Indo-UK News & Discussions- June 2017
Re: Indo-UK News & Discussions- June 2017
Chinmayji
This looks more like placating DJT
Look at his recent trips : Middle East, Hague etc everyone is buying US arms and making deals with him
This looks more like placating DJT
Look at his recent trips : Middle East, Hague etc everyone is buying US arms and making deals with him
If it is, it is a head scratching decision. The UK planned to order only F-35Bs and they could have just ordered more. Why A models, which are RAF only?
^^ Saar
Labour are desperate to suck up DJT after their Pre Election twitter posts on DJT
He knows it and they know it.
Dont be surpised if he is paraded in Golden Carriage next time he is Old Blighty!!
Labour are desperate to suck up DJT after their Pre Election twitter posts on DJT
He knows it and they know it.
Dont be surpised if he is paraded in Golden Carriage next time he is Old Blighty!!
The UK has a historical animosity against Russia and it’s not just going back to the Cold War - it’s going back at least till Czar Nicholas II if not further.
UK has probably realised and indeed goaded the Europeans into believing that Putin cannot be stopped by conventional means. Besides Nato strategy always was to resort to tactical nukes if the Russian tank divisions broke out …
The tactical nuke capability for UK is neither new nor dormant. The Tornados were configured for it . I am not sure if the Typhoon has it but it would be trivial for UK to equip it
UK has probably realised and indeed goaded the Europeans into believing that Putin cannot be stopped by conventional means. Besides Nato strategy always was to resort to tactical nukes if the Russian tank divisions broke out …
The tactical nuke capability for UK is neither new nor dormant. The Tornados were configured for it . I am not sure if the Typhoon has it but it would be trivial for UK to equip it
This is weird. That thing is on Indian territory. Why is the Indian gobarmint following orders and requiring permission of the Royal Navy to move it to a hangar?. I dont think there there is some 4-6 letter alphabet soup international "rules based treaty" which requries us to get permission of the British to move stuff around in our airports?Or is there?
JUst tell them we are moving it due to "safety and operational reasons". They can help or see it being dragged by a black smoke spewing Sonalika tractor (not Massey Ferguson for obvious reasons) and coir rope made by gads won kundry unionised labour to a hanger.
Any why have CISF guard it? Tell them due to thier perfidious mollycoddling of terrorists we are short of shikrooty to guard our own beebul and vital installations, we have no shikrooty beebul to spare so they can lump it.
Ebery second day send a chap with a pail of water with lungi at half mast and Nirma detergent with a coir scrubber to wash and clean that thing in the name of being a good host.
If theydont get that thing out in a few more days, sell it to the local scrap dealer. (But first make sure DRDO has a scrap dealing unit called Nair and Menon scraps - "We take any crap"

Last edited by rahulm on 27 Jun 2025 03:17, edited 1 time in total.
Hangers cost money, and so do tarmac parking. Hangers cost more...MOD might be penny pinching or out of cash... 

I am guessing here but that thing prolly has SATCOM and a 2 way encrypted data-link. Under a hanger might hamper comms.
Get a desi red team to "ethically" hack into it and relay pics of Haseena Atim's Bum to Ms Honeypenny in London.
pravula ji
It's their bleddy plane, why are we bothered.

let it rot right where it stands
charge for parking, rooms given to the crew, security, housekeeping, and allied services
with what face will the amrikis try and sell this piece of junk to any customer now
after the boeing fiasco, this is another scandal to hit their MIC
or is the aircraft carrying some contraband or prohibited substances under the customs act
They have requested permission, and we have granted it to them to land there. So we are showing courtesy. That is all. According to the reports, it is a VIP parking area, and we have informed them that we will charge for this parking. A lot will happen. Let's wait and see what the fun is.
So the US has no AA service for stranded F-35s ?? What would happen if this were to happen on an exercise in East Asia or worse in a war ! Or were the Brits too skint to afford one ?! 
I hope we run a bit of sawdust paper… rain damage onlee very hot tropical weather

