Understanding the US - Again

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
sanman

Re: Understanding the US - Again

Post by sanman »

Another very interesting discussion on Kash Patel

uddu wrote: 04 Dec 2024 17:18 @TheRookieCons
The emails between Elon Musk and Sam Altman are leaked.

It’s not just the insights that are surprising, but their unique way of communicating…

I’ve broken down the 7 most important, to speak like a TOP-TIER entrepreneur.
Uddu Sir, for my well being I am not on X. Can I request you a favor? Can you post the tweets related to the above.

A Fundamental Shift?

For the first time since the 1930’s, there are more Republicans in the US than Democrats. The shift initiated by FDR was quite fundamental, that government is a solution to problems and public risk will be mitigated by government action. The 2nd major shift was in the mid 60’s under Johnson with the civil rights bills (enabling presence of colored folks in the US) and furthering the FDR agenda with the advent of Medicare and Medicaid. It also set in motion the great regulatory framework resulting in the massive bureaucracy of the federal, state and local governments with spending of over 36+% of US GDP! For reference, this was less than 5% in 1930.

Not that Republicans were not elected to power but the trajectory of a large government as the mitigator of public risk and its resultant regulations was not something that even a 2nd Reagan Presidency, who won 49/50 states could really overcome.

There are three major factors that drove the Trump win.
1.⁠ ⁠A white revolt against all third world immigration and DEI policies.
2.⁠ ⁠A reaction to the insane government spending, the primary cause of post pandemic inflation
3.⁠ ⁠A desire to get government regulation and frameworks out of peoples lives (The EU does this even better to disastrous results for them)

The question, is this election a fundamental shift for the next 100 years? I guess the test will be to what degree is the incoming administration really able to execute its very ambitious agenda and to what degree will they be institutionalized.

I personally feel, if project 2025 is largely faithfully executed and Republicans are in power, till 2036, there will be no going back in many of our lifetimes. Thoughts? Also, what it means for various aspects of US polity, economics and power. Just sharing some thoughts and questions.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Jake Sullivan's talk at CSIS on fortifying US defense industrial production

The amrikis have r@ped both ukr and europe but have not failed to look after themselves.

This is a new version of colonialism.

They have renewed and strengthened their MIC using these funds, almost bankrupted europe and made the europeans dependent on expensive amriki oil and gas by severing and sanctioning petro/gas supplies from russia

Rapacious amriki businesses have most of ukr's agro production and other plunderables under tight control and will never let go of these assets

These amrikis have been working to a plan right from the beginning

For the dipshits complaining about Ukraine aid, its keeping you employed.

90% of Ukraine aid spending stays in the U.S. Funds stay in the U.S; where companies have invested billions in over 100 new industrial manufacturing facilities, creating thousands of jobs across at least 38 states directly, with vital subcomponents sourced from all 50 states.

sanman

Post by sanman »

https://www.politico.com/news/magazine/ ... s-00192610

Biden White House Is Discussing Preemptive Pardons for Those in Trump’s Crosshairs
sanman

Post by sanman »

Secret Service Head Gets Into Shouting Match With Congressman During Hearing

drnayar

Post by drnayar »

chetak wrote: 05 Dec 2024 21:37 The amrikis have r@ped both ukr and europe but have not failed to look after themselves.

This is a new version of colonialism.

They have renewed and strengthened their MIC using these funds, almost bankrupted europe and made the europeans dependent on expensive amriki oil and gas by severing and sanctioning petro/gas supplies from russia

Rapacious amriki businesses have most of ukr's agro production and other plunderables under tight control and will never let go of these assets

These amrikis have been working to a plan right from the beginning

For the dipshits complaining about Ukraine aid, its keeping you employed.

90% of Ukraine aid spending stays in the U.S. Funds stay in the U.S; where companies have invested billions in over 100 new industrial manufacturing facilities, creating thousands of jobs across at least 38 states directly, with vital subcomponents sourced from all 50 states.

[img]https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Gdc-rc8XoAA ... name=large

Which also means America will not survive without some war going on somewhere .. so the need to create flash points all across the globe .. which is where the state dept comes in .. more democracy !!
sanman

Post by sanman »

Biden Administration Mulling Preemptive Pardons for Trump Enemies Liz Cheney and Dr Fauci

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/worl ... 59378.html

Chetak Saar,
Doesn't look like any thought out strategy to me. Dems have gone far left and got blinded by woke ideology which appeals to a micro minority. Europe jumped along thinking they have a new moralising stick to beat the RoW with. All that backfired.

Deep State or MIC+Big business have IMO struck a deal with Trump gang to not rock their boat too much.

