Operation Sindoor - Post Conflict Analysis

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Operation Sindoor - Post Conflict Analysis

I think after Pahalgam Pak plan was to PL15 and stop IAF strikes, when they found operation Sindoor was successful, they had to run a narrative which was suitable to anti Indian folks, so ran this 6-0 story, subsequent events have proven them wrong, IAF strikes kept getting more and more successful and on the last day IAF was hitting whatever they wanted.
RCase

Post by RCase »

6-0? Are they talking about the performance of their AEWCs? I guess they had 6 of them and all of them failed miserably and in the bargain they lost at least a couple of them. :)
Leonard

Post by Leonard »

Here's the PAF - sending the PL15E/Abduls to catch the Rafale, SU-30, M2000 -- Enjoy ...

Turn on the volume for some laughs ...

https://x.com/i/status/1932283623769542817

Our GoI is playing the SDRE trick and keeping the IAF losses ambiguous. Here are my reasons. I mentioned this before.

1. There is no reason to cross the LC or IB to conduct the strikes on 6/7th May. Why? The target that was furthest in Bahawalpur is 100 km from the IB. Both SCALP and Brahmos missiles have a range of 500 KM. So all these missiles can be fired by IAF from standoff ranges deep from our territory.

2. The above rules out Paki ground AD systems hitting our fighters deep inside our territory.

3. There were dummy drones employed with EW signatures to fool the Pakis. I assume that IAF used these dummies in the forward areas.

4. Paki PL-15E BVR range is 145 KM. IAF planes don't need to be in that range, given the range of our Air-to-Ground weapons. Pakis would not have dared to enter our territory, given how deadly our AD systems, including S400s, are.

5. When Pakis saw 85 planes in the air, a large percentage of them should have been dummies with electronic warfare (EW) signatures. Any aggressive Paki planes would be the target of our S400s and other BVR air-to-air weapons.

6. If there were IAF planes shot down, the aircraft would crash on the Indian side, and there would be no way for the Pakis or Chinese to produce wreckage pictures or footage. If any, that would be doctored by their Photoshop or After Effects experts (the PLA are very skilled in this area) for sure. If there was wreckage and pilots ejected, that news would be known to the Indian public and would be coming out from the Indian side by now, but there is nothing. Ejected pilots need critical medical care, and it is hard to hide a pilot going through treatment in one of our hospitals.

The IAF DGMO, CDS, and EAM all have access to our intelligence agencies' briefing, and there is no way they can slip up. They have kept the answer to questions on losses deliberately vague. After so much success, it will be easy to say that we lost three planes on the 6th, but the pilots are safe. Hence, we are playing SDRE to maintain the operational details classified, thereby preserving the integrity of future operational tactics. I bet this vagueness will be maintained by the top brass for years, and SDREs will always have the last laugh.

Absolutely.

Boss, this is India. The entire region where IAF operations occurred is quite densely populated by global standards, even in what we would call relatively remote rural areas. Explosions in the sky followed by crashes on the ground are completely impossible not to notice. Crores of residents have cell phones and use the camera all the time. At the time of Op Sindoor, people were even more hypervigilant than usual.

There is absolutely zero chance that an Indian plane over Indian airspace was hit and crashed, with pilots either lost or ejecting safely, and nobody has any record of the incident at all. There is absolutely zero chance that everyone who got footage of the incident was so disciplined that not even one of them shared it in the hope of virality. There is less than zero chance that such a thing happened, but the GOI managed to immediately swoop down and delete all evidence of such an incident from each and every one among crores of cell phones, again without the slightest word of such an effort getting out.

Even if the GOI doesn't deny that any Indian plane was lost, our basic common sense should.

Rudradev wrote: 10 Jun 2025 23:12 Absolutely.

Boss, this is India. The entire region where IAF operations occurred is quite densely populated by global standards, even in what we would call relatively remote rural areas. Explosions in the sky followed by crashes on the ground are completely impossible not to notice. Crores of residents have cell phones and use the camera all the time. At the time of Op Sindoor, people were even more hypervigilant than usual.

There is absolutely zero chance that an Indian plane over Indian airspace was hit and crashed, with pilots either lost or ejecting safely, and nobody has any record of the incident at all. There is absolutely zero chance that everyone who got footage of the incident was so disciplined that not even one of them shared it in the hope of virality. There is less than zero chance that such a thing happened, but the GOI managed to immediately swoop down and delete all evidence of such an incident from each and every one among crores of cell phones, again without the slightest word of such an effort getting out.