The new MI6 head the first woman to be at that post had a grandfather with Nazi background and a her grandmother was Ukrainian. With a Georgian sounding name I guess she ticks the anti-Russki credentials that the PM likes to play up the Russki threat
https://youtu.be/rKQIaiAtJWs?si=fhxyTq8pLpL6t1dz
I will not be surprised if within the next decade the head of the Britshit Intelligence will be a person with Paki ancestory
Distribution of F-35 fighters in India.
KER does it again

This is a country that struggles to add mobile internet to its underground London metro or build new HSR… F35 is a tough nut to crack ….
Eh? The Underground has had free wifi for a while now. Doesnt work between stations but does work underground on the platforms. All 4 providers support it, but may not offer it to MVNOs…
The UK is a (the only one) Tier 1 partner on the F35 project. My understanding is that 35% of the airplane is built by BAe, but my information is old. The F35B is the STOL version sacrificing some range to nave a shorter take off and landing. It is used by the RAF as a replacement for the Harrier.S_Madhukar wrote: ↑29 Jun 2025 22:03 This is a country that struggles to add mobile internet to its underground London metro or build new HSR… F35 is a tough nut to crack ….
Yes the UK has struggled to build a HSR because it is a relatively small country densely populated. Thus every Railway built has to struggle to get permission and way-leaves. In the end is is worth saving half an hour on a London to B'ham journey that took one hour by existing train journey? Eventually the idiot Boris came along and authorised it. Of course being a journalist, he has no clue of the economics and we are now wrestling with the consequences.
I thought Australia as well. May be not.Aldonkar wrote: ↑30 Jun 2025 12:59 The UK is a (the only one) Tier 1 partner on the F35 project. My understanding is that 35% of the airplane is built by BAe, but my information is old. The F35B is the STOL version sacrificing some range to nave a shorter take off and landing. It is used by the RAF as a replacement for the Harrier.
I think Oz is a L3 (lowest tier) partner. Islamic Kingdom of UKstan is L1.
Has anyone claimed yet that the evil yindoos have somehow hacked into the F35 and streamed Arnab Goswami onto the HUD and display system thus frying the electronics and the pilot's brain and caused this forced landing? Since then no crew from UK or LM wants to go near the plane due to fear of becoming mental? The nation wants to know

Well, some very popular in terms of subs and views desi YT channels have proclaimed with authority that Indian radar locked into the F35B so now the plane is locked and the indian lock is so powerful that the Umreekis and UKstan are unable to unlock it (like Godgerj NAVTAL lock on Godrej steel "almirah"). We used to chide DDM for being muppets but these YT experts are making DDM look semi respectable.
There has emerged now a badly morphed but very funny video of Johnny Lever and Akshay Kumar trying to start the thing by fueiing it with Diesel. Hilarious.
But, come to think of it, its weird - cutting edge of American tech has literally been abandoned in commie land KL with no attemt to take it back, I thought the Umreekis would have sent their 101 Airborne within 24 hours and airlifted it back. Its a bit puzzling.
There has emerged now a badly morphed but very funny video of Johnny Lever and Akshay Kumar trying to start the thing by fueiing it with Diesel. Hilarious.
But, come to think of it, its weird - cutting edge of American tech has literally been abandoned in commie land KL with no attemt to take it back, I thought the Umreekis would have sent their 101 Airborne within 24 hours and airlifted it back. Its a bit puzzling.
rahulm wrote: ↑01 Jul 2025 16:10 Well, some very popular in terms of subs and views desi YT channels have proclaimed with authority that Indian radar locked into the F35B so now the plane is locked and the indian lock is so powerful that the Umreekis and UKstan are unable to unlock it (like Godgerj NAVTAL lock on Godrej steel "almirah"). We used to chide DDM for being muppets but these YT experts are making DDM look semi respectable.
rahulm ji.
start with what the aircraft was doing flying alone in such bad weather and why was it launched at all
why was the britshit clown so far away from the carrier, especially if he was fuel critical ........ ..