Europe is just a step or two above Ukraine now in terms of utility. There is still old money there, but no youth talent or tech innovation. The world is leaving Europe behind. It's the Asian century, and the US is quick enough to switch over. I'm not sure they can neo colonialise as long as Russia is around, they still need China to fill the walmarts and soon India will be a formidable force and only possible future proof friend in Asia.

Trump will jump up and down now and then but that's about it. The world balance has shifted and everyone has to adjust to new realities.

Cyrano wrote: 06 Dec 2024 17:52 Chetak Saar,
Doesn't look like any thought out strategy to me. Dems have gone far left and got blinded by woke ideology which appeals to a micro minority. Europe jumped along thinking they have a new moralising stick to beat the RoW with. All that backfired.

Deep State or MIC+Big business have IMO struck a deal with Trump gang to not rock their boat too much.

Europe is just a step or two above Ukraine now in terms of utility. There is still old money there, but no youth talent or tech innovation. The world is leaving Europe behind. It's the Asian century, and the US is quick enough to switch over. I'm not sure they can neo colonialise as long as Russia is around, they still need China to fill the walmarts and soon India will be a formidable force and only possible future proof friend in Asia.

Trump will jump up and down now and then but that's about it. The world balance has shifted and everyone has to adjust to new realities.

Cyrano ji, the point of inflexion is not too far away, but the the new deck of cards have not been revealed yet

Let's wait, watch, and see not only which way the cat jumps but also how far, because both of these variables have implications for India
sanman

Post by sanman »

sanman

Post by sanman »

https://x.com/PentecostJesse/status/1865108599523151978

I personally feel this would be the best ticket for Americans in 2028.
I think Tulsi Gabbard would be a better running mate for JD Vance than Vivek Ramaswamy.
Just my opinion.

sanman wrote: 08 Dec 2024 09:08 [youtube...]2L4i01ZMhGo[/youtube]
A 3-4 lines summary please. Thanks.

https://x.com/elonmusk/status/1865310578140487790
@elonmusk
Ron is not wrong

@BehizyTweets
https://x.com/BehizyTweets/status/1865143669583417360
DOGE Advisor Ron Paul has announced that one of his recommendations will be to totally ELIMINATE foreign aid.

"It’s taking money from the poor and middle class in the US and giving it to the rich in poor countries - with a cut to the facilitators in between!"

It's about time we defunded the dictators all around the world. The billions we send overseas are responsible for the corrupt people remaining in office for so long.

Nothing our foreign policy establishment has done since World War II has benefitted us or the world at-large in any way.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Vayutuvan wrote: 09 Dec 2024 07:11
sanman wrote: 08 Dec 2024 09:08 [youtube...]2L4i01ZMhGo[/youtube]
A 3-4 lines summary please. Thanks.
Glen Beck, well known conservative commentator (most famous before the rise of Tucker Carlson), ays he met with Trump at his Mar-A-Lago home, and had a deep conversation with him:
- says Trump is intensely focused on Ukraine, Syria, China, Iran stuff, worries about potential for nuclear proliferation from Russia
- Trump calls Biden incompetent in understanding the histories of Russia, Ukraine, Syria, etc
- Trump concerned that West has antagonized Russia so severely that their back is to the wall and they're ready to snap
- says Trump has had 4 years to reflect on why things went wrong in Trump 1.0, and on what corrections to make

sanman

Post by sanman »

Syria's Kejriwal - Still Wanted by the FBI? :?:

After Ukraine, Thailand, Pak, BD, Georgia, Venezuela, and now the latest target to uphold democracy - Romania.

Wtf was Donald Lu here in India and neighbourhood this week? Hope our MEA babus gave him an earful and chucked him out of their offices.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Harmeet Dhillon, the US attorney and Republican official who has associated herself with Khalistan activists, and has criticized India over the killing of Nijjar, as well as supported farmer protests in India, has been appointed by Trump admin as the Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights

Last edited by sanman on 11 Dec 2024 01:24, edited 1 time in total.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

@TrumpUpdateHQ
A spokesperson of India's ruling party today presented evidence that the George Soros Foundation spent $1 billion to destabilize the Modi government in India.

All this money belonged to American taxpayers. Soros and the Biden administration have been using it for their own benefit for years.

https://x.com/i/status/1866384309797736943
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

@aravind

India's defence minister addresses the US deep state

https://x.com/i/status/1866535171366982071.

This is the achievement of US foreign policy in the last four years with the most US friendly govt in India ever. Because they can't be happy with equal partnership and deals.

But want complete subservience, misguided by racist, supremacist men of their deep state who think they can arm twist a nuclear power of 1.4 billion into being their yes men in their proxy wars with powers around the world.

Sadly, they still think the same. They think by removing Modi, they can get a puppet regime in India that can do it for them.