Even if the GOI doesn't deny that any Indian plane was lost, our basic common sense should.
The point is, if we can figure it out, then the Western fake news channels—CNN, Reuters, NYT, BBC, etc.—could have easily figured that out. It is hard to believe that they are that dumb. Hence, we should conclude that these channels have become Chinese mouthpieces, with Chinese money playing a significant role. We need to take steps to make our news channels more international, and we need to figure out ways for our own media houses to acquire some of these channels.
isubodh

Post by isubodh »

Even before 2000 MIB had this device which could erase all memory. Probably IAF too now have that and did erase memory of all the people who saw the crash :rotfl:
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

My theory is this--->
"IAF used mix of dummy drones and real planes...
PAF shot at them...
PAF do not know which are real hits and which are dummy hits...
Revealing the number or type would expose the difference between electronic signatures of real fighters and dummies...
So, IAF is not revealing the numbers to preserve the secrecy...
They will reveal the numbers when they feel it is appropriate..."
I personally believe we lost a couple of jets... But since no pilot is lost, and given the visible devastation caused on Pak, we have won this... That's what matters
Pakis keeps repeating 6-0, 7-0 narrative and we should stop worrying about it...
This should also be a learning exercise for Aam Aadmis like us...
The important part of an Operation is the objectives; whether the objectives are achieved or not...
As long as the asset losses are within the expected numbers, we should not worry...
Repeatedly focusing on the same is giving in to ChiPakUS narrative...
We should instead try to get more info on Paki losses...

bala wrote: 10 Jun 2025 10:31 There are reports that during 9th - 10 th may India actually fired something into Skardu. Thereafter the news was suppressed. ...
We have very little info on these 4 targets:

- PAF Rafiqui
- Sialkot Cantonment Airport Sialkot
- Qadri Air Base Skardu
- Malir Cantt Karachi

LakshmanPST wrote: 11 Jun 2025 00:09
I personally believe we lost a couple of jets... But since no pilot is lost
How is it possible that this happened, yet, there are no videos or pics either of the lost jet, or the pilot's ejection? With the population density in those area and the number of available phones, I find it very unlikely that there is no evidence if something like this actually happened. And no, none of the circulating pics of the rafale's tail, mirage's engine, mig29's component are convincing. They all look doctored to my eyes.

Whoever at BRF coined the term, Terroristan...please take a bow. BRF, always head of the curve :)

VIDEO: https://x.com/AdityaRajKaul/status/1932460440136900739 ---> India’s External Affairs Minister Dr. S. Jaishankar refers to Pakistan as Terroristan. “We urge you to not think of it as India and Pakistan, think of it as India and Terroristan."

Aditya G wrote: 11 Jun 2025 00:29 We have very little info on these 4 targets:

- PAF Rafiqui
- Qadri Air Base Skardu
- Malir Cantt Karachi
This time India handed Terroristan a sound spanking everywhere, no place left for them to hide. The amount of damage is quite large, less said about their so-called nuclear stuff. The reports on the artillery shelling by IA is also quite devastating many bunkers wiped out of existence forever near the LoC. We still await the huge damage caused by abeyance of IWT. Also a side benefit is china (bad equipment) and US have been shown up for the world at large by India's victory in Sindoor.

Rakesh wrote: 11 Jun 2025 01:16 Whoever at BRF coined the term, Terroristan...please take a bow. BRF, always head of the curve :)

VIDEO: https://x.com/AdityaRajKaul/status/1932460440136900739 ---> India’s External Affairs Minister Dr. S. Jaishankar refers to Pakistan as Terroristan. “We urge you to not think of it as India and Pakistan, think of it as India and Terroristan."
^ you beat me to this Rakesh !

