in body shopping world. Asking if we have skunk works is just sad…

Manish_P wrote: 05 Oct 2024 11:16
Bharat has no skunks i think. We can have the Nevala-works.

<pls. excuse my feeble efforts at a rant>
Manish_P ji understand your humor and I am completely with you about chasing other aircrafts in the world.
I just pointed out whether we in Bharat have the wherewithal for Deep Research and deep pockets for aircraft development. And also the requisite infra to support it. India is doing appropriate development based on its needs and capability, it will grow over time.

Pravula wrote:The very definition of skunk works is basically unauthorized shadow research program, like what is usually called as shadow IT in body shopping world. Asking if we have skunk works is just sad
I suggest you read up on Lockheed Martin's skunkworks. It is not "unauthorized shadow research program". On the contrary it is the best of R&D wherein a highly capable team is given a mission and they accomplish 80% of the requirements in a short period of time. Shadow IT does not come close to the above.

Also do read up on Dr. Bevilaqua, architect of F-35 fame.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Why has Russia shot down its own experimental S-70 Okhotnik drone?

Apparently this happened over Ukraine?

Did it malfunction? Did Ukrainians somehow seize control over it thru spoofing or something?

Last edited by sanman on 07 Oct 2024 00:21, edited 1 time in total.
sanman

Post by sanman »

https://x.com/Saturnax1/status/1846425568121966967 ---> Northern Fleet Project 949A Antey/Oscar II Class SSGN Orel (K-266) in the Project 7454-class floating dry dock PD-50. Note the cruciform vortex attenuators.

^ Props of Subs, especially boomers, are usually covered.

Guess the west has collected gigabytes/decades worth of data on this particular giant.

It's been a while, but this is great update and roadmap on the Su-57 Felon.

I think India will wait till the M version is made available, likely in a year or so.

Please drag and drop these pictures into a new browser window for full size.

https://x.com/Volke__/status/1853538803715121571 ---> With Su-57 in China and more specifically the T-50-4 and T-50-7 in Zhuhai, me a humble tank guy is here to remind "experts" that it was known for years that T-50s were rough, and serial Su-57s had much better fit and finish.

https://x.com/Volke__/status/1853538807146287371 ---> We got an especially good look at how much better the fit and finish is on serial Su-57s during visit of Kim Jong Un at UAC. You can see how smooth Su-57 is compared to Su-35S in the background.

https://x.com/Volke__/status/1853538811000627613 ---> As the visit of the great leader had to be properly archived, we also got closeup pictures, that show more of the better fit and finish of the serial aircraft compared to the T-50 prototypes.

https://x.com/Volke__/status/1853538813940842911 ---> But even before Kim, we had great pictures from factory. Showing the clear improvements.

https://x.com/Volke__/status/1853538817053262030 ---> Frankly speaking, it's concerning that experts that should point out to people that what we see in Zhuhai are abused and run through prototypes, just go on and create some fake perception that the planes that are in China are the serial aircraft with bad fit and finish.

I am posting Part 10 of my blog series on the Ukraine war, as it cites the Kiel report, which is an update on Russian armments production during the war (compared to losses).

https://rpdeans.blogspot.com/2024/11/uk ... inter.html