They underestimate a 5000 year old civilizational culture gone through brutal colonization with its epigentically anti-west programmed thinking as simple "pajeets" who will let it happen, whoever they install.

Not happening. It may even happen in the west aping China. Not in India.

MoveOn new email and their plans ....

Dear MoveOn member,

I'm Erica Mauter, and I'm one of the senior staff at MoveOn. I don't typically get to write to you, but I need to share with you a big change we're making at MoveOn and ask for your help.

You probably know that MoveOn pioneered digital organizing 26 years ago and has been a leader and innovator in digital campaigning ever since. Digital tools enable us to bring more than 10 million people all across the country together to have far more power and impact together.

And, yes, we have our work cut out for us now more than ever—as an organization and as a community of millions of people who care deeply about justice, freedom, equity, and building a country in which everyone can thrive.

Here's what's happening and our news: In the early days of MoveOn, we invested in technology—cutting-edge at the time—to enable us to communicate quickly and effectively with all of you. But several years ago, that technology platform was acquired by a large international private equity firm, Apax Partners, which operates under the corporate name Bonterra. That means that the backbone of MoveOn's work—a technology platform called ActionKit—that enables you to read this email, take immediate action in response, and much more, is at the whim of a corporate giant out to make money. And it's not just MoveOn. Many progressive and Democratic organizations are in the same boat, since Bonterra also owns NGP VAN, EveryAction, and Mobilize—core tools widely relied on to connect with voters and mobilize volunteers.

After Bonterra laid off roughly one-third of its workforce last year, MoveOn knew we needed an exit plan—and last week, we publicly announced that we're moving to Action Network—a platform developed by a nonprofit tech organization with its roots in the labor movement. The decision will secure MoveOn's future and hopefully will help prompt other progressive and Democratic organizations to move from corporate platforms to movement-owned and movement-governed technology platforms and tools.

Here's where we need your help: MoveOn's move from ActionKit to Action Network is a massive undertaking that is taking many thousands of hours of work by our team of engineers and data scientists.

Imagine you decided to switch over all your social networks, your streaming services, your cell phone carrier, and get a new TV and a new phone, all at the same time, while also keeping your watching history, likes, contacts, 100,000 photos, and your old text messages and voicemails intact while doing it, and if you don't get it exactly right, you're going to miss the one-hour window you have to get your car fixed so you can still get to work.

It's an ENORMOUS undertaking.

*******, here's where you come in: This transition is hugely expensive for us, given the complexity of the data and our systems and the sheer amount of data. We need your urgent support to enable us to make the transition seamless. We know our tools can't be down for a single day, given the millions of us who rely on them each and every day, and knowing the imminent threats we face from Donald Trump, his administration, and the MAGA-controlled House, Senate, and Supreme Court.

So, *****, will you help us get out from under the corporate thumb? By making a $5 monthly donation, you will help MoveOn transition to a nonprofit platform over the next several months to enable us to continue our essential campaigning.

Yes, I'll chip in monthly.

No, I'm sorry, I can't make a monthly donation.

Thanks for all you do.

–Erica

Images of Erica bursting out of a huge cake in a Steven Seagal movie have invaded my mind :rotfl:

the "big bayz" have already started to turn tail

chetak wrote: 12 Dec 2024 20:13 the "big bayz" have already started to turn tail
In the immortal words of Magsasay winner Rubbish Kumar - "Darr ka mahaul hai

From Gobor News

How the Ford government in Ontario plans to escalate trade war with the U.S.
Cutting off power to 1.5 million Americans, restricting imports of U.S.-made alcohol, and limiting exports of Canadian critical minerals are among the list of measures the Ford government is considering if a looming trade war with the incoming Trump administration escalates in the new year.
https://globalnews.ca/news/10914068/ene ... wtab-en-us

That is probably not wisdom incarnate.

sanjaykumar wrote: 13 Dec 2024 06:39 That is probably not wisdom incarnate.
The age of wisdom is past, as also seen in these US-related threads corrupted by foreign posters. Kanaddians only responded to Trump tariff threats.

Providing some useful insight for Indians and BRF.....

If its just posturing by both sides to force reasonable negotiations, then things may die down soon with some concessions on tightening border control/anti-drugs enforcement.

On the other hand, if USA does get into a trade war with Kanadda, it will be especially difficult for the "rust-belt" states like MI, OH, and PA.

For Bharat, such "internecine" fighting across the great lakes will likely bring benefits if Modi sarkar and indian industry plays cards right.

It’s like Bangladesh getting into a trade war with India. The idea is absurd. Canada needs the US. We are hewers of wood and drawers of water, to quote a Canadian commenter from the 1960s or 1970s.

The American economy, American productivity and American ingenuity dwarfs us here in Canada. Canada is probably less innovative than Poland is at the moment. The only thing I can think of is BlackBerry and that was 20 years ago.