Most kids will never know but this has been a source of desi right wing narrative for decades. Like conceptualization of porkistan as a quasi-stable conglomerate of 4 entities etc. Pakees being nook nude, early analysis of the radionuclide signatures during the nook test of 1998 that was picked up everywhere later, etc. Once this is all over, this place will be an unsung hero.

bala wrote: 11 Jun 2025 02:00
Aditya G wrote: 11 Jun 2025 00:29 We have very little info on these 4 targets:

- PAF Rafiqui
- Qadri Air Base Skardu
- Malir Cantt Karachi
This time India handed Terroristan a sound spanking everywhere, no place left for them to hide. The amount of damage is quite large, less said about their so-called nuclear stuff. The reports on the artillery shelling by IA is also quite devastating many bunkers wiped out of existence forever near the LoC. We still await the huge damage caused by abeyance of IWT. Also a side benefit is china (bad equipment) and US have been shown up for the world at large by India's victory in Sindoor.
Hopefully detresfa can look at them . Else I can try to purchase those images from maxar as well . Dont care about the 3-400 bucks it'll cost .

williams wrote: 10 Jun 2025 22:45 Our GoI is playing the SDRE trick and keeping the IAF losses ambiguous. Here are my reasons. I mentioned this before.
FWIW I was going to write something formal but here is non-polished version of my thoughts .
(IMO, Some aspect, IMO are little less known or discussed ..what do experts think):
>>
Alright, let’s break this down — if an Indian jet was brought down by a Pakistani missile strike in May, someone knows for sure, and by "someone" I mean India, the U.S., and probably a few intelligence services quietly observing from the sidelines.

- Infrared Satellites

India has some homegrown capability, no question — satellites like EMISAT (electronic intelligence), RISAT (radar), and CartoSat (optical imaging) give us decent battlefield and post-strike awareness. But real-time, wide-area space-based infrared tracking — that’s still developing, from what I know. India can probably track missile launches within or near its own territory, but tracking jet intercepts at altitude across a contested airspace is a much harder task without dedicated IR platforms in high orbits.

Now the U.S.? Much more advanced. Their SBIRS constellation (Space-Based Infrared System), and now Next-Gen OPIR, are basically thermal eyes on the whole planet. These satellites detect everything from ICBM launches to jet engine burns to mid-air explosions. If a missile lit up an Indian fighter — or even if a jet crashed due to mechanical failure — the thermal flash would have been picked up. These systems are incredibly sensitive.

We’re talking about tech that’s detected missile launches in North Korea in under 10 seconds, and even meteor airbursts like the Chelyabinsk event. So yeah, if anything flared up over South Asia, NORAD or STRATCOM would’ve seen it — and India would very likely have access to some of that data through strategic channels.

Infrasound & Seismic Networks

Now let’s talk infrasound — the “low and slow” signals. These are ultra-low-frequency sound waves, generated by big events like missile launches, explosions, or high-speed crashes. They’re picked up by a global network set up by the CTBTO (the nuclear test watchdog). These sensors are so good they can detect:

1 kiloton explosions anywhere on Earth

The Chelyabinsk meteor blowing up in the stratosphere

Even rocket launches and jet impacts — depending on scale and altitude

And yes — India has several infrasound stations as part of this global network. A few of these are public knowledge, and they’re strategically placed — some in South India, some in the Himalayas, and more near test ranges. These stations constantly listen to the sky and are monitored for exactly these kinds of acoustic anomalies. So if there was a big sonic event — missile detonation, jet breakup, or crash — it would probably show up in the signal logs. And analysts would be poring over it for days.

Seismically too, you can detect jet crashes if the impact is energetic enough. High-speed terrain strikes leave a characteristic signature, especially in hilly or rocky areas. These aren’t just academic curiosities — governments monitor this stuff closely, and unexpected “thumps” always raise eyebrows.

Media Responsibility:

Now here's the other piece: Media should really be doing better by now. After all the technology that’s come online, we’re past the age where random low-res “wreckage” photos or vague satellite shots should be taken at face value — especially when Photoshop, AI-generated content, and even deepfakes are in the mix.

We've seen supposed “crash site” images, even from big-name outlets, that turned out to be recycled or outright fabricated. Responsible journalism, especially on military matters, should at least cross-reference such claims with OSINT channels, verified satellite imagery, or expert commentary. Otherwise, it's just amplifying noise.

So far, there’s no independently verified wreckage from this supposed IAF loss. No captured pilots. No credible IR or radar tracks from the other side. That doesn’t mean it didn’t happen — but it does mean there's no hard proof. And speculative reporting, especially in such a volatile region, can do real damage.

Bottom line? With the tools available — SBIRS/OPIR, infrasound networks, ground radar, ELINT/SIGINT, and seismics — it’s extremely unlikely that a shoot-down could happen without leaving a trace. The U.S. absolutely knows. India of course certainly knows. If no one’s saying anything, that silence is strategic.

