So have we.
Trying to stop the enemy from acquiring weapons, any weapons which can be used against you, is part of the fight.
Move over AMCA, it will take longer(of course we can do it but it will take LONGER), the world over trend is to MAKE STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIP FOR NEXT GENERATION PLATFORMS (FCAS of france??) :Cain Marko wrote: ↑17 Jan 2026 05:27Better to negotiate for 36-54 f35 than mortgage your entire future and mainstay.
WHILE other twitter poster interprets it as a move to Su-57 not french fcas:https://x.com/manojzxc/status/2013971175517655246?s=20
Here starts IAF starting MRFA 2.0 for FCAS :
ACM is indirectly demanding 100 B$ to join France FCAS program..what a disastrous person he is.
All his big talk about pvt industry is to establish an assembly line to assemble Rafale and, later use the assembly line for FCAS
https://x.com/manojzxc/status/2013975895422169461?s=20
French-Germany FCAS project is falling apart,since French refused to give any substantive work share to Germany,while using Germany as a milk cow to fund the FCAS program.
Now it's becoming clear y this ACM delayed AMCA wit pvt consortium idea &
although looking at IAF's penchant for french platforms probably its going to be FCAS of france.https://x.com/Neetivaan/status/2013956560641552787?s=20
ACM AP Singh almost hints that Rafale will be inevitable.
While, he also says to catch up with the next generation (5th gen most probably) we need to join hands with someone.
Man, if we go with Su-57, this will be the biggest L for us because we already moved on from FGFA.
seems Rafale acquision is just the stepping stone, in depth we're moving towards Rafale-Neuron-FCAS mfrgis approval of ccs pending since november 2025 with regard to rspa ghatak ucav?
As of January 2026, the
Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) approval for the full-scale development and prototype funding of the RSPA Ghatak UCAV remains pending.
Current status and key factors regarding the approval include:
Financial Sanction Awaited: The program is currently awaiting a final sanction of approximately ₹5,000 crore from the government to transition into the prototype assembly and flight testing phases.
Engine-linked Approval: A significant procedural hurdle for CCS clearance is the certification of the indigenous Dry Kaveri engine. The Ministry of Defence (MoD) has set a firm deadline of 2026 for this certification. Experts indicate that financial commitment from the CCS is interlinked with the successful validation of this engine.
Ongoing Progress: Despite the pending funding, the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and the Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE) have moved beyond conceptual design. They are proactively developing an engineering model to validate critical systems and have already frozen the configuration.
Revised Timelines: Due to the delays in funding and government clearance, the rollout of the first full-scale prototype is now anticipated by 2028-2029, with maiden flight testing projected for late 2030 or 2031.
F-16 sales went ahead. 66 F-16 Block 70 & 139 F-16 A/B being upgraded to F-16V standard. But Rafale is a more capable fighter and China will put immense political pressure on France to not proceed with it.drnayar wrote: ↑22 Jan 2026 01:49They have also tried to block sale of F16s and all sort of weapons as wellKartik wrote: ↑21 Jan 2026 13:34
The Chinese are not stupid to underestimate the Rafale. In fact they have been blocking Taiwan's purchase of Rafale as Eric Trappier recently alluded to. It's only Indians who have a fetish for blaming the IAF for wanting a jet whose capabilities they fully know and appreciate.
You really believe that Tejas Mk2 will "enter service" by 2029?? Even HAL isn't parading such a ridiculous date.uddu wrote: ↑21 Jan 2026 14:53Deliveries of Rafale will happen from 2030 onward only while MK2 will enter by 2029.Kartik wrote: ↑21 Jan 2026 13:18 Tejas Mk2 hasn't even seen a prototype rollout yet and you're acting like it's on the verge of entering production. There's a full phase of ground testing, flight testing, weapons testing, climate testing, etc. for it to go through with thousands of test points and well over 1500-1600 test flights at the very minimum to get it ready for induction.
This announcement has nothing to do with the Tejas Mk2. It will be ordered when it's time comes. Right now the focus has to be on Rafale otherwise the IAF will be reduced to even lower than 29 squadrons when the oldest Jags start retiring.