We cannot afford a war of any type with the US. Trudeau’s policies have turned the Canadian dollar into some third world currency. Deflated so they exports of lumbar and minerals can compete with Africa and Brazil. Canada has a larger area than the US and fewer mouths to feed. How long can the average man blame immigrants for this rank ineptness?

Peter somebody or other wrote a book on Canada as a branch plant economy of the US, the dude alluded to above. It is still true half a century later.

For perspective, Prwmier Ford’s province is the most industrialised and wealthiest province (overall).

It has a lower per capita income than Mississippi.
sanman

Post by sanman »

sanman

Post by sanman »

Deep State really have their knives out for Elon Musk:

https://www.nytimes.com/2024/12/17/tech ... rting.html

Elon Musk and SpaceX Face Federal Reviews After Violations of National Security Reporting Rules
sanman

Post by sanman »

US Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell claims that Trump is an isolationist

https://www.foreignaffairs.com/united-s ... -mcconnell

The Price of American Retreat
Why Washington Must Reject Isolationism and Embrace Primacy
Mitch McConnell
January/February 2025 Published on December 16, 2024
sanman

Post by sanman »

Musk may be the DOGE - but he's also the GOAT 8)

Haresh

Post by Haresh »

MAUREEN CALLAHAN: The terrifying scandal is that Biden was NEVER president. The full truth about the cover-up, Bad Doctor Jill and all the enemies within must be exposed

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... LAHAN.html

https://www.tabletmag.com/feature/rapid ... ightenment

It was Lippman, not Noam Chomsky, who coined the phrase “manufacturing consent,” and in doing so created the framework in which the American governing class would understand both its larger social role and the particular tools at its disposal. “We are told about the world before we see it,” Lippmann wrote. “We imagine most things before we experience them. And those preconceptions, unless education has made us acutely aware, govern deeply the whole process of perception.” Or as he put it even more succinctly: “The way in which the world is imagined determines at any particular moment what men will do.”

The collapse of the 20th-century media pyramid on which Lippmann’s assumptions rested, and its rapid replacement by monopoly social media platforms, made it possible for the Obama White House to sell policy—and reconfigure social attitudes and prejudices—in new ways. In fact, as Obama’s chief speechwriter and national security aide Ben Rhodes, a fiction writer by vocation, argued to me more than once in our conversations, the collapse of the world of print left Obama with little choice but to forge a new reality online.
When I wrote about Rhodes’ ambitious program to sell the Iran deal, I advanced the term “echo chambers” to describe the process by which the White House and its wider penumbra of think tanks and NGOs generated an entirely new class of experts who credentialed each other on social media in order to advance assertions that would formerly have been seen as marginal or not credible, thereby overwhelming the efforts of traditional subject-area gatekeepers and reporters to keep government spokespeople honest. In constructing these echo chambers, the White House created feedback loops that could be gamed out in advance by clever White House aides, thereby influencing and controlling the perceptions of reporters, editors and congressional staffers, and the elusive currents of “public opinion” they attempted to follow. If you saw how the game worked from the inside, you understood that the new common wisdom was not a true “reflection” of what anyone in particular necessarily believed, but rather the deliberate creation of a small class of operatives who used new technologies to create and control larger narratives that they messaged to target audiences on digital platforms, and which often presented themselves to their targets as their own naturally occurring thoughts and feelings, which they would then share with people like themselves.
Being physically inside the White House, it turned out, was a mere detail of power; even more substantial power lay in controlling the digital switchboard that Obama had built, and which it turned out he still controlled.
During the Trump years, Obama used the tools of the digital age to craft an entirely new type of power center for himself, one that revolved around his unique position as the titular, though pointedly never-named, head of a Democratic Party that he succeeded in refashioning in his own image—and which, after Hillary’s loss, had officially supplanted the “centrist” Clinton neoliberal machine of the 1990s.
The Obama Democratic Party (ODP) was a kind of balancing mechanism between the power and money of the Silicon Valley oligarchs and their New York bankers; the interests of bureaucratic and professional elites who shuttled between the banks and tech companies and the work of bureaucratic oversight; the ODP’s own sectarian constituencies, which were divided into racial and ethnic categories like “POC,” “MENA,” and “Latinx,” whose bizarre bureaucratic nomenclature signaled their inherent existence as top-down containers for the party’s new-age spoils system; and the world of billionaire-funded NGOs that provided foot-soldiers and enforcers for the party’s efforts at social transformation.
Actually this is same approach these guys are using to unravel and destroy India piece by piece ... Soros, Pappu, Jihadis, Commies, Zubairs, Indian media filth all built and aggregated by State Dept and NGO networks