And honestly? If there was a shoot-down, and it was clean — with confirmed wreckage, no pilot loss, and no political escalation — you’d expect India to release a controlled statement or even leak it as a PR win. The fact that the messaging is deliberately ambiguous tells you something.
skumar

Post by skumar »

Mod Note: Please edit your post to learn how to post YouTube videos. I have edited your post. Please DO NOT post just the video and a title. Please provide a description of the video (either from the video itself or even in your own words). It helps readers and/or posters who are following the thread. Thank You for your co-operation in this matter.

In this episode of Defence Mantra, Nitin A. Gokhale breaks down the true scale of India’s retaliation, including what the Pakistani military didn’t want the world to know. At 13:53, he says that some Indian systems operated at 50%-60% efficiency instead of 90%. Any ideas, what is he referring to?

Why India Let Pakistan Reveal Its Own Defeat

In this episode of Defence Mantra, Nitin A. Gokhale breaks down the true scale of India’s retaliation, including what the Pakistani military didn’t want the world to know. A recently leaked internal report and independent assessments now confirm that seven additional military sites were hit by the Indian Air Force, pushing the total damage to over $7.6 billion. From AWACS and F-16s to key radar and missile installations, Pakistan’s air defence network was badly crippled. But why didn’t India announce these hits publicly? As Nitin explains, this was a calculated silence—a strategic decision to let Pakistan's own repair tenders and leaks confirm the scale of the damage, preventing any denial or propaganda. We also discuss in the show how Chinese-supplied systems failed, the success of Indian systems, and how India is quietly rewriting the rules of military deterrence in the region.

Rakesh wrote: 11 Jun 2025 01:16 Whoever at BRF coined the term, Terroristan...please take a bow. BRF, always head of the curve :)

Or he has read BR at some point.

Thank you.

Give it a decade or two before it is called for what it actually is - Jihadistan.

^ give it a decade or 2 and the entity would not exist.

gakakkad wrote: 11 Jun 2025 07:16 ^ give it a decade or 2 and the entity would not exist.
The entity exists simply for one reason and one reason only - 'India'

Whatever size, shape or form it is in, in a decade or two, at it's very core it will still be Jihadistan.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

Jay wrote: 11 Jun 2025 00:39
LakshmanPST wrote: 11 Jun 2025 00:09
I personally believe we lost a couple of jets... But since no pilot is lost
How is it possible that this happened, yet, there are no videos or pics either of the lost jet, or the pilot's ejection? With the population density in those area and the number of available phones, I find it very unlikely that there is no evidence if something like this actually happened. And no, none of the circulating pics of the rafale's tail, mirage's engine, mig29's component are convincing. They all look doctored to my eyes.
I'm not talking about the pics and videos that are being circulated...

There is possibility of hiding the crash, though the chances are very less...
Since the strikes happened late after midnight, and common public did not know of any strikes that'd be taking place that night & hence were sleeping, it is possible that the crash site is cordoned off to general public and cleared before news spread...

Also, I'm not saying that jets crashed... My main point is that even if crashes happened, it shouldn't matter...
It is only my personal belief that 1-2 jets might have been lost given the ambiguous statements issued till date... I'll still wait for official word... I'll be happy if nothing is lost...

Shaing News item: US strong support of India in the fight against terrorism: US to Indian inter party delegation. Counter terrorism cooperation: US to Pakistan delegation. US State Dept:

krithivas

Post by krithivas »

Request to admins - Can the focus/title of this post-conflict thread be limited to Pakistani losses? This repeated mythical rambling of "IAF-crash-no-one-has-proof-yet" is marginalizing the quantum of Indian punishment to Terroristan. Thanks!
LakshmanPST wrote: 11 Jun 2025 09:22
Jay wrote: 11 Jun 2025 00:39

I'm not talking about the pics and videos that are being circulated...

There is possibility of hiding the crash, though the chaces are very less...
Since the strikes happened late after midnight, and common public did not know of any strikes that'd be taking place that night & hence were sleeping, it is possible that the crash site is cardoned off to general public and cleared before news spread...
Also, I'm not saying that jets crashed... My main point is that even if crashes happened, it shouldn't matter...
It is only my personal belief that 1-2 jets might have been lost given the ambiguous statements issued till date... I'll still wait for official word... I'll be happy if nothing is lost...