Can you please provide the link for the Twitter post? Thank You for your co-operation in this matter.BenG wrote: ↑22 Jan 2026 18:20 If we rejected Gripen, then we should say no to 114 Rafale as well. If IAF needs 114 Rafale now, they will need 36 Su-57 before the ink on 114 rafale deal dries or they will open another competition piting GCAP, SU-57 and FCAS for 140 odd fighters again to replace Su-30 and we will repeat this tamasha again and again.
Brazil’s deal with Saab for Gripen E/F is widely considered the gold standard for sovereignty within Western systems.
Gripen is our MK1A level fighter. It's outdated by our requirements. Also the number of components including the engines that we will be struck with makes it unsuited for our needs. We have crossed the Gripen time long back. Now it's the Rafale/Su-57 that can compete with MK2/AMCA. It may be good fighter for others who don't' have anything of their own, not for us.BenG wrote: ↑22 Jan 2026 19:00 A 2nd factor involves shared integration source codes, allowing Brazil’s growing arms industry to quickly add the weapons they’re developing for use by the FAB – or indeed, for any Gripen customer. Brazilian Gripens offered immediate integration with the cooperative A-Darter air-air missile that Brazil is developing with fellow Gripen customer South Africa, and deploying on its own modernized A-1M AMX fighters. Mectron’s MAR-1 anti-radiation missile is another example that will debut with Brazil’s Gripen NGs.
https://www.defenseindustrydaily.com/br ... hatgpt.com
The Finnish president refers to F-18s and not F-35s. That makes it even worse!
A moot point due to the F414G turbofan in the Gripen E/F.BenG wrote: ↑22 Jan 2026 19:00 A 2nd factor involves shared integration source codes, allowing Brazil’s growing arms industry to quickly add the weapons they’re developing for use by the FAB – or indeed, for any Gripen customer. Brazilian Gripens offered immediate integration with the cooperative A-Darter air-air missile that Brazil is developing with fellow Gripen customer South Africa, and deploying on its own modernized A-1M AMX fighters. Mectron’s MAR-1 anti-radiation missile is another example that will debut with Brazil’s Gripen NGs.
https://www.defenseindustrydaily.com/br ... ram-04179/
I remember you parroting this same line in the past on BRF as well. It went nowhere and will continue to go nowhere. Gripen will not come. It is amazing how people come out of the wood works, once the 114 MRFA deal is close to completion. Anybody but the French is the mantra!BenG wrote: ↑22 Jan 2026 19:23 Moot point is a nation desperate to import 114 fighters to maintain numerical parity with pakistan at a cost unimaginable couple of years back. Yet India chest thumps that it has mastered every aspect of aviation technology except the engine. The fact is India still sucks in development, manufacturing and assembly scaling up. But sweden does not. Tejas mk1a needs more time let alone mk2 and AMCA. Its would have been prudent to just keep producing Su-30 mki with increased level of Engine indegenisation till AMCA was reaady. Its not like the americans can sanction russian engines and ground IAF. But buying the rafale is like draining our aerospace capital to french factories voluntarily which has a stated policy of not sharing industrial know-how.
FCAS is vaporware at this moment. Infighting among the Euro partners (mainly between France and Germany).Manish_Sharma wrote: ↑22 Jan 2026 09:48 seems Rafale acquision is just the stepping stone, in depth we're moving towards Rafale-Neuron-FCAS mfrg
Bro you are late…Your ancestors were on the forum before ..please come back during AMCA trialsBenG wrote: ↑22 Jan 2026 19:00 A 2nd factor involves shared integration source codes, allowing Brazil’s growing arms industry to quickly add the weapons they’re developing for use by the FAB – or indeed, for any Gripen customer. Brazilian Gripens offered immediate integration with the cooperative A-Darter air-air missile that Brazil is developing with fellow Gripen customer South Africa, and deploying on its own modernized A-1M AMX fighters. Mectron’s MAR-1 anti-radiation missile is another example that will debut with Brazil’s Gripen NGs.
https://www.defenseindustrydaily.com/br ... ram-04179/
S_Madhukar wrote: ↑22 Jan 2026 22:44 Bro you are late…Your ancestors were on the forum before ..please come back during AMCA trials![]()