and why did he claim that he had "run out of fuel", apart from the fact that these britshits are habitual liars and how did the whole gamut of new problems arise suddenly, post landing
and why was he replaced with such haste
and why is the presstitute media so very quiet about this soooper doooper, world beater, bleeding edge gora fighter, rusting away quietly in some obscure corner of Thiruvananthapuram airport
no photos of the pilot, and no human interest stories about how the pilot liked "puttu kadala curry and porotta with beef fry", unless the britshits all stubbornly stuck with fish and chips from The Leela Kovalam
something is very off
“ Grounded since June 14 reportedly due to a hydraulic snag, the F-35B will now be attended to by a special tow vehicle being flown in from the UK, along with a 40-member team of British engineers and specialists, all headed to Kerala to carry out repairs.”
Visa delays?
How the parts brought by the British team - though not imports, as they will all leave India - are to be inspected by Customs?
Visa delays?
How the parts brought by the British team - though not imports, as they will all leave India - are to be inspected by Customs?
I think it's just an over complicated plane with LM holding the strings for even the most minor repairs with near zero possibility for the buyer to repair unless they are OK to forego warranty. I don't believe it has any sophisticated snooping equipment, space and weight are high premium in a fighter. The vtol engine is a nightmare to maintain and repair, needs sophisticated tools, jigs and sw to run diagnostics and repair. Most likely this plane will be hauled back to LM and scrapped. The delay could be due to contractual issues between LM and RAF and something as simple as Indian visas for the maintenance and repair crew which could be RAF and civilians. After continuous soaking in the rain with high humidity the electronics are most likely damaged beyond salvage. LM wants to make money, this is the worst publicity they can get.
Also why risk a 200M fighter to collect data (like what kind of data exactly?!) when for a fraction of that cost you can bribe or honey trap or promise uk/us visa for a mole or kin in our reasearch depts or forces?
Yt experts are idiots finding the most twisted explanations.
Also why risk a 200M fighter to collect data (like what kind of data exactly?!) when for a fraction of that cost you can bribe or honey trap or promise uk/us visa for a mole or kin in our reasearch depts or forces?
Yt experts are idiots finding the most twisted explanations.
Aircraft carrier aircraft subject to ocean salt and humidity damaged by monsoon showers? I think not. On the rest, yes.
https://sldinfo.com/2010/08/a-conversat ... intenance/
Old article from 2010 describing how F35 hydraulics are maintainence friendly.

When Victor Balenko defected to Japan with his Mig 25, the aircraft was returned in pieces stuffed in crates and soviets were slapped with $4000 shipping bill.
If it was simply a matter of swapping actuators as described above, wonder what they were trying for so many days.Martinez: They greatly simplified the hydraulic systems because everything is self-contained. You’ve got your own hydraulic systems. You got your own actuators.
If you were to compare the F-35 to the F-16, you probably reduced maintenance by 60%. When you have self-sustained systems, and when that system breaks, you just got to change that one component and you’re done, that’s it. Before you had to remove the lines, you got brake lines and now you just got an actuator you pull and you remove and you install a new one.

When Victor Balenko defected to Japan with his Mig 25, the aircraft was returned in pieces stuffed in crates and soviets were slapped with $4000 shipping bill.
so the uber aircraft need a special tow vehicle as well ?!!
maybe the pulling out bit did not work , so needs an American dentistarvin wrote: ↑01 Jul 2025 18:43 https://sldinfo.com/2010/08/a-conversat ... intenance/
If it was simply a matter of swapping actuators as described above, wonder what they were trying for so many days.Martinez: They greatly simplified the hydraulic systems because everything is self-contained. You’ve got your own hydraulic systems. You got your own actuators.
If you were to compare the F-35 to the F-16, you probably reduced maintenance by 60%. When you have self-sustained systems, and when that system breaks, you just got to change that one component and you’re done, that’s it. Before you had to remove the lines, you got brake lines and now you just got an actuator you pull and you remove and you install a new one.
[img]https://www.sldinfo.com/wp-content/uplo ... ic-700.jpg[/img

https://www.janes.com/osint-insights/de ... istan-navy
UK's Defence Equipment & Support (DE&S) has sold three hovercraft that were formerly in service with the Royal Marines to the Pakistan Navy in a government-to-government deal, the agency announced on 30 June.
The hovercraft were decommissioned from Royal Marines service in 2021 and subsequently identified by the sales team at DE&S as being well suited for Pakistan's maritime environment, the agency added.
DE&S awarded a contract to refurbish and prepare the hovercraft for transfer to UK-based Griffon Marine Support in 2022.
According to DE&S, the hovercraft has a capability that would enable the Pakistan Navy to carry out coastal patrols, humanitarian assistance operations, and rapid deployment missions within shallow waters.
“By transferring these proven assets, we are supporting the Pakistan Navy's ability to enhance its coastal and amphibious operations, supporting our shared goal of maintaining global security as well as providing a return for the UK's defence budget,” said Commodore Richard Whalley, head of Exports and Sales at DE&S.
No details on the hovercraft were given by DE&S in its statement, but images accompanying it indicate that hovercraft that have been transferred are the 2400TD(M)-class landing craft air cushions (LCACs) manufactured by Griffon.
These LCACs are known to have formerly been in service with the 539 Assault Squadron of the Royal Marines.
The 10.6 tonne hovercraft has an overall length of 13.4 m on cushion. Powered by Deutz V8 water-cooled diesel engines, the hovercraft can attain a top speed of 35 kt and a standard range of 300 n miles at 25 kt.
UK's Defence Equipment & Support (DE&S) has sold three hovercraft that were formerly in service with the Royal Marines to the Pakistan Navy in a government-to-government deal, the agency announced on 30 June.
The hovercraft were decommissioned from Royal Marines service in 2021 and subsequently identified by the sales team at DE&S as being well suited for Pakistan's maritime environment, the agency added.
DE&S awarded a contract to refurbish and prepare the hovercraft for transfer to UK-based Griffon Marine Support in 2022.
According to DE&S, the hovercraft has a capability that would enable the Pakistan Navy to carry out coastal patrols, humanitarian assistance operations, and rapid deployment missions within shallow waters.
“By transferring these proven assets, we are supporting the Pakistan Navy's ability to enhance its coastal and amphibious operations, supporting our shared goal of maintaining global security as well as providing a return for the UK's defence budget,” said Commodore Richard Whalley, head of Exports and Sales at DE&S.
No details on the hovercraft were given by DE&S in its statement, but images accompanying it indicate that hovercraft that have been transferred are the 2400TD(M)-class landing craft air cushions (LCACs) manufactured by Griffon.
These LCACs are known to have formerly been in service with the 539 Assault Squadron of the Royal Marines.
The 10.6 tonne hovercraft has an overall length of 13.4 m on cushion. Powered by Deutz V8 water-cooled diesel engines, the hovercraft can attain a top speed of 35 kt and a standard range of 300 n miles at 25 kt.
Good find. May be we want some quid pro quo on this or other matters. Who knows...?!
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2025/0 ... sanctions/
Tom Sharpe
India is acting like an enemy. Pretty soon we’re going to have to treat it as one
So there’s a nation largely armed by Russia and which bankrolls Putin. What else would you call it
Tom Sharpe
India is acting like an enemy. Pretty soon we’re going to have to treat it as one
So there’s a nation largely armed by Russia and which bankrolls Putin. What else would you call it
FWIW, one can find statements like “The F-35 undergoes rigorous environmental testing, including exposure to simulated heavy rain, salt spray, high humidity, and wind conditions replicating monsoons. This ensures all systems maintain functionality and durability in extreme maritime weather.”
Of course, and it may be true for mission time, rest of the time it would get loving care below deck. Overall exposure to monsoon weather would be quite limited. I really doubt that any fighter gets 2 weeks of continuous soaking.
Also canopy, dorsal fan cover since this is vtol etc need power and hydraulics to operate correctly. In a high tech doodad like this there could be lot of issues.
^ times like this is when I miss Brar_w
He would have replied with a detailed post, with charts and info graphics, on the on land and at sea maintenance procedure of the different versions of the F-35
I do hope he comes back to post here. Especially now that a good percentage of our equipment is now from Unkils factories

He would have replied with a detailed post, with charts and info graphics, on the on land and at sea maintenance procedure of the different versions of the F-35
I do hope he comes back to post here. Especially now that a good percentage of our equipment is now from Unkils factories