Analyzing the Strikes, still want some details

1. Sargodha, what did we hit- we cratered the Runway making the airbase inoperational, hit Kirana hills, but surely we must have hit some Hangers
2. Skardu- no photos but featured in IAF breifings
3 Jacobabad- just reports Pakis are afraid to clean the Hit Hangers saying huge damage could be revealed
4. Rafiqui/ ShorKot Road- what was the Damage
5. Karachi Malir- again what was damaged
6. Nur Khan Base- Shehbaz admitted a few things, they were planning to start something Big in Buyan e Masoos after Fajr prayers at 4:30 Am but Indian Airstrikes were soo damaging that the whole plan to attack was cancelled?
7. What was shot down by us on 10 May 25- remember this was after Buyan e Masoos whatever was supposed to start at 5:00 AM - there is a tight lid on the wreckage there.

8 What are the actual PAF losses in the Air- 1 JF-17, 1 Mirage 5 and 1 SAAB 2000 - plus what else was shot down
9 We seem to have hit multiple Radars, LY-80, 3 HQ-9, 3 LM TPS77, Radars at around 12-13 PAF bases, Lahore, Chunian.

This plus Pakistan Army losses, I hope we can see satellite photos damage to Paki Artillery like Sp-15, A-100, Hatf-1, HAFT- 2 Launchers etc. I have a feeling the PA was planning some sort of assault in the Chamb Jurian sector.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

Aditya_V wrote: 11 Jun 2025 11:19 Analyzing the Strikes, still want some details

8 What are the actual PAF losses in the Air- 1 JF-17, 1 Mirage 5 and 1 SAAB 2000 - plus what else was shot down
Regarding No. 8, Nikhil Gokhale is talking about some internal assessment report and he is giving a figure of
Combat Losses:- 4 F16s, 2 Mirages, 1 IL76 Aerial Refueller, 1 AEW
On Ground Losses:- 4 F16s (in Sargodha), 1 C130

The Indian armed forces and GoI have multiple reasons for communicating what they did and no more. I'm appalled to see so many members speculating indian losses and second guessing what our strikes did and did not destroy. Analysis is fine but speculation and demanding more details is not.

A month after the ops, we are still raking about imaginary IAF losses based on "feelings". This is not one of those "the nation wants to know" things. And BRF members should behave better than "saboot" gangs on SM.
ashishmact

Post by ashishmact »

I think one major fallout of operation sindoor is increased chatter around domestic defence production. This is a god given opportunity, India should size this moment.

On an average each year how much do we spend on defence procurement ?

Domestic defence production spend is about 1.7 lakh crore this year, up by 16% YOY. Read this somewhere few days ago.

williams wrote: 10 Jun 2025 23:31

The Chinese have more than enough satellites in low earth orbit, to take high resolution photos of any crash site. They were tracking our
airbases and had access to Pak radar coverage. They would know in real time, if one of our aircraft was hit, with the location and could take
pics that would leave no room for doubt that there was a crash.
RCase

Post by RCase »

In this video Deepak Vohra talks about Pak's nuke nanganess, the Nur Khan hit, Amriki response, the mystery Turkish cargo plane that landed for 'refueling' in Pak. Paki atim bums were in fact Amriki ones and the Pakis were enriching uranium for America ('they have been doing the dirty work of America for years').

Take it FWIW...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iw0OsnLLDNg

Parde mein rehne do: Pakistan's cover-up operation after Sindoor strikes
https://www.indiatoday.in/world/story/o ... 2025-06-11
11 June 2025

https://x.com/ShivAroor/status/1932724291369615859 ----> PAF Bholari: Pre-BrahMos / post-BrahMos / & now. Covered in tarpaulin by night to mask aircraft damage/debris inside the hangar.

https://x.com/rajatpTOI/status/1932616742402208134 ---> India needs to hike defence budget to at least 2.5% of GDP, impart greater thrust to self-reliance in military R&D & production, invest heavily in unmanned aerial systems, long-range weapons, space-based systems, EW & other such techs.

Rakesh wrote: 11 Jun 2025 17:39 Parde mein rehne do: Pakistan's cover-up operation after Sindoor strikes
https://www.indiatoday.in/world/story/o ... 2025-06-11
11 June 2025
I think there should be similar photos of PAF Jacobabad also.
RCase

Post by RCase »

CAUTION: Construction Zone

Terroristan is going through a phase of being TARPAULINISTAN!

Rakesh wrote: 11 Jun 2025 17:47 https://x.com/rajatpTOI/status/1932616742402208134 ---> India needs to hike defence budget to at least 2.5% of GDP, impart greater thrust to self-reliance in military R&D & production, invest heavily in unmanned aerial systems, long-range weapons, space-based systems, EW & other such techs.
    Look at Indian history for the past 2,000 years. Invaders came to India because it had wealth, but no matching defense capabilities. When in god's name will the strategic planners / bureaucracy / Indian government learn, If GOI does not increase the defense budget to $120B ~2.5% of GDP for next year to help:
    • IAF (new aircraft,Infrastructure)
      IN (subs, war ships, aircraft, 3rd aircraft carrier)
      IA (Air defense systems, Infrastructure, improved communication)
    History will repeat itself. In the last 11 years 3 major incidents took place and the perpetrators are still there and getting stronger / replenished. Does this not sound like some old black and white movie being remade in color. The perpetrators will lose 10 times and might win the 11th or 12th time. That will be the .....

Getting tired, very tired of hearing India does not have the money. Look at Russia with a $ 2T GDP it is fighting rest of the western world with a total GDP of ~$22T; India has the money but no desire to learn from past mistakes.

India’s latest military (defense) budget, announced in February  2025 for fiscal year 2025–26, is ₹6.81 lakh crore (₹6,81,210 cr), which equals approximately US $78.7 billion, this allocation represents about 1.9% of India’s GDP.

' the babu attitude needs a big change. See the news today about the junkyard train given for troop transportation for Amarnath yatra deployment

VinodTK wrote: 11 Jun 2025 20:05
      Rakesh wrote: 11 Jun 2025 17:47 https://x.com/rajatpTOI/status/1932616742402208134 ---> India needs to hike defence budget to at least 2.5% of GDP, impart greater thrust to self-reliance in military R&D & production, invest heavily in unmanned aerial systems, long-range weapons, space-based systems, EW & other such techs.
      Look at Indian history for the past 2,000 years. Invaders came to India because it had wealth, but no matching defense capabilities. When in god's name will the strategic planners / bureaucracy / Indian government learn, If GOI does not increase the defense budget to $120B ~2.5% of GDP for next year to help:
      • IAF (new aircraft,Infrastructure)
        IN (subs, war ships, aircraft, 3rd aircraft carrier)
        IA (Air defense systems, Infrastructure, improved communication)
      History will repeat itself. In the last 11 years 3 major incidents took place and the perpetrators are still there and getting stronger / replenished. Does this not sound like some old black and white movie being remade in color. The perpetrators will lose 10 times and might win the 11th or 12th time. That will be the .....

Getting tired, very tired of hearing India does not have the money. Look at Russia with a $ 2T GDP it is fighting rest of the western world with a total GDP of ~$22T; India has the money but no desire to learn from past mistakes.

India’s latest military (defense) budget, announced in February  2025 for fiscal year 2025–26, is ₹6.81 lakh crore (₹6,81,210 cr), which equals approximately US $78.7 billion, this allocation represents about 1.9% of India’s GDP.
      Ok IMO let us not compare ourselves with Russia, they sacrificed 1 million people and still have no exit strategy.

My economics professor used to say GDP is a calculated guess. Real proof of the pudding is our revenues.

Here is latest India's pie

очки пнг

To get to 120 B we need to increase the defence allocation by just 4.5 percent. Can we cut some of the wasteful subsidies and central schemes without a lot of political repercussion? Sure we can. Our politicos need to decide that. Babus are just paper pushers (sometimes pencil pushers but that is a different issue). The real power is with the political establishment folks. On the top of it, DM is returning money back every year due to indecision and lethargy everywhere. They still don't have a way to control the import lobby who add wrenches in all our projects. Then we have babus point fingers at top brass and top brass pointing fingers at everybody. We waste a lot of time and money on delays everywhere.

@williams there is also GDP fiscal multiplier of defense spending.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/blo ... t-economy/

It’s not guns vs growth. Spending on desi defence tech can boost economy
      May 19, 2025, 8:46 PM IST Prasanna Tantri and Aditya Kuvalekar in TOI Editorials, India